هذا الأطلس التشريحي الصيني القديم يغير ما نعرفه عن الوخز بالإبر والتاريخ الطبي

هذا الأطلس التشريحي الصيني القديم يغير ما نعرفه عن الوخز بالإبر والتاريخ الطبي
Pixeljoy / Shutterstock.com

يقول التاريخ المقبول للتشريح أن الإغريق هم الذين رسموا خريطة الجسم البشري لأول مرة. جالينوس، "أبو التشريح" ، عمل على الحيوانات ، وكتب كتب التشريح التي استمرت لمدة 1,500 عام. بدأ علم التشريح الحديث في عصر النهضة مع أندرياس فيزاليوس ، الذي تحدى ما تم تسليمه من جالينوس. اشتغل من البشر وكتب المنوي "على نسيج جسم الإنسان".

لم يتم ذكر العلماء من الصين القديمة في تاريخ علم التشريح هذا. لكن ورقتنا الجديدة يوضح أن أقدم الأطلس التشريحي الباقي يأتي في الواقع من أسرة هان الصينية ، وقد كتب منذ أكثر من 2,000 عام. يغير اكتشافنا كلاً من تاريخ الطب وفهمنا لأساس الوخز بالإبر - وهو فرع رئيسي من فروع الطب الصيني.

هناك هيئة متزايدة من أي وقت مضى البحوث القائمة على الأدلة الذي يدعم فعالية الوخز بالإبر في حالات متنوعة مثل الصداع النصفي إلى هشاشة العظام في الركبة. الأحدث مسودة إرشادات NICE، الذي نُشر في أغسطس 2020 ، يوصي باستخدام الوخز بالإبر كخط علاج أول للألم المزمن.

أثناء جلسة العلاج بالوخز بالإبر ، يتم إدخال إبر دقيقة في الجسم في نقاط محددة (نقاط الوخز بالإبر) من أجل تعزيز الشفاء الذاتي. يحدث هذا لأن الإبر (بطريقة ما) تخلق التوازن في قوة الحياة أو "Qi" الشخص. كيف يحدث هذا هو موضوع الكثير من البحث. الافتراض الأساسي هو أن نقاط الوخز بالإبر لديها بعض الخصائص الفسيولوجية غير المكتشفة حتى الآن والتي من المحتمل أن تكون ذات أساس عصبي.

النصوص الصينية القديمة

مخطوطة ماوانغدوي ، حبر على الحرير ، القرن الثاني قبل الميلاد.مخطوطة ماوانغدوي ، حبر على الحرير ، القرن الثاني قبل الميلاد. © متحف مقاطعة هونان

النصوص التي عملنا عليها هي مخطوطات Mawangdui الطبيةالتي فقدناها منذ ألفي عام. لقد تم كتابتها خلال عهد أسرة هان وكانت ذات قيمة عالية لدرجة أن نسخة منها دُفنت مع جثة السيدة داي ، أرستقراطية سلالة هان عام 168 قبل الميلاد. تم افتتاح مقابر السيدة داي وعائلتها في عام 1973 ، وتم اكتشاف مخطوطات ماوانغدوي.

من الواضح أنها مقدمة لنصوص الوخز بالإبر الشهيرة للإمبراطور الأصفر قانون الطب الباطني (هوانغدي نيجينغ) ، الذي تم نسخه وإعادة نسخه عبر التاريخ ، ويحظى بالتبجيل في الصين كمصدر لنظرية وممارسة الوخز بالإبر. لا تزال أوصاف خطوط الطول والنقاط الموجودة فيها أساس الطب الصيني التقليدي اليوم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لا تذكر نصوص Mawangdui السابقة نقاط الوخز بالإبر ، والأوصاف التي تقدمها لخطوط الطول أبسط وأقل اكتمالاً. لكن من الواضح أنه تم نسخ بعض المقاطع منها مباشرة إلى Yellow Emperor's Canon ، وكلها توضح أن هذه النصوص قد تمت كتابتها أولاً.

لطالما تم تفسير مسارات ميريديان على أنها تستند إلى الأفكار الباطنية حول تدفق الطاقة الحيوية "Qiوليس كأوصاف تجريبية للجسم. لكن ما يصفه نص Mawangdui هو مجموعة من خطوط الطول - مسارات عبر الجسم. في النصوص اللاحقة ، عادة ما يتم توضيحها بشكل تصويري كخطوط على الجلد.

يتم وصف خط الزوال من حيث كيفية تقدمه عبر الجسم. الذراع تاي ين خط الزوال ، على سبيل المثال ، يوصف بأنه يبدأ في منتصف راحة اليد ، ويمتد على طول الساعد بين العظمتين ، وهكذا. تساءلنا: ماذا لو لم تكن هذه الأوصاف لمسار طاقة مقصور على فئة معينة ، ولكن من هياكل تشريحية فيزيائية؟

تشريح التاريخرسم توضيحي للطب الصيني التقليدي. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

لمعرفة ذلك ، قمنا بإجراء تشريح مفصل لجسم الإنسان ، بحثًا عن المسارات التي تمر عبره على طول الطرق الموضحة في Mawangdui.

هذه نظرة مختلفة عن الجسد عن وجهة نظر العالم الغربي. في الطب الغربي الحديث ، ينقسم الجسم إلى أجهزة لكل منها وظيفتها المميزة: مثل الجهاز العصبي أو نظام القلب والأوعية الدموية.

من الواضح أن هذا لم يكن ما كان يفعله كتاب Mawangdui. تركز أوصافهم بشكل أكبر على كيفية ارتباط الهياكل المختلفة لخلق تدفق عبر الجسم. إنهم لا يهتمون بالوظيفة المحددة للهياكل. نعتقد أن السبب في ذلك هو أن هؤلاء العلماء كانوا يدلون ملاحظاتهم عن جسم الإنسان لأول مرة ، ويصفون فقط ما رأوه.

بالنسبة لبحثنا ، كان لا بد من اكتشاف المادة التشريحية للعمل من خلال تكرار التشريح العلمي للمؤلفين بعناية. كان هذا مشكلة. لم يتركوا لنا أي صور لما كانوا يصفونه ، لذلك كان علينا إعادة البناء من نصوصهم. علماء التشريح الصينيون اللاحقون ، من سلالة أغنية، قام بعمل صور. استندت هذه الأعمال إلى التشريح المسجل لعصابة إجرامية كان تشريحها جزءًا من عقوبتها.

ثم كانت هناك مسألة الترجمة: يمكن أن يضيع الكثير عندما نترجم النصوص ، خاصة النصوص القديمة ، وقد قضى أحدنا (فيفيان) وقتًا طويلاً في التحقق من ترجمات أوصاف الزوال وتأكيدها. أخيرًا ، كان علينا أن ننظر إلى مجتمع عصر هان ونظهر أن الفحص التشريحي يتناسب مع سياقه الثقافي.

ما وجدناه كان مثيرا للغاية. تم رسم كل من خطوط الطول Mawangdui على الهياكل الرئيسية لجسم الإنسان. بعض هذه الهياكل مرئية فقط لعلماء التشريح من خلال التشريح ، ولا يمكن رؤيتها في الشخص الحي. للعودة إلى الذراع تاي ين، على سبيل المثال ، يتم وصف المسار عند الكوع بأنه "أسفل العصب إلى العضلة ذات الرأسين". عندما ننظر إلى الكوع البشري المُشرَّح ، نجد أن هناك شريطًا مسطحًا من الأنسجة يُطلق عليه اسم الصفاق الثنائي ، وتمر شرايين وأعصاب الذراع تحتها.

نعتقد أن هذا ما كان يصفه علماء التشريح الصينيون القدماء. لا توجد طريقة لمعرفة هذه الهياكل إلا عن طريق التشريح ، أو قراءة عمل شخص لديه.

تمثال قديم للوخز بالإبر.تمثال قديم للوخز بالإبر. الطب التقليدي والحديث / فليكر, CC BY

الآثار

لذلك نعتقد أن مخطوطات Mawangdui هي أقدم أطلس تشريحي باقٍ في العالم يعتمد على الملاحظة المباشرة لجسم الإنسان. من المفترض أن يكون الغرض من المؤلفين هو تسجيل جسم الإنسان بالتفصيل. كان من الممكن أن يكون الفحص التشريحي من هذا النوع امتيازًا نادرًا ، متاحًا فقط لمجموعة مختارة من العلماء الذين يفضلهم الإمبراطور. من المحتمل أن يكون الغرض من النصوص صراحة هو نقل هذه المعرفة إلى الآخرين. يمكن للأطباء وطلاب الطب استخدام النصوص للتعرف على علم التشريح ، والدخول في نقاش طبي قائم على المعرفة السليمة بجسم الإنسان.

هذا يعطينا رؤى جديدة حول البراعة العلمية لسلالة هان الصين ، التي تشتهر بها ثروة من الاكتشافات. إن قيام علماء الهان أيضًا بالتشريح سيكون منطقيًا تمامًا ، ويضيف ثراءً لفهمنا لعلومهم.

عملنا أيضًا له آثار أساسية على نظرية الوخز بالإبر وكذلك للبحث الحديث. من الواضح تمامًا أن The Yellow Emperor's Canon يعتمد على محتوى Mawangdui ويطوره. إذا كان Mawangdui أطلسًا تشريحيًا ، فمن المحتمل جدًا أن يكون النصوص التالية ترتكز على علم التشريح أيضًا.

يسلط البحث الضوء على المساهمات غير المعترف بها حتى الآن لعلماء التشريح الصينيين ، ويعيد وضعها في مركز المجال. تتحدى هذه المعلومات الجديدة الطبيعة الباطنية المتصورة للوخز بالإبر ، وتجذرها بدلاً من ذلك في العلوم التشريحية.المحادثة

حول المؤلف

فيفيان شو ، محاضر في علم التشريح ، جامعة بانجور وإيزابيل كاثرين ويندر ، محاضرة في علم الحيوان ، جامعة بانجور

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

Books_acupuncture

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
by مالكولم ستيرن
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
by سيرج بيدنجتون بيرنس

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

This Ancient Chinese Anatomical Atlas Changes What We Know About Acupuncture And Medical History

This Ancient Chinese Anatomical Atlas Changes What We Know About Acupuncture And Medical History
Pixeljoy/Shutterstock.com

The accepted history of anatomy says that it was the ancient Greeks who mapped the human body for the first time. Galen, the “Father of Anatomy”, worked on animals, and wrote anatomy textbooks that lasted for the next 1,500 years. Modern anatomy started in the Renaissance with Andreas Vesalius, who challenged what had been handed down from Galen. He worked from human beings, and wrote the seminal “On the Fabric of the Human Body”.

Scientists from ancient China are never mentioned in this history of anatomy. But our new paper shows that the oldest surviving anatomical atlas actually comes from Han Dynasty China, and was written over 2,000 years ago. Our discovery changes both the history of medicine and our understanding of the basis for acupuncture – a key branch of Chinese medicine.

There is an ever increasing body of evidence-based research that supports the efficacy of acupuncture for conditions as varied as migraine to osteoarthritis of the knee. The most recent draft NICE guidelines, published in August 2020, recommend the use of acupuncture as a first line treatment for chronic pain.

During an acupuncture treatment session, fine needles are inserted into the body at specific points (acupoints) in order to promote self healing. This happens because the needles (somehow) create balance in the life force or “Qi” of the person. How this happens is the subject of much research. The underlying assumption is that acupoints have some as yet undiscovered physiological property that is probably neurologically based.

Ancient Chinese texts

Mawangdui Manuscript, ink on silk, 2nd century BCE. Mawangdui Manuscript, ink on silk, 2nd century BCE. © Hunan Province Museum

The texts we worked on are the Mawangdui medical manuscripts, which were lost to us for two millenia. They were written during the Han dynasty and were so valued that a copy was buried with the body of Lady Dai, a Han dynasty aristocrat in 168 BCE. The tombs of Lady Dai and her family were opened in 1973, and the Mawangdui manuscripts were discovered.

They are clearly precursors to the famous acupuncture texts of the Yellow Emperor’s Canon of Internal Medicine (Huangdi Neijing), which was copied and recopied through history, and is revered in China as the source of acupuncture theory and practice. The descriptions of meridians and points found in it are still the basis of traditional Chinese medicine today.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The earlier Mawangdui texts don’t actually mention acupuncture points, and the descriptions they give of meridians are simpler and less complete. But some passages from them have clearly been directly copied into the Yellow Emperor’s Canon, all of which shows that these texts were written first.

Meridian pathways have always been interpreted as being based on esoteric ideas about the flow of vital energy “Qi” rather than as empirical descriptions of the body. But what the Mawangdui text describes is a set of meridians – pathways through the body. In later texts, these are usually illustrated pictorially as lines on the skin.

A meridian is described in terms of how it progresses through the body. The arm tai yin meridian, for instance, is described as starting in the centre of the palm, running along the forearm between the two bones, and so on. We wondered: what if these descriptions are not of an esoteric energy pathway, but of physical anatomical structures?

Dissecting historyIllustration of traditional Chinese medicine. Wikimedia Commons

To find out, we did detailed dissections of the human body, looking for pathways which ran through it along the routes described in the Mawangdui.

This is a very different view of the body than that of the Western scientist. In modern western medicine, the body is divided into systems that each have their own distinct function: like the nervous system or cardiovascular system.

That clearly wasn’t what the writers of the Mawangdui were doing. Their descriptions are more focused on how different structures interlink to create a flow through the body. They pay no attention to the specific function of the structures. We think this is because these scientists were making their observations of the human body for the first time, and purely described what they saw.

For our research, the anatomical substance of the work had to be unearthed by carefully replicating the authors’ scientific dissections. This was problematic. They had left us no pictures of what they were describing, so we had to reconstruct from their texts. Later Chinese anatomists, from the Song dynasty, did make pictures. These works were based on the recorded dissections of a criminal gang for whom dissection was a part of their punishment.

Then there was the issue of translation: so much can get lost when we translate texts, especially ancient ones, and one of us (Vivien) spent huge amounts of time cross-checking and confirming translations of the meridian descriptions. Finally, we had to look at Han-era society and show that anatomical examination would fit in their cultural context.

What we found was very exciting. Each of the Mawangdui meridians mapped onto major structures of the human body. Some of these structures are visible only to anatomists through dissection, and cannot be seen in the living person. To return to arm tai yin, for instance, the pathway is described at the elbow as going “below the sinew to the bicep”. When we look at the dissected human elbow, there is a flat band of tissue called the bicipital aponeurosis, and the arteries and nerves of the arm pass underneath it.

We think this is what the ancient Chinese anatomists were describing. There is no way to know about these structures except by doing anatomy, or reading the work of someone who has.

An ancient acupuncture statue.An ancient acupuncture statue. Traditional and Modern Medicine/Flickr, CC BY

The implications

We therefore believe that the Mawangdui manuscripts are the world’s oldest surviving anatomical atlas based on direct observation of the human body. The authors’ purpose presumably was to record the human body in detail. Anatomical examination of this kind would have been a rare privilege, available only to a select group of scientists favoured by the Emperor. It is likely that the purpose of the texts was expressly to pass this knowledge on to others. Physicians and students of medicine could use the texts to learn about anatomy, and engage in medical debate based on a sound knowledge of the human body.

This gives us new insights into the scientific prowess of Han dynasty China, which is famous for its wealth of discoveries. That Han scientists also did anatomy would make perfect sense, and adds richness to our understanding of their science.

Our work also has fundamental implications for acupuncture theory and so for modern research. The Yellow Emperor’s Canon quite clearly draws on and develops the content of the Mawangdui. If the Mawangdui is an anatomical atlas, it is highly likely that the succeeding texts are grounded in anatomy too.

The research shines a light on the hitherto unrecognised contributions of Chinese anatomists, and repositions them at the centre of the field. This new information challenges the perceived esoteric nature of acupuncture, and roots it instead in anatomical science.The Conversation

About the Authors

Vivien Shaw, Lecturer in Anatomy, Bangor University and Isabelle Catherine Winder, Lecturer in Zoology, Bangor University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_acupuncture

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…