Почему вам нужно больше витамина D зимой

Почему вам нужно больше витамина D зимой Витамин D иногда называют солнечным витамином. FotoHelin / Shutterstock.com

Зима на нас и риск дефицита витамина D и инфекций. Витамин D, который вырабатывается в нашей коже после воздействия солнечных лучей, а также содержится в жирная рыба (скумбрия, тунец и сардины), грибы и обогащенные молочные и немолочные заменители, имеет важное значение для хорошего здоровья. Люди нуждаются в витамине D для сохранить здоровье и бороться с инфекциями, Ирония в том, что зимой, когда люди больше всего нуждаются в витамине D, большинству из нас не хватает. Так сколько мы должны взять? Должны ли мы принимать добавки? Как мы можем получить больше? И кому это нужно больше всего?

Я медицинский микробиолог и иммунолог кто изучает функции витамина D в иммунных клетках. Моя лаборатория была заинтересована в выяснении, почему иммунная система имеет рецепторы витамина D, которые определяют, какие клетки могут использовать витамин D. В иммунной системе витамин D действует, чтобы улучшить вашу способность бороться с инфекциями и уменьшить воспаление.

Где взять витамин D

Витамин D называют солнечным витамином, так как он вырабатывается в коже после пребывания на солнце. Те же лучи UVB, которые вызывают солнечный ожог, также вырабатывают витамин D. Солнцезащитный крем, более темная пигментация кожи, одежда и пониженный дневной свет зимой уменьшают способность кожи вырабатывать витамин D. Люди, которые испытывают самые большие сезонные колебания уровня витамина D, светлокожие. индивидуумы живет в северных регионах США и в более высокие широты вокруг земного шара где очень мало дневного света зимой.

Но наиболее подверженными риску низкого уровня витамина D являются люди цвета кожи и люди, живущие в более высоких широтах. Темнокожие индивидуумы с большей вероятностью, чем светлокожие, имеют низкий уровень витамина D в течение всего года, поскольку более темная кожа блокирует ультрафиолетовые лучи от выработки витамина D. Однако даже у темнокожих людей витамин D является самым низким зимой.

Зимой, в дополнение к пище с высоким содержанием витамина D, взрослым следует принимать дополнительный витамин D из пищевых продуктов и / или добавок к получать не менее 600 МЕ в день витамина D. Люди с темной кожей или избегающие солнечного света должны есть больше витамина D круглый год.

Почему вам нужно больше витамина D зимой Пища, богатая витамином D. photka / Shutterstock.com

Витамин D важен для костей и ваших микробов

Первоначально врачи считали, что витамин D важен только для здоровья костей. Это произошло потому, что дефицит витамина D вызывал такие заболевания костей, как рахит у детей и остеопороз у взрослых., Однако в 1980-х годах ученые обнаружили, что иммунные клетки имел рецепторы для витамина D.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Исследования моей группы показали, что витамин D играет важную роль в поддержание здоровья в желудочно-кишечном тракте. Более высокий уровень витамина D уменьшить предрасположенность к воспалительным заболеваниям кишечника и болезнь Крона, потрошить и инфекции легких у животных и людей.

Я и мои коллеги обнаружили, что одним из способов функционирования витамина D является поддержание здоровья и счастья микробов в кишечнике. Витамин Д увеличивает количество и разнообразие микробов жить в кишечнике, что вместе уменьшает воспаление по всему телу.

Низкие уровни витамина D связано с воспалительным заболеванием кишечника в людях. Исследователи обнаружили, что пациентов с воспалительными заболеваниями кишечника в Японии имеют больше симптомов зимой, чем в другие времена года.

Почему вам нужно больше витамина D зимой Люди с темной кожей, скорее всего, имеют низкий уровень витамина D круглый год. Лучиан Коман / Shutterstock.com

Почему витамин D важнее зимой?

Зимой люди подвержены большему количеству инфекций и проводят меньше времени на улице. Точно, сколько витамина D здоровые взрослые должны иметь, обсуждено. Некоторые власти рекомендуют от 200 МЕ в день до 2,000 МЕ в день, В США Институты медицины рекомендует 600-800 МЕ в день для взрослых, в то время как Эндокринное общество утверждает, что оптимальный статус витамина D может потребовать 1500-2,000 МЕ в день. Зимой у людей снижается способность вырабатывать витамин D, когда они выходят на улицу, поэтому, по крайней мере, 600 МЕ витамина D в день из пищи или пищевых добавок поможет поддерживать статус витамина D на летнем уровне.

Но, как и многие вещи, слишком много витамина D может быть вредным, Токсичность витамина D не является следствием чрезмерного количества солнца или пищи. Из-за риска возникновения рака кожи дерматологи и другие медицинские работники не рекомендуют незащищенное пребывание на солнце для повышения уровня витамина D. Вместо этого они предлагают добавки. Но токсичность витамина D может возникнуть, если человек принимает слишком много.

Эксперты, которые устанавливают национальный уровень потребления витамина D в США, рекомендуют взрослым людям принимать не более 4,000 МЕ в день витамина D избежать токсических побочных эффектов. Витамин D помогает вам усваивать кальций из своего рациона, но когда уровень витамина D слишком высок, уровень кальция в крови повышается, что может привести к заболеванию почек.

Потребляя больше витамина D в течение зимы, ваши кишечные микробы будут здоровее, и вы будете более устойчивы к инфекциям и воспалениям круглый год.

Об авторе

Маргарита Т. Канторна, заслуженный профессор молекулярной иммунологии, Университет штата Пенсильвания

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

5 мифов о луне
5 мифов о луне
by Daniel Brown

Why You Need More Vitamin D In The Winter

Why You Need More Vitamin D In The Winter Vitamin D is sometimes called the sunshine vitamin. FotoHelin/Shutterstock.com

Winter is upon us and so is the risk of vitamin D deficiency and infections. Vitamin D, which is made in our skin following sunlight exposure and also found in oily fish (mackerel, tuna and sardines), mushrooms and fortified dairy and nondairy substitutes, is essential for good health. Humans need vitamin D to keep healthy and to fight infections. The irony is that in winter, when people need vitamin D the most, most of us are not getting enough. So how much should we take? Should we take supplements? How do we get more? And, who needs it most?

I am a medical microbiologist and immunologist who studies the functions of vitamin D in immune cells. My laboratory has been interested in figuring out why the immune system has vitamin D receptors that determine which cells can use vitamin D. In the immune system, vitamin D acts to improve your ability to fight infections and to reduce inflammation.

Where to get your vitamin D

Vitamin D is called the sunshine vitamin since it is made in the skin after exposure to sun. The same UVB rays that cause a sunburn also make vitamin D. Sunscreen, darker skin pigmentation, clothing and reduced daylight in winter diminish the skin’s ability to make vitamin D. The people who experience the biggest seasonal swings in vitamin D levels are fair-skinned individuals living in the northern regions of the U.S. and at higher latitudes around the globe where there is very little daylight in winter.

But those most at risk for low vitamin D levels are people of color and people living at higher latitudes. Dark-skinned individuals are more likely than fair-skinned individuals to be low for vitamin D year-round because the darker skin blocks the UVB rays from producing vitamin D. However, even in dark skinned individuals, vitamin D is lowest in the winter.

In the winter, in addition to high vitamin D food, adults should take additional vitamin D from foods and/or supplements to get at least 600 IU per day of vitamin D. People who have dark skin or avoid sunshine should eat more vitamin D year-round.

Why You Need More Vitamin D In The Winter Food rich in vitamin D. photka/Shutterstock.com

Vitamin D is important for bones and your microbes

Originally, doctors thought that vitamin D was only important for bone health. This was because the vitamin D deficiency caused bone diseases like rickets in children and osteoporosis in adults.. However, in the 1980s scientists discovered that immune cells had receptors for vitamin D.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


My group’s research has shown that vitamin D plays an important role in maintaining health in the gastrointestinal tract. Higher levels of vitamin D reduce susceptibility to inflammatory bowel disease and Crohn’s disease, gut and lung infections in animals and people.

My colleagues and I have discovered that one of the ways vitamin D functions is by keeping the microbes in the gut healthy and happy. Vitamin D increases the number and diversity of microbes living in the gut, which together reduce inflammation throughout the body.

Low vitamin D levels are associated with inflammatory bowel disease in humans. Researchers have found that inflammatory bowel disease patients in Japan have more symptoms in winter than during other seasons.

Why You Need More Vitamin D In The Winter People with darker skin are most likely to have low vitamin D levels year-round. Lucian Coman/Shutterstock.com

Why is vitamin D more important in winter?

In the winter, humans are exposed to more infections and spend less time outside. Exactly how much vitamin D healthy adults should have is debated. Some authorities recommend from 200 IU per day to 2,000 IU per day. In the U.S., the Institutes of Medicine recommends 600-800 IU per day for adults, while the Endocrine Society states that optimal vitamin D status may require 1500-2,000 IU per day. In the winter, people have a reduced ability to make vitamin D when they go outside, so amounts of at least 600 IU per day of vitamin D from food or supplements would help maintain vitamin D status at summer levels.

But, just like many things, too much vitamin D can be harmful. Vitamin D toxicity does not result from too much sun or food. Because of the risk of skin cancer, dermatologists and other health professionals do not recommend unprotected sun exposure to boost your vitamin D. Instead they suggest supplements. But vitamin D toxicity can occur if an individual takes too many.

The experts that set the national intakes of vitamin D for the U.S. recommend that adult individuals take no more than 4,000 IU per day of vitamin D to avoid toxic side effects. Vitamin D helps you absorb calcium from your diet, but when vitamin D is too high, calcium levels in the blood go up and that can lead to kidney disease.

By consuming more vitamin D during the winter your gut microbes will be healthier and you’ll be more resistant to infection and inflammation year-round.

About The Author

Margherita T. Cantorna, Distinguished Professor of Molecular Immunology, Pennsylvania State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…