مثل وجود شاحنة خاملة في غرفة المعيشة الخاصة بك: التكلفة السامة للسخانات التي تعمل بالحطب

مثل وجود شاحنة خاملة في غرفة المعيشة الخاصة بك: التكلفة السامة للسخانات التي تعمل بالحطب www.shutterstock.com

اعتاد الأستراليون على الحصول على الهواء النقي ، وجونا النظيف مصدر فخر للكثيرين.

ومع ذلك ، جلبت حرائق الغابات في الصيف الماضي انتباه الجمهور إلى نوعية الهواء ، حيث استنشق ملايين الأستراليين بعض أسوأ نوعية هواء في العالم.

ولكن هناك مصدر أقل شهرة للتلوث يتسبب في تكاليف صحية بقيمة مليارات الدولارات كل عام: سخانات تعمل بالحطب في الأماكن المغلقة.

هذا الأسبوع ، الفرع الفيكتوري للجمعية الطبية الأسترالية مكالمات معتمدة لإزالة هذه السخانات عن طريق خطة إعادة الشراء أو الدعم. لكن هل ستنجح؟

دخان سخان الخشب مصدر تلوث ضخم

في فصل الشتاء ، يكون دخان سخان الخشب هو الوحيد أكبر ملوث للهواء في نيو ساوث ويلز و ACT. وبالمثل ، في فيكتوريا، دخان الخشب في أيام الشتاء الباردة هو المسؤول عن معظم انتهاكات معايير جودة الهواء.

يتولد دخان سخان الخشب من المواقد المفتوحة والسخانات التي تعمل بالحطب. السخانات التي تعمل بالحطب يتم التحكم فيها بالاحتراق ، وأجهزة التدفئة المنزلية. من أجل تفريغ الانبعاثات ، يستخدمون ماسورة معدنية تسمى المداخن ، بينما تستخدم المواقد المفتوحة المداخن.

حول 10٪ من الأسر الأسترالية - ما يقرب من 900,000 منزل - استخدم الخشب كمصدر رئيسي للتدفئة ، وفقًا لـ ABS.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مرتكز على إرشادات نيو ساوث ويلزيمكن أن يؤدي حرق 10 كيلوغرامات من الخشب (متوسط ​​اليوم) في مدفأة خشبية حديثة منخفضة الانبعاثات إلى إنتاج حوالي 15 جرامًا من "الجسيمات".

يتكون هذا من جزيئات دقيقة يمكن أن تخترق الجهاز التنفسي ، مما قد يسبب أمراض الرئة والقلب. وهو أحد أخطر مكونات الدخان وناقل للعديد من المواد الكيميائية المسببة للسرطان.

على النقيض من ذلك ، يمكن للشاحنة التي تسير على الطرق الحضرية المزدحمة أن تنتج فقط 0.03 غرام من الجسيمات لكل كيلومتر سافر. وبالتالي ، يتعين على الشاحنة أن تسير مسافة 500 كيلومتر في حركة المرور الكثيفة - تقريبًا المسافة من ملبورن إلى ميلدورا - لإنتاج نفس انبعاثات الجسيمات مثل متوسط ​​يوم واحد من استخدام سخان الخشب.

لذا فإن السخان الذي يعمل بالحطب يشبه وجود شاحنة متوقفة في غرفة المعيشة طوال اليوم (وإن كان ذلك مع تسرب معظم الانبعاثات عبر المدخنة).

الدخان سام

يشبه الدخان الناتج عن حرائق الخشب إلى حد كبير الدخان الناتج عن حرائق الأدغال ، كما أنه يضر بصحتنا.

السخانات الحارقة في أستراليا يقدر أن يسبب تكاليف صحية حوالي 3,800 دولار أسترالي لكل سخان خشب كل عام.

بالنظر إلى ما يقرب من 900,000 من سخانات الأخشاب المستخدمة كمصادر تدفئة منزلية أساسية في أستراليا ، يمكن أن يصل هذا إلى 3.4 مليار دولار أسترالي سنويًا في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

واحد دراسة نُشر في مايو / أيار ، قُدر 69 حالة وفاة ، و 86 حالة دخول إلى المستشفى ، و 15 زيارة لقسم طوارئ الربو في تسمانيا ، ويُعزى ذلك إلى دخان الكتلة الحيوية كل عام - وهو الدخان الناتج عن حرق الخشب والمحاصيل والسماد الطبيعي. ويعزى أكثر من 74٪ من هذه التأثيرات إلى دخان سخان الخشب ، بمتوسط ​​تكاليف سنوية مرتبطة بـ 293 مليون دولار أسترالي.

دراسة أخرى على غرار آثار تلوث الهواء على الأشخاص الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 45 عامًا في سيدني على مدى سبع سنوات. ووجدت أن التعرض المزمن لمستويات منخفضة من الجسيمات يرتبط بزيادة خطر الوفاة. اعتمادًا على النموذج المستخدم ، وجد ما بين 3-16٪ زيادة خطر الموت مع كل ميكروغرام إضافي (مليون جزء من جرام) من الجسيمات لكل متر مكعب من الهواء.

كل هذا يفترض أن مستخدمي سخان الخشب يتبعون القانون ويستخدمون الخشب الصلب النظيف والجاف كوقود. تصبح المشاكل أسوأ بكثير عند استخدام الخشب المعالج كمصدر للوقود.

إن مخلفات الأخشاب المعالجة من أنشطة البناء أو الهدم متاحة مجانًا ، وبالتالي تستمر في استخدامها كوقود لسخانات الخشب ، ضد ساندي خ. ميليك.

يعالج الكثير من هذا الخشب بمادة كيميائية مضادة للفطريات تسمى زرنيخ الكروم النحاسي. تنفس الانبعاثات عندما يكون هذا الخشب أحرق يمكن أن تزيد من حالات الكبد والمثانة و سرطانات الرئة، وتقليل إنتاج خلايا الدم الحمراء والبيضاء ، مما يؤدي إلى التعب ، وإيقاع القلب غير الطبيعي ، وتلف الأوعية الدموية.

لا يوجد مستوى آمن لتلوث الهواء الداخلي أو الخارجي. هذا هو الوقت المثالي للنظر في المخاطر الخفية المرتبطة بهواءنا "النظيف".

مثل وجود شاحنة خاملة في غرفة المعيشة الخاصة بك: التكلفة السامة للسخانات التي تعمل بالحطب ارتبط دخان سخان الخشب بزيادة حالات الاستشفاء والوفيات بسبب الربو. www.shutterstock.com

التغيير صعب

الاختبار القياسي للمواقد الجديدة هو إحدى الطرق التي تحاول السلطات من خلالها الحد من انبعاثات دخان الخشب. يجب تصميم السخانات الأسترالية لتمرير صارم المعايير، ولكن هذا النظام قد لا تعكس الطريقة التي تعمل بها السخانات فعليًا في البيئة المنزلية ، لأن هذا يختلف كثيرًا بين الأسر.

على سبيل المثال ، في نيوزيلندا ، اختبار على خمسة سخانات المثبتة في منازل الناس سجلت مستويات الجسيمات أعلى بأكثر من 15 مرة من المتوسط ​​المتوقع المحسوب أثناء الاختبار.

إن حظر مواقد الخشب تمامًا غير عادل ، حيث لا يستطيع بعض الناس تحمل أي مصدر آخر للتدفئة ، وقد يفقد العديد من الأشخاص العاملين في صناعة مدفأة الحطب وظائفهم. لكن تغيير الحوافز الاقتصادية يمكن أن ينجح. طريقة التدخل المقترحة حاليًا في فيكتوريا هي خطة لإعادة شراء أو دعم موقد الحطب ، وهو الآن أيد بواسطة الفرع الفيكتوري للجمعية الطبية الأسترالية.

ومع ذلك ، لم يكن لخطة الخصم المماثلة تأثير كبير في كانبيرا. منذ نوفمبر 2015 ، تمكن السكان من المطالبة بدعم يصل إلى 1,250 دولارًا أستراليًا إذا استبدلوا سخان الخشب الخاص بهم بنظام دورة كهربائية عكسية. خمس أسر فقط استغرق هذا الخصم في الأشهر الستة الأولى. وفي الوقت نفسه، 40,000-50,000 تباع سخانات الخشب في أستراليا كل عام.

خيار آخر هو الغرامات. التسمانيون يمكن تغريمه 1,680،XNUMX دولار أسترالي إذا كانت مدخنةهم تنبعث منها دخانًا مرئيًا لأكثر من عشر دقائق. ومع ذلك ، عندما تم الإعلان عن هذه اللوائح ، اعتبر العديد من التسمانيين القوانين ثقيلة والتقى الحكومة مقاومة المجتمع.

مثل وجود شاحنة خاملة في غرفة المعيشة الخاصة بك: التكلفة السامة للسخانات التي تعمل بالحطب كانت العديد من المحاولات لتقليل عدد سخانات الأخشاب الداخلية في أستراليا غير فعالة. www.shutterstock.com

الطريق إلى الأمام؟

في 2001، وضعت لونسيستون عدة استراتيجيات لتشجيع استخدام السخانات الكهربائية بدلا من سخانات الخشب ، بما في ذلك منح A $ 500 لأولئك الذين يتحولون.

بعد ذلك ، انخفض انتشار سخان الخشب من 66 ٪ إلى 30 ٪ من جميع الأسر ، وهو ما يعادل انخفاضًا بنسبة 40 ٪ في تلوث الهواء الجسيمي خلال فصل الشتاء.

يمكن أن يساعد التعليم أيضًا. إذا كان الناس يعرفون تركيزات ملوثات الهواء في منازلهم ، فقد يكون لديهم الدافع لتغيير سلوك حرق الأخشاب. غالبًا ما يكون السكان غير مدركين لتركيزات الدخان الناتجة عن نشاطهم ، حيث يفكر الكثيرون في فتح نافذة تقلل من مستوى دخان الخشب في منازلهم. إن التحكم في التلوث الداخلي أمر صعب ، خاصة إذا كان المصدر الرئيسي للتلوث في الهواء الطلق - فتح النافذة سيسمح في الواقع بمزيد من التلوث.

نقترح ذلك مع مخططات الخصم المقترحةيمكن أن يكون أحد سبل المضي قدمًا هو توفير إمكانية وصول ميسورة التكلفة (من خلال الإعانات أو غير ذلك) إلى أجهزة استشعار جودة الهواء. في الطرف الأدنى من المقياس ، تتراوح الأسعار من 100-500 دولار أسترالي ، مع أجهزة أكثر دقة تتراوح بين 1,000-5,000 دولار أسترالي.

على الرغم من التكلفة ، يمكنهم تحسين الوعي بمستويات تلوث الهواء بين أولئك الذين يستخدمون سخانات تعمل بالحطب ، وقد يوفرون دافعًا للناس للعمل معًا وتغيير تصورات المجتمع حول أجهزة حرق الأخشاب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بيتر إرجا ، زميل أبحاث ما بعد الدكتوراة ومحاضر في تلوث الهواء والضوضاء ، كلية الهندسة المدنية والبيئية ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني؛ بريان أوليفر ، باحث رائد في علم الأحياء الخلوي والجزيئي التنفسي في معهد وولكوك للأبحاث الطبية وأستاذ بكلية العلوم ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني، وفريزر آر توربي ، مدير مجموعة أبحاث النباتات وجودة البيئة ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني يدعم هذا المقال معهد جوديث نيلسون للصحافة والأفكار.المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

al
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
by إيما سويني وإيان والش
تحدث دائمًا أحداث المطر الغزير ، لكن هل تتغير؟
تحدث دائمًا أحداث المطر الغزير ، لكن هل تتغير؟
by فرانسيس زويرس ورونالد ستيوارت

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Like Having A Truck Idling In Your Living Room: The Toxic Cost Of Wood-fired Heaters

Like Having A Truck Idling In Your Living Room: The Toxic Cost Of Wood-fired Heaters www.shutterstock.com

Australians are accustomed to having fresh air, and our clean atmosphere is a source of pride for many.

Last summer’s bushfires, however, brought air quality to the public’s attention, as millions of Australians breathed some of the world’s worst quality air.

But there’s a lesser-known source of pollution causing billions of dollars worth of health costs every year: indoor wood-fired heaters.

This week, the Victorian branch of the Australian Medical Association endorsed calls to remove these heaters via a buyback or subsidy scheme. But will it work?

Wood heater smoke is a huge pollution source

In winter, wood heater smoke is the single biggest air pollutant in New South Wales and the ACT. Similarly, in Victoria, wood smoke on cool winter days is responsible for most breaches of air quality standards.

Wood heater smoke is generated from both open fireplaces and wood-fired heaters. Wood-fired heaters are controlled-combustion, domestic heating appliances. In order to discharge emissions, they use a metal pipe called a flue, while open fireplaces use chimneys.

Around 10% of Australian households – roughly 900,000 homes – use wood as their main source of heating, according to the ABS.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Based on NSW guidelines, burning 10 kilograms of wood (an average day) in a modern, low-emitting wood heater can produce around 15 grams of “particulate matter”.

This is composed of tiny particles which can penetrate into the respiratory system, potentially causing lung and heart diseases. It is one of the most dangerous components of smoke, and a carrier for many of its cancer-causing chemicals.

By contrast, a truck travelling on congested urban roads can produce just 0.03 grams of particulate matter per kilometre travelled. A truck would therefore have to travel 500km in heavy traffic – roughly the distance from Melbourne to Mildura – to produce the same particulate matter emissions as one average day of using a wood heater.

So a wood-fired heater is like having a truck idling in your living room all day (albeit with the bulk of the emissions escaping via the chimney).

Smoke is toxic

The smoke from wood fires is very similar to that generated by bushfires, and is also detrimental to our health.

Australia’s wood-fired heaters are estimated to cause health costs of around A$3,800 per wood heater each year.

Given the roughly 900,000 wood heaters used as primary household heating sources in Australia, this could be as high as A$3.4 billion annually across the country.

One study published in May estimated 69 deaths, 86 hospital admissions, and 15 asthma emergency department visits in Tasmania were attributable to biomass smoke each year – the smoke which comes from burning wood, crops and manure. More than 74% of these impacts were attributed to wood heater smoke, with average associated yearly costs of A$293 million.

Another study modelled the effects of air pollution on over-45-year-olds in Sydney over seven years. It found chronic exposure to low levels of particulate matter was linked with an increased risk of death. Depending on the model used, it found between a 3-16% increased risk of dying occurred with each extra microgram (one millionth of a gram) of particulate matter per cubic metre of air.

All of this assumes wood heater users follow the law and use clean, dry hardwood as fuel. Problems become far worse when treated wood is used as the fuel source.

Treated timber offcuts from construction or demolition activities are freely available and therefore continue to be used as fuel for wood heaters, against recommendations.

Much of this timber is treated with an antifungal chemical called copper chrome arsenate. Breathing the emissions when this wood is burned can increase incidents of liver, bladder, and lung cancers, and reduce the production of red and white blood cells, leading to fatigue, abnormal heart rhythm, and blood-vessel damage.

There is no safe level of indoor or outdoor air pollution. This is an ideal time to consider the hidden dangers associated with our “clean” air.

Like Having A Truck Idling In Your Living Room: The Toxic Cost Of Wood-fired Heaters Wood heater smoke has been linked with increased hospitalisations and deaths from asthma. www.shutterstock.com

Change is difficult

Standard testing for new stoves is one way authorities try to reduce wood smoke emissions. Australian heaters must be designed to pass strict standards, however this system may not reflect the way heaters are actually operated in the home environment, because this varies so much between households.

For example, in New Zealand, testing on five heaters installed in people’s homes recorded particulate matter levels more than 15 times higher than their predicted average calculated during testing.

Banning wood stoves altogether is inequitable, as some people cannot afford any other source of heating, and many people employed in the wood-fire heater industry could lose their jobs. But changing economic incentives could work. An intervention method currently being proposed in Victoria is a wood stove buyback or subsidy scheme, which is now supported by the Victorian branch of the Australian Medical Association.

However, a similar rebate scheme did not have much impact in Canberra. Since November 2015, residents have been able to claim a subsidy of up to A$1,250 if they replace their wood heater with a ducted electric reverse cycle system. Just five households took up this rebate in the first six months. Meanwhile, 40,000-50,000 wood heaters are sold in Australia each year.

Another option is fines. Tasmanians can be fined A$1,680 if their chimney emits smoke which is visible for more than ten minutes. However, when these regulations were announced the laws were considered by many Tasmanians to be heavy-handed and the government was met with community resistance.

Like Having A Truck Idling In Your Living Room: The Toxic Cost Of Wood-fired Heaters Many attempts at reducing the number of indoor wood heaters in Australia have been ineffective. www.shutterstock.com

A way forward?

In 2001, Launceston established several strategies to encourage use of electric heaters instead of wood heaters, including a grant of A$500 to those switching over.

Following this, wood heater prevalence fell from 66% to 30% of all households, corresponding to a 40% reduction in particulate air pollution during winter.

Education could also help. If people knew the concentrations of air pollutants in their homes, they might be motivated to change their wood burning behaviour. Often residents are unaware of the concentrations of smoke generated by their activity, with many considering opening a window reduces the level of wood smoke in their home. Controlling indoor pollution is difficult, especially if the major source of the pollution is outdoors – opening the window would actually let more pollution in.

We suggest that together with the proposed rebate schemes, one way forward could be to provide affordable access (through subsidies or otherwise) to air-quality sensors. At the lower end of the scale, prices range from A$100-500, with more accurate devices in the range of A$1,000-5,000.

Despite the expense, they can improve awareness of levels of air pollution among those with wood-fired heaters, and may provide the impetus for people to work together and change community perceptions around wood-burning appliances.

About The Author

Peter Irga, Chancellor's Postdoctoral Research Fellow and Lecturer in Air and Noise Pollution, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Technology Sydney; Brian Oliver, Research Leader in Respiratory cellular and molecular biology at the Woolcock Institute of Medical Research and Professor, Faculty of Science, University of Technology Sydney, and Fraser R Torpy, Director, Plants and Environmental Quality Research Group, University of Technology Sydney This article is supported by the Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas.The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

al
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)