Жизнь - это не спринт, а путешествие, которым нужно наслаждаться

Жизнь - это не спринт, а путешествие, которым нужно наслаждаться
Исходное изображение от Ричард Рейд (раскрашено InnerSelf)

До того, как у меня случился инсульт, единственными книгами, которые я читал, были учебники. Теперь я читаю всевозможные книги: загадки, биографии, истории, художественную литературу и самосовершенствование. Я понимаю, что инсульт оказал непосредственное влияние на мое общение (речь, письмо и общее понимание), но оно вернулось. , , не все, но я далеко от того места, где я был в те первые годы после инсульта.

Я помню, как однажды, вскоре после инсульта, я сидел на кровати с Келли. Я читал о нейробных упражнениях из книги Держите свой мозг живым Лоуренс Кац. Там было так много страниц, что я не мог понять. Я не знал слов. Я не знал, что они имели в виду. Теперь я знаю, но этот момент все еще живет со мной. Я не фанат словаря, но я всегда проверяю слова и идиомы, даже сегодня - всегда перестраиваю и расширяю свой словарный запас и улучшаю беглость.

Четыре или пять месяцев спустя я попытался прочитать эту книгу во второй раз. Я мог понять 40 до 50 процентов, но мне пришлось идти очень медленно. Я вернулся к этому через два года и понял гораздо больше.

Самая важная стратегия: оставайтесь позитивными

Когда я собрал первый отчет о стратегии для Института реабилитации в Чикаго (RIC), мне пришлось провести несколько презентаций с небольшой группой людей. Они ждали до конца, а затем задавали вопросы. Первый вопрос был: «Из всех реабилитационных мероприятий, которые вы провели, Тед, включая логопедов, физкультурников, врачей, неврологов, альтернативных лекарств, психологов, иглотерапевтов и т. Д., Какой из них был наиболее полезным для вас, чтобы вернуться в общество?»

Я не мог ответить. Не было ни одной вещи, ни единого, первичного очага. Я сказал им: «Это как осмос - это просто происходит постепенно. Вы можете почувствовать это. Вы узнаете, когда вернутся ваши способности. Я обнаружил способности, которых я не знал до удара. Я сделал так много вещей. Люди в разное время говорили мне просто сделать это или сосредоточиться на этом. Но я должен был знать обоснование, прежде чем сосредоточиться или выполнить определенную задачу. Когда это объяснение не было предоставлено, я выбрал другой путь. У меня всегда были и остаются стратегии и варианты. У меня было так много вещей, которые я мог сделать, и я сделал столько, сколько мог. У каждого всегда была цель и желаемый результат. Я всегда продолжал подключаться. Так что, возможно, наиболее полезными были упорство и устойчивость ».

И не забывайте, у меня была потрясающая семья и система поддержки. Келли всегда была там, поддерживая меня. Моя семья и друзья позвонили мне и зарегистрировались, чтобы посмотреть, как продвигается мой прогресс. Они никогда не сдавались на мое выздоровление, и при этом они никогда не обращались со мной, как будто я был потерян, и из-за этого я никогда ошибка потерял.

Я не могу сказать вам самый важный компонент, но ни один из них не работал бы без позитивного отношения. Вы должны оставаться позитивными.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Определение. Мотивация. Упорство. Настойчивость. Упорство. Быть неустанным. Не падай духом, если дела не пойдут. Продолжайте пытаться переоснастить ваш подход; Вы найдете способ решить проблему и избавиться от любых разочарований и отказов, которые у вас были. Поймите, что они предоставляют ценные возможности для обучения в следующий раз.

От брата Теда, Том

До инсульта у Теда было все дело. Очень серьезный. Так как он выздоровел, у него такое чувство юмора. Сейчас он прошел почти 180 градусов. Он намного смешнее, и весь его юмор - его сухое чувство юмора - вышел. Это никогда не выходило до удара. Теперь он другой человек. Я не знаю, насколько это к лучшему, но кажется, что с его спины снято большое бремя. Теперь он стал настоящим человеком. Он не робот, обреченный на беспощадную работу каждый день. Он просто смешной. С ним смешно. И мы так же близки, как были до инсульта - возможно, ближе.

Мне не стыдно говорить следующее: большинство младших братьев смотрят на своего старшего брата, верно? Тед всегда смотрел на меня. Но теперь, несмотря на то, что он на одиннадцать лет старше его, я смотрю на него. У него просто есть эта сила. Когда мы выходим, он принимает все решения, и у меня нет проблем с этим. Я встречусь с ним в Лас-Вегасе в одиннадцать вечера пятницы, а это действительно два часа моего времени, и он скажет: «Давай, давай пойдем обедать». Я так устал от поездок весь день, но я ничего не думаю о том, чтобы пойти с ним на ужин, потому что он попросил меня встретиться с ним.

Я сделаю для него что угодно в мире. Я бы действительно. Я самый старший из пяти мальчиков и девочек, и у нас хорошие отношения между всеми. Но между мной и Тедди это просто нечто. , , особый.

Он также не заплатил мне, чтобы я это сказал.

Начало новой главы моей жизни

В июле 2012, через два с половиной года после моего переезда в Калифорнию, я сделал небольшую презентацию PowerPoint в Университете Чепмена в Оранже, штат Калифорния. Я собрал краткое резюме того, что случилось со мной в Чикаго, большие паузы для размышлений и то, как я усилил свою реабилитацию, так что я всегда чувствовал себя комфортно и отвечал за свое выздоровление. Это был большой момент для меня, но это не конец моей истории. Это только начало новой главы моей жизни.

Иногда я думал, что в течение нескольких лет после моего инсульта, что случилось бы, если бы у меня не было инсульта. Буду ли я работать в финансовой отрасли? Я действительно наслаждался этим, но я провел бесчисленные часы, ведя свою карьеру, за счет того, чтобы иметь настоящее удовольствие и более глубокие отношения с моей семьей, моими друзьями, моей женой. Я мог бы продолжать оттачивать свои финансовые и кадровые навыки, достичь своей цели стать финансовым директором одного из ведущих хедж-фондов в мире, управлять группой людей, участвовать в крупнейших мировых институтах и ​​работать с всемирно известными финансовыми организациями. эксперты.

Но сейчас я помогаю людям, которые нуждаются в большей поддержке. Я чувствую такое удовлетворение в отдаче обществу. Мне доставляет удовольствие знать, что я могу мотивировать людей и дать им надежду, даже когда они переживают кризис здоровья, который меняет жизнь.

Я всегда учусь и изучаю медицинские аспекты инсультов и афазии. Мне нравится видеть мою семью и друзей больше, чем когда-либо раньше. Я пробую разные вещи, которые у меня никогда бы не было. Я научился играть в гольф и наслаждаться им, присоединился к книжным клубам, погрузился в мир искусства, завел несколько хороших друзей, и я все еще встречаю новые лица.

Я больше осведомлен о вещах вокруг меня. Я знаю себя и свою личность лучше, чем раньше. Во время моего выздоровления я сосредоточился на том, чтобы услышать то, что должны были сказать другие, особенно когда моя речь была бездействующей. Я стал отличным слушателем, особенно в те моменты, когда я испытываю беспокойство и стресс, когда моя речь не так бегла.

Создание нового лучшего плана для вашей жизни

Да, я получаю больше удовольствия, чем до удара. И это приносит мне пользу. Я создал новый, лучший план для моей жизни. Я счастлив, что у меня есть шанс начать все сначала.

Моя история все еще пишется, в некотором смысле. Я говорю в большем количестве мест, чтобы рассказать о моем опыте, силе решимости и возможности изменить шаблоны в нашей жизни. У меня совершенно другой взгляд на жизнь, совершенно другой способ пережить мои дни, недели, месяцы и годы. Я занимаюсь жизнь, а не в работе.

Жизнь - это не спринт, а путешествие, которое предназначено для полного наслаждения. Хитрость в преодолении самых трудных периодов жизни заключается в том, чтобы помнить, что на этом пути есть много препятствий, но часто, когда вы преодолеваете эти препятствия, вас ждет большее счастье на другой стороне.

© 2018 Тед В. Бакстер. Все права защищены.
Выдается с разрешения.
Издатель: Книжная группа Гринлиф Пресс.

Статья Источник

Неумолимый: Как массивный удар изменил мою жизнь к лучшему
Тед В. Бакстер

Неумолимый: как массивный удар изменил мою жизнь к лучшему от Теда У.В 2005 Тед В. Бакстер был на вершине своей игры. Он был успешным бизнесменом, путешествующим по миру, с резюме, которое поразит лучших из лучших. В пиковом физическом состоянии Тед работал почти каждый день недели. И вот, в апреле 21, 2005, все это подошло к концу. У него был массивный ишемический инсульт. Врачи боялись, что он не сделает это, или если он сделает это, он будет в вегетативном состоянии в больничной койке до конца своей жизни. Но чудесным образом этого не произошло. , , «Безжалостный» - замечательный ресурс для выживших после инсульта, лиц, обеспечивающих уход, и их близких, но он также является вдохновляющим и мотивирующим чтением для всех, кто сталкивается с трудностями в собственной жизни. (Также доступно как издание Kindle и аудиокнига.)

нажмите, чтобы заказать на Amazon



Об авторе

Тед В. БакстерПроведя 22 годами в финансовой индустрии, Тед Бакстер ушел в отставку с должности глобального финансового директора в крупной хедж-инвестиционной компании, базирующейся в Чикаго. До этого Тед был управляющим директором глобального инвестиционного банка, а также партнером Price Waterhouse и консультантом, который занимался вопросами банков и ценных бумаг, управлением рисками, финансовыми продуктами и стратегическим планированием. На международном уровне он провел годы 8, работая и живя в Токио и Гонконге. В настоящее время Тед работает волонтером в больницах 2 в округе Ориндж, возглавляет группы по программе восстановления связи с инсультом и является членом Совета директоров Американской ассоциации сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний.

Книги по этой теме

Видео / Интервью с Тедом Бакстером

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Привет! Они играют нашу песню
Привет! Они играют нашу песню
by Мари Т. Рассел, Внутренний

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Life Is Not A Sprint, But A Journey To Be Fully Enjoyed

Life Is Not A Sprint, But A Journey To Be Fully Enjoyed
Original Image by Richard Reid (colorized by InnerSelf)

Before I had my stroke, the only kind of books I read were textbooks. Now, I read all kinds ofbooks: mysteries, biographies, histories, fiction, and self-improvement. I realize the stroke has had a direct impact on my communication (speech, writing, and overall comprehension), but it came back. . . not all of it, but I am a far cry from where I was in those first years after the stroke.

I remember one time, not too long after my stroke, I was sitting on my bed with Kelly. I was reading about neurobic exercises from the book Keep Your Brain Alive by Lawrence Katz. It had so many pages that I couldn’t understand. I didn’t know the words. I didn’t know what they meant. I know now, but that moment still lives with me. I’m not a dictionary geek, but I’m always checking words and idioms, even today—always rebuilding and expanding my vocabulary and improving my fluency.

Four or five months later, I tried to read that book a second time. I could understand 40 to 50 percent, but I had to go very slowly. I went back to it after two years, and I understood a lot more.

The Most Important Strategy: Stay Positive

When I put the first strategy report together for  The Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago (RIC), I had to do some presentations with a small group of people. They waited until the end and then asked questions. The first question was, “Of all the rehab activities you did, Ted, including speech therapists, physical trainers, doctors, neurologists, alternative medicines, psychologists, acupuncturists, and so on, which one was the most beneficial for you to come back into society?”

I couldn’t answer. There was no one thing, no single, primary focus. I told them, “It’s like osmosis—it just happens, gradually. You can feel it. You’ll know when your abilities come back. I discovered abilities I didn’t know I had before my stroke. I’ve done so many things. People at various times have told me to just do this or focus on that. But I had to know the rationale before I would focus on or do a particular task. When that explanation wasn’t provided, I chose a different way. I always had, and still have, strategies and options in place. I had so many things I could do, and I did as many of them as I could. There was always a purpose and a desired result for each. I always kept plugging on. So, maybe the most beneficial things were persistence and resilience.”

And not to forget, I had an amazing family and support system behind me. Kelly was always there, supporting me. My family and friends called me and checked in to see how my progress was coming along. They never gave up on my recovery, nor did they ever treat me as if I were lost, and because of that, I never felt lost.

I can’t tell you the most important component, but none of it would have worked without positive attitude. You must stay positive.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Determination. Motivation. Tenacity. Perseverance. Persistence. Being Relentless. Don’t get yourself down if things don’t go your way. Keep trying to retool your approach;  you’ll find a way to solve a problem and get yourself past any frustrations and rejections you had. Realize that these are providing valuable opportunities to learn for the next time.

From Ted's Brother, Tom

Before the stroke, Ted was all business. Very serious. Since he’s recovered, he’s got such a sense of humor. He’s come almost 180 degrees now. He’s so much funnier, and all his humor—his dry sense of humor—has come out. It never came out before the stroke. He’s a different person now. I don’t know that it’s so much for the better, but it seems like a big burden was lifted off his back. He’s become a real person now. He’s not a robot who was doomed to work relentlessly every day. He’s just funny. He’s funny to be with. And we’re just as close as we were before the stroke—probably closer.

I’m not embarrassed to say this: The majority of younger brothers would look up to their older brother, right? Ted would always look up to me. But now, despite being eleven years older than him, I look up to him. He just has this power. When we go out, he makes all the decisions, and I don’t have any problems with that. I’ll meet him in Las Vegas at eleven on a Friday night, which is really two a.m. my time, and he’ll say, “Come on, let’s go out to dinner.” I’m so tired from traveling all day, but I think nothing of going out to dinner with him because he asked me to meet him.

I’d do anything in the world for him. I really would. I’m the oldest of five boys and a girl, and our relationships are good between everybody. But, between me and Teddy, it’s just something. . . special.

He didn’t pay me to say that, either.

The Beginning Of A New Chapter Of My Life

In July 2012, two and a half years after I moved to California, I did a short PowerPoint presentation at Chapman University in Orange, California. I put together a succinct summation of what happened to me in Chicago, big pauses for me to think, and how I had amplified my own rehab so that I always felt comfortable and in charge of my recovery.  It was a big moment for me, but it’s not the end of my story. It’s only the beginning of a new chapter of my life.

I’ve wondered sometimes, throughout the few years after my stroke, what would have happened if I hadn’t had a stroke. Would I still work in the financial industry? I really enjoyed it, but I spent countless hours driving my career, at the cost of having real fun and deeper relationships with my family, my friends, my wife. I could have continued to hone my financial and people skills, attained my objective of being a CFO for one of the premier hedge funds in the world, managed a group of people, contributed to the largest global institutions, and worked with world-renowned financial experts.

But now, I help people who need more support. I feel such gratification in giving back to society. It gives me pleasure to know that I can motivate people and give them hope, even when they’ve experienced a life-changing health crisis.

I’m always learning and educating myself on the medical aspects of strokes and aphasia. I enjoy seeing my family and friends more than I ever did before. I try different things that I would never have had the chance to do. I learned to play and enjoy golf, joined book clubs, immersed myself in the world of art, made some great friends, and I am still meeting new faces.

I am more aware of things around me. I know myself and my identity better than before. During my recovery, I focused on hearing what others had to say, especially when my speaking was dormant. I’ve become an excellent listener, especially at times when I experience anxiety and stress, when my speech is not so fluent.

Creating A New, Better Blueprint For Your Life

Yes—I’m having fun more than before my stroke. And that is doing a world of good for me. I’ve created a new, better blueprint for my life. I am blessed to have the chance to have a fresh start.

My story is still being written, in a sense. I’m speaking in more places to spread the word about my experiences, the power of determination, and the possibility to change the patterns in our lives. I have a totally different perspective on life, a completely different way of going through my days, weeks, months, and years. I’m engaged in living, instead of in work.

Life is not a sprint, but a journey that is meant to be fully enjoyed. The trick to getting through the hardest times in life is to remember that there are many roadblocks along the way, but often, when you conquer those obstacles, there is greater happiness awaiting you on the other side.

©2018 by Ted W. Baxter. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission.
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group Press.

Article Source

Relentless: How a Massive Stroke Changed My Life for the Better
by Ted W. Baxter

Relentless: How a Massive Stroke Changed My Life for the Better by Ted W. In 2005, Ted W. Baxter was at the top of his game. He was a successful, globe-trotting businessman with a resume that would impress the best of the best. In peak physical condition, Ted worked out nearly every day of the week. And then, on April 21, 2005, all that came to an end. He had a massive ischemic stroke. Doctors feared he wouldn't make it, or if he did make it, he would be in a vegetative state in a hospital bed for the rest of his life. But miraculously, that's not what happened . . . Relentless is a wonderful resource for stroke survivors, caregivers, and their loved ones, but it is also an inspiring and motivating read for anyone who is facing struggles in their own life. (Also available as a Kindle edition and an Audiobook.)

click to order on amazon



 About the Author

Ted W. BaxterAfter spending 22 years in the financial industry, Ted Baxter is retired as a global CFO with a large hedge investment firm based in Chicago. Prior to that, Ted was a managing director for a global investment bank and he was a Price Waterhouse partner and a consultant concentrated on banks and securities, risk management, financial products, and strategic planning. Internationally, he spent 8 years working and living in Tokyo and Hong Kong. Ted now volunteers at 2 hospitals in Orange County, leading groups in a stroke-related communication recovery program, and is a member of the Board of Directors at the American Heart and Stroke Association.

Related Books

Video/Interview with Ted Baxter

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...
InnerSelf.com Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
When we think of greed, we usually think about money and material possessions. However, greed can…

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
image of a girl looking into a gloomy forest but with light ray shining through
Changing Your Nightmares or Fearful Dreams Into Pleasant Experiences
by Serge Kahili King
The following sentence is the most important thing I have to say about dreams and dreaming: AFTER A…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.