كيف تختلف معدلات الذهان بشكل كبير في جميع أنحاء العالم

كيف تختلف معدلات الذهان بشكل كبير في جميع أنحاء العالم كريستيان مولر / شترستوك

ليس من المرجح أن يصاب الجميع بالذهان. منذ 1930s لقد عرفنا وجود اختلافات كبيرة في المخاطر بين المواقع الجغرافية المختلفة ومجموعات السكان. الشباب ، على سبيل المثال ، هم أكثر عرضة لتطوير اضطراب ذهاني، مثل الفصام. والأقليات العرقية في الدول الغربية تصل إلى خمس مرات أكثر عرضة لتطوير الذهان ، مقارنة مع الأغلبية العرقية. ومع ذلك ، لا نعرف حقًا سبب وجود مثل هذه الاختلافات الكبيرة في المخاطر بين الأشخاص والأماكن.

دراسة الذهان أمر صعب. إنها مجموعة نادرة نسبيا من الاضطرابات. فقط 1-3.5٪ من السكان سوف تتأثر من أي وقت مضى ، لذلك تحتاج إلى دراسات كبيرة جدا للتحقيق في الاختلافات. علينا أيضًا أن نعتمد على الدراسات القائمة على الملاحظة ، والتي لا يمكنها إظهار السبب والنتيجة ، فقط الجمعيات. سيكون من غير الأخلاقي - ناهيك عن أنه غير عملي - تصميم تجربة نخصص فيها نصف السكان للعيش في مدن مزدحمة والنصف الآخر في الريف ومعرفة ما إذا كانت هناك اختلافات في خطر الذهان بين هذه المجموعات.

من القيود الأخرى على دراسة جغرافيا الذهان وجود تحيز غربي متميز. لدينا مؤخرا التحليل التلوي، التي نشرت في مجلة لانسيت للصحة العامة ، نظرت في الدراسات التي أبلغت عن حدوث الذهان (أي ، عدد الحالات الجديدة في السنة). من بين الدراسات التي أجرتها 177 والتي استوفت معايير إدراجنا ، تم إجراء 19 فقط خارج أوروبا وأستراليا وأمريكا الشمالية. هذا يعني أننا لا نفهم عبء المرض في أجزاء كثيرة من العالم ، مما قد يكون له آثار بعيدة المدى على ما نفهمه بشأن الذهان.

على سبيل المثال ، لم يتم اختبار العلاقة بين الولادة والعيش في منطقة حضرية والذهان في البلدان الغربية. ا دراسة حديثة اختبرت هذه الفرضية في البلدان المنخفضة والمتوسطة الدخل ولم تجد مثل هذا الرابط. هذه دراسة واحدة فقط ، لذلك لا يكفي أن نجعلنا نتساءل عن كل شيء نعتقد أننا نعرفه ، لكنه يوضح حقيقة أن الصلة بين الذهان والمناطق الحضرية قد تكون أكثر تحديدًا للسياق مما رأيناه حتى الآن.

هناك عامل آخر يجعل دراسة الاختلافات الإقليمية في الذهان صعباً وهو أنه لا توجد طريقة ثابتة لجمع البيانات. تعتمد بعض الدراسات على الإحصائيات الصادرة عن خدمات المتخصصين بينما تعتمد دراسات أخرى على سجلات السكان.

تميل سجلات السكان إلى اقتراح معدلات أعلى من الذهان لأنها لا تحصر فقط زيارات الخدمات المتخصصة ولكن عبر نظام الرعاية الصحية بأكمله. على سبيل المثال ، تشمل زيارات للممارسين العامين.

تصبح أهمية هذا التباين الجغرافي واضحة عندما ننظر إلى ما يسمى "تأثير خط العرض". وكثيرا ما ذكرت أن الاضطرابات الذهانية هي أكثر شيوعا في مناطق خطوط العرض الشمالية ، لكننا لم نكتشف أبدًا سببًا معقولًا لحدوث ذلك.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من قبيل الصدفة ، فإن الكثير من الدول الاسكندنافية تستخدم أيضًا سجلات السكان. لا نعرف ما إذا كان هذا يفسر تأثير خطوط العرض ، ولكنه قد يسهم في ذلك.

كيف تختلف معدلات الذهان بشكل كبير في جميع أنحاء العالم الناس في البلدان الاسكندنافية هم أكثر عرضة للمعاناة من اضطرابات ذهانية. تاتيانا فيك / شترستوك

لماذا يهم

إذا كانت لدينا إحصاءات أكثر دقة حول الاختلافات في المخاطر ، فقد تخبرنا بشيء حول ما الذي يسبب الذهان. لحسن الحظ ، لا تعني حدود الأدلة الحالية أنه لا يوجد شيء يمكن أن نقوله عن عوامل التوزيع والخطر في الذهان. بعض النتائج الموصوفة أعلاه ، مثل ارتفاع خطر الإصابة بالذهان لدى الأقليات العرقية في الدول الغربية ، موصوفة في العديد من الدراسات في العديد من البلدان ، بحيث يمكننا أن نكون متأكدين نسبيًا من أنها ليست نتيجة اختلافات في طرق الدراسة.

في دراسة حديثة باستخدام طرق مماثلة للعثور على حالات عبر إعدادات 17 في ستة بلدان ، لا نزال نجد فرق ثمانية أضعاف في حدوث الذهان بين 17 وشملت الإعدادات. كان هذا بعد الأخذ في الاعتبار الاختلافات في العمر والجنس والعرق ملامح السكان في البيئات المختلفة. هذا أمر مهم لأننا نتوقع معدلًا أعلى في منطقة بها عدد أكبر من الشباب ، على سبيل المثال ، لأننا نعرف أن لديهم خطرًا أكبر للإصابة بالذهان. تشير هذه الدراسة إلى أن التباين في الاختطار ليس كله بسبب الاختلافات في طرق الدراسة.

بناءً على الأدلة الحالية ، يبدو أن التحقيق في سبب كون الذهان أكثر شيوعًا في الأقليات العرقية في الدول الغربية هو سؤال أكثر أهمية من سبب كونه أكثر شيوعًا في الدول الاسكندنافية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

هانا جونغسما ، زميلة أبحاث ، الطب النفسي ، UCL

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

How Psychosis Rates Vary Significantly Around The Globe

How Psychosis Rates Vary Significantly Around The Globe Christian Mueller/Shutterstock

Not everyone is equally likely to develop psychosis. Since the 1930s we’ve known that large differences in risk exist between different geographical locations and population groups. Young men, for instance, are more likely to develop a psychotic disorder, such as schizophrenia. And ethnic minorities in Western countries are up to five times more likely to develop psychosis, compared with the ethnic majority. Yet we don’t really know why such big differences in risk between people and places exist.

Studying psychosis is difficult. It is a relatively rare group of disorders. Only 1-3.5% of the population will ever be affected, so you need very large studies to investigate differences. We also have to rely on observational studies, which can’t show cause and effect, only associations. It would be unethical – not to mention unworkable – to design a trial where we assign half of a population to live in crowded cities and the other half in the countryside and see if there are differences in psychosis risk between these groups.

Another limitation to studying the geography of psychosis is that there is a distinct Western bias. Our recent meta-analysis, published in The Lancet Public Health, looked at studies reporting the incidence of psychosis (that is, the number of new cases per year). Of the 177 studies that met our criteria for inclusion, only 19 were conducted outside Europe, Australia and North America. This means we don’t understand the burden of disease in many parts of the world, which could have far-reaching implications for what we understand about psychosis.

The association between being born and living in an urban area and psychosis, for instance, has only ever been tested in Western countries. A recent study tested this hypothesis in low and middle-income countries and found no such link. This is only one study, so it’s not enough to make us question everything we think we know, but it does illustrate the fact that the link between psychosis and urban areas might be more context-specific than we have considered so far.

Another factor that makes studying regional variations in psychosis difficult is that there is no consistent way of gathering data. Some studies rely on stats from specialists services while others rely on population registers.

Population registers tend to suggest higher rates of psychosis because they not only count visits to specialised services but across a whole healthcare system. For instance, they include visits to general practitioners.

The relevance of this to geographical variance becomes clear when we look at the so-called “latitude effect”. It is often reported that psychotic disorders are more common at more northern latitudes, but we’ve never discovered a plausible reason why this would be the case.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Coincidentally, a lot of Scandinavian countries also make use of population registers. We don’t know if this explains the latitude effect, but it might contribute to it.

How Psychosis Rates Vary Significantly Around The Globe People in Scandinavian countries are much more likely to suffer from psychotic disorders. Tatyana Vyc/Shutterstock

Why it matters

If we had more accurate statistics on the differences in risk, it might tell us something about what causes psychosis. Fortunately, the limitations of the current evidence don’t mean there is nothing we can say about the distribution and risk factors of psychosis. Some of the findings described above, such as the higher risk of psychosis in ethnic minorities in Western countries, are described in so many studies across so many countries that we can be relatively certain it isn’t just a result of differences in study methods.

In a recent study using similar methods to find cases across 17 settings in six countries, we still found an eightfold difference in the incidence of psychosis between the 17 included settings. This was after taking account of the differences in the age, sex and ethnicity profiles of the populations in the different settings. This is important because we would expect a higher rate in an area with, for instance, more young men, because we know they have a higher risk of psychosis. This study suggests that not all variance in risk is due to differences in study methods.

Based on the current evidence, it seems that investigating why psychosis is more common in ethnic minorities in Western countries is a much more pertinent question than why it is more common in Scandinavian countries.The Conversation

About The Author

Hannah Jongsma, Research Fellow, Psychiatry, UCL

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)