هل البروستات المتضخمة تحمي فعلا من الأورام؟

الصحة

هل البروستات المتضخمة تحمي فعلا من الأورام؟

ذكرت دراسة جديدة أن تضخم البروستات قد يعيق نمو أورام سرطان البروستاتا.

وتشير النتائج إلى أنه قد يكون من فكرة سيئة خفض حجم البروستاتا المتضخمة من خلال الجراحة أو المخدرات ، لأن القيام بذلك قد يؤدي إلى نمو أسرع في سرطان البروستاتا. في حين أن معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة خمس سنوات لسرطان البروستاتا هو عموما مرتفعة جدا ، فإنه لا يزال واحدا من الأسباب الرئيسية للوفاة بين الرجال في الولايات المتحدة ، وفقا لمؤسسة سرطان البروستاتا.

تقدم المحاكاة الحاسوبية لبيانات المرضى تفسيراً محتملاً عن سبب كون البروستات المتضخم منقذاً للحياة: لأن البروستاتا لا يمكن أن تنمو إلا في مكان ضيق ، وتتراكم القوة وتضع ضغطاً على الورم ، مما يبقيها صغيرة الحجم.

يقول هيكتور غوميز ، الأستاذ المشارك في الهندسة الميكانيكية في جامعة بوردو: "من المعروف بالفعل أن القوى والضغوط لها تأثير على نمو الورم ، وأن المرضى الذين يعانون من تضخم البروستات يميلون إلى تباطؤ نمو السرطان ، ولكن لم يعرف السبب". الذي يبني نماذج ومحاكاة لفهم نمو الورم ، والهجرة الخلوية ، وتدفق الدم.

الدراسة التي تظهر في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم، هو أول من يحاكي التأثيرات المحتملة لفرط تنسج البروستاتا الحميد ، وهو مرض يسبب تضخم البروستاتا بشكل تدريجي ، على أورام سرطان البروستاتا.

قام غييرمو لورنزو ، وهو طالب دكتوراه سابق في جامعة غوميز ، وهو الآن باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في جامعة بافيا بإيطاليا ، بإجراء معظم الأبحاث وأجرى المحاكاة. بدأ كل من غوميز وتوماس هيوز ، أستاذ هندسة هندسة الطيران والفضاء في جامعة تكساس في أوستن ، المشروع كجزء من عملهما على استخدام المحاكاة الحاسوبية لتحسين تشخيص سرطان البروستاتا والتنبؤ به.

هل البروستات المتضخمة تحمي فعلا من الأورام؟
هذه المحاكاة الحاسوبية لبيانات المرضى تقدم تفسيرا محتملا عن سبب كون البروستات المتضخم منقذا للحياة: لأن البروستاتا لا يمكن أن تنمو إلا في مكان ضيق ، وتتراكم القوة وتضع ضغطا على الورم ، مما يبقيها صغيرة الحجم. (الائتمان: Guillermo Lorenzo / U. Pavia via Purdue)

يقول غوميز: "لقد كانت أساليب التشخيص والتشخيص الحالية صعبة للغاية في التفريق بين المرضى المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بسرطان البروستات والذين لا يعانون من ذلك". "لقد أدى هذا إلى تعريض الأشخاص للعلاج أو المعالجة".

يمكن النظر إلى العلاقة بين تضخم البروستاتا وسرطان البروستاتا جلب رؤى جديدة.

ونظرت الدراسة في بيانات من المرضى في الدراسات الطبية الذين لديهم تاريخ من كل من تضخم البروستاتا وسرطان البروستات. لإجراء عمليات المحاكاة ، استخرج لورنزو تشريحًا ثلاثي الأبعاد للبروستاتا ومواقع الأورام من صور التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي.

في نهاية عام واحد ، أظهرت المحاكاة أن ورم المريض الذي لديه تاريخ من تضخم البروستاتا بالكاد ينمو على الإطلاق. عندما أزال الباحثون تاريخ تضخم البروستاتا في البرنامج ، نما الورم أكثر من ستة أضعاف حجمه في نهاية الفترة الزمنية نفسها.

هل البروستات المتضخمة تحمي فعلا من الأورام؟
تظهر المحاكاة الحاسوبية للمرة الأولى أنه عندما يكون لدى المريض تاريخ لتضخم البروستاتا ، فإن الأورام في البروستات تكاد لا تنمو على الإطلاق. (الائتمان: Guillermo Lorenzo / U. من بافيا عبر بوردو)

تقول هيوز: "لكننا نعلم الآن أن الضغوط الميكانيكية التي تنشأ عندما تكبر البروستات تعوق نمو الورم".

واقعيًا ، يجب أن يتم التحقق من صحة هذه النتائج سريريًا لدى البشر من خلال دراسة رصدية طويلة الأمد قبل أن يتخذ الأطباء إجراءً. في غضون ذلك ، يخطط الباحثون لتوسيع نموذجهم ليشمل تأثيرات الأدوية التي تقلل من حجم البروستات ، وكذلك استخدام معلومات النموذج حول تشوه البروستاتا للمساعدة في الكشف عن السرطان.

يتم إدراج Gomez و Hughes و Lorenzo كمخترعين مشاركين لهذه التقنية في طلب براءة اختراع تقدمت به جامعة تكساس في أوستن. ودعم المجلس الأوروبي للبحوث ، و Xunta de Galicia ، و Fondazione Cariplo-Regione Lombaria البحث.

مصدر: جامعة بوردو

كتب ذات صلة

الصحة
enarزكية-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Do Enlarged Prostates Actually Protect Against Tumors?

Do Enlarged Prostates Actually Protect Against Tumors?

Enlarged prostates may actually impede the growth of prostate cancer tumors, according to a new study.

The findings suggest that it might be a bad idea to downsize an enlarged prostate through surgery or drugs, because doing so could lead to faster growth of prostate cancer. While the five-year survival rate for prostate cancer is generally very high, it is still one of the leading causes of death among men in the US, according to the Prostate Cancer Foundation.

Computer simulations of patient data offer a possible explanation of why an enlarged prostate might be a life saver: because a prostate can only grow so much within a confined space, force accumulates and puts pressure on the tumor, effectively keeping it small.

“It’s already known that forces and stresses have an impact on tumor growth, and that patients with enlarged prostates tend to have slower cancer growth, but it wasn’t known why,” says Hector Gomez, associate professor of mechanical engineering at Purdue University, who builds models and simulations for understanding tumor growth, cellular migration, and blood flow.

The study, which appears in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, is the first to simulate the possible effects of benign prostatic hyperplasia, a disease that causes the prostate to enlarge progressively, on the tumors of prostate cancer.

Guillermo Lorenzo, a former doctoral student under Gomez who is now a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Pavia in Italy, performed most of the research and ran the simulations. Gomez and Thomas Hughes, a professor of aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics at the University of Texas at Austin, began the project as part of their work on using computer simulations to improve the diagnosis and prognosis of prostate cancer.

Do Enlarged Prostates Actually Protect Against Tumors?
This computer simulation of patient data offers a possible explanation of why an enlarged prostate might be a life saver: because a prostate can only grow so much within a confined space, force accumulates and puts pressure on the tumor, effectively keeping it small. (Credit: Guillermo Lorenzo/U. Pavia via Purdue)

“Current diagnosis and prognosis methods have had a hard time differentiating between patients who are under serious risk of prostate cancer and those who aren’t,” Gomez says. “This has led to people getting overtreated or undertreated.”

Looking at the relationship between prostate enlargement and prostate cancer could bring new insights.

The study looked at data from patients in medical studies who had a history of both an enlarged prostate and prostate cancer. To perform the simulations, Lorenzo extracted a three-dimensional anatomy of the prostate and locations of the tumors from MRI images.

At the end of a one-year period, the simulations showed that the tumor of a patient with a history of an enlarged prostate barely grew at all. When the researchers removed history of an enlarged prostate in the program, the tumor had grown over six times larger in size at the end of the same time period.

Do Enlarged Prostates Actually Protect Against Tumors?
Computer simulations show for the first time that when a patient has history of an enlarged prostate, tumors in the prostate barely grow at all. (Credit: Guillermo Lorenzo/U. of Pavia via Purdue)

“But now we know that the mechanical stresses that originate as prostates enlarge impede tumor growth,” Hughes says.

Realistically, these findings would need to be clinically validated in humans through a long-term observational study before doctors take action. In the meantime, the researchers plan to extend their model to incorporating the effects of drugs that downsize the prostate, as well as use the model’s information on the deformation of the prostate to help detect cancer.

Gomez, Hughes, and Lorenzo are listed as co-inventors of this technology on a patent application the University of Texas at Austin filed. The European Research Council, Xunta de Galicia, and Fondazione Cariplo-Regione Lombaria supported the research.

Source: Purdue University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=prostate health;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}