Warum dein bester Freund wahrscheinlich ein schlechter Geschäftspartner ist

Wenn Sie also nach Partnern suchen, ob es sich um Investitionspartner handelt, ob es Geschäftspartner sind, wie eine Mitbegründerperspektive, solche Dinge - die Nummer eins, dann müssen es die gleichen Werte sein. Interessierst du dich für ähnliche Dinge auf der Welt? Also müssen sich die Werte angleichen.

Und dann müssen Sie aus einer Perspektive der Fähigkeiten heraus Gegensätze sein. Oft sind die besten Freunde wie: "Wir wollen zusammen ein Unternehmen gründen!" Das ist der schnellste Weg, um nicht wieder beste Freunde zu werden. Gegensätze zu sein ist so wichtig. Ich bin großartig im Design. Ich bin großartig mit der Vision. Ich bin großartig in Bezug auf die Strategie. Ich bin wirklich großartig in der Ästhetik. Ich bin wirklich großartig in der Marke.

Mein Partner muss in den Bereichen Betrieb, Fertigung, Lagerhaltung, Recht, Finanzen, all das, was ich nicht liebe, großartig sein. Kann ich es schaffen? Ein bisschen, aber ich bevorzuge es nicht. Ich bleibe lieber in meiner genialen Zone und lasse jemanden wirklich, wirklich, seine Genius-Zone annehmen und in gegenseitiger Ehrfurcht sein.

Als ob ich wirklich glaube, dass es das Yin und Yang gibt, das existiert. Wenn ich Yang-Energie habe, braucht jemand Energie, um ein wirklich perfekter Partner zu sein.

Ich denke, um den richtigen Partner energetisch zu haben, müssen Sie ein Match und Fähigkeiten klug sein, Sie müssen ein Match sein. Also yang yang wie energetisch und dann yin Yang aus einer Sicht der Fähigkeiten.

Wir mögen oft, wir sind wie: "Wir beide sind super hyper!" Selbst wenn Sie andere Fähigkeiten haben als ich, könnte Hyper-Hyper-Hyper nicht funktionieren.

Und wenn es hektisch ist, beruhigt mich das ruhige Gegenstück. Meine Hyperaktivität macht sie mehr aufgeregt. Das funktioniert also energetisch.

Wenn ich aus der Perspektive eines Skillsets bin: "Ich bin großartig darin, er oder sie ist großartig darin", sind wir gegenseitig sowohl aus energetischer Sicht als auch aus Sicht der Fähigkeiten sehr beeindruckt. Das ist der perfekte Partner.

Ich sitze also auf dem Brett des bewussten Kapitalismus und denke, dass der Bewusstseinskapitalismus wirklich auf einem Stakeholder-Modell basiert. Wie jeder einzelne Mensch muss gewinnen, und ich denke, in der Vergangenheit war ich in einem Stakeholder-Modell ein bisschen schlampig, weil wir so schnell skaliert haben, "setzen Sie einfach Butts in die Sitze." Ich habe nicht wirklich viel darüber nachgedacht Dinge, wie du skalierst, was bei den meisten Unternehmern passiert, und ich denke jetzt ist es wirklich bei Tushy, ich bin wirklich, wirklich bewusst über die Art von Leuten, die ich ins Team bringe: wirklich ihren Hintergrund überprüfen, um zu sehen, ob sie wirklich passen .

Bevor jemand eingestellt wird, müssen sie das gesamte Team treffen und das Team muss mir ihr Feedback geben, was sie über diese Person denken, wenn sie gut leben. Es ist wirklich Kultur. Kultur trumpft Strategie jeden Tag der Woche und zweimal am Sonntag. Und in der Vergangenheit war ich sicherlich viel laxer. "Oh, hast du einen Puls? Komm, wir sind beschäftigt. Wir müssen wachsen. "

Und jetzt, "Was ist dein Hintergrund? Lass mich deine Social Media anschauen, "und wenn es alles Selfies ist, weißt du, das ist gruselig! Das ist keine großartige Person in Ihrem Team, wenn es aus allen Blickwinkeln wie Selfies ist, was bedeutet, dass sie vielleicht kein großartiger Teamplayer sind.

Und dann Referenzen aufrufen, Hintergrund-Checks machen. Es ist so wichtig, das zu tun, und ich habe es einfach nicht getan, und ich denke, um diese Kultur wirklich zu erschaffen, um wirklich ein Geschäft zu gestalten, muss man diese echte Arbeit machen.

Und mit Tushy bin ich so bewusst. Meine neue CEO-Rolle, ich habe 50-Leute für diese Rolle interviewt, um wirklich das Yin zu meinem Yang zu sein und das Gegenteil meiner Fähigkeiten. Und in der Vergangenheit wäre ich wie "Okay Leute, lass uns gehen." Und jetzt ist es "50 Leute? Nenne alle zehn Referenzen von jedem von ihnen, "und ließ sie alle das Team treffen, um sicherzustellen, dass sie die Person mochten. Es ist wirklich, wirklich wichtig, diesen Kultur-Fit-Test zu machen, den ich in der Vergangenheit nicht gemacht habe.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = innerhalb; maxresults = 3

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Your Best Friend Is Probably A Bad Business Partner

So when you’re looking at bringing partners on, whether it’s investment partners, whether it’s business partners, like cofounder perspective, those kinds of things—Number one, it needs to be the same values. Do you both care about similar things in the world? So values need to align.

And then from a skill set perspective you need to be opposites. Oftentimes best friends are like, “We want to start a business together!” That’s like the fastest way to not becoming best friends again. Being opposites is so important. I’m great at design. I’m great with the vision. I’m great at sort of the strategy. I’m really great at the aesthetic. I’m really great at the brand.

My partner needs to be great at operations, manufacturing, warehousing, legal, finance, all of that stuff that I don’t love. Can I do it? A little, but I prefer not to. I’d rather stay in my zone of genius and have someone really, really take on their zone of genius, and be in mutual awe of one another.

Like I really believe that there is that yin and yang that does exist. Like if I have yang energy someone needs to have yin energy to be a real perfect partner.

I think to have the right partner energetically you need to be a match and skill set wise you need to be a match. So yin yang like energetically and then yin yang from a skill set perspective.

We often like, we’re like: “Both of us are super hyper!” Even if you have other like skill sets than I do, that hyper-hyper-hyper might not work.

And if it’s hype-calm, like the calm counterpart calms me down. My hyperactiveness makes them more excited. So that energetically works.

When from a skillset perspective, “I’m great at this, he or she is great at this,” we’re in mutual awe of each other both energetically and from a skill set perspective. That is the perfect partner.

So I sit on the board of Conscious Capitalism and I think Conscious Capitalism is really based on a stakeholder model. Like every single person has to win, and I think in the past I was a little bit sloppy in a stakeholder model in that we scaled so quickly, “just put butts in seats fast.” I didn’t really think about a lot of things as you’re scaling, which happens to most entrepreneurs, and I think now it really is with Tushy I’m really, really deliberate about the type of people I bring onto the team: really checking their background to see if they really fit.

Before anyone gets hired they have to meet the whole team and the team has to give me their feedback on what they think about this person, if they jive well. It really is culture. Culture trumps strategy every day of the week and twice on Sunday. And in the past I certainly was a lot more sort of lax. “Oh, you have a pulse? Come join, we’re busy. We’ve got to grow.”

And now, “What’s your background? Let me look at your social media,” and if it’s all selfies you know that’s scary! That’s not a great person to have on your team if it’s like selfie from every angle, which means that they might not be a great team player.

And so and then calling references, doing background checks. It’s so important to do that and I just didn’t, and I think to really create that culture, to really scale a business requires doing that real work.

And with Tushy I’m so, so deliberate. My new CEO role, I’ve interviewed 50 people for this role to really be that yin to my yang and that opposite to my skill set. And in the past I would have been like “Okay people, let’s go.” And now it’s “50 people? Call all ten references of every one of them,” and really had them meet all the team to make sure that they liked the person. It’s really, really important to do that culture fit test which I didn’t do in the past.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=innerself;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.