المرأة في مجال التكنولوجيا تعاني بسبب الأسطورة الأمريكية من الجدارة

المرأة في مجال التكنولوجيا تعاني بسبب الأسطورة الأمريكية من الجدارة
سوف تعطل قطاع التكنولوجيا؟
رويترز / إدواردو مونوز

الـ الحلم الأمريكي مبني على فكرة أن الولايات المتحدة هي الجدارة. يعتقد الأميركيون أن النجاح في الحياة والأعمال يمكن أن يكسبه كل من يرغب في العمل الشاق اللازم لتحقيق ذلك ، أو هكذا يقولون.

وهكذا ، يعتقد الأمريكيون عمومًا أن أولئك الذين ينجحون يستحقون أن يكونوا كذلك ، وأولئك الذين لا يستحقون نفس القدر من مصيرهم - على الرغم من الأدلة المتزايدة على تفاوت عدم المساواة في دخل, ثروة, عمل و بين الجنسين تلعب دورا رئيسيا في من الذي يجعل من ومن لا.

وهذه الحقيقة ذاتها - أن الأمريكيين يعتقدون أن مجتمعهم هو الجدارة - هو أكبر تهديد للمساواة ، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بنوع الجنس ، كما تظهر الأبحاث التي أجريتها بنفسي وآخرون.

معنى "الجدارة"

عدم المساواة بين الجنسين منتشر في المجتمع الأمريكي.

المرأة في الولايات المتحدة لا تزال تعاني التحيز القائم على الجنس, التحرش الجنسي وقليل من التقدم فيما يتعلق بالمساواة أجور. المراكز العليا في الحكومة وقطاع الأعمال لا تزال قائمة الذكور بعناد.

في نفس الوقت، 75 في المئة من الأمريكيين يقولون انهم يؤمنون بالجدارة. هذا الاعتقاد لا يزال قائما على الرغم من الأدلة التي نميل إلى استخدامها شرح الإجراءات تحافظ على الوضع القائم للتمييز بين الجنسين بدلاً من عكسه.

هذه الأسطورة قوية للغاية ، فهي تؤثر على سلوكياتنا.

'اعمل بجد اكثر'

ريادة الأعمال هي مجال تتجلى فيه خرافات ووقائع الجدارة الأمريكية.

في الولايات المتحدة، تملك النساء 39 في المئة من جميع الشركات المملوكة للقطاع الخاص ولكن تتلقى فقط حول 4 في المئة من تمويل رأس المال الاستثماري. وبعبارة أخرى ، تحصل المشاريع التي يقودها الذكور على نسبة 96 من التمويل.

بعد الأسطورة الجدارة ، والتي يظهر بحثي لديها معقل في عالم ريادة الأعمال ، يعني أنه يتم إخبار النساء باستمرار بأن كل ما يجب عليه فعله للحصول على المزيد من ذلك $ 22 مليار أو نحو ذلك في تمويل رأس المال الاستثماري is جعل أفضل الملاعب أو أن تكون أكثر حزما.

الافتراض هو أن النساء لا يبذلن جهدا كافيا أو يقمن بالأمور الصحيحة للمضي قدما ، وليس أن الطريقة التي يقدم بها أصحاب رأس المال المغامر التمويل غير عادل.

مشكلة "خط الأنابيب"

وهناك تفسير آخر لنقص التمويل للنساء يعلق على مشكلة "خط الأنابيب". وهذا يعني أن النساء لا يهتمن فقط بالحقول التي تشكل العمود الفقري للصناعة - العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

وهكذا ، إذا دخلت المزيد من النساء حقول STEMسيكون هناك المزيد من سيدات الأعمال ، وسوف يتدفق المزيد من المال إليهن. تفترض تفسيرات خطوط الأنابيب أنه لا توجد عوائق منع النساء من أن يصبحوا رواد أعمال في التكنولوجيا.

ومع ذلك ، نعرف أن العكس هو الصحيح. وفقًا لمؤرخة التكنولوجيا ماري هيكس وكتابها "عدم المساواة المبرمجة" تم دفع النساء في مجال التكنولوجيا من قبل الرجال.

أظهرت الأبحاث التي أجريتها مع الأستاذة الإدارية سوزان كلارك مونتين حول منظمات دعم المشاريع ، مثل المسرِّعات ، أنها غالبًا ما تنخرط في أساليب التواصل والتجنيد يستفيد الرجال بدلا من النساء. هذا هو مدعوم من قبل بيانات المسح من Techstars، واحدة من المسرعات التقنية الأكثر شهرة واحتراما في العالم. حول 4 في 5 الشركات التي مرت برامجها هي بيضاء وتقريبا 9 في 10 هم من الذكور.

أسطورة "محايدة بين الجنسين"

ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه المسرعات التكنولوجية تسترشد بفهم ضمني بأن التوعية وممارسات التوظيف غير المحايدة جنسانياً بدلاً من الممارسات المستهدفة سوف تجلب الناس "الأفضل". هذه الفكرة غالبا ما يعبر عنها "أبوابنا مفتوحة للجميع" للإشارة إلى أنها لا تميز.

ومن المفارقات ، العديد من المنظمات في قطاع التكنولوجيا تبني هذه الفكرة لأنهم يعتقدون أنها محايدة جنسيا ، وبالتالي غير متحيزة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن المطالبة بأن تكون محايدة جنسانياً يمنع المنظمات من الاعتراف بأن ممارساتها متحيزة في الواقع. يتم الوصول إلى معظم عمليات التواصل والتجنيد من خلال المحاضرين ، وإحالات الخريجين والشبكات الشخصية لقيادة التسريع ، يتكون في الغالب من الذكور.

هذه المقاربات غالباً ما تجلب نفس الشيء: رجال الأعمال البيض الذكور بدلاً من المهنيين المختلفين. ونتيجة لذلك ، لا تتمتع المرأة بفرص متكافئة للحصول على الموارد في النظم الإيكولوجية لتنظيم المشاريع.

وكل هذا على الرغم من حقيقة أن البيانات المتعلقة بالعائدات تظهر شركات تقنية ناشئة مدعومة بالمغامرات مع النساء على رأس السلطة يتفوق على تلك التي يقودها الرجال.

كونها "تدرك نوع الجنس"

الخطوة الأولى لحل هذه المشكلة هي أن يبدأ كل من الشركات الناشئة في مجال التكنولوجيا والمستثمرين والمسرحين في أن ما يسمونه الجدارة هو في الواقع متحيز جنسانياً وينتج عن الرجال البيض في معظم الأحيان الحصول على الموارد والتمويل. من خلال الاستمرار في الاعتقاد في الجدارة والحفاظ على الممارسات المرتبطة بها ، ستبقى المساواة بين الجنسين هدفا بعيد المنال.

والخطوة التالية هي الابتعاد عن النهج المحايدة بين الجنسين واعتمادها بدلاً من ذلك "تدابير مدروسة جنسانية" لتغيير الممارسات غير العادلة. ويشمل ذلك وضع أهداف ملموسة لتحقيق التوازن بين الجنسين ، ودراسة التكوين الجنساني للمجالس واللجان وغيرها من المجموعات ذات النفوذ في المنظمة ، وتقييم الأدوات والقنوات المستخدمة للتوعية والتوظيف ودعم أصحاب المشاريع.

المحادثةعائد الاستثمار في المساواة بين الجنسين واضح: إن الدعم والاستثمار في الأعمال التي بدأها نصف سكان العالم سيخلق مجتمعات مزدهرة واقتصادات مستدامة. ويبدأ بالحلفاء الذكور الذين يريدون أن يكونوا جزءًا من الحل ، ويدركون أن الجدارة ، كما يحددها المجتمع حاليًا ، ليست هي الطريق.

عن المؤلف

Banu Ozkazanc-Pan ، أستاذ مشارك زائر في الهندسة ، جامعة براون

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords gender؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Women In Tech Suffer Because Of The American Myth Of Meritocracy

career

Women In Tech Suffer Because Of The American Myth Of Meritocracy
Will they disrupt the tech sector?
Reuters/Eduardo Munoz 

The American dream is built on the notion that the U.S. is a meritocracy. Americans believe success in life and business can be earned by anyone willing to put in the hard work necessary to achieve it, or so they say.

Thus, Americans commonly believe that those who are successful deserve to be so and those who aren’t are equally deserving of their fate – despite growing evidence that widening inequalities in income, wealth, labor and gender play a major role in who makes it and who doesn’t.

And this very fact – that Americans believe their society is a meritocracy – is the biggest threat to equality, particularly when it comes to gender, as research by myself and others shows.

The meaning of ‘meritocracy’

Gender inequality is pervasive in American society.

Women in the U.S. continue to experience gender bias, sexual harassment and little progress in relation to equitable wages. Top positions in government and the business sector remain stubbornly male.

At the same time, 75 percent of Americans say they believe in meritocracy. This belief persists despite evidence that we tend to use it to explain actions that preserve the status quo of gender discrimination rather than reverse it.

This myth is so powerful, it influences our behaviors.

‘Work harder’

Entrepreneurship is an area where the myths and realities of the American meritocracy come to a head.

In the U.S., women own 39 percent of all privately owned businesses but receive only around 4 percent of venture capital funding. Put another way, male-led ventures receive 96 percent of all funding.

Yet the meritocracy myth, which my research shows has a stronghold in the world of entrepreneurship, means that women are constantly told that all they have to do to get more of that $22 billion or so in venture capital funding is make better pitches or be more assertive.

The assumption is that women aren’t trying hard enough or doing the right things to get ahead, not that the way venture capitalists offer funding is itself unfair.

‘Pipeline’ problem

Another explanation for the lack of funding for women is pinned on the “pipeline” problem. That is, women just aren’t interested in the fields that form the backbone of the industry – science, technology, engineering and math.

Thus, if more women entered STEM fields, there would be more women entrepreneurs, and more money would flow to them. Pipeline explanations assume that there are no obstacles preventing women from becoming entrepreneurs in technology.

Yet, we know the opposite is true. According to technology historian Marie Hicks and her book “Programmed Inequality,” women in tech were pushed out by men.

Research I’ve conducted with management professor Susan Clark Muntean on entrepreneur support organizations, such as accelerators, shows that they often engage in outreach and recruitment tactics that benefit men rather than women. This is further supported by survey data from Techstars, one of the best-known and respected tech accelerators in the world. About 4 in 5 companies that have gone through their programs are white and almost 9 in 10 are male.

‘Gender-neutral’ myth

And yet these tech accelerators are guided by an implicit understanding that gender-neutral outreach and recruitment practices rather than targeted ones will bring in the “best” people. This notion is often expressed as “Our doors are open to everyone” to indicate that they do not discriminate.

Ironically, many organizations in the tech sector adopt this idea because they believe it is gender-neutral and, thus, unbiased.

Yet claiming to be gender-neutral prevents organizations from recognizing that their practices are actually biased. Most outreach and recruitment takes place through word-of-mouth, alumni referrals and personal networks of accelerator leadership, which are predominantly composed of males.

These approaches often bring in more of the same: white male entrepreneurs rather than diverse professionals. As a result, women do not have equal access to resources in entrepreneurial ecosystems.

And all this is despite the fact that data on returns show venture-backed tech startups with women at the helm outperform those led by men.

Being ‘gender-aware’

The first step to solving this problem is for tech startups, investors and accelerators to realize that what they call meritocracy is in fact itself gender-biased and results in mostly white men gaining access to resources and funding. By continuing to believe in meritocracy and maintaining practices associated with it, gender equality will remain a distant goal.

The next step is to move away from gender-neutral approaches and instead adopt “gender-aware,” proactive measures to change unfair practices. This includes setting concrete goals to achieve gender balance, examining the gender composition of boards, committees and other influential groups in the organization, and assessing the tools and channels used for outreach, recruitment and support of entrepreneurs.

The ConversationThe return on investment in gender equality is clear: Supporting and investing in businesses started by half the world’s population will create thriving societies and sustainable economies. And it starts with male allies who want to be part of the solution and recognize that meritocracy, as society currently defines it, isn’t the way to go.

About the Author

Banu Ozkazanc-Pan, Visiting Associate Professor of Engineering, Brown University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

What Works: Gender Equality by Design
careerAuthor: Iris Bohnet
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Belknap Press: An Imprint of Harvard University Press
List Price: $26.95

Buy Now

Rising Tide: Gender Equality and Cultural Change Around the World
careerAuthor: Ronald Inglehart
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
List Price: $27.99

Buy Now

Pearl Fairweather Pirate Captain: Teaching children about gender equality, respect, respectful relationships, empowerment, diversity, leadership, ... behaviours, and the prevention of violence
careerAuthor: Jayneen Sanders
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Educate to Empower Publishing
List Price: $9.95

Buy Now

career
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}