حقوق الطبيعة: كيف يمكن لمنح نهر "شخصية" المساعدة في حمايته

صورة في فبراير 2021 ، أعلن مجلس إينو في إكوانيتشيت وبلدية مقاطعة مينجاني الإقليمية أن موتيشكاو شيبو (نهر ماجبي) شخصًا اعتباريًا ، وهي خطوة قد توفر قدرًا أكبر من اليقين لمستقبل هذا النهر المهيب. (نهر بوريال)

يمتد نهر Muteshekau Shipu (نهر Magpie) ما يقرب من 300 كيلومتر في منطقة Côte-Nord في كيبيك. يعتبر النهر ذو أهمية ثقافية بالنسبة إلى Innu وهو مشهور بالمجاديين والعوارض الخشبية في المياه البيضاء.

على الرغم من الجهود المبذولة لحماية النهر ، لا يزال Muteshekau Shipu يتعرض للتهديد من قبل الجديد المحتمل تطوير السدود الكهرومائية. ولكن ، في فبراير 2021 ، أعلن مجلس إينو في إكوانيتشيت وبلدية مقاطعة مينجاني الإقليمية Muteshekau Shipu (نهر Magpie) a شخص قانوني، وهي خطوة قد توفر قدراً أكبر من اليقين لمستقبل هذا النهر المهيب.

في حين أن الأول في كندا ، فإن منح الشخصية الاعتبارية للكيانات الطبيعية يعد جزءًا من a حركة عالمية للاعتراف بحقوق الطبيعة في القانون. تقود مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في جميع أنحاء العالم الطريق في دعم حقوق الأنهار المقدسة والأسلاف والغابات والجبال. يُعد الاعتراف بحقوق الطبيعة فرصة لرفع قوة قوانين الشعوب الأصلية ووجهات نظرها للعالم لإفادة جميع الشعوب.

القيم الاستخراجية - الاعتقاد بأن الكيانات الطبيعية هي موارد يمكن استخدامها لتحقيق منفعة بشرية مع القليل من الاهتمام لرفاهيتها وطول عمرها - متأصلة بعمق في الأنظمة القانونية والاقتصادية الكندية.

تؤثر هذه القيم على الأيديولوجيات في جذور أزمات التنوع البيولوجي والمناخ. هذه الإيديولوجيات تبرر تحويل الأنهار والغابات والجو إلى سلع وممتلكات خاصة على مسؤوليتنا الخاصة. يعتبر الاعتراف بالكيانات الطبيعية كأشخاص اعتباريين وتكريس حقوقهم في القانون ابتكارًا قانونيًا واعدًا.

حقوق الطبيعة

On فبراير 23، 2021 ، اعترف التحالف من أجل حماية نهر العقعق / Muteshekau Shipu تسعة حقوق الى النهر. وتشمل هذه الحقوق في التطور بشكل طبيعي والحماية ، وأن تكون خالية من التلوث ومقاضاة.

سيكون أعضاء مجلس إينو في إكوانيتشيت ، وهو جزء من التحالف ، حراس النهر الآن. وهذا يعني أن أولئك الذين لديهم علاقات طويلة الأمد مع Muteshekau Shipu سيتم تكليفهم رسميًا برعاية النهر للأجيال القادمة.

قال لنا الرئيس جان تشارلز بيتاتشو من مجلس إينو في إكوانيتشيت في مقابلة: "كان تصنيف النهر كشخص اعتباري أوضح رسالة يمكن أن نرسلها". لن تكون هناك سدود في هذا النهر. النهر يحمي نفسها ، نحن نحمي النهر ، كلنا محميون. أعتقد أن الرسالة واضحة للغاية ".

نهر يتعرج عبر واد أخضر مورق في عام 2017 ، اعترف البرلمان النيوزيلندي بما قاله قادة الماوري لأجيال من أن نهر وانجانوي كائن حي ويجب أن يتمتع بحقوق وواجبات وسلطات ومسؤوليات أي شخص. (صراع الأسهم)

مدفوعة بالتدهور البيئي على نطاق واسع وتنامي حركات حقوق السكان الأصليين ، تقود مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في جميع أنحاء العالم الطريق في دعم حقوق الأنهار المقدسة وأنهار الأجداد. وهذا يشمل العلاقات القبلية الماورية مع نهر وانجانوي في أوتياروا نيوزيلندا ، دور المجتمعات الأصلية والأفريقية الكولومبية في نهر أتراتو في كولومبيا ، ومنح مجلس قبيلة يورك الحقوق القانونية للشخصية لـ نهر كلاماث من خلال مرسوم في الولايات المتحدة.

إن فكرة أن الطبيعة هي كائن حساس ليست جديدة على الشعوب الأصلية وغيرها من الشعوب التقليدية. "رؤية Innu هي أن الطبيعة تعيش. قال الرئيس بيتاتشو "كل شيء على قيد الحياة".

قوانين السكان الأصليين: العلاقات والمسؤوليات

إن الاعتراف بحقوق الطبيعة هو تعبيرات حديثة عن قوانين الشعوب الأصلية المعمول بها منذ فترة طويلة. تتنوع قوانين السكان الأصليين مثل ثقافات السكان الأصليين ومع ذلك تشترك في فهم أن البشر جزء لا يتجزأ من العالم الطبيعي. تؤكد هذه القوانين على احترام جميع الكائنات ومسؤوليات رعاية الأراضي والمياه. فالأشجار والجبال والنباتات أقارب وليست سلعًا يمكن أن يمتلكها القطاع الخاص ويستغلها.

السد يتحكم في تدفق النهر من المقرر إزالة أربعة سدود على طول نهر كلاماث ، الذي يتدفق عبر إقليم يوروك ، لبدء ترميم النهر الذي يمتد من ولاية أوريغون إلى شمال كاليفورنيا. (AP Photo / جيليان فلاكوس)

قد تبدو حركة حقوق الطبيعة راديكالية لبعض الناس. إنه يتحدى القيم الأوروبية مثل الهيمنة البشرية على العالم الطبيعي ، والذي يعتبر إلى حد كبير غير حي. تأسست حركة الحفظ نفسها على نظرة عالمية ترى "البرية" كشيء منفصل للحماية من البشر. إن حركة الحفاظ على "القلعة" لا تتناسب أيديولوجيًا مع طرق تفكير السكان الأصليين في كونهم جزءًا من الطبيعة. تم استخدام هذا الاعتقاد لتبرير الإكراه نقل العديد من الشعوب الأصلية من أراضيهم لإنشاء المتنزهات والمناطق المحمية.

الحقوق المفهومة من منظور غربي وليبرالي وفرداني تتجاهل المسؤوليات الجماعية تجاه العالم الطبيعي. "أعتقد بصدق أن كيبيك وكندا فقدتا مسؤوليتهما ؛ قال الرئيس بيتاتشو "إنهم لا يحمون النهر من التنمية".

يعتبر الربط بين الأنظمة القانونية الغربية والسكان الأصليين من خلال نهج حقوق الطبيعة أحد الأدوات لتشجيع أ عرض كينسينتريك العالم ، الذي يرى البشر على أنهم "جزء من عائلة بيئية ممتدة تشترك في النسب والأصول."

تعكس قوانين السكان الأصليين وتعزز وجهات النظر العالمية العلائقية التي تنظر إلى الكيانات الحية على أنها أقارب وليست موارد. وهذا بدوره يشكل السلوك الاجتماعي الذي يؤكد الاحترام والمسؤولية تجاه العالم الطبيعي. تعتبر ترتيبات الحوكمة المبتكرة إحدى الوسائل التي يمكن من خلالها تنسيق وجهات النظر العالمية والقوانين المرتبطة بها معًا.

نماذج حوكمة مبتكرة

الأنهار تتحدث ولكن بما أن القوانين والمؤسسات الغربية ليست مصممة للاستماع ، يجب أن يعمل الناس كوسطاء يعبرون عن وجهات نظرهم نيابة عنهم. إن قوانين الشعوب الأصلية في وضع جيد لوضع تصور لهياكل صنع القرار اللازمة لبث الحياة في الشخصية الاعتبارية.

في عام 2014 ، منح Tūhoe iwi (الماوري) والحكومة النيوزيلندية الشخصية الاعتبارية لـ تي Urewera، غابة الأجداد والحديقة الوطنية السابقة. لقد أنشأوا مجلسًا مسؤولاً عن اتخاذ القرارات في مصلحة Te Urewera. Tūhoe ، كأبناء Tu Urewera ، يعبرون عنها من خلال اللوحة.

في شمال كندا ، أنشأت الأمة الأولى Łutsël K'é Dene Thaidene Nëné كمنطقة محمية للسكان الأصليين بموجب قانون Dene. كما أنها محمية كمنتزه ومنطقة محمية بموجب التشريعات الكندية والإقليمية (الأقاليم الشمالية الغربية). مجلس الإدارة ، Thaidene Nëné Xá Dá Yáłtı، ويتألف من أعضاء Łutsël K'é Dene First Nation ، وحكومة كندا وحكومة الأقاليم الشمالية الغربية. بمجرد التعيين ، لم يعد الأعضاء يمثلون منظماتهم ، فهم يتحدثون باسم Thaidene Nëné.

المبادرات التي يقودها السكان الأصليون

أمثلة مثل Thaidene Nëné هي الاستثناء وليس القاعدة في كندا ، على الرغم من أن هذا قد يتغير. هناك تفويض وطني لدعم مبادرات الحفظ التي يقودها السكان الأصليون وتعزيز المصالحة. يقدم هذا الدعم جنبًا إلى جنب مع قيادة السكان الأصليين والابتكارات القانونية المصاحبة فرصًا جديدة للعناية بالأرض والمياه.

العديد من المبادرات المماثلة التي يقودها السكان الأصليون جارية حاليًا ، بدعم من البرامج بما في ذلك برنامج بايونيرز إنديجينتي, RIVER (تنشيط القيم الأصلية لتجديد الأرض) ، فإن الحفظ من خلال المصالحة شراكة، RELAW (تنشيط قانون السكان الأصليين للأرض والهواء والماء) و الشبكة العالمية لحقوق الطبيعة.

إعلان نهر Muteshekau Shipu - ودور الوصاية القانونية لـ Innu - هو مثال يمكن للحكومات التعلم منه. قال الرئيس Piétacho: "إذا أرادت الحكومة حماية الطبيعة بشكل فعال ، فعليها النظر في هذا الخيار بحيث تتم حماية المناطق المحمية جنبًا إلى جنب مع حقوقنا".

لإنشاء مستقبل عادل وصالح للعيش لجميع أقاربنا (البشر وغيرهم) ، تحتاج القوانين والسياسات الكندية إلى مزيد من الابتكار. يعتبر منح الشخصية الاعتبارية في الكيانات الطبيعية تدخلاً واعدًا عندما تمثل الشعوب الأصلية هذه الكيانات. إنه يرفع مكانة الطبيعة لجميع الشعوب ويحترم قوانين الشعوب الأصلية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوستين تاونسند ، مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه ، قسم الجغرافيا والبيئة والجيوماتكس ، جامعة جيلف

 

كتب ذات صلة

 

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

0465055680مارك دبليو موفيت
إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها.   متاح في أمازون

 

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

 

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل أنت قلق بشأن حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات طريقة مستدامة لنا للعيش؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فقد ينجح ذلك ، لكن هل سيفعل ذلك؟ إذا تركوا بمفردهم ، مع سائقي الشعبية والأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا جدًا بأنها ستفعل. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنا وأنت. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات يمكنها القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

 

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على المحادثة

المحادثة


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

ربما يعجبك أيضا

أصوات INNERSELF

صورة ظلية من متسلق الجبال باستخدام معول لتأمين نفسه
اسمح للخوف وقم بتحويله وتحرك من خلاله وافهمه
by لورانس دوتشين
الخوف يشعر بالجنون. لا توجد وسيلة حول ذلك. لكن معظمنا لا يستجيب لخوفنا في ...
امرأة تجلس على مكتبها وتبدو قلقة
وصفتي للقلق والقلق
by جود بيجو
نحن مجتمع يحب القلق. القلق منتشر للغاية ، يكاد يكون يبدو مقبولًا اجتماعيًا ...
منحنى الطريق في نيوزيلندا
لا تكن قاسيا على نفسك
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تتكون الحياة من اختيارات ... بعضها خيارات "جيدة" والبعض الآخر ليس جيدًا. لكن كل خيار ...
صورة لسديم Messier M27
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: من 13 إلى 19 سبتمبر 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
رجل يقف على رصيف يضيء مصباح يدوي في السماء
نعمة للباحثين عن الروحانيات وللذين يعانون من الاكتئاب
by بيير Pradervand
هناك مثل هذه الحاجة في العالم اليوم من أكثر حنان ورحمة هائلة وأعمق ، أكثر ...
العقاب أم الهبة الإلهية؟
هل هو عذاب أم عطية إلهية؟
by جويس Vissell
عند وقوع مأساة أو وفاة أحد أفراد أسرتك أو حدوث خيبة أمل شديدة ، هل تساءلت يومًا ما إذا كان ...
زجاجات شفافة من المياه الملونة
مرحبًا بكم في The Love Solution
by ويلكنسون
تخيل كوبًا من الماء الصافي. أنت تمسك بقطارة حبر فوقه وتحرر واحدة ...
إصلاحات سريعة في الأجواء يمكنك القيام بها في المنزل أو في أي مكان آخر
إصلاحات سريعة في الأجواء يمكنك القيام بها في المنزل أو في أي مكان آخر
by أثينا بحري
أنت كائن رائع من الطاقة ، فردي وفريد ​​من نوعه في حد ذاته. لديك كل من…
السموم الخمسة التي تظهر في أذهاننا - ومضاداتها
السموم الخمسة التي تظهر في أذهاننا - ومضاداتها
by Turīya
في أي وقت نجد أنفسنا نعاني ، في حالة من البؤس ، ولا نختبر فطريتنا غير المعقول ...
النهوض بالتجربة البشرية: تنشيط الله
النهوض بالتجربة البشرية: تنشيط الله
by ويلكنسون
"الله" كلمة مثقلة. هل يمكننا استخدامه دون إثارة الجدل؟ لقد حولتها إلى اختصار: ...
تصبح إعادة صياغة ماجستير - رؤية الأشياء السلبية بشكل مختلف
تصبح إعادة صياغة ماجستير - رؤية الأشياء السلبية بشكل مختلف
by إيما ماردلين ، دكتوراه.
يمكنك قلب المواقف السلبية على رؤوسهم. هذا لا يعني أن الأشياء السيئة أو السلبية لا ...

الأكثر قراءة

كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
by جاكي كاسيل ، أستاذ وبائيات الرعاية الأولية ، استشاري فخري في الصحة العامة ، كلية الطب في برايتون وساسكس
تدهورت الاقتصادات المحفوفة بالمخاطر للعديد من المدن الساحلية التقليدية أكثر منذ ...
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
by باربارا بيرجر
أحد أكبر الأشياء التي اكتشفتها في العمل مع العملاء كل يوم هو مدى صعوبة ...
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
by سونيا جريس
عندما تختبر كونك ملاكًا أرضيًا ، ستكتشف أن مسار الخدمة مليء ...
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
by سوزان كامبل، دكتوراه
وفقًا لمعظم العزاب الذين قابلتهم في رحلاتي ، فإن وضع المواعدة النموذجي محفوف بالمخاطر ...
ما أدوار الرجال في سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، يمكن أن تعلمنا الحملات المناهضة للتمييز الجنسي عن الموافقة
ما أدوار الرجال في سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، يمكن أن تعلمنا الحملات المناهضة للتمييز الجنسي عن الموافقة
by لوسي ديلاب ، جامعة كامبريدج
كان لحركة الرجال المناهضة للتحيز الجنسي في السبعينيات بنية تحتية من المجلات والمؤتمرات ومراكز الرجال ...
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
by غلين بارك
مشاهدة رقص الفلامنكو متعة. راقص الفلامنكو الجيد ينضح بثقة كبيرة بالنفس ...
اتخاذ خطوة نحو السلام من خلال تغيير علاقتنا مع الفكر
يخطو نحو السلام بتغيير علاقتنا بالفكر
by جون بتاتشك
نقضي حياتنا منغمسين في فيض من الأفكار ، غير مدركين أن هناك بُعدًا آخر للوعي ...
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده.
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده
by ايمي السمك
تحتاج إلى الشجاعة لتعيش الحياة. يتضمن ذلك تعلم السؤال عما تحتاجه أو ...

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Rights for Nature: How granting a river 'personhood' could help protect it

image In February 2021, the Innu Council of Ekuanitshit and the Minganie Regional County Municipality declared the Muteshekau Shipu (Magpie River) a legal person, a move that may provide greater certainty for this majestic river's future. (Boreal River)

The Muteshekau Shipu (Magpie River) runs nearly 300 kilometres in Québec’s Côte-Nord region. The river is culturally significant for the Innu and it is popular with whitewater paddlers and rafters.

Despite efforts to protect the river, Muteshekau Shipu continues to be threatened by potential new hydroelectric dam development. But, in February 2021, the Innu Council of Ekuanitshit and the Minganie Regional County Municipality declared the Muteshekau Shipu (Magpie River) a legal person, a move that may provide greater certainty for this majestic river’s future.

While a first in Canada, granting legal personhood to natural entities is part of a global movement to recognize the rights of nature in law. Indigenous communities around the world are leading the way in upholding the rights of sacred and ancestral rivers, forests and mountains. Recognizing the rights of nature is an opportunity to elevate the power of Indigenous Peoples’ laws and worldviews to benefit all peoples.

Extractive values — the belief that natural entities are resources that can be used for human benefit with little regard for their well-being and longevity — are deeply embedded in Canada’s legal and economic systems.

These values influence the ideologies at the root of our biodiversity and climate crises. These ideologies justify the transformation of rivers, forests and the atmosphere into commodities and private property at our own peril. Recognizing natural entities as legal persons and enshrining their rights in law is a promising legal innovation.

Rights of nature

On Feb. 23, 2021, the Alliance for the Protection of the Magpie River/Muteshekau Shipu recognized nine rights of the river. These include the rights to evolve naturally and be protected, to be free of pollution and to sue.

The members of the Innu Council of Ekuanitshit, part of the alliance, will now be the river’s guardians. This means that those with long-standing relationships to Muteshekau Shipu will be formally entrusted with the river’s care for future generations.

“Designating the river as a legal person was the clearest message we could send,” Chief Jean-Charles Piétacho of the Innu Council of Ekuanitshit told us in an interview. “There will never be dams in this river. The river protects herself, we protect the river, we’re all protected. I think the message is very clear.”

A river winding through lush green valley In 2017, the New Zealand Parliament recognized what Māori leaders had been saying for generations, that the Whanganui River is a living being and should have the rights, duties, powers and liabilities of a person. (Shutterstock)

Galvanized by widespread environmental degradation and rising Indigenous rights movements, Indigenous communities around the world are leading the way in upholding the rights of sacred and ancestral rivers. This includes Māori tribal relationships with the Whanganui River in Aotearoa New Zealand, the role of Indigenous and Afro-Colombian communities in the Atrato River in Colombia, and the Yurok Tribal Council’s granting legal rights of personhood to the Klamath River through an ordinance in the United States.

The idea that nature is a sentient being isn’t new to Indigenous and other traditional peoples. “The vision of the Innu is that Nature is living. Everything is alive,” said Chief Piétacho.

Indigenous laws: Relationships and responsibilities

Recognizing the rights of nature are modern expressions of long-practised Indigenous laws. Indigenous laws are as diverse as Indigenous cultures yet share an understanding that humans are an integral part of the natural world. These laws emphasize respect for all beings and responsibilities to care for lands and waters. Trees, mountains and plants are relatives, not commodities that can be privately owned and exploited.

A dam controls the flow of a river Four dams along the Klamath River, which flows through Yurok Territory, are set to be removed to begin the restoration of the river that runs from Oregon to northern California. (AP Photo/Gillian Flaccus)

The rights-of-nature movement may seem radical to some people. It challenges Eurocentric values such as human dominance over the natural world, which is considered largely inanimate. The conservation movement itself is founded on a worldview that sees “wilderness” as something separate to be protected from humans. The “fortress” conservation movement is ideologically non-commensurate with Indigenous ways of thinking about being a part of nature. This belief was used to justify the forced relocation of many Indigenous Peoples from their territories to establish parks and protected areas.

Rights understood through a western, liberal and individualistic lens overlook collective responsibilities to the natural world. “I sincerely think Québec and Canada missed their responsibility; they aren’t protecting the river from development,” said Chief Piétacho.

Bridging western and Indigenous legal systems through a rights-of-nature approach is one tool for encouraging a kincentric view of the world, which sees humans as “part of an extended ecological family that shares ancestry and origins.”

Indigenous laws mirror and reinforce relational worldviews that view living entities as relatives, not resources. This in turn shapes social conduct that emphasizes respect and responsibility to the natural world. Innovative governance arrangements are one means through which distinct worldviews and associated laws can be woven together.

Innovative governance models

Rivers speak but since western laws and institutions are not designed to listen, people must act as intermediaries voicing perspectives on their behalf. Indigenous laws are well positioned to conceptualize the decision-making structures needed to breathe life into legal personhood.

In 2014, Tūhoe iwi (Māori) and the New Zealand government granted legal personhood to Te Urewera, an ancestral forest and former national park. They created a board responsible for making decisions in the best interests of Te Urewera. Tūhoe, as children of Tu Urewera, give expression to her through the board.

In Northern Canada, Łutsël K’é Dene First Nation established Thaidene Nëné as an Indigenous Protected Area under Dene law. It is also protected as a park and conservation area under Canadian and territorial (Northwest Territories) legislation. The management board, Thaidene Nëné Xá Dá Yáłtı, is composed of members of Łutsël K’é Dene First Nation, the Government of Canada and the Government of the Northwest Territories. Once appointed, members no longer represent their organizations, they speak for Thaidene Nëné.

Indigenous-led initiatives

Examples like Thaidene Nëné are the exception and not the norm in Canada, although this may be changing. There is a national mandate to support Indigenous-led conservation initiatives and advance reconciliation. This support combined with Indigenous leadership and accompanying legal innovations present new opportunities for caring for the land and waters.

Many similar Indigenous-led initiatives are currently underway, supported by programs including the Bioneers Indigeneity Program, RIVER (Revitalizing Indigenous Values for Earth’s Regeneration), the Conservation through Reconciliation partnership, RELAW (Revitalizing Indigenous Law for Land, Air and Water) and the Global Network for the Rights of Nature.

The Muteshekau Shipu river declaration — and the legal guardianship role for Innu — is an example governments can learn from. “If the government wants to effectively protect Nature, they should consider this option so protected areas would be protected along with our rights,” said Chief Piétacho.

To create just and liveable futures for all our relatives (human and otherwise), Canadian laws and policies need further innovation. Vesting legal personhood in natural entities is a promising intervention when Indigenous Peoples represent these entities. It elevates the standing of nature for all peoples and respects the laws of Indigenous Peoples.

About The Author

Justine Townsend, PhD Candidate, Department of Geography, Environment and Geomatics, University of Guelph

 

Related Books

 

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

0465055680by Mark W. Moffett
If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

 

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

 

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

 

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

This article originally appeared on The Conversation

The Conversation


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

full moon over Stonehenge
Horoscope Current Week: September 20 - 26, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a swimmer in large expanse of water
Joy and Resilience: A Conscious Antidote to Stress
by Nancy Windheart
We know that we're in a great time of transition, of birthing a new way of being, living, and…
five closed doors, one pained yellow, the others white
Where Do We Go From Here?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Life can be confusing. There are so many things going on, so many choices presented to us. Even a…
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Works Best?
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Comes First?
by Alan Cohen
People who are enthusiastic about a goal find ways to achieve it and they do not need to be goaded…
photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
Allow The Fear, Transform It, Move Through It, and Understand It
by Lawrence Doochin
Fear feels crappy. There is no way around that. But most of us don't respond to our fear in a…
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
My Prescription for Anxiety and Worry
by Jude Bijou
We’re a society that likes to worry. Worrying is so prevalent, it almost feels socially acceptable.…
curving road in New Zealand
Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Life consists of choices... some are "good" choices, and others not so good. However every choice…
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
Blessing for Spiritual Seekers and for People Suffering from Depression
by Pierre Pradervand
There is such a need in the world today of the most tender and immense compassion and deeper, more…
Every Day Is A New Day, A New Beginning
Every Day Is A New Day, A New Beginning
by Marie T. Russell
Every day is a new day. That is an indisputable fact. By accepting each new day with a fresh,…
Are You Sure It's Anger That You're Feeling?
Are You Sure It's Anger That You're Feeling?
by Barbara Berger
Many people who are striving to be tolerant and loving and kind suppress their own personal power…
The End of Days? or the Beginning of the Next Cycle?
The End of Days? or the Beginning of the Next Cycle?
by Gwilda Wiyaka
We are coming into a time when the old method of taking the events of the past, superimposing them…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…
image of the planet Jupiter on the skyline of a rocky ocean shore
Is Jupiter a Planet of Hope or a Planet of Discontent?
by Steven Forrest and Jeffrey Wolf Green
In the American dream as it's currently dished up, we try to do two things: make money and lose…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.