Communication

كيف يمكن للقيل والقال أن تساعدك في عملك وحياتك الاجتماعية

 how gossip can help 7 14
wavebreakmedia / شترستوك

تحصل القيل والقال على سمعة سيئة - من الصحف الشعبية المليئة بالنميمة المشهورة ، إلى المراهقين الذين يتصرفون بشكل سيء في البرامج التلفزيونية مثل Gossip Girl. ولكن في حين أنه قد يتم رفضها أو الإبلاغ عنها باعتبارها شائعة لا أساس لها ، فإن القيل والقال هو جزء أساسي من سياسة والطريقة التي يعمل بها العالم.

يتم تمثيل النساء القيل والقال أكثر من اللازم في الصور الشعبية للقيل والقال. أظهر تحليل غير رسمي لـ 100 صورة من Google للشائعات أن 62٪ من النساء فقط ، و 7٪ من الرجال فقط ، و 31٪ أظهروا أن الرجال والنساء يمارسون النميمة. هذا يعزز الأسطورة الشعبية والدائمة التي مفادها أن الرجال لا يثرثرون ، لكن تظهر الأبحاث أن الرجال والنساء ينخرطون في نفس القدر من نشاط النميمة.

يمكن إرجاع القيل والقال إلى أصول اللغة. حتى أن عالم النفس التطوري روبن دنبار يجادل بأن اللغة تطورت إلى تمكن الناس من النميمة. من أول أشكالها حتى اليوم ، كانت القيل والقال وسيلة لنقل معلومات مفيدة اجتماعيًا حول من يمكنك (وما لا يمكنك) الوثوق به ، ومن كان متسابقًا مجانيًا ، ومن تحدث الهراء.

أنتج هذا النوع من الحديث التماسك الاجتماعي وتخفيف حدة الصراع. خلال العصور الوسطى ، كانت كلمة ثرثرة (في الأصل غودسيب تطورت معنى "الراعي في المعمودية / العراب" في اللغة الإنجليزية القديمة) لوصف النساء اللائي يدعمن الآخرين النساء أثناء الولادة. بمرور الوقت وبعد إجراء عدد من التغييرات على التهجئة ، أخذ مصطلح ثرثرة معنى أحد المعارف المألوفين ، والصديق ، وفيما بعد "أي شخص يشارك في حديث مألوف أو خامل". اليوم ، يتم استخدام المصطلح وتفسيره بعدة طرق ، مثل فعل "القيل والقال" ، أو اسم "القيل والقال" أو حتى للإشارة إلى شخص معين ينخرط في سلوك الثرثرة - "القيل والقال".

لم يكن هناك أي معنى سلبي مرتبط بالنميمة حتى وقت قريب من مطاردة الساحرات الأوروبية في القرنين السادس عشر إلى الثامن عشر. كانت القيل والقال حافزًا لاتهامات السحر والشعوذة ، مما أدى إلى استخدام غير إنساني للقرون الوسطى أدوات التعذيب. تم تصميم "لجام التوبيخ" لمعاقبة النساء ومنعهن من التحدث. وهكذا ، بدأت سمعة القيل والقال السلبية والصورة النمطية بأنها "حديث نسائي".

ومن المفارقات ، في نفس الوقت ، أن القيل والقال انتشرت أحاديث الرجال في القرنين السابع عشر والثامن عشر باللغة الإنجليزية المقاهي. وباعتبارها منتجعات حصرية للمتعلمين والأثرياء ، فقد كانت أماكن يتعلم فيها الرجال (هناك القليل من الأدلة على وجود النساء في المقاهي ، إلا كخادمات) وجاء طلابهم الذكور لإثبات ذكائهم ومواهبهم الفكرية. هنا ، ولدت الأسطورة القائلة بأن النساء يثرثرن لكن الرجال يجرون محادثات جادة.

بحثي في القيل والقال والمنظمات يحطم الوهم القائل بأن النميمة كلام نسائي تافه أو خطير. عند إجراء مقابلات مع الرجال حول تجربتهم مع النميمة في العمل ، غالبًا ما يبدؤون بالقول "أنا لست من الأشخاص الذين يثرثرون ، ولكن ..." ، ثم يواصلون الحديث مطولًا عن كيفية استخدامهم للنميمة بشكل استراتيجي وسياسي.

لقد واجهت العديد من التعبيرات الملطفة للقيل والقال مثل "حديث المتجر" و "استخلاص المعلومات بعد الاجتماع" و "محادثات الممر". يبدو أن الرجال يشعرون براحة أكبر مع هذه الشروط. بدلاً من السؤال "ما هي النميمة؟" عند العودة من العطلة ، من المرجح أن يسألوا "ما الذي يحدث؟" القصد من السؤال هو نفسه ، لكن هذا الأخير قد يخفف من العار المرتبط بالثرثرة. وبالمثل ، الكلمات التي سمعتها تستخدم لوصف الأشخاص الذين يثرثرون هم "هم مستمع جيد" ولديهم "مهارات جيدة في التعامل مع الأشخاص".

ثرثرة في العمل

هناك ثروة من المواد التي تدعو إلى وجود القيل والقال يتم التخلص منه في مكان العملو الكتب الدفاع عن الأسباب الروحية لمقاومة النميمة.

تؤكد الصور النمطية الشائعة للقيل والقال على الأحكام السلبية الصادرة في القيل والقال ، ولكن يمكن ربطها بـ شفقةوالتعاطف ولاحظ المعاناة. النميمة هي وسيلة للتعبير عن المشاعر ، الإيجابية منها والسلبية ، وطريقة "للتنفيس عن الزخم" ورد فعل عاطفي للظلم الاجتماعي المتصور.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

هناك أيضًا أوقات تكون فيها النميمة تعبيرًا عن القلق بشأن السلوك غير الأخلاقي أو غير المهني - على سبيل المثال عندما يكون هناك "المعرفة العامة" عن الاعتداء الجنسي ، لكن لا أحد يتحدث. عندما يكون موضوع القيل والقال حول الممارسة السيئة في المنظمات ، يمكن أن يكون بمثابة إشارة الإنذار المبكر التي يجب الانتباه إليها ، بدلاً من تجاهلها أو تجاهلها.

أنا لا أقول أن كل الثرثرة جيدة. هناك أوقات يمكن أن تضر فيها النميمة بـ سمعة من الناس والمنظمات. ثرثرة سلبية هو شكل من أشكال التنمر الذي يضر برفاهية الناس. دائمًا ما يكون قرار النميمة - أو عدمه - قرارًا أخلاقيًا.

فهم جديد

خضعت القيل والقال لعملية إعادة تأهيل بطيئة منذ أن بدأت في البحث والكتابة عنها منذ أكثر من 25 عامًا. ككتابي الأخير القيل والقال والتنظيم والعمل يظهر أن النميمة تؤخذ على محمل الجد كموضوع بحث في الاتصالات والأعمال.

على الصعيد العالمي ، و #MeToo لقد غيرت الحركة تصورات القيل والقال ، وكذلك صعود "التحدث عن الثقافات"وخلق بيئات آمنة نفسياً حيث يمكن قول الحقيقة دون خوف من الاتهامات. نفخ الصافرة أمر حيوي لفضح سوء السلوك أو التهديدات الخفية والحفاظ على مجتمع مفتوح. لقد تحول التركيز الآن من القيل والقال كمشكلة بحد ذاتها ، إلى النميمة كوسيلة لتمثيل "المشكلة الكامنة وراء المشكلة" - فضح القضايا الهيكلية التي اكتسحت تحت البساط.

كما سلط الوباء الضوء على فوائد النميمة. بين عشية وضحاها تقريبًا ، أزال الإغلاق فرصًا للمحادثات العرضية التي تشكل ثرثرة - محادثات في قائمة انتظار القهوة وقبل الاجتماعات أو بعدها. مع عودة العديد من الأشخاص إلى المكتب ، قد يدركون مدى أهمية هذه الأشياء الصغيرة لحظات القيل والقال هي الروابط الاجتماعية والتعاون.The Conversation

نبذة عن الكاتب

كاثرين وادينجتونالقارئ في علم النفس جامعة وستمنستر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

death by pollution 11 11
قد يتسبب تلوث الهواء في وفيات أكثر بكثير مما كان يعتقد سابقًا
by كاثرين غومباى
للوصول إلى هذا الاستنتاج ، جمع الباحثون بيانات الصحة والوفيات لسبعة ملايين ...
witchcraft and america 11 15
ما تخبرنا الأسطورة اليونانية عن السحر الحديث
by جويل كريستنسن
العيش على الشاطئ الشمالي في بوسطن في الخريف يجلب معه التقلبات الرائعة للأوراق و ...
young woman or girl standing against a graffiti wall
الصدفة تمرين للعقل
by برنارد بيتمان ، دكتوراه في الطب
الاهتمام الشديد بالصدفة يمارس العقل. التمرين يفيد العقل تمامًا كما هو ...
making businesses accountable 11 14
كيف يمكن للشركات السير في الحديث عن التحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية
by سيمون بيك وسيباستيان مينا
تواجه الشركات ضغوطًا متزايدة لمواجهة التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية مثل ...
people holding hands
7 طرق لتغيير العالم ومجتمعاتنا
by كورماك راسل وجون ماكنايت
بصرف النظر عن التواصل من أجل حسن الجوار ، ما هي الوظائف الأخرى التي تقوم بها الأحياء النابضة بالحياة؟ ...
what young people want 11 10
ما الذي يفترض أن أفعله حيال كل هذه العوامل المناخية السيئة حقًا؟
by فيبي كوين وكاتيتزا مارينكوفيتش شافيز
يشعر الكثير من الشباب بالقلق والعجز والحزن والغضب بشأن تغير المناخ. على الرغم من أن هناك…
arches reflected in water
الأنانية في دير: دروس في القيادة من راهب وأخيه
by ديفيد سي بنتال
"بعد فترة وجيزة من زواج أخي اتصل بي ليقدم لي الاعتذار. وقال إنه لم يدرك كيف ...
failure leads to success 11 9
كيف يمكن للفشل المبكر أن يؤدي إلى النجاح في وقت لاحق
by ستيفن لانجستون
يمكن للفشل في وقت مبكر من حياتنا المهنية أن يجعلنا نتساءل عما إذا كنا على الطريق الصحيح. قد ننظر في ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Communication

How Gossip Can Help Your Work and Social Life

 how gossip can help 7 14
wavebreakmedia / Shutterstock

Gossip gets a bad rap – from tabloids full of salacious celebrity gossip, to the badly-behaved teens of television programmes like Gossip Girl. But while it might get dismissed or reported as unsubstantiated rumour, gossip is a key part of politics and the way the world works.

Gossipy women are over represented in popular images of gossip. An informal analysis of 100 Google images of gossip revealed 62% were of women only, 7% were men only, and 31% showed men and women gossiping. This reinforces the popular and enduring myth that men don’t gossip, but research shows that men and women engage in the same amount of gossiping activity.

Gossip can be traced back to the origins of language. Evolutionary psychologist Robin Dunbar even argues that language evolved to enable people to gossip. From its earliest form to today, gossip has been a way to pass on socially useful information about who you could (and couldn’t) trust, who was a free rider, and who talked bullshit.

This type of talk produced social cohesion and alleviated conflict. During the Middle Ages the word gossip (originally godsibb meaning “sponsor at baptism/godparent” in Old English) evolved to describe women who supported other women during childbirth. Over time and after a number of changes to spelling, the term gossip took on the meaning of a familiar acquaintance, a friend, and later to “anyone engaging in familiar or idle talk”. Today, the term is used and interpreted in a number of ways, as a verb “to gossip”, a noun “the gossip” or even to refer to a specific person who engages in gossipy behaviour – “a gossip”.

There was no negative meaning attached to gossip until around the time of the European witch hunts in the 16th to 18th centuries. Gossip was a catalyst for accusations of witchcraft and sorcery, leading to inhumane use of medieval instruments of torture. The “scold’s bridle” was designed to punish and prevent women from speaking. Thus, gossip’s negative reputation and stereotype as “women’s talk” began.

Paradoxically, at the same time, gossip as men’s talk spread throughout the 17th and 18th century in English coffee houses. As exclusive resorts of the educated and rich, they were places where learned men (there is little evidence of women in coffee houses, unless as servants) and their male students came to demonstrate their wit and intellectual talents. Here, the myth that women gossip but men have serious conversations was born.

My research into gossip and organisations shatters the illusion that gossip is trivial or dangerous women’s talk. When interviewing men about their experience of gossip at work, they often begin by saying “I’m not one to gossip, but …”, and then go on at length to talk about how they use gossip strategically and politically.

I have encountered many euphemisms for gossip such as “shop talk”, “post-meeting debriefing” and “corridor conversations”. Men seem to feel more comfortable with these terms. Rather than asking “what’s the gossip?” on return from holiday, they are more likely to ask “what’s been going on?”. The intention behind the question is the same, but the latter may soften the shame associated with being a gossip. Similarly, words I have heard used to describe people who gossip are “they are a good listener” and have “good people skills”.

Gossip at work

There is a wealth of material calling for gossip to be eliminated in the workplace, and books advocating spiritual reasons for resisting gossip.

Popular stereotypes of gossip overemphasise the negative judgements made in gossip, but it can be associated with compassion, empathy and noticing suffering. Gossip is a way of expressing emotions, both positive and negative, a way of “letting off steam” and an emotional reaction to perceived social injustice.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

There are also times when gossip is an expression of concern about unethical or unprofessional behaviour – for instance when there is “common knowledge” about sexual abuse, but nobody speaks up. When the topic of gossip is about poor practice in organisations, it can act as an early warning signal that should be heeded, rather than ignored or disregarded.

I am not saying that all gossip is good. There are times when gossip can do harm to the reputation of people and organisations. Negative gossip is a form of bullying, which is detrimental to people’s wellbeing. The decision to gossip – or not – is always an ethical decision.

A new understanding

Gossip has undergone a slow rehabilitation since I first began researching and writing about it over 25 years ago. As my recent book Gossip, Organization and Work shows, gossip is being taken seriously as topic of research in communication and business.

Globally, the #MeToo movement has changed perceptions of gossip, as has the rise of “speak up cultures” and the creation of psychologically safe environments where truth can be told without fear of recrimination. Whistleblowing is vital for exposing misconduct or hidden threats and maintaining an open society. The focus has now shifted from gossip as a problem itself, to gossip as a way to represent the “problem behind the problem” – exposing structural issues that have been swept under the rug.

The pandemic has also shone a spotlight on the benefits of gossip. Almost overnight, lockdowns removed opportunities for the casual conversations that constitute gossip – conversations in the coffee queue, and before or after meetings. As many people return to the office, they may realise how important these little moments of gossip are to social bonds and cooperation.The Conversation

About The Author

Kathryn Waddington, Reader in Psychology, University of Westminster

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

a young man meditation outside
How to Meditate and Why
by Joseph Selbie
Meditation gives us greater access to nonlocal realities: uplifting and harmonizing emotions,…
home solar systems 9 30
When The Power Grid Goes Out, Can Solar Power Your Home?
by Will Gorman et al
In many disaster- and outage-prone areas, people are starting to ask whether investing in rooftop…
tropical diseases 9 24
Why Tropical Diseases In Europe May Not Be Rare For Much Longer
by Michael Head
Dengue, a viral infection spread by mosquitoes, is a common disease in parts of Asia and Latin…
a grandmother reading to her two grandchildren
A Grandmother's Scottish Tale for the Fall Equinox
by Ellen Evert Hopman
This story has a little bit of America in it and a little bit of Orkney in it. Orkney is at the…
covid changed personalities 9 28
How The Pandemic Has Changed Our Personalities
by Jolanta Burke
Evidence shows that significant events in our personal lives which induce severe stress or trauma…
right sleep position 9 28
Here Are The Right Ways To Sleep
by Christian Moro and Charlotte Phelps
Even though sleep may be, as one researcher put it, “the only major behaviour in search of a…
ladder reaching up to the moon
Explore Your Resistance to Life’s Opportunities
by Beth Bell
I didn’t truly understand the phrase “never say never” until I started recognizing I was…
why stength training 9 30
Why You Should Be Strength Training and How To Do It
by Jack McNamara
One advantage of strength training over cardio is that it doesn’t require the same level of oxygen…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.