هل ستدعم التكاليف الاجتماعية الأعلى حالة القيود المفروضة على الانبعاثات؟

التكاليف الاجتماعية أعلى سيعزز الحال بالنسبة لانبعاثات حواف الأرصفة

Sيقدر المحللون في الولايات المتحدة أن الأضرار الاقتصادية الناجمة عن ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 يمكن أن يكون أعلى بستة أضعاف القيمة المستخدمة لتوجيه لوائح الطاقة الحالية.

وتبدو الإجراءات المتضافرة بشأن تغير المناخ وكأنها صفقة بعد نتائج الأبحاث التي تشير إلى أن التكلفة الافتراضية على المجتمع لضرر الاحترار العالمي التي تسببها انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون قد تم التقليل من شأنها بشكل خطير.

الـ وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية بحساب "التكلفة الاجتماعية للكربون" في 37 $ للطن الواحد - وهو رقم يستخدم لتوجيه لوائح الطاقة الحالية وسياسات التخفيف محتملة في المستقبل. ولكن اثنين من الباحثين الأمريكيين وضعت الآن تكلفة CO2 المنبعثة في 2015 حول ستة أضعاف - في 220 $ للطن.

هم تقرير في طبيعة تغير المناخ أن الأضرار الناجمة عن تغير المناخ يمكن أن تؤثر بشكل مباشر على معدلات النمو الاقتصادي، وسوف تذهب على القيام بذلك، لأن كل "الصدمة الحرارية" يمكن أن يكون له تأثير مستمر التي من شأنها أن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي أقل بشكل دائم - مؤشر الثروة المستخدمة من قبل جميع الاقتصاديين - من ما من شأنه أن يكون إذا كان العالم لا الاحترار.

في هذه الحالة ، يكون لدى الدول حافز أكبر لتكثيف الجهود للحد من انبعاثات الكربون.

المزيد من إجراءات التخفيف سيمر تحليل التكاليف والمنافع

واضاف "اذا التكلفة الاجتماعية للكربون أعلى، فإن العديد من تدابير التخفيف المزيد من تمرير تحليل التكاليف والمنافع"، ويقول أحد معدي التقرير، Delavane دياز، من قسم العلوم الإدارية والهندسة في جامعة ستانفورد، كاليفورنيا. "لأن انبعاثات الكربون الضارة بالنسبة للمجتمع، حتى وسيلة مكلفة للحد من الانبعاثات من شأنه أن يكون مفيدا."

شارك في تأليفها ، فرانسيس مور ، من ستانفورد مدرسة علوم الأرضيقول: "بالنسبة لسنوات 20 الآن ، افترضت النماذج أن تغير المناخ لا يمكن أن يؤثر على معدل النمو الأساسي للاقتصاد. لكن عددًا من الدراسات الجديدة يشير إلى أن هذا قد لا يكون صحيحًا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"إذا كان تغير المناخ يؤثر ليس فقط على الناتج الاقتصادي لبلد ولكن أيضا على نموه ، فإن لهذا تأثير دائم يتراكم مع مرور الوقت ، مما يؤدي إلى تكلفة اجتماعية أعلى بكثير من الكربون".

"بما أن انبعاثات الكربون ضارة بالمجتمع ، فحتى الوسائل المكلفة لتقليل الانبعاثات ستكون جديرة بالاهتمام"

تستند جميع هذه الدراسات على الافتراضات والتبسيط الضروري. يجب عليهم ألا يقتصروا على الربط بين ارتفاع درجة الحرارة والتأثيرات المباشرة على الصحة والزراعة وحماية السواحل ، بل أيضاً على النمو السكاني والتغيرات في الأنماط الاجتماعية والتنمية الاقتصادية الوطنية.

كما أنها تجعل الافتراضات أن الدول الغنية سوف تكون أكثر قدرة على امتصاص الصدمات الناجمة عن تغير المناخ، والذي بدوره ثم يصبح حجة لتأخير العمل في حين أن الدول الفقيرة تتقدم تنميتها.

إعادة تقييم نماذج التقييم الاقتصادي

لكن الباحثين في جامعة ستانفورد أعادوا دراسة نماذج التأثيرات المناخية والتقييم الاقتصادي المستخدمة على نطاق واسع من قبل أمريكا الشمالية والدول الأوروبية لوضع مقياس لتكلفة انبعاثات الكربون ، وأجروا مجموعة من التغييرات.

فقد سمحت بتغير المناخ ليؤثر على معدلات النمو الاقتصادي ، كما أنها كانت مسؤولة عن التكيف مع تغير المناخ ، وقسمت نموذجها بحيث تمثل البلدان منخفضة الدخل والبلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع.

الاستنتاج هو أن الأضرار التي لحقت بمعدلات النمو شديدة بما يكفي لتبرير خطوات سريعة ومبكرة للغاية للحد من ارتفاع متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية إلى 2 ° C فوق مستويات ما قبل الصناعة التي وافقت معظم الدول على أنها ضرورية لتفادي أسوأ الآثار. .

يقول مور: "حتى الآن ، كان من الصعب للغاية تبرير إجراءات التخفيف العدوانية والتي قد تكون باهظة الثمن لأن الأضرار ليست كبيرة بما فيه الكفاية". شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

تيم رادفورد ، صحفي مستقلتيم رادفورد صحافي مستقل. كان يعمل ل الحارس ل32 عاما، لتصبح (من بين أمور أخرى) خطابات رئيس التحرير، محرر الفنون، المحرر الأدبي ورئيس تحرير العلم. فاز رابطة كتاب العلوم البريطاني جائزة للكاتب العلوم من السنة أربع مرات. خدم في لجنة المملكة المتحدة لل العقد الدولي للحد من الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد ألقى محاضرات عن العلوم والإعلام في عشرات المدن البريطانية والأجنبية.

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرىكتاب بهذا المؤلف:

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرى
تيم رادفورد.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. (كتاب أوقد)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Will Higher Social Costs Bolster The Case For Emissions Curbs?

climate

Higher Social Costs Will Bolster The Case For Emissions Curbs

Scientists in the US estimate that economic damage caused by CO2 could be six times higher than the value used to guide current energy regulations.

Concerted action on climate change is looking like a bargain after research findings that the notional cost to society of global warming damage caused by carbon dioxide emissions has been seriously underestimated.

The US Environmental Protection Agency calculates the “social cost of carbon” at $37 per tonne – a figure used to guide current energy regulations and possible future mitigation policies. But two US researchers now put the cost for CO2 emitted in 2015 about six times higher − at $220 a tonne.

They report in Nature Climate Change that damage from climate change could directly affect economic growth rates, and will go on doing so, because each “temperature shock” could have a persistent effect that would permanently lower gross domestic product – the wealth indicator used by all economists – from what it would be if the world wasn’t warming.

In which case, nations have a greater incentive to step up efforts to curb carbon emissions.

More Mitigation Measures Will Pass A Cost-Benefit Analysis

“If the social cost of carbon is higher, many more mitigation measures will pass a cost-benefit analysis,” says one of the report’s authors, Delavane Diaz, of the Department of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford University, California. “Because carbon emissions are so harmful to society, even costly means of reducing emissions would be worthwhile.”

Her co-author, Frances Moore, of Stanford’s School of Earth Sciences, says: “For 20 years now, the models have assumed that climate change can’t affect the basic growth rate of the economy. But a number of new studies suggest this may not be true.

“If climate change affects not only a country’s economic output but also its growth, then that has a permanent effect that accumulates over time, leading to a much higher social cost of carbon.”

“Because carbon emissions are so harmful to society, even costly means of reducing emissions would be worthwhile”

All such studies are based on assumptions and necessary simplifications. They have to take in not just the link between rising temperature and direct impacts on health, agriculture and coastal protection, but also population growth, changes in social patterns and national economic development.

They also make assumptions that the richer countries will better be able to absorb the shock of climate change, which in turn then becomes an argument for delaying action while the poorer countries advance their development.

Reexamining Economic Assessment Models

But the two Stanford researchers re-examined the climate impact and economic assessment models widely used by North American and European nations to put a measure to the cost of carbon emissions, and made a set of changes.

They allowed climate change to affect economic growth rates, they accounted for adaptation to climate change, and they divided their model to represent both low-income and high-income countries.

The conclusion is that the damage to growth rates is severe enough to justify very rapid and very early steps to limit the rise of average global temperatures to the 2°C above pre-industrial levels that most nations have agreed is necessary to avert the worst effects.

Moore says: “Until now, it’s been very difficult to justify aggressive and potentially expensive mitigation measures because the damages just aren’t large enough.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

climate
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}