التصحر الصيني يسبب متاعب في جميع أنحاء آسيا

التصحر الصيني يسبب متاعب في جميع أنحاء آسيا

فالتصحر الزاحف في الصين يبتلع آلاف الكيلومترات المربعة من التربة المنتجة كل عام. إنه تحد ذو أبعاد هائلة وغير مسبوقة.

معدل التصحر زيادة طوال النصف الثاني من القرن الماضي ، وعلى الرغم من أن هذا الاتجاه قد استقر منذ ذلك الحين ، فإن الوضع لا يزال قائما جدي جدا.

يتدهور الآن أكثر من ربع البلد بأكمله أو يتحول إلى الصحراء ، وذلك بفضل "الرعي المفرط للثروة الحيوانية ، أو الزراعة ، أو الاستخدام المفرط للمياه ، أو التغيرات في المناخ". صحراء غوبي وحدها يعلو 3,600km2 من المراعي كل عام. الصين الخاصة إدارة الغابات الحكومية وقد حددت مشكلة التصحر على الأراضي بأنها أهم مشكلة بيئية في البلاد ، ولن يؤدي تغير المناخ إلا إلى تفاقم الأمور.

الكوارث البيئية لها آثار اجتماعية. التصحر يهدد حياة نحو ثلث سكان الصين ، لا سيما في غرب البلاد وشمالها ، ويمكن أن يشكل تحديات خطيرة الاستقرار السياسي والاقتصادي. يكلف الصين تقريبا RMB 45 مليار دولار (6.9 مليار دولار) كل سنة.

أشارت البحوث يوضح أنه "بالنسبة للمناطق المتأثرة بشدة ، فإن الخسارة تصل إلى نسبة 23.16٪ من إجمالي الناتج المحلي السنوي". إن حقيقة أن ثلث مساحة الأراضي في البلاد قد تآكل أدى ببعض الناس 400m للكفاح من أجل مواجهة عدم وجود تربة منتجة وظروف مناخية مزعزعة ونقص حاد في المياه. الجفاف الضرر "حول 160,000 كيلومتر مربع من الأراضي الزراعية كل عام ، ضعف المساحة التالفة في 1950s".

ولإلقاء اللوم على التصحر في حالة الرعي والإفراط في الزراعة ، بدأت الولاية منذ أن بدأت 2005 في إعادة تخصيص ملايين الأشخاص من الأراضي الجافة والجرداء في أراضيها. المثير للجدل . ساخنة المتنازع عليها. برنامج "الهجرة الإيكولوجية".

لقد جعل إزالة الغابات الأمور أكثر سوءًا. غرينبيس يكتب أن 2 ٪ فقط من الغابات الأصلية في البلاد لا تزال سليمة ، والتي "محمية فقط 0.1 ٪ بالكامل".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


على الرغم من الجهود غير العادية التي تبذلها الحكومة للحد من معدل تآكل ، وبلغت ذروتها في أكبر مشروع لإعادة التشجير من أي وقت مضى ، الحكومة نفسها اعترف في 2011 أن "اتجاه التصحر لم يتراجع بشكل أساسي".

الجغرافيا السياسية العاصفة

اشتدت العواصف الترابية والرملية وأصبحت تشكل تحديات جيوبوليتيكية استفزازية. صحراء غوبي التي تمتد عبر الصين ومنغوليا هي العالم ثاني أكبر مصدر للغباربعد الصحراء. إن رواسب التربة الدوامة هي طاعون سنوي في غرب الصين ، ولكنها تتحرك أيضًا على طول المحيط الهادي وما وراءه. تم العثور على آثار من الصحارى في الصين بعيدة مثل نيوزيلاندا أو ال جبال الألب الفرنسيةو "الغبار الأصفر" يكلف الكوريّة . اليابانيّة اقتصادات مليارات الدولارات كل عام. والأسوأ من ذلك هو منغوليا ، التي تواجه في حد ذاتها التصحر ، وسوف تتأثر بشكل خاص بها الاحترار العالمي.

استنشاق هذا الغبار له آثار مدمرة على صحة الحيوانات والبشر على حد سواء. الغبار الأسيوي كان في العقد الماضي مرتبط لكل من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والجهاز التنفسي في حين أن أكثر حداثة بحث اكتشفت "علاقة ذات دلالة إحصائية بين العواصف الترابية الآسيوية والوفيات اليومية".

العواصف الترابية أيضا نقل الملوثات السامة والبكتيريا والفيروسات وحبوب اللقاح والفطريات. علماء الأحياء المجهرية نظر إلى عاصفة ترابية في كوريا الجنوبية ووجد زيادات كبيرة في البكتيريا الجوية.

العمل معا لمحاربة الغبار

لا تحترم العواصف الترابية والرملية الحدود الدولية ، لذا لا عجب أنها أصبحت مصدر قلق كبير للحكم المتعدد الأطراف. وبالعودة إلى 2005 ، قام بنك التنمية الآسيوي ، مع العديد من وكالات الأمم المتحدة والبلدان الإقليمية ، بإنشاء الخطة الرئيسية لتعزيز حلول تعاونية.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، كان الغبار على جدول الأعمال في قمة ثلاثية 2015 حضرتها كوريا الجنوبية واليابان والصين. وزراء البيئة من الدول الثلاث يجتمع كل عام وأنشأت مجموعات العمل الخاصة "تحسين دقة التنبؤ ووضع معايير لاستعادة الغطاء النباتي في مناطق المصدر في الصين".

هذه خطوات إيجابية. لا يمكن للصين أن تتظاهر بأن تصحرها هو مشكلتها الخاصة حيث أن التأثيرات على الدول الأخرى واضحة للغاية. لقد أجبرت العواصف الترابية الدائرية الدول الأخرى على الاهتمام مباشرة برمال الصحراء الصينية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

المحادثةnieuwenhuis marijnماريان نيوينهويس ، زميلة تدريس في العلاقات الدولية وشرق آسيا ، جامعة وارويك. يركز بحثه الحالي على "سياسة الجو" ويتعامل مع مسائل التكنولوجيا والتلوث والأمن والأرض والحكم.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي. تظهر نسخة من هذه المقالة أيضًا في جامعة نوتنغهام مدونة معهد سياسة الصين.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = التصحر؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

China's Desertification Is Causing Trouble Across Asia

China's Desertification Is Causing Trouble Across Asia

Creeping desertification in China is swallowing thousands of square kilometres of productive soil every year. It’s a challenge of gigantic and unprecedented proportions.

The rate of desertification increased throughout the second half of last century and, although this trend has since stabilised, the situation remains very serious.

More than a quarter of the entire country is now degraded or turning to desert, thanks to “overgrazing by livestock, over cultivation, excessive water use, or changes in climate”. The Gobi desert alone gobbles up 3,600km2 of grassland each year. China’s own State Forestry Administration has identified land desertification as the country’s most important ecological problem, and climate change will only make things worse.

Ecological disasters have social effects. Desertification threatens the subsistence of about a third of China’s population, especially those in the country’s west and north, and could pose serious challenges to political and economic stability. It costs China roughly RMB 45 billion (US$6.9 billion) per year.

Research shows that “for seriously desertified regions, the loss amounts to as much as 23.16% of … annual GDP”. The fact that one third of the country’s land area is eroded has led some 400m people to struggle to cope with a lack of productive soil, destabilised climatological conditions and severe water shortages. Droughts damage “about 160,000 square kilometres of cropland each year, double the area damaged in the 1950s”.

Blaming the desertification on overgrazing and bad cultivation, the state has since 2005 started to reallocate millions of people from dry and barren territories under its controversial and hotly-contested “ecological migration” programme.

Deforestation has only made things worse. Greenpeace writes that only 2% of the country’s original forests remain intact, of which “only 0.1% is fully protected”.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Despite extraordinary efforts by the government to reduce the rate of erosion, culminating in the largest reforestation project ever undertaken, the government itself conceded in 2011 that the “desertification trend has not fundamentally reversed”.

Stormy geopolitics

Dust and sand storms have intensified and now pose provocative geopolitical challenges. The Gobi desert which spans China and Mongolia is the world’s second largest dust source, after the Sahara. Whirling soil sediments are an annual plague in western China but also move all the way across the Pacific and beyond. Traces of China’s deserts have been found as far away as New Zealand or the French Alps, and “yellow dust” costs the Korean and Japanese economies billions of US dollars each year. Even worse off is Mongolia, which itself is facing desertification, and will be particularly affected by global warming.

Inhaling this dust has devastating effects on the health of animals and humans alike. Asian dust has in the past decade been linked to both cardiovascular and respiratory diseases while more recent research discovered “a statistically significant association between Asian dust storms and daily mortality”.

Dust storms also transport toxic pollutants, bacteria, viruses, pollen and fungi. Microbiologists looked at a dust storm in South Korea and found big increases in aerial bacteria.

Working together to fight the dust

Dust and sand storms don’t respect international borders, so it’s no wonder they have become a big worry for multilateral governance. Back in 2005 the Asian Development Bank, together with several UN agencies and regional countries, drew up a master plan to promote cooperative solutions.

More recently, dust was on the agenda at a 2015 trilateral summit attended by South Korea, Japan and China. Environment ministers from the three countries meet each year and have established special working groups to “improve forecasting accuracy and to develop measures of vegetation restoration in source areas in China”.

These are positive steps. China can’t pretend its desertification is its own problem as the effects on other countries are too obvious. Swirling dust storms have forced other states to take a direct interest in China’s desert sands.

About The Author

The Conversationnieuwenhuis marijnMarijn Nieuwenhuis, Teaching Fellow in International Relations and East Asia, University of Warwick. His current research focuses on the 'politics of the air' and deals with questions of technology, pollution, security, territory and governance.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article. A version of this article also appears on the University of Nottingham’s China Policy Institute Blog.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=desertification;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…