فقط كيف كبير المخاطر هي تغير المناخ لدينا؟

فقط كيف كبير المخاطر هي تغير المناخ لدينا؟

تقرير علمي دولي بتكليف من حكومة المملكة المتحدة يقول أن مخاطر تغير المناخ قابلة للمقارنة مع تلك التي يفرضها الصراع النووي.

وتقول حكومة المملكة المتحدة إن تغير المناخ يشكل مخاطر تتطلب التعامل معها بجدية مثل تهديد الحرب النووية.

يقول العلماء من المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة والهند والصين في تقرير بتكليف من المملكة المتحدة أن تقرر ما يجب القيام به حول تغير المناخ يعتمد على قيمة وضعنا على حياة الإنسان، سواء الآن أو في السنوات المقبلة.

أحد المؤلفين الرئيسيين للتقرير هو السير ديفيد كينغ ، كبير العلماء السابقين في حكومة المملكة المتحدة ، والذي شارك في الشهر الماضي في كتابة تقرير حول حجم الاستثمار الذي ينبغي الانتقال من الوقود الأحفوري إلى الطاقة المتجددة بواسطة 2025.

في مقدمة التقرير الأخير، البارونة Anelay، وهو وزير في وزارة الخارجية البريطانية، ان يكتب تقييم المخاطر المحيطة نزع السلاح النووي وعدم الانتشار يعني العناصر المترابطة فهم - بما في ذلك ما يقول العلم هو ممكن، ما بلدان أخرى قد تنوي ، وعوامل جهازية مثل ديناميات السلطة الإقليمية.

"خطر تغير المناخ يتطلب تقييماً شمولياً بالمثل" ، كما تقول.

قيمة الحياة البشرية

وتخلص إلى القول: "ما مدى اهتمامنا بتأثيرات تغير المناخ؟ ما مدى أهمية أن نتصرف لتجنبها؟ ما هي احتمالية حدوثها التي يمكننا تحملها؟ ... وتعتمد الإجابات على هذه الأسئلة جزئياً على كيفية تقديرنا للحياة البشرية - الآن وفي المستقبل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


التقرير ليس أول من يضع فوضى المناخ والدمار النووي في نفس الفئة من المخاطر، ولكن رعايتها من قبل واحدة من القوى النووية في العالم هو بليغ.

وتقول ان القرار السياسي الأكثر أهمية هو كيف بذل الكثير من الجهد لممارسة بشأن مكافحة تغير المناخ، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار ما نقوم به لالمناخ، وكيف أن ترد، ما الذي يمكن أن تفعله لنا، وما يمكن بعد ذلك القيام به لبعضها البعض .

أفضل تخمين للكاتب ، استناداً إلى السياسات والاتجاهات الحالية ، هو أن انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة سوف تستمر في الصعود لعدة عقود أخرى ، ومن ثم إما أن تنخفض أو تنخفض ببطء.

"عدم اليقين ليس صديقنا. هناك مجال أكبر من أن يكون سيئ الحظ من أن يكون محظوظ

كما يقولون ، لسببين: الحكومات لا تحقق أقصى استفادة من التقنيات المتاحة بالفعل ؛ والتكنولوجيا لا تتقدم بسرعة كافية بما يكفي لإعطاء الحكومات خيارات السياسة التي سيحتاجون إليها. في أسوأ الحالات ، يمكن أن تستمر الانبعاثات في الارتفاع طوال القرن.

ويحذرون من أن الكيفية التي قد يتغير بها المناخ ، وما الذي يمكن أن يفعله بنا ، هو أمر غير مؤكد إلى حد كبير. "الشيء المهم أن نفهم أن عدم اليقين ليس صديقنا" ، كما يقول التقرير. "هناك مجال أكثر من أن تكون غير محظوظين من أن يكون محظوظا."

انبعاثات عالية المسار

ﻳﺘﻮﻗﻊ اﻟﺘﻘﺮﻳﺮ ﻧﻄﺎﻗﺎت واﺳﻌﺔ ﻣﻦ درﺟﺎت اﻟﺤﺮارة اﻟﻌﺎﻟﻤﻴﺔ اﻟﻤﺤﺘﻤﻠﺔ وزﻳﺎدة ﻣﺴﺘﻮى ﺳﻄﺢ اﻟﺒﺤﺮ. على مسار عالي للانبعاثات ، كما يقول ، حيث من المحتمل أن يكون ارتفاع درجة الحرارة المحتمل عند 5 ° C من 2100 ، أي شيء من 3 ° C إلى 7 ° C ممكن.

على هذا المسار، فإن فرص البقاء تحت 3 ° C ستصبح "صغيرة بزوال"، لكن فرص تجاوز سوف 7 ° C زيادة ويمكن أن تصبح أكثر عرضة من لا يدخل في القرن القادم.

انظر الكتاب فرصة ضئيلة للغاية أن ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر سوف تبطئ، وكل فرصة أنه سوف يتسارع. والسؤال الوحيد هو قبل كم.

"في حين أن الزيادة في مكان ما بين 40cm و 1m تبدو على الأرجح هذا القرن ، إلا أن الاستجابة المتأخرة للأغطية الجليدية الضخمة إلى الاحترار تعني أننا قد نكون ملتزمين بالفعل بأكثر من 10m على المدى الطويل. نحن لا نعرف ما إذا كان ذلك سيستغرق قرونا أو آلاف السنين.

يمكن أن تؤدي زيادة درجة الحرارة في 4 ° C أو أكثر إلى مخاطر كبيرة للغاية على الأمن الغذائي العالمي ، وللناس.

البشر لديهم قدر محدود من التسامح مع مجموعات من درجات الحرارة العالية والرطوبة. نادرا ما يتم تجاوز حدودها العليا من التسامح من أي وقت مضى من قبل الظروف المناخية وحدها ، ولكن مع زيادة درجة الحرارة في مكان ما بين 5 درجة مئوية و 7 ° C ، فإنه يبدأ على الأرجح أن الأماكن الساخنة سوف تعاني من ظروف مميتة حتى بالنسبة للأشخاص الاستلقاء في الظل.

ومن المرجح أن يؤدي النمو السكاني وحده إلى مضاعفة عدد الأشخاص الذين يعيشون تحت عتبة النقص الحاد في المياه بحلول منتصف القرن.

مستوى البحر عتبات

من المحتمل أن يكون لدى المدن الساحلية ، حسب التقرير ، عتبات من حيث معدل ومدى ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر الذي يمكن التعامل معه ، ولكن ليس لدينا إلا فكرة قليلة جداً عن تلك العتبات.

يقول المؤلفان إنه حتى الـ 0.8 ° C الخاصة بتغير المناخ التي مرت حتى الآن تسبب لنا مشكلات كبيرة ، وأنه "يبدو من المرجح أن درجات عالية من تغير المناخ ستشكل مخاطر هائلة على الأمن القومي والدولي" - على سبيل المثال ، من خلال الإجهاد المائي والمنافسة على الأراضي المنتجة.

في مقطع موضعي للغاية ، يقولون إن الهجرة من بعض المناطق قد تصبح ضرورة أكثر من اختيار ، ويمكن أن تحدث على نطاق غير مسبوق تاريخيًا.

واضاف ان "قدرة المجتمع الدولي على المساعدة الإنسانية، وبالفعل قد استنفد كل طاقته يمكن بسهولة طغت" يحذر التقرير.

يمكن أن تزداد مخاطر فشل الدولة بشكل كبير ، مما يؤثر على العديد من البلدان في وقت واحد ، بل ويهدد تلك التي تعتبر مستدامة ومستقرة في الوقت الحالي.

لكن التقرير ليس متشائمًا بلا هوادة. "إن التقييم الصادق للمخاطر ليس سبباً للقدرية" ، كما تقول. "كما أن التغيرات البسيطة في المناخ يمكن أن يكون لها تأثيرات كبيرة للغاية ، يمكن أن ينطبق الأمر نفسه على التغييرات في السياسة الحكومية ، والقدرة التكنولوجية ، والتنظيم المالي ... لا ينبغي أن يكون هدف الحفاظ على مناخ آمن للمستقبل بعيدًا عن متناولنا". شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

اليكس كيربي هو صحفي بريطانياليكس كيربي صحفي بريطاني متخصص في القضايا البيئية. عمل في مجالات مختلفة في هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) لسنوات 20 تقريبا وتركت بي بي سي في 1998 للعمل كصحفي مستقل. وقال انه يوفر أيضا مهارات إعلامية التدريب للشركات والجامعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وهو أيضا حاليا مراسل البيئي ل بي بي سي نيوز أون لاينواستضافت بي بي سي راديو 4"سلسلة بيئة الصورة، تكلف الأرض. يكتب أيضا ل الحارس . شبكة أخبار المناخ. يكتب أيضا عمود منتظم ل بي بي سي الحياة البرية مجلة.


وأوصت كتب:

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقالية

الحياة البرية في يلوستون الانتقاليةأكثر من ثلاثين خبيرا كشف علامات مثيرة للقلق من نظام تحت ضغط. وهي تحدد ثلاثة الضغوطات الاعتبار الأول: الأنواع الغازية، وتنمية القطاع الخاص من الأراضي دون وقاية، وارتفاع درجة حرارة الجو. سوف التوصيات الختامية تشكيل المناقشة في القرن الحادي والعشرين حول كيفية مواجهة هذه التحديات، ليس فقط في المتنزهات الأمريكية ولكن لمناطق الحفظ في جميع أنحاء العالم. قراءة للغاية ويتضح تماما.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "يلوستون الحياة البرية في المرحلة الانتقالية" على الأمازون.

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنة

وفرة الطاقة: تغير المناخ وسياسة سمنةمن قبل إيان روبرتس. يروي بخبرة قصة الطاقة في المجتمع، والأماكن "السمنة" بجوار تغير المناخ باعتبارها مظاهر لنفس الشعور بالضيق الكواكب الأساسية. يقول هذا الكتاب المثير أن نبض الطاقة المستمدة من الوقود الأحفوري بدأت عملية تغير المناخ الكارثية ليس فقط، ولكن أيضا دفعت الإنسان العادي صعودا توزيع الوزن. وهو يقدم ويقيم للقارئ مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات دي كربنة الشخصية والسياسية.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "وفرة الطاقة" على الأمازون.

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرة

الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر لإنقاذ كوكب المتعثرةالتي تود ويلكنسون وتيد تيرنر. رجل الأعمال وقطب الاعلام تيد تيرنر يدعو ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري التهديد الأكثر خيمة التي تواجه البشرية، ويقول إن كبار رجال الأعمال في المستقبل سوف يتم سكها في تطوير الطاقة المتجددة الخضراء، البديلة. من خلال عيون تيد تيرنر، ونحن نعتبر طريقة أخرى للتفكير في البيئة، والتزاماتنا لمساعدة الآخرين المحتاجين، والتحديات الخطيرة التي تهدد بقاء الحضارة.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب "الموقف الأخير: كويست تيد تيرنر ..." على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

Just How Big A Risk Is Our Changing Climate?

Just How Big A Risk Is Our Changing Climate?

An international scientific report commissioned by the UK government says the risks of climate change are comparable to those posed by nuclear conflict.

The UK government says that climate change poses risks that demand to be treated as seriously as the threat  of nuclear war.

Scientists from the UK, US, India and China say in a report commissioned by the UK that deciding what to do about climate change depends on the value we put on human life, both now and in years to come.

One of the lead authors of the report is Sir David King, formerly the UK government’s chief scientist, who last month co-authored a report on the scale of investment that should be made to move from fossil fuels to renewable energy by 2025. 

In a foreword to the latest report, Baroness Anelay, a minister at the British foreign office, writes that assessing the risks surrounding nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation means understanding inter-dependent elements − including what science says is possible, what other countries may intend, and systemic factors such as regional power dynamics.

“The risk of climate change demands a similarly holistic assessment,” she says.

Value Human Life

She concludes: “How much do we care about the effects of climate change? How important is it that we act to avoid them? What probability of their occurrence can we tolerate?…The answers to these questions depend in part on how we value human life – both now, and in the future.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The report is not the first to put climate chaos and nuclear devastation in the same category of risk, but its sponsorship by one of the world’s nuclear powers is eloquent.

It says the most important political decision is how much effort to exert on countering climate change, taking into account what we are doing to the climate, how it may respond, what that could do to us, and what we might then do to each other.

The authors’ best guess, based on current policies and trends, is that greenhouse gas emissions will keep going up for another few decades, and then either level off or slowly decline.

“Uncertainty is not our friend. There is much more scope to be unlucky than there is to be lucky”

This, they say, is for two reasons: governments are not making maximum use of the technologies already available; and technology is not yet progressing fast enough to give governments the policy options they will need. In the worst case, emissions could keep on rising throughout the century.

They warn that how the climate may change, and what that could do to us, are both highly uncertain. “The important thing to understand is that uncertainty is not our friend,” the report says. “There is much more scope to be unlucky than there is to be lucky.”

High Emissions Pathway

The report foresees wide ranges of possible global temperature and sea level increase. On a high emissions pathway, it says, where the most likely temperature rise is estimated at 5°C by 2100, anything from 3°C to 7°C may be possible.

On this pathway, the chances of staying below 3°C will become “vanishingly small”, but the chances of exceeding 7°C will increase and could become more likely than not within the next century.

The authors see very little chance that global sea level rise will slow down, and every chance that it will accelerate. The only question is by how much.

“While an increase of somewhere between 40cm and 1m looks likely this century, the delayed response of huge ice-sheets to warming means we may already be committed to more than 10m over the longer term. We just do not know whether that will take centuries or millennia.”

A temperature increase of 4°C or more could pose very large risks to global food security, and to people.

Humans have limited tolerance for combinations of high temperature and humidity. Their upper limits of tolerance are rarely if ever exceeded by climatic conditions alone, but with temperature increase somewhere between 5°C and 7°C, it starts to become likely that hot places will experience conditions that are fatal even for people lying down in the shade.

Population growth alone is also likely to double the number of people living below a threshold of extreme water shortage by mid-century.

Sea Level Thresholds

Coastal cities, according to the report, probably have thresholds in terms of the rate and extent of sea level rise that they can deal with, but we have very little idea where those thresholds are.

The authors say that even the 0.8°C of climate change experienced so far is now causing us significant problems, and that “it seems likely that high degrees of climate change would pose enormous risks to national and international security” − for example, through extreme water stress and competition for productive land.

In a highly topical passage, they say migration from some regions may become more a necessity than a choice, and could happen on a historically unprecedented scale.

“The capacity of the international community for humanitarian assistance, already at full stretch, could easily be overwhelmed,” the report warns.

The risks of state failure could rise significantly, affecting many countries simultaneously, and even threatening those currently considered developed and stable.

But the report is not relentlessly downbeat. “An honest assessment of risk is no reason for fatalism,” it says. “Just as small changes in climate can have very large effects, the same can be true for changes in government policy, technological capability, and financial regulation… the goal of preserving a safe climate for the future need not be beyond our reach.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Alex Kirby is a British journalistAlex Kirby is a British journalist specializing in environmental issues. He worked in various capacities at the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for nearly 20 years and left the BBC in 1998 to work as a freelance journalist. He also provides media skills training to companies, universities and NGOs. He is also currently the environmental correspondent for BBC News Online, and hosted BBC Radio 4's environment series, Costing the Earth. He also writes for The Guardian and Climate News Network. He also writes a regular column for BBC Wildlife magazine.


Recommended Books:

Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition

Yellowstone's Wildlife in TransitionOver thirty experts detect worrying signs of a system under strain. They identify three overriding stressors: invasive species, private-sector development of unprotected lands, and a warming climate. Their concluding recommendations will shape the twenty-first-century discussion over how to confront these challenges, not only in American parks but for conservation areas worldwide. Highly readable and fully illustrated.

For more info or to order "Yellowstone's Wildlife in Transition" on Amazon.

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatness

The Energy Glut: Climate Change and the Politics of Fatnessby Ian Roberts. Expertly tells the story of energy in society, and places 'fatness' next to climate change as manifestations of the same fundamental planetary malaise. This exciting book argues that the pulse of fossil fuel energy not only started the process of catastrophic climate change, but also propelled the average human weight distribution upwards. It offers and appraises for the reader a set of personal and political de-carbonising strategies.

For more info or to order "The Energy Glut" on Amazon.

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet

Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet by Todd Wilkinson and Ted Turner. Entrepreneur and media mogul Ted Turner calls global warming the most dire threat facing humanity, and says that the tycoons of the future will be minted in the development of green, alternative renewable energy. Through Ted Turner's eyes, we consider another way of thinking about the environment, our obligations to help others in need, and the grave challenges threatening the survival of civilization.

For more info or to order "Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest..." on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}