تحقيق يكشف عن عقود طويلة الأمد لشركة شل للنفط

تحقيق يكشف عن عقود طويلة الأمد لشركة شل للنفط

ومثلها مثل إكسون موبيل ، عملت شركة شل على الضغط ضد تشريعات المناخ واستثمرت المليارات في الوقود الأحفوري على الرغم من معرفة مخاطر الاحترار العالمي.

عملاق نفط قذيفة كما عرفت بمخاطر تغير المناخ منذ عقود ، في حين استمرت في الضغط ضد التشريعات المتعلقة بالمناخ ودفعت إلى تطوير الوقود الأحفوري ، وهو تحقيق مشترك أجرته وصي والصحيفة الهولندية مراسلة كشفت الثلاثاء.

أنشأت شركة شل تقريرًا سريًا في 1986 وجد أن التغييرات التي أحدثتها ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري يمكن أن تكون "الأعظم في التاريخ المسجل" ، وحذرت من تأثير "على البيئة البشرية ومستويات المعيشة المستقبلية والإمدادات الغذائية ، [يمكن] لدينا عواقب اجتماعية واقتصادية وسياسية كبيرة ".

كما قامت الشركة بعمل فيلم تعليمي لـ 28-minute في 1991 بعنوان مناخ القلق التي حذرت استخراج النفط واستخدامه يمكن أن يؤدي إلى الطقس المتطرف ، والمجاعات ، والتشريد الجماعي ، وأشار إلى أن مخاطر تغير المناخ "أيدها إجماع واسع وفريدة من العلماء". تم تطوير الفيلم للمشاهدة العامة ، وخاصة للمدارس.

يوضح الفيديو: "قد تتسبب طريقة حياتنا التي تستهلك الطاقة في إحداث تغييرات مناخية ذات عواقب سلبية لنا جميعًا".

وتابعت قائلة "إذا كانت آلة الطقس ستنتهي إلى مستويات جديدة من الطاقة ، فلن تظل أي دولة غير متأثرة". "الاحترار العالمي غير مؤكد بعد ، لكن الكثيرين يعتقدون أن انتظار الدليل النهائي سيكون غير مسؤول. العمل الآن يعتبر التأمين الوحيد الآمن".

على الرغم من التحذيرات الخاصة بها ، استثمرت شركة شل مليارات الدولارات في عمليات الرمال القطر والتنقيب في القطب الشمالي. لديها أيضا مكرسة الملايين للضغط ضد التشريعات المناخية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الكشف عن شل يأتي بعد تحقيق منفصل في إكسون موبيل كشفت أن الشركة كانت أيضا تشن حملة لقمع علوم المناخ ودفن تقاريرها الخاصة حول آثار الاحترار العالمي لاستخدام الوقود الأحفوري لعقود. ويجري حاليا التحقيق مع اكسون ، التي أصبح الآن الرئيس التنفيذي السابق لها وزيرة خارجية الولايات المتحدة الأوراق المالية وهيئة الأوراق المالية (SEC) و محامو الولاية العامة زعم الكذب على المستثمرين حول مخاطر تغير المناخ.

في 2016 ، طلبت مجموعة من المشرعين من وزارة العدل النظر في معرفة شركة شل للاحتباس الحراري كذلك.

وقال توم بيرك من مؤسسة (اكس.إن.ام.إم.إم.إم) الاخبارية: "كانوا يعلمون. لقد أخبرت شل الرأي العام بشأن تغير المناخ في 1991 ، ومن الواضح أنهم لم يلتفتوا مطلقا ليخبروا مجلس مديريهم". وصي يوم الثلاثاء. "إن سلوك شل الآن محفوف بالمخاطر بالنسبة للمناخ ، ولكنه أيضاً محفوف بالمخاطر بالنسبة لمساهميها. من الصعب جداً توضيح سبب استمرارهم في استكشاف وتطوير احتياطيات عالية التكلفة."

وأضاف Bill McKibben ، المؤسس المشارك لمجموعة الدعوة البيئية 350.org ، "حقيقة أن شل فهمت كل هذا في 1991 ، وأنه بعد ربع قرن كان يحاول فتح المنطقة القطبية الشمالية للتنقيب عن النفط ، يخبرك جميعًا ستحتاج إلى معرفة أي شيء عن أخلاقيات الشركات في صناعة الوقود الأحفوري ، فقد أحدثت شل فرقاً كبيراً في العالم - وهو فرق للأسوأ.

وقالت باتريشيا إسبينوزا ، رئيسة الأمم المتحدة المعنية بتغير المناخ ، إن العمل الذي تقوم به شركات الوقود الأحفوري أمر بالغ الأهمية لمكافحة تغير المناخ.

وقالت: "إنهم جزء كبير من الاقتصاد العالمي ، لذلك إذا لم نتمكن من استيعابهم ، فلن نكون قادرين على تحقيق هذا التحول في الاقتصاد الذي نحتاجه".

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على أحلام مشتركة

نبذة عن الكاتب

نادية بروبيس كاتبة من كتاب Common Dreams.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = أدلة تغير المناخ ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Investigation Reveals Shell Oil Co.'s Decades Long Climate Lies

Investigation Reveals Shell Oil Co.'s Decades Long Climate Lies

Much like ExxonMobil, Shell lobbied against climate legislation and invested billions in fossil fuels despite knowing dangers of global warming

Oil giant Shell also knew of the dangers of climate change decades ago, while it continued to lobby against climate legislation and push for fossil fuel development, a joint investigation by the Guardian and the Dutch newspaper The Correspondent revealed Tuesday.

Shell created a confidential report in 1986 which found that the changes brought about by global warming could be "the greatest in recorded history," and warned of an impact "on the human environment, future living standards, and food supplies, [that] could have major social, economic, and political consequences."

The company also made a 28-minute educational film in 1991 titled Climate of Concern that warned oil extraction and use could lead to extreme weather, famines, and mass displacement, and noted that the dangers of climate change were "endorsed by a uniquely broad consensus of scientists." The film was developed for public viewing, particularly for schools.

"Our energy consuming way of life may be causing climatic changes with adverse consequences for us all," the video states.

"If the weather machine were to be wound up to such new levels of energy, no country would remain unaffected," it continues. "Global warming is not yet certain, but many think that to wait for final proof would be irresponsible. Action now is seen as the only safe insurance."

Despite its own warnings, Shell invested billions of dollars into tar sands operations and exploration in the Arctic. It has also devoted millions to lobbying against climate legislation.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The revelations about Shell come after a separate investigation into ExxonMobil revealed that company had also been waging a climate science suppression campaign and burying its own reports on the global warming impacts of fossil fuel use for decades. Exxon, whose former CEO is now U.S. secretary of state, is currently under investigation by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and state attorneys general for allegedly lying to investors about the risks of climate change.

In 2016, a group of lawmakers asked the Department of Justice to look into Shell's knowledge of global warming as well.

"They knew. Shell told the public the truth about climate change in 1991 and they clearly never got round to telling their own board of directors," Tom Burke of the green think-tank E3G, told the Guardian on Tuesday. "Shell's behavior now is risky for the climate but it is also risky for their shareholders. It is very difficult to explain why they are continuing to explore and develop high-cost reserves."

Added Bill McKibben, co-founder of the environmental advocacy group 350.org, "The fact that Shell understood all this in 1991, and that a quarter-century later it was trying to open up the Arctic to oil-drilling, tells you all you'll ever need to know about the corporate ethic of the fossil fuel industry. Shell made a big difference in the world—a difference for the worse."

Patricia Espinosa, the United Nations' climate change chief, said action by fossil fuel companies is critical to combating climate change.

"They are a big part of the global economy, so if we do not get them on board, we will not be able to achieve this transformation of the economy we need," she said.

This article originally appeared on Common Dreams

About The Author

Nadia Prupis is a Common Dreams staff writer.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=climate change evidence;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…