تغير المناخ: إن الجمع الصحيح بين شخصيات الأشجار يمكن أن يجعل الغابات أكثر مرونة

تغير المناخ: إن الجمع الصحيح بين شخصيات الأشجار يمكن أن يجعل الغابات أكثر مرونة
Thitima khudkam / Shutterstock

كل شجرة في غابة لديها جار. في العديد من الأحياء الحرجية ، غالبًا ما توجد نفس الأنواع تعيش معًا ، خاصةً عندما تكون ظروف النمو متشابهة. في بعض الأحيان يكون هؤلاء الجيران متقاربين ومتفرقين في بعض الأحيان ، لكنهم يشكلون جماعياً جزءًا من مجتمع ، مع وجود بعض الأنواع بشكل طبيعي أكثر هيمنة من الأنواع الأخرى ، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بإنتاج الكتلة الحيوية. ولكن ماذا يحدث عندما يصبح الوضع صعبا؟ الجفاف قادم وسيكون هناك رابحون وخاسرون.

يمكن أن يكون الجفاف تحديًا كبيرًا للعديد من الأشجار ، وسيزداد هذا سوءًا مع تحول العالم إلى أكثر سخونة وجفاف المناخ. الأنواع المختلفة لديها استراتيجيات مختلفة للتعامل مع هذا النوع من الإجهاد ، ولكن كيف تتعامل مع فقدان الماء أمر مهم للغاية.

الأشجار لها مسام صغيرة في أوراقها بحيث يمكنها فتح وإغلاق الثغور. تفقد الأشجار الماء من خلال بطونها في عملية تسمى النتح ، وتمتص ثاني أكسيد الكربون لاستخدامه في عملية التمثيل الضوئي - كيف تصنع النباتات طعامها. بعض الأشجار أكثر تحفظًا ، حيث تغلق ثغراتها مبكراً في الجفاف لمنع فقد الماء ، ولكن هذا يحد أيضًا من كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي يمكن أن تحملها ، وكذلك مقدار الطاقة التي يمكن أن تولدها.

تستخدم بعض الأشجار استراتيجية أكثر خطورة وتترك هذه المسام مفتوحة لفترة أطول لمواصلة امتصاص ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، ولكن هذا يزيد أيضًا من خطر عملية تسمى التجويف ، مما يمنعهم من نقل المياه. من الواضح أن كل إستراتيجية لها مزاياها وعيوبها ، وتقع جميع الأشجار في مكان ما بين محافظ حقًا وخطير حقًا.

تغير المناخ: إن الجمع الصحيح بين شخصيات الأشجار يمكن أن يجعل الغابات أكثر مرونة
تسمح الثغور للأشجار باستنشاق ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO₂) وزفير الأكسجين (O₂) والماء (H₂O). NoPainNoGain / شترستوك

من حسن حظ هذا التنوع في الأشجار ، لأنه إذا اعتمدت كل الأنواع على نفس الاستراتيجية بالضبط ، فسيكون الأمر مثل وضع كل بيضها في سلة واحدة. إن وجود استراتيجية واحدة للتعامل مع كل ما يمكن أن تلقيه الحياة من شأنه أن يجعل الغابات معرضة للخطر. مجموعة متنوعة من الاستراتيجيات للتعامل مع الإجهاد هي ما يمنح الغابات بعض الاستقرار والقدرة على التكيف.

أي الأنواع لديها أفضل إستراتيجية للبقاء ستعتمد جزئياً على المدة التي يستغرقها هذا الحدث المجهد ، ومدى شدته ، ومدى تكراره - وما الذي يفعله جيرانه. كيف ستعمل كل هذه الاستراتيجيات المختلفة في بيئة مرهقة مثل الجفاف ستحدد كيف تسير الغابات بأكملها. يشبه إلى حد ما الشخصيات في البشر ، وفي بعض الأحيان يعملون بشكل جيد ويستفيد الجميع ، لكن في بعض الأحيان يصطدمون.

البحوث الحديثة بدأت تثير غضب من يفوز ومن يخسر عندما تزرع بعض الأنواع معًا ، وكيف يتغير هذا في ظل الظروف العصيبة. بشكل مثير للدهشة إلى حد ما ، يمكن استخراج الكثير من هذه المعلومات من حلقات الأشجار ، والتي تحتوي على سجل مادي لمدى نمو كل شجرة على حدة عندما حدث شيء يشبه الجفاف.

تسمح حلقات الأشجار للعلماء برؤية كيف تستجيب الأشجار المختلفة لنفس الحدث المجهد - وكيف تؤثر هوية النوع في الجوار المباشر على هذه الاستجابة. والأهم من ذلك أن هذا البحث يلقي الضوء على بعض الأسباب المعقدة التي تجعل الأنواع تستجيب بشكل مختلف اعتمادًا على من ينمو بجوارها.

كل حلقة شاحبة ومظلمة تشير إلى نمو عام. (شجرة الشخصيات)
كل حلقة شاحبة ومظلمة تشير إلى نمو عام. على نطاق أوسع الحلبة ، حدث المزيد من النمو خلال تلك السنة. توم أوفندين, مؤلف المنصوص

أحب جارك

لماذا بعض الأشجار أفضل بجانب بعض الجيران وليس غيرها معقدة للغاية ولم يتم فهمها بشكل كامل حتى الآن. ولكن على المستوى الأساسي ، يمكننا أن نتخيل أن كل نوع من أنواع الأشجار لديه مجموعة كاملة من الصفات والخصائص والوظائف التي تشكل شخصيتها.

قد يكون لكيفية استجابة الشجرة للإجهاد علاقة بمستوى المنافسة المباشرة بين جيرانها. على سبيل المثال ، بعض الأشجار لها جذور عميقة وبعض الأشجار لها جذور ضحلة - شجرتان لهما جذور ضحلة تتنافسان بشكل مباشر على المياه ، لكن الأنواع ذات الجذور العميقة يمكنها الوصول إلى المياه في أسفل التربة وتجنب بعض هذه المنافسة. يسمى هذا "التمايز المتخصص" - باستخدام البيئة بشكل مختلف ، يمكن أن يشغل نوعان مختلفان نفس المكان.

إن القدرة على التنبؤ بنوع الأشجار التي ستجعل الجيران السيئين والجيدين أمر مهم حقًا. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن يعني وضع شجرتين معًا أكثر خطورة عندما يتعلق الأمر بتحديد موعد غلقهما أن تستهلك المياه المحدودة بشكل أسرع من الشجرة المحافظة والمحفوفة بالمخاطر.

تم اقتراح إعادة تحريج أجزاء كبيرة من الأرض كوسيلة لإبطاء تغير المناخ. يتم تطوير التقنيات لامتصاص الكربون من الهواء وتخزينه أيضًا ، لكن الأشجار استفادت من عام 350m برنامج البحث والتطوير هذا يجعلها مثالية للمهمة.

إن فهم أنواع الأشجار التي تعمل بشكل جيد معًا - والأهم من ذلك - يمكن أن يساعد توجيه كيفية تنفيذ إعادة التحريج في العقود القادمة. مع وجود مجموعة متنوعة أكبر من "شخصيات" الأشجار ، من المرجح أن تكون الغابات أكثر قدرة على مقاومة الجفاف والآفات والأمراض من تلك التي تتكون من نوع واحد. يأتي التنوع بأشكال عديدة - التأكد من أن الغابات المزروعة اليوم مرنة في المستقبل سوف يعتمد جزئيًا على اختيار جيران الأشجار بحكمة.

عن المؤلف

توم أوفندين ، مرشح دكتوراه - علم البيئة الحرجية والمرونة ، جامعة ستيرلينغ

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يفعل وما يترك التعاطف
ما يفعل وما يترك التعاطف
by الغراب الرقميه

Climate Change: Having The Right Combination Of Tree Personalities Could Make Forests More Resilient

Climate Change: Having The Right Combination Of Tree Personalities Could Make Forests More Resilient
Thitima khudkam/Shutterstock

Every tree in a forest has a neighbour. In many forest neighbourhoods, the same species are often found living together, especially when the growing conditions are similar. Sometimes these neighbours are close and sometimes far apart, but collectively they form part of a community, with some species naturally being more dominant than others, especially in terms of biomass production. But what happens when the going gets tough? A drought is coming and there’ll be winners and losers.

Droughts can be a big challenge for many trees, and one that is only going to get worse as the world shifts to a hotter, drier climate. Different species have different strategies for dealing with this kind of stress, but how they deal with losing water is particularly important.

Trees have tiny pores in their leaves that they can open and close called stomata. Trees lose water through their stomata in a process called transpiration, and absorb carbon dioxide for use in photosynthesis – how plants make their food. Some trees are more conservative, closing their stomata early on in a drought to prevent water loss, but this also limits how much carbon dioxide they can take in and so how much energy they can generate.

Some trees use a riskier strategy and leave these pores open for longer to continue absorbing carbon dioxide, but this also increases the risk of a process called cavitation, which stops them being able to transport water. Clearly, each strategy has its advantages and disadvantages, and all trees sit somewhere between really conservative and really risky.

Climate Change: Having The Right Combination Of Tree Personalities Could Make Forests More Resilient
Stomata allow trees to inhale carbon dioxide (CO₂) and exhale oxygen (O₂) and water (H₂O). NoPainNoGain/Shutterstock

Diversity like this in trees is fortunate, because if every species relied on the exact same strategy it would be a bit like putting all of their eggs in one basket. Having only a single strategy to deal with all that life can throw at them would leave forests pretty vulnerable. A diverse range of strategies for coping with stress is what gives forests some of their essential stability and resilience.

Which species has the best strategy to survive will depend in part on how long a stressful event lasts, how intense it is, how frequently it occurs - and what its neighbours are doing. How all of these different strategies work in a stressful environment like a drought will determine how the whole forest fares. A bit like personalities in humans, sometimes they work well together and everyone benefits, but sometimes they clash.

Recent research has started to tease apart who wins and who loses when certain species are planted together, and how this changes under stressful conditions. Somewhat amazingly, much of this information can be extracted from tree rings, which contain a physical record of how well each individual tree grew when something like a drought came along.

Tree rings allow scientists to see how different trees respond to the same stressful event - and how the identity of the species in their immediate neighbourhood influences this response. Crucially, this research is also shedding light on some of the complicated reasons why species respond so differently depending on who they grow next to.

Each pale and dark ring together denote a year’s growth.  (Tree Personalities)
Each pale and dark ring together denote a year’s growth. The wider the ring, the more growth occurred during that year. Tom Ovenden, Author provided

Love thy neighbour

Why some trees do better next to certain neighbours and not others is extremely complicated and not yet fully understood. But at a basic level, we can imagine that each tree species has a whole range of traits, characteristics and functions that make up its personality.

How a tree responds to stress might have something to do with the level of direct competition between its neighbours. For example, some trees have deep roots and some trees have shallow roots – two trees with shallow roots will directly compete for water, but a deep rooted species can access water lower down in the soil and avoid some of this competition. This is called “niche differentiation” – by using the environment differently, two different species can occupy the same place.

Being able to predict which tree species will make good and bad neighbours is really important. For instance, placing two trees together that are more risky when it comes to deciding when to close their stomata could mean they use up the limited water quicker than a conservative and a risky tree growing together.

Reforesting large parts of the Earth has been suggested as a method for slowing climate change. Technologies are being developed to suck carbon from the air and store it too, but trees have benefited from a 350m year research and development programme that makes them perfect for the task.

Understanding what tree species work well together – and crucially why – can help guide how reforestation is implemented in the decades to come. With a greater variety of tree “personalities”, forests are likely to be more resilient to droughts, pests and diseases than those made up of a single species. Diversity comes in many forms – making sure the forests planted today are resilient in the future will partly depend on choosing tree neighbours wisely.

About the Author

Tom Ovenden, PhD candidate - Forest Ecology and Resilience, University of Stirling

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}