5 مدن الولايات المتحدة تبدأ بناء اقتصادات تعاونية

5 مدن الولايات المتحدة تبدأ بناء اقتصادات تعاونية (جاكسونفيل ، فلوريدا)

شهدنا مؤخرًا موجة من النشاط المثير للإعجاب على مستوى حكومة المدينة ، وكلها حول سياسات مصممة لبناء ثروة مجتمعية وتشجيع نمو الاقتصادات المحلية التعاونية. من المشجع أن نرى أن أعمال المطورين على مستوى القاعدة ، والمؤسسات المحلية ، والناشطين المجتمعيين ، وبناة المجال بدأت في اكتساب موطئ قدم في عالم السياسة البلدية. وبالرغم من أن العديد من النماذج التي أثبتت نفسها حاليًا على أرض الواقع قد فعلت ذلك بفضل الدعم القيّم والتعاون الوثيق لصانعي السياسات المحليين ، فإن ما هو جديد ومثير في 2014 هو الطريقة التي يتجه بها عدد متزايد من حكومات المدن إلى أدوار قيادية وتحفيز مشاريع ومبادرات جديدة.

يظل الفقر الحضري المركز قضية ملحة ؛ تُظهر بيانات 2012 ذلك ما يقرب من واحد من كل ستة أشخاص يعيشون في المناطق الحضرية الكبرى يعيش تحت خط الفقر. في جاكسونفيل ، فلوريدا - المدينة الأكثر اكتظاظاً بالسكان ، ومن الناحية الجغرافية ، فإن أكبرها في الولايات المتحدة - العمدة ألفين براون - يمتاز بكونه ليس فقط أول أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يشغل منصبه ، بل هو أيضاً أول رئيس بلدية في الولايات المتحدة. الدول إلى تكليف وعقد بناء مجتمع الثروة والمائدة المستديرة لاستكشاف طرق شاملة لمعالجة هذه المشكلة وجها لوجه.

جلبت عملية المائدة المستديرة (التي شاركت فيها الديمقراطية التعاونية كمستشارين إلى المدينة) قادة المجتمع مع أصحاب المصلحة المؤسسيين لإجراء محادثة حول الخطوات التي يمكن اتخاذها لإعادة توزيع الموجودات القائمة بشكل استراتيجي لتحويل الوضع الاقتصادي على الأرض في نورث ويست جاكسونفيل ، حيث لقد نتج الفقر بين الأجيال عن الأنماط التاريخية لسحب الاستثمارات.

هذا فيديو يُظهر أبرز مائدة المستديرة - بما في ذلك بعض أفضل اللحظات مع قادة المجتمع من كليفلاند بولاية أوهايو ؛ واشنطن العاصمة؛ أماريلو ، تكساس. وبيتسبرغ ، بنسلفانيا ، الذي تحدث عن تجاربهم مع المبادرات المصممة لبناء ثروة مجتمعية من خلال التنمية الاقتصادية المحلية التحويلية (مثل كليفلاند التعاونيات دائمة الخضرة). لدينا فقط صدر تقرير للمدينة يحدد استراتيجيات رئيسية لبناء هذه المحادثات لتطوير مبادرة شاملة لبناء الثروة.

جاكسونفيل ليست المدينة الوحيدة التي تتأثر ببناء الثروة المجتمعية. تم افتتاح أول مكتب لبناء مجتمع الثروة في البلاد من قبل العمدة دوايت جونز في ريتشموند ، فيرجينيا. (من قبيل الصدفة ، ريتشموند الأخرى ، في ولاية كاليفورنيا ، هي أيضا جزء من قصة بناء الثروة المجتمعية على مستوى البلديات ، مع العمدة غايل ماكلولين واحدة من أوائل رؤساء البلديات في الولايات المتحدة لدعم التنمية التعاونية للعمال!) في ولاية فرجينيا ، المكتب الجديد ، بميزانية قدرها 3.5 مليون دولار ، ويرأسها الباحث الديمقراطية التعاونية السابقة ثاث ويليامسون، سوف تعمل بنشاط على عزل الفرص لبناء الثروة المجتمعية عبر صوامع الحكومة التقليدية في المدينة.

التعاونيات: استراتيجية التنمية الاقتصادية الفعالة

ويبدو أن التعاونيات على وجه الخصوص تكتسب اعترافًا جديدًا باعتبارها استراتيجية إنمائية اقتصادية فعالة تحافظ على استقرار رأس المال محليًا في حين تضفي الطابع الديمقراطي على الملكية. في أوستن ، عمل مجلس المدينة مؤخرًا مع جمعية الأعمال التعاونية في أوستن (ACBA) ، وهو أحد التحالفات التعاونية المحلية الجديدة التي تم تطويرها تحت رعاية الجمعية الوطنية للأعمال التعاونية ، لصياغة وتمرير القرار تسليط الضوء على التأثير الإيجابي لتعاونيات أوستن + 40 وتوجيه مدير المدينة "لعقد أصحاب المصلحة من أجل تطوير توصيات تفصِّل الطرق التي يمكن للمدينة من خلالها تعزيز تطوير أعمال تعاونية جديدة وقائمة."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هناك شيء مشابه يحدث في مدينة نيويورك ، حيث ، بدعم من رئيس بلدية دي بلاسيو مدير مبادرات التنقل الصناعي والدخل في شركة التنمية الاقتصادية في مدينة نيويورك ، ميكويلا كرايتور ، والعديد من أعضاء مجلس المدينة ، خصص مبلغ 1.2 مليون دولار لتحفيز تطوير تعاونيات جديدة للعمال ، تستهدف على وجه التحديد المقيمين ذوي الدخل المنخفض والأقليات. هذه المبادرة تتبع تفكيرًا ممتازًا ومتقدمًا تقرير من جانب اتحاد التعاونيات العاملة البروتستانتية التي تسلط الضوء على القوة الفريدة لتعاونيات العمال لخلق فرص العمل وفرص بناء الأصول في المجتمعات المهمشة تاريخيا ؛ تقريرنا الخاص الجديد تعاونيات العمال: مسارات لرفع المستوى, يجعل حالة السياسة لدعم التعاونيات العمالية بشكل أكثر عمومية.

وقد طبع من هذه المادة وللمشاركة


عن المؤلف

Community-Wealth.org هو مشروع الديمقراطية التعاونية. الهدف من التعاون الديموقراطي هو تغيير النموذج السائد للتنمية الاقتصادية - والاقتصاد ككل - نحو توكيد ونظام جديد يعتمد على: توسيع الملكية والرقابة على رأس المال. الديمقراطية في مكان العمل استقرار المجتمع والتأكيد على المكان النمو العادل والشامل الاستدامة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤسسية. التزامهم هو تعزيز فهم جديد للديمقراطية للقرن 21st. Community-Wealth.org يجمع ، ولأول مرة ، معلومات حول النطاق الواسع لنشاط بناء الثروة المجتمعية.


أوصى كتاب:

أمريكا ما وراء الرأسمالية: استعادة ثرواتنا وحريتنا وديمقراطيتنا
غار Alperovitz.

أمريكا ما وراء الرأسماليةيقوم جار البيروفيتز بحشد سنوات من البحث في استراتيجيات "الاقتصاد الجديد" الناشئة لتقديم صورة شاملة لجهود القاع العملية الجارية حالياً في آلاف المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. كل ديمقراطية الثروة وتمكين المجتمعات ، وليس الشركات: ملكية العمال ، والتعاونيات ، وصناديق الأراضي المجتمعية ، والمؤسسات الاجتماعية ، جنبا إلى جنب مع العديد من الاستراتيجيات الاتحادية والدولة والولائية على المدى الطويل أيضا. أمريكا ما وراء الرأسمالية هي دعوة إلى السلاح ، خارطة طريق عمليا بارزة لوضع الأسس لتغيير نظام متعثر يفشل بشكل متزايد في الحفاظ على القيم الأمريكية العظيمة المتمثلة في المساواة والحرية والديمقراطية الهادفة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 US Cities Begin Building Cooperative Economies

5 US Cities Begin Building Cooperative Economies (Jacksonvile, FL)

Recently we have seen a flurry of impressive activity at the level of city government, all around policies designed to build community wealth and encourage the growth of cooperative local economies. It's encouraging to see that the work of grassroots developers, local foundations, community activists, and field builders is beginning to gain a foothold in the world of municipal policy. While certainly many of the models that have currently proven themselves on the ground have done so with the invaluable support and close cooperation of local policymakers, what's new and exciting in 2014 is the way an increasing number of city governments are stepping into leadership roles and catalyzing new projects and initiatives.

Concentrated urban poverty remains a pressing issue; 2012 data shows that nearly one in six people living in major metropolitain areas lives below the poverty line. In Jacksonville, Florida — the state's most populated city and, geographically, the largest in the contiguous United States — Mayor Alvin Brown has the distinction of being not only the first African American to hold his position, but is also the first mayor in the United States to commission and convene a Community Wealth Building Roundtable to explore comprehensive approaches to tackling this problem head on.

The Roundtable process (in which The Democracy Collaborative participated as consultants to the city) brought community leaders together with institutional stakeholders for a conversation about steps that could be taken to redeploy existing assets strategically to transform the economic situation on the ground in Northwest Jacksonville, where generational poverty has resulted from historical patterns of disinvestment.

This video shows highlights of the Roundtable — including some of the best moments with community leaders from Cleveland, Ohio; Washington DC; Amarillo, Texas; and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, who talked about their experiences with initiatives designed to build community wealth through transformative local economic development (like Cleveland's Evergreen Cooperatives). Our just-released report to the city identifies key strategies for building off these conversations to develop a comprehensive wealth building initiative.

Jacksonville isn't the only city getting excited by community wealth building; the first Office of Community Wealth Building in the country was recently opened by Mayor Dwight Jones in Richmond, Virginia. (Coincidentally, the other Richmond, in California, is also part of the municipal-level community wealth building story, with Mayor Gayle McLaughlin one of the first US mayors to support worker cooperative development!) In Virginia, the new office, with a budget of $3.5 million, and headed by former Democracy Collaborative researcher Thad Williamson, will be actively working to isolate opportunities to build community wealth across traditional city government silos.

Cooperatives: An Effective Economic Development Strategy

Cooperatives in particular seem to be gaining new recognition as an effective economic development strategy that keeps capital anchored locally while democratizing ownership. In Austin, the city council recently worked with the Austin Cooperative Business Association (ACBA), one of the new local cooperative alliances developed under the aegis of the National Cooperative Business Association, to draft and pass a resolution highlighting the positive impact of Austin's 40+ cooperatives, and directing the City Manager "to convene stakeholders to develop recommendations that detail ways the city can promote the development of new and existing cooperative businesses."


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Something similar is happening in New York City, where, with the support of Mayor De Blasio's Director of Industrial and Income Mobility Initiatives at the NYC Economic Development Corporation, Miquela Craytor, and numerous members of the City Council, $1.2 million has been allocated to spur the development of new worker cooperatives, specifically targeting low-income and minority residents. This initiative follows an excellent and forward thinking report by the Federation of Protestant Worker Cooperatives highlighting the unique power of worker cooperatives to create both jobs and asset building opportunities in historically marginalized communities; our own new report, Worker Cooperatives: Pathways To Scale, makes the policy case for supporting worker cooperatives more generally.

This article was reprinted from Shareable


About the Author

Community-Wealth.org is a project of The Democracy Collaborative. The goal of the Democrary Collaborative is to change the prevailing paradigm of economic development – and of the economy as a whole – toward a new emphasis and system based on: Broadening ownership and stewardship over capital; Democracy at the workplace; Stabilizing community and emphasizing locality; Equitable and inclusive growth; Environmental, social, and institutional sustainability. Their commitment is to advance a new understanding of democracy for the 21st century. Community-Wealth.org  brings together, for the first time, information about the broad range of community wealth building activity.


Recommended book:

America Beyond Capitalism: Reclaiming Our Wealth, Our Liberty, and Our Democracy
by Gar Alperovitz.

America Beyond CapitalismGar Alperovitz marshals years of research into emerging "new economy" strategies to present a comprehensive picture of practical bottom-up efforts currently underway in thousands of communities across the United States. All democratize wealth and empower communities, not corporations: worker-ownership, cooperatives, community land trusts, social enterprises, along with many supporting municipal, state and longer term federal strategies as well. America Beyond Capitalism is a call to arms, an eminently practical roadmap for laying foundations to change a faltering system that increasingly fails to sustain the great American values of equality, liberty and meaningful democracy.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}