مهاجرون مكسيكيون أقل بكثير قادمون إلى الولايات المتحدة - وأولئك الذين يتعلمون أكثر

قادمون إلى الولايات المتحدة - والذين يتعلمون أكثر
انخفض عدد المهاجرين المكسيكيين خلال فترة الركود الاقتصادي. تو أوليس / Shutterstock.com

ذات مرة ، منذ وقت ليس ببعيد ، سيطر المكسيكيون على تدفق المهاجرين القادمين إلى الولايات المتحدة ، وتوسعت الهجرة المكسيكية على مدار معظم القرن 20th وحتى بداية القرن 21st.

لم يعد الأمر كذلك.

انخفض عدد المهاجرين المكسيكيين خلال فترة الركود الاقتصادي واستمر في الانخفاض أكثر بعد تعافي الاقتصاد الأمريكي.

تراجع الهجرة المكسيكية

بيانات من السنوي استطلاعات الجالية الأمريكية، التي أنا أحلل في بحثي حول الهجرة المكسيكية ، أظهر أن عدد المكسيكيين المولودين في الخارج والمهاجرون إلى الولايات المتحدة في العام السابق انخفض من 2003 إلى 2017.

تحكي الأرقام القصة ، حيث انخفض حجم الهجرة المكسيكية من حوالي 1.7 مليون في 2003-2007 إلى 778,000 في 2013-2017. يمثل هذا انخفاضًا بنسبة 53٪.

تراجعت حصة المكسيكيين بين جميع الأشخاص المولودين في الخارج الذين هاجروا إلى الولايات المتحدة بحدة في نفس الفترة الزمنية ، من 28.9٪ إلى 9.6٪. سقطت المكسيك من البلد الذي أرسل معظم المهاجرين إلى الولايات المتحدة إلى المركز الثالث ، خلف الهند والصين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


انخفاض الهجرة المكسيكية واضح في جميع أنحاء البلاد. شهدت تسع ولايات فقط ، بما في ذلك لويزيانا وماساتشوستس ومونتانا ، التي تضم عددًا صغيرًا جدًا من السكان من أصل مكسيكي ، نموًا طفيفًا للمهاجرين المكسيكيين بين فترتي 2003-2007 و 2013-2017.

شهدت كاليفورنيا انخفاضا بين تلك الفترات من المهاجرين 275,000 المكسيكية وتكساس انخفاض ما يقرب من 104,000.

استقبلت 25 ولاية أقل من نصف عدد المهاجرين من المكسيك مقارنة بعقد سابق.

حالة فريدة من نوعها

لكن بالتأكيد ، هذا الانخفاض ليس فريدًا بالنسبة للمهاجرين المكسيكيين. حق؟

في الواقع ، هناك عدد أكبر من المهاجرين القادمين إلى الولايات المتحدة أكثر من عقد مضى. تبرز المكسيك في تناقص عدد المهاجرين إلى الولايات المتحدة

بين فترتي 2003-2007 و 2013-2017 ، ارتفع إجمالي الترحيل بنسبة 41٪ في الولايات المتحدة وعبر مناطق العالم.

في الواقع ، شهدت الولايات المتحدة زيادة بنسبة 81٪ في المهاجرين من دول أمريكا اللاتينية والكاريبي الناطقة بالإسبانية ، حيث ارتفعت من 726,000 تقريبًا في 2003-2007 إلى أكثر قليلاً من 1.3 مليون في 2013-2017. زاد عدد المهاجرين من آسيا بأكثر من الضعف ، وزاد عدد المهاجرين من أفريقيا بنسبة 86٪.

هذه الاتجاهات متسقة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة خلال الفترة الزمنية نفسها التي سجلت فيها تسع ولايات فقط مكاسب لدى الوافدين الجدد من المكسيك ، فعلت دول 48 ذلك في جميع المهاجرين.

ما الذي يجري؟

هناك كثير تفسيرات لتغرق فريدة من نوعها في الهجرة المكسيكية.

على سبيل المثال ، مع زيادة عسكرة الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك منذ 9 / 11 أصبح أكثر صعوبة لعبور الحدود. الأجر المطلوب من قبل القيوط، أو المهربين من البشر ، قد ارتفع بشكل كبير على مدى العقد الماضي.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، إدارات أوباما وترامب ازداد بشكل ملحوظ عدد الاشخاص محتجز . رحل من الولايات المتحدة ، وكثير منهم من المكسيك.

علاوة على ذلك، الاقتصاد في المكسيك تطور، والعمال المكسيكيون لديهم المزيد من خيارات التوظيف في المنزل. المكسيك هي الرائدة عالميا في التحضير لل المهندسين وعلماء الكمبيوتر، حيث يتضاعف عدد المهندسين ثلاثة أضعاف تقريباً بين 2000 و 2015.

وعلاوة على ذلك، معدل الخصوبة في المكسيك انخفض ، من النساء اللاتي يبلغ متوسط ​​عدد المواليد في 7 تقريبًا في 1960 إلى 2.1 في 2019. الضغط السكاني ل خلق فرص عمل بالنسبة لقوة عاملة شابة كبيرة ما زالت تتناقص في المكسيك ومن المرجح أن تستمر في ذلك في العقود المقبلة.

ماذا يحمل المستقبل

هناك أدلة على أن المكسيكيين الذين يهاجرون إلى الولايات المتحدة اليوم مختلفون بشكل كبير عن نظرائهم الذين قاموا بهذه الخطوة منذ أكثر من عقد.

تقليديا، المهاجرين المكسيكيين تم الذكور في المقام الأول مع الموارد التعليمية والاقتصادية محدودة. وتجمعوا في بعض الوظائف ذات الأجور المنخفضة في قطاعات الزراعة والبناء والخدمات.

ومع ذلك ، كما أظهر عملي الخاص ، المهاجرين المكسيكيين الأخيرة تميل إلى الحصول على مستوى أعلى من التعليم وطلاقة أكبر في اللغة الإنجليزية. وهناك نسبة أعلى من مواطني الولايات المتحدة المتجنسين.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقرير مايو من معهد سياسة الهجرةولاحظ مركز أبحاث العاصمة الزيادة الكبيرة الأخيرة في عدد المهاجرين المكسيكيين المهرة في الولايات المتحدة

يشير التقرير إلى أن عدد المهاجرين المكسيكيين الحاصلين على درجة البكالوريوس أو أعلى ارتفع مرات 2.5 بين 2000 و 2017 ، حيث ارتفع من 269,000 في 2000 إلى 678,000 في 2017. يعد المكسيكيون اليوم رابع أكبر مجموعة من المهاجرين الحاصلين على درجة البكالوريوس على الأقل في الولايات المتحدة ، خلف الهند والصين والفلبين.

هل يرتفع مستوى الهجرة من المكسيك إلى الولايات المتحدة إلى المستويات التي لوحظت في نهاية 20th وبداية القرن 21st؟ من وجهة نظري ، فمن غير المرجح.

تشهد المكسيك تحولًا ديموغرافيًا كبيرًا سيؤدي إلى شيخوخة السكان والقوى العاملة ، بالإضافة إلى تحول تكنولوجي كبير يرتبط بعدد متزايد من المكسيكيين في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا.

وأظن أيضا أن خطاب إدارة ترامب القاسي والتصوير السلبي للمكسيكيين ، إلى جانب إطلاق نار جماعي في الباسو استهداف "الغزاة" المكسيكيين ، يجعل المكسيكيين أكثر ترددًا في القدوم إلى هذا البلد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

روجيليو سانز ، أستاذ الديمغرافيا ، جامعة تكساس في سان انطونيو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Far Fewer Mexican Immigrants Are Coming To The US -- And Those Who Do Are More Educated

Are Coming To The US -- And Those Who Do Are More Educated
The number of Mexican migrants fell during the economic recession. Tu Olles/Shutterstock.com

Once upon a time, not long ago, Mexicans dominated the flow of migrants coming to the U.S. Mexican migration expanded over the course of much of the 20th century and into the start of the 21st century.

That is no longer the case.

The number of Mexican migrants fell during the economic recession and has continued to fall further after the U.S. economy recovered.

The downturn of Mexican migration

Data from the annual American Community Surveys, which I analyze in my research on Mexican migration, show that the number of foreign-born Mexicans migrating to the U.S. in the previous year fell from 2003 to 2017.

The numbers tell the story, with the volume of Mexican migration dropping from nearly 1.7 million in 2003-2007 to 778,000 in 2013-2017. This represents a drop of 53%.

The share of Mexicans among all foreign-born persons who migrated to the U.S. dwindled sharply in the same time period, from 28.9% to 9.6%. Mexico fell from the country that sent the most migrants to the U.S. to third place, behind India and China.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The decline in Mexican migration is evident across the nation. Only nine states, including Louisiana, Massachusetts and Montana, which have very small Mexican-origin populations, experienced minor growth of Mexican migrants between the 2003-2007 and the 2013-2017 periods.

California saw a decline between those periods of 275,000 Mexican migrants and Texas a decrease of nearly 104,000.

Twenty-five states received fewer than half as many migrants from Mexico than a decade earlier.

A unique case

But surely, this decline is not unique to Mexican migrants. Right?

Actually, there are more overall migrants coming to the U.S. than a decade ago. Mexico stands out in its diminished number of migrants to the U.S.

Between the 2003-2007 and the 2013-2017 periods, overall migration rose by 41% in the U.S. and across regions of the world.

In fact, the U.S. saw an 81% increase in migrants from the Spanish-speaking Latin American and Caribbean countries, increasing from nearly 726,000 in 2003-2007 to slightly more than 1.3 million in 2013-2017. The number of migrants from Asia more than doubled, and the number from Africa increased 86%.

These trends are consistent across the U.S. During the same timespan that only nine states posted gains in Mexican migrant newcomers, 48 states did so across all migrants.

What gives?

There are numerous explanations for the unique plunge in Mexican migration.

For example, with the increasing militarization of the U.S.-Mexico border since 9/11 it has become more difficult to cross the border. The pay required by coyotes, or human smugglers, has risen exorbitantly over the last decade.

In addition, the Obama and Trump administrations increased significantly the number of people detained and deported from the U.S., many of them from Mexico.

Moreover, the economy in Mexico has improved, and Mexican workers have more employment options at home. Mexico is a world leader in the preparation of engineers and computer scientists, with its number of engineers almost tripling between 2000 and 2015.

Furthermore, the fertility rate in Mexico has dropped, from women having an average of approximately 7 births in 1960 to 2.1 in 2019. The population pressure to create jobs for a large youthful workforce continues to diminish in Mexico and likely will continue to do so in the coming decades.

What the future holds

There is evidence that Mexicans migrating to the U.S. today are significantly different than their counterparts making the move more than a decade ago.

Traditionally, Mexican migrants have been primarily males with limited educational and economic resources. They clustered in certain low-wage jobs in the agriculture, construction and service sectors.

However, as my own work has shown, recent Mexican migrants tend to have a higher level of education and a greater fluency in English. A higher percentage are U.S. naturalized citizens.

In addition, a May report from the Migration Policy Institute, a D.C. think tank, noted the recent significant increase of skilled Mexican migrants in the U.S.

The report points out that the number of Mexican migrants with a bachelor’s degree or higher rose 2.5 times between 2000 and 2017, rising from 269,000 in 2000 to 678,000 in 2017. Today Mexicans rank as the fourth largest group of immigrants with at least a bachelor’s degree in the U.S., behind India, China and the Philippines.

Will the level of migration from Mexico to the U.S. rebound to the levels observed at the close of the 20th and beginning of the 21st century? In my view, it is unlikely.

Mexico is undergoing a significant demographic shift that will result in an aging population and workforce, as well as a significant technological transformation that is associated with a growing number of Mexicans in science and technology fields.

I also suspect that the Trump administration’s harsh rhetoric and negative depiction of Mexicans, along with the mass shooting in El Paso targeting Mexican “invaders,” also makes Mexicans even more hesitant to come to this country.

About The Author

Rogelio Sáenz, Professor of Demography, The University of Texas at San Antonio

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}