كيف ولماذا ينتشر التلاعب المدعوم من الدولة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

رجل في الظل على الكمبيوتر ورأسه مغطى كما لو كان مختبئًا
ozrimoz / شترستوك

دونالد ترامب إزالة مثيرة للجدل من منصات التواصل الاجتماعي أعاد إشعال الجدل حول الرقابة على المعلومات المنشورة على الإنترنت. لكن قضية التضليل والتلاعب على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تتجاوز بكثير حساب تويتر لشخص واحد. وهو أكثر انتشارًا مما كان يعتقد سابقًا.

منذ عام 2016 ، قام فريقنا في معهد أكسفورد للإنترنت بمراقبة الانتشار العالمي السريع لحملات التلاعب بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والتي نعرّفها على أنها استخدام الأدوات الرقمية للتأثير على السلوك العام عبر الإنترنت. في السنوات الأربع الماضية ، تطور التلاعب بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي من اهتمام متخصص إلى ملف التهديد العالمي للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان.

أحدث تقرير لدينا وجدت أن حملات التلاعب في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المنظمة أصبحت شائعة الآن في جميع أنحاء العالم - تم تحديدها في 81 دولة في عام 2020 ، أعلى من بلدان 70 في 2019. توضح الخريطة أدناه التوزيع العالمي لهذه البلدان البالغ عددها 81 دولة ، وتم تمييزها باللون الأزرق الداكن.

في تقريرنا ، نركز على استخدام "القوات الإلكترونية" ، وهي فرق من الحكومة أو الجيش أو الأحزاب السياسية الملتزمة بالتلاعب بالرأي العام على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. تقوم القوات الإلكترونية بانتظام بما نسميه حملات "الدعاية الحاسوبية".

الدعاية الحاسوبية يتضمن استخدام الروبوتات المبرمجة أو البشر لنشر معلومات مضللة عن قصد عبر الإنترنت ، غالبًا على نطاق النطاق الصناعي.

للقيام بذلك ، يستخدم دعاة الدعاية الحاسوبية مجموعة أدوات واسعة النطاق من أدوات المعلومات المضللة. البوتات السياسية تضخيم خطاب الكراهية وخلق انطباع بوجود رسائل سياسية شائعة على Twitter و Facebook. ال الحصاد غير القانوني للبيانات يساعد الدعاة الهدف الرسائل على أفراد ومجموعات محددة ، وغالبًا ما تكون ضعيفة. الجيوش القزمفي غضون ذلك ، يتم نشرهم بانتظام لقمع النشاط السياسي وحرية الصحافة.

في عام 2020 ، حددنا 62 دولة تستخدم فيها وكالات الدولة نفسها هذه الأدوات لتشكيل الرأي العام. في البلدان الأخرى المشمولة في دراستنا ، يتم استخدام هذه الأدوات من قبل المنظمات الخاصة أو الجهات الأجنبية.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


معلومات مضللة للتأجير

وعلى الرغم من فضيحة كامبريدج Analytica كشف بحثنا كيف يمكن للشركات الخاصة التدخل في الانتخابات الديمقراطية ، كما وجد زيادة مقلقة في استخدام خدمات "التضليل مقابل التوظيف" في جميع أنحاء العالم. باستخدام التمويل الحكومي وتمويل الأحزاب السياسية ، تستخدم القوات الإلكترونية للقطاع الخاص يتم توظيفهم بشكل متزايد لنشر رسائل تم التلاعب بها عبر الإنترنت ، أو لإغراق الأصوات الأخرى على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

وجد بحثنا جهات فاعلة حكومية تعمل مع شركات الدعاية الحاسوبية الخاصة في 48 دولة في عام 2020 ، ارتفاعًا من 21 تم تحديدها فيما بينها 2017 و2018، وتسع حالات من هذا القبيل فقط بين 2016 و2017. منذ عام 2007 ، تقريبا الولايات المتحدة 60 مليون دولار (49 مليون جنيه إسترليني) تم إنفاقها عالميًا على عقود مع هذه الشركات.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، اكتشفنا العلاقات بين القوات الإلكترونية المستأجرة ومجموعات المجتمع المدني التي تدعم أيديولوجيًا قضية معينة ، مثل المجموعات الشبابية والمؤثرين على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. في الولايات المتحدة ، على سبيل المثال ، مجموعة الشباب المؤيدة لترامب نقطة تحول العمل لنشر معلومات مضللة عبر الإنترنت وروايات مؤيدة لترامب حول كل من COVID-19 وبطاقات الاقتراع عبر البريد.

لتحقيق أهدافهم السياسية ، تعد حملات التشهير ضد الخصم السياسي هي الاستراتيجية الأكثر شيوعًا التي تستخدمها القوات الإلكترونية ، والتي تظهر في 94٪ من جميع البلدان التي قمنا بالتحقيق فيها. لاحظنا في 90٪ من البلدان انتشار الدعاية المؤيدة للحزب أو المؤيدة للحكومة. كان قمع المشاركة من خلال التصيد أو المضايقة سمة في 73٪ من البلدان ، بينما في 48٪ من رسائل القوات الإلكترونية سعت إلى استقطاب المواطنين.

الاعتدال في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

بوضوح، المناقشات حول تغطي الرقابة المفروضة على ترامب وأنصاره على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي جانبًا واحدًا فقط من أزمة المعلومات المضللة في الصناعة. نظرًا لأن المزيد من البلدان تستثمر في الحملات التي تسعى إلى تضليل مواطنيها بنشاط ، فمن المرجح أن تواجه شركات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي دعوات متزايدة للاعتدال والتنظيم - وليس فقط ترامب وأتباعه و نظريات المؤامرة ذات الصلة مثل QAnon.

يظهر الهاتف تعليق حساب ترامب على تويترتم حظر دونالد ترامب من تويتر في أعقاب أعمال الشغب في الكابيتول. pcruciatti / شترستوك

بالفعل هذا العام ، انتشار حملات الدعاية الحاسوبية في جميع أنحاء وباء COVID-19 وفي في أعقاب الانتخابات الأمريكية دفع العديد من شركات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للحد من إساءة استخدام منصاتها عن طريق إزالة الحسابات التي تعتقد أنها تديرها القوات الإلكترونية.

على سبيل المثال ، وجد بحثنا أنه بين يناير 2019 وديسمبر 2020 ، Facebook إزالة 10,893 حسابًا و 12,588 صفحة و 603 مجموعة من منصتها. في نفس الفترة تويتر إزالة 294,096،XNUMX حسابًا ، ويستمر في إزالة الحسابات المرتبطة بأقصى اليمين.

على الرغم من عمليات الإزالة هذه للحسابات ، كشف بحثنا أنه بين يناير 2019 وديسمبر 2020 أنفقت القوات الإلكترونية ما يقرب من 10 ملايين دولار أمريكي على الإعلانات السياسية. والجزء الأساسي من القصة هو أن شركات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تواصل جني الأرباح من الترويج للمعلومات المضللة على منصاتها. من المرجح أن تتبع فيسبوك وتويتر الدعوات إلى تنظيم أكثر صرامة ووضع شرطي أكثر صرامة حتى يتعاملوا حقًا مع ميل منصاتهم إلى استضافة ونشر ومضاعفة المعلومات المضللة.

تعتمد الديمقراطية القوية والفعالة على وصول الجمهور إلى المعلومات عالية الجودة. وهذا يمكّن المواطنين من الانخراط في مداولات مستنيرة والتماس الإجماع. من الواضح أن منصات التواصل الاجتماعي أصبحت حاسمة في تسهيل تبادل المعلومات هذا.

لذلك يجب على هذه الشركات زيادة جهودها للإبلاغ عن المعلومات المضللة وإزالتها ، إلى جانب جميع حسابات القوات الإلكترونية التي تُستخدم لنشر محتوى ضار عبر الإنترنت. خلافًا لذلك ، فإن التصعيد المستمر في حملات الدعاية الحاسوبية التي كشفت عنها أبحاثنا لن يؤدي إلا إلى زيادة الاستقطاب السياسي ، وتقليل ثقة الجمهور في المؤسسات ، وتقويض الديمقراطية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

عن المؤلفالمحادثة

هانا بيلي ، باحثة دكتوراه في علوم البيانات الاجتماعية ، جامعة أكسفورد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الإلهام اليومي

مفتاح مع البوصلة والعملات المعدنية وخريطة العالم القديم
الإلهام اليومي: 25 فبراير 2021
يجب أن نكون على دراية بما نطلبه حقًا ، سواء بوعي أو بغير وعي. ال…
جرو يلمس أنوفه مع كلب آخر
الإلهام اليومي: 24 فبراير 2021
الغضب هو عاطفة إنسانية ، وقد عانينا جميعًا من الغضب في مرحلة ما. لكن هناك نوعان من ...
امرأة تقف في حقل من الزهور وذراعها ممدودتان إلى الشمس
الإلهام اليومي: 23 فبراير 2020
يعتقد الكثير منا أن التأمل شيء صعب أو جاد ... بالتأكيد ليس شيئًا سنفعله ...

من المحررين

هل هو جيد أم سيء؟ وهل تأهلنا إلى القاضي؟
by ماري رسل
يلعب الحكم دورًا كبيرًا في حياتنا ، لدرجة أننا لا ندرك حتى معظم الوقت الذي نحكم عليه. إذا كنت لا تعتقد أن هناك شيئًا سيئًا ، فلن يزعجك. إذا كنت لا تعتقد ...
النشرة الإخبارية لـ InnerSelf: 15 فبراير 2021
by InnerSelf الموظفين
وأنا أكتب هذا ، إنه عيد الحب ، يوم مرتبط بالحب ... حب رومانسي. ومع ذلك ، بما أن الحب الرومانسي محدود إلى حد ما من حيث أنه عادة ما ينطبق فقط على الحب بين اثنين ...
النشرة الإخبارية لـ InnerSelf: 8 فبراير 2021
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هناك سمات معينة للبشرية تستحق الثناء ، ولحسن الحظ ، يمكننا التأكيد على تلك الميول في أنفسنا وزيادتها. نحن كائنات تتطور. نحن لسنا "محصورين" أو عالقين ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: 31 يناير 2021
by InnerSelf الموظفين
في حين أن بداية العام قد فاتتنا ، فإن كل يوم يوفر لنا فرصة جديدة للبدء من جديد ، أو لمواصلة رحلتنا "الجديدة". لذلك ، نقدم لك هذا الأسبوع مقالات لدعمك في ...
InnerSelf النشرة: يناير 24th، 2021
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نركز هذا الأسبوع على الشفاء الذاتي ... سواء كان الشفاء عاطفيًا أو جسديًا أو روحيًا ، فهو مرتبط جميعًا داخل أنفسنا وكذلك بالعالم من حولنا. ومع ذلك ، للشفاء من ...

How and Why State-Backed Manipulation Is Rampant On Social Media

man in shadows at a computer with his head covered as if hiding
ozrimoz/Shutterstock

Donald Trump’s controversial removal from social media platforms has reignited debate around the censorship of information published online. But the issue of disinformation and manipulation on social media goes far beyond one man’s Twitter account. And it is much more widespread than previously thought.

Since 2016, our team at the Oxford Internet Institute has monitored the rapid global proliferation of social media manipulation campaigns, which we define as the use of digital tools to influence online public behaviour. In the past four years, social media manipulation has evolved from a niche concern to a global threat to democracy and human rights.

Our latest report found that organised social media manipulation campaigns are now common across the world — identified in 81 countries in 2020, up from 70 countries in 2019. The map below shows the global distribution of these 81 countries, marked in dark blue.

In our report, we focus on the use of “cyber troops”, which are teams from the government, the military or political parties which are committed to manipulating public opinion on social media. Cyber troops regularly conduct what we call “computational propaganda” campaigns.

Computational propaganda involves the use of programmed bots or humans to spread purposefully misleading information across the internet, often on an industrial scale.

To do this, computational propagandists make use of an extensive toolkit of disinformation tools. Political bots amplify hate speech and create the impression of trending political messages on Twitter and Facebook. The illegal harvesting of data helps propagandists target messaging at specific, often vulnerable individuals and groups. Troll armies, meanwhile, are regularly deployed to suppresses political activism and the freedom of the press.

In 2020, we identified 62 countries in which state agencies themselves are using these tools to shape public opinion. In other countries included in our study, these tools are being used by private organisations, or foreign actors.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Disinformation for hire

Despite the Cambridge Analytica scandal exposing how private firms can meddle in democratic elections, our research also found an alarming increase in the use of “disinformation-for-hire” services across the world. Using government and political party funding, private-sector cyber troops are increasingly being hired to spread manipulated messages online, or to drown out other voices on social media.

Our research found state actors working with private computational propaganda companies in 48 countries in 2020, up from 21 identified between 2017 and 2018, and only nine such instances between 2016 and 2017. Since 2007, almost US$60 million (£49 million) has been spent globally on contracts with these firms.

Additionally, we’ve uncovered relationships between hired cyber troops and civil society groups who ideologically support a particular cause, such as youth groups and social media influencers. In the United States, for example, the pro-Trump youth group Turning Point Action was used to spread online disinformation and pro-Trump narratives about both COVID-19 and mail-in ballots.

To achieve their political ends, smear campaigns against a political opponent are the most common strategy employed by cyber troops, featuring in 94% of all the countries we investigated. In 90% of countries we observed the spreading of pro-party or pro-government propaganda. Suppressing participation through trolling or harassment was a feature in 73% of countries, while in 48% cyber troops’ messaging sought to polarise citizens.

Social media moderation

Clearly, debates around the censoring of Trump and his supporters on social media cover only one facet of the industry’s disinformation crisis. As more countries invest in campaigns that seek to actively mislead their citizens, social media firms are likely to face increased calls for moderation and regulation — and not just of Trump, his followers and related conspiracy theories like QAnon.

Phone shows Trump Twitter account suspendedDonald Trump was banned from Twitter in the aftermath of the Capitol riots. pcruciatti/Shutterstock

Already this year, the prevalence of computational propaganda campaigns throughout the COVID-19 pandemic and in the aftermath of the US election has prompted many social media firms to limit the misuse of their platforms by removing accounts which they believe are managed by cyber troops.

For instance, our research found that between January 2019 and December 2020, Facebook removed 10,893 accounts, 12,588 pages and 603 groups from its platform. In the same period, Twitter removed 294,096 accounts, and continues to remove accounts linked to the far right.

Despite these account removals, our research has exposed that between January 2019 and December 2020 almost US$10 million was spent by cyber troops on political advertisements. And a crucial part of the story is that social media companies continue to profit from the promotion of disinformation on their platforms. Calls for tighter regulation and firmer policing are likely to follow Facebook and Twitter until they truly get to grips with the tendency of their platforms to host, spread and multiply disinformation.

A strong, functional democracy relies upon the public’s access to high-quality information. This enables citizens to engage in informed deliberations and to seek consensus. It’s clear that social media platforms have become crucial in facilitating this information exchange.

These companies should therefore increase their efforts to flag and remove disinformation, along with all cyber troop accounts which are used to spread harmful content online. Otherwise, the continued escalation in computational propaganda campaigns that our research has revealed will only heighten political polarisation, diminish public trust in institutions, and further undermine democracy worldwide.

About the AuthorThe Conversation

Hannah Bailey, PhD researcher in Social Data Science, University of Oxford

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
women peering through an opening in a dark wall
Nourishing the Sunrise of Peace with Love and Music
by Christopher Grosso
Yes, love your brother. Yes, live in harmony with nature. But first and foremost, pave the way for…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.