الحب الأول

الجزء الأول: الهروب

قصة الحب الأول يدور حول موضوعين أساسيين: فصل من والدينا وإقامة هويتنا الخاصة. يتم أبدا حل هذه التحديات تماما، وأنها تؤثر على جميع الخيارات حبنا، ولكن يرتبط خصوصا تجربتنا الاولى من الحب الرومانسي إلى حاجتنا لفصل من والدينا.

على سبيل المثال ، يمكنك اختيار عشيق من عالم مختلف ، أو أحد الوالدين لا يوافق عليه ، كطريقة لمساعدتك على الابتعاد عن عالم والديك وافتراضاتها. مجرد التأكيد على الحياة الجنسية الخاصة بك وتصبح حميمية مع شخص من خارج العائلة بالفعل يتحرك على بعد مسافة من حدود منزلك.

بعض الناس يتعاملون مع مخاوفهم من الانفصال عن طريق إيجاد بديل للوالدين: ربما شخصية أقدم أو مثالية. والبعض الآخر يتخذ خيارًا يتجنب أو يحد من الاستراحة: فهم يجدون شريكًا يربطهم في عوالم طفولتهم - شخص يختاره والداهم أو شخص نشأ في ظروف مماثلة.

فالفصل بين والدينا وإيجاد هويتنا الخاصة متشابكان بشكل وثيق لأن الطريقة الوحيدة لتشكيل هوياتنا هي استجواب قيم والدينا. يأتي النمو من إعادة النظر في المعتقدات والسلوكيات التي نشأنا معها. أنت لست بالضبط مثل والديك ، والمراهق عادة ما يكون الوقت الذي يحتاج فيه الشباب إلى التعرف على هذا الاختلاف ويصبح الشخص الذي يريد أن يكون. إذا لم تقم بفحص القيم التي ترعرعت بها ، فستفقد الفرصة لتتخطى ما تم منحه لك من قبل والديك.

إذا اخترت شريكًا كان طفولته تشبه طفولتك - شخصًا ما كان والدك قد اختارهما لك - فأنت تدخل في شيء مثل الزواج المدبر عتيق الطراز. من المحتمل أن يكون والديك قد اختاروا شخصًا جيدًا لك - سيحاول معظم الآباء. وليس من الضروري بالنسبة لك اختيار شخص لا يحب أهله حتى يفصل بينهما. ولكن إذا لم تشكك في قيمهم وافتراضاتهم ، وسمحت لهم أن يقرروا (بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر) من هو شريك حياتك ، فأنت تتغلب على فرصة النمو وتطوير هويتك الخاصة.

في ثقافتنا ، التي تشدد على الحرية الفردية ، يتوقع من المراهق أن "يجد" هويته الخاصة كجزء من النضج. لكن بعض المراهقين يجدون هذا مخيفًا ، والكثيرون الآخرون ممنوعون أو يشعرون بالذنب من قبل الآباء الذين لم يمنحهم أبداً الإذن بالنمو.

إذن لفصل

من خلال الإذن أعني أنه يجب على الآباء السماح لأطفالهم بأن يصبحوا مستقلين ومختلفين ، وفي نهاية المطاف أن يكون لهم حياة لا يملكها آباؤهم في قلبها. إنه لأمر مؤلم بالنسبة لمعظم الآباء أن يروا أطفالهم يبتعدون عن العش. لكن الأهل الجيدين يستعدون لهذا الأمر طوال الوقت - ودائما السماح لأطفالهم بالفصل عنهم عندما يكونون مستعدين وقادرين ، ودائما ما يسمح لأطفالهم بأن يصبحوا أشخاصا لهم. يحدث ذلك من البداية ، عندما يأخذ الطفل الصغير خطواته الأولى - والتي ستقودها في النهاية.

إنها عملية حساسة ، ليس فقط لأنها مؤلمة للوالدين ، ولكن أيضاً لأن الطفل لديه مشاعر مختلطة حول الانفصال أيضاً. لكن الآباء والأمهات الذين لا يسمحون لأطفالهم بالفصل يعطونهم الرسالة التالية: "إن استقلالي عني وعن سعادتك بعيداً عني ، أو مع شخص آخر ، يؤلمني ويضرني". هذا ليس نوعًا من الرسائل التي تشجع الطفل على أن يكون سعيدًا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


إذا لم يمنحك والديك إذنًا للفصل ، فيجب عليك العثور على شخص آخر - بديل أو صديق أبوي - والذي سيساعدك على الشعور بأن تركه مسموح به.

الذاتي المستمر

كل هذا يدخل في المعادلة عندما نختار حبنا الأول أو الحب لاحقاً. وهناك عنصر إضافي. أحد الأسباب التي نحتاجها هو أننا نحتاج إلى شخص ما لمشاركتنا في حياتنا. فنحن جميعًا بحاجة إلى شخص ما ليس فقط للشعور بمفرده بل أيضًا لأننا بحاجة إلى الشعور بالاستمرارية - الشعور بأن شخصًا ما معنا طوال حياتنا وشاركنا تجاربنا. غالبًا ما يشعر الأشخاص الذين لم يشاركوا حياتهم مع أحدهم بخسارة أنفسهم ، لأنه لا يوجد أحد يعكس وجودهم.

في الطفولة ، نشهد هذا الاستمرارية من خلال مشاركة حياتنا مع والدينا. في مرحلة البلوغ ، عادة ما يكون شريكًا يملأ هذه الاحتياجات ، على الرغم من أنه قد يكون أيضًا أصدقاء أو أقارب. هذا هو السبب في أن الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم شركاء غالباً ما يواجهون صعوبة في التعافي من وفاة آبائهم. عندما يموت والديهم ، فقدوا الناس الذين تذكرهم طوال حياتهم.

وأخيرًا ، يساعدنا عشيقنا الأوّل ثمّ لاحقًا على ترسيخ هويّاتنا بعد الطفولة لأنّهم الآن هم الذين يعكسون وجودنا - بصرف النظر عن والدينا - هم الذين يؤكدون ما عانينا. عندما يواجه المراهقون صعوبة في الانفصال عن الآباء المهيمنين ، فإنهم غالباً ما يقعون في حب شخص "غير مناسب" من وجهة نظر والديهم ، لأنهم يحتاجون إلى الدعم للتحرك في الخارج. وهناك آخرون يختارون شخصًا أكبر سناً وأكثر خبرة ، حتى يشعروا بالأمان مما يجعل الانفصال عن المنزل. إن ما يفعلونه بالفعل هو اختيار بديل أبوي - قد لا يكون واضحًا لهم لأن حبيبهم لا يبدو أو يتصرف على الإطلاق مثل والديهم.

جعل فاصل

يتم اللعب بعيداً عن الوالدين في أفلام مثل Titanic و Dirty Dancing ، وهذا هو السبب في أن الفتيات المراهقات يشاهدن هذه الأفلام مراراً وتكراراً. تنجذب الفتاة إلى قصة صبي من الجانب الآخر من المسارات التي ستنقذها من سيطرة الوالدين الأقوياء: فتى سيحبها ويحميها بقدر ما يفعل الوالد - حتى أنه يضحي بحياته الخاصة ربما تعيش.


 تم اقتباس هذا المقال من كتاب:

من قصص سبعة من الحب،
من قبل مارسيا ميلمان.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من William Morrow ، بصمة لناشري HarperCollins، © 2001. www.harpercollins.com

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.


مارسيا ميلماننبذة عن الكاتب

مارشا ميلمان هي أستاذة علم الاجتماع في جامعة كاليفورنيا في سانتا كروز. حصلت على الدكتوراه. في علم الاجتماع من جامعة برانديز. هي مؤلفة The Unkindest Cut: Life in the Backrooms of Medicine, هذا الوجه الجميل: أن تكون الدهون في أمريكا, القلوب الدافئة والنقد البارد: ديناميات الحميمة من العائلات والمال، طالما من قصص سبعة من الحب. وهي تعيش في منطقة خليج سان فرانسيسكو ونيويورك.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

First Love

Part One: Escape

The story of First Love revolves around two basic themes: separating from our parents and establishing our own identity. These challenges are never totally resolved, and they affect all our love choices, but our first experience of romantic love is especially tied to our need to separate from our parents.

For example, you may choose a lover from a different world, or one your parents don't approve of, as a way of helping you move away from your parents' world and their assumptions. just asserting your sexuality and becoming intimate with someone from outside the family already moves you some distance away from the confines of your home.

Some people deal with their fears of separating by finding a parental substitute: perhaps an older or idealized figure. And others make a choice that avoids or minimizes the break: they find a partner who keeps them tied into their childhood worlds -- a person chosen by their parents or one who grew up in similar circumstances.

Separating from our parents and finding our own identity are closely intertwined because the only way to form our own identities is to question our parents' values. Growth comes from reexamining the beliefs and behaviors we grew up with. You are not exactly like your parents, and adolescence is usually the time when young people need to recognize that difference and become the person they want to be. If you don't examine the values you grew up with, you lose the opportunity to grow beyond what you were given by your parents.

If you choose a partner whose childhood was just like yours -- someone your parents might have chosen for you -- you are entering into something like an old-fashioned arranged marriage. It's possible that your parents might have chosen someone good for you -- most parents would try. And it's not necessary for you to pick someone your parents don't like in order to separate from them. But if you never question their values and assumptions, and you let them decide (directly or indirectly) who your partner will be, you are passing up the opportunity to grow and develop your own identity.

In our culture, which stresses individual freedom, an adolescent is expected to "find" his or her own identity as part of maturing. But some adolescents find this frightening, and many others are inhibited or made to feel guilty by parents who never gave them permission to grow away.

Permission to Separate

By permission I mean that parents must allow their children to become independent and different, and eventually to have a life that does not have their parents at the center of it. It's painful for most parents to see their babies finally fly away from the nest. But good parents prepare for this all along -- always letting their children separate from them when they are ready and able, always letting their children become their own persons. It happens right from the start, when the little toddler is taking her first steps -- which will eventually lead her away.

It's a delicate process, not only because it's painful for the parents, but also because the child has mixed feelings about separating as well. But parents who don't allow their children to separate are giving them the following message: "Your independence from me and your happiness being away from me, or with somebody else, hurts me and does me harm." This is not the kind of message that encourages a child to be happy.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


If your parents didn't give you permission to separate, you must find someone else -- a peer or a parental surrogate -- who will help you feel that leaving them is allowed.

The Continuous Self

All of this enters into the equation when we pick our first loves or subsequent loves. And there's an additional element. One of the reasons we need love is that we need someone to share our lives. We all need someone not only to feel less alone but also because we need a sense of continuity -- the feeling that someone has been with us all of our lives and has shared our experiences. People who haven't shared their lives with someone often feel a loss of themselves, because there's no one who reflects their own existence.

In childhood, we experience that continuity by sharing our lives with our parents; in adulthood, it is usually a partner who fills those needs, although it may also be friends or relatives. This is why people who don't have partners often have a harder time recovering from the death of their parents. When their parents die, they have lost the people who remembered them all their lives.

Finally, a first lover and later loves help us to solidify our identities after childhood because it is now they who reflect our existence -- apart from our parents -- they are the ones who confirm what we have experienced. When adolescents have a hard time breaking away from overpowering parents, they often fall in love with someone "unsuitable" from their parents' point of view, because they need support to move offshore. Others pick someone older and more experienced, in order to feel safe making the break away from home. What they are really doing is picking a parental substitute -- which may not be obvious to them because their lover doesn't look or act at all like their parents.

Making the Break

Breaking away from parents is played out in movies like Titanic and Dirty Dancing, and in part this is why adolescent girls watch these movies over and over. The girl is drawn to the story of a boy from the other side of the tracks who will rescue her from the control of powerful parents: a boy who will love and protect her as much as a parent would -- even sacrificing his own life so she might live.


 This article was excerpted from the book:

The Seven Stories of Love,
by Marcia Millman.

Reprinted with permission of William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, ©2001. www.harpercollins.com

For info or to order this book.


Marcia MillmanAbout The Author

Marcia Millman is a professor of sociology at the University of California at Santa Cruz. She received her Ph.D. in sociology from Brandeis University. She is the author of The Unkindest Cut: Life in the Backrooms of Medicine, Such a Pretty Face: Being Fat in America, Warm Hearts and Cold Cash: The Intimate Dynamics of Families and Money, as well as The Seven Stories of Love. She lives in the San Francisco Bay area and New York.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}