كيف تعلمت جعل الهاء يعمل لي

كيف تعلمت جعل الهاء يعمل لي
الصورة من قبل نيكول هانيويل / Unsتلاطم الأمواج

حتى اليوم ، بعد 20 سنوات من تشخيص طفولتي لاضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه (ADHD) ، ما زلت على دراية تامة بالكيفية التي ينتبه بها انتباهي أو ينقضي أو يختلف بشكل مختلف عن انتباه معظم الناس. أنا عرضة لتجربة بقع "فارغة" في المحادثة ، عندما أدرك فجأة أنني لا أتذكر الماضي 30 أو ما يقارب الثواني مما قيل ، كما لو كان شخص ما قد تخطى إلى الأمام من خلال تغذية الفيديو من حياتي (في بعض الأحيان ، وأنا اللجوء إلى "التقنيع" ، أو التظاهر بالفهم - وهو أمر محرج). عندما أشاهد التلفزيون ، أجد صعوبة في عدم التحرك ، وغالبًا ما أرتفع بسرعة وسرقة ، وأنا أخشى أن أكون "مالكًا" للمستندات وجداول البيانات المعقدة ، حيث من المحتمل جدًا أن أفوت بعض التفاصيل المهمة.

في هذا العام ، فاتني موعد مع طبيب لأن الجراحة لن ترسل رسائل تذكير إلا بالبريد الورقي. اعتمادي على قوائم المهام والمطالبات غير متيقظ ومتيقظ - وإلا قد يتم نسيان المهام الأكثر أهمية. من حين لآخر "التركيز المفرط": تتلاشى وميض ورعب الحياة اليومية المستمرة حيث أفقد الوقت ، أو أقحم نفسي بثبات في موضوع واحد ، أو أقرأ مئات الصفحات أو أكتب آلاف الكلمات.

اعتدت أن أرى كل هذا في المقام الأول على أنه عجز ، لكن بعد أن بنيت مهنة ساعدني على فهم أفضل لما ناضلت معه والتي وضعت "حالات العجز" في نفس الوقت على هدف جيد ، لم أعد أرى الأشياء بهذه الطريقة. بدلاً من ذلك ، في هذه الأيام ، أرى طبيعتي المُشتتة مصدرًا للوعي الشديد بهشاشة جميع الاهتمام.

أعمل في تصميم تعليمي ، وهو ممارسة تطوير المنتجات والخبرات التعليمية الجذابة والفعالة لمساعدة الآخرين على التعلم. في إنشاء فصول وورش عمل تفاعلية ، فإن هدفي هو تنمية انتباه المتعلمين وتركيزهم ، لكن أحد الأشياء الأولى التي تعلمتها كانت أن هذا أمر صعب للغاية بالنسبة للجميع - عصبي أو غير ذلك. في الواقع ، هناك قواعد عامة للإبهام تعكس مدى اهتمام العالم القصير حقًا: الأول هو أنه حتى 10 دقيقة إن إلقاء المحاضرات أطول مما يجب على بعض الأشخاص لاتباعها (فكر في عدد المرات التي أمضيت فيها نفسك ، أو شخصًا آخر بالقرب منك ، ذبولًا أثناء اجتماع طويل أو عرض تقديمي أو ورقة مؤتمر). الحيلة هي تداخل المحاضرات مع التدريبات والمناقشات. علاوة على ذلك، بحث يشير بشكل متزايد إلى أن الناس من المرجح أن يأخذوا أفكارًا ومعلومات جديدة عندما يتعلق الأمر بشيء يهتمون به بالفعل. كل هذا هو تضخيم للأشخاص الذين يتم تشخيصهم باضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه ، والذين يفتقرون إلى التركيز ، ما لم يكن هناك اتصال قوي وواضح بمخاوفهم العاجلة ، ولكن مع ذلك يمكنهم التركيز بعمق عند وجود عنصر الاهتمام العميق هذا.

Wأقنعني التدريب العملي في التصميم التعليمي أن نظامنا التعليمي غير ملائم للجميع تقريبًا ، وليس فقط المصابين بمرض اضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه. تفتقر معظم المناهج إلى مرحلة أولية لاستكشاف اهتمامات الطلاب الحالية بشكل جماعي ، قبل تعريفهم بالمواد بطريقة تكون مرتبطة بما يهتمون به بالفعل. معظم الفصول ، وخاصة في المدارس الثانوية والتعليم العالي ، لا تزال تعتمد على محاضرات (أكثر من خمس دقائق متتالية). على النقيض من ذلك ، لاحظ كيف تستوعب وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وألعاب الفيديو والعديد من الجوانب الأخرى في حياتنا وتستغل مسافات انتباهنا السريعة ، وتخصيص تصميمها ومحتواها بما يتناسب مع مصالحنا وجذب انتباهنا. يائس كثير من آباء الأطفال المصابين باضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه بسبب اهتمام أطفالهم بألعاب الفيديو بشكل أكبر من اهتمامهم بالرياضيات ، ولكن ربما ينبغي أن يهتموا بالسبب الذي يجعل مشاكل ورياضيات الرياضيات أكثر شيوعًا مثل المشاركة في الألعاب.

بعض الألعاب وحتى بعض الفصول الدراسية الخاصة هي في الواقع مثل: دورات GCSE للرياضيات في المملكة المتحدة قد اتخذت زمام المبادرة في هذا ، مع الواجبات المنزلية عبر الإنترنت gamified. لكن لماذا ، في عصر نعلم فيه أنه يمكن جعل الإدمان على وشك الإدمان ، ألا يعد هذا النوع من التنسيق أحد الطرق القياسية التي نشرك بها عقول شابة (وكبار السن)؟ إعادة تصميم المناهج الدراسية هي تدخل تعليمي غير مكلف نسبيًا ، مقارنةً بتكنولوجيا التجديد أو إضافة مدربين في الفصل.

حتى يحدث ذلك ، يمكن للمتشتتين دائمًا ممارسة "تعلم التعلم" ، كما اعتاد علماء النفس على تسميتها. بالنسبة لي ، بدأ هذا في 1990s مع مجلدات ملونة ومخطط ، ومنذ ذلك الحين تطورت لتصبح تقويم Google المترامية الأطراف. بدقة ، أتتبع كل ساعة من حياتي العملية (والعديد من الساعات الشخصية أيضًا). هاجس ، أنا أرفض لتجنب الهاء البصري. أعود إلى قوائم المهام الخاصة بي مرارًا وتكرارًا خلال اليوم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لقد تعلمت أيضًا إتاحة مساحة للتشتت - وهذا يعني ، في النهاية ، أن تكون على قيد الحياة في محيط المرء ، فضوليًا بشأن الإمكانات الجديدة ، ومتعددة الجوانب لمصالح المرء. لقد ساعدني الانغماس (حتى مع ملاحظة أي الانحرافات المثيرة للاهتمام التي يجب أن أعود إليها لاحقًا) في التفكير في التعلم بطريقة مختلفة: ليس كل التعليم يتطلب تركيزًا مستدامًا ، وبعض أشكال التفكير الإبداعي والمفاهيمي تستفيد من العودة مرارا وتكرارا إلى موضوع وذلك لمشاهدته بشكل مختلف في كل مرة.

لذلك ، في التعلم ، كما في الحياة ، قد يكون من الحكمة ليس فقط إعادة توجيه انتباه المصابين باضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه ، ولكن أيضًا لمساعدتهم على التفكير في ما يجذب اهتمامهم ولماذا ، باستخدام ، من أجل مثال، نشاط اللعب القديم - فقط مع مرحلة عاكسة حيث يمكن للأطفال التعرف على أنماط التفكير الخاصة بهم والتعلم منها ، وتطوير مهارة "ما وراء المعرفة" ، أو التفكير في تفكيرهم. تعد هذه العملية الانعكاسية جزءًا أساسيًا من إدارة اهتمامنا والتعلم عن العالم ونفسنا ، خاصة في عصر يوفر انحرافات مستمرة.

إنني أدرك تمام الإدراك أنني تمكنت من اضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه في جزء كبير منه بسبب الامتيازات الضخمة: الموارد المالية ، ونظام المدارس العامة في الولايات المتحدة الممتاز ، والآباء والأمهات بدافع عميق وتحولت. قليل من الأشخاص المصابين باضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه لديهم هذه الامتيازات ، والكثيرون ممن يتم تشخيص إصابتهم به ينتهي بهم المطاف المخدرات هذا ، عندما تؤخذ في مرحلة الطفولة ، يمكن أن حيلة المادية نمو، والتي يمكن أن تكون الإدمان ، وأحيانا دون فوائد طويلة الأجل. على الرغم من أنه قد يكون من الأفضل للبعض تناول الدواء لعلاج اضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه ، إلا أنه من المثير للقلق أن الكثير منهم يحصلون على القليل في طريق مساعدة والتدخل ، بشكل عام لأن الدواء أرخص وأكثر سهولة من الدعم التعليمي الآخر.

يمكننا بالتأكيد مواصلة دراسة ومناقشة ما إذا كان اضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه متأصلًا بيولوجيًا ، أو نتاج مجتمعنا المكسور للانتباه ، أو على الأرجح نتيجة معقدة للعوامل الاجتماعية والبيولوجية المترابطة. ومع ذلك ، لا تزال العديد من المناقشات حول هذا الموضوع عالقة في علل الإنترنت أو مزايا الدواء ، بدلاً من إعادة توجيه تركيزنا على القضايا الأوسع نطاقًا حول الاهتمام والتعلم التي تهمنا جميعًا. لن تؤدي الأشكال الأفضل من علم التدريس والممارسة العاكسة والتواصل إلى حل كل مشكلة تتعلق باهتمام الإنسان ، ولكنها يمكن أن تساعد الجميع على التعلم بشكل أفضل - وليس فقط أولئك منا الذين يعانون من هذا التشخيص المحدد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

سارة شتاين لوبرانو هي طالبة ماجستير إدارة الأعمال بجامعة أكسفورد ورئيسة المحتوى في مدرسة الحياة ، حيث صممت TSOL لمناهج الأعمال. إنها مهتمة بكيفية جعل التعرف على أهم الموضوعات متاحًا وجذابًا ولا يُنسى. هي تعيش في لندن.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How I Learned To Make Distraction Work For Me

How I Learned To Make Distraction Work For Me
Photo by Nicole Honeywill/Unsplash

Even today, 20 years after my childhood diagnosis of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), I am still keenly aware of how my attention wavers, lapses or holds differently from that of most people. I’m prone to experiencing ‘blank’ patches in conversation, when I suddenly realise I have no recollection of the past 30 or so seconds of what’s been said, as if someone has skipped forward through the video feed of my life (occasionally, I resort to ‘masking’, or feigning comprehension – which is embarrassing). When watching television, I struggle not to move, often rising to pace and fidget, and I dread being the ‘owner’ of complicated documents and spreadsheets, as I’m very likely to miss some crucial detail.

This year, I twice missed a doctor’s appointment because the surgery would send reminders only by paper mail. My reliance on to-do lists and prompts is unceasing, vigilant – else even the most essential tasks might be entirely forgotten. Occasionally I ‘hyperfocus’: the incessant flicker and hum of everyday life recedes as I lose track of time, pouring myself steadily into one topic, reading hundreds of pages or writing thousands of words.

I used to see all this primarily as a deficit but, having built a career that helped me better understand what I struggled with and which put those selfsame ‘deficits’ to good purpose, I no longer view things that way. Instead, these days I see my own distracted nature as a source of keen awareness for the fragility of all attention.

I work in instructional design, which is the practice of developing engaging and effective educational products and experiences to help others learn. In creating interactive classes and workshops, my aim is to cultivate the learners’ attention and focus, but one of the first things I learned was that this is incredibly difficult, for everyone – neurotypical or otherwise. In fact, there are common rules of thumb that reflect how universally short attention spans really are: one is that even 10 minutes of lecturing is too long for some people to follow (think of the number of times that you’ve caught yourself, or someone near you, wilting during a long meeting, presentation or conference paper). The trick is to intersperse lectures with exercises and discussions. Moreover, research increasingly suggests that people are more likely to take in new ideas and information when it relates to something they already care about. All of this is magnified for people diagnosed with ADHD, who lack focus, unless there’s a strong and clear connection to their immediate concerns, but who can nonetheless focus profoundly when this element of deep interest is present.

Working in instructional design has convinced me that our education system is poorly suited to nearly everyone, not just those diagnosed with ADHD. Most curricula lack a preliminary phase of collectively exploring students’ existing interests, before introducing them to material in a way that will be relevant to what they already care about. Most classes, especially in secondary school and higher education, still rely on lectures of (far) more than five minutes straight. In contrast, notice how social media, video games and so many other aspects of our lives accommodate and exploit our fleeting attention spans, customising their design and content to fit our interests and grab hold of our attention. Many parents of children with ADHD despair over their children’s greater interest in video games than mathematics, but perhaps they should be concerned with why the maths problems and classes cannot more commonly be made just as engaging as the games.

Some games and even a few special classrooms are indeed like this: GCSE coursework for maths in the UK has taken the lead on this, with gamified online homework. But why, in an age where we know that learning can be made nearly addictive, is this type of format not one of the standard ways we engage young (and older) minds? Redesigning curricula is a relatively inexpensive educational intervention, compared with revamping technology or adding classroom instructors.

Until this happens, the distracted can always practise ‘learning to learn’, as my psychologists used to call it. For me, this began in the 1990s with colour-coded folders and a planner, and has since grown into a sprawling Google calendar. Meticulously, I track each hour of my working life (and many personal hours, too). Obsessively, I declutter to avoid visual distraction. I return to my to-do lists over and over during the day.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


I have also learned to make space for distraction – which can, after all, also mean being alive to one’s surroundings, curious about new possibilities, and multifaceted in one’s interests. Getting distracted (even taking note of which interesting distractions to return to later) has helped me think about learning differently: not all learning requires sustained focus, some forms of creative and conceptual thinking benefit from repeatedly returning to a topic so as to view it differently each time.

Therefore, in learning, as in life, it might be wise not merely to redirect the attention of those with ADHD but also to help them reflect on what draws their interest and why, using, for example, the age-old business of play – only with a reflective stage where children might come to recognise and learn from their own thought patterns, and develop the skill of ‘metacognition’, or thinking about their own thinking. This reflexive process is a core part of managing our attention, and of learning about the world and oneself, especially in an age that offers constant distractions.

I am keenly aware that I managed my ADHD in large part due to enormous privileges: financial resources, an excellent US public school system, and deeply motivated and switched-on parents. Few people with ADHD have these privileges, and many who are diagnosed end up on drugs that, when taken in childhood, can stunt physical growth, and which can be addictive, sometimes without longterm benefits. While it might be best for some to take medication for ADHD, it is troubling that so many get little else in the way of help and intervention, generally because medication is cheaper and more accessible than other educational support.

We can certainly continue to study and debate whether ADHD is biologically rooted, the product of our attention-fractured society, or more likely a complex result of interdependent social and biological factors. Yet so many debates on this topic remain stuck on the ills of the internet or the merits of medication, instead of redirecting our focus to the wider issues around attention and learning that concern us all. Better forms of pedagogy, reflective practice and communication will not resolve every problem related to human attention, but they could help everyone learn much better – not just those of us with this particular diagnosis.

About The Author

Sarah Stein Lubrano is a DPhil student at the University of Oxford and the head of content at the School of Life, where she designs the TSOL for business curriculum. She is interested in how to make learning about the most important topics accessible, engaging and memorable. She lives in London.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Aeon counter – do not remove

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}