Le renouvellement est possible: le vrai pardon est une table rase

Le renouvellement est possible: le vrai pardon est une table rase
Image Rogier Hoekstra

Ben Cohen et Shoshana Hadad ont eu un réveil brutal lorsque l'État d'Israël leur a dit que leur mariage n'était pas légal, car l'ancêtre de Shoshana avait épousé un paysan - à 580 BC C'est une rancune de l'année 2500! (Et vous pensiez que les deux semaines que votre cousin Ginnie ne vous a pas parlé étaient très longues!)

Au moment où les Cohens s’occupaient du karma rabbinique, les Eagles ont publié une chanson à succès intitulée Get Over It, qui décrit comment nous imputons le présent au passé, au détriment de la vie et de l’amour qui sont maintenant disponibles. Nous sommes ici pour célébrer nos relations et non pour les incinérer.

Vrai pardon est une table rase

J'ai vu un film merveilleusement divertissant qui montre comment le pardon est obtenu. Dans Clean Slate, Dana Carvey décrit un homme avec un type d'amnésie inhabituel: lorsqu'il s'endort chaque nuit, il oublie tout ce qui lui est arrivé avant ce jour-là. Le fait qu'il soit un détective privé sur le point de témoigner au sujet d'un meurtre dont il a été témoin crée une série hilarante de rebondissements.

La phrase clé du film survient lorsqu'une femme qui avait manipulé Dana une fois lui demande: "Peux-tu me pardonner ce que je t'ai fait la semaine dernière?" D'une manière tout à fait enfantine, Carvey hausse les épaules et répond: "Bien sûr!" Bien sûr qu'il peut - il n'a pas la moindre idée de ce qu'elle lui a fait! En ce qui le concerne, rien ne s'est jamais passé. C'était elle qui portait la culpabilité; sa relation avec elle était aussi nouvelle que le jour actuel.

A Course in Miracles nous dit qu'à tout moment nous sommes capables de recommencer; nous pouvons créer un nouveau départ en oubliant sélectivement ce que nous ne souhaitons pas emporter maintenant. Nous ne sommes pas liés par notre passé, à moins que nous choisissions de transporter de vieux bagages avec nous.

Le renouvellement est possible

Le printemps est un moment de résurrection. Ce qui semblait être sans vie ou sans espoir vient miraculeusement à la vie. Nous trouvons que la nature n'était pas morte; c'était juste dormir. Il en va de même pour les relations que nous avons considérées comme irrécupérables ou perdues. Ils n'étaient pas morts - ils ne faisaient que dormir.

Le renouvellement est possible parce que, en tant qu'êtres divins, nous ne sommes pas liés par des actes passés; la grâce remplace toujours le karma, si nous voulons le laisser faire. Nous ne sommes pas prisonniers d'actes antérieurs; nous ne sommes limités que par ce que nous pensons au moment présent. Changez d’avis sur votre passé et annulez instantanément ses effets.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


J'ai appris d'un exemple de grâce profondément inspirant. Un jeune et beau modèle avait été férocement attaqué par un homme qui lui en voulait. L'homme a engagé plusieurs voyous pour lui couper le visage et gâcher sa beauté et sa carrière. J'ai vu des photographies déchirantes de la femme après son attaque; trois longues cicatrices hideuses couraient le long des joues et du front; des centaines de points de suture avaient été nécessaires pour refaire son visage. Une Vénus avait été transformée en Frankenstein.

Mais ce n'est pas la fin de l'histoire. Lorsque le philanthrope new-yorkais Milton Petrie a lu l'histoire de la femme et a vu ses photos dans un journal, il a été touché par son sort. Milton, un multimillionnaire, a scanné les nouvelles quotidiennes pour trouver des gens dans une situation désespérée et les a aidés à reprendre leurs vies en mains. Milton a appelé le modèle et lui a dit qu'il lui donnerait vingt mille dollars par an, pour le restant de ses jours. Inutile de dire qu'elle était ravie de trouver un tel amour et un tel réconfort au lendemain de son angoisse.

Le modèle a eu de nombreuses interventions chirurgicales, ce qui lui a redonné sa peau et sa beauté presque à la perfection. En la regardant être interviewée à la télévision, j'ai remarqué une lueur supplémentaire qui n'apparaissait pas clairement dans ses photos précédentes. Elle avait reçu la grâce, et personne dont la vie semble avoir été détruite après avoir semblé être détruite ne peut douter de la réalité et de la présence d'une puissance supérieure.

J'adore cette histoire car elle montre que même les expériences les plus odieuses peuvent être annulées par le pouvoir de l'amour. Bien sûr, toutes les personnes blessées ne ressentent pas la rédemption aussi rapidement et dramatiquement que Donna. Mais je crois sincèrement que quelque part, toutes les blessures sont dissoutes et que toutes les défigurations sont corrigées. Milton Petrie donna une feuille blanche à Donna.

Abandonner les rancunes contre soi et les autres

Nous pouvons nous tourner vers une puissance supérieure pour demander la grâce, ce que nous sommes sûrs de recevoir. Dans nos propres vies, nous pouvons agir au nom de cette puissance supérieure et nettoyer notre ardoise pour nous-mêmes et pour les autres. Nous pouvons le faire en abandonnant les rancunes contre les autres, et surtout contre nous-mêmes. Si d'autres choisissent de ne pas nous pardonner, nous avons toujours le pouvoir de nous libérer.

Nous non plus, nous ne sommes pas soumis aux limites imposées par un rabbin deux millénaires plus tôt. Nous ne sommes soumis qu'à la loi de la bonté et de la compassion. Il y a un amour supérieur, une loi supérieure, une puissance supérieure à notre disposition et nous recevrons à mesure que nous l'ouvrons.

Livre de cet auteur:

Rising in Love: ouverture de votre cœur dans toutes vos relations
par Alan Cohen.

S'élever amoureuxLa saga du voyage du cœur de la solitude à la célébration, des cavernes sombres vides aux cascades de gratitude triomphante.

Info / Commander ce livre

Plus de livres de cet auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Alan CohenAlan Cohen est l'auteur de nombreux livres inspirants dont A Course in Miracles Made Easy et des le nouvellement libéré Esprit signifie affaires. Rejoignez Alan pour sa formation de coach de vie holistique qui change la vie à partir du 1er septembre 2020. Pour plus d'informations sur ce programme et les livres, vidéos, audios, cours en ligne, retraites et autres événements et documents inspirants d'Alan, visitez www.alancohen.com

Vidéo / Entretien avec Alan Cohen: le pardon

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Renewal Is Possible: True Forgiveness Is A Clean Slate

Renewal Is Possible: True Forgiveness Is A Clean Slate
Image by Rogier Hoekstra

Ben Cohen and Shoshana Hadad received a rude awakening when the State of Israel told them their marriage was not legal because Shoshana's ancestor married a peasant -- in 580 B.C. That's a 2500 year grudge! (And you thought the two weeks your cousin Ginnie hasn't spoken to you was a long time!)

Just as the Cohens were dealing with rabbinical karma, the Eagles came out with a hit song called Get Over It, zeroing in on how we blame the present on the past, at the expense of the life and love that is available now. We are here to celebrate our relationships, not cremate them.

True Forgiveness Is A Clean Slate

I saw a wonderfully entertaining movie which demonstrates how true forgiveness is accomplished. In Clean Slate, Dana Carvey portrays a man with an unusual type of amnesia: when he goes to sleep each night, he forgets everything that happened to him before that day. The fact that he is a private eye about to testify about a murder he witnessed, sets up a hilarious series of plot twists.

The key line of the movie comes when a woman who had once manipulated Dana, asks him, "Can you ever forgive me for what I did to you last week?" In an utterly childlike way, Carvey shrugs his shoulders and answers, "Sure!" Of course he can -- he doesn't have the slightest clue what she did to him! As far as he is concerned, nothing ever happened. She was the one who was carrying the guilt; his relationship with her was as new as the current day.

A Course in Miracles tells us that at any moment we are capable of starting over; we can create a new beginning by selectively forgetting what we don't wish to carry into now. We are not bound by our past, unless we choose to lug old baggage with us.

Renewal Is Possible

Springtime is a time of resurrection. That which seemed to be lifeless or hopeless miraculously comes to life. Nature, we find, was not dead; it was just sleeping. So it is with relationships we have written off as unhealable or lost. They were not dead -- they were just sleeping.

Renewal is possible because, as divine beings, we are not bound by past deeds; grace always supersedes karma, if we are willing to let it. We are not prisoners of earlier acts; we are limited only by what we think in the current moment. Change your mind about your past, and you nullify its effects instantly.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


I learned of a deeply inspiring example of grace. A young and beautiful model had been viciously attacked by a man who was angry at her. The man hired several thugs to slash her face and ruin her beauty and career. I saw heart-rending photographs of the woman after her attack; three long hideous scars ran the length of both cheeks and her forehead; hundred of stitches had been required to put her face back together. A Venus had been turned into a Frankenstein.

But that is not the end of the story. When New York philanthropist Milton Petrie read the woman's story and saw her photos in a newspaper, he was moved by her plight. A multimillionaire, Milton made scanned the daily news to find people in dire straits, and assisted them to get their lives back together. Milton called the model and told her that he would give her twenty thousand dollars a year, for the rest of her life. Needless to say, she was thrilled to find such love and comfort in the wake of her anguish.

The model had numerous surgeries, which restored her skin and beauty to near-perfection. As I watched her being interviewed on television, I noticed an additional glow not obvious in her earlier model photos. She had been the recipient of grace, and no one whose life is made new after it seems to be destroyed can doubt that the reality and presence of a higher power.

I love this story because it demonstrates that even the most heinous experiences can be undone by the power of love. Of course, not everyone who is hurt experiences redemption as quickly and dramatically as Donna. But I sincerely believe that somehow, somewhere, all hurts are dissolved, and all disfigurement corrected. Milton Petrie gave Donna a clean slate.

Letting Go of Grudges Against Ourselves and Others

We can turn to a higher power to ask for grace, which we are sure to receive. In our own lives we can act on behalf of that higher power and clean the slate for ourselves and others. We can do it by letting go of grudges against others, and especially against ourselves. If others choose not to forgive us, we still have the power to release ourselves.

We too are not subject to limits placed upon us by a rabbi two millennia earlier. We are subject only to the law of kindness and compassion. There is a higher love, a higher law, a higher power available to us, and we shall receive as we open to it.

Book by this author:

Rising in Love: Opening Your Heart in All Your Relationships
by Alan Cohen.

Rising in LoveThe saga of the heart's journey from loneliness to celebration, from empty dark caverns to waterfalls of triumphant gratitude.

Info/Order this book

More books by this Author

About The Author

Alan CohenAlan Cohen is the author of many inspirational books including A Course in Miracles Made Easy and of the newly-released Spirit Means Business. Join Alan for his life-changing Holistic Life Coach Training beginning September 1, 2020. For information on this program and Alan’s books, videos, audios, online courses, retreats, and other inspirational events and materials, visit www.alancohen.com

Video/Interview with Alan Cohen: Forgiveness

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)