المرأة في البحر: أعماق الاكتئاب

المرأة في البحر: أعماق الاكتئاب
الصورة عن طريق PublicDomainPictures

كان لدى ريبيكا كل شيء يسير عليها: مهنة ناجحة ، زوج محب ، وطفلان في الكلية. لسنوات ، كانت تقفز من السرير ، وتقدم الفطور لزوجها وأطفالها ، وتهرع للعمل كمستشارة عائلية. يومًا بعد يوم ، ذكّرت ريبيكا النساء الأخريات بكيفية استعادة حياتهن وتجديد طاقاتهن عندما ظهر انقطاع الطمث عند الباب.

ومع ذلك كانت هناك ، منديل ورقي ، تحدق في الأرض في غرفة معيشتها. "ما الأمر يا عزيزي؟" بينما كانت تكافح من أجل الحصول على إجابة ، كان بإمكان ريبيكا أن تقول ، "أنا لا أعلم أن هناك شيئًا غير صحيح". لم تكن تعلم أنها في أعماق عقلها وجسدها ، كانت المعركة تختمر لسنوات.

في الماضي ، كانت تتجاهل هذه المشاعر جانباً من خلال إبقاء نفسها مشغولة بالأعمال المنزلية والمنزلية. الآن كانوا يطفو على السطح ، وبغض النظر عن كم حاولت ، لم تعد ريبيكا تتجاهلهم. كان هناك شيء غير صحيح بالفعل ، وحتى ريبيكا لم يكن لديها إجابة واضحة عن سبب شعورها بهذه الطريقة ؛ ولم تكن هي المسؤولة.

كان كل شيء على السطح مثاليًا ، ولكن أسفله ، كان الأساس يتصادم. بين العمل والأسرة ، كانت ريبيكا قد فقدت البصر عن نفسها الداخلية على طول الطريق ، والآن بعد أن كانت في طريقها نحو انقطاع الطمث ، كان جسدها وعقلها يمنح ريبيكا إنذارًا: "دعوا نداءنا أو غير ذلك!"

الاكتئاب وانقطاع الطمث لا يذهبان معاً

تشير التقديرات إلى أن 8 إلى 15 في المئة من جميع النساء يواجهن الاكتئاب في وقت واحد أو آخر أثناء تعرضهن لانقطاع الطمث. يعاني ما يقرب من تسعة ملايين امرأة في جميع أنحاء البلاد من الاكتئاب في مرحلة ما من حياتهم. على الرغم من أن الاكتئاب يتأثر بالتغيرات الهرمونية والعوامل الوراثية ، إلا أنه لا يملي عليها.

على الرغم من التقلبات في مستويات الهرمونات ووجود السلائف الجينية ، فإن العديد من النساء يصابن بانقطاع الطمث دون الاكتئاب. القضية هي ما إذا كانت المرأة تسمح لهذه العوامل أم لا لتولي وتحديد من هم.

حتى لو لم تكن معرضًا وراثياً أو هرمونيًا للاكتئاب ، فهناك عوامل مثل كونك عضوًا في جيل الساندويتش أو الشعور بفقدان الشباب أو فقدان طفلك (أطفالك) بعد مغادرتهم للمنزل ، كل ذلك يساهم في المشكلات العاطفية المرتبطة مع انقطاع الطمث. إن التقلب السريع للهرمونات والتغيرات البيولوجية الأخرى يضيف ببساطة المزيد من الوقود على النار. النساء اللائي يتعرضن للاكتئاب قبل بدء فترة انقطاع الطمث أو انقطاع الطمث قد يتعرضن للاكتئاب المتزايد في هذا الوقت.

الاكتئاب هو أكثر من مجرد الشعور بالحزن

الاكتئاب هو في الواقع أكثر من مجرد الشعور بالحزن ويمكن أن يتجلى في مجموعة متنوعة من الطرق اعتمادا على الفرد والوضع. ال الدليل التشخيصي والإحصائي للاضطرابات العقلية (DSM) يتضمن ثلاثة معايير عامة في تشخيص الاكتئاب:

1. مكتئب المزاج
2. فقدان الاهتمام والتمتع بالأنشطة المعتادة
3. انخفاض الطاقة وانخفاض النشاط

ينص DSM أيضًا على أن الاضطراب الاكتئابي الرئيسي هو شكل أكثر خطورة من الاكتئاب يتضمن المعايير المذكورة أعلاه مع إضافة خمسة على الأقل من الأعراض التسعة المذكورة أدناه والتي تحدث بشكل يومي:

1. مزاج مكتئب معظم اليوم
2. تضاؤل ​​الاهتمام أو المتعة في جميع الأنشطة أو معظمها
3. كبير فقدان الوزن غير مقصود أو زيادة
4. الأرق أو النوم أكثر من اللازم
5. الانفعالات أو التخلف الحركي الذي لاحظه الآخرون
6. التعب أو فقدان الطاقة
7. مشاعر العدم أو الذنب المفرط
8. تقلص القدرة على التفكير أو التركيز ، أو عدم التردد
9. الأفكار المتكررة من الموت

كثير من الناس ، إن لم يكن معظمهم ، يعانون من الاكتئاب مرة واحدة على الأقل في حياتهم ؛ وبالتالي فإن تشخيص الاكتئاب السريري ليس سهلاً كما يبدو. يميز DSM بين نوبات الاكتئاب والاضطراب الاكتئابي الرئيسي: غالبًا ما يكون التناول السابق أسهل نسبيًا من خلال إجراء تغييرات في نمط الحياة مثل الأكل وممارسة الحق في نوع جسمك وتجنب بعض المصائد العاطفية بمساعدة صديق أو أحد أفراد الأسرة أو مستشار . الاضطراب الاكتئابي الرئيسي ، من ناحية أخرى ، عادة ما يتطلب مساعدة أخصائي مدرب.

عندما نرى المهنية حول الاكتئاب

• إذا كنت تواجه أفكارًا انتحارية

• إذا كان الاكتئاب يتداخل مع حياتك اليومية

• إذا كان ذلك يسبب لك أن تغلق الآخرين باستمرار من حياتك

• إذا بقيت مهما فعلت

وجهات النظر الغربية بشأن الاكتئاب

قبل أن نغوص ، لنناقش الاكتئاب من وجهة نظر الطب الحديث والعلوم ومن وجهة نظر الطب الشرقي. يُعتقد أن الاكتئاب ناتج عن نقص السيروتونين في الدماغ ، وهي خسارة يمكن أن تمنعها أدوية معينة ، مثل مثبطات امتصاص السيروتونين الانتقائية (SSRIs). ومع ذلك ، لا تزال هيئة المحلفين خارجة حول ما إذا كان الاكتئاب ناتجًا عن خلل في هرمون الاستروجين والبروجستيرون و / أو السيروتونين ، نظرًا لأن انخفاض مستويات هرمون الاستروجين أو نقص السيروتونين في المخ لا يؤدي دائمًا إلى الاكتئاب.

في البحث عن مصدر فسيولوجي للاكتئاب ، حدد الطب الحديث العديد من الجناة المحتملين ، لكن لا يوجد مشتبه بهم رئيسيون. هل سيكون هناك حكم نهائي؟ لقد قابلت العديد من الأشخاص الذين قفزوا من دواء إلى آخر لأن أطبائهم يتابعون اتجاهات جديدة في البحث أو عندما تأتي الأعراض وتذهب ، ولكن النتيجة النهائية هي في الغالب: الاكتئاب المستمر. ربما تبحث الأبحاث الحديثة عن الاكتئاب في جميع الأماكن الخاطئة.

قد يبدو استخدام SSRIs و / أو الاستروجين لعلاج الاكتئاب مغريا حيث أن معظمنا يرغب في التخلص من الاكتئاب عن طريق التحكم ببساطة في العمليات الكيميائية داخل الجسم. لكن الآثار الجانبية لهذا الدواء غالبا ما تشمل الغثيان والعصبية والدوخة وانخفاض الرغبة الجنسية والنعاس وزيادة الوزن. في حين أن بعض الأفراد قد يستفيدون من هذه الأدوية وغيرها من الأدوية المضادة للاكتئاب والهرمونات ، يجد آخرون أن الفوائد لا تفوق المخاطر.

مضادات الاكتئاب بمثابة عازلة بين أذهاننا والعواطف. نعم ، إذا كانت هناك معركة محتدمة في داخلنا ، فربما تكون المخزن المؤقت هي الخطوة الأولى نحو الحل. ومع ذلك ، لا بد أن يتصالح كلا الطرفين مع بعضهما البعض إذا كان هناك سلام دائم. في بعض الحالات ، قد تكون نصيحة أخصائي ضرورية لتحديد أفضل النهج الطبي.

المنظور الشرقي للاكتئاب

ينظر الطب الشرقي إلى الاكتئاب ليس كمشكلة كيميائية أو عصبية ، بل باعتباره نقصًا في الانسجام وتوازن الطاقات المرتبطة بالأعضاء داخل الجسم. ترتبط كل مشاعر بعضو معين ، وعندما يكون الشخصان في حالة توازن ، فإنهما يعززان تدفق طاقة العضو ، لكن عندما لا يكونا كذلك ، تصبح الطاقة راكدة.

يمكن مقارنة كل عضو في الجسم بأحد أفراد الأسرة المباشرين. إذا كان الكبد الشقيق يتماشى مع الرئتين الشقيقتين بتبادل كميات كبيرة من الطاقة ، فإن مشاعرهما المرتبطة بالحزن والفرح ستكون أيضًا في وئام ، وتستفيد منها الأم ، والكلى الأب ، وما إلى ذلك. يمكن أن يكون الحفاظ على التوازن في الأسرة المباشرة تحديًا كبيرًا ، ناهيك عن أجهزتنا الداخلية! ومع ذلك ، في أسرة تدعمها رابطة قوية من الحب ، حتى لو كان الأطفال يسيئون التصرف أو يجادلون من وقت لآخر ، لا يوجد أي تأثير سلبي طويل الأجل.

وينطبق الشيء نفسه على العلاقة بين أعضائنا ، لأن فرحة الكبد وحزن الرئة مقدر للمناقشة مرة واحدة في حين. ومع ذلك ، وكما رأينا في موقف ريبيكا ، كانت فرحة الكبد هي العاطفة السائدة لمعظم حياتها ، وكانت تغلق الباب في وجه الحزن في كل مرة يتم فيها طرق. لقد كان الأمر مجرد مسألة وقت قبل أن ينتهك حزن الرئة.

الين ويانغ من الاكتئاب

في دواء ساسانج ، يُنظر إلى الاكتئاب على أنه مزيج من عدة عواطف ، على عكس الفكرة الغربية الشائعة ، التي تعرفها على أنها شعور باليأس. يختلف سبب الاكتئاب باختلاف أنواع الجسد ومشاعرهم السائدة. على سبيل المثال ، قد يكون الكبد شديد التطور في Yin Type A ، المرتبط بالبهجة ، المصدر الأساسي للاكتئاب.

كيف يمكن أن يكون الفرح أصل الاكتئاب؟ إذا شعر Yin Type A بأنه مؤهل للبهجة ولا تتدفق الأمور جيدًا ، فيمكن أن يتغلب الاكتئاب بسهولة. المشاعر السائدة الأخرى ، مثل الراحة والغضب ، يمكن أن تحفز أيضًا على الاكتئاب.

يوفر جدول 6.1 قائمة بالعواطف الغالبة وتأثيراتها على أنواع الجسم الأربعة.

الجدول 6.1. العواطف السائدة وأنواع الجسم

الموديل

أقوى جهاز

العاطفة السائدة

السلوك عندما متوازن

أصل الخلل

يانغ
نوع A

طحال

غضب

الدفاع عن النفس والآخرين

الآخرون ينظرون إليهم أو يعاملونهم ظلما

يانغ
نوع B

الرئتين

حزن

قول الحقيقة

حفظ الآخرين الأسرار

يين
نوع A

كبد

فرح

مساعدة الآخرين

البعض الآخر لا يساعدهم

يين
نوع B

كلاوي

هدوء

حماية الآخرين / منحهم الشعور بالأمان

الشعور بعدم الأمان أو عدم الحماية

نصائح للتعامل مع الاكتئاب بغض النظر عن نوعك

نصيحة #1: لا تتجاهل مشاعرك

الاكتئاب لا يظهر بشكل عشوائي دون سبب. عنصر أساسي يحتاج عادة إلى معالجة. إذا كنت تشعر بالركود أو الإغلاق أو عدم القدرة على المضي قدمًا في الحياة ، فقم بإلقاء نظرة فاحصة على الأسباب المحتملة. في معظم الأحيان ، تكون هذه المشاعر نتيجة لعواطف ورغبات ومشاعر لا تتطلب معالجة.

قد يكون من المفيد استشارة معالج أو صديق يستمع ويناقش طرقًا فعالة لمعالجة المشكلات العاطفية التي لم يتم حلها ، خاصةً إذا كانت تتداخل بشكل كبير مع حياتك.

نصيحة #2: استمر في التدفق

بغض النظر عن مدى صعوبة الأمر عندما تشعر بالاكتئاب ، فإن الخروج من المنزل والبقاء نشطًا أمر ضروري لإبعادك عن الهاوية. إذا كنت تفضل أن تكون بمفردك ، فحاول الذهاب في نزهة بمفردك ، وإذا كنت بحاجة إلى التحدث مع شخص ما ، اجعله / ها يرافقك. المنزل هو المكان الذي نستقر فيه طاقاتنا ونبطئها.

نظرًا لأن الاكتئاب يتسبب غالبًا في حدوث ركود وانسداد في طاقاتنا ، فإن الخروج من المنزل ببساطة قد يؤدي إلى الارتقاء بقوة.

نصيحة #3: ممارسة ؛ إنه الطب

التمرين هو واحد من أفضل الأدوية لعلاج الاكتئاب. تشجع الحركة الإيقاعية لجسمك إلى جانب التعرق والتنفس الأقوى على تدفق الطاقة في جميع أنحاء الجسم وإطلاق الاندورفين والدوبامين - هرموناتنا السعيدة. أظهرت إحدى الدراسات أن ساعتين من التمرين مرتين في الأسبوع لمدة عشرة أسابيع قللت بشكل كبير من مستويات الاكتئاب مقارنة بمجموعة مراقبة غير تمرين.

ليس عليك أن تدفع نفسك بشدة حتى تشعر بتحسن عاطفي وجسدي. النقطة المهمة هي ممارسة الرياضة في حدود حدودك وفي النهاية إلى نقطة التعرق. وفقًا لدواء ساسانج ، فإن التعرق يطلق مشاعر وطاقة راكدة من الجسم عن طريق مسام الجلد.

نصيحة #4: حاول الوخز بالإبر والعلاج بالابر

العلاج بالابر هو وسيلة فعالة لتعزيز تدفق الطاقة في جميع أنحاء الجسم. تعمل كل نقطة من نقاط العلاج بالضغط على الجسم كجهاز تحكم في التدفق ، مما يعزز التدفق عند الحاجة إليه ويبطئه عندما يكون خارج السيطرة.

يستخدم الوخز بالإبر والعلاج بالابر نفس النقاط على الجسم ، وقد استخدم كلاهما لآلاف السنين لمعالجة الاختلالات العاطفية والجسدية.

PC8 (النقطة الثامنة على Pericardium Meridian): "قصر العمل"

09 28 p8 نقطة العلاج بالابرتقع هذه النقطة بين أوتار المؤشر والأصابع الوسطى على طول - أو أسفل مباشرة في بعض الناس - ثاني أعلى تجعد أفقي للنخيل. عندما يتم صنع قبضة ضيقة ، فإن النقطة هي أن طرف الإصبع الأوسط يمس راحة اليد. على غرار ابن عمه HT8 ، PC8 يهدئ القلب ويسهل المعالجة العاطفية.

يأتي اسم هذه النقطة ، "قصر العمل" ، من قدرته على توفير ملاذ آمن للأفكار والعواطف الشاقة. إن ممارسة ضغط كبير حتى تشعر المنطقة بالعطاء غالبًا ما ينتج عنه نتائج أفضل من لمسة خفيفة.

مارس الضغط المباشر على PC8 مع طرف إصبعك الفهرس أثناء العد حتى العاشرة والتنفس ببطء.

حرر بلطف ثم انتقل إلى اليد الأخرى.

كرر هذه العملية حتى خمس مرات.

الاكتئاب وأنواع يين يانغ الجسم

يؤثر الاكتئاب على كل نوع جسم يين يانغ بطرق مختلفة اعتمادًا على طاقاتهم الفريدة دستوريًا. بشكل عام ، بالنسبة لأنواع اليانغ ، غالبًا ما تتضمن المواقف التي تعوق طاقاتها المحددة في اليانغ ، بينما لأنواع الين ، غالبًا ما يكون ذلك نتيجة لوضع الفرح / الهدوء المرتبط بالين على الموقد الخلفي لفترة طويلة جدًا ، أو التشبث به بكل قوتهم.

بالتأكيد ، قد تواجه أنواع الين حالات اكتئاب عندما يعترض شخص ما طريقه ، وأنواع اليانغ عندما يتم إهمال الفرح أو الراحة ، لكن هذه المواقف نادراً ما تظهر كاضطرابات اكتئابية كبيرة. إن موازنة المشاعر السائدة لنوع الجسم هي خطوة أساسية لتجنب الاكتئاب والتغلب عليه.

© 2019 لجاري واجمان ، دكتوراه كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطفات بإذن. شفاء فنون الصحافة ،
وهي فرع من التقاليد الداخلية تي. www.InnerTraditions.com

المادة المصدر

يين يانغ التوازن لانقطاع الطمث: التقليد الكوري للطب ساسانج
بقلم غاري واغمان

Yin Yang Balance لانقطاع الطمث: التقليد الكوري لطب Sasang بقلم Gary Wagman Ph.DLAc.بتطبيق حكمة دواء ساسانج على الانتقال الحياتي الرئيسي لانقطاع الطمث ، يستكشف الدكتور غاري واجمان كيف أن كل نوع من أنواع جسم ساسانج الأربعة لديه تحديات فريدة من انقطاع الطمث ، وكذلك الفرص ، وكيف أن العلاجات الطبيعية والوجبات الغذائية التي تعمل من أجل واحد اكتب قد لا تعمل لآخر. مع تقديم إرشادات واختبارات لتحديد نوعك ، فإنه يوضح الميول العاطفية لكل نوع ، ونقاط القوة والضعف الجسدية ، وتوازن طاقة يين ويانغ ضمن أنظمة الأعضاء ، موضحًا سبب حدوث الهبات الساخنة عند حدوثها ، ولماذا يعد الأرق مشكلة فجأة ، أو لماذا تشعر بالاكتئاب. وكشفًا عن تأثير عواطفنا على صحتنا الفسيولوجية ، يصف كيف ترتبط العواطف المختلفة ، مثل الغضب والحزن ، بأنماط حيوية فطرية لنوع معين.

انقر لطلب على الأمازون

عن المؤلف

غاري واجمان ، دكتوراه ، L.Ac.غاري واغمان ، دكتوراه ، L.Ac. ، هو اختصاصي الوخز بالإبر وطبيب الطب الشرقي. كان أول طالب أجنبي في جامعة دايجون للطب الشرقي في كوريا الجنوبية وعاش في آسيا لأكثر من 8 سنة. مؤسس عيادة هارموني والمعهد الأمريكي للطب الكوري ، يعيش في بورتلاند بولاية أوريغون.

كتب ذات صلة

فيديو: لديك يين يانغ نوع الجسم

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Woman Overboard: The Depths of Depression

Woman Overboard: The Depths of Depression
Image by PublicDomainPictures

Rebecca had everything going for her: a successful career, loving husband, and two children in college. For years she would leap out of bed, make breakfast for her husband and children, and rush off to work as a family counselor. Day after day, Rebecca reminded other women of how to reclaim their lives and renew their energies when menopause showed up at their door.

Yet there she was, tissue in hand, staring at the floor in her living room. “What’s the matter, honey?” her husband asked. As she struggled for an answer, all Rebecca could say was, “I dunno, something’s not right.” Little did she know that deep inside her mind and body, a battle had been brewing for years.

In the past, she had brushed these feelings aside by keeping herself busy with work and household chores. Now they were surfacing, and no matter how much she tried, Rebecca could no longer ignore them. Something was indeed not right, and even Rebecca did not have a clear answer as to why she felt this way; neither was she to blame.

On the surface everything was perfect, but underneath, the foundation was cracking away. Between work and family, Rebecca had somehow lost sight of her inner self along the way, and now that she was on the path toward menopause, her body and mind were giving Rebecca an ultimatum: “Heed our call or else!”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Depression and Menopause Don't Necessarily Go Together

It is estimated that 8 to 15 percent of all women are faced with depression at one time or another as they go through menopause. Close to nine million women nationwide are plagued with depression at some point in their lives. Even though depression is affected by hormonal changes and genetic factors, it is not dictated by them.

Despite fluctuations in hormone levels and the existence of genetic precursors, many women go through menopause without becoming depressed. The issue is whether or not women allow these factors to take over and define who they are.

Even if you aren’t genetically or hormonally prone to depression, factors such as being a member of the sandwich generation, feeling a loss of youthfulness, or missing your child(ren) after they leave the house, all contribute to the emotional issues associated with menopause. The rapid fluctuation of hormones and other biological changes simply add more fuel to the fire. Women who are prone to depression before the onset of perimenopause or menopause may experience increased depression around this time.

Depression Is More Than Just Feeling Sad

Depression is actually more than just feeling sad and can manifest in a variety of ways depending on the individual and situation. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) includes three general criteria in the diagnosis of depression:

1. Depressed mood
2. Loss of interest and enjoyment in usual activities
3. Reduced energy and decreased activity

The DSM also states that major depressive disorder is a more serious form of depression that includes the above criteria with the addition of at least five of the nine symptoms listed below occurring on a daily basis:

1. Depressed mood most of the day
2. Diminished interest or pleasure in all or most activities
3. Significant unintentional weight loss or gain
4. Insomnia or sleeping too much
5. Agitation or psychomotor retardation noticed by others
6. Fatigue or loss of energy
7. Feelings of worthlessness or excessive guilt
8. Diminished ability to think or concentrate, or indecisiveness
9. Recurrent thoughts of death

Many, if not most, people experience depression at least once in their lifetime; hence the diagnosis of clinical depression is not as easy as it may seem. The DSM distinguishes between depressive episodes and major depressive disorder: The former is often relatively easier to address through making lifestyle changes such as eating and exercising right for your body type and avoiding certain emotional traps with the help of a friend, family member, or counselor. Major depressive disorder, on the other hand, usually requires the assistance of a trained professional.

When to See a Professional about Depression

• If you are having suicidal thoughts

• If depression is interfering with your everyday life

• If it is causing you to constantly shut others out of your life

• If it lingers no matter what you do

Western Perspectives on Depression

Before we dive in, let’s discuss depression from the standpoint of modern medicine and science and then from an Eastern medicine view. Depression is thought to be a result of a lack of serotonin in the brain, a loss that specific drugs, such as selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs), can prevent. Yet the jury is still out over whether or not depression is caused by an estrogen, progesterone, and/or serotonin imbalance, since a reduction in estrogen levels or a lack of serotonin in the brain does not always lead to depression.

In its search for a physiological source of depression, modern medicine has identified several possible perpetrators, but no prime suspects. Will there ever be a final verdict? I’ve met numerous people who hop from one medication to another as their doctors follow new trends in research or as symptoms come and go, but the end result is often the same: lingering depression. Perhaps modern research is looking for depression in all the wrong places.

The use of SSRIs and/or estrogen to treat depression may sound tempting since most of us would love to rid ourselves of depression by simply controlling the chemical processes within the body. Yet side effects from such medication often include nausea, nervousness, dizziness, reduced sexual desire, drowsiness, and weight gain. Whereas some individuals may benefit from these and other antidepressant and hormone-based medications, others find that the benefits do not outweigh the risks.

Antidepressants act as a buffer between our mind and emotions. Yes, if there is a raging battle within us, then perhaps a buffer may be the first step toward resolution. Yet inevitably both sides must come to terms with one another if there is to be lasting peace. In some cases, the advice of a specialist may be necessary to determine the best medical approach.

Eastern Perspectives on Depression

Eastern medicine views depression not as a chemical or neurological issue but as a lack of harmony and balance of organ-related energies within the body. Each emotion is associated with a particular organ, and when the two are in balance, they promote organ energy flow, but when they aren’t, energy becomes stagnant.

Each organ in the body can be compared to a member of an immediate family. If the sister liver gets along with the brother lungs by exchanging ample amounts of energy, then their correlating emotions of sorrow and joy will be also be in harmony, benefitting mother heart, daddy kidney, and so on. Maintaining balance in an immediate family can be quite a challenge, let alone among our internal organs! Yet in a family supported by a strong bond of love, even if children misbehave or parents argue from time to time, there is no long-term negative effect.

The same goes for the relationship between our organs, since liver joy and lung sorrow are destined to argue once in a while. Yet as we saw in Rebecca’s situation, liver joy was the predominant emotion for most of her life, and she slammed the door in sorrow’s face every time it came knocking. It was simply a matter of time before lung sorrow busted through.

The Yin and Yang of Depression

In Sasang medicine, depression is seen as a combination of several emotions, contrary to the common Western idea, which defines it as a feeling of despondency. The cause of depression differs according the body types and their predominant emotions. For example, the Yin Type A’s hyperdeveloped liver, associated with joy, may be the underlying source of depression.

How could joy be the root of depression? If the Yin Type A feels entitled to joy and things don’t flow well, then depression can easily take over. Other predominant emotions, such as comfort and anger, can also instigate depression.

Table 6.1 provides a list of predominant emotions and their effects for the four body types.

Table 6.1. Predominant Emotions and Body Types

Body Type

Strongest Organ

Predominant Emotion

Behavior when Balanced

Origin of Imbalance

Yang
Type A

Spleen

Anger

Standing up for oneself and others

Others looking down on them or treating them unjustly

Yang
Type B

Lungs

Sorrow

Speaking the truth

Others keeping secrets

Yin
Type A

Liver

Joy

Helping others

Others not helping them

Yin
Type B

Kidneys

Calmness

Protecting others/giving them a sense of security

Feeling insecure or unprotected

Tips For Handling Depression Regardless Of Your Type

Tip #1: Don’t Ignore Your Feelings

Depression doesn’t randomly show up without reason; an underlying component usually needs to be addressed. If you feel stagnant, locked, or unable to move forward in life, then take a deep look within and sift through the possible causes. Most of the time, these feelings are a result of unaddressed emotions, desires, and feelings that are asking for your attention.

It might be helpful to consult a therapist or friend who would listen and discuss effective ways to address unresolved emotional issues, especially if they are interfering significantly with your life.

Tip #2: Keep on Flowing

No matter how hard it may seem when you are feeling depressed, getting out of the house and staying active is essential to keep you out of the abyss. If you prefer to be alone, then try going for a walk alone, and if you need to talk with someone, have him/her accompany you. The home is where we settle our energies and slow them down.

Since depression often causes stagnation and blockage of our energies, simply getting out of the house can be energetically uplifting.

Tip #3: Exercise; It’s Medicine

Exercise is one of the best medicines for depression. The rhythmic movement of your body coupled with sweating and stronger breathing encourage the flow of energy throughout the body and the release of endorphins and dopamine—our happy hormones. One study showed that two hours of exercise twice a week for ten weeks significantly reduced levels of depression compared to a no-exercise control group.

You don’t have to push yourself too hard in order to feel better emotionally and physically. The point is to exercise within your limits and eventually to the point of working up a sweat. According to Sasang medicine, sweating releases stagnant emotion and energy from the body through the skin pores.

Tip #4: Try Acupuncture and Acupressure

Acupressure is an effective method for promoting energy flow throughout the body. Each acupressure point on the body acts as a flow controller, enhancing flow where it is needed and slowing it down when it is out of control.

Acupuncture and acupressure utilize the same points on the body, and both have been used for thousands of years to address emotional and physical imbalances.

PC8 (Eighth Point on the Pericardium Meridian): “Labor Palace”

09 28 p8 acupressure pointThis point is located between the tendons of the pointer and middle fingers along—or directly below in some people—the second highest horizontal crease of the palm. When a tight fist is made, the point is where the tip of the middle finger touches the palm of the hand. Similar to its cousin HT8, PC8 calms the heart and facilitates emotional processing.

The name of this point, “Labor Palace,” comes from its ability to provide a safe haven for labored thoughts and emotions. Applying significant pressure until the area feels tender often yields better results than a light touch.

Apply direct pressure to PC8 with the tip of your index finger while counting to ten and breathing slowly.

Gently release and then switch to the other hand.

Repeat this process up to five times.

Depression and the Yin Yang Body Types

Depression affects each yin yang body type in different ways depending on their constitutionally unique energies. Generally speaking, for yang types, it often involves situations that get in the way of their determined yang energy, while for yin types, it is often a result of placing their own yin-related joy/calmness on the back burner for too long, or clinging to it with all their might.

Sure, the yin types may experience depressive episodes when something/someone gets in their way, and the yang types when joy or comfort is neglected, but these situations rarely manifest as major depressive disorders. Balancing our body type’s predominant emotion is an essential step to avoiding and overcoming depression.

©2019 by Gary Wagman, Ph.D. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission. Healing Arts Press,
a division of Inner Traditions Intl. www.InnerTraditions.com

Article Source

Yin Yang Balance for Menopause: The Korean Tradition of Sasang Medicine
by Gary Wagman Ph.D. L.Ac.

Yin Yang Balance for Menopause: The Korean Tradition of Sasang Medicine by Gary Wagman Ph.D. L.Ac.Applying the wisdom of Sasang medicine to the major life transition of menopause, Dr. Gary Wagman explores how each of the four Sasang body types has its own unique menopausal challenges, as well as opportunities, and how the natural remedies and diets that work for one type might not work for another. Providing guidelines and tests to determine your type, he details each type’s emotional tendencies, physical strengths and weaknesses, and their balance of Yin and Yang energy within the organ systems, explaining why hot flashes occur when they do, why insomnia is suddenly an issue, or why you feel depressed. Revealing the impact our emotions have on our physiological health, he describes how different emotions, such as anger and sadness, correlate with a particular type’s inborn energetic patterns.

click to order on amazon

 

 

About the Author

Gary Wagman, Ph.D., L.Ac.Gary Wagman, Ph.D., L.Ac., is an acupuncturist and doctor of Oriental Medicine. He was the first foreign student at the Daejeon University of Oriental Medicine in South Korea and lived in Asia for more than 8 years. The founder of Harmony Clinic and the American Institute of Korean Medicine, he lives in Portland, Oregon.

Related Books

Video: Your Yin Yang Body Type

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}