كيف تحافظ أدمغتنا على توفير المال

كيف تحافظ أدمغتنا على توفير المال

في حين أن العديد من العوامل تلعب دوراً ، يمكننا أن نلقي باللوم على أدمغتنا - على الأقل إلى حد ما - على عاداتنا الادخارية السيئة ، وفقاً لدراسة جديدة.

لم يوفر الزوجان الأمريكيان العاملان في سن العمل سوى مبلغ 5,000 للتقاعد ، في حين أن 43 في المائة من الأسر في سن العمل ليس لديها مدخرات تقاعد على الإطلاق ، وفقا لتحليل 2016 لمسح الاحتياطي الفيدرالي. واعتبارًا من 2017 ، كان الناس ينقذون أقل من 3 في المائة من دخلهم الشخصي القابل للتصرف ، وهو رقم لطالما كان في دوامة هبوطية ، وفقًا لمكتب الولايات المتحدة للتحليل الاقتصادي.

"في الأساس ، يأتي الأمر إلى هذا: فالادخار أقل قيمة لأدمغتنا ..."

لدى البشر تحيز إدراكي نحو الكسب ، مما يجعلنا ننفق بشكل لا واعي المزيد من قوة الدماغ على الكسب أكثر من الإنقاذ ، وفقا للدراسة. لحظة إلى يوم ويوم نهار ، أدمغتنا هي أقل انتباها ، وربما تخفض قيمة الادخار. بمرور الوقت ، قد يؤثر ذلك على ثروتنا المستقبلية. ويظهر الباحثون أن التحيز المعرفي قوي للغاية لدرجة أنه يمكن أن يحول إحساسنا بالوقت.

يقول الباحث المشارك في الدراسة آدم أندرسون ، الأستاذ المشارك في التنمية البشرية بجامعة كورنيل: "في الأساس ، يأتي الأمر إلى هذا الحد: فالادخار أقل قيمة لأدمغتنا ، التي تكرس موارد أقل لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة بها". "إنها أكثر من مشكلة مالية لتدبير أمورهم. تجد أدمغتنا صعوبة أكبر في التوفير ".

فرص ملونة

في هذه الدراسة ، ابتكر الباحثون اقتصادهم التجريبي الصغير الذي يستطيع الأفراد من خلاله كسب المال أو توفيره من خلال الاستجابة إلى مدى اختلاف الألوان عن هذه الفرص. كما قاموا بتزويد المشاركين في الدراسة بمهمة إدراك التوقيت باستخدام نفس الألوان ، وقياس مدى سرعة معالجتهم للألوان كمؤشر ضمني لفعالية الكسب والإدخار للدماغ.

في المهمة الاقتصادية ، يمكن للمشاركين كسب المال أو توفيره استنادًا إلى مدى سرعة ودقة أداء نشاط يتضمن دوائر ملونة. في مهمة الإدراك الزمني ، أشاروا إلى أي من دوائر الألوان ظهر أولاً ، عندما عرضت الدوائر جنبًا إلى جنب مع تأخيرات مختلفة بينهما.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"حتى بدون دفع الفواتير ، تضع عقولنا الإبهام على الميزان ، مما يجعل من الأسهل لنا أن نكسب أكثر من الادخار ..."

في التجربة الأولى ، كسبت 87.5 في المائة من المشاركين أكثر مما حفظوا. وقد طور 75 تصورات زمنية متقلبة للألوان: فقد أفادوا أن رؤية الألوان المكتسبة تظهر على شاشة الكمبيوتر أولاً ، في حين أن ألوان التوفير كانت في الواقع. في التجارب اللاحقة ، حدث هذا الانحياز الزمني حتى عندما كانت مخفية ارتباطات اللون مع الكسب أو الادخار وربما فاقد الوعي.

وقد وصف الباحثون هذا التحيز بـ "المدخرات التوفيقية". ويتم التعامل مع الادخار كمصدر قلق لاحق ، متحيزة في كل لحظة من قبل الدماغ لتكون لها أولوية زمنية أقل. في حين أننا يجب أن نكسب قبل أن نتمكن من الادخار ، فإن أدمغتنا قد تعمينا عن فرص التوفير ، بطريقة تشوه بشكل أساسي تصوراتنا ، كما يقولون.

يقول أندرسون: "حتى دون دفع الفواتير ، تضع عقولنا الإبهام على المقاييس ، مما يجعل من الأسهل لنا أن نحقق مكاسب أكثر من توفيرها". ذلك لأن الدماغ قد يكون غافلًا في الأساس عن الادخار نسبة إلى الربح. يقول المؤلف المشارك ، إيف دي روزا ، وهو أستاذ مشارك في التنمية البشرية: "إن الادخار منخفض القيمة إلى حد كبير وغير مراقب حتى ندرك الأحداث المرتبطة بالادخار كما يحدث في وقت لاحق".

يقول أندرسون ، إن تصور الوقت المشوه قد يكون أو لا يكون آلية للتحيز المعرفي لكسب أكثر من توفير. "على الأقل ، إنه مؤشر على مدى قوة هذا التحيز ، حتى أنه يمكن أن يشوه إدراكنا للوقت" ، كما يقول. "تخيل ما يمكن أن يفعله لحساباتنا المصرفية."الاكتئاب والقلق يمكن أن يكلفك مدخرات التقاعد

حتى عندما قام الباحثون بتغيير المهمة الاقتصادية لضمان حصول المشاركين في الدراسة على نفس القدر من الأرباح والمدخرات ، استمر التحيز الزمني. وحدث التحيز ضد الادخار ما إذا كان الباحثون عرّفوا الادخار على أنه منع فقدان ما كسبه المشاركون بالفعل أو سحب المال لاستخدامه في المستقبل. في كلتا الحالتين ، كانت النتائج نفسها: كسب الفوز على الادخار.

كيفية إصلاح هذا الميل

ويشير الباحثون إلى أنه من المرجح أن يكون هذا التحيز قد تم تعلمه دون وعي ، وليس بالضرورة أن يكون قد تم تسليمه من خلال التطور. هذه أخبار جيدة ، يقول دي روزا: "إذا كنت قد تعلمت ، يمكنك إلغاء ذلك."

"قد يتضمن الربح والحفظ استعراض العضلات المختلفة ؛ وكلما زاد الاهتمام بفرص الادخار ، كلما مارسنا تلك العضلات العقلية أكثر "، يقول أندرسون. يمكن لأولئك الذين يريدون توفير المزيد أن يبدؤوا بمحاولة إعادة التدريب المتعمد - أي ممارسة الاهتمام بالانقاذ. الفائدة ليست في القيمة النقدية اليومية لما يوفره الفرد. انها في بناء قدرة الدماغ على الانتباه إلى الادخار ، والتي ، مثل المال في البنك ، سوف تزيد مع مرور الوقت.

"إنه يمارس الاهتمام والنية لحفظ ، لتقوية قيمة لدماغك. يقول أندرسون: "ليس حجم الدولارات هو المهم".

ويضيف دي روزا: "من المحتمل أن ترى سُبلًا وفرصًا أخرى عندما يتعلم دماغك تقدير القيمة".

تظهر الورقة في طبيعة الاتصالات.

مصدر: جامعة كورنيل

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = كيفية توفير المال ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

How Our Brains Keep Us From Saving Money

How Our Brains Keep Us From Saving Money

While many factors are at play, we can blame our brains—at least to some degree—for our poor saving habits, according to a new study.

The average American working-age couple has saved only $5,000 for retirement, while 43 percent of working-age families have no retirement savings at all, according to a 2016 analysis of a Federal Reserve survey. And as of 2017, people were saving less than 3 percent of their personal disposable income, a figure that has long been in a downward spiral, according to the US Bureau of Economic Analysis.

“Fundamentally it comes down to this: saving is less valuable to our brains…”

Humans have a cognitive bias toward earning, which makes us unconsciously spend more brain power on earning than on saving, according to the study. Moment to moment and day by day, our brains are less attentive to, and may devalue, saving. Over time, that could affect our future wealth. And the cognitive bias is so powerful that it can even warp our sense of time, the researchers show.

“Fundamentally it comes down to this: saving is less valuable to our brains, which devote less attentional resources to it,” says study coauthor Adam Anderson, associate professor of human development at Cornell University. “It’s more than a financial problem of making ends meet. Our brains find saving more difficult to attend to.”

Color-coded opportunities

In the study, the researchers created their own experimental micro-economy in which individuals could earn or save money by responding to how different colors signified these opportunities. They also gave study participants a timing perception task with these same colors, measuring how quickly they processed colors as an implicit index of the potency of earning and saving for the brain.

In the economic task, participants could earn or save money based on how quickly and accurately they performed an activity involving color circles. In the temporal perception task, they indicated which of the color circles appeared first, when the circles were presented side-by-side with different delays between them.

“Even without bills to pay, our brains put a thumb on the scales, making it easier for us to earn than save…”

In the first experiment, 87.5 percent of the participants earned more than they saved. And 75 percent developed warped temporal perceptions of the colors: They reported seeing earning colors appear on the computer screen first when, in fact, the savings colors did. In subsequent experiments, this temporal bias occurred even when color associations with earning or saving were hidden and likely unconscious.

The researchers have termed this bias “savings posteriority.” Savings is treated as a later concern, biased in each moment by the brain to have less temporal priority. While we must earn before we can save, our brains may blind us to opportunities to save, in a way that fundamentally distorts our perceptions, they says.

“Even without bills to pay, our brains put a thumb on the scales, making it easier for us to earn than save,” Anderson says. That’s because the brain may be fundamentally inattentive to saving relative to earning. “Saving is so devalued and unattended that we perceive events associated with saving as occurring later in time,” says coauthor Eve De Rosa, an associate professor of human development.

The warped time perception may or may not be a mechanism for the cognitive bias to earn more than save, Anderson says. “At a minimum, it’s an indication of how strong this bias is, that it can even warp our perception of time,” he says. “Imagine what it could do to our bank accounts.”Depression and anxiety can cost you retirement savings

Even when the researchers changed the economic task to ensure study participants received an equal amount of earnings and savings, the temporal bias persisted. And the bias against saving occurred whether researchers defined saving as preventing the loss of what the participants already earned or as putting away money for future use. Either way, the results were the same: Earning beat saving.

How to fix this tendency

The researchers point out that the bias is likely unconsciously learned, not necessarily one that has been handed down through evolution. That’s good news, De Rosa says: “If you’ve learned it, you can unlearn it.”

“Earning and saving may involve flexing different muscles; the more we pay attention to saving opportunities, the more we exercise that mental muscle,” says Anderson. Those who want to save more could start by trying attentional retraining—that is, practice paying attention to saving. The benefit is not so much in the everyday cash value of what one saves; it’s in building the brain’s capacity to pay attention to saving, which, like money in the bank, will increase over time.

“It’s practicing attention and intention to save, to strengthen the value of it for your brain. It’s not the amount of dollars that matters,” Anderson says.

“And you’ll probably see other avenues and opportunities as your brain learns to value saving,” De Rosa adds.

The paper appears in Nature Communications.

Source: Cornell University

Related Books

The Total Money Makeover: Classic Edition: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness
behaviorAuthor: Dave Ramsey
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
List Price: $24.99

Buy Now

How to Turn $100 into $1,000,000: Earn! Save! Invest!
behaviorAuthor: James McKenna
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Workman Publishing Company
List Price: $12.95

Buy Now

How To Save Money: A 21-Day Challenge To Save $500/Month
behaviorAuthor: Bob Lotich
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Rendren Publishing
List Price: $5.99

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}