هل الفظاظة لها مكان شرعي في السياسة؟

هل الفظاظة لها مكان شرعي في السياسة؟

ديمقراطي وجمهوري يعملان سويا على انتعاش العاصفة في نيو جيرسي

نحن نعيش في عصر سياسيين وقحين. في الولايات المتحدة ، احتكر دونالد ترامب بشكل دوري عناوين منذ 2015 بسلوكه الفظ والبغيض ، غالبًا ما يتم عرضه عبر تويتر أو في القمم الدولية ، حيث دفع الرئيسين بعيداً عن طريقه وترك نظرائه غضب واضح. يبدو أن سلوكه يتسبب في رد فعل ارتجاعي ضد إدارته: في يونيو 2018 ، كانت السكرتيرة الصحفية له ، سارة هاكابي ساندرز ، علنًا طلب مغادرة مطعم لأن عملها في إدارة ترامب جعلها على خلاف مع موظفي المطعم.

هذه الأحداث ، وأكثر من ذلك ، دفعت إلى دعوات لزيادة الكياسة في السياسة في الولايات المتحدة وأماكن أخرى. لكن هل يجب علينا أن نحاول حقاً القضاء على الفظاظة - أم أن لها دوراً هاماً تلعبه؟

في السياسة البريطانية ، هناك ، على سبيل المثال ، تاريخ طويل من السياسيين يتعاملون بوحشية مع بعضهم البعض ، بما في ذلك في البرلمان نفسه. في السنوات العديدة الماضية ، قد تصل إلى ارتفاعات جديدة (أو ، حسب وجهة نظرك ، أعماق). في 2010 ، رئيس الوزراء ديفيد كاميرون كان مقررا من قبل الصحافة له فظاظة - ما أشار إليه هو نفسه باسم "أسلوب يا بو" - أثناء أسئلة رئيس الوزراء.

من المعروف أن كاميرون ينشر كل تكتيك من اغتيال الشخصيات ("الحقيقة هي أنه ضعيف وحقير" ، قال إد ميليباند في 2015) إلى سخرية صريحة ("إذا كان رئيس الوزراء سيكون لديه نكات مسبقة ، أعتقد أنه يجب أن يكون أفضل قليلاً من ذلك الشخص - ربما ليس كافيا في القائمة" - هذا غوردون براون في 2010 ، يسخرون من خصمه الخيارات الغذائية).

ولكن في حين أن كاميرون كان غالباً ما يُنتهك بسبب سلوكه ، إلا أنه كان بعيداً عن كونه أكثر غموضاً ، ولم يحدث سلوكه في فراغ. يتم تنظيم مقاعد مجلس العموم بطريقة من هذا القبيل المواجهة مشجعة، وأسلوب الخصومة على حد سواء شجعت والمتوقع من قبل أعضاء البرلمان. مطالب سياسية التكتيكات قوة معارضة البرلمانيين في اختيار صارخ: الالتفاف على سؤال غريب أو وضع خصمك على القدم الخلفية.

الاستخدام الاستراتيجي للفظاظة هو سمة مشتركة للخطاب السياسي حول العالم. إنها أداة تستخدم في المسابقة سلبية العامة، كما في حالة مقابلة دان راذر 1988 مع جورج بوش الأب ، حيث كان نائب الرئيس آنذاك سيء السمعة صاح في المقابلة لتبديد صورته كزعيم ضعيف. يمكن استخدام الفظاظة لمهاجمة "الوجه" أو الصورة الذاتية لخصمك ، وبالتالي رفع نفسك الحالة: في نهاية المطاف ، لعبة مجموع الصفر.

وقاحة هو أيضا وسيلة مفيدة للحد من سلوك الآخرين أو تحدي وجهات نظرهم السياسية مع أكبر قدر ممكن من القوة. متى مستعمل للتعبير عن الغضب وعدم الموافقة ، ولتقوية رفض المرء التعاون ، فهو أداة مفيدة للناخبين الذين يريدون تغيير سلوك ممثليهم.

ويمكن أيضا أن يكون مفيدا افتح الصمام للعواطف السلبية. بعض الباحثين تشير إلى أن هذه السلوكيات ليست وقحة عند النظر في سياق الخطاب السياسي ؛ وقد قيل إن "المناقشة الساخنة" (سواء وجهاً لوجه أو عبر الإنترنت) ينبغي تشجيعها على تمكين الناخبين من التعامل مع السياسيين ، والتعبير عن الاختلاف ، وزيادة المشاركة في العملية السياسية.

تحقق من نفسك

لا يؤثر الفظاظة على المعتدي والضحية فقط ، بل على الآخرين. ويخضع الضحايا ل إجهاد. هذا العزلات والاحراج لهم ، ويمكن أن تقوض بهم الأداء في العمل. لكن المارة الذين يشهدون على السلوك يمكن أن يتأثروا سلبًا أيضًا ، ويعانون من الغضب والتهديد أداء. فقط تشهد حادثة واحدة من الفظاظة في الصباح يمكن أن تؤثر على الشخص لبقية اليوم ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة الحساسية للفظاظ (مما يجعلها أكثر ميلا إلى التفكير في الآخرين وقحا) ، وانخفاض القدرة على التركيز على الأهداف والرغبة في تجنب التفاعل مع الآخرين. هذه العواقب يجب أن تجعل الناس يفكرون مرتين قبل أن ينتقموا.

قضية أخرى هي الاقتراح القائل بأن الفظاظة تثير الفظاظة. معروف ب دوامة النحلة، تقول هذه الفكرة أن أولئك الذين يعانون من وقاحة من المرجح أن يستجيب في نوع. ومن المرجح أن يتصاعد تبادل الآراء والشتائم على كلا الجانبين ، مما قد يؤدي إلى العدوان أو العنف. وهكذا ، فإن ما يبدأ بطلاقة خفيفة نسبيا يمكن أن يتحول بسرعة إلى شيء مزعج للغاية.

هذا ما يحدث في السياسة الأمريكية اليوم. يستشهد الصحفيون والسياسيون على نحو متزايد بحوادث سابقة (على سبيل المثال ، إشارات ترامب المتكررة إلى السناتور الديمقراطي إليزابيث وارين) بوكاهونتاس) كأساس لأي فظاظة موجهة إلى الإدارة ، بما في ذلك الحادث الأخير حيث وزير الامن الداخلي تم الاستهجان من مطعم مكسيكي. ال الخطابة العدوانية في الارتفاعات الأخيرة ترامب هو علامة على أن الأمور بدأت في الوصول إلى مستوى منخفض جديد. ثم هناك العواقب الدبلوماسية لوقاحة ترامب تجاه الحلفاء المفترضين ، الذين يبدو أن الكثير من صبرهم ينفد.

المحادثةلذلك ، في حين أن الوقاحة قد تكون استراتيجية فعالة تمامًا في بعض السياقات العدائية ، إلا أنها لعبة خطيرة في نظر الجمهور. كل تعليق وقح أو تغريدة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى رد فعل عنيف وتقويض العلاقات الدبلوماسية - ويضع المواطنين في كل مكان خارج السياسة تماما.

ايمي ايروينمحاضر في علم النفس ، جامعة أبردين

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = الدبلوماسية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Does Rudeness Have A Legitimate Place In Politics?

politics

Does Rudeness Have A Legitimate Place In Politics?

Democrat and Republican working together on storm recovery for New Jersey

We live in an age of rude politicians. In the US, Donald Trump has periodically monopolised the headlines since 2015 with his rude and obnoxious behaviour, often showcased via Twitter or at international summits, where he has pushed presidents out of his way and left his counterparts visibly exasperated. His behaviour seems to be incurring an etiquette backlash against his administration: in June 2018, his press secretary, Sarah Huckabee Sanders, was publicly asked to leave a restaurant because her work for the Trump administration put her at odds with the restaurant staff.

These incidents, and more besides, have prompted calls for increased civility in politics in the US and elsewhere. But should we really attempt to eradicate rudeness – or does it have an important role to play?

In British politics, for one, there is a long history of politicians being openly rude to each other, including in parliament itself. In the last several years, it has arguably hit new heights (or, depending on your view, depths). In 2010, Prime Minister David Cameron was slated by the press for his rudeness – what he himself referred to as “yah-boo style” – during prime minister’s questions.

Cameron was known to deploy every tactic from character assassination (“The truth is he is weak and despicable”, he said to Ed Miliband in 2015) to outright mockery (“If the prime minister is going to have pre-prepared jokes, I think they ought to be a bit better than that one – probably not enough bananas on the menu” – this to Gordon Brown in 2010, mocking his opponent’s dietary choices).

But while Cameron was often castigated for his behaviour, he was far from an outlier, and his behaviour did not occur in a vacuum. The House of Commons’s benches are organised in such a way that confrontation is encouraged, and adversarial style is both encouraged and expected by members of parliament. The demands of political tactics force opposing parliamentarians into a stark choice: circumvent an awkward question or put your opponent on the back foot.

The strategic use of rudeness is a common feature of political discourse around the world. It’s a tool used to contest negative publicity, as in the case of Dan Rather’s 1988 interview with George H. W. Bush, where the then-vice president infamously yelled at the interviewer to dispel his image as a weak leader. Rudeness can also be utilised to attack the “face” or self-image of your adversary, consequently raising your own status: ultimately, a zero sum game.

Rudeness is also a useful way to curb others’ behaviour or challenge their political views with as much force as possible. When used to communicate anger and disapproval, and to harden one’s refusal to cooperate, it’s a useful tool for voters who want to change their representatives’ behaviour.

It can also be a useful release valve for negative emotions. Some researchers suggest that such behaviours aren’t rude when considered in the context of political discourse; it has been argued that “heated discussion” (both face to face and online) should be encouraged to enable voters to engage with politicians, express disagreement and heighten engagement with the political process.

Check yourself

Rudeness affects not just aggressor and victim, but others besides. It subjects victims to stress; it isolates and embarrasses them, and can undermine their performance at work. But bystanders who witness the behaviour can also be adversely affected, experiencing anger and compromised performance. Just witnessing one incident of rudeness in the morning can affect a person for the rest of the day, producing increased sensitivity to rudeness (making them more predisposed to think others are being rude), reduced ability to focus on goals and a desire to avoid interacting with others. These consequences should make people think twice before lashing out.

Another issue is the suggestion that rudeness begets rudeness. Known as the incivility spiral, this idea holds that those who experience rudeness are likely respond in kind. The exchange of slights and insults is then likely to escalate on both sides, potentially leading to aggression or violence. And so what begins as relatively mild rudeness can quickly turn into something highly unpleasant.

This is what’s happening in American politics today. Journalists and politicians are increasingly citing past incidents (say, Trump’s repeated references to Democratic Senator Elizabeth Warren as Pocahontas) as the basis for any rudeness directed towards the administration, including a recent incident where the homeland security secretary was booed out of a Mexican restaurant. The aggressive rhetoric at recent Trump rallies is a sign that things are getting to a new low. Then there are the diplomatic consequences of Trump’s rudeness towards supposed allies, many of whom seem to be running out of patience.

The ConversationSo while rudeness might be a perfectly effective strategy in some adversarial contexts, it’s a dangerous game to play in the public eye. Every rude comment or tweet can incur aggressive retaliation and undermine diplomatic relations – and put citizens everywhere off politics altogether.

Amy Irwin, Lecturer in Psychology, University of Aberdeen

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Diplomacy (Touchstone Book)
politicsAuthor: Henry Kissinger
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
List Price: $25.00

Buy Now

Diplomacy: Theory and Practice
politicsAuthor: G.R. Berridge
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
List Price: $41.00

Buy Now

Diplomacy: Communication and the Origins of International Order
politicsAuthor: Robert F. Trager
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
List Price: $34.99

Buy Now

politics
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}