ما الذي يجعل الهواتف الذكية الذكية؟

ما الذي يجعل الهواتف الذكية الذكية؟Pathdoc / Shutterstock.com

هل سبق أن كان هناك اختراع مكتمل جدا لحياتنا ، وحميمي جدا ، مثل الهاتف الذكي؟ ومع ذلك فهي أشياء زلقة. تعد الهواتف الذكية تغييرًا في قدرة البشر على التواصل مع بعضهم البعض والتعرف عليهم ، ونقطة ضعف جديدة لاختراق العالم الخارجي. فهي في الوقت نفسه تعويذات لحريتنا واتصالنا ورموز الشركات التي تجمع بياناتنا وتؤثر على خصوصيتنا.

أنا عالم أنثروبولوجيا ، وأنا جزء من فريق البحث حاليا هذه القضايا. نحن نحاول الإجابة عن سؤال بسيط للغاية: ما هو الهاتف الذكي؟ قد يبدو غريباً أن تحاول مجموعة من الأكاديميين المتخصصين في دراسة العلاقات الاجتماعية ذلك ، لكن ربما نكون النوع الوحيد من الخبراء الذين يستطيعون الإجابة على هذا السؤال.

لماذا ا؟ حسنا ، أبل يجعل من اي فون ، سامسونج المجرة. هذه الهواتف ذات القدرة على أن تكون ذكية. ولكن ما يجعلها ذكية بالفعل تأتي من الأسفل: من اعتمادها من قبل المستخدمين. عدد قليل جدًا من الأشخاص ، إن وجدوا ، يقيدون أنفسهم بالتطبيقات التي تأتي مع هواتفهم. بدلاً من ذلك ، ينشئ كل شخص تهيئة جديدة من تطبيقات إضافية وإعدادات تم تغييرها. تعمل الذكاء الاصطناعي والخوارزميات بدورها على تسهيل قدرة الهاتف على التعلم من الاستخدام الفردي المحدد له. لمعرفة ما يتطلبه الهاتف الذكي من مراقبة كيفية ظهوره من خلال هذه العمليات.

نحن نتخذ وجهة نظر عالمية على الهاتف الذكي ، ونحقق في نوع الأشخاص الذين ينشئون الهاتف في أماكن في البرازيل ، والكاميرون ، وشيلي ، والصين ، وأيرلندا ، وإيطاليا ، واليابان ، والقدس الشرقية وأوغندا. ينصب تركيزنا على الأشخاص في منتصف العمر. ندرس أيضًا كيف أن القدرات التي أنشأتها الهواتف الذكية يمكن أن تخفف من فقد القدرة المرتبط بصحة المرضى ومراقبة كيفية اتخاذ الهواتف للقيم الثقافية بالإضافة إلى القيم الشخصية.

لفهم الهاتف الذكي ، وهو تشابه مع daemon في فيليب بولمانقد تساعد روايات الشفق القطبي الشمالي. في عالم الشفق القطبي ، يملك البشر صورة حيوانية يمكن أن تتغير في الشباب ، لكنهم يستقرون بعد ذلك في الأنواع التي تعكس ذواتهم البالغة: وهي زيادة جانب من جوانب شخصيتهم أو مهنتهم. في آخر رواية بولمان ، لابيل سوفاج، على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تصبح خفياء Asta من أجل رؤية أفضل في الظلام. البرنامج خفي بعد متكامل. حتى أن تكون المسافة من الخفي يمكن أن يخلق وجع مؤلم.

وبالمثل ، لدينا علاقة ، وكذلك من خلال ، هواتفنا ، إلى الآخرين والعودة إلى أنفسنا. قد لا يكون قلقنا بشأن الهاتف الذي يتم تركه في المنزل دون قصد هو غياب الآلة فحسب ، بل خسارة مؤقتة لجزء من أنفسنا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


شياطين الهاتف

أقوم بتنفيذ الجزء الخاص بي من المشروع في أيرلندا ، حيث كنت أراقب كيف يصبح كل هاتف خفي شخص بعينه. على سبيل المثال ، يعبر هاتف الصياد المتقاعد عن الاكتفاء الذاتي العملي والقوي - يجب أن يكون كل استخدام مبرر من خلال قوانين صارمة للوظيفة. الآن لم تعد ابنته في أستراليا ، على سبيل المثال ، يُنظر إلى Skype على أنها غير ضرورية.

في هذه الأثناء فإن آيفون امرأة محترفة عمرها 10 سنوات في 69 هي أعجوبة. جميع تطبيقاتها موجودة في مجلدات متداخلة تحت عنوان التمويل والرياضة والأخبار والأدوات المساعدة. تتم جدولة كل مهمة ، مثل دفع فاتورة خدمات ، في تقويمها ، والتي ترتبط بملفات على دفتر ملاحظاتها تحدد كل خطوة من الإجراء ، وكلمات المرور والمواقع ذات الصلة. أصبح هاتفها دليلًا على الحياة لعدة مئات من الصفحات.

ثم هناك الهاتف الذي تهيمن عليه سبعة تطبيقات تتعلق كلها بشغف المالك للإبحار. أو الهاتف المخصص لرعاية المرأة التي تعتني بأمها العشر 90 مع الخرف. حشد الرعاية الأسرية من خلال WhatsApp ، وعرض صور للأحفاد عبر Facebook ، باستخدام الخرائط للوصول إلى موعد في المستشفى.

عادة ، يوظف هؤلاء الأشخاص بنشاط 25 إلى 30 وظائف مختلفة لصياغة هواتفهم الخاصة. قد يتضمن التخصيص تنزيل التطبيقات ، ولكن الأهم من ذلك هو تكييف الأنظمة الأساسية مثل WhatsApp والتقويم. وبهذه الطريقة ، يصبح الهاتف تجسدًا أو خفيًا لهذا المستخدم.

آلات أنثروبومورفيك

لأكثر من قرن من الزمان ، انبهرت الإنسانية بتطور الروبوت وقدرته على تحقيق خيالنا للآلة المجسمة - أي ، الآلات التي تبدو أو لها صفات إنسان. تم تصميم الروبوت ليكون آلة تصبح تشبه بشكل متزايد بالنسبة لنا في حين تبقى أخرى. لكن الهاتف الذكي يمثل مسارًا أكثر عمقًا وتطوراً نحو آلة التجسيم البشري - وهو جهاز ينطلق من خلال زيادة العلاقة الحميمة.

مخاوفنا حول الروبوتات ركزت تقليديا على مظهرها. نشعر بالتناقض حول شيء يبدو مثلنا. على النقيض من ذلك ، لا يبدو الهاتف الذكي على iota كإنسان. ليس لديها أسلحة ولا أرجل. بدلا من ذلك ، فإنه يحقق التنقل من خلال التنسيب في جيوب بنطلون أو حقائب اليد. يتقدم الإنسان من خلال هذه العمليات التعويضية ، والطريقة التي يمتد بها الهاتف إلينا ، وكذلك قدرته على تحويل الفرد الذي ينتمي إليه.

يمكن أن يسبب تزايد الحميمية للهواتف العديد من المشاكل. تلك المتعلقة بفقدان الخصوصية والسيطرة من قبل الشركات مألوفة. تعليم استخدام الهاتف لكبار السن يكشف عن غباء الهواتف. عندما يُطلب منك تنزيل تطبيق ، يقوم طلابي بالضغط على أيقونة تسمى "تنزيلات". يفترضون أن Google Play مخصص للألعاب. عندما يُطلب منهم الانتقال إلى الإنترنت ، لا يعرفون ما إذا كان هذا يعني استخدام الإنترنت من سامسونج أو Chrome أو OK Google أو أحد الإنترنت. أخبر الشباب كبار السن أن الهواتف الذكية بديهية. إنهم مخطئون تمامًا بشأن ذلك.

ما الذي يجعل الهواتف الذكية الذكية؟ماذا يقول هاتفك عنك؟ Georgejmclittle / Shutterstock.com

كل من هذه المشاكل والقدرات الجديدة تختلف حسب المنطقة. يحتضن كبار السن في شانغهاي الحداثة في الهاتف وفي مطعم قد يكونون هم الذين ينخرطون في هواتفهم ، في حين أن الشباب يتحادثون مباشرة مع بعضهم البعض. في اليابان ، بلد يمكن أن يحتجز فيه الناس جنازات للأشياء المادية، كان هناك بالفعل تقليد لجودة الأشياء الشبيهة بالأشياء وحميتها التي تعطي هذه العمليات معنى متميز.

للحصول على مناقشة مستنيرة حول استخدام ونتائج الهواتف الذكية ، نحتاج أولاً إلى معرفة ما هي ، من خلال فحص العمليات الثقافية والفردية ، وكذلك العمليات الفنية التي تجعلها ذكية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

دانييل ميلر ، أستاذ الثقافة المادية ، UCL

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = smart phone addiction؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What Makes Smartphones Smart?

technology

What Makes Smartphones Smart?Pathdoc/Shutterstock.com

Has there ever been an invention so integral to our lives, and so intimate, as the smartphone? Yet they are slippery things. Smartphones are both a step change in the ability of human beings to communicate with each other and become informed, and a new point of vulnerability to penetration by the outside world. They are at once talismans of our freedom and connectivity and tokens of the corporations who collect our data and impinge on our privacy.

I’m an anthropologist, and I’m part of a team currently researching these issues. We’re trying to answer a very simple question: what is a smartphone? It may seem odd that a group of academics who specialise in the study of social relations should attempt this, but we are perhaps the only type of experts who can answer this question.

Why? Well, Apple makes the iPhone, Samsung the Galaxy; these are phones with the capacity to be smart. But what really makes them smart comes from below: from their appropriation by users. Very few people, if any, restrict themselves to the apps that come with their phone. Instead, each person creates a new configuration from additional apps and changed settings. AI and algorithms in turn facilitate the phone’s ability to learn from their specific individual usage. To know what the smartphone is requires observing how it has come into being through these processes.

We are taking a global perspective on the smartphone, investigating what kind of phone people create in places in Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, China, Ireland, Italy, Japan, East Jerusalem and Uganda. Our focus is on people at mid-life. We also study how the capacities created by smartphones might mitigate the loss of capacity associated with ill-health and observe how phones take on cultural as well as personal values.

To understand the smartphone, an analogy with the daemon in Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights novels may help. In the Northern Lights world, human beings have an animal avatar that can change in youth, but then settles into the species best reflecting their adult self: augmenting an aspect of their personality or profession. In Pullman’s latest novel, La Belle Sauvage, for example, the daemon Asta can become an owl in order to see better in the dark. The daemon is external yet integral. Even being a distance from one’s daemon can create a painful wrench.

Similarly, we have a relationship to, as well as through, our phones, to others and back to ourselves. Our anxiety about a phone accidentally left at home may not just be the absence of a machine, but a temporary loss of part of ourselves.

Phone daemons

I’m carrying out my own part of the project in Ireland, where I have been observing how each phone becomes that particular person’s daemon. A retired fisherman’s phone, for example, expresses rugged and practical self-sufficiency – all usage must be justified by strict canons of function. Now his daughter is no longer in Australia, for example, Skype is seen as superfluous.

The iPhone of a 69-year-old professional woman, meanwhile, is a marvel. All her apps are in nested folders labelled finance, sports, news, and utilities. Each task, such as paying a utility bill, is scheduled in her calendar, which links to files on her notebook outlining each step of the procedure, relevant passwords and websites. Her phone has become a life manual of several hundred pages.

Then there is the phone dominated by seven apps all related to the owner’s passion for sailing. Or the caring phone devoted to helping a woman look after her 90-year-old mother with dementia; mobilising family care through WhatsApp, showing pictures of grandchildren through Facebook, using maps to reach a hospital appointment.

Typically, these people actively employ 25 to 30 different functions to craft their specific phones. Personalisation may involve downloading apps, but far more important is the adaptation of platforms such as WhatsApp and calendar. In this way, the phone becomes an avatar or daemon of that user.

Anthropomorphic machines

For more than a century, humanity has been fascinated by the development of the robot and its potential to realise our imagination of the anthropomorphic machine – that is, machines that look like or have the qualities of a human being. The robot is conceived to be a machine that becomes increasingly similar to us while remaining other. But the smartphone represents a more profound and advanced trajectory towards the anthropomorphic machine – one that proceeds through increasing intimacy.

Our concerns about robots have traditionally focused upon their appearance. We feel ambivalence about something that looks like us. By contrast, a smartphone looks not one iota like a human being. It has no arms and no legs. Instead, it achieves mobility through placement in trouser pockets or handbags. Anthropomorphism is advanced through these more prosthetic processes, the way the phone extends us, as well as its ability to transform the individual it belongs to.

The increasing intimacy of phones can also cause many problems. Those relating to the loss of privacy and control by corporations are familiar. Teaching phone usage to older people reveals the stupidity of phones. When asked to download an app, my students press an icon called downloads. They assume Google Play is for games. When asked to go on the internet, they don’t know if this means Samsung internet, Chrome, OK Google, or one called Internet. The young tell older people that smartphones are intuitive. They are quite wrong about that.

What Makes Smartphones Smart?What does your phone say about you? Georgejmclittle/Shutterstock.com

Both these problems and the new capacities vary by region. Older people in Shanghai embrace the phone’s modernity and in a restaurant they may be the ones engrossed in their phones, while the young people chat directly to each other. In Japan, a country where people may hold funerals for material things, there was already a tradition of the daemon-like quality of objects and their intimacy that give these processes a distinct meaning.

To have an informed discussion about the use and consequences of smartphones we first need to know what they are, through examining the cultural and individual, as well as the technical, processes that make them smart.The Conversation

About The Author

Daniel Miller, Professor of Material Culture, UCL

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

technology
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}