كيف الكلاب والقطط يمكن الحصول على يومهم في المحكمة

كيف الكلاب والقطط يمكن الحصول على يومهم في المحكمة
على الأقل في كونيتيكت ، يمكن للدعاة القانونيين الآن تمثيل مصالح الحيوانات التي أسيئت معاملتها.

في 2016، و بدأ مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي FBI بتتبع القسوة على الحيوانات، بما في ذلك الإهمال والتعذيب والاعتداء الجنسي ، بسبب صلات مزعجة.

"إذا كان شخص ما يؤذي حيوانًا ، فهناك فرصة جيدة أيضًا لإصابة الإنسان" جون تومسوننائب المدير التنفيذي للرابطة الوطنية للشيوخ. "إذا رأينا أنماطًا من إساءة معاملة الحيوانات ، فإن الاحتمالات هي أن شيئًا آخر يحدث."

لاحظت جمعيته وجود صلات بين إساءة معاملة الحيوانات وأنواع أخرى من الجرائم ، بما في ذلك العنف الأسري وإساءة معاملة الأطفال. في الواقع ، القتلة الجماعية جيفري داهمر ، تيد بندي، "بوسطن سترانغلر" ألبرت دي سالفو و "ابن سام" دافيد بيركوفيتش اعترفوا جميعا تعذيب وقتل الحيوانات في شبابهم - قبل وقت طويل من بدء قتل الناس.

الأدلة أكثر من مجرد حكايات. الباحثون مثل علماء النفس راندال لوكوود . فرانك ر قرروا أن الأشخاص الذين يتعاطون الحيوانات قد ينتقلون إلى إيذاء الناس. وبمقاضاة قساوات الحيوانات الوحشية بحزم ، يمكن لنظام العدالة أن يساعد في درء جرائم العنف ضد الناس. لكن هذه الجرائم التي ترتكب ضد الحيوانات غالباً ما تكون ضعيفة في محاكم الولايات.

استجابة لإخفاقات طويلة الأمد في مقاضاة مرتكبي أعمال القسوة على الحيوان وإصدار أحكام بحقهم ، طوّرت طريقة للمحامين وطلاب الحقوق للدفاع عن ضحايا الحيوانات. أعتقد أن هذا النهج يمكن أن يحل مشكلة إنقاص قوانين مكافحة القسوة وتحقيق العدالة للحيوانات.

حل

وبما أن المحاكم والمدعين العامين غالباً ما يكون لديهم قضايا أخرى تتعلق بجرائم ضد الناس أكثر مما يستطيعون التعامل معهم ، فإنهم غالباً ما يرفضون أو ينزلوا بحالات القسوة على الحيوانات أو يسمحون للمتهمين باستخدام برامج الاختبار - دون ترك أي سجل للجرائم.

بدون سجل ، يعامل المشتبه بهم الذين أساءوا الحيوانات بالفعل كمجرمين لأول مرة. وهم يعودون إلى مجتمعاتهم ، وغالباً ما يكون ذلك بدون سجل جرائمهم ، ويمكنهم تكرار أعمال العنف على الحيوانات - أو البشر.

في الواقع، أكثر من غيره هو جرائم القسوة على الحيوانات في كونيتيكت و بقية الأمة ينتهي دون محاكمة أو إدانة. هذا يترك الجناة دون تسجيل أو عواقب.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بحسب ال مكتب كونيتيكت للبحوث التشريعيةتم جلب جرائم 3,723 بموجب قانون الولاية الوحشي للحيوان من 2006 إلى 2016. ذهب 749 منهم فقط للمحاكمة ، ولكن في 93 في المئة من تلك الحالات تم العثور على المتهمين مذنبون.

لإثبات أن المدافعين القانونيين عن الحيوانات يمكن أن يقللوا من العبء على المحاكم ويزيدوا من إنفاذ القوانين المعادية للقساوة ، تعاونت مع ممثل ولاية كونيتيكت. ديانا أوربان، وهو ديمقراطي يمثل بلدة نورث ستونينغتون.

معا ، أنشأنا القانون المبتكر أن الحضري قدم ونصر. وضع هذا الإجراء برنامجًا يُمكِّن المحاكم من تعيين دعاة قانونيين لتمثيل مصالح العدالة في حالات القسوة على الحيوانات التي تشمل الكلاب والقطط.

تم إصدار هذا القانون في 2016 ، وهو أول قانون من نوعه في الولايات المتحدة ، وحسب علمنا ، فهو الأول من نوعه في أي مكان.

قانون ديزموند

دعا بشكل غير رسمي قانون ديزموند، تم تصميم النظام الأساسي الجديد لتعزيز ودعم جهود مكافحة القسوة. يسمى النظام الأساسي بعد مزيج الملاكم بيتبول الكلب في بلدة برانفورد ، كونيتيكت ، الذي تعرض للتعذيب وقتل في 2012. اليكس ووليرتواعترف ديزموند بالاعتداء لكنه سرعان ما شارك في برنامج اختبار إعادة تأهيل مسرّع محو الجريمة من سجله.

لا أعتقد أن إعادة التأهيل المعجل مناسبة في العديد من حالات القسوة على الحيوانات لأن الجرائم تكون خطيرة في الغالب ، وهناك نسبة عالية النكوص عن بعض المجرمينوفقا لصندوق الدفاع القانوني للحيوانات ، وهي مجموعة مناصرة. وكما رأينا مع العديد من القتلة المتسلسل ، قد يؤدي هذا النوع من السلوك إلى العنف ضد البشر.

من أجل دعم فرض قوانين أكثر صرامة على القوانين المعادية للقساوة ، ينشئ قانون ديزموند برنامجًا يسمح للمحاكم بتعيين طلاب قانون أو محاميين خاضعين للإشراف للعمل كمتطوعين. دعاة الحيوانات في حالات القسوة. هؤلاء الخبراء القانونيون يمثلون مصالح الحيوانات والعدالة ، وهو ما يعكس ممارسة معيارية بالفعل للأطفال الذين تعرضوا للإساءة أو القتل.

يدافع عن أبحاث الشرطة والسجلات البيطرية وخبراء المقابلات وتقديم التوصيات إلى المحاكم فيما يتعلق بالقضايا الوسيطة والنهائية في قضايا القسوة. تهدف إلى ضمان أن المحاكم تنظر في مصالح الحيوانات وتحميها. يتتبع المتطوعون من جيش ديزموند ، وهو مجموعة ناشطة ، جميع حالات القسوة في الولاية ويحضرون كل جلسة في المحكمة.

معارضة

كلا ال رابطة كونيتيكت الطبية البيطرية و ال الاتحاد كونيتيكت من نوادي الكلاب والمالكين المسؤولين عارض هذا القانون. وجادلوا بأن ذلك من شأنه أن يتداخل مع حقوق الملاك في معاملة الحيوانات على أنها ملكية بأي طريقة تختارها. كما زعموا أنه بإمكانهم تأسيس وضع قانوني للحيوانات أو لمناصريهم ، مما يؤدي إلىالأذى القانوني".

أنا لا أتفق مع كلا النقطتين. أولاً ، تعترف قوانين مكافحة القسوة القائمة بالفعل بأن الحيوانات تختلف عن الأشكال الأخرى للملكية من خلال طلب رعايتها الإنسانية و تجريم الإهمال والقسوة.

ثانياً ، يحاول المدافعون ضمان تطبيق القوانين القائمة ولكنهم لا يمثلون في الواقع أي حيوان مقيّد. لا يخلق القانون الجديد وضعًا قانونيًا للحيوانات ، وبالطبع لا تظهر الحيوانات في المحكمة. بدلاً من ذلك ، يقوم المدعي بإعلام المحكمة ، ويوصي بالنتائج التي تخدم مصالح العدالة. هذه الجهود تدعم التنفيذ القوي للقوانين المضادة للقسوة.

سجل حافل حتى الآن

منذ دخول قانون ديزموند حيز التنفيذ في أكتوبر 2016 ، تم تعيين المناصرين في حالات 16 - وكل ذلك يشمل الكلاب والقطط التي كانت ضحية القسوة. يعمل الطلاب في كلية الحقوق بجامعة كونكتيكت حاليًا على سبع من هذه الحالات تحت إشرافي.

القضية الأولى لاستخدام قانون ديزموند تورط المتهم متورط في المشاركة في مكافحة الكلاب ، وهو جناية قاسية الحيوانات في ولاية كونيتيكت. وبسبب افتقاره إلى سجل من الإدانات السابقة ، كان مؤهلاً للتقدم بطلب لبرنامج إعادة تأهيل معجل ، يمكن أن يكون من خلاله المدعى عليه الذي يستوفي شروط المحكمة ولا يرتكب جرائم إضافية اتهم الرسوم.

جادل تايلور هانسن ، وهو طالب تحت إشرافي ، بأن المدعى عليه لا ينبغي أن يكون مؤهلاً لبرنامج إعادة التأهيل المتسارع لأن الجريمة التي اتهم بها كانت خطيرة ومن المحتمل أن تتكرر.

سمح قاضي المحكمة العليا في ولاية كونيتيكت عمر وليامز للمدعى عليه باستخدام البرنامج. ومع ذلك ، كان القاضي يتقبل حججنا ومستعدًا لفرض شروطنا المقترحة على مدة البرنامج المدرسي لمدة عامين. على سبيل المثال ، قد لا يكون للمدعى عليه أي اتصال بالحيوانات ويجب أن يخضع لتقييم نفسي.

المحادثةيظهر هذا الجهد الرائد كيف يمكن للدعاة القانونيين للحيوانات التأثير على حالات القسوة على الحيوانات. ونأمل ، من خلال دعم المزيد من الملاحقات القضائية القوية وإصدار الأحكام ، ووضع سجلات جنائية للجناة ، يمكن للدعاة والنظام القضائي ردع مزيد من العنف ضد الحيوانات والناس.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيسيكا روبن ، أستاذ مساعد في القانون ، جامعة كونيتيكت

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = منع إساءة معاملة الحيوانات ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Dogs And Cats Can Get Their Day In Court

How Dogs And Cats Can Get Their Day In Court
At least in Connecticut, legal advocates can now represent the interests of abused animals. 

In 2016, the FBI started to track animal cruelty, including neglect, torture and sexual abuse, because of disturbing connections.

“If somebody is harming an animal, there is a good chance they also are hurting a human,” said John Thompson, the deputy executive director of the National Sheriffs’ Association. “If we see patterns of animal abuse, the odds are that something else is going on.”

His association has observed links between animal abuse and other types of crimes, including domestic violence and child abuse. Indeed, mass murderers Jeffrey Dahmer, Ted Bundy, “Boston Strangler” Albert DeSalvo and “Son of Sam” David Berkowitz all admitted to torturing and killing animals in their youth – long before they started killing people.

The evidence is more than anecdotal. Researchers like psychologists Randall Lockwood and Frank R. Ascione have determined that people who abuse animals may move on to hurting people. By vigorously prosecuting animal cruelty cases, the justice system could potentially help stave off violent crimes against people. But these animal cruelty offenses often get short shrift in state courts.

In response to longstanding failures to aggressively prosecute and sentence perpetrators of animal cruelty, I developed a way for lawyers and law students to advocate for animal victims. I believe this approach can solve the problem of underenforcement of anti-cruelty laws and achieve justice for animals.

A solution

Since courts and prosecutors often have more cases involving crimes against people than they can handle, they often dismiss or drop animal cruelty cases or allow defendants to use probationary programs – leaving no record of the offenses.

Without a record, suspects who have already abused animals are treated as first-time offenders. They return to their communities, often without a record of their offenses, and can repeat acts of violence to animals – or humans.

In fact, most animal cruelty offenses in Connecticut and the rest of the nation end without trial or conviction. This leaves perpetrators without a record or consequences.

According to the Connecticut Office of Legislative Research, 3,723 offenses were brought under the state’s animal cruelty statute from 2006 to 2016. Only 749 of them went to trial, but in 93 percent of those cases the defendants were found guilty.

To demonstrate that legal advocates for animals can reduce the burden on courts and increase the enforcement of anti-cruelty statutes, I teamed up with Connecticut State Representative Diana Urban, a Democrat who represents the town of North Stonington.

Together, we created an innovative law that Urban introduced and championed. This measure instituted a program that empowers courts to appoint legal advocates to represent the interests of justice in animal cruelty cases involving dogs and cats.

Enacted in 2016, it’s the first law of its kind in the U.S. and, as far as we know, it’s the first anywhere.

Desmond’s Law

Informally called Desmond’s Law, the new statute is designed to strengthen and support anti-cruelty efforts. The statute is named after a boxer pitbull mix dog in the town of Branford, Connecticut, who was tortured and killed in 2012. Alex Wullaert, who owned Desmond, admitted to the wrongdoing but then took part in an accelerated rehabilitation probation program that erased the offense from his record.

I don’t believe that accelerated rehabilitation is appropriate in many animal cruelty cases because the offenses are often serious, and there is a high rate of recidivism for certain offenders, according to the Animal Legal Defense Fund, an advocacy group. And, as seen with many serial killers, this kind of behavior may lead to violence against humans.

To support more vigorous enforcement of anti-cruelty statutes, Desmond’s Law creates a program that allows courts to appoint supervised law students or lawyers to serve as volunteer advocates for animals in cruelty cases. These legal experts represent the interests of animals and justice, mirroring a practice that is already standard for children who have been abused or killed.

Advocates research police and veterinary records, interview experts and present recommendations to courts regarding intermediate and final issues in cruelty cases. They aim to ensure that courts consider and protect animal interests. Volunteers from Desmond’s Army, an activist group, track all cruelty cases in the state and attend every court hearing.

Opposition

Both the Connecticut Veterinary Medical Association and the Connecticut Federation of Dog Clubs and Responsible Owners opposed this law. They argued that it would interfere with owners’ rights to treat animals as property in any manner they choose. They also claimed it could establish legal standing for animals or their advocates, leading to “legal mischief.”

I disagree with both points. First, existing anti-cruelty laws already recognize that animals differ from other forms of property by requiring their humane care and criminalizing neglect and cruelty.

Second, advocates try to ensure that existing laws are enforced but do not actually represent a litigating animal. The new law does not create legal standing for animals and, of course, the animals don’t appear in court. Instead, the advocate informs the court, and recommends outcomes that serve the interests of justice. These efforts support vigorous enforcement of anti-cruelty statutes.

The track record so far

Since Desmond’s Law took effect in October 2016, advocates have been appointed in 16 cases – all involving dogs and cats who were victims of cruelty. Students at the University of Connecticut School of Law are currently working on seven of these cases under my supervision.

The first case to use Desmond’s Law involved a defendant accused of engaging in dogfighting, which is a felony animal cruelty offense in Connecticut. Lacking a record of prior convictions, he was eligible to apply for an accelerated rehabilitation program, through which a defendant who complies with court conditions and does not commit additional offenses may have charges dismissed.

Taylor Hansen, a student under my supervision, argued that the defendant should not be eligible for the accelerated rehabilitation program because the crime of which he was accused was serious and likely to recur.

Connecticut Superior Court Judge Omar Williams allowed the defendant to use the program. The judge was, however, receptive to our arguments and willing to impose our suggested conditions on the defendant’s probationary two-year program term. For example, the defendant may not have any contact with animals and must undergo a psychological assessment.

The ConversationThis pilot effort shows how legal advocates for animals can influence animal cruelty cases. Hopefully, by supporting more vigorous prosecution and sentencing, and establishing criminal records for perpetrators, advocates and the justice system can deter further violence against animals and people.

About The Author

Jessica Rubin, Assistant Clinical Professor of Law, University of Connecticut

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

We did not find any matches for your request.

zh-CNtlfrdehiidptes

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}