ذات مرة: البحث ، الطيران ، وحب الشباب

ذات مرة: البحث ، الطيران ، وحب الشباب

نقول لأنفسنا العلم ملك ، لكن فهمنا للعالم يتشكل من خلال القصة. نخبر القصص عن الماضي ونطلق عليه التاريخ. نخبر القصص عن الحاضر ونسميها الأخبار. تدعى قصصنا حول كيفية التصرف والتفكير والعيش الثقافة. وتسمى قصصنا حول كيفية عمل العالم الطبيعي بالعلوم.

يمكننا أن نحكي أن العلم قصة بسبب تغيرها بمرور الوقت. الأرض مسطحة. إنها الآن مستديرة. الطائرات مستحيلة. الآن هم شائعون. العالم الطبيعي لم يتغير ، لكن فهمنا له لم يحدث. سيكون من السذاجة الاعتقاد بأن قصتنا الحالية هي صورة كاملة لكيفية حدوث الأمور.

كل قصة لديها حكواتي. مثل موسيقي يستحضر قطعة موسيقية جديدة إلى الوجود ، هو راوي القصص الذي يقرر من الشخصيات الرئيسية ، حيث ستبدأ القصة ، وكيف ستنتهي ، وكل التفاصيل بينهما. راوي القصص هو المسؤول عن تحديد القصص التي يجب اتباعها ، والتي ستتجاهلها ، والتي سيتم تجاهلها بالكامل. في معظم الحالات ، تحتوي القصة على العديد من رواة القصص الذين تتشابك أصواتهم معًا في تنافر بين التأكيدات والأفكار المتداخلة. الأمر متروك للجمهور ليقرر أي إصدار ليتم سرده.

قصة حب الشباب

قصة حب الشباب الشائعة اليوم تقول شيئاً كهذا: عندما تصبح مسامك مسدودة بخلايا الجلد الميتة وغيرها من الحطام ، فإنها تحبس الزيت والبكتيريا في جلدك مسببة عدوى في شكل كسر. القصة لديها اختلافات. في بعض الأحيان ، تشارك الهرمونات ، وأحيانًا لا تكون كذلك. في بعض الأحيان يتعلق الأمر بالوراثة ، وأحيانًا لا تكون كذلك. النظام الغذائي في بعض الأحيان هو الزناد ، ولكن الجميع يختلف. جانب واحد مشترك من قبل هذه القصص حب الشباب هو عدم وجود نهاية سعيدة - لا يوجد علاج لحب الشباب المزمن ، فقط العلاج المستمر.

مع قصة حب الشباب ، فإن رواة القصص المسيطرين هم علماء إحصائيون. كأطباء متخصصون في اضطرابات البشرة ، يقوم علماء الأمراض الجلدية بسحب رموزهم الرئيسية من صفحات كتبهم الدراسية: المسام ، وخلايا الجلد ، والزهم (النفط). كلما ابتعدت الشخصية عن الجلد ، كلما قل احتمال قيام طبيب الأمراض الجلدية بتضمينها في القصة. يتم اختيار أبطالهم من حقيبة الطبيب النموذجية: الكريمات ، والحبوب ، والإبر. الخصوم هم الأشرار اليوم: الأوساخ والبكتيريا.

صوت رئيسي آخر في قصة حب الشباب هو صناعة العناية بالبشرة التجارية. جنبا إلى جنب مع أطباء الأمراض الجلدية ، هم مشغولون البحث عن المنتجات والعلاجات لعلاج حب الشباب والاستيلاء على جزء من السوق العالمية 120 مليار العناية بالبشرة. ولكن لكي يكون العلاج مربحًا ، يجب أن يكون قابلاً للتعبئة في زجاجات وبيعه أو إدارته في عيادة الطبيب. المعايير أعلى لأكبر مصدر للتمويل في أبحاث حب الشباب: صناعة الأدوية. إذا كان لا يمكن أن يكون براءة اختراع ، ما هي الفائدة؟

ولكن ماذا لو كان علاج حب الشباب لا يمكن تعبئته أو بيعه أو إدارته أو تسجيل براءة اختراعه؟ هل سنجدها؟ إذا كانت الشخصيات الرئيسية غير موجودة على سطح الجلد أو حتى مدرجة على ملصق المكوّن ، فهل سنلاحظ ذلك؟

قصة (جزئية) عني

أنا لست طبيب امراض جلدية ، خبير تجميل ، اختصاصي تغذية ، أو أي نوع آخر من المهنيين الصحيين. أنا اختصاصي استخبارات في مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي (FBI) في واشنطن العاصمة (الآراء المعبر عنها في هذا الكتاب هي كتابي وليست من مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي). قد تعتقد أنني مؤلف غير محتمل لكتاب عن حب الشباب ، ولكن بالنظر إلى خبرتي المهنية والتثقيفية ، أدرك الآن أنها مصممة خصيصًا لحل قضية كهذه.

كطالب جامعي في جامعة جورجتاون ، تخصصت في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والشؤون الدولية. إنني مفتون بالطرق التي نختارها لتطوير فهمنا العلمي ، ولماذا ترسخ أفكار معينة والبعض الآخر لا يفعل ذلك ، وكيف يتم الشعور بتداعيات التقدم العلمي على نطاق عالمي.

تابعت مهنة في الذكاء لأنه ، كطالب جامعي شاب في أواخر 1990s ، نظرت حول العالم ورأيت الإرهاب أكبر تهديد قادم لرفاهنا. بعد التخرج ، دخلت البحرية الأمريكية وانتقلت بعد ذلك إلى مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي كمحلل استخبارات.

خلال الفترة التي قضيتها في مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي ، تم اختياري لي ليكون باحثًا في برنامج فولبرايت في جامعة سانت أندروز في المملكة المتحدة ، حيث عملت كمساعد أبحاث في أليكس شميد ، الرئيس السابق لفرع منع الإرهاب في الأمم المتحدة. في سانت أندروز ، تخصصت في فرع من الدراسات الدولية بعنوان Constructivism ، والذي يتضمن كشف الافتراضات الخفية واستكشاف سيناريوهات بديلة من خلال تفكيك الخطاب واللغويات ، وبعبارة أخرى ، تحليل القصص.

بعد الانتهاء من دراستي الجامعية في اسكتلندا ، عرض علي منصب في شركة بوينغ في واشنطن العاصمة. يعتقد معظم الناس أن بوينغ شركة لتصنيع الطائرات ، ولكن لديها أيضاً فرع الاستخبارات والتحليلات. في شركة بوينج ، تعاقدت للعمل بدوام كامل في مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي ، حيث أقوم بتدريس صف استخبارات في كوانتيكو وسافر في جميع أنحاء البلاد لتقديم الدعم التحليلي لحالات FBI.

إن مجال خبرتي يساعد المحققين على كشف المعلومات المهمة من خلال مساعدتهم في طرح الأسئلة. يتضمن تحليل الذكاء أكثر من مجرد جمع "الحقائق" وتجميعها في منتج نهائي. يميل الناس إلى التفكير في التحليل على أنه لغز ، لكنه أشبه بمحاولة تجميع لغز عندما يكون نصف القطع مفقودة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لأسباب قد تكون أو لا تكون ضارة في الطبيعة ، شخص مختلط في قطع مصممة لتبدو وكأنها تنتمي إلى لغتك عندما لا تفعل ذلك في الواقع. بالإضافة إلى عدم وجود صورة أعلى المربع لتوجيه جهودك.

التحدي: معلومات غير كافية

سواء تحليل سبب حب الشباب أو مدى التهديد الإرهابي ، فإن تحديات التحليل المدروس كبيرة. أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي تجعل تحليل الاستخبارات صعبًا جدًا لأنه يتعامل مع البيانات الغامضة وغير المكتملة. عندما نواجه معلومات غير كافية ، نعتمد على بعض العمليات العقلية اللاواعية لتفسيرها. نريد أن نؤمن بأن تفكيرنا يسترشد بالعقلانية والمنطق ، لكن دراسات علم النفس (والتاريخ) تظهر خلاف ذلك.

لا يعتمد دماغ الإنسان على الحقيقة بل على النماذج العقلية - وهي نوع من القصص التي نقولها لأنفسنا - لفهم العالم. هذه النماذج ضرورية في عمل حياتنا اليومية ، ولكنها تؤدي أيضًا إلى عوائق إدراكية شائعة. يقضي المحترفون المحترفون حياتهم المهنية في محاولة تطوير مجموعات المهارات للمساعدة على تجنب هذه الفخاخ التحليلية. نحن لم ننجح بالكامل ، لكن يمكن تحقيق المكاسب في المحاولة.

In علم نفس تحليل الذكاء, يشرح المخضرم ريتشارد هيور (2013) أحد أهم المبادئ الأساسية للإدراك الذي يؤثر على التحليل: "نميل إلى إدراك ما نتوقع إدراكه". (لاحظنا أننا نرى ما توقع لنرى ، ليس ما نحن تريد هذا المبدأ الأساسي للنظرية التحليلية معروف جيداً ، وما زلنا متفاجئين عندما نمسك به في العمل ، خاصة في أنفسنا.

ولعل أشهر تجربة من هذا النوع قام بها كريستوفر شابريس ودانيال سيمونز (2009). إذا كنت غير معتاد على عملهم ، فقد تجد أنه من المفيد المشاركة في التجربة بنفسك عن طريق مشاهدة الفيديو الثاني والتسعين. (لكن افعلها الآن دون قراءة كلمة واحدة إضافية وإلا فإن نتائجك ستكون منحرفة. سأمضي ، سأنتظر ...)

تُظهر التجربة أن نصف آلاف الأشخاص المكلفين بحساب عدد الممرات في مقطع فيديو لكرة السلة يفشلون في ملاحظة شخص يرتدي بدلة غوريلا يسير في منتصف المرحلة ويضرب بقبضاته على صدره. الناس الذين يفوتهم رؤية الغوريلا يصرون على أنه لم يكن هناك عندما قيل لهم عن ذلك بعد ذلك. وكما يوضح دانيال كانيمان ، عالم النفس ، فإن دراسة الغوريلا توضح نقطتين مهمتين حول عقولنا: "يمكننا أن نكون عميانًا لما هو واضح ، ونحن أيضًا أعمى عن عمىنا" (2011 ، 24).

الغوريلا الخفية على مرحلة حب الشباب

في الكتابة سبب خفي من حب الشباب, أملي هو جعل الغوريلا غير مرئية على المسرح. عندما تعرف أن تبحث عنه ، من الصعب أن تفوته. بعد أن عانيت من حب الشباب الكيسي لأكثر من عشرين عاما ، أحيانا أتساءل نفسي لماذا استغرق الأمر وقتا طويلا لوضع القطع معا. لكن الإدراك المتأخر هو نوع الانحياز الخاص بها.

بعض الناس قد يرفضون تجربتي مع حب الشباب كقصصي أو نذل في فكرة كتاب صحي كتبه غير محترف. أفضل تصويري لهذا المفهوم هو الأفضل.

المهندسين والحكايات: قصة حب

كان على صموئيل ب. لانغلي أن يخترع الطائرة. شغل مساعدًا في مرصد كلية هارفارد ، ودرّس الرياضيات في الأكاديمية البحرية الأمريكية ، وكان ضيفًا متكررًا في البيت الأبيض ، وعين أمينًا لمؤسسة سميثسونيان في 1887. في محاولة لإنشاء أول آلة طيران مأهولة في العالم ، أمضى لانغلي عقدًا من الزمن في دراسة حقل أبحاث الطيران الناشئ قبل الحصول على منحة بقيمة $ 50,000 من وزارة الحرب لتطوير تصميم المطار الخاص به. كان أكبر مشروع بحثي تم تمويله من قبل القسم في ذلك الوقت.

كان لانغلي الوصول إلى كبار العلماء في العالم وأحدث الأبحاث التقنية. كان لديه دعم مالي كبير ودعم كامل من حكومة الولايات المتحدة (هل تبدو هذه القصة مألوفة؟). ولكن بعد سبعة عشر عامًا من الجهود ، لم يتمكن لانغلي من معرفة تفاصيل صغيرة: كيفية جعل شيء الرتق يطير.

من ناحية أخرى ، لم يكن لدى أورفيل و ويلبور رايت مزايا تنافسية مماثلة. لم يكن لدى أي منهما تعليم جامعي. من الناحية الفنية ، لم يكن لديهم حتى دبلوم المدارس الثانوية. قاموا بتمويل اهتمامهم في ماكينات الطيران مع عائدات من متجر الدراجات الخاصة بهم بينما كانوا يعملون على بناء أول طائرة في العالم كهواية في أوقات فراغهم. عندما أرادوا الحصول على معلومات عن أحدث أبحاث الطيران ، كان أفضل خيار لديهم هو إرسال طلب مكتوب إلى الحكومة عبر خدمة البريد الأمريكي ، ونأمل في الحصول على رد مفيد. على عكس لانغلي ، لم يكن بمقدورهم حتى الارتقاء بالأفكار عن أفضل صديق لهم ، ألكسندر غراهام بيل ، عندما واجهوا تحديًا مميّزًا في التصميم.

ومع ذلك ، في ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، 17 ، 1903 ، مع وسائل الإعلام وجميع خبراء الطيران المحترمين الذين يفتقرون إلى الحضور بشكل ملحوظ ، طارت آلة الطيران المأجورة من الأخوين رايت لمدة تسع وخمسين ثانية فوق الكثبان الرملية في كيتي هوك. استغرق الأخوان رايت أربع سنوات فقط لإنشاء رايت فلاير ، لكن الأمر استغرق ما يقرب من أربعين عاما من الحكومة الأمريكية للاعتراف بذلك رايت فلاير ، وليست لانغلي ايرودروم ، كانت أول طائرة تعمل بالطاقة البشرية قادرة على الطيران.

في كتابه الأكثر مبيعا براعة, يشرح روبرت غرين لماذا نجح الأخوان رايت في حين فشل صمويل لانغلي والحكومة الأمريكية. كان فريق لانغلي يتكون من متخصصين يركزون على صنع الأجزاء الأكثر كفاءة: المحرك الأقوى. أخف إطار الأجنحة الأكثر ديناميكية هوائية. كان لديهم طيار عسكري خبير أيضا. هذا النوع من التخصص يعني أن الشخص الذي صمم الأجنحة كان مختلفًا عن الشخص الذي اختبره في الهواء. كل عضو من أعضاء الطاقم كان يعرف تخصصه ، لكن كان بإمكانه فقط التفكير في كيفية تناسب جميع الأجزاء معًا بمفاهيم مجردة.

وعلى النقيض من ذلك ، قام الأخوان رايت بتصميم شخصيتهم بشكل شخصي ، وقاموا ببنائها ، وحلقت بها ، وتحطمت ، التقطت القطع ، وصممتها مرة أخرى. سمحت لهم هذه العملية بالكشف السريع عن العيوب في تصميمهم وطرق عملهم. كما يقول غرين ، "أعطت لهم شعور بالنسبة للمنتج الذي لا يمكن أن يكون أبداً في الملخص "(2012 ، 219).

نأمل أن يكون القياس الذي أقوم به بين اكتشاف الطائرة وعلاج حب الشباب هو أن يصبح واضحا. في قصتنا حول ولادة الطيران (ونعم ، هناك إصدارات أخرى من القصة حيث طارت آلات طيران أخرى لأول مرة) ، نرى كيف كان نهج الأخوين رايت ناجحا لأنه دمج نظرية الطيران مع العالم المادي بطريقة لانغلي النهج لم يفعل ذلك. هذا النهج نفسه يمكن تطبيقه على مشكلة حب الشباب. ويخلص جرين إلى أنه "مهما كان ما تقوم بتصميمه أو تصميمه ، فيجب اختباره واستخدامه بنفسك. يؤدي فصل العمل إلى فقدان الاتصال مع وظائفه "(2012 و 219). لقد فهم الأخوان رايت طائرتهما من الداخل إلى الخارج. لم يكن مجرد شيء صممه وبناه. كان شيئا ما شهدت.

التحدي: عدم وجود أي خبرة شخصية

تجربة حب الشباب تفتقر بالكامل إلى البحث عن حب الشباب. يتم رفض الحسابات الفردية باعتبارها قصصية (بمعنى ازدرائي) ولا تستحق النظر في دراسة جادة للموضوع. بدلا من تعدين الأدلة النادرة عن القرائن ، ينشغل باحثو حب الشباب بإنتاج تجارب غالية التعمية مزدوجة التعمية ، ذات تحكم بالغفل ، ومعالجة عشوائية للعلاجات القابلة للنشر في المجلات التي يراجعها الأقران. أو أنها تركز على التحليل الإحصائي للدراسات الوبائية التي تربك العلاقة مع السببية وتغفل التعقيدات الدقيقة المتأصلة في دراسة جسم الإنسان.

يميل المهندسون إلى عدم التركيز على هذا التمييز بين الأدلة القصصية و "المستندة إلى العلم". عندما يبدو أن شيئًا ما يعمل في العالم الحقيقي — حتى لو كان مجرد "مرة واحدة" في وقت ما - فإن الفضول يتولى أمره ، ويقومون بتجريبه واختباره وتكراره حتى قبل أن يعرفوه ، وقد جلبوا فكرة جديدة إلى الوجود. لم يخبر أحد الأخوين رايت أن آلة الطيران الخاصة بهم كانت حكايات.

بصفتك شخصًا يعاني من حب الشباب ، وليس مجرد دراسته بشكل مجردة ، لديك ميزة على صناعة العناية بالبشرة بأكملها في العثور على علاج. يمكنك اختبار نظرياتك ، وإجراء التعديلات ، واختبارها مرة أخرى بوتيرة "الخبراء" غير قادرين على المطابقة. أنت تعرف موضوع الاختبار الخاص بك أفضل من أي باحث خارجي من أي وقت مضى. تاريخها وأحاسيسها وبيئتها كلها مألوفة بالنسبة لك. ولأن حب الشباب هو شيء تواجهه ، فستفعل شعور عندما تكون في شيء ما أو عندما يكون هناك شيء غير صحيح حتى قبل تحديد السبب. في قصة حب الشباب ، لسنا العلماء. نحن المهندسين.

الحقيقة هي ما يقف اختبار التجربة.
- البرت اينشتاين

© 2018 بقلم ميليسا جاليكو. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
فنون الشفاء الصحافة. www.InnerTraditions.com

المادة المصدر

السبب المخفي لحب الشباب: كيف تؤثر المياه السامة على صحتك وما يمكنك فعله حيال ذلك؟
بواسطة ميليسا جاليكو.

السبب المخفي لحب الشباب: كيف تؤثر المياه السامة على صحتك وما يمكنك فعله حيال ذلك بواسطة ميليسا جاليكوتقدم دليلاً لتخليص نفسك من حب الشباب البالغين ، تظهر ميليسا جاليكو أنه من الممكن أن تلتئم بشرتك حتى عندما يفشل أطباء الأمراض الجلدية ووصاياهم. باستخدام مهاراتها في تحليل مخابرات الاستخبارات FBI ، تقوم ميليسا بتسجيل الأبحاث الحالية حول حب الشباب ، وتكشف أين ذهبت كل دراسة بشكل خاطئ وما فاتها. تشاركها نضالها الشخصي السنوي 20 مع حب الشباب الكيسي الشديد. وتشرح كيف ساعدتها رحلاتها حول العالم وعملها في مجال الاستخبارات على تحديد ما الذي تسبب في تفجرها المقاوم للمعالجة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي. متوفر أيضًا في إصدار Kindle.

عن المؤلف

ميليسا جاليكو ضابط سابق في الاستخبارات العسكرية ، باحث في برنامج فولبرايت ، وأخصائي استخبارات في مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي. وقد قامت بتدريس دروس لمحللي مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي في كوانتيكو وقدمت دعمًا استخباريًا لتحقيقات الأمن القومي لمكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي. تخرجت بمرتبة الشرف من جامعة جورجتاون وحصلت على درجة الماجستير من جامعة سانت أندروز في اسكتلندا.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = healing acne؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Once Upon a Time: Research, Flying, and Acne

Once Upon a Time: Research, Flying, and Acne

We tell ourselves science is king, but our understanding of the world is shaped through story. We tell stories about the past and call it history. We tell stories about the present and call it news. Our stories about how to act, think, and live are called culture. And our stories about how the natural world works are called science.

We can tell science is a story because of how it changes over time. The Earth is flat. Now it is round. Airplanes are impossible. Now they are commonplace. The natural world didn’t change, but our understanding of it did. It would be naive to think our current story is a complete picture of how things are.

Every story has a storyteller. Like a musician conjuring a new piece of music into existence, it is the storyteller who decides who the main characters will be, where the story will start, how it will end, and every detail in between. The storyteller is responsible for deciding which storylines to pursue, which to disregard, and which will be overlooked entirely. In most cases, a story has multiple storytellers whose voices weave together in a cacophony of overlapping assertions and ideas. It is up to the audience to decide which version to retell.

The Story of Acne

The story of acne commonly told today goes something like this: when your pores become clogged with dead skin cells and other debris, they trap oil and bacteria in your skin causing an infection in the form of a breakout. The story has variations. Sometimes hormones are involved, sometimes they are not. Sometimes genetics are involved, sometimes they are not. Sometimes diet is a trigger, but everyone is different. One aspect shared by these acne stories is the lack of a happy ending—there is no cure for chronic acne, only ongoing treatment.

With the story of acne, the dominant storytellers are -dermatologists. As physicians who specialize in disorders of the skin, dermatologists pull their main characters from the pages of their textbooks: pores, skin cells, sebum (oil). The farther away a character is from the skin, the less likely a dermatologist is to include it in the story. Their heroes are chosen from the typical doctor’s bag: creams, pills, needles. The antagonists are the villains du jour: dirt and bacteria.

Another major voice in the acne story is the commercial skincare industry. Together with dermatologists, they are busy researching products and treatments to cure acne and capture a portion of the $120-billion global skincare market. But for a treatment to be profitable, it must be capable of being bottled and sold or administered in a doctor’s office. The standards are even higher for the biggest source of funding in acne research: the pharmaceutical industry. If it can’t be patented, what’s the point?

But what if the cure for acne cannot be bottled, sold, administered, or patented? Would we ever find it? If the main characters are not present on the surface of the skin or even listed on an ingredient label, would we ever notice them?

The (Partial) Story of Me

I am not a dermatologist, an aesthetician, a nutritionist, or any other type of health professional. I’m an intelligence specialist at the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in Washington, D.C. (The opinions expressed in this book are mine and not those of the FBI.) You might think I am an unlikely author for a book on acne, but looking back at my career and educational experiences, I now realize they were perfectly tailored to solve a case like this one.

As an undergraduate student at Georgetown University, I majored in Science, Technology, and International Affairs. I am intrigued by the ways we choose to develop our scientific understanding, why certain ideas take hold and others do not, and how the repercussions of scientific advancements are felt on a global scale.

I pursued a career in intelligence because, as a young college student in the late 1990s, I looked around at the world and saw terrorism as the biggest upcoming threat to our well-being. After graduation, I entered the United States Navy and later transitioned to the Federal Bureau of Investigation as an intelligence analyst.

During my time at the FBI, I was selected to be a Fulbright scholar at the University of St. Andrews in the United Kingdom, where I worked as a research assistant to Alex Schmid, former head of the Terrorism Prevention Branch of the United Nations. At St. Andrews, I specialized in a branch of International Studies called Constructivism, which involves uncovering hidden assumptions and exploring alternative scenarios through the deconstruction of discourse and linguistics—in other words, the analysis of stories.

After completing my graduate degree in Scotland, I was offered a position at the Boeing Company in Washington, D.C. Most people think of Boeing as an airplane manufacturer, but it also has an Intelligence and Analytics branch. At Boeing, I was contracted to work full time at the FBI, where I instruct an intelligence class at Quantico and travel throughout the country providing analytical support for FBI cases.

My area of expertise is helping investigators uncover critical information by assisting them in asking questions. Intelligence analysis involves more than just collecting “the facts” and assembling them into a finished product. People tend to think of analysis as a puzzle, but it is more like trying to assemble a puzzle when half the pieces are missing. Additionally, for reasons that may or may not be malicious in nature, someone mixed in pieces designed to look like they belong to your puzzle when they actually do not. Plus there is no picture on top of the box to guide your efforts.

The Challenge: Inadequate Information

Whether analyzing the cause of acne or the extent of a terrorist threat, the challenges of thoughtful analysis are substantial. One of the main reasons intelligence analysis is so difficult is because it deals with ambiguous and incomplete data. When we are confronted with inadequate information, we rely on certain subconscious mental processes to interpret it. We want to believe our thinking is guided by rationality and logic, but studies of psychology (and history) show otherwise.

The human brain relies not on fact but on mental models—a type of story we tell ourselves—to make sense of the world. These models are essential in the functioning of our daily lives, but they also lead to common cognitive pitfalls. Professional analysts spend their careers trying to develop skill sets to help avoid these analytic traps. We never fully succeed, but gains can be made in trying.

In Psychology of Intelligence Analysis, a foundational work in the field, CIA veteran Richards Heuer (2013) explains one of the most fundamental principles of perception that affects analysis: “We tend to perceive what we expect to perceive.” (Notice he says we see what we expect to see, not what we want to see.) This basic tenet of analytic theory is well known, and still we are surprised when we catch it in action, especially in ourselves.

Perhaps the most famous such experiment was conducted by Christopher Chabris and Daniel Simons (2009). If you are unfamiliar with their work, you might find it worthwhile to participate in the experiment yourself by viewing their ninety-second video. (But do it now without reading a single word further or else your results will be skewed. Go ahead, I’ll wait . . .)

The experiment shows that half of the thousands of people tasked to count the number of passes in a basketball video fail to notice a person in a gorilla suit walking across the middle of the stage and beating his fists on his chest. People who miss seeing the gorilla insist it was not there when they are told about it afterward. As psychologist Daniel Kahneman explains, the gorilla study illustrates two important points about our minds: “we can be blind to the obvious, and we are also blind to our blindness” (2011, 24).

The Hidden Gorilla on the Acne Stage

In writing The Hidden Cause of Acne, my hope is to make apparent the invisible gorilla on the stage. Once you know to look for him, he is difficult to miss. After struggling with cystic acne for over twenty years, sometimes I wonder myself why it took me so long to put the pieces together. But hindsight is its own type of bias.

Some people might dismiss my experience with acne as anecdotal or balk at the idea of a health book written by a nonmedical professional. My response to such notions is best illustrated with a story.

Engineers and Anecdotes: A Love Story

Samuel P. Langley should have invented the airplane. He held an assistantship at the Harvard College Observatory, taught mathematics at the United States Naval Academy, was a frequent guest at the White House, and was named Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution in 1887. In an effort to create the world’s first manned flying machine, Langley spent a decade studying the fledgling field of aeronautics research before receiving a grant of $50,000 from the War Department to develop his Aerodrome design. It was the largest research project ever funded by the department at the time.

Langley had access to the top scientists in the world and the latest technical research. He had hefty financial backing and the full support of the United States government (does this story sound familiar?). Yet after seventeen years of effort, Langley was unable to figure out one little detail: how to make the darn thing fly.

Orville and Wilbur Wright, on the other hand, had no such competitive advantages. Neither brother had a college education. Technically, they didn’t even have high school diplomas. They funded their interest in flying machines with proceeds from their bicycle shop while they worked to build the world’s first airplane as a hobby in their spare time. When they wanted information on the latest aeronautics research, their best option was to send a written request to the government via the U.S. Postal Service and hope for a helpful response. Unlike Langley, they weren’t even able to bounce ideas off their best friend, Alexander Graham Bell, when they ran into a particularly vexing design challenge.

Yet on December 17, 1903, with the media and all esteemed aeronautical experts noticeably lacking in attendance, the Wright brothers’ manned flying machine flew for fifty-nine seconds over the dunes at Kitty Hawk. It took the Wright brothers just four years to create the Wright Flyer, but it took the U.S. government nearly forty years to admit the Wright Flyer, and not Langley’s Aerodrome, was the first manned, powered aircraft capable of flight.

In his bestselling book Mastery, Robert Greene explains why the Wright brothers succeeded while Samuel Langley and the U.S. government failed. Langley’s team was composed of specialists focused on making the most efficient parts: the most powerful engine; the lightest frame; the most aerodynamic wings. They had an expert military pilot too. This kind of specialization meant the person who designed the wings was different than the person who tested them in the air. Each crew member knew their specialty, but they could only think about how all the parts fit together in abstract terms.

In contrast, the Wright brothers personally designed their machine, built it, flew it, crashed it, picked up the pieces, and designed it again. This process allowed them to rapidly uncover flaws in their design and ways to work them out. As Greene states, “it gave them a feel for the product that could never be had in the abstract” (2012, 219).

Hopefully the analogy I am drawing between the discovery of the airplane and the cure for acne is starting to become clear. In our story about the birth of aviation (and yes, there are other versions of the story where other flying machines flew first), we see how the Wright brothers’ approach was successful because it merged aeronautical theory with the physical world in a way Langley’s approach did not. This same approach can be applied to the problem of acne. Greene concludes, “Whatever you are creating or designing, you must test and use it yourself. Separating out the work will make you lose touch with its functionality” (2012, 219). The Wright brothers understood their flying machine from the inside out. It wasn’t just something they designed and built. It was something they experienced.

The Challenge: Not Having Any Personal Experience

The experience of acne is wholly lacking in acne research. Individual accounts are dismissed as anecdotal (in a pejorative sense) and not worthy of consideration in serious study of the subject. Instead of mining anecdotal evidence for clues, acne researchers are preoccupied with producing expensive double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomized trials of prescribable treatments for publication in peer-reviewed journals. Or they focus on statistical analysis of epidemiological surveys that confuse correlation with causation and overlook nuanced complexities inherent in the study of the human body.

Engineers tend not to focus on this distinction between anecdotal and “science-based” evidence. When something seems to work in the real world—even if it was merely “once” upon a time—curiosity takes over and they tinker, test, and repeat until before they know it, they brought a new idea into being. No one told the Wright brothers their flying machine was anecdotal.

As someone who experiences acne, and not just studies it in the abstract, you have an advantage over the entire skincare industry in finding a cure. You can test your theories, make adjustments, and test them again at a pace the “experts” are incapable of matching. You know your test subject better than any outside researcher ever could; its history, its sensations, its environment are all intimately familiar to you. And because acne is something you experience, you will feel when you are onto something or when something is not right even before you identify the reason. In the story of acne, we are not the scientists. We are the engineers.

Truth is what stands the test of experience.
– Albert Einstein 

 ©2018 by Melissa Gallico. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Healing Arts Press. www.InnerTraditions.com

Article Source

The Hidden Cause of Acne: How Toxic Water Is Affecting Your Health and What You Can Do about It
by Melissa Gallico.

The Hidden Cause of Acne: How Toxic Water Is Affecting Your Health and What You Can Do about It by Melissa GallicoOffering a guide to freeing yourself from persistent adult acne, Melissa Gallico shows that it is possible to heal your skin even when dermatologists and their prescriptions have failed. Using her FBI intelligence analyst skills, Melissa chronicles the existing acne research, reveals where each study went wrong and what they missed. She shares her personal 20-year struggle with severe cystic acne. She explains how her travels around the world and her intelligence work helped her pinpoint exactly what was causing her treatment-resistant flare-ups.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book. Also available in a Kindle edition.

About the Author

Melissa Gallico is a former military intelligence officer, Fulbright scholar, and intelligence specialist at the Federal Bureau of Investigation. She has instructed classes for FBI analysts at Quantico and provided intelligence support for FBI national security investigations. She graduated with honors from Georgetown University and holds a master’s degree from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healing acne;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}