الكثير من الطعام مطعم لا يزال الطريق أيضا مالحة

الكثير من الطعام مطعم لا يزال الطريق أيضا مالحة

تظهر نظرة على عناصر القائمة من 66 من أفضل مطاعم سلسلة 100 أنه في حين أن المطاعم تقدم خيارات أقل من الصوديوم ، فإن الطعام - خاصة في مواد الدورة الرئيسية - لا يزال مرتفعاً.

يستهلك متوسط ​​العمر الأمريكي 19-50 أكثر من 3,700 mg من الصوديوم. ويرتبط الفائض بارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكتة الدماغية وأمراض القلب. وقد قرر خبراء الصحة أن انخفاض 1,200 mg في كمية الصوديوم اليومية يمكن أن ينقذ ما يصل إلى 92,000 ويصل إلى $ 25 مليون في تكاليف الرعاية الصحية سنويًا.

80٪ من استهلاك الصوديوم لدينا هو من تناول الطعام المعد خارج المنزل.

تقول جوليا ولفسون ، أستاذة مساعدة في إدارة الصحة والسياسة والعلوم الغذائية في جامعة ميتشيغان: "بشكل عام ، انخفض محتوى الصوديوم في عناصر القائمة التي تم إدخالها حديثًا بنحو 104 مليغرام". "ومع ذلك ، فإن متوسط ​​محتوى الصوديوم في عنصر القائمة الواحدة لا يزال أكثر من نصف الحد اليومي الموصى به من الصوديوم لـ 2,300 mg".

"تشير حقيقة أن عناصر القائمة الجديدة المنخفضة الصوديوم تشير إلى أنه من الممكن للمطاعم أن تخفض محتوى الصوديوم من طعامها ، ولكن حتى الآن ، كانت جهودها غير كافية. قد تكون المطاعم مترددة في إعادة صياغة عناصر القائمة الموجودة الشائعة لدى العملاء والتي تحدد علامتها التجارية ".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


باستخدام بيانات من مشروع MenuStat ، نظر الباحثون في عناصر قائمة 22,000 تقريبًا في مطاعم الوجبات السريعة وسريعة العرض (مثل Jimmy Johns و Panera) ، ومطاعم سلسلة الخدمات الكاملة من 2012 إلى 2016. تحتوي قاعدة البيانات على بيانات عن السعرات الحرارية والتغذية تم جمعها من مواقع الويب الخاصة بأكبر مطاعم 200 في الولايات المتحدة ، كما هو محدد في حجم المبيعات.

قارنوا محتوى الصوديوم في العناصر المتوفرة في 2012 إلى العناصر الجديدة المضافة في كل من السنوات الأربع القادمة. وأظهرت المطاعم ذات الخدمات الكاملة أكبر انخفاض في الصوديوم على المواد الجديدة (163 mg) ، يليها الوجبات السريعة (83 mg) ، والمطاعم السريعة (19 mg).

تظهر النتائج في المجلة الأمريكية للطب الوقائي.

لافتات تحذير؟

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث السابقة أن 80 في المئة من استهلاك الصوديوم لدينا هو من تناول الطعام أعد خارج المنزل. ثلث البالغين والأطفال يتناولون الوجبات السريعة كل يوم ، ونحو نصف جميع مشتريات الطعام خارج المنزل. لذلك ، فإن خفض محتوى الصوديوم في طعام المطاعم قد يكون له فوائد لصحة الأمريكيين ، كما يقول <وولفسون>.

منذ ما يقرب من عقد من الزمان ، دعت المنظمات الصحية الرائدة إلى مبادرة وطنية للحد من الملح ، والتي سعت إلى خفض استهلاك الصوديوم بنسبة 25 في المائة من 2009 إلى 2014. قد تكون هذه المبادرة قد حفزت العديد من المطاعم لتقديم خيارات غذائية صحية ، لكن الجهود التطوعية لم تكن كافية ، كما يقول <وولفسون>.

"إن طلب مطاعم سلسلة كبيرة لإضافة ملصقات التحذير من الصوديوم إلى قوائم الطعام يمكن أن يكون أداة مهمة لتحفيز المطاعم لتقليل محتوى الصوديوم في طعامهم ، وهي أداة معلومات هامة للمستهلكين. من غير المرجح في هذا الوقت لوائح اتحادية تتطلب علامات التحذير ، ولكن يمكن للدول والمدن تنفيذ هذه اللوائح بالتأكيد.

"مطعم الطعام معروف بدرجة عالية في الصوديوم - إنه أحد الأسباب التي تجعله طعمًا جيدًا للغاية".

"يمكن لوائح تنظيمية محلية وعامة ، بالإضافة إلى حملات التوعية العامة لزيادة وعي المستهلكين بمحتوى الصوديوم عالي الخطورة في طعام المطاعم ، زيادة طلب المستهلكين على خيارات الصوديوم الأقل ومطاعم سلسلة المطاعم لتخفيض الصوديوم طواعية في طعامهم".

في هذه الأثناء ، يجب أن يكون الناس على دراية بأن العديد من الأطعمة تحتوي على صوديوم مخبأ ، ويجب أن يطلبوا من المطاعم معلومات حول ما هو الطعام الذي يشترونه. قد لا تتم طباعته على القائمة ، ولكن معظم مطاعم السلسلة تحتوي على معلومات تغذوية متاحة.

ولديها نصيحة أخرى للمستهلكين.

"الطعام في المطعم معروف بدرجة عالية من الصوديوم - إنه أحد الأسباب التي تجعله طعمًا جيدًا جدًا. التحول من وجبات المطاعم إلى مزيد من الوجبات المعدة في المنزل المصنوع من المكونات الطازجة أو المعالجة بأقل حد ممكن سيساعد على تقليل الصوديوم في نظامك الغذائي.

Coauthors هي من كلية هارفارد TH تشان للصحة العامة وجامعة بيتسبرغ.

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = اتباع نظام غذائي قليل الملح ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Lots Of Restaurant Food Is Still Way Too Salty

Lots Of Restaurant Food Is Still Way Too Salty

A look at menu items from 66 of the top 100 chain restaurants shows that while restaurants are offering lower-sodium options, food—particularly in main course items—is still high.

The average American aged 19-50 consumes more than 3,700 mg of sodium. The excess has been linked to high blood pressure, stroke, and heart disease. Health experts have determined that a 1,200 mg drop in daily sodium intake could save as many as 92,000 lives and up to $25 million in health care costs annually.

80% of our sodium consumption is from eating food prepared outside of the home.

“Overall, sodium content of newly introduced menu items declined by about 104 milligrams,” says Julia Wolfson, assistant professor of health management and policy and of nutritional sciences at the University of Michigan. “However, among existing and new main-course items, the average sodium content of a single menu item is still more than half of the daily sodium recommended limit of 2,300 mg.”

“The fact that new, lower-sodium menu items are being introduced indicates that it is possible for restaurants to reduce the sodium content of their food, but that, thus far, their efforts have been insufficient. Restaurants may be reluctant to reformulate existing menu items that are popular with customers and that define their brand.”

Using data from the MenuStat project, researchers looked at nearly 22,000 menu items in fast-food, fast-casual (think Jimmy Johns and Panera), and full-service chain restaurants from 2012 to 2016. The database contains calorie and nutrition data gathered from websites of the 200 largest restaurants in the United States, as defined by sales volume.

They compared sodium content in items available in 2012 to new items added in each of the next four years. Full-service restaurants showed the largest reduction in sodium on new items (163 mg), followed by fast-food (83 mg), and fast-casual (19 mg) eateries.

The findings appear in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Warning labels?

Previous research has shown that 80 percent of our sodium consumption is from eating food prepared outside of the home. One-third of adults and children eat fast food every day and nearly half of all food purchases are outside of the home. Therefore, reducing the sodium content of restaurant food could have benefits for Americans’ health, Wolfson says.

Nearly a decade ago, leading health organizations called for a National Salt Reduction Initiative, which sought to reduce sodium consumption by 25 percent from 2009 to 2014. This initiative may have motivated many restaurants to offer healthier food options, but voluntary efforts have not been enough, Wolfson says.

“Requiring large chain restaurants to add sodium warning labels to their menus could be an important tool to incentivize restaurants to reduce the sodium content of their food, and are an important information tool for consumers. Federal regulations requiring warning labels are not likely at this time, but states and cities could certainly implement these regulations.

“Restaurant food is notoriously high in sodium—it’s one reason it tastes so good.”

“State and local labeling regulations, in combination with public awareness campaigns to increase consumer awareness about the dangerously high sodium content of restaurant food could increase consumer demand for lower sodium options and spur chain restaurants to voluntarily reduce the sodium in their food.”

In the meantime, people should be aware that many foods have hidden sodium, and they should ask restaurants for information on what is in the meals they are buying. It may not be printed on the menu, but most chain restaurants have nutrition information available.

And she has one other tip for consumers.

“Restaurant food is notoriously high in sodium—it’s one reason it tastes so good. Switching from restaurant meals to more meals prepared at home made with fresh or minimally processed ingredients will help reduce the sodium in your diet.”

Coauthors are from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and the University of Pittsburgh.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=low salt diet;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…