Viele Restaurant Essen ist immer noch viel zu salzig

Viele Restaurant Essen ist immer noch viel zu salzig

Ein Blick auf die Menüpunkte von 66 der Top-100-Kettenrestaurants zeigt, dass Restaurants zwar natriumarme Optionen anbieten, Essen aber - vor allem in Hauptspeisen - immer noch hoch ist.

Der durchschnittliche Amerikaner im Alter 19-50 verbraucht mehr als 3,700 mg Natrium. Der Überschuss wurde mit Bluthochdruck, Schlaganfall und Herzerkrankungen in Verbindung gebracht. Gesundheitsexperten haben festgestellt, dass ein Rückgang der täglichen Natriumzufuhr um 1,200 mg so viele Menschen wie 92,000 und bis zu $ ​​25 Millionen an Gesundheitskosten jährlich einsparen kann.

80% unseres Natriumkonsums stammt aus dem Essen außerhalb des Hauses.

"Insgesamt sank der Natriumgehalt der neu eingeführten Menüpunkte um etwa 104 Milligramm", sagt Julia Wolfson, Assistenzprofessor für Gesundheitsmanagement und -politik und Ernährungswissenschaften an der University of Michigan. "Unter den bestehenden und neuen Hauptgerichten ist der durchschnittliche Natriumgehalt eines einzelnen Menüelements jedoch immer noch mehr als die Hälfte des empfohlenen täglichen Natrium-Grenzwerts von 2,300 mg."

"Die Tatsache, dass neue, natriumärmere Menüpunkte eingeführt werden, deutet darauf hin, dass Restaurants den Natriumgehalt ihrer Lebensmittel reduzieren können, dass ihre Bemühungen bisher jedoch unzureichend waren. Restaurants zögern vielleicht, bestehende Menüpunkte, die bei Kunden beliebt sind und ihre Marke definieren, neu zu formulieren. "

Mithilfe von Daten aus dem MenuStat-Projekt untersuchten die Forscher fast 22,000-Menüelemente in Fastfood, Fast-Casual (Jimmy Johns und Panera) und Full-Service-Kettenrestaurants von 2012 bis 2016. Die Datenbank enthält Kalorien- und Nährstoffdaten, die auf Websites der größten 200-Restaurants in den USA nach Umsatzvolumen gesammelt wurden.

Sie verglichen den Natriumgehalt der in 2012 verfügbaren Artikel mit neuen Artikeln, die in den nächsten vier Jahren hinzugefügt wurden. Full-Service-Restaurants zeigten die größte Reduktion von Natrium bei neuen Produkten (163 mg), gefolgt von Fast-Food (83 mg) und Fast-Casual (19 mg) Restaurants.

Die Ergebnisse erscheinen in der American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Warnschilder?

Frühere Forschungen haben gezeigt, dass 80 Prozent unseres Natriumkonsums durch das Essen von außerhalb des Hauses zubereitetem Essen erreicht wird. Ein Drittel der Erwachsenen und Kinder essen jeden Tag Fast Food und fast die Hälfte aller Lebensmittelkäufe findet außerhalb des Hauses statt. Daher könnte die Reduzierung des Natriumgehalts von Restaurant-Lebensmitteln Vorteile für die Gesundheit der Amerikaner haben, sagt Wolfson.

Vor fast einem Jahrzehnt forderten führende Gesundheitsorganisationen eine nationale Initiative zur Salzreduzierung, die den Natriumverbrauch um 25 von 2009 auf 2014 reduzieren sollte. Diese Initiative könnte viele Restaurants motiviert haben, gesündere Nahrungsmittel anzubieten, aber freiwillige Bemühungen waren nicht genug, sagt Wolfson.

"Die Anforderung, dass große Kettenrestaurants Natriumwarnschilder in ihre Speisekarten aufnehmen, könnte ein wichtiges Instrument sein, um Restaurants Anreize zu bieten, den Natriumgehalt ihrer Lebensmittel zu reduzieren, und sie sind ein wichtiges Informationsinstrument für die Verbraucher. Bundesvorschriften, die Warnhinweise erfordern, sind derzeit nicht wahrscheinlich, aber Staaten und Städte könnten diese Vorschriften sicherlich umsetzen.

"Restaurant Essen ist notorisch hoch in Natrium-es ist ein Grund, es schmeckt so gut."

"Staatliche und lokale Etikettierungsvorschriften in Kombination mit Kampagnen zur Sensibilisierung der Öffentlichkeit für die Sensibilisierung der Verbraucher für den gefährlich hohen Natriumgehalt von Restaurantessen könnten die Verbrauchernachfrage nach niedrigeren Natriumoptionen erhöhen und Kettenreststätten dazu veranlassen, das Natrium in ihrer Nahrung freiwillig zu reduzieren."

In der Zwischenzeit sollten sich die Menschen bewusst sein, dass viele Lebensmittel Natrium enthalten, und sie sollten Restaurants nach Informationen zu den Mahlzeiten fragen, die sie kaufen. Es wird möglicherweise nicht auf der Speisekarte gedruckt, aber die meisten Kettenrestaurants haben Ernährungsinformationen zur Verfügung.

Und sie hat noch einen Tipp für die Verbraucher.

"Restaurant Essen ist notorisch hoch in Natrium - es ist ein Grund, warum es so gut schmeckt. Der Wechsel von Restaurantmahlzeiten zu mehr zu Hause zubereiteten Mahlzeiten mit frischen oder minimal verarbeiteten Zutaten hilft, das Natrium in Ihrer Ernährung zu reduzieren. "

Coauthors sind von der Harvard TH Chan Schule der öffentlichen Gesundheit und der Universität von Pittsburgh.

Quelle: University of Michigan

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = salzarme Diät; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Lots Of Restaurant Food Is Still Way Too Salty

Lots Of Restaurant Food Is Still Way Too Salty

A look at menu items from 66 of the top 100 chain restaurants shows that while restaurants are offering lower-sodium options, food—particularly in main course items—is still high.

The average American aged 19-50 consumes more than 3,700 mg of sodium. The excess has been linked to high blood pressure, stroke, and heart disease. Health experts have determined that a 1,200 mg drop in daily sodium intake could save as many as 92,000 lives and up to $25 million in health care costs annually.

80% of our sodium consumption is from eating food prepared outside of the home.

“Overall, sodium content of newly introduced menu items declined by about 104 milligrams,” says Julia Wolfson, assistant professor of health management and policy and of nutritional sciences at the University of Michigan. “However, among existing and new main-course items, the average sodium content of a single menu item is still more than half of the daily sodium recommended limit of 2,300 mg.”

“The fact that new, lower-sodium menu items are being introduced indicates that it is possible for restaurants to reduce the sodium content of their food, but that, thus far, their efforts have been insufficient. Restaurants may be reluctant to reformulate existing menu items that are popular with customers and that define their brand.”

Using data from the MenuStat project, researchers looked at nearly 22,000 menu items in fast-food, fast-casual (think Jimmy Johns and Panera), and full-service chain restaurants from 2012 to 2016. The database contains calorie and nutrition data gathered from websites of the 200 largest restaurants in the United States, as defined by sales volume.

They compared sodium content in items available in 2012 to new items added in each of the next four years. Full-service restaurants showed the largest reduction in sodium on new items (163 mg), followed by fast-food (83 mg), and fast-casual (19 mg) eateries.

The findings appear in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Warning labels?

Previous research has shown that 80 percent of our sodium consumption is from eating food prepared outside of the home. One-third of adults and children eat fast food every day and nearly half of all food purchases are outside of the home. Therefore, reducing the sodium content of restaurant food could have benefits for Americans’ health, Wolfson says.

Nearly a decade ago, leading health organizations called for a National Salt Reduction Initiative, which sought to reduce sodium consumption by 25 percent from 2009 to 2014. This initiative may have motivated many restaurants to offer healthier food options, but voluntary efforts have not been enough, Wolfson says.

“Requiring large chain restaurants to add sodium warning labels to their menus could be an important tool to incentivize restaurants to reduce the sodium content of their food, and are an important information tool for consumers. Federal regulations requiring warning labels are not likely at this time, but states and cities could certainly implement these regulations.

“Restaurant food is notoriously high in sodium—it’s one reason it tastes so good.”

“State and local labeling regulations, in combination with public awareness campaigns to increase consumer awareness about the dangerously high sodium content of restaurant food could increase consumer demand for lower sodium options and spur chain restaurants to voluntarily reduce the sodium in their food.”

In the meantime, people should be aware that many foods have hidden sodium, and they should ask restaurants for information on what is in the meals they are buying. It may not be printed on the menu, but most chain restaurants have nutrition information available.

And she has one other tip for consumers.

“Restaurant food is notoriously high in sodium—it’s one reason it tastes so good. Switching from restaurant meals to more meals prepared at home made with fresh or minimally processed ingredients will help reduce the sodium in your diet.”

Coauthors are from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and the University of Pittsburgh.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=low salt diet;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…