Beaucoup de nourriture au restaurant est encore trop salée

Beaucoup de nourriture au restaurant est encore trop salée

Un coup d'œil sur les éléments de menu de 66 des meilleurs restaurants de la chaîne 100 montre que, bien que les restaurants offrent des options à faible teneur en sodium, la nourriture, surtout dans les plats principaux, reste élevée.

L'Américain âgé moyen 19-50 consomme plus de 3,700 mg de sodium. L'excès a été lié à l'hypertension artérielle, aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux et aux maladies cardiaques. Les experts de la santé ont déterminé qu'une baisse de 1,200 mg de l'apport quotidien en sodium pourrait sauver autant de vies que 92,000 et jusqu'à 25 millions de dollars en coûts de soins de santé chaque année.

80% de notre consommation de sodium provient de la consommation d'aliments préparés à l'extérieur de la maison.

"Dans l'ensemble, la teneur en sodium des nouveaux éléments de menu a diminué d'environ 104 milligrammes", explique Julia Wolfson, professeur adjoint de gestion de la santé et de la politique et des sciences de la nutrition à l'Université du Michigan. "Cependant, parmi les éléments principaux et nouveaux, la teneur moyenne en sodium d'un seul élément de menu représente toujours plus de la moitié de la limite quotidienne recommandée de 2,300 mg."

"Le fait que de nouveaux produits à faible teneur en sodium soient introduits indique qu'il est possible pour les restaurants de réduire la teneur en sodium de leurs aliments, mais que, jusqu'à présent, leurs efforts ont été insuffisants. Les restaurants peuvent être réticents à reformuler les éléments de menu existants qui sont populaires auprès des clients et qui définissent leur marque. "

À l'aide des données du projet MenuStat, les chercheurs ont examiné les éléments de menu 22,000 dans les restaurants fast-food, fast-casual (pensez à Jimmy Johns et Panera) et dans les chaînes de restauration de 2012 à 2016. La base de données contient des données sur les calories et la nutrition recueillies sur les sites Web des plus grands restaurants 200 aux États-Unis, tels que définis par le volume des ventes.

Ils ont comparé la teneur en sodium des articles disponibles dans 2012 aux nouveaux articles ajoutés au cours de chacune des quatre prochaines années. Les restaurants à service complet ont affiché la plus forte réduction de sodium sur les nouveaux produits (163 mg), suivis des restaurants à service rapide (83 mg) et des restaurants à service rapide (19 mg).

Les résultats apparaissent dans le American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Étiquettes d'avertissement?

Des recherches antérieures ont montré que 80 pour cent de notre consommation de sodium provient de la consommation d'aliments préparés à l'extérieur de la maison. Un tiers des adultes et des enfants mangent de la restauration rapide tous les jours et près de la moitié de tous les achats de nourriture se font à l'extérieur de la maison. Par conséquent, réduire la teneur en sodium de la nourriture de restaurant pourrait avoir des avantages pour la santé des Américains, dit Wolfson.

Il y a près de dix ans, d'éminentes organisations de la santé réclamaient une Initiative nationale de réduction du sel, qui visait à réduire la consommation de sodium de 25 en pourcentage de 2009 à 2014. Cette initiative a peut-être motivé de nombreux restaurants à offrir des choix alimentaires plus sains, mais les efforts volontaires n'ont pas suffi, explique Wolfson.

Exiger que les grandes chaînes de restaurants ajoutent des étiquettes de mise en garde sur le sodium à leurs menus pourrait être un outil important pour inciter les restaurants à réduire la teneur en sodium de leurs aliments et constituer un outil d'information important pour les consommateurs. Les règlements fédéraux exigeant des étiquettes d'avertissement sont peu probables pour le moment, mais les États et les villes pourraient certainement appliquer ces règlements.

«La nourriture dans les restaurants est notoirement riche en sodium - c'est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles le goût est si bon.

«La réglementation nationale et locale de l'étiquetage, associée à des campagnes de sensibilisation du public sur la dangereuse teneur en sodium des aliments dans les restaurants, pourrait augmenter la demande des consommateurs pour des options plus faibles en sodium et réduire le sodium dans leurs aliments.

En attendant, les gens doivent savoir que de nombreux aliments ont du sodium caché, et ils devraient demander aux restaurants des informations sur les aliments qu'ils achètent. Il ne peut pas être imprimé sur le menu, mais la plupart des restaurants de la chaîne ont des informations nutritionnelles disponibles.

Et elle a un autre conseil pour les consommateurs.

«La nourriture dans les restaurants est notoirement riche en sodium - c'est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles le goût est si bon. Passer de repas au restaurant à plus de repas préparés à la maison avec des ingrédients frais ou minimalement transformés aidera à réduire le sodium dans votre alimentation. "

Les coauteurs proviennent de l'école de santé publique Harvard TH Chan et de l'université de Pittsburgh.

La source: Université du Michigan

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = diète pauvre en sel; maxresults = 3}

Lots Of Restaurant Food Is Still Way Too Salty

Lots Of Restaurant Food Is Still Way Too Salty

A look at menu items from 66 of the top 100 chain restaurants shows that while restaurants are offering lower-sodium options, food—particularly in main course items—is still high.

The average American aged 19-50 consumes more than 3,700 mg of sodium. The excess has been linked to high blood pressure, stroke, and heart disease. Health experts have determined that a 1,200 mg drop in daily sodium intake could save as many as 92,000 lives and up to $25 million in health care costs annually.

80% of our sodium consumption is from eating food prepared outside of the home.

“Overall, sodium content of newly introduced menu items declined by about 104 milligrams,” says Julia Wolfson, assistant professor of health management and policy and of nutritional sciences at the University of Michigan. “However, among existing and new main-course items, the average sodium content of a single menu item is still more than half of the daily sodium recommended limit of 2,300 mg.”

“The fact that new, lower-sodium menu items are being introduced indicates that it is possible for restaurants to reduce the sodium content of their food, but that, thus far, their efforts have been insufficient. Restaurants may be reluctant to reformulate existing menu items that are popular with customers and that define their brand.”

Using data from the MenuStat project, researchers looked at nearly 22,000 menu items in fast-food, fast-casual (think Jimmy Johns and Panera), and full-service chain restaurants from 2012 to 2016. The database contains calorie and nutrition data gathered from websites of the 200 largest restaurants in the United States, as defined by sales volume.

They compared sodium content in items available in 2012 to new items added in each of the next four years. Full-service restaurants showed the largest reduction in sodium on new items (163 mg), followed by fast-food (83 mg), and fast-casual (19 mg) eateries.

The findings appear in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Warning labels?

Previous research has shown that 80 percent of our sodium consumption is from eating food prepared outside of the home. One-third of adults and children eat fast food every day and nearly half of all food purchases are outside of the home. Therefore, reducing the sodium content of restaurant food could have benefits for Americans’ health, Wolfson says.

Nearly a decade ago, leading health organizations called for a National Salt Reduction Initiative, which sought to reduce sodium consumption by 25 percent from 2009 to 2014. This initiative may have motivated many restaurants to offer healthier food options, but voluntary efforts have not been enough, Wolfson says.

“Requiring large chain restaurants to add sodium warning labels to their menus could be an important tool to incentivize restaurants to reduce the sodium content of their food, and are an important information tool for consumers. Federal regulations requiring warning labels are not likely at this time, but states and cities could certainly implement these regulations.

“Restaurant food is notoriously high in sodium—it’s one reason it tastes so good.”

“State and local labeling regulations, in combination with public awareness campaigns to increase consumer awareness about the dangerously high sodium content of restaurant food could increase consumer demand for lower sodium options and spur chain restaurants to voluntarily reduce the sodium in their food.”

In the meantime, people should be aware that many foods have hidden sodium, and they should ask restaurants for information on what is in the meals they are buying. It may not be printed on the menu, but most chain restaurants have nutrition information available.

And she has one other tip for consumers.

“Restaurant food is notoriously high in sodium—it’s one reason it tastes so good. Switching from restaurant meals to more meals prepared at home made with fresh or minimally processed ingredients will help reduce the sodium in your diet.”

Coauthors are from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and the University of Pittsburgh.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=low salt diet;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…