Наконечник моментов языка менее вероятен в слесаре Старые люди

Наконечник моментов языка менее вероятен в слесаре Старые люди
sportpoint / Shutterstock.com

Вы встречаетесь с другом и рассказываете ей о великолепной книге, которую вы читаете. «Это по-настоящему известный автор. Ее зовут, эм ... »Но имя автора не приходит к вам. Это один из тех разочаровывающих моментов, которые случаются, когда вы знаете слово или имя, но не можете сформулировать его.

Эти моменты происходят чаще, когда мы стареем. Действительно, когнитивный спад, похоже, является неотъемлемой частью старения. В моем последнее исследование, проведенный в сотрудничестве с исследователями из нескольких университетов, я обнаружил, что у более старых людей с более слабыми способностями могут появиться моменты, когда речь идет о чем-то вроде пожилых людей. Похоже, что он подходит для защиты от снижения языка в старшем возрасте.

Как вы называете человека, который любит книги?

Для исследования мы измерили возникновение моментов наконечника языка в языковом эксперименте. Участники получили определения, а затем попросили найти слово, относящееся к определению. Мы использовали определения редких слов, таких как библиофил, ипохондрик и декантер, и мы также попросили участников назвать известных людей, таких как авторы, политики и актеры. (В повседневной жизни мы ощущаем моменты, характерные для языка людей и мест, и для редких слов.)

В исследовании здоровые пожилые люди 28 и молодые люди 27 завершили языковые задачи. Мы попросили старших участников пройти тест на велотренаж на статическом велосипеде - тест на золотой стандарт, известный как VO2max, который оценивает аэробные уровни пригодности путем измерения количества кислорода, используемого во время тренировки.

Мы обнаружили, что чем выше уровень аэробной пригодности для пожилых людей, тем ниже их шансы испытать момент языка.

Возраст человека и количество слов, которые человек знает, также определяют частоту переживания часовых поясов. Важно то, что связь между частотой моментов верхушки языка и уровнями аэробной пригодности существует и выше, чем возраст и размер слова.

Не проблема с памятью

Умершие пожилые люди, тем лучше их языковые способности. Но в погоне за старшеклассниками, в среднем, все еще больше моментов, чем у молодых людей.

Пожилые люди иногда опасаются, что моменты часового языка указывают на серьезные проблемы с памятью, но это неправильное представление. Они не связаны с потерей памяти. На самом деле, пожилые люди обычно имеют гораздо более широкий словарный запас, чем молодые люди, Вместо этого эти моменты возникают, когда смысл слова доступен в нашей памяти, но звуковая форма слова могут временно недоступны. Таким образом, моменты момента языка - проблема с функционированием языка.

Доступ к звуковой форме слов необходим для того, чтобы говорить свободно, и его нарушение имеет очень заметные отрицательные последствия. Мое исследование демонстрирует, что пожилые люди, слесарь-монтажники, испытывают меньше таких сбоев, когда они говорят.

Еще одна причина для

Хотя есть много исследований по преимущества регулярных упражнений и в зависимости от возраста, наше исследование показывает - в первый раз - другую сторону преимуществ, а именно взаимосвязь между фитнесом и языковыми навыками.

На следующем этапе моих исследований я намерен организовать интервенционные исследования, чтобы выяснить, могут ли регулярные упражнения эффективно улучшать языковые способности в старшем возрасте.

Сохранение хороших языковых навыков чрезвычайно важно для пожилых людей. Пожилым людям часто бывает трудно найти слова, и они испытывают эти упущения как особенно раздражающие и смущающие.

БеседаГоворить - это умение, на которое мы все полагаемся каждый день, а общение с другими помогает нам поддерживать социальные отношения и независимость в старости. Быть пригодным может предложить некоторую помощь с этим.

Об авторе

Катрин Сегарт, преподаватель Школы психологии, Бирмингемский университет

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = упражнение по 60; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People
sportpoint/Shutterstock.com
 

You meet with a friend and tell her about a great book you’re reading. “It’s by a really famous author. Her name is, um … ” But the author’s name doesn’t come to you. This is one of those frustrating tip-of-the-tongue moments that happen when you know a word or name, but are unable to articulate it.

These moments occur more often as we age. Indeed, cognitive decline seems to be an unavoidable part of getting older. In my latest study, conducted in collaboration with researchers at several universities, I found that fitter older people are less likely to have tip-of-the-tongue moments than less fit older people. Being fit seems to offer some protection against language decline in older age.

What do you call a person who loves books?

For the study, we measured the occurrence of tip-of-the-tongue moments in a language experiment. Participants were given definitions and then asked to find the word related to the definition. We used definitions of infrequent words, such as bibliophile, hypochondriac and decanter, and we also asked the participants to name famous people, such as authors, politicians and actors. (In daily life, we experience tip-of-the-tongue moments mostly for names of people and places, and for infrequent words.)

In the study, 28 healthy older people and 27 young people completed the language task. We asked the older participants to do a static-bike cycling test – a gold standard test, known as VO2max, that quantifies aerobic fitness levels by measuring the amount of oxygen used during exercise.

We found that the higher the older person’s aerobic fitness level was, the lower their odds of experiencing a tip-of-the-tongue moment.

A person’s age and the number of words a person knows also determine the frequency of experiencing tip-of-the-tongue moments. What is important is that the relationship between the frequency of tip-of-the-tongue moments and aerobic fitness levels exists over and above the influence of a person’s age and vocabulary size.

Not a memory problem

The fitter older people are, the better their language abilities. But fitter older people, on average, still have more tip-of-the-tongue moments than young people.

Older people sometimes worry that tip-of-the-tongue moments indicate serious memory problems, but this is a misconception. They are not associated with memory loss. In fact, older people usually have a much larger vocabulary than young people. Instead, these moments occur when the meaning of a word is available in our memory, but the sound form of the word can temporarily not be accessed. So tip-of-the-tongue moments are a problem with language functioning.

Accessing the sound form of words is essential for speaking fluently, and its disruption has very noticeable negative effects. My research demonstrates that fitter older people experience less of these disruptions when they are speaking.

Another reason to exercise

While there is a lot of research on the benefits of regular exercise and being fit as you age, our study reveals – for the first time – another side of the benefits, namely a relationship between fitness and language skills.

For the next phase of my research, I aim to set up intervention studies to find out if regular exercise can effectively improve language abilities in older age.

Maintaining good language skills is extremely important for older adults. Older people often have difficulty finding words, and they experience these lapses as particularly irritating and embarrassing.

The ConversationSpeaking is a skill we all rely on every day and communication with others helps us maintain social relationships and independence into old age. Being fit may offer some help with that.

About The Author

Katrien Segaert, Lecturer in the School of Psychology, University of Birmingham

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=exercise over 60;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.