Astuce des moments Tongue moins probable chez les personnes âgées en forme

Astuce des moments Tongue moins probable chez les personnes âgées en forme
sportpoint / Shutterstock.com

Vous rencontrez un ami et lui parlez d'un bon livre que vous lisez. "C'est par un auteur vraiment célèbre. Son nom est, euh ... "Mais le nom de l'auteur ne vient pas à vous. C'est l'un de ces moments frustrants qui se produisent lorsque vous connaissez un mot ou un nom, mais que vous n'arrivez pas à l'articuler.

Ces moments se produisent plus souvent que nous vieillissons. En effet, le déclin cognitif semble être une partie inévitable du vieillissement. Dans mon dernière étude, menée en collaboration avec des chercheurs de plusieurs universités, j'ai constaté que les personnes plus âgées sont moins susceptibles d'avoir des moments de pointe que les personnes plus âgées. Être en forme semble offrir une certaine protection contre le déclin de la langue chez les personnes âgées.

Comment appelez-vous une personne qui aime les livres?

Pour l'étude, nous avons mesuré l'occurrence de moments tip-of-the-langue dans une expérience de langue. Les participants ont reçu des définitions et ont ensuite été invités à trouver le mot lié à la définition. Nous avons utilisé des définitions de mots peu fréquents, tels que bibliophile, hypocondriaque et décanteur, et nous avons également demandé aux participants de nommer des personnes célèbres, telles que des auteurs, des politiciens et des acteurs. (Dans la vie quotidienne, nous éprouvons des moments de pointe de la langue surtout pour les noms de personnes et de lieux, et pour les mots peu fréquents.)

Dans l'étude, les personnes âgées en bonne santé 28 et les jeunes 27 ont terminé la tâche linguistique. Nous avons demandé aux participants plus âgés de faire un test de cyclisme statique - un test de référence, appelé VO2max, qui quantifie les niveaux de forme aérobique en mesurant la quantité d'oxygène utilisée pendant l'exercice.

Nous avons constaté que plus le niveau d'aptitude aérobique de la personne âgée était élevé, plus ses chances d'éprouver un moment de pointe de la langue étaient faibles.

L'âge d'une personne et le nombre de mots qu'une personne connait déterminent également la fréquence des moments de pointe de la langue. Ce qui est important, c'est que la relation entre la fréquence des moments de pointe de la langue et les niveaux de forme aérobique existe au-delà de l'influence de l'âge et de la taille du vocabulaire.

Pas un problème de mémoire

Plus les personnes âgées sont aptes, meilleures sont leurs capacités linguistiques. Mais les personnes plus âgées en moyenne ont encore plus de moments de pointe que les jeunes.

Les personnes âgées s'inquiètent parfois que les moments de pointe de la langue indiquent de graves problèmes de mémoire, mais c'est une idée fausse. Ils ne sont pas associés à une perte de mémoire. En fait, les personnes âgées ont généralement vocabulaire beaucoup plus large que les jeunes. Au lieu de cela, ces moments se produisent lorsque la signification d'un mot est disponible dans notre mémoire, mais le forme sonore du mot peut temporairement ne pas être accessible. Donc, les moments de pointe de la langue sont un problème avec le fonctionnement du langage.

Accéder à la forme sonore des mots est essentiel pour parler couramment, et sa perturbation a des effets négatifs très perceptibles. Mes recherches démontrent que les personnes âgées plus aptes éprouvent moins de ces perturbations quand elles parlent.

Une autre raison d'exercer

Alors qu'il y a beaucoup de recherches sur le avantages de l'exercice régulier et étant en forme en vieillissant, notre étude révèle - pour la première fois - un autre aspect des avantages, à savoir une relation entre le fitness et les compétences linguistiques.

Pour la prochaine phase de ma recherche, je vise à mettre en place des études d'intervention pour savoir si l'exercice régulier peut effectivement améliorer les capacités linguistiques chez les personnes âgées.

Le maintien de bonnes compétences linguistiques est extrêmement important pour les personnes âgées. Les personnes âgées ont souvent de la difficulté à trouver des mots, et ces expériences sont particulièrement irritantes et embarrassantes.

La ConversationParler est une compétence sur laquelle nous comptons tous les jours et la communication avec les autres nous aide à maintenir nos relations sociales et notre indépendance à un âge avancé. Être en forme peut offrir de l'aide avec ça.

A propos de l'auteur

Katrien Segaert, Maître de conférences à l'École de psychologie, Université de Birmingham

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = exercice sur 60; maxresults = 3}

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People
sportpoint/Shutterstock.com
 

You meet with a friend and tell her about a great book you’re reading. “It’s by a really famous author. Her name is, um … ” But the author’s name doesn’t come to you. This is one of those frustrating tip-of-the-tongue moments that happen when you know a word or name, but are unable to articulate it.

These moments occur more often as we age. Indeed, cognitive decline seems to be an unavoidable part of getting older. In my latest study, conducted in collaboration with researchers at several universities, I found that fitter older people are less likely to have tip-of-the-tongue moments than less fit older people. Being fit seems to offer some protection against language decline in older age.

What do you call a person who loves books?

For the study, we measured the occurrence of tip-of-the-tongue moments in a language experiment. Participants were given definitions and then asked to find the word related to the definition. We used definitions of infrequent words, such as bibliophile, hypochondriac and decanter, and we also asked the participants to name famous people, such as authors, politicians and actors. (In daily life, we experience tip-of-the-tongue moments mostly for names of people and places, and for infrequent words.)

In the study, 28 healthy older people and 27 young people completed the language task. We asked the older participants to do a static-bike cycling test – a gold standard test, known as VO2max, that quantifies aerobic fitness levels by measuring the amount of oxygen used during exercise.

We found that the higher the older person’s aerobic fitness level was, the lower their odds of experiencing a tip-of-the-tongue moment.

A person’s age and the number of words a person knows also determine the frequency of experiencing tip-of-the-tongue moments. What is important is that the relationship between the frequency of tip-of-the-tongue moments and aerobic fitness levels exists over and above the influence of a person’s age and vocabulary size.

Not a memory problem

The fitter older people are, the better their language abilities. But fitter older people, on average, still have more tip-of-the-tongue moments than young people.

Older people sometimes worry that tip-of-the-tongue moments indicate serious memory problems, but this is a misconception. They are not associated with memory loss. In fact, older people usually have a much larger vocabulary than young people. Instead, these moments occur when the meaning of a word is available in our memory, but the sound form of the word can temporarily not be accessed. So tip-of-the-tongue moments are a problem with language functioning.

Accessing the sound form of words is essential for speaking fluently, and its disruption has very noticeable negative effects. My research demonstrates that fitter older people experience less of these disruptions when they are speaking.

Another reason to exercise

While there is a lot of research on the benefits of regular exercise and being fit as you age, our study reveals – for the first time – another side of the benefits, namely a relationship between fitness and language skills.

For the next phase of my research, I aim to set up intervention studies to find out if regular exercise can effectively improve language abilities in older age.

Maintaining good language skills is extremely important for older adults. Older people often have difficulty finding words, and they experience these lapses as particularly irritating and embarrassing.

The ConversationSpeaking is a skill we all rely on every day and communication with others helps us maintain social relationships and independence into old age. Being fit may offer some help with that.

About The Author

Katrien Segaert, Lecturer in the School of Psychology, University of Birmingham

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=exercise over 60;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.