Tipp der Zunge Momente weniger wahrscheinlich in Fitter ältere Menschen

Tipp der Zunge Momente weniger wahrscheinlich in Fitter ältere Menschen
sportpoint / Shutterstock.com

Du triffst dich mit einem Freund und erzählst ihr von einem tollen Buch, das du liest. "Es ist von einem wirklich berühmten Autor. Ihr Name ist, äh ... "Aber der Name des Autors kommt nicht zu dir. Dies ist einer dieser frustrierenden Spitzentexte, die passieren, wenn Sie ein Wort oder einen Namen kennen, aber nicht in der Lage sind, es zu artikulieren.

Diese Momente treten häufiger auf, wenn wir älter werden. In der Tat scheint kognitiver Verfall ein unvermeidbarer Teil des Älterwerdens zu sein. In meinem neueste StudieIn Zusammenarbeit mit Forschern an verschiedenen Universitäten fand ich heraus, dass ältere Menschen im Fitnessbereich weniger Gelegenheit zum Sprechen haben als weniger ältere Menschen. Fit sein scheint im Alter einen gewissen Schutz vor Sprachverfall zu bieten.

Wie nennt man eine Person, die Bücher liebt?

Für die Studie haben wir das Auftreten von Zungenmomenten in einem Sprachversuch gemessen. Den Teilnehmern wurden Definitionen gegeben und danach gebeten, das mit der Definition zusammenhängende Wort zu finden. Wir verwendeten Definitionen seltener Wörter wie Bibliophile, Hypochonder und Dekanter, und wir baten die Teilnehmer auch, berühmte Personen wie Autoren, Politiker und Schauspieler zu benennen. (Im täglichen Leben erfahren wir Spitzmomente hauptsächlich für Namen von Menschen und Orten und für seltene Wörter.)

In der Studie haben 28 gesunde ältere Menschen und 27-Jugendliche die Sprachaufgabe abgeschlossen. Wir haben die älteren Teilnehmer gebeten, einen Fahrrad-Zyklustest durchzuführen - einen Gold-Standard-Test, der als VO2max bekannt ist quantifiziert aerobe Fitness-Level durch Messung der Menge an Sauerstoff während des Trainings verwendet.

Wir fanden heraus, dass je höher der aerobe Fitnesslevel der älteren Person war, desto geringer die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sie einen Tipp-of-the-Tong-Moment erlebten.

Das Alter einer Person und die Anzahl der Wörter, die eine Person kennt, bestimmen auch die Häufigkeit des Erlebens von Spitzentönen. Was wichtig ist, ist, dass die Beziehung zwischen der Häufigkeit von Zungenspitzenmomenten und aeroben Fitnessniveaus über den Einfluss des Alters und der Wortschatzgröße einer Person hinaus besteht.

Kein Speicherproblem

Je fitter ältere Menschen sind, desto besser sind ihre Sprachfähigkeiten. Fittere ältere Menschen haben im Durchschnitt immer noch mehr Trinkgeld als junge Leute.

Ältere Menschen befürchten manchmal, dass Mund-zu-Mund-Momente auf ernsthafte Gedächtnisprobleme hindeuten, aber dies ist ein Missverständnis. Sie sind nicht mit Gedächtnisverlust verbunden. In der Tat haben ältere Menschen in der Regel eine viel größeres Vokabular als junge Leute. Stattdessen treten diese Momente auf, wenn die Bedeutung eines Wortes in unserer Erinnerung verfügbar ist, aber die Klangform des Wortes kann vorübergehend nicht zugegriffen werden. So sind Tipp-Momente ein Problem mit der Sprachfunktion.

Der Zugang zur Klangform der Wörter ist für ein flüssiges Sprechen unerlässlich, und seine Störung hat sehr deutliche negative Auswirkungen. Meine Forschung zeigt, dass ältere Menschen, die fitter sind, weniger von diesen Störungen erfahren, wenn sie sprechen.

Ein weiterer Grund zu trainieren

Während es viel Forschung über die Vorteile der regelmäßigen Übung und fit zu sein, wenn Sie älter werden, zeigt unsere Studie - zum ersten Mal - eine andere Seite der Vorteile, nämlich eine Beziehung zwischen Fitness und Sprachkenntnisse.

Für die nächste Phase meiner Forschung beabsichtige ich, Interventionsstudien durchzuführen, um herauszufinden, ob regelmäßiges Training die Sprachfähigkeiten im höheren Alter effektiv verbessern kann.

Gute Sprachkenntnisse sind für ältere Erwachsene äußerst wichtig. Ältere Menschen haben oft Schwierigkeiten, Wörter zu finden, und sie empfinden diese Fehler als besonders irritierend und peinlich.

Das GesprächSprechen ist eine Fähigkeit, auf die wir uns jeden Tag verlassen und die Kommunikation mit anderen hilft uns, soziale Beziehungen und Unabhängigkeit bis ins hohe Alter aufrecht zu erhalten. Fit sein kann dabei helfen.

Über den Autor

Katrien Segaert, Dozentin an der Schule für Psychologie, Universität von Birmingham

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Übung über 60; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People
sportpoint/Shutterstock.com
 

You meet with a friend and tell her about a great book you’re reading. “It’s by a really famous author. Her name is, um … ” But the author’s name doesn’t come to you. This is one of those frustrating tip-of-the-tongue moments that happen when you know a word or name, but are unable to articulate it.

These moments occur more often as we age. Indeed, cognitive decline seems to be an unavoidable part of getting older. In my latest study, conducted in collaboration with researchers at several universities, I found that fitter older people are less likely to have tip-of-the-tongue moments than less fit older people. Being fit seems to offer some protection against language decline in older age.

What do you call a person who loves books?

For the study, we measured the occurrence of tip-of-the-tongue moments in a language experiment. Participants were given definitions and then asked to find the word related to the definition. We used definitions of infrequent words, such as bibliophile, hypochondriac and decanter, and we also asked the participants to name famous people, such as authors, politicians and actors. (In daily life, we experience tip-of-the-tongue moments mostly for names of people and places, and for infrequent words.)

In the study, 28 healthy older people and 27 young people completed the language task. We asked the older participants to do a static-bike cycling test – a gold standard test, known as VO2max, that quantifies aerobic fitness levels by measuring the amount of oxygen used during exercise.

We found that the higher the older person’s aerobic fitness level was, the lower their odds of experiencing a tip-of-the-tongue moment.

A person’s age and the number of words a person knows also determine the frequency of experiencing tip-of-the-tongue moments. What is important is that the relationship between the frequency of tip-of-the-tongue moments and aerobic fitness levels exists over and above the influence of a person’s age and vocabulary size.

Not a memory problem

The fitter older people are, the better their language abilities. But fitter older people, on average, still have more tip-of-the-tongue moments than young people.

Older people sometimes worry that tip-of-the-tongue moments indicate serious memory problems, but this is a misconception. They are not associated with memory loss. In fact, older people usually have a much larger vocabulary than young people. Instead, these moments occur when the meaning of a word is available in our memory, but the sound form of the word can temporarily not be accessed. So tip-of-the-tongue moments are a problem with language functioning.

Accessing the sound form of words is essential for speaking fluently, and its disruption has very noticeable negative effects. My research demonstrates that fitter older people experience less of these disruptions when they are speaking.

Another reason to exercise

While there is a lot of research on the benefits of regular exercise and being fit as you age, our study reveals – for the first time – another side of the benefits, namely a relationship between fitness and language skills.

For the next phase of my research, I aim to set up intervention studies to find out if regular exercise can effectively improve language abilities in older age.

Maintaining good language skills is extremely important for older adults. Older people often have difficulty finding words, and they experience these lapses as particularly irritating and embarrassing.

The ConversationSpeaking is a skill we all rely on every day and communication with others helps us maintain social relationships and independence into old age. Being fit may offer some help with that.

About The Author

Katrien Segaert, Lecturer in the School of Psychology, University of Birmingham

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=exercise over 60;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.