تلميح لحظات اللسان أقل محتمل في مجرب كبار السن

تلميح لحظات اللسان أقل محتمل في مجرب كبار السن
sportpoint / Shutterstock.com

أنت تقابل صديقًا وتخبرها عن كتاب رائع تقرأه. "إنه من قبل مؤلف مشهور حقا. اسمها ، أم ... "لكن اسم المؤلف لا يأتي إليك. هذه واحدة من تلك اللحظات المحبطة لسان اللسان التي تحدث عندما تعرف كلمة أو اسم ، لكنك غير قادر على التعبير عنها.

هذه اللحظات تحدث في كثير من الأحيان كلما تقدمنا ​​في العمر. في الواقع ، يبدو أن التراجع المعرفي هو جزء لا يمكن تجنبه من التقدم في السن. في الدراسة الاخيرةأجريت بالتعاون مع باحثين في عدة جامعات ، وجدت أن الأشخاص الأكبر سنًا هم أقل حظًا في الحصول على لحظات من اللسان أقل مما يناسب كبار السن. يبدو أن الحفاظ على لياقتك البدنية يوفر بعض الحماية من تراجع اللغة عند كبار السن.

ماذا تدعون الشخص الذي يحب الكتب؟

بالنسبة للدراسة ، قمنا بقياس حدوث لحظات طرف اللسان في تجربة لغوية. أعطيت المشاركون تعريفات ثم طلبوا العثور على الكلمة ذات الصلة بالتعريف. استخدمنا تعريفات للكلمات النادرة ، مثل المليئة بالمثليين ، و hypochondriac و decanter ، كما طلبنا من المشاركين تسمية مشاهير ، مثل المؤلفين والسياسيين والممثلين. (في الحياة اليومية ، نحن نعاني من لحظات لسان معظمها لأسماء الناس والأماكن ، والكلمات النادرة).

في هذه الدراسة ، أكملت 28 صحة كبار السن والشباب 27 مهمة اللغة. طلبنا من المشاركين الأكبر سنًا إجراء اختبار للدراجات الثابتة - وهو اختبار قياسي ذهبي ، يُعرف باسم VO2max ، يحدد مستويات اللياقة البدنية الهوائية عن طريق قياس كمية الأكسجين المستخدمة أثناء التمرين.

ووجدنا أنه كلما ارتفع مستوى اللياقة البدنية للشخص المسن ، انخفضت احتمالات تعرضه لحظة لسان.

كما يحدد سن الشخص وعدد الكلمات التي يعرفها الشخص تردد تكرار لحظات لسانه. ما هو مهم هو أن العلاقة بين وتيرة لحظات اللسان ومستويات اللياقة البدنية الهوائية موجودة فوق تأثير عمر الشخص وحجم المفردات.

ليست مشكلة في الذاكرة

إن الأشخاص الأكبر سنا هم أفضل قدراتهم اللغوية. غير أن الأشخاص الأكبر سنا ، في المتوسط ​​، ما زالوا يتمتعون بلحظات أكثر لساناً من الشباب.

يقلق كبار السن في بعض الأحيان من أن لحظات طرف اللسان تشير إلى مشاكل خطيرة في الذاكرة ، ولكن هذا هو مفهوم خاطئ. لا ترتبط بفقدان الذاكرة. في الواقع ، كبار السن عادة ما يكون أكبر من المفردات من الشباب. بدلا من ذلك ، تحدث هذه اللحظات عندما يكون معنى الكلمة متاحًا في ذاكرتنا ، لكن شكل الصوت للكلمة لا يمكن الوصول إليها مؤقتًا. إذن ، لحظات لحظات اللسان هي مشكلة في عمل اللغة.

إن الوصول إلى الشكل السليم للكلمات أمر ضروري للتحدث بطلاقة ، ولانقطاعه آثار سلبية ملحوظة للغاية. يوضح بحثي أن الأشخاص الأكبر سنًا يشعرون بقدر أقل من هذه الاضطرابات عندما يتحدثون.

سبب آخر لممارسة

في حين أن هناك الكثير من البحث على فوائد ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام وكونك لائقًا مع تقدمك في العمر ، تكشف دراستنا - للمرة الأولى - عن جانب آخر من الفوائد ، وهي العلاقة بين اللياقة والمهارات اللغوية.

بالنسبة للمرحلة القادمة من بحثي ، أهدف إلى إعداد دراسات للتدخل لمعرفة ما إذا كانت التمارين المنتظمة يمكن أن تحسن القدرات اللغوية بشكل فعال في سن متقدمة.

الحفاظ على مهارات لغوية جيدة مهم للغاية بالنسبة لكبار السن. كبار السن غالبا ما يجدون صعوبة في العثور على الكلمات ، وهم يواجهون هذه الهفوات بأنها مزعجة ومُحرجة بشكل خاص.

المحادثةالتحدث هو مهارة نعتمد عليها جميعًا يوميًا ويساعدنا التواصل مع الآخرين في الحفاظ على العلاقات الاجتماعية والاستقلالية في الشيخوخة. قد يكون لياقتك البدنية بعض المساعدة في ذلك.

نبذة عن الكاتب

كاترين سيجارت ، محاضر في كلية علم النفس ، جامعة برمنغهام

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = تمرين على 60 ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يفعل وما يترك التعاطف
ما يفعل وما يترك التعاطف
by الغراب الرقميه

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People

Tip Of The Tongue Moments Less Likely In Fitter Older People
sportpoint/Shutterstock.com
 

You meet with a friend and tell her about a great book you’re reading. “It’s by a really famous author. Her name is, um … ” But the author’s name doesn’t come to you. This is one of those frustrating tip-of-the-tongue moments that happen when you know a word or name, but are unable to articulate it.

These moments occur more often as we age. Indeed, cognitive decline seems to be an unavoidable part of getting older. In my latest study, conducted in collaboration with researchers at several universities, I found that fitter older people are less likely to have tip-of-the-tongue moments than less fit older people. Being fit seems to offer some protection against language decline in older age.

What do you call a person who loves books?

For the study, we measured the occurrence of tip-of-the-tongue moments in a language experiment. Participants were given definitions and then asked to find the word related to the definition. We used definitions of infrequent words, such as bibliophile, hypochondriac and decanter, and we also asked the participants to name famous people, such as authors, politicians and actors. (In daily life, we experience tip-of-the-tongue moments mostly for names of people and places, and for infrequent words.)

In the study, 28 healthy older people and 27 young people completed the language task. We asked the older participants to do a static-bike cycling test – a gold standard test, known as VO2max, that quantifies aerobic fitness levels by measuring the amount of oxygen used during exercise.

We found that the higher the older person’s aerobic fitness level was, the lower their odds of experiencing a tip-of-the-tongue moment.

A person’s age and the number of words a person knows also determine the frequency of experiencing tip-of-the-tongue moments. What is important is that the relationship between the frequency of tip-of-the-tongue moments and aerobic fitness levels exists over and above the influence of a person’s age and vocabulary size.

Not a memory problem

The fitter older people are, the better their language abilities. But fitter older people, on average, still have more tip-of-the-tongue moments than young people.

Older people sometimes worry that tip-of-the-tongue moments indicate serious memory problems, but this is a misconception. They are not associated with memory loss. In fact, older people usually have a much larger vocabulary than young people. Instead, these moments occur when the meaning of a word is available in our memory, but the sound form of the word can temporarily not be accessed. So tip-of-the-tongue moments are a problem with language functioning.

Accessing the sound form of words is essential for speaking fluently, and its disruption has very noticeable negative effects. My research demonstrates that fitter older people experience less of these disruptions when they are speaking.

Another reason to exercise

While there is a lot of research on the benefits of regular exercise and being fit as you age, our study reveals – for the first time – another side of the benefits, namely a relationship between fitness and language skills.

For the next phase of my research, I aim to set up intervention studies to find out if regular exercise can effectively improve language abilities in older age.

Maintaining good language skills is extremely important for older adults. Older people often have difficulty finding words, and they experience these lapses as particularly irritating and embarrassing.

The ConversationSpeaking is a skill we all rely on every day and communication with others helps us maintain social relationships and independence into old age. Being fit may offer some help with that.

About The Author

Katrien Segaert, Lecturer in the School of Psychology, University of Birmingham

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=exercise over 60;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.