Warum Zigaretten das Risiko eines Drogenrückfalls erhöhen können

Warum Zigaretten das Risiko eines Drogenrückfalls erhöhen können

Die Fortsetzung oder Einleitung des Zigarettenkonsums nach Beendigung des Konsums illegaler Drogen ist mit einer erhöhten Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Rückfalls des Substanzkonsums verbunden, wie Untersuchungen zeigen.

Frühere Studien haben gezeigt, dass sogar drei Viertel der Erwachsenen mit Substanzstörungen eine Vorgeschichte von Zigarettenrauchen haben.

Für das Studium in der Journal of Clinical PsychiatryForscher, darunter Sandro Galea, Dekan der School of Public Health der Boston University, untersuchten den Zusammenhang zwischen Zigarettenrauchen und Rückfallraten bei Erwachsenen, die den illegalen Drogenkonsum eingestellt hatten.

Sie untersuchten Daten von 34,653-Erwachsenen, die an der nationalen epidemiologischen Studie zu Alkohol und verwandten Erkrankungen (NESARC) teilnahmen und zu zwei Zeitpunkten im Abstand von drei Jahren auf Substanzkonsum, Substanzgebrauchsstörungen und damit verbundene physische und psychische Störungen untersucht wurden.

Tägliche Raucher und nicht-tägliche Raucher hatten am Ende der Drei-Jahres-Periode im Vergleich zu Nichtrauchern eine etwa doppelt so hohe Chance auf einen Rückfall zum Drogenkonsum. Diese Quoten blieben auch nach der Kontrolle der Demographie und anderer Faktoren wie Stimmungslage, Angstzuständen, Alkoholproblemen und Nikotinabhängigkeit bestehen.

Insbesondere bei Personen mit Remissionsstörungen, die zu Beginn der Studie Raucher waren, mehr als 1 in 10 (11 Prozent), die drei Jahre später weiterhin rauchten, erlitten drei Jahre später einen Rückfall in den illegalen Substanzkonsum, während nur 8 von denen hatte mit dem Rauchen aufgehört und 6.5 Prozent der Niemals Raucher wieder auf Substanzkonsum.

Unter den Nichtrauchern war das Rauchen drei Jahre später mit einem signifikant höheren Risiko für einen Rückfall des Substanzkonsums verbunden als bei Nichtrauchern.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"Unseres Wissens hat keine frühere Studie gezeigt, dass Zigarettenrauchen - sowohl das fortgesetzte Rauchen als auch das neu auftretende Rauchen - mit einem Anstieg der Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Rückfalls auf SUD bei Erwachsenen mit früheren SUDs verbunden ist", so die Autoren.

Wenn weitere Untersuchungen eine Beziehung zwischen Rauchen und Rückfall bestätigen, sollten Drogenkonsumentenprogramme in ihre Dienste einbeziehen, so die Autoren. Nur eine Minderheit von Behandlungszentren gibt an, dass sie formelle Raucherentwöhnungsprogramme haben.

Es gibt mehrere mögliche Gründe, warum Rauchen die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Rückfalls erhöhen kann, schreiben die Autoren, einschließlich, dass Zigaretten ein "Stichwort" für die Verwendung von illegalen Drogen werden können, und dass Nikotin erhöhte Verlangen nach Stimulanzien und Opiaten verursachen kann.

Zwar gab es einige Bedenken, dass es mit dem Rauchstopp schwieriger wird, illegale Drogen zu beenden oder fernzubleiben, doch Zigarettenabstinenz "scheint nicht zu einem kompensatorischen Anstieg des Drogenkonsums zu führen und könnte sogar die Drogenabstinenz verbessern."

Zigarettenrauchen ist nur einer von vielen möglichen Faktoren, die mit einem SUD-Rückfall einhergehen, und es sind mehr Daten erforderlich, um die klinische Bedeutung der Assoziation zu bestimmen.

Aber, sagen sie, "Die Behandlung von SUDs ist extrem herausfordernd, und selbst wenn Rauchen nicht einfach mit Verbesserungen in der anhaltenden Abstinenz in Verbindung gebracht wird, kann diese Verbindung in Behandlungsprogrammen nützlich sein."

Weitere Co-Autoren sind die Mailman School of Public Health der Columbia University und die City University of New York.

Quelle: Boston University

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = Sucht brechen; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Cigarettes May Raise The Risk Of A Drug Relapse

Why Cigarettes May Raise The Risk Of A Drug Relapse

Continuing or initiating cigarette use after stopping the use of illicit drugs is linked to an increased likelihood of substance use relapse, research shows.

Past studies have shown that as many as three-quarters of adults with substance use disorders also have a history of cigarette smoking.

For the study in the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, researchers, including Sandro Galea, dean of the School of Public Health of Boston University, examined the association between cigarette smoking and relapse rates among adults who had stopped illicit substance use.

They studied data from 34,653 adults enrolled in the National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions (NESARC) who were assessed at two time points, three years apart, on substance use, substance use disorders, and related physical and mental disorders.

Daily smokers and non-daily smokers had about twice the odds of relapsing to drug use at the end of the three-year period compared to nonsmokers. Those odds held even after controlling for demographics and other factors, including mood, anxiety, alcohol use disorders, and nicotine dependence.

Specifically, among those with remitted substance use disorders who were smokers at the beginning of the study, more than 1 in 10 (11 percent) who continued smoking three years later relapsed to illicit substance use three years later, while only 8 percent of those who had quit smoking and 6.5 percent of never-smokers relapsed to substance use.

Among those who were nonsmokers, smoking three years later was associated with significantly greater odds of substance-use disorder relapse compared to those who remained nonsmokers.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“To our knowledge, no prior study has shown that cigarette smoking—both continued smoking and new-onset smoking—is associated with an increase in the likelihood of relapse to SUD among adults with past SUDs,” the authors say.

If further research confirms a relationship between smoking and relapse, then substance-use treatment programs should consider incorporating smoking prevention efforts into their services, the authors say. Only a minority of treatment centers report that they have formal smoking-cessation programs.

There are several possible reasons why smoking may increase the likelihood of relapse, the authors write, including that cigarettes may become a “cue” for use of illicit drugs, and that nicotine may cause increased cravings for stimulants and opiates.

While there have been some concerns that quitting smoking makes it more difficult to quit or stay off illicit drugs, cigarette abstinence “does not appear to lead to a compensatory increase in other drug use, and may even improve drug abstinence.”

Cigarette smoking is just one of many potential factors associated with SUD relapse, and more data are needed to determine the clinical significance of the association.

But, they say, “The treatment of SUDs is extremely challenging, and even if not smoking is just modestly associated with improvements in sustained abstinence, this association may be useful in treatment programs.”

Additional coauthors are from Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health and the City University of New York.

Source: Boston University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=breaking addiction;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…