لماذا السجائر قد تزيد من خطر الانتكاس بالمخدرات

لماذا السجائر قد تزيد من خطر الانتكاس بالمخدرات

تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الاستمرار في استخدام السجائر أو الشروع فيه بعد التوقف عن استخدام المخدرات غير المشروعة يرتبط بزيادة احتمال حدوث انتكاسة في استخدام المواد.

وقد أظهرت الدراسات السابقة أن ما يصل إلى ثلاثة أرباع البالغين الذين يعانون من اضطرابات تعاطي المخدرات لديهم أيضا تاريخ من تدخين السجائر.

للدراسة في مجلة الطب النفسي السريريقام باحثون من بينهم ساندرو غاليا ، عميد كلية الصحة العامة في جامعة بوسطن ، بفحص العلاقة بين تدخين السجائر ومعدلات الانتكاس بين البالغين الذين توقفوا عن استخدام المواد غير المشروعة.

درسوا البيانات من البالغين 34,653 المسجلين في المسح الوطني الوبائي على الكحول والظروف ذات الصلة (NESARC) الذين تم تقييمهم في نقطتين زمنيتين ، ثلاث سنوات على حدة ، على استخدام المخدرات ، واضطرابات تعاطي المخدرات ، والاضطرابات الجسدية والعقلية ذات الصلة.

كان لدى المدخنين اليوميين والمدخنين غير اليوميين ضعف فرصهم في العودة إلى تعاطي المخدرات في نهاية فترة الثلاث سنوات مقارنة مع غير المدخنين. هذه الاحتمالات عقد حتى بعد السيطرة على التركيبة السكانية وغيرها من العوامل ، بما في ذلك المزاج ، والقلق ، واضطرابات استخدام الكحول ، والاعتماد على النيكوتين.

على وجه التحديد ، من بين الذين يعانون من اضطرابات محتملة في استخدام المخدرات الذين كانوا مدخنين في بداية الدراسة ، أكثر من 1 في 10 (11 في المئة) الذين استمروا في التدخين بعد ثلاث سنوات ، انتكسوا بعد ذلك بثلاث سنوات ، في حين أن نسبة 8 فقط من أولئك الذين قد أقلعت عن التدخين و 6.5 في المئة من المدخنين غير المنتهكين من تعاطي المخدرات.

ومن بين أولئك الذين كانوا غير مدخنين ، كان التدخين بعد ثلاث سنوات مرتبطا مع احتمالات أكبر بكثير لانتكاس اضطراب تعاطي المخدرات مقارنة مع أولئك الذين بقوا غير المدخنين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"حسب معرفتنا ، لم تشر أي دراسة سابقة إلى أن تدخين السجائر - سواء التدخين المستمر والتدخين الجديد - يرتبط بزيادة في احتمال الانتكاس إلى SUD بين البالغين الذين يعانون من SUDs الماضي ،" يقول المؤلفون.

إذا كان هناك بحث إضافي يؤكد وجود علاقة بين التدخين والانتكاس ، فيجب عندئذٍ أن تدرس برامج علاج تعاطي المخدرات جهود منع التدخين في خدماتها ، حسب قول المؤلفين. وأفادت أقلية فقط من مراكز العلاج بأن لديها برامج رسمية للإقلاع عن التدخين.

هناك العديد من الأسباب المحتملة التي تجعل التدخين يزيد من احتمال الانتكاس ، كما يكتب المؤلفون ، بما في ذلك أن السجائر قد تصبح "إشارة" لاستخدام العقاقير غير المشروعة ، وأن النيكوتين قد يسبب الرغبة الشديدة في المنشطات والمواد الأفيونية.

وبينما كانت هناك بعض المخاوف من أن الإقلاع عن التدخين يزيد من صعوبة ترك المخدرات غير المشروعة أو وقفها ، فإن الامتناع عن التدخين "لا يبدو أنه يؤدي إلى زيادة تعويضية في تعاطي المخدرات الأخرى ، بل وربما يحسن من الامتناع عن تعاطي المخدرات".

تدخين السجائر هو واحد من العديد من العوامل المحتملة المرتبطة بانتكاس SUD ، وهناك حاجة إلى المزيد من البيانات لتحديد الأهمية السريرية للجمعية.

لكنهم يقولون: "إن علاج SUDs أمر بالغ الصعوبة ، وحتى لو لم يكن التدخين مرتبطًا بشكل متواضع بتحسين الإمتناع المستمر ، فقد يكون هذا الارتباط مفيدًا في برامج العلاج".

يوجد مؤلفون إضافيون من كلية ميلمان للصحة العامة بجامعة كولومبيا وجامعة مدينة نيويورك.

مصدر: جامعة بوسطن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = break addiction؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Cigarettes May Raise The Risk Of A Drug Relapse

Why Cigarettes May Raise The Risk Of A Drug Relapse

Continuing or initiating cigarette use after stopping the use of illicit drugs is linked to an increased likelihood of substance use relapse, research shows.

Past studies have shown that as many as three-quarters of adults with substance use disorders also have a history of cigarette smoking.

For the study in the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, researchers, including Sandro Galea, dean of the School of Public Health of Boston University, examined the association between cigarette smoking and relapse rates among adults who had stopped illicit substance use.

They studied data from 34,653 adults enrolled in the National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions (NESARC) who were assessed at two time points, three years apart, on substance use, substance use disorders, and related physical and mental disorders.

Daily smokers and non-daily smokers had about twice the odds of relapsing to drug use at the end of the three-year period compared to nonsmokers. Those odds held even after controlling for demographics and other factors, including mood, anxiety, alcohol use disorders, and nicotine dependence.

Specifically, among those with remitted substance use disorders who were smokers at the beginning of the study, more than 1 in 10 (11 percent) who continued smoking three years later relapsed to illicit substance use three years later, while only 8 percent of those who had quit smoking and 6.5 percent of never-smokers relapsed to substance use.

Among those who were nonsmokers, smoking three years later was associated with significantly greater odds of substance-use disorder relapse compared to those who remained nonsmokers.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“To our knowledge, no prior study has shown that cigarette smoking—both continued smoking and new-onset smoking—is associated with an increase in the likelihood of relapse to SUD among adults with past SUDs,” the authors say.

If further research confirms a relationship between smoking and relapse, then substance-use treatment programs should consider incorporating smoking prevention efforts into their services, the authors say. Only a minority of treatment centers report that they have formal smoking-cessation programs.

There are several possible reasons why smoking may increase the likelihood of relapse, the authors write, including that cigarettes may become a “cue” for use of illicit drugs, and that nicotine may cause increased cravings for stimulants and opiates.

While there have been some concerns that quitting smoking makes it more difficult to quit or stay off illicit drugs, cigarette abstinence “does not appear to lead to a compensatory increase in other drug use, and may even improve drug abstinence.”

Cigarette smoking is just one of many potential factors associated with SUD relapse, and more data are needed to determine the clinical significance of the association.

But, they say, “The treatment of SUDs is extremely challenging, and even if not smoking is just modestly associated with improvements in sustained abstinence, this association may be useful in treatment programs.”

Additional coauthors are from Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health and the City University of New York.

Source: Boston University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=breaking addiction;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…