Warum gibt es eine schlechte psychische Gesundheit unter niedrig bezahlten Arbeitnehmern?

Warum gibt es eine schlechte psychische Gesundheit unter niedrig bezahlten Arbeitnehmern?
Mit einem schlecht bezahlten Job sind Sie anfällig für schlechte psychische Gesundheit.
Pressmaster / Shutterstock.com

Englisch: www.mjfriendship.de/en/index.php?op...20&Itemid=32 Da es bei der Arbeit an der Hackordnung liegt, sind ernsthafte psychiatrische Probleme verbunden Neueste Forschung zeigt an. Wir fanden heraus, dass missbrauchende Manager das emotionale und psychische Wohlbefinden der unter ihnen Befindlichen negativ beeinflussen und dass sie Arbeiter paranoid und hyper-wachsam bei der Arbeit fühlen lassen.

Für unsere Studie analysierten wir Daten von 4,000-Mitarbeitern in Großbritannien mit unterschiedlichen Berufsgruppen im Alter von 16 bis 65. Wir fanden eine besorgniserregend hohe Prävalenz von psychischen Gesundheitsproblemen bei Niedriglohnempfängern in nicht leitenden Positionen.

Unter allen Arbeitern fanden wir, dass 19% Anzeichen einer Depression zeigten, 15% hatte im letzten Monat über Selbstmord nachgedacht, 10% fühlte sich paranoid, 7% hatte eine psychotische oder eine Persönlichkeitsstörung und 4% hatten Halluzinationen. Geringverdienende Arbeitnehmer wiesen signifikant häufiger Symptome auf paranoide Persönlichkeitsstörung und vermeidende Persönlichkeitsstörung als diejenigen, deren Jobs Manager waren.

Je niedriger das Einkommen einer Person ist, desto schlechter ist ihre geistige und körperliche Gesundheit. Unsere Studie misst nur Assoziationen, so dass wir nicht argumentieren können, dass ein niedriger Job psychische Störungen verursacht, aber Forschung sagt uns Wenn Sie einen schlecht bezahlten Job haben, sind Sie anfällig für eine schlechte psychische Gesundheit aufgrund von unkontrollierbarem Stress bei der Arbeit, verursacht durch strenge Arbeitsbedingungen, unsichere Arbeitsverhältnisse, schlechte Bezahlung und schlechte Aufstiegschancen. Dies sind alles Faktoren, die von der Organisation selbst gestaltet werden können und werden.

Sogar bei jenen Arbeitern, bei denen keine psychische Störung diagnostiziert wurde, zeigten viele psychische Gesundheitssymptome, wenn wir sie bewerteten. Dies beinhaltete 38% der Arbeiter, die reizbar sind, 34% sind müde, 19% haben Symptome von Depression und 18% haben Angstzustände.

Obwohl diese Symptome für sich genommen nicht bedeuten, dass Menschen eine psychische Störung haben, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass sich diese Symptome, wenn sie akutem Stress ausgesetzt werden, insbesondere über einen langen Zeitraum, zu einer psychischen Störung entwickeln. Es scheint also eine versteckte Epidemie mit schlechter psychischer Gesundheit am britischen Arbeitsplatz zu geben, die nicht behandelt wird.

Nach Ursachen suchen

Um herauszufinden, ob das Arbeitsumfeld für die schlechte psychische Gesundheit von Arbeitern verantwortlich ist, führten wir zusätzliche Studien von britischen Arbeitnehmern durch.

An unserem Hauptsitz erste Studie von 90 UK-Mitarbeitern haben wir festgestellt, dass Berichte über missbräuchliche Supervisionen, die sich auf einen Boss beziehen, der verbale oder nonverbale Feindseligkeit zeigt - abfällige Kommentare, Temperamentsausbrüche, Einschüchterung, Zurückhaltung von Informationen oder Erniedrigung ihrer Untergebenen - mit einem niedrigen mentalen Verhältnis verbunden waren Wohlbefinden.

Missbräuchliche Überwachung wurde auch mit einem Anstieg der Paranoia bei Arbeitern in Verbindung gebracht - ein Glaube, dass Chefs böswillig sind und sie verfolgen. Aber die Verfügbarkeit von organisatorischer Unterstützung scheint die negativen Auswirkungen missbräuchlicher Chefs zu puffern.

An unserem Hauptsitz experimentelle Studie von 100 UK-Mitarbeitern, baten wir die Hälfte der Studienteilnehmer, sich ein Video eines Mitarbeiters anzuschauen, der von ihrem Chef missbraucht wurde, und baten sie, sich vorzustellen, dass sie missbraucht wurden. Die andere Hälfte wurde gebeten, ein Video eines befreundeten Vorgesetzten anzusehen. Wir fanden heraus, dass diejenigen, die dem Video ausgesetzt waren, das einen missbräuchlichen Chef zeigte, eher Anzeichen von Paranoia aufwiesen als diejenigen in der Kontrollgruppe.

Diejenigen, die sich vorstellten, vom Chef missbraucht zu werden, meldeten häufiger die Absicht, sich am Arbeitsplatz zu messen, indem sie falsche Gerüchte als Vergeltung stehlen oder verbreiten.

Es ist leicht zu sehen, wie ein missbrauchender Chef einen giftigen Arbeitsplatz schaffen kann. Ihr Verhalten kann dazu führen, dass sich die Mitarbeiter in einer Weise verhalten, die für andere stressig ist, was wiederum dazu führt, dass die schlechte psychische Gesundheit in ihren Kollegen fortbesteht.

Unsere Forschung zeigt ganz klar, dass es soziale und organisatorische Auslöser für eine schlechte psychische Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz gibt, aber die Verfügbarkeit von Unterstützung am Arbeitsplatz könnte die Situation verbessern.

Unternehmen sollten verstehen, dass sie ethisch für das Wohlergehen ihrer Mitarbeiter verantwortlich sind. Psychische Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz muss ernst genommen werden, um diese versteckte Epidemie einzudämmen.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Rusi Jaspal, Professor für Psychologie und sexuelle Gesundheit, De Montfort University; Bárbara Cristina da Silva Lopes, leitende Forscherin, Universität von Coimbraund Caroline Kamau, Dozentin für Organisationspsychologie, Birkbeck, Universität von London

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher von Rusi Jaspal

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Rusi Jaspal; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why There Is Poor Mental Health Among Low Paid Workers

 

Why There Is Poor Mental Health Among Low Paid Workers
Having a low-paid job makes you vulnerable to poor mental health.
Pressmaster/Shutterstock.com

Being lower on the pecking order at work is associated with having serious psychiatric problems, our latest research shows. We found that abusive managers negatively affect the emotional and psychological well-being of those beneath them, and that they make workers feel more paranoid and hyper-vigilant at work.

For our study, we analysed data from over 4,000 UK workers of different job ranks, aged 16 to 65. We found a worryingly high prevalence of mental health problems among low-paid workers in non-managerial roles.

Among all workers, we found that 19% showed signs of depression, 15% had thought about suicide in the last month, 10% felt paranoid, 7% had a psychotic or a personality disorder and 4% had hallucinations. Low-paid workers were significantly more likely to have symptoms of paranoid personality disorder and avoidant personality disorder than those whose jobs were managerial.

The lower a person’s income, the worse their mental and physical health. Our study only measures associations, so we cannot argue that having a low-ranking job causes mental disorders, but research tells us that having a low-paid job makes you vulnerable to poor mental health because of uncontrollable stress at work caused by strict working conditions, job insecurity, poor pay and poor promotion prospects. These are all factors that can be, and are, shaped by the organisation itself.

Even among those workers who had not been diagnosed with a mental health disorder, many exhibited mental health symptoms when we assessed them. This included 38% of workers being irritable, 34% being tired, 19% having symptoms of depression and 18% having anxiety.

Although having these symptoms by themselves does not mean that people have a mental disorder, it is highly likely that when exposed to acute stress, especially over a long period of time, these symptoms will develop into a mental disorder. So it seems there is a hidden epidemic of poor mental health in the UK workplace that is not being addressed.

Looking for causes

To find out if the work environment is to blame for poor mental health in workers, we conducted additional studies of UK workers.

In our first study of 90 UK workers, we found that reporting experiences of abusive supervision, which refers to a boss showing verbal or non-verbal hostility – making derogatory comments, having temper outbursts, being intimidating, withholding information or humiliating their underling – was related to low mental well-being.

Abusive supervision was also related to an increase in paranoia in workers – a belief that bosses are malevolent and are persecuting them. But the availability of organisational support appeared to buffer the negative effects of abusive bosses.

In our experimental study of 100 UK workers, we asked half of study participants to watch a video of an employee being abused by their boss and asked them to imagine that they were the ones being abused. The other half were asked to view a video of a supervisor being friendly. We found that those exposed to the video showing an abusive boss were more likely to show signs of paranoia than those in the control group.

Those who imagined being abused by the boss were more likely to report an intention to engage in workplace deviance, such as stealing or spreading false rumours as retaliation.

It’s easy to see how an abusive boss can create a toxic workplace. Their behaviour can cause employees to act out in ways that are stressful to others, in turn, potentially perpetuating poor mental health in their colleagues.

Our research quite clearly shows that there are social and organisational triggers for poor mental health in the workplace, but the availability of support in the workplace could improve matters.

Companies should understand that they are ethically responsible for the well-being of their workers. Mental health in the workplace must be taken seriously to curb this hidden epidemic.The Conversation

About The Authors

Rusi Jaspal, Professor of Psychology and Sexual Health, De Montfort University; Bárbara Cristina da Silva Lopes, Senior Researcher, University of Coimbra, and Caroline Kamau, Lecturer in Organisational Psychology, Birkbeck, University of London

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by Rusi Jaspal

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Rusi Jaspal;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.