لماذا هناك صحة نفسية ضعيفة بين العمال منخفضي الأجور

لماذا هناك صحة نفسية ضعيفة بين العمال منخفضي الأجور
وجود وظيفة منخفضة الأجر يجعلك عرضة لصحة نفسية سيئة.
Pressmaster / Shutterstock.com

ويرتبط انخفاض مستوى النظام في العمل مع وجود مشاكل نفسية خطيرة ، لدينا أحدث الأبحاث عروض. وجدنا أن المديرين المسيئين يؤثرون سلبًا على الرفاهية العاطفية والنفسية لمن هم تحتها ، وأنهم يجعلون العاملين يشعرون بمزيد من الاضطهاد واليقظة في العمل.

من أجل دراستنا ، قمنا بتحليل البيانات من عمال 4,000 في المملكة المتحدة من مختلف الرتب الوظيفية ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 إلى 65. لقد وجدنا انتشارًا مقلقًا بشكل كبير لمشاكل الصحة العقلية بين العمال منخفضي الأجر في الأدوار غير الإدارية.

بين جميع العمال ، وجدنا أن 19٪ أظهر علامات الاكتئاب ، 15٪ قد فكرت بالانتحار في الشهر الماضي ، 10٪ شعر بجنون العظمة ، 7٪ كان لديه اضطراب نفسي أو اضطراب في الشخصية و 4٪ لديهم هلوسات. كان العمال ذوو الأجور المنخفضة أكثر عرضة للأعراض اضطراب الشخصية المذعورة و اضطراب في الشخصية الانطوائية من أولئك الذين كانت وظائفهم إدارية.

كلما انخفض دخل الشخص ، ازدادت صحتهم النفسية والجسدية. وتقيس دراستنا فقط الجمعيات ، لذلك لا يمكننا القول بأن وجود وظيفة منخفضة المستوى يسبب اضطرابات نفسية ، ولكن بحث يخبرنا أن الحصول على وظيفة منخفضة الأجر يجعلك عرضة لسوء الصحة العقلية بسبب الإجهاد الذي لا يمكن السيطرة عليه في العمل الناجم عن ظروف العمل الصارمة ، وانعدام الأمن الوظيفي ، وتدني الأجور وتوقعات الترقية الضعيفة. هذه كلها عوامل يمكن تشكيلها من قبل المنظمة نفسها.

وحتى بين هؤلاء العمال الذين لم يتم تشخيص إصابتهم باضطراب في الصحة العقلية ، أظهر العديد منهم أعراض الصحة العقلية عندما قمنا بتقييمهم. شملت هذه النسبة 38٪ من العمال الذين يعانون من الانفعال ، 34٪ متعبون ، 19٪ لديهم أعراض الاكتئاب و 18٪ لديهم القلق.

على الرغم من أن هذه الأعراض بحد ذاتها لا تعني أن الناس يعانون من اضطراب عقلي ، فمن المحتمل جدًا أن تتطور هذه الأعراض إلى اضطراب عقلي عندما تتعرض للإجهاد الحاد ، خاصةً على مدى فترة زمنية طويلة. لذا يبدو أن هناك وباءًا خفيًا لسوء الصحة العقلية في مكان العمل في المملكة المتحدة والذي لا تتم معالجته.

البحث عن أسباب

لمعرفة ما إذا كانت بيئة العمل هي المسؤولة عن ضعف الصحة العقلية في العمال ، أجرينا دراسات إضافية على العاملين في المملكة المتحدة.

لدينا في الدراسة الأولى من عمال 90 في المملكة المتحدة ، وجدنا أن تجارب الإبلاغ عن الإشراف المسيء ، والتي تشير إلى وجود مدرب يظهر العداء اللفظي أو غير اللفظي - مما يجعل التعليقات الاستهزاءية ، التي تسببت في نوبات الغضب ، والتخويف ، وحجب المعلومات أو إذلال مخابئهم - كان مرتبطا بانخفاض العقلية الرفاه.

كما كان الإشراف المسيء مرتبط بزيادة في جنون العظمة لدى العمال - وهو اعتقاد بأن الرؤساء خبيثون ويضطهدونهم. ولكن يبدو أن توافر الدعم التنظيمي يحمي التأثيرات السلبية للرؤساء المسيئين.

لدينا في دراسة تجريبية لعمال 100 في المملكة المتحدةطالبنا نصف المشاركين في الدراسة بمشاهدة فيديو لموظف يتعرضون للإساءة من قبل رئيسهم وطلب منهم أن يتصوروا أنهم من يتعرضون للإساءة. وطلب من النصف الآخر مشاهدة مقطع فيديو لمشرف يكون ودودًا. ووجدنا أن الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا للفيديو الذي يظهر مديرًا مسيئًا كانوا أكثر عرضة لإظهار علامات جنون العظمة من أولئك الذين في المجموعة الضابطة.

كان أولئك الذين يتصورون إساءة معاملتهم من قبل رئيسهم أكثر احتمالاً للإبلاغ عن نية للانخراط في انحراف في مكان العمل ، مثل سرقة أو نشر شائعات كاذبة على أنها انتقام.

من السهل أن ترى كيف يمكن لرئيس مسيء أن يخلق مكان عمل سام. يمكن لسلوكهم أن يجعل الموظفين يتصرفون بطرق مرهقة للآخرين ، وهذا بدوره يؤدي إلى استمرار الصحة النفسية السيئة لدى زملائهم.

يظهر بحثنا بوضوح تام أن هناك محفزات اجتماعية وتنظيمية للصحة العقلية السيئة في مكان العمل ، ولكن توافر الدعم في مكان العمل يمكن أن يحسن الأمور.

يجب أن تفهم الشركات أنها مسؤولة أخلاقياً عن رفاهية عمالها. يجب أن تؤخذ الصحة العقلية في مكان العمل على محمل الجد للحد من هذا الوباء الخفي.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

روسي جاسبال ، أستاذ علم النفس والصحة الجنسية ، جامعة دي مونتفورت. باربارا كريستينا دا سيلفا لوبيز ، باحث أول ، جامعة كويمبراوكارولين كامو ، محاضرة في علم النفس التنظيمي ، بيركبيك، جامعة لندن

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب روسي جاسبال

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Rusi Jaspal؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Why There Is Poor Mental Health Among Low Paid Workers

 

Why There Is Poor Mental Health Among Low Paid Workers
Having a low-paid job makes you vulnerable to poor mental health.
Pressmaster/Shutterstock.com

Being lower on the pecking order at work is associated with having serious psychiatric problems, our latest research shows. We found that abusive managers negatively affect the emotional and psychological well-being of those beneath them, and that they make workers feel more paranoid and hyper-vigilant at work.

For our study, we analysed data from over 4,000 UK workers of different job ranks, aged 16 to 65. We found a worryingly high prevalence of mental health problems among low-paid workers in non-managerial roles.

Among all workers, we found that 19% showed signs of depression, 15% had thought about suicide in the last month, 10% felt paranoid, 7% had a psychotic or a personality disorder and 4% had hallucinations. Low-paid workers were significantly more likely to have symptoms of paranoid personality disorder and avoidant personality disorder than those whose jobs were managerial.

The lower a person’s income, the worse their mental and physical health. Our study only measures associations, so we cannot argue that having a low-ranking job causes mental disorders, but research tells us that having a low-paid job makes you vulnerable to poor mental health because of uncontrollable stress at work caused by strict working conditions, job insecurity, poor pay and poor promotion prospects. These are all factors that can be, and are, shaped by the organisation itself.

Even among those workers who had not been diagnosed with a mental health disorder, many exhibited mental health symptoms when we assessed them. This included 38% of workers being irritable, 34% being tired, 19% having symptoms of depression and 18% having anxiety.

Although having these symptoms by themselves does not mean that people have a mental disorder, it is highly likely that when exposed to acute stress, especially over a long period of time, these symptoms will develop into a mental disorder. So it seems there is a hidden epidemic of poor mental health in the UK workplace that is not being addressed.

Looking for causes

To find out if the work environment is to blame for poor mental health in workers, we conducted additional studies of UK workers.

In our first study of 90 UK workers, we found that reporting experiences of abusive supervision, which refers to a boss showing verbal or non-verbal hostility – making derogatory comments, having temper outbursts, being intimidating, withholding information or humiliating their underling – was related to low mental well-being.

Abusive supervision was also related to an increase in paranoia in workers – a belief that bosses are malevolent and are persecuting them. But the availability of organisational support appeared to buffer the negative effects of abusive bosses.

In our experimental study of 100 UK workers, we asked half of study participants to watch a video of an employee being abused by their boss and asked them to imagine that they were the ones being abused. The other half were asked to view a video of a supervisor being friendly. We found that those exposed to the video showing an abusive boss were more likely to show signs of paranoia than those in the control group.

Those who imagined being abused by the boss were more likely to report an intention to engage in workplace deviance, such as stealing or spreading false rumours as retaliation.

It’s easy to see how an abusive boss can create a toxic workplace. Their behaviour can cause employees to act out in ways that are stressful to others, in turn, potentially perpetuating poor mental health in their colleagues.

Our research quite clearly shows that there are social and organisational triggers for poor mental health in the workplace, but the availability of support in the workplace could improve matters.

Companies should understand that they are ethically responsible for the well-being of their workers. Mental health in the workplace must be taken seriously to curb this hidden epidemic.The Conversation

About The Authors

Rusi Jaspal, Professor of Psychology and Sexual Health, De Montfort University; Bárbara Cristina da Silva Lopes, Senior Researcher, University of Coimbra, and Caroline Kamau, Lecturer in Organisational Psychology, Birkbeck, University of London

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by Rusi Jaspal

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Rusi Jaspal;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.