تأثير ترامب في كندا: 600 في المائة زيادة في خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت

تأثير ترامب في كندا: 600 في المائة زيادة في خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت
قامت ألمانيا بإصدار تشريع جديد لمحاولة وقف ارتفاع خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت. إنها ظاهرة تحدث في كندا أيضاً ويشير العديد من المحللين إلى تأثير سياسة دونالد ترامب.
الائتمان: الرسم الجوي للقوات الجوية الأمريكية / يعقوب موسولف

في عهد هتلر ، عانت ألمانيا من عواقب الأمة التي تجذب إلى الدعاية وخطاب الكراهية. هذا قد يفسر إلحاح الحكومة على سن قانون جديد القانون، معروف ب "قانون فيس بوك" رداً على الارتفاع الخطير مؤخراً في خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت.

تشهد كندا ارتفاعًا مماثلًا.

شركة التسويق الإعلامي Cision وثقت ستة أضعاف - وهذا هو زيادة 600 في المائة - في مقدار الكلام غير المتسامح والكراهية في منشورات التواصل الاجتماعي من قبل الكنديين بين نوفمبر 2015 و نوفمبر 2016. تم استخدام علامات التصنيف مثل #banmuslims و #siegheil و #whitegenocide و #whitepower على نطاق واسع على منصات التواصل الاجتماعي الشائعة مثل Twitter.

بعض المحللين يلومون ترامب. لكن وسائل الإعلام الكندية لا ينبغي أن تكون متلهفة للغاية بشأن تمسكها بممارسة الصحافة العادلة والمتوازنة.

قامت مجموعة من العلماء في جامعة رايرسون بإجراء تحليل نقدي لـ كيف غطت وسائل الإعلام الكندية إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين في كندا بين أيلول (سبتمبر) 2015 و أبريل 2016. وجدوا أن العديد من وسائل الإعلام لعبت دورا رئيسيا في تعزيز الصورة السلبية للاجئين السوريين والمسلمين في نظر العامة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كان اللاجئون خاضعين لـ "الآخرين" ، وهي ممارسة تصوير الثقافات غير البيضاء على أنها "غريبة" ، وإبراز الاختلافات بدلاً من القيم أو المصالح المشتركة. وقد تم تصوير القائمين الجدد القادمين من سوريا بأسلوب نمطي ، وجُرّموا (لا سيما الرجال) ويُنظر إليهم على أنهم سلبيون ، ويفتقرون إلى الوكالة ، والضعفاء ، والمحتاجين ، واستنزاف الموارد الحكومية. كان يُنظر إلى اللاجئين السوريين الذكور على أنهم يشكلون تهديدات أمنية وأن اللاجئات من النساء السوريات لا صوت لهن ولا يتعرضن للقمع ويائسين.

My بحث تتناول الدراسة الطريقة التي ينظر بها الشباب إلى دورهم في المجتمع من حيث صلته باللاجئين ، وكيف ينظرون إلى الدعاية عبر الإنترنت وتفسّرها.

سؤال $ 74 مليون

المفوضية الأوروبية مؤخرا أعلنت عن مجموعة جديدة من المبادئ التوجيهية والمبادئ للمنصات على الإنترنت لمنع المحتوى الذي يحرض على الكراهية والعنف والإرهابوبدأت تويتر في تنفيذها قواعد جديدة لمحاربة الكراهية في نوفمبر تشرين الثاني.

يجب أن تتبع كندا خطى ألمانيا سن قانونًا من شأنه الضغط على الشبكات الاجتماعية لإزالة المشاركات المسيئة في غضون 24 ساعة أو المخاطرة بغرامات تصل إلى $ 74 بسبب عدم الامتثال؟

قد يكون تبني أنظمة جديدة تجبر منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للاستجابة بسرعة هو التدخل الفعال لوقف انتشار خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن يثبت أنه صعب ، حيث يدخل المراقبون في لغة معقدة و غالبا ما نخطئ. في نهاية المطاف ، نحن بحاجة إلى اعتماد استجابة منهجية للخطابة الكراهية والخطيرة على الإنترنت.

كان قانون الإعلام الاجتماعي الألماني موضوع نقد منذ الإعلان عنه. بعض النقاد يقولون أن القانون هو واسع جدا بينما يحذر آخرون أنه يمكن أن يكون الجلاد من حرية التعبير. إن الخط الرفيع بين خطاب الكراهية وحرية التعبير هو محور العديد من الكنديين المعنيين.

في كندا ، يتم تناول خطاب الكراهية في التحديث الذي تم تحديثه مؤخرًا القانون الجنائي (RSC ، 1985 ، c. C-46). ومع ذلك ، فإن تطبيق هذا القانون على خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت هو موضوع متكرر للنقاش استنتاجات متضاربة. على وجه الخصوص ، و الدفاعات يوضح القسم من القانون الحالات التي يمكن فيها إعفاء مؤيدي خطاب الكراهية.

تمييز خطاب الكراهية من خوف الكلام - الخطاب الذي ينشأ من الخوف والملثمين بالمصطلحات والتعبيرات المرتبطة عادة بالكراهية - هو بحد ذاته تحدٍ كبير. الحركة 103 (M-103)الذي يدين كره الإسلام في كندا ، وتم إقراره في مجلس العموم هذا الربيع ، ينظر إليه بعض الكنديين لقمع حرية التعبير.

كيف لوقف الكراهية على الانترنت؟

لقد نجحت الأحزاب المتطرفة والسياسيون ومعجبيهم في الاستفادة من منصات التواصل الاجتماعي لنشر الرسائل المليئة بالعنصرية والتعصب - وحتى التحريض على وجهات النظر الراديكالية.

النشطاء اليمينيون والحركات التي يتبنونها الآن أكثر من نظمت 100 مجموعات في كندا. هم أكثر وضوحا وأكثر اتصالا بشكل أفضل من أي وقت مضى.

وقف الكلام الكراهية وجهات النظر المتطرفة على وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية قد يكون مهمة مستحيلة.

ومع ذلك ، أ غالبية الكنديين يحصلون على أخبارهم عن السياسة من خلال عمالقة وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية مثل الفيسبوك. الفيسبوك يقول 84 في المائة من الكنديين الشباب استخدام بنشاط منصة وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية.

وقال: "إن جوهر الدعاية يتمثل في كسب الناس إلى فكرة مخلصة ، وبشكل حيوي للغاية ، لدرجة أنهم في النهاية يستسلمون لها تمامًا ولا يمكنهم الهروب منها". جوزيف غوبلز، وزير دعاية هتلر والتنوير الوطني.

بحسب ال شانون ويفر نموذج الاتصالتم إنشاؤه في 1948 بواسطة عالم الرياضيات والمهندس الإلكتروني كلود إلوود شانون والعالم Warren Weaver ، ويتضمن كل اتصال مصدر معلومات ورسالة وجهاز إرسال وجهاز استقبال وجهة ومصدر ضوضاء.

إذا طبقنا ذلك نموذج الاتصال إلى خطاب الكراهية عبر الإنترنت ، يمكننا تحديد مصادر المعلومات كدعاة ، بما في ذلك الأحزاب المتطرفة. إنهم يصنعون رسالة بسيطة ومباشرة مثل "المسلمون إرهابيون" وينقلونها عبر مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي.

الوجهة هي الجمهور الذي يركز عليه البروباغنديون على التلاعب. ينتمي هذا الجمهور إلى مجموعة كاملة ، تتراوح بين مؤيدي الفكرة إلى جمهور غاضب من ذلك.

المتلقي هو النظام المستخدم من قبل الجمهور لفك شفرة الرسالة وتفسيرها. يشتمل مصدر الضجيج على القوانين ، والأفعال ، والترشيح ، ووضع استراتيجيات وضع لمنع الرسالة من الوصول إلى الوجهة.

وقد ثبت حتى الآن أن مرسل خطاب الكراهية لا يمكن إيقافه وأن مصدر الضوضاء يفتقر إلى الكفاءة ، لأن الخطاب الذي يحض على الكراهية لا يستمر فقط بل يستمر في الارتفاع.

لذلك ، يجب علينا أن نغير تكتيكاتنا. يمكننا على سبيل المثال التركيز على جهاز الاستقبال ووجهة الرسالة المليئة بالكراهية. يمكننا تعليم الجمهور - الشباب على وجه الخصوص - كيفية الصمود أمام الدعاية الرقمية لخطاب الكراهية.

يجب أن يكون الشباب جزءًا من الحل

لا يمكن أن تكون المحادثات التي تميز جيل الألفية كمستهلكين سلبيين للأخبار مع التعرض القليل والعارض للأحداث العالمية أكثر خطأ. وجدت دراسة أجراها مشروع Insight Media في 2015 أن الشباب بين عمر 18 و 24 "أي شيء غير" الأخبار "" سلبية أو غير مهتمة بالقضايا المدنية.

وبدلاً من ذلك ، فهم يستهلكون الأخبار والمعلومات بطرق مختلفة بشكل مذهل عن الأجيال السابقة ، كما أن مساراتهم "اكتشاف أكثر دقة ومتنوعة مما قد يتخيله البعض". تلعب وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية دورًا كبيرًا في استهلاكها للأخبار.

ينتقد العديد من الشباب المحتوى الإعلامي واختيارهم للمعلومات والأخبار التي يقرأونها على الإنترنت بعيدا عن العشوائية. في كثير من الأحيان مشاهدة أو اختبار التمييز العنصري المباشر أو غير المباشر عبر الإنترنت أو مشاهدة مناقشات على الفيسبوك غير مثمرة أو غير مدروسة أو مزعجة.

يعترفون بجداول الأعمال و خوارزميات وراء المشاركات التي تظهر على جدرانها ، وهم يتوقون إلى صوت مؤثر يمكن أن يعطل الخطابات حول القضايا التي تؤثر على حياتهم.

ومع ذلك ، خوفا من رد فعل عنيف ، فإن غالبية الشباب يختارون البقاء متفرجين في حقبة يحتاج فيها وجودهم ومهاراتهم في وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية أكثر من غيرها. تبقى "المستخدمين الأقوياء (المستخدمين المتكررين) ، "بدلاً من" المستخدمين الأقوياء (المستخدمين المؤثرين)".

ينظم خطاب الكراهية والمحادثات القبيحة عبر الإنترنت حول اللاجئين السوريين بشكل أساسي لنشر الخوف بين الناس الذين قد يكونون أعضاءً في المجتمعات الترحيبية الفعلية أو المرتقبة. حملة لمواجهة الدعاية بقيادة وكلاء التغييرمن المهم موازنة التأثير السلبي والسماح للمجتمعات المضيفة باتخاذ خيارات مستنيرة.

يمكن أن يكون الشباب أفضل مرشحين لنا ليكونوا عوامل التغيير هذه ، نظراً لإلمامهم بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لكي يحدث هذا ، يحتاج الشباب إلى تطوير التفكير المدني عبر الإنترنت وتحديد طرق الاستفادة من قوة وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية من أجل "تحكم أكبر وصوت وتأثير على القضايا الأكثر أهمية في حياتهم."

انهم بحاجة الى فهم أين يأتي من التسامح السياسي والتعصب من و فهم المخاوف والعواطف والقيم التي تولد المواقف العامة.

كثيرون يقولون ذلك التعليم لا يكفي. ومع ذلك ، فإن تجهيز الشباب وتمكينهم من تعطيل الرسائل التي ينقلها المتطرفون المتطرفون أو الأحزاب ذات الأجندات العنصرية يبدأ بتدريس فهم الذات.

قوة معرفة الذات

My بحث الدراسة المعنية 126 المقابلات المتعمقة مع 42 شباب بين 18 و 24 سنة من كندا والمملكة المتحدة وفرنسا وبلجيكا وألمانيا والبرتغال وإيطاليا وبولندا واليونان ولبنان. خلال المقابلات ، شاركت هؤلاء المشاركين الشباب في عملية التعلم عن أنفسهم باستخدام أدوات تكيفت من علم النفس البناء الشخصي.

أردت أن أفهم كيف ينظرون إلى دورهم في دمج وإدماج اللاجئين في مجتمعاتهم ، في سياق تتأثر فيه صورة اللاجئين بشدة بوسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية ، خاصة بعد الهجمات الإرهابية.

أردت أيضًا اكتشاف المعرفة والمهارات التي طوروها من خلال عملية فهم أنفسهم من خلال تحديد أنظمة البناء - "العدسات" التي استخدموها عند فك دعاية رقمية تستهدف قضايا حساسة ومثيرة للجدل مثل أزمة اللاجئين السوريين.

من خلال مناقشاتنا ، كان كل من هؤلاء الشباب 42 "لحظة آها".

وبغض النظر عن مواقعهم الجغرافية أو الطرق التي عانوا منها من أزمة اللاجئين والهجمات الإرهابية الأخيرة ، فقد كان لديهم نفس الإدراك المفاجئ. لا يمكنهم فقط التحكم في كيفية تأثير وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية عليهم ، ولكن لديهم أيضًا دور يلعبونه في تشكيل صورة اللاجئين من خلال ما يشاركونه عبر الإنترنت.

أصبحوا ينتقدون محتوى وسائل الإعلام. لقد طوروا التعاطف تجاه اللاجئين والأشخاص الذين رفضوا الوافدين الجدد. انتقلوا من المارة السلبية ، وأصبحوا واثقين من التغيير ، على استعداد للعب دور قيادي في موازنة الدعاية الرقمية ضد الكراهية ضد اللاجئين.

من أجل القضاء على الدعاية الرقمية التي تحرض على الكراهية ، نحتاج إلى منع الدعاة من الوصول إلى أهدافهم.

تشكل قوانين مثل "قانون فيس بوك" الألماني جزءًا من الحل. المفتاح الآخر هو التأكد من أن الجماهير مدربة على تحمل التلاعب بشكل أفضل.

المحادثةشبابنا ، مرة واحدة مجهزة وتمكينهم ، هم أفضل المرشحين لدينا لتعطيل الرسائل المنتشرة من قبل الدعاة ومتابعة مهمة وضع حد لخطاب الكراهية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

نادية نافي ، كلية الدوام الكامل في قسم التربية ، مرشحة دكتوراه في تكنولوجيا التعليم والباحث العام ، جامعة كونكورديا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = social media hate speech؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Trump Effect In Canada: A 600 Per Cent Increase In Online Hate Speech

The Trump Effect In Canada: A 600 Per Cent Increase In Online Hate Speech
Germany has introduced new legislation to try to stop the rise of online hate speech. It’s a phenomenon that’s happening in Canada too and many analysts point to the impact of Donald Trump’s politics.
Credit: U.S. Air Force graphic/Jacob Mosolf

Under Hitler, Germany experienced the consequences of a nation caving in to propaganda and hate speech. This may explain its government’s urgency to enact a new law, known as the “Facebook Act,” in response to the recent alarming rise of hate speech online.

Canada is experiencing a similar rise.

Media marketing company Cision documented a six-fold rise — that’s a 600 per cent increase — in the amount of intolerant and hate speech in social media postings by Canadians between November 2015 and November 2016. Hashtags such as #banmuslims, #siegheil, #whitegenocide and #whitepower were widely used on popular social media platforms such as Twitter.

Some analysts blame Trump. But Canadian media outlets shouldn’t be too smug about their adherence to the practice of fair and balanced journalism.

A group of scholars at Ryerson University conducted a critical analysis of how the Canadian media covered the resettlement of Syrian refugees in Canada between September 2015 and April 2016. They found several news outlets played a major role in reinforcing the negative image of Syrian refugees and Muslims in the public eye.

The refugees were subject to “othering,” the practice of depicting nonwhite cultures as “alien,” and highlighting differences rather than shared values or interests. The new arrivals from Syria were stereotyped, criminalized (especially men) and perceived as passive, lacking agency, vulnerable, needy and a drain on government resources. Male Syrian refugees were viewed as security threats and female Syrian refugees as voiceless, oppressed and desperate.

My research study investigates the way youth view their role in society as it relates to refugees, and how they regard and interpret online propaganda.

The $74 million question

The European Commission recently announced a new set of guidelines and principles for online platforms to prevent content inciting hatred, violence and terrorism, and Twitter began implementing its new rules for fighting hate on Nov. 1.

Should Canada follow in Germany’s footsteps and enact a law that would pressure social networks to remove offensive posts within 24 hours or risk fines of up to $74 million for failing to comply?

Adopting new regulations forcing social media platforms to respond swiftly could be an effective intervention to halt the spread of hate speech online. However, it could also prove to be challenging, as moderators wade into complex language and often get it wrong. Ultimately, we need to adopt a systematic response to hateful and dangerous rhetoric online.

The German social media law has been the subject of criticism since it was announced. Some critics say the law is too broad while others warn it could be the executioner of free speech. The thin line between hate speech and free speech is the focus of many concerned Canadians.

In Canada, hate speech is addressed in the recently updated Criminal Code (R.S.C., 1985, c. C-46). However, the applicability of this law to online hate speech is a frequent subject of debate that produces conflicting conclusions. In particular, the Defenses section of the code outlines cases where the proponents of hate speech could be exempted.

Distinguishing hate speech from fear speech — speech originating from fear and masked with terms and expressions usually associated with hate — is by itself a great challenge. Motion 103 (M-103), which condemns Islamophobia in Canada, and was passed in the House of Commons this Spring, is perceived by some Canadians to be suppressing free speech.

How to stop hate online?

Extremist parties, politicians and their fans have all successfully taken advantage of social media platforms to spread messages filled with racism and intolerance — even incitement to radical views.

Right-wing activists and the movements they espouse now total more than 100 organized groups in Canada. They are more visible and also better connected than ever before.

Stopping hate speech and extremist views on social media may be an impossible mission.

Yet, a majority of Canadians get their news about politics through social media giants such as Facebook. Facebook says 84 per cent of young Canadians actively use the social media platform.

“The essence of propaganda consists in winning people over to an idea so sincerely, so vitally, that in the end they succumb to it utterly and can never escape from it,” said Joseph Goebbels, Hitler’s minister of propaganda and national enlightenment.

According to the Shannon and Weaver Model of Communication, created in 1948 by mathematician and electronic engineer Claude Elwood Shannon and scientist Warren Weaver, every communication includes an information source, a message, a transmitter, a receiver, a destination and a noise source.

If we apply the communication model to online hate speech, we can identify the information sources as the propagandists, including extremist parties. They craft a simple, direct message such as “Muslims are terrorists” and transmit it through social media posts.

The destination is the audience the propagandists are focused on manipulating. This audience belongs to a whole spectrum, ranging from supporters of the idea to an audience that is outraged by it.

The receiver is the system used by the audience to decode the message and interpret it. The noise source includes the laws, acts, filtering and flagging strategies put in place to prevent the message from reaching the destination.

So far, it has been proven that the sender of hate speech is unstoppable and the noise source lacks efficiency, since hate speech not only persists but also is on the rise.

Therefore, we must shift our tactics. We could for example, focus on the receiver and the destination of the hate-filled message. We could teach the audience — youth in particular — how to withstand digital hate speech propaganda.

Youth need to be part of the solution

Conversations that characterize millennials as passive consumers of news with little and incidental exposure to world events could not be more wrong. A study conducted by the Media Insight Project in 2015 found youth between the age of 18 and 24 are “anything but ‘newsless,’ ” passive or uninterested in civic issues.

Instead, they consume news and information in strikingly different ways than previous generations and their paths “to discovery are more nuanced and varied than some may have imagined.” Social media plays a large role in their news consumption.

Many youth are critical of media content and their choice of the information and the news they read online is far from random. They often see or experience direct or indirect racial discrimination online or witness unproductive, uncivil or disturbing Facebook discussions.

They recognize the agendas and algorithms behind the posts that pop up on their walls, and they hunger for an influential voice that would disrupt the discourses about issues that affect their lives.

Yet, fearing a backlash, a majority of youth choose to remain bystanders in an era where their social media presence and skills are needed the most. They remain “power users (frequent users),” instead of “powerful users (influential users).”

Hate speech and ugly online conversations around Syrian refugees are mainly orchestrated to spread fear among people who might otherwise be members of actual or prospective welcoming communities. A campaign to counter propaganda, led by agents of change, is important to counterbalance the negative influence and allow host societies to make informed choices.

Youth could be our best candidates to be these agents of change, given their familiarity with social media. For this to happen, young people need to develop civic online reasoning and identify ways to leverage the power of social media for “greater control, voice and influence over issues that matter most in their lives.”

They need to understand where their political tolerance and intolerance comes from, and understand the concerns, emotions and values that generate public attitudes.

Many argue that education is not enough. However, equipping and empowering youth to disrupt the messaging transmitted by radical extremists or parties with racist agendas starts with the pedagogy of understanding oneself.

The power of self-knowledge

My research study involved 126 in-depth interviews with 42 youth between 18 and 24 years old from Canada, the U.K., France, Belgium, Germany, Portugal, Italy, Poland, Greece and Lebanon. During the interviews, I engaged these young participants in the process of learning about themselves using tools I adapted from Personal Construct Psychology.

I wanted to understand how they viewed their role in the integration and inclusion of refugees in their societies, in a context where the image of refugees was deeply influenced by social media, especially after terror attacks.

I also wanted to discover what knowledge and skills they developed through the process of understanding themselves by identifying their construct systems — the “lenses” they used when decoding digital propaganda targeting sensitive and controversial issues such as the Syrian refugee crisis.

Through our discussions, each of these 42 young people had an “aha moment.”

Regardless of their geographical locations or the ways they experienced the refugee crisis and the recent terror attacks, they had the same sudden realization. Not only could they control how social media influenced them, but they also had a role to play in shaping the image of refugees through what they shared online.

They became critical of media content. They developed empathy towards both refugees and people who rejected newcomers. They moved from passive bystanders, to became confident agents of change, ready to play a leadership role in counterbalancing the digital hate speech propaganda against refugees.

To eradicate digital hate speech propaganda, we need to prevent propagandists from reaching their objectives.

Laws such as Germany’s “Facebook Act” constitute one piece of the solution. The other key is to make sure audiences are trained to better withstand manipulation.

The ConversationOur youth, once equipped and empowered, are our best candidates to disrupt the messages spread by propagandists and to pursue the mission of putting a stop to hate speech.

About The Author

Nadia Naffi, Full-Time Faculty in the Education Department, PhD Candidate in Educational Technology & Public Scholar, Concordia University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Misogyny Online: A Short (and Brutish) History (SAGE Swifts)
culture warsAuthor: Emma A. Jane
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: SAGE Publications Ltd
List Price: $80.00

Buy Now

Free Speech on Campus
culture warsAuthor: Erwin Chemerinsky
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Yale University Press
List Price: $26.00

Buy Now

The Harm in Hate Speech
culture warsAuthor: Jeremy Waldron
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Harvard University Press
List Price: $18.50

Buy Now