زن الإنصات: لماذا يجعل الاستماع المؤثر هو الفرق؟

زن الإنصات: لماذا يجعل الاستماع المؤثر هو الفرق؟

واحد من الأسباب الرئيسية التي نستمع سيئة لأن مستويات الضوضاء الداخلية مضطربة جدا ونافرة أنها تخفي معظم ما يقوله الآخرون. بت فقط، وقطعة من رسالتهم البقاء على قيد الحياة وابلا من تدخل لدينا العقلية. تماما كما تعلمنا لإدارة التدخل الخارجي من قبل ضبط خارج، فقد أصبح نوعا من التحدي لتصل قيمتها في عميقة بما يكفي لرسائل نحن بحاجة للاستماع إلى - تلك الأسرة، وزملاء العمل والعملاء. سوء الفهم، لا تسمع، والمفقودين المعلومات الأساسية بسبب سوء الاستماع هي في جوهر العلل الاجتماعية.

المناهج التقليدية لتحسين الاستماع ليست فعالة عادة لأنها تأتي من وجهة نظر لتغيير ملامح سطح بدلا من إعادة تشكيل المؤسسة. إذا أردنا وضع حد لمعاناة المرتبطة لا يصغي، ونحن بحاجة إلى حفر أعمق للوصول الى مصدر ذلك التغيير يمكن أن يحدث.

الاستماع الجيد أمر ضروري للنجاح ، ولكن كيف يمكن للمرء أن يستمع بفعالية؟

العديد من كتب المساعدة الذاتية على العلاقات الشخصية، والتفاوض، والمبيعات، وخدمة العملاء يقولون لنا إن الاستماع الجيد أمر ضروري للنجاح في حياتنا الشخصية والمهنية، لكنها لا تفسر كيف نصغي. ما هو متاح كيف لنهج لأفضل الاستماع تعطيك قوائم طرق جديدة للتصرف، كما لو كان من خلال تقنيات سحر سيد أنت والعصا معهم. تماما مثل معظم الدورات بعد التحسين الذاتي، ويمكنك محاولة لفرض سلوكيات جديدة لبضعة أيام، ولكن تدريجيا، لأنه لا يوجد أساس لهذه التغييرات، والميول القديم الخاص بك لضبط الناس وتكرار أخطاء الزحف الى الوراء.

كما في علم الامراض خطاب / لغة لمدة عشرين عاما، عملت مع البالغين الذين يعانون من ضعف القدرة على التواصل بسبب سرطان الرأس السكتة الدماغية / الرقبة، واصابات الرأس، أو الأمراض التنكسية. بواسطة الثلاثينات بلادي في وقت متأخر، كنت بدأت تظهر علامات كلاسيكية من الإرهاق. وحتى علاقاتي مع عائلة المعاناة. وأصبحت الملاهي الخارجية مثل الأنشطة العصرية، والتسوق، ومساعي صنع المال، والمنافسة الرياضية بهدف الفوز جاذبية بالنسبة لي. وكنت قد تصبح عرضة للوالاندفاع المفرط تحديد الأهداف، وتراكم الأشياء المادية، والقدرة التنافسية في مجال الرياضة، وتقديم المشورة اخوتي بدلا من كونها مجرد شقيقة حسن - المواقف والسلوكيات التي قطع لي من نفسي والآخرين. على الرغم من كل النوايا تضخيم الذات هذه، ووضع هناك كنت منهكة والتي لم تتحقق بعد يوم من محاولة لجعل نفسي أفضل شخص.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


رحلة اكتشاف الذات: من السلالة إلى السلام والإبداع

الباحثين عن فرص وظيفية جديدة عقدت وعد كعلاج للتوعك بلدي عامة، ولكن أنا لديها تحفظات. كما الكثيرين منكم قد شهدت بالفعل، وخفف من القيود المالية الدافع لي لإجراء تغييرات جذرية. بدلا من ذلك، ينصح حدسي لي أن نلقي نظرة أعمق إلى نفسي، والطريقة التي تتصل الآخرين قبل التخلي عن العمل في الحياة للالتي كانت مناسبة تماما موهبتي وشخصيته. وكان من الضروري إعادة النظر الرئيسية. قررت أنه كان يستحق يجري حفر أثري الشخصية لمعرفة ما يجب القيام به حيال وضعي.

وعندما كنت طالبة في الجامعة في السبعينات، التأمل التجاوزي تصبح وسيلة لاكتشاف الذات والانضباط التي جلبت الوضوح ترحيب لثماني عشرة ساعة معتمدة من عمل الدراسات العليا واثنين من وظيفة بدوام جزئي. الآن، مرة أخرى، بدأت التأمل يوميا. هذا مكنني من أجل تهدئة عقلي وتحديد العقبات الداخلية التي تبقى لي من العمل مع النظام بدلا من ضدها.

خلال هذه المرحلة تجديد، التقيت زوجي، وساشا. وبصرف النظر عن وظيفته كمهندس كمبيوتر، كان هو من الدرجة الثالثة حزام أسود مدرب للفنون القتالية. ترقبه، طلابه، والمدربين الآخرين ممارسة فنون الدفاع عن النفس المختلفة، وفتن أنا تركيز من قبل وسيطرتها الفعلية. أعجبت دولتهم المتوازن للعقل وعدم وجود الوعي الذاتي في حالات يوميا. وكان هؤلاء الناس لا الرهبان أو جزء من بعض عبادة روحية، ولا كان انضباطهم عنيفة أو مدمرة. كانوا الناس العاديين، الذين يملكون شركات أو كانوا قادة في مجتمعاتهم. واجهوا أيضا نفس التهديدات من أبعدته عن الملاعب، ومواعيد العمل مجنون، وميزانيات محدودة، إلا أنها كانت في حالة سلم مع التغيير واستخدام مواردها لإيجاد حلول خلاقة.

كيف يمكن للمرء أن يحقق التركيز ، والتواصل ، والصفاء للروح؟

بعد التعرف على هؤلاء الناس على نحو أفضل، وسألت نفسي، هل مجهود بدني الكاراتيه أو الكونغ فو مصدر هذا تركيز وصفاء الروح؟ أم هو التركيز على نوعية الحركة التي تحسن القدرة على حضور تماما، وبفرح لهذه المهمة في متناول اليد؟ كنت أعتقد أن هذا الأخير، منذ أن كنت قد لاحظت أيضا هذا التوازن بين العقل والجسم في الفنانين، والموسيقيين، والجراحين، والرياضيين. بينما اللوحة، واللعب، تشريح، أو الغوص، وكانوا جميعا اشتعلت عمدا في تدفق أنشطتها.

إذا نظرنا إلى الوراء على مر السنين، تذكرت عدة فترات مبهجة مثل الطاقة المركزة قبل فترة وجودي نضوب الحالي. وكان كثير من الحالات لا تنسى الاستماع. وأذكر في الكلية يجري استيعابها تماما بدنيا وذهنيا في محاضرات معينة، خلال جولات في مجال التدريب الطبي في المستشفى الخاص بي، أو حين يجري نقد من قبل شخص الذي رأي أنا ذات قيمة عالية. تذكرت هذه اللحظات من الاستعداد البدني والعقلي كدولة، واسترخاء متوازن، والترابط بين ذهني والجسم. وكان سؤالي التالي، ما إذا كان من الممكن تطبيق هذا الحماس للحصول على جودة وعمق التركيز على واحدة من أشد الحاجة لنا، هدية لذلك تستخدم إلا قليلا، وكثيرا ما أمرا مفروغا منه - القدرة على الاستماع؟

في بحثي لاستعادة وتكريس هذا الشعور بالارتباط، التحقت في فئة فنون الدفاع عن النفس، ودرس كل ما يمكن أن تجد لي عن العلاقة بين العقل والجسم. من خلال معرفة نفسي مؤلم من خلال عيون اساتذتي، وقدمت الأسباب التي دفعتني إلى أن تصبح قطع من بلدي العالم واضحة. قررت البدء من جديد، وليس من خلال التركيز على النتائج أو نتائج أفعالي، ولكن مع احتمال أن تكون في لحظة واكتشاف نوعية في كل تفاعل.

فتح جدران الروتينية وتعلم الاستماع

زن الإنصات: لماذا يجعل الاستماع المؤثر هو الفرق؟لقد بدأت في تطبيق هذا الوعي الجديد إلى ما احتلت الجزء الأكبر من بلدي اليوم - عملي كمعالج. الأول، خلال هذه الفترة من الوعي الذاتي، لاحظت أنني عندما كنت تفاعلت مع المرضى وزملاء العمل، وأصبح يتلهى جدول أعمالي الخاصة. أدت الافتراضات وفترات من الاستماع الانتقائي لي أن تفوت على معلومات قيمة.

وكنت قد أصبحت مغلقة داخل أسوار بروتوكولات بلدي الروتينية. في حرص بلادي لعلاج المريض، وجدت نفسي المرضى إلقاء المحاضرات وأسرهم كثيرا في كثير من الأحيان ويسأل الطريقة كثيرا من الأسئلة. اذا لم تمتثل توصياتي أو مشورة أطبائهم، يحكم أنا منهم بسرعة، نافيا أسباب عدم اتباع طريق. كنت أرى كم كان يضيع الوقت في تعزيز الممارسة، وإعادة تفسير، ومراجعة خطط العلاج. ما كان في قلب كل هذه الإعادة؟ من لا يصغي تماما للمريض أو لكلماتي المنطوقة الخاصة، وكنت في الواقع مما يجعل المزيد من العمل لنفسي والمماطلة التقدم.

بسبب طريقي أناني في محاولة لمساعدة المرضى على بلدي، وكان لا ندري لماذا أنا وآخرين كثيرين، ترك منصبه والإحباط استنفدت معظم أيام الأسبوع. تذكرت قول الاستاذ مفضل في كلية الدراسات العليا التي أشارت إلى أهمية الاستماع في حالة تعلم: "إذا كنت لا تعرف حيث أن المريض قادم من (خلفيته، والتوقعات، وما إلى ذلك) لا يمكن فهمه ، وانه لن يثق نصيحتك ".

لقد كان من دواعي سروري العمل مع العديد من الأطباء الذين علمني المعنى الحقيقي ل "السرير بطريقة" التعبير. مع أطباء آخرين، ومع ذلك، فقد رأيت كيف فشل في الاستماع إلى المريض يؤثر سلبا على دقة التشخيص والعلاج لاحقا. في كثير من الأحيان لا يتم إعطاء المريض فرصة لنذكر ما يدور في ذهنه، لتبادل بصيرته إلى مشكلة وضعه الصحي. فقط وغالبا ما، وذلك بسبب حواجز الاتصال المختلفة، والمريض لا يفهم تفسير طبيبه من مرضه.

ليس فقط الممارسة الطبية الجيدة، ولكن أي عمل ناجح يتطلب الاستماع الأمثل على جانبي الطاولة. في جميع الصناعات، والأهم، في البيت، وبطريقة جيدة السرير هو أفضل دواء لحل النزاعات والحصول على جنبا إلى جنب مع الآخرين. هل نحن ومندوبي المبيعات، والآباء، أو تقديم بعض الخدمات، والناس يأتون الينا في أمس الحاجة إليها. في كثير من الأحيان هم بحاجة إلى مساعدة أو هم في محنة، والكثير جدا كمن كان مريضا أو الموت. وهم يتطلعون إلى يثقون بنا في بنفس الطريقة التي كان المريض يتطلع إلى أن تثق في حكم صادر عن طبيب. نستطيع جميعا أن نستفيد من تحسين أسلوب لدينا السرير. وهذا لا يعني بالضرورة اتخاذ المزيد من الوقت، ولكن رغبة أكثر وليس لرؤية الوضع من وجهة نظر المتكلم. كيف يمكننا تحقيق نتيجة إيجابية مع كل شخص نأتي على اتصال مع إذا ضاقت نطاق عملنا من قبل المصلحة الذاتية؟

الاستماع: أداة قوية للتغيير

من وجهة النظر الروحية والاجتماعية للنظر، ويمكن الاستماع أن تكون أداة قوية للتغيير. معلمي المدارس والمستشارين، قبل اتخاذ صفي الاستماع، والإبلاغ عن وظائفهم والحصول على المزيد من التوتر لأنهم لا يستطيعون التعامل مع احتياجات الاستماع للطلاب والعملاء. إذا لم يسمع الأطفال من قبل آبائهم، اذا لم يتم اتخاذ مخاوفهم العاطفية على محمل الجد، فإنها تصبح المشاكل السلوكية في المنزل وفي الفصول الدراسية. ساعة من شظية ألعاب التلفزيون والفيديو كل ما تبقى من اهتمام وتركيز الأعمال المدرسية، ودرجات المعاناة. ويجوز للنقص السليم قدوة الاستماع تؤدي إلى الإحباط، وتفجر العنف، وفقدان السيطرة على الذات. سوء تقدير الذات المزروعة مع مرور الوقت يؤدي إلى أداء دون المستوى المطلوب في مكان العمل والعلاقات الأسرية غير سعيدة كما يتم تسليم من ويلات الاستماع الفقراء وصولا الى الجيل القادم.

عندما يعطى الشخص فرصة ليقول رأيه دون تهديد الحكم أو مشورة، حتى لو كان المستمع له لا توافق، وهذا هو الخطوة الأولى نحو خلق مشاعر طيبة. شعور من الانفتاح على جانبي يسمح للمناقشة وحل المشكلات. الثقة بالنفس تنبع من الاحترام الذي يأتي من يسمع. الناس أكثر قدرة على حضور الدروس إلى المدرسة، والمشاريع، والمسؤوليات في مكان العمل عندما الاحتياجات العاطفية الأساسية، مثل أن يكون مفهوما، قد تم الوفاء بها. وقال هنري ديفيد ثورو، "إن أعظم مجاملة ان يدفع لي أي وقت مضى وكان عندما يقوم شخص ما طلب مني على ما اعتقد، وحضر إلى جوابي". عندما تنمو الثقة، ونحن أكثر قدرة على اكتشاف قدراتنا، والتأثير على الآخرين بشكل إيجابي. وإذ تضع في اعتبارها الاستماع لديه القدرة على تغيير اتجاه حياتنا، وتلك التي تأتي في اتصال مع كل يوم.

الاستماع: إنه جيد لك وللآخرين أيضًا!

الاستماع هو أيضا نشاط صحي. تشير الدراسات إلى أن يتم تخفيض عندما نستمع معدل ضربات القلب واستهلاك الأوكسجين وانخفاض ضغط الدم. الاتصال مع الآخرين يعزز رفاه والتعبير عن الذات، وكلاهما ضروري لصحة بدنية جيدة. من قبل أن تكون مستمع جيد، لذلك فإننا تعزيز الصحة الجيدة من الآخرين عن طريق السماح لهم للحد من التوتر لديهم وتمكينهم من حل المعضلات الخاصة بهم. والمستمع أحاسيسهم يوفر تغذية راجعة مفيدة أن يجعل المتكلم يشعر قيمتها. هذا هو هدية كبيرة في عالم حيث اللمسة الإنسانية هي سلعة نادرة.

والكثير منا يود أن يرى نهاية للتمييز بجميع أشكاله، وأكثر سعادة الأسر، وأكثر أمنا وأكثر انسجاما في المستقبل لأطفالنا. ولكن كيف يمكننا كأفراد فرقا؟ يمكننا أن نبدأ من خلال التعلم من الاستماع بطريقة وإذ تضع في اعتبارها.

الاستماع هو الخطوة الأولى في جعل الناس يشعرون الكرام. وإذ تضع في اعتبارها الاستماع يتيح لنا أن نفعل أكثر من أن تتخذ في كلام الناس، بل يساعدنا على فهم أفضل لكيفية وسبب من وجهات نظرهم. فهم عندما تحدث، ويتم تحقيق شعور من الهدوء على كلا الجانبين، حتى لو لم يتم التوصل إلى نقطة اتفاق. من التفاهم والاحترام والثقة لبعضنا البعض هي ممكنة، ونحن أحرار في فتح عقولنا وتوسيع نطاق الحلول الممكنة. الاستماع هو أيضا خطوة أولى في أي مفاوضات، سواء كان ذلك يعني الحصول على ابنك المراهق لتنظيف المرآب أو ترتيب وقف لاطلاق النار في الشرق الأوسط.

الاستماع: أداة للتغيير العقلاني

في 1999 ليلة رأس السنة، لاري كينغ، في كل ليلة له تلفزيوني، دعا الزعماء الروحيين البارزين للمشاركة آمالهم في الألفية الثالثة. الدالاي لاما يتطلع إلى القرن الحادي والعشرين باسم "قرن من الحوار". المبشر بيلي غراهام وتدعي أن "السلام في العالم يمكن أن تأتي إلا من قلب الإنسان. شيء يجب أن يحدث داخل الإنسان لتغيير موقفنا."

كيف يمكننا البدء في تغيير مواقفنا؟ من خلال الاستماع بطريقة وإذ تضع في اعتبارها، وأصبحت على علم بما يمكننا تغيير عادات اليوم والعادات ما تحتاج إلى تغيير على مر الزمن. أحيانا كل ما يتطلبه الأمر هو شخص أو شيء لتأتي في طريقنا لحملنا على التوقف والتفكير في ضرورة أن يسمع. من خلال اتخاذ الأفكار في هذا الكتاب إلى القلب، وليس فقط سوف تنجز أكثر من خلال التواصل الفعال، ولكن يمكنك أن تبدأ في تقديم مساهمة اليومية الشخصية للسلام في العالم.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر ، Quest Books ،
دار الثيوصوفية للنشر. © 2000 ، 2003. http://www.theosophical.org

المادة المصدر

زن الإنصات: التواصل العقلاني في عصر الهاء
بواسطة شافير Z. ريبيكا.

وزن من الاستماع بواسطة ريبيكا Z. شافير.سوف يندهش القراء حول مدى سهولة تعلم التركيز على المتكلمين باهتمام في تحسين العلاقة ، وزيادة فترة الانتباه ، والمساعدة في تطوير مهارات التفاوض. تعلم الحواجز العظيمة لسوء الفهم ، تعرف على كيفية الاستماع إلى أنفسنا ، واكتشاف كيفية الاستماع تحت الضغط ، وتعزيز ذاكرتنا. هذا هو دليل مرح وعملي مليء باستراتيجيات بسيطة لاستخدامها على الفور للاستمتاع بالحياة الشخصية والمهنية على أكمل وجه.

معلومات / اطلب هذا الكتاب. متاح أيضًا ككتاب مسموع ، وطبعة Kindle ، و غلاف فني.

عن المؤلف

استماع

ريبيكا Z. شافير، MA، CCC، هو خطاب مصدق / لغة الطبيب الشرعي في عيادة لاهي في برلنغتون، ماساشوستس للطالب لمدة عشر سنوات من زن، وقالت انها تدرس حلقات الاتصال على الصعيد الوطني، ودرب شخصيات إعلامية والمرشحين السياسيين منذ 1980. انها تقدم مجموعة متنوعة من البرامج التي تتراوح بين عناوين رئيسية الى ندوات استمرت اسبوعا مصممة خصيصا لتلبية الاحتياجات الفردية للشركات، ومؤسسات الرعاية الصحية، والجمعيات المهنية، والجامعات، والجمهور العام. لمزيد من المعلومات أو لتبادل الخبرات الخاصة بك مع الاستماع وإذ تضع في اعتبارها، وإرسال الرسائل الخاصة بك إلى: ريبيكا Z. صندوق بريد شافير 190 وينشستر، MA 01890. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت: www.mindfulcommunication.com.

كتب ذات صلة

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Zen of Listening: Why Mindful Listening Makes a Difference

The Zen of Listening: Why Mindful Listening Makes a Difference

One of the main reasons we listen poorly is because our internal noise levels are so turbulent and obtrusive that they mask most of what others are saying. Only bits and pieces of their message survive the barrage of our mental interference. Just as we have learned to manage external interference by tuning out, it has become somewhat of a challenge to tune in deeply enough to the messages we need to listen to -- those of family, coworkers, and customers. Misunderstanding, not being heard, and missing key information due to poor listening are at the crux of societal ills.

Traditional approaches to listening improvement are usually ineffective because they come from a point of view of altering surface features instead of reshaping the foundation. If we are to end the suffering associated with not listening, we need to dig deeper to get to the source so change can take place.

Good Listening is Essential for Success, But How Does One Listen Effectively?

Many self-help books on personal relationships, negotiation, sales, and customer service tell us that good listening is essential to success in our personal and professional lives, but they do not explain how to listen. The available how-to approaches to better listening give you lists of new ways to behave, as if by magic you master techniques and stick with them. Just like after most self-improvement courses, you may try to force new behaviors for a few days, but gradually, because there is no foundation for these changes, your old tendencies to tune people out and repeat mistakes creep back.

As a speech/language pathologist for twenty years, I worked with adults with impaired ability to communicate due to stroke, head/neck cancer, head injuries, or degenerative diseases. By my late thirties, I was starting to show the classic signs of burnout. Even my relationships with family were suffering. External amusements such as trendy activities, shopping, money-making endeavors, and competitive sports with the objective of winning became appealing to me. I had become vulnerable to impulsivity, excessive goal setting, accumulation of material things, competitiveness in sports, and advising my siblings instead of just being a good sister -- attitudes and behaviors that disconnected me from myself and others. Despite all these self-inflating intentions, there I lay exhausted and unfulfilled after a day of trying to make myself a better person.

A Voyage of Self-Discovery: From Malaise to Inner Peace and Creativity

Seeking out new career opportunities held promise as a cure for my general malaise, but I had reservations. As many of you have already experienced, financial constraints tempered my impulse to make drastic changes. Instead, my intuition advised me to take a deeper look into myself and the way I related to others before abandoning a life's work for which my talent and personality were well suited. A major rethinking was necessary. I decided that it was worth going on a personal archeological dig to figure out what to do about my situation.

When I was a college student in the seventies, Transcendental Meditation had become a vehicle of self-discovery and a discipline that brought welcome clarity to eighteen credit hours of graduate work and two part-time jobs. Now, once again I began daily meditation. This enabled me to calm my mind and identify the inner obstacles that kept me from working with the system instead of against it.

During this renewal phase, I met my husband, Sasha. Aside from his job as a computer engineer, he was a third-degree black-belt martial arts instructor. Watching him, his students, and other instructors practicing various martial arts, I was mesmerized by their concentration and physical control. I admired their balanced state of mind and lack of self-consciousness in daily situations. These people were not monks or part of some spiritual cult, nor was their discipline violent or destructive. They were regular people, who owned businesses or were leaders in their communities. They too faced the same threats of layoff, crazy work schedules, and limited budgets, yet they were at peace with change and used their resources to find creative solutions.

How Does One Attain Concentration, Connectedness, and Serenity of Spirit?

After getting to know these people better, I asked myself, Is the physical exertion of karate or kung fu the source of this concentration and serenity of spirit? Or is it the focus on quality of movement that improves the ability to attend completely and joyfully to the task at hand? I believed it was the latter, since I had also observed this mind-body balance in artists, musicians, surgeons, and athletes. While painting, playing, dissecting, or diving, they were all willfully caught in the flow of their activities.

Looking back over the years, I recalled several such exhilarating periods of concentrated energy prior to my current burnout period. Many were memorable listening situations. I remember in college being totally absorbed physically and mentally in certain lectures, during medical rounds in my hospital training, or while being critiqued by someone whose opinion I highly valued. I recalled these moments of physical and mental readiness as a relaxed, balanced state, a connectedness between my mind and body. My next question was, What if this zeal for quality and depth of concentration could be applied to one of our greatest needs, a gift so little used and so often taken for granted -- the ability to listen?

In my search to regain and perpetuate this feeling of connectedness, I enrolled in a martial arts class and studied everything I could find about the mind-body relationship. By getting to know myself painfully through the eyes of my instructors, my reasons for becoming disconnected from my world were made clear. I decided to start over fresh, not by focusing on the results or the outcome of my actions, but with the prospect of being in the moment and discovering the quality in every interaction.

Opening Up the Walls of Routine & Learning to Listen

The Zen of Listening: Why Mindful Listening Makes a DifferenceI started to apply this new awareness to what occupied the bulk of my day -- my work as a therapist. First, during this period of self-awareness, I noticed that when I interacted with patients and coworkers, I became distracted by my own agenda. Assumptions and periods of selective listening led me to miss valuable information.

I had become closed within the walls of my routine protocols. In my eagerness to treat the patient, I found myself lecturing patients and their families much too often and asking way too many questions. If they did not comply with my recommendations or the advice of their physicians, I judged them quickly, dismissing their reasons for not following through. I could see how much time was wasted in reinforcing practice, re-explaining, and revising treatment plans. What was at the heart of all this redoing? By not fully listening to the patient or to my own spoken words, I was actually making more work for myself and stalling progress.

Because of my egocentric way of trying to help my patients, it was no wonder why I, and so many others, left the office exhausted and frustrated most days. I remembered the words of a favorite professor in graduate school that pointed to the importance of listening in a learning situation: "If you do not get to know where that patient is coming from (his background, expectations, etc.) you cannot understand him, and he will not trust your advice."

I have had the pleasure of working with many physicians who have taught me the true meaning of the expression "bedside manner". With other doctors, however, I have seen how failure to listen to the patient adversely affects the accuracy of the diagnosis and subsequent treatment. Too often the patient is not given a chance to mention what's on his mind, to share his insight into his health problem. Just as often, due to various communication barriers, a patient does not understand his doctor's explanation of his illness.

Not only good medical practice, but any successful business requires optimal listening on both sides of the table. In all industries and, most importantly, in the home, a good bedside manner is the best medicine for solving disputes and getting along with others. Whether we are salespeople, parents, or provide some service, people come to us in need. Quite often they require assistance or are in distress, very much like someone who is ill or dying. They look to trust us in the same way that a patient looks to trust the judgment of a physician. We can all benefit from improving our bedside manner. It does not necessarily mean taking more time, but rather more willingness to see a situation through the eyes of the speaker. How can we achieve a positive outcome with each person we come in contact with if our scope is narrowed by self-interest?

Listening: A Powerful Tool of Change

From a spiritual and social point of view, listening can be a powerful tool of change. Schoolteachers and counselors, prior to taking my listening class, report their jobs are getting more stressful because they cannot handle the listening needs of their students and clients. If children are not heard by their parents, if their emotional concerns are not taken seriously, they become behavioral problems at home and in the classroom. Hours of TV and video games splinter whatever remains of attention and concentration for schoolwork, and grades suffer. A lack of proper listening role models may lead to frustration, violent outbursts, and loss of self-control. Poor self-esteem cultivated over time leads to substandard performance in the workplace and unhappy family relationships as the ravages of poor listening are handed down to the next generation.

When a person is given a chance to tell his views without the threat of judgment or advice, even if his listener does not agree, that is the first step toward creating good feelings. A sense of openness on both sides allows for discussion and problem solving. Self-esteem grows from the respect that comes from being heard. People are better able to attend to school lessons, projects, and the responsibilities of the workplace when basic emotional needs, like being understood, have been met. Henry David Thoreau said, "The greatest compliment that was ever paid to me was when someone asked me what I thought, and attended to my answer." When confidence grows, we are better able to discover our potential and positively influence others. Mindful listening has the power to change the direction of our lives and those we come in contact with every day.

Listening: It's Good for You and For Others Too!

Listening is also a healthy activity. Studies show that when we listen, heart rate and oxygen consumption are reduced and blood pressure decreases. Contact with others promotes well-being and self-expression, both necessary for good physical health. By being good listeners, therefore, we promote the good health of others by allowing them to reduce their stress and empowering them to solve their own dilemmas. An empathetic listener provides helpful feedback that makes the speaker feel valued. This is a significant gift in a world where the human touch is a rare commodity.

Many of us would like to see an end to discrimination of all kinds, happier families, and a safer, more harmonious future for our children. But how can we as individuals make a difference? We can begin by learning to listen in a mindful way.

Listening is the first step in making people feel valued. Mindful listening allows us to do more than take in people's words; it helps us better understand the how and why of their views. When understanding occurs, a sense of calm is achieved on both sides, even if no point of agreement is reached. From understanding, respect and trust for one another are possible; we are free to open our minds and widen the scope of potential solutions. Listening is also the first step in any negotiation, whether it means getting your teenager to clean the garage or arranging a cease-fire in the Middle East.

Listening: A Tool for Mindful Change

On New Year's Eve 1999, Larry King, on his nightly TV talk show, invited eminent spiritual leaders to share their hopes for the Third Millennium. The Dalai Lama looks to the twenty-first century as the "century of dialogue". Evangelist Billy Graham claims that "world peace can come only from the human heart. Something has to happen inside of man to change our attitude."

How do we start changing our attitudes? By listening in a mindful way and becoming aware of what habits we can change today and what habits need to change over time. Sometimes all it takes is someone or something to come our way to make us stop and think about the need to be heard. By taking the ideas in this book to heart, not only will you accomplish more through communicating effectively, but you can begin to make a daily personal contribution to world peace.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Quest Books,
The Theosophical Publishing House. ©2000, 2003. http://www.theosophical.org

Article Source

The Zen of Listening: Mindful Communication in the Age of Distraction
by Rebecca Z. Shafir.

The Zen of Listening by Rebecca Z. Shafir. Readers will be amazed at how simply learning to focus intently on a speaker improves the relationship, increases attention span, and helps develop negotiating skills. Learn the great barricades of misunderstanding, find out how to listen to ourselves, discover how to listen under stress, and boost our memory. This is a fun and practical guide filled with simple strategies to use immediately to enjoy our personal and professional lives to the fullest.

Info/Order this book.

About the Author

religions

REBECCA Z. SHAFIR, M.A., CCC, is a certified speech/language pathologist at the Lahey Clinic in Burlington, Mass. A ten-year student of Zen, she teaches communication workshops nationwide and has coached media personalities and political candidates since 1980. She presents a variety of programs ranging from keynote addresses to weeklong seminars tailored to meet the individual needs of corporations, healthcare institutions, professional associations, universities, and the general public. For more information or to share your experiences with mindful listening, send your letters to: Rebecca Z. Shafir P.O. Box 190 Winchester, MA 01890. Visit her website: www.mindfulcommunication.com.