كيف تصف كل يوم اللغة السمنة

كيف تصف كل يوم اللغة السمنة
الصورة الائتمان: نيك يونغسون, CC BY-SA 3.0

السمنة هي حالة شديدة الوصم. أولئك الذين يعانون من السمنة بشكل متكرر تخضع للتحيز والسخرية في المنزل والمدرسة والعمل وحتى من المتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية. كل يوم ، يواجهون الرفض الاجتماعي ويعتبرون كسول ، غير جذابة ، غير مدفوعة وغير سعيدة. ومن المثير للقلق ، أن العديد من الأفراد يعانون من السمنة المفرطة غير قادرين على تحدي مثل هذه الوصمة ، لذلك هم قبول سلبي وأحيانا نعتقد ذلك.

نحن نعيش في عالم يتم تذكيرنا فيه باستمرار بأن السمنة هي "أزمة" ، "وباء" ، وأنها تشل الاقتصاد ، وأنها عبء على المجتمع. يتم نشر هذه الإيديولوجيات عبر وسائل الإعلام الإخبارية ، وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية ، من قبل السياسيين ومحترفي الرعاية الصحية - وهم مهد الوصمة بالوزن.

يمكن للوصمة بالوزن أن تعبر عن نفسها بعدة طرق مختلفة. يمكن أن تكون علنية ، مثل الإساءة اللفظية والجسدية ، ولكنها يمكن أن تكون غير مباشرة ودقيقة. يركز بحثي على الخيارات اللغوية الخاطئة واللاوعيّة التي لا تبدو موصومة على السطح ، ويتم استخلاص نتائجي من مجموعة بيانات من مقالات صحيفة 16,500 البريطانية حول السمنة.

"الوباء"

"وباء السمنة" كان واحدا من العبارات الأكثر استخداما في مقالات الصحف. ولا يقتصر الأمر على الصحافة فقط - إنها عبارة تستخدم على نطاق واسع في مجموعة من السياقات ، وغالبًا ما يكون ذلك في الكلام اليومي من قبل الناس العاديين.

تُستخدم كلمة "وباء" كمجاز لإبراز الانتشار المتزايد للبدانة. لكن ال تعريف "الوباء" هو انتشار واسع لمرض معد.

أنا أزعم أن هذا يولد مستوى من الخوف والكرب تجاه السمنة ، وربما يوحي بأنه يجب عليك تجنب البدناء. كما أنه يحجب حقيقة أن السمنة معقدة بشكل لا يصدق. وقد أدى الشعور بالرضا عن مثل هذه الخيارات اللغوية إلى ظهور مواقف انقسامية وسلبية تجاه من يعانون من السمنة.

"وباء السمنة" هو واحد فقط من العديد من الأمثلة السلبية على اللغة التي وجدتها. حتى أكثر دقة ، اللاوعي والوصم المحتمل هو اقتران الكلمات "هي" و "السمنة" في عبارات مثل "واحد من كل ثمانية أشخاص يعانون من السمنة" ؛ "الأطفال الذين يعانون من السمنة" و "كيف يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كنت بدينًا".

المشكلة "هي"

تحدث كلمة "بدين" مرات 24,011 في بياناتي. في 28٪ من هذه المناسبات ، يسبقه الفعل "are". إذن ما هي المشكلة ، قد تتساءل؟

حسنا ، يمكن القول بأن السمنة هي حالة طبية. قبل ثلاث سنوات ، الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية تبنى هذا الموقف و ال NHS يتعرف يمكن أن تكون السمنة أكثر تعقيدًا من مجرد الإفراط في تناول الطعام وعدم ممارسة الرياضة.

لذا ، إذا كانت السمنة حالة طبية ، فهي ليست شيئًا "أنت" ، فهذا شيء "تمتلكه". من النادر أن يتم تعريف الناس من خلال حالة طبية لديهم. لن تسمع أبداً العبارات ، "أنت مرض الذئبة" ، أو "أنت التهاب السحايا".

لكن هناك استثناءات مهمة. بشكل قاطع ، الظروف الطبية التي تستخدم إلى جانب الفعل "هي" هي تلك الحالات التي يتم وصفها بشكل غير عادل.

أنت مصاب بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية.

أنت عسر القراءة.

أنت أبرص.

أنت بدين.

تعريف الأشخاص كبدناء يسبب اختلاطًا شديدًا ويلمح إلى أن هذا هو كل ما هم عليه. يصبح من السهل إصدار اللوم ، فإنه يعني أن جميع الأيديولوجيات ذات الصلة بالوزن السلبي تنطبق عليهم ، ويخلق هوية ضيقة جدا وغير دقيقة لأولئك الذين لديهم السمنة.

تم استخراج هذه الأمثلة من المقالات الصحفية ، لكنها اختيارات لغوية يتم صنعها دون وعي من قبل غالبية الناس ، وليس فقط الصحفيين. من المثير للدهشة أن العبارات التي نستخدمها بدون النية للوصم لها القدرة على تغيير الطريقة التي يتم بها عرض مفهوم كامل وعرضه.

أود أن أزعم أن اللغة التي نستخدمها عند مناقشة هذه القضية تحتاج إلى تقييم وأكثر حسابًا حتى نتمكن من استخدام منصات قوية مثل وسائل الإعلام ، التي تصل إلى جمهور كبير ، للتثقيف بدلاً من التمييز. تمثل اللغة التي نستخدمها الطريقة التي نفكر بها ، واللغة التي نقرأها ونسمعها ونستوعها تُشكل الطريقة التي نفكر بها.

المحادثةإنها أداة قوية وتسليط الضوء على أمثلة من الرضا عن النفس مع أنها يمكن أن تكون الخطوة الأولى في الاتجاه الصحيح نحو تغيير طريقة تعاملنا مع هذه القضية وتخفيض الوزن الوصمات التي تنتشر حاليا في المجتمع.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تارا كولمان باتل ، مرشحة دكتوراه في علم اللغة ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترينت

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = obesity and self-esteem؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

How Everyday Language Casually Stigmatizes Obesity

How Everyday Language Casually Stigmatizes Obesity
Image credit: Nick Youngson, CC BY-SA 3.0

Obesity is a highly stigmatized condition. Those with obesity are frequently subject to prejudice and ridicule at home, school, work and even from health care professionals. Every day, they face social rejection and are deemed lazy, unattractive, unmotivated and unhappy. Alarmingly, many obese individuals feel unable to challenge such stigma, so they passively accept and sometimes believe it.

We live in a world where we are constantly reminded that obesity is a “crisis”, an “epidemic”, that it is crippling the economy, and that it is a burden on society. These ideologies are disseminated throughout the news media, social media, by politicians and by health care professionals – and they are the birthplace of weight stigma.

Weight stigma can manifest itself in several different ways. It can be overt, such as verbal and physical abuse, but it can also be indirect and subtle. My research focuses on the subtle and subconscious language choices that do not appear stigmatising on the surface and my results are drawn from a data set of 16,500 British newspaper articles about obesity.

The ‘epidemic’

“Obesity epidemic” was one of the most frequently used phrases in the newspaper articles. And it is not just limited to the press – it’s a phrase that is used widely in a range of contexts, often in everyday speech by everyday people.

The word “epidemic” is used as a metaphor to highlight the rising prevalence of obesity. But the definition of “epidemic” is the wide spreading occurrence of an infectious disease.

I would argue that this generates a level of fear and anguish towards obesity, perhaps suggesting that you should avoid obese people. It also obscures the fact that obesity is incredibly complex. Becoming complacent with such language choices has led to divisive and negative attitudes towards those with obesity.

The “obesity epidemic” is only one of the many negative language examples I have found. Even more subtle, subconscious and potentially stigmatising is the coupling of the words “are” and “obese” in statements such as “One in eight people ARE obese”; “Children who ARE obese”, and “How can you tell if you ARE obese.”

The “are” problem

The word “obese” occurs 24,011 times in my data. On 28% of these occasions, it is preceded by the verb “are”. So what’s the problem, you might be wondering?

Well, it can be argued that obesity is a medical condition. Three years ago, the American Medical Association adopted this position and the NHS recognises that obesity can be more complex than just a result of overeating and a lack of exercise.

So if obesity is a medical condition, it is not something that you “are”, it is something you “have”. It is rare that people are defined by a medical condition they have. You will never hear the phrases, “you are lupus”, or “you are meningitis”.

But there are important exceptions. Tellingly, the medical conditions that are used alongside the verb “are” are those that are also unfairly stigmatised.

You ARE HIV positive.

You ARE dyslexic.

You ARE a leper.

You ARE obese.

Defining people as obese causes severe conflation and it insinuates that that is all they are. It becomes easy to issue blame, it implies that all negative weight related ideologies apply to them, and it creates a very narrow and inaccurate identity for those that have obesity.

These examples were extracted from newspaper articles, but they are language choices that are subconsciously made by the majority of people, not just journalists. It is astonishing that phrases we use without the intention to stigmatise have the power to change the way an entire concept is represented and viewed.

I would argue that the language we use when discussing this issue needs to be evaluated and more calculated so that we can use powerful platforms such as news media, that reaches out to a large audience, to educate as opposed to discriminate. The language we use represents the way we think, and the language we read, hear and digest shapes the way we think.

The ConversationIt is a powerful tool and highlighting examples of our complacency with it could be the first step in the right direction towards changing the way we treat this issue and reducing the weight stigmas which are currently so widespread in society.

About The Author

Tara Coltman-Patel, PhD candidate in linguistics, Nottingham Trent University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Holding Up the Universe
healthAuthor: Jennifer Niven
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
List Price: $17.99

Buy Now

Fit2Fat2Fit: The Unexpected Lessons from Gaining and Losing 75 lbs on Purpose
healthAuthor: Drew Manning
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: HarperOne
List Price: $14.99

Buy Now

When You Eat at the Refrigerator, Pull Up a Chair: 50 Ways to Feel Thin, Gorgeous, and Happy (When You Feel Anything But)
healthAuthor: Geneen Roth
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Hachette Books
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now