كيف أفضل صديق الرجل هو مساعدة علاج السرطان

كيف أفضل صديق الرجل هو مساعدة علاج السرطان

"يمكن لأي شخص أن يتعلم الكثير من كلب ، حتى شخص واحد مثلنا. علّمتني مارلي عن العيش كل يوم بفرح وفرح غير مكبوتين ، حول اغتنام اللحظة واتباع قلبك ... في الغالب ، علّمني عن الصداقة ونكران الذات ، وقبل كل شيء ، الولاء الذي لا يتزعزع. "- جون جروجان ، "مارلي وأنا: الحياة والحب مع أسوأ كلب في العالم".

أليس هذا صحيح؟ نتعلم الكثير من كلابنا. ولكن ما هو أبعد ما يمكن أن يقدمه لنا أفضل صديق للإنسان ليعلمنا عن الاستمتاع بالحياة ، فهم يشاركوننا شيئًا آخر. تشخيص السرطان في الكلاب آخذة في الارتفاع ، وكذلك تشخيص السرطان في الناس. في الواقع ، سرطان الكلاب هو السبب الرئيسي للوفاة في الحيوانات الأليفة فوق سن 10 سنوات.

اتضح أن هذا التقاء يمكن أن يكون مفيدا لبحوث السرطان. مجال الدراسة المعروف باسم "علم الأورام المقارن" ظهرت مؤخرا كوسيلة واعدة للمساعدة في علاج السرطان. يدرس باحثو علم الأورام المقارن أوجه الشبه بين السرطانات التي تحدث بشكل طبيعي في الحيوانات الأليفة والسرطانات في الناس من أجل تقديم أدلة لعلاج السرطان بشكل أكثر فعالية.

في الواقع ، المرحلة 1 و 2 التجارب السريرية في علم الأورام المقارن جارية في مواقع 22 في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، بما في ذلك جامعة ولاية كولورادو ، حيث أقوم بإجراء الأبحاث وأنا طبيب أورام جراحي للحيوانات.

البحوث في هذا المجال ، والتي تشمل الأطباء البيطريين والأطباء ومختصين بالسرطان والعلماء الأساسيين ، تقود إلى تحسين صحة الإنسان والوصول السريع إلى العلاج الفعال للسرطان مما كان ممكنًا في السابق من خلال مناهج أبحاث السرطان التقليدية.

أكثر مثل الكلب الخاص بك مما تعلمون

كنوع ، الكلاب لديها أوجه تشابه فيزيولوجي ووراثي قوي مع الناس ، أكثر بكثير من الفئران ، الذين لا يعيشون طويلا بما فيه الكفاية بالنسبة لنا لمعرفة ما إذا كانوا طبيعيين يصابون بالسرطان. نحن نعرف أن بعض أنواع القوارض ، مثل الجرذان الأليفة ، يمكن أن تصاب بالسرطان ، لكن الحيوانات المفترسة عادة ما تنهي حياة الفأر في حين أنها لا تزال صغيرة. يتم حقن الفئران المختبرية التي يستخدمها العلماء عادةً بالسرطان بدلاً من حدوثها بشكل طبيعي في أجسادهم.

تماما كما رسمت الخريطة رسميا الجينات البشريةأو مجموعة كاملة من التعليمات الجينية ، في 2003 ، العلماء فك الشفرة كلاب الجينوم. اكتشفوا أن الكلاب لديها أكبر من تشابه الجينية 80 في المئة للبشر ، مقابل فقط 67 في المئة للفئران.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن السرطان مثل سرطان العظام ، وسرطان الغدد الليمفاوية وسرطان المثانة التي تظهر بشكل عفوي في الكلاب الأليفة هي متطابقة مجهريا جزيئيا لسرطان في الناس. العديد من الطفرات الجينية التي تدفع الخلايا لتصبح سرطانية في البشر هي نفس الطفرات التي تسبب السرطان في الكلاب. في الواقع ، عندما ينظر إليها تحت المجهر ، من المستحيل التمييز بين الورم من الإنسان والكلب.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، توفر الكلاب مجموعة كبيرة ومتنوعة للدراسة ، مهمة في دراسة الطب. الكلاب الفردية التي تصاب بالسرطان تختلف عن بعضها البعض كما هو حال البشر. في حين أن الفئران المختبرية هي توائم متطابقة في الأساس لبعضها البعض وتعيش في بيئة منظمة للغاية ، فإن التباين بين سلالات الكلاب المختلفة والبيئات المنزلية والنظام الغذائي ونمط الحياة الكلي يترجم إلى تنوع سكاني مشابه جدًا للبشر في البشر.

اليوم ، معظم الكلاب الأليفة تتلقى رعاية صحية عالية الجودة في سن الشيخوخة ومالكي الكلاب لديهم حافز كبير للبحث عن خيارات محسّنة لإدارة السرطان في أصحابهم ، ويتم تحفيزهم أيضًا لتقليل الآثار الجانبية.

التشابه في الاستجابة للعلاج أيضا

هذا التنوع الوراثي ومشاركة الحامض النووي المماثل وعلم وظائف الأعضاء والبنية الميكروسكوبية والميزات الجزيئية بين الكلاب والبشر قد أتاح للباحثين المصابين بالسرطان فرصة رئيسية. لا تقوم الكلاب فقط بتطوير أنواع مشابهة من السرطانات كبشر ، ولكن سرطانها يستجيب للعلاج بطرق مشابهة.

وهذا يعني أن علاجات السرطان الجديدة التي تظهر لأول مرة لتكون فعالة في سرطانات الكلاب يمكن التنبؤ بها بشكل متكرر أن لها نفس الفائدة في مرضى السرطان البشري. ونتيجة لذلك ، يدرك الباحثون الآن أن التجارب الجديدة على المخدرات في الكلاب المصابة بالسرطان ستؤدي إلى اكتشافات علاجية "قابلة للترجمة" إلى حد كبير. وهذا هو ، على الأرجح للتنبؤ الاستجابات الطبية "الواقعية" في مرضى السرطان البشري.

من خلال دراسة كيفية استجابة السرطان للكلاب ، يكتسب العلماء فهمًا أفضل لكيفية علاج أدوية السرطان الجديدة ليس فقط لعلاج السرطان ولكن أيضًا التأثير على جودة حياة المريض بشكل عام أثناء العلاج. هذا يفيد أصحاب الكلاب ، من خلال توفير الوصول إلى علاجات السرطان الجديدة الواعدة لحيواناتهم الأليفة مع السرطان ، ويفيد مرضى سرطان الإنسان من خلال توفير وسيلة سريعة لجمع البيانات الحيوية اللازمة لموافقة ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير.

الكلاب مع السرطان تساعد الأطفال

على سبيل المثال ، سرطان العظام المعروف باسم عظمية تشبه إلى حد كبير بين الكلاب والناس أن البحوث المكثفة في ساركوما العظام قد أدت إلى اختراقات عديدة في علاج الساركوما العظمية لدى الأطفال. التقنيات الجراحية لإنقاذ الأيدي لإعادة البناء الآمن والفعال بعد جراحة الأورام العظمية في الكلاب هي الآن معيار الرعاية في الأطفال بعد جراحة الأورام العظمية.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، وهو شكل من أشكال العلاج المناعي تبين أن تحسين البقاء على قيد الحياة بشكل كبير في الكلاب مع سرطان العظام عن طريق تأخير أو منع انتشار السرطان إلى الرئتين تماما. نتيجة للنجاح في الكلاب ، منحت إدارة الغذاء والدواء حالة المسار السريع لنفس العلاج لاستخدامه في البشر في أبريل الماضي.

تتبع سريع تم تطويره من قِبل إدارة الأغذية والأدوية FDA لدعم الموافقة المتسارعة على العلاجات الواعدة ، خصوصًا للظروف الخطيرة والمهددة للحياة. من المقرر أن تبدأ تجربة سريرية في الأطفال المصابين بساركوما العظام هذا العام في مراكز متعددة لعلاج سرطان الأطفال في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة.

تثبت هذه الأنواع من الاكتشافات أن مرافقينا من الفرو لديهم دور حاسم في تعليمنا طرقًا جديدة لمساعدة جميع الضحايا في الحرب ضد السرطان - بقدمين أو أربعة.

المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

نيكول إيرهارت ، أستاذ الطب البيطري ، جامعة ولاية كولورادو

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = dogs man best friend؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Man's Best Friend Is Helping Cancer Treatment

How Man's Best Friend Is Helping Cancer Treatment

“A person can learn a lot from a dog, even a loopy one like ours. Marley taught me about living each day with unbridled exuberance and joy, about seizing the moment and following your heart… Mostly, he taught me about friendship and selflessness and, above all else, unwavering loyalty.” ― John Grogan, “Marley and Me: Life and Love With the World’s Worst Dog.”

Isn’t it true? We learn so much from our dogs. But beyond what man’s best friend can teach us about enjoying life, they share something else with us. Cancer diagnoses in dogs are on the rise, as are cancer diagnoses in people. In fact, canine cancer is the leading cause of death in pets over the age of 10 years.

This confluence, it turns out, can be beneficial to cancer research. A field of study known as “comparative oncology” has recently emerged as a promising means to help cure cancer. Comparative oncology researchers study the similarities between naturally occurring cancers in pets and cancers in people in order to provide clues to treat cancer more effectively.

In fact, phase 1 and 2 clinical trials in comparative oncology are underway at 22 sites across the country, including Colorado State University, where I conduct research and am a surgical oncologist for animals.

Research in this field, involving veterinarians, physicians, cancer specialists and basic scientists, is leading to improved human health and more rapid access to effective cancer treatment than has been previously possible through traditional cancer research approaches.

More like your dog than you know

As a species, dogs have strong physiologic and genetic similarities to people, much more so than mice, who do not typically live long enough for us to know whether they naturally get cancer. We do know that some rodent species, such as pet rats, can get cancer, but predators typically end a field mouse’s life while it is still young. The laboratory mice typically used by scientists are injected with cancer rather than it occurring naturally in their bodies.

Just as scientists officially mapped the human genome, or the complete set of genetic instructions, in 2003, scientists decoded the canine genome. They discovered that dogs have greater than 80 percent genetic similarity to humans, versus only 67 percent for mice.

In addition, cancers such as bone cancer, lymphoma and bladder cancer that spontaneously arise in pet dogs are microscopically and molecularly identical to cancers in people. Many of the genetic mutations that drive cells to become cancerous in people are the same mutations that cause cancer in dogs. In fact, when viewed under a microscope, it is impossible to distinguish between a tumor from a human and a dog.

In addition, dogs provide a large and varied population to study, important in the study of medicine. Individual dogs who develop cancer are as different from one another as are humans. Whereas laboratory mice are essentially identical twins to each other and live in a highly regulated environment, the variation among different dog breeds, home environments, diet and overall lifestyle translate into a population diversity very similar to that in humans.

Today, most pet dogs receive high-quality health care into old age and dog owners are highly motivated to seek out improved options for the management of cancer in their companions, and are also motivated to minimize side effects.

Similarities in response to treatment, too

This genetic diversity and sharing of similar DNA, physiology, microscopic structure and molecular features between dogs and humans has presented cancer researchers with a key opportunity. Dogs not only develop similar types of cancers as humans, but their cancer responds to treatments in similar ways.

This means that new cancer treatments first shown to be effective in canine cancers can frequently be predicted to have a similar benefit in human cancer patients. As a result, researchers now recognize that new drug trials in dogs with cancer will result in therapeutic discoveries that are highly “translatable”; that is, more likely to predict “real-life” medical responses in human cancer patients.

By studying how cancer responds in dogs, scientists are gaining a better understanding of how new cancer drugs not only treat the cancer but also influence the patient’s overall quality of life during treatment. This benefits dog owners, by providing access to promising new cancer treatments for their pets with cancer, and benefits human cancer patients by providing a rapid way to collect crucial data needed for FDA approval.

Dogs with cancer are helping kids

For example, a bone cancer known as osteosarcoma is so similar between dogs and people that intensive research in canine osteosarcoma has led to several breakthroughs in treating osteosarcoma in children. Limb-saving surgical techniques for safe and effective reconstruction following bone tumor surgery in dogs are now the standard of care in children following bone tumor surgery.

More recently, a form of immunotherapy was shown to drastically improve survival in dogs with bone cancer by delaying or altogether preventing spread of the cancer to the lungs. As a result of the success in dogs, the FDA granted fast-track status to the same treatment for use in humans last April.

Fast-tracking was developed by the FDA to support accelerated approval for promising treatments, especially for serious and life-threatening conditions. A clinical trial in children with osteosarcoma is scheduled to begin this year at multiple pediatric cancer centers throughout the United States.

These types of discoveries demonstrate that our furry companions have a crucial role in teaching us new ways to help all victims in the war against cancer – with two legs or four.

The Conversation

About The Author

Nicole Ehrhart, Professor of Veterinary Medicine, Colorado State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Dharma of Dogs: Our Best Friends as Spiritual Teachers
petsBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Sounds True
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

William Wegman Man's Best Friend 2018 Wall Calendar
petsAuthor: William Wegman
Binding: Calendar
Format: Wall Calendar
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
List Price: $14.99

Buy Now

No Better Friend: One Man, One Dog, and Their Extraordinary Story of Courage and Survival in WWII
petsAuthor: Robert Weintraub
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Back Bay Books
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now