إذا قمنا بحماية محيطنا ، يمكن أن يحمينا

إذا قمنا بحماية محيطنا ، يمكن أن يحمينا

تمت إعادة تقديم الرئيس راؤول جريجالفا (ديموقراطي من الألف إلى الياء) مع 25 من الرعاة الأصليين قانون حلول المناخ القائم على المحيطات في اليوم العالمي للمحيطات ، 8 يونيوth، 2021. هذا هو نوع مشروع القانون البصري الذي نحتاجه في هذه اللحظة ، مع الاعتراف بأن المحيط هو مصدر قوي للحلول لأزمة المناخ. يشمل مشروع القانون العديد من قضايا المحيطات المهمة ، من معالجة التنقيب البحري إلى إعطاء الأولوية للأصوات والموارد للمجتمعات القبلية والسكان الأصليين والمجتمعات الأخرى لمعالجة قضايا صحة المحيطات واستعادة القيادة الأمريكية في الإدارة الدولية للمحيطات.

 

كان هذا العام هائلاً في الإجراءات المتعلقة بالمناخ والمحيطات. إدارة بايدن لديها توقف التأجير للحفر البحري، اتخذت خطوات لتوسيع نطاق إنتاج طاقة الرياح البحرية ، حدد هدفًا لـ خفض انبعاثات الشحن والميناءو أطلقت جهودًا لحماية موائل المحيطات والمجتمعات الساحلية. أعلنت إدارة بايدن يونيو "شهر المحيط الوطني" ، قائلة:

"من الضروري أن نتخذ الإجراءات المناسبة الآن لضمان استمرار ازدهار المحيط. خلال شهر المحيط الوطني ، ندرك الدور المركزي للمحيط الصحي في الحفاظ على حياتنا كلها ، ونتعهد بإيجاد طرق مبتكرة للحفاظ على محيطنا وحمايته واستعادته ".

عندما كان هذا القانون قدم العام الماضي، كان أكثر تشريعات مناخ المحيطات طموحًا حتى الآن. وسوف يساعد المجتمعات الأكثر عرضة للخطر من آثار تغير المناخ ويتطلع إلى الأمام في الجهود المبذولة لاستعادة وحماية النظم البيئية الهامة ، وتشجيع التنمية المسؤولة للرياح البحرية ، وإعداد أدوات إدارة مصايد الأسماك لتكون أكثر استجابة لتغير المناخ. تحظى العديد من أجزاء مشروع القانون هذا بدعم من الحزبين - والذي يتحدث عن الأهمية الوطنية للمرونة الساحلية وصحة المحيطات.

فيما يلي بعض الإضافات الجديدة على الفاتورة:

الضريبة على شركة فيرجن بلاستيك

البلاستيك في كل مكان، بما في ذلك المحيط. يفرض مشروع القانون ضريبة انتقائية قدرها 5 سنت على البلاستيك البكر الذي يستخدم في المنتجات المصنعة ذات الاستخدام الواحد. ستذهب الأموال التي يتم جمعها من ضريبة الإنتاج إلى صندوق جديد سيساعد في تمويل تشريعات مناخية أخرى في المحيطات.

برامج مبتكرة للثدييات البحرية

يحتوي هذا التشريع على حلول ذكية ومثبتة لجعل بحارنا أكثر أمانًا للحيتان وتبني أحكامًا من الإصدار الأول لمشروع القانون. إنه يزيد من فرص السفن والحيتان في التعايش من خلال حماية الحيتان من ضربات السفن. كما يركز الاستثمار في برامج جديدة للحد من الضوضاء تحت الماء من السفن ويسعى إلى الحد من تلوث الكربون الذي يغير المناخ والمحيطات بشكل جذري.

تكامل أفضل للمعرفة القبلية والشعوب الأصلية

يُدخل مشروع القانون تحسينات على أقسام مختلفة لضمان إجراء الاستشارات القبلية والمشاركة بطريقة هادفة. ينص مشروع القانون أيضًا على برنامج منح جديد في نظام الملاذ البحري الوطني لدعم أبحاث المناخ والقدرة على التكيف مع المعرفة الأصلية والمحلية بالمناطق البحرية والطبيعية.

دراسات مهمة

العلم هو أساس حلول مناخ المحيط ، ويصرح مشروع القانون هذا بإجراء دراسات إضافية تبحث في وصول الجمهور إلى سواحل البلاد والبحيرات الكبرى مع التركيز على الفرص والحواجز للمجتمعات منخفضة الدخل ، والمجتمعات الملونة ، والمجتمعات القبلية والسكان الأصليين ، والمجتمعات الريفية. كما يصرح بإجراء دراسة جديدة حول الكربون الأسود وتأثيره في القطب الشمالي.

فيما يلي بعض الأحكام التي نراها مرة أخرى والتي لا تقل أهمية:

وقف الحفر البحري في مناطق جديدة

من أجل تلبية الأهداف المناخية وتقليل انبعاثات الكربون ، يجب أن نوقف عمليات الحفر البحرية الجديدة. إلى جانب تفاقم آثار تغير المناخ ، فإن التوسع في التنقيب البحري في مياه الولايات المتحدة من شأنه أن يهدد عددًا لا يحصى من الأنواع البحرية ويلحق الضرر بعشرات الملايين من الناس. يساعد هذا القانون في تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال وضع حد لاستئجار النفط والغاز في الخارج والاستكشاف الزلزالي للموارد المعدنية في جميع مناطق الجرف القاري الخارجي باستثناء منطقة التخطيط الوسطى والغربية لخليج المكسيك ، والتي تضم حاليًا الغالبية العظمى من يحدث الحفر البحري.

المساعدة في حماية موائل المحيط 

تتمتع النظم الإيكولوجية للمحيطات الصحية ومجموعات الحياة البرية بقدرة أفضل على الصمود والتكيف مع آثار تغير المناخ. تحمي المناطق البحرية المحمية التنوع البيولوجي وتسهم في صمود المحيطات في مواجهة تغير المناخ. قال العلماء أن حماية الأراضي والمياه حاسمة في دفاعنا ضد تغير المناخهـ وحفظ تنوع ووفرة الحياة على الأرض. مشروع القانون هذا سيدعم إدارة بايدن الهدف هو حماية 30٪ من محيطاتنا بحلول عام 2030 لحماية مستقبلنا.

التوسع في الطاقة المتجددة

تتمتع الرياح البحرية بإمكانيات لا تصدق كحل مناخي قائم على المحيط. يحدد مشروع القانون هذا هدفًا وطنيًا لإنتاج 30 جيجاوات بحلول عام 2030 لطاقة الرياح البحرية ويدعو إلى تطوير أفضل الممارسات وزيادة التمويل لضمان ذلك يتوسع تطوير الرياح البحرية دون الإضرار بالحياة البحرية. لتقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ، يتطلب مشروع القانون من سفن الشحن الإبلاغ عن انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون الخاصة بها كل عام وإنشاء حوافز لسفن الصيد الموفرة للوقود.

دعم المصايد الجاهزة للمناخ

لقد بدأ تغير المناخ بالفعل في تعطيل مصايد الأسماك لدينا. مخزون الأسماك تظهر في مناطق جغرافية جديدة مع تغير الظروف ومواجهة تهديدات متزايدة من الأحداث المتطرفة مثل موجات الحرارة وتكاثر الطحالب التي يمكن أن تدمر تجمعات الأسماك. للانتقال إلى مصايد الأسماك الجاهزة للمناخ ، يجب أن نكون أكثر قدرة على التكيف والمرونة مع استمرار حدوث التغييرات. يدعم مشروع القانون هذا تطوير أدوات وأساليب مبتكرة لزيادة قدرة إدارة مصايد الأسماك على التكيف مع تغير المناخ.

تحسين جودة مياه المحيط

تؤثر صحة المحيطات على كل من البيئة وأولئك الذين يعيشون بالقرب منها. تؤدي تكاثر الطحالب الضارة وتحمض المحيطات إلى آثار ضارة على المأكولات البحرية ، والسياحة ، والترفيه ، والمجتمعات. ينظر مشروع القانون هذا في كيفية تحسين فهمنا لتحمض المحيطات من خلال تحفيز تطوير خيارات الإدارة أو التكيف ، وإنشاء تقييم تعرض المجتمع الساحلي لتحديد أولئك الأكثر اعتمادًا على الموارد الساحلية والبحرية ، ويتطلب الخطة الاستراتيجية لتحمض المحيطات للنظر في الجوانب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. الآثار ، من بين أمور أخرى. كما يجعل مشروع القانون المناطق المتضررة من تكاثر الطحالب الضارة مؤهلة للإغاثة في حالات الكوارث والمساعدة في حالات الطوارئ. 

زيادة الكربون الأزرق والمرونة الساحلية

"الكربون الأزرق" ، وهو الكربون المخزن في المحيط بواسطة الأعشاب البحرية والمستنقعات المالحة وأشجار المانغروف ، هو جزء أساسي من حل مناخ المحيط. هذه النظم الإيكولوجية نفسها التي تخزن ما يصل إلى أربعة أضعاف كمية الكربون في الغابة تحمي أيضًا المجتمعات الساحلية عن طريق الحد من التأثيرات الناجمة عن التعرية والعواصف والفيضانات. يبدأ مشروع القانون هذا جهودًا جديدة ، فضلاً عن دعم الأنشطة الحالية لفهم النظم البيئية للكربون الأزرق وتخطيطها وحمايتها واستعادتها. يصرح مشروع القانون على وجه التحديد بمبلغ 10 مليارات دولار لدعم مشاريع ترميم السواحل مع إعطاء الأولوية للمشاريع التي ستفيد ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمجتمعات الملونة. تساعد هذه المشاريع البيئة والمجتمعات والاقتصاد. 

إعادة الانخراط في الحوكمة الدولية والقبلية للمحيطات

للتصدي بشكل كامل لدور المحيط في معالجة تغير المناخ ، نحتاج إلى جهد دولي منسق. مشروع القانون يعيد ويعزز قيادة الولايات المتحدة في مجال المحيط الدولي من خلال احترام التزام الولايات المتحدة لمجلس القطب الشمالي بخفض انبعاثات الكربون الأسود. علاوة على ذلك ، ينشئ مشروع القانون برنامج المرونة القبلية لدعم قادة الأمريكيين الأصليين وتقديم المنح لأنشطة مقاومة المناخ. ويوصي مشروع القانون أيضًا بأن تصدق الولايات المتحدة على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لقانون البحار لتحسين قدرتنا على المشاركة في الإدارة الدولية للمحيطات. 

يسلط هذا القانون الضوء على الطرق التي يعتبر بها المحيط جزءًا من الحل المناخي وتأتي في الوقت المناسب. كما شارك الرئيس Grijalva اليوم ، 

لقد أهملت السياسة الفيدرالية محيطاتنا لفترة طويلة جدًا ، لا سيما مع اختفاء النظم البيئية بأكملها بسبب تغير المناخ. صحة المحيطات هي صحة الإنسان ، ولهذا السبب يستند مشروع القانون هذا إلى المدخلات العامة الحقيقية بدلاً من مطالب الملوثات أو المصالح الخاصة. كل يوم ننتظر فيه تحديث قوانين المحيطات الخاصة بنا للعالم الحديث هو يوم ننظر فيه إلى الوراء بأسف ".

مع تقدم مشروع القانون المثير هذا من خلال الكونغرس ، سنواصل الكفاح من أجل مجتمعاتنا الساحلية الضعيفة والحياة البرية البحرية والعمل المناخي للمحيطات. 

نبذة عن الكاتب

 تدافع فاليري كليلاند عن سياسات تحمي محيطاتنا وترممها. قبل انضمامها إلى NRDC ، كانت كليلاند زميلة السياسة البحرية في NOAA Sea Grant Knauss في لجنة مجلس الشيوخ للتجارة والعلوم والنقل حيث عملت على تطوير وتحليل وتوجيه تشريعات المحيطات من خلال عملية اللجنة. تنحدر في الأصل من شمال غرب المحيط الهادئ حيث عملت كعالمة بيئية في المشاريع البحرية والمائية لشركة بيئية صغيرة وعلمت التجديف بالكاياك. التحق كليلاند بجامعة تافتس وحصل على درجة الماجستير في الشؤون البحرية من جامعة واشنطن. تعمل في مكتب NRDC في واشنطن العاصمة.  

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564مع آثار تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري العالمية ليست أقل من إلحاح. إنه تحد شاق ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لمواجهته موجودة اليوم. يمكن لمجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، المصممة والمنفذة بشكل جيد ، أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذلك يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. نهج مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن ينجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسات إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها أكبر تأثير على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات جيدًا. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

 

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على على الارض

 


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

ربما يعجبك أيضا

أصوات INNERSELF

صورة ظلية من متسلق الجبال باستخدام معول لتأمين نفسه
اسمح للخوف وقم بتحويله وتحرك من خلاله وافهمه
by لورانس دوتشين
الخوف يشعر بالجنون. لا توجد وسيلة حول ذلك. لكن معظمنا لا يستجيب لخوفنا في ...
امرأة تجلس على مكتبها وتبدو قلقة
وصفتي للقلق والقلق
by جود بيجو
نحن مجتمع يحب القلق. القلق منتشر للغاية ، يكاد يكون يبدو مقبولًا اجتماعيًا ...
منحنى الطريق في نيوزيلندا
لا تكن قاسيا على نفسك
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تتكون الحياة من اختيارات ... بعضها خيارات "جيدة" والبعض الآخر ليس جيدًا. لكن كل خيار ...
صورة لسديم Messier M27
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: من 13 إلى 19 سبتمبر 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
رجل يقف على رصيف يضيء مصباح يدوي في السماء
نعمة للباحثين عن الروحانيات وللذين يعانون من الاكتئاب
by بيير Pradervand
هناك مثل هذه الحاجة في العالم اليوم من أكثر حنان ورحمة هائلة وأعمق ، أكثر ...
العقاب أم الهبة الإلهية؟
هل هو عذاب أم عطية إلهية؟
by جويس Vissell
عند وقوع مأساة أو وفاة أحد أفراد أسرتك أو حدوث خيبة أمل شديدة ، هل تساءلت يومًا ما إذا كان ...
زجاجات شفافة من المياه الملونة
مرحبًا بكم في The Love Solution
by ويلكنسون
تخيل كوبًا من الماء الصافي. أنت تمسك بقطارة حبر فوقه وتحرر واحدة ...
إصلاحات سريعة في الأجواء يمكنك القيام بها في المنزل أو في أي مكان آخر
إصلاحات سريعة في الأجواء يمكنك القيام بها في المنزل أو في أي مكان آخر
by أثينا بحري
أنت كائن رائع من الطاقة ، فردي وفريد ​​من نوعه في حد ذاته. لديك كل من…
الأمور المجهدة وكيفية التعامل معها
الأمور المجهدة وكيفية التعامل معها
by جود بيجو
سأناقش هذا الشهر ثلاثة مواضيع لها جذورها خوفنا غير المعلن: الإجهاد ، ...
ربط عالمنا بالنجوم؟
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا وحان وقت التقييم. يجب علينا أن نجد…
الحصول على اليد العليا على نفاد الصبر
الحصول على اليد العليا على نفاد الصبر
by جود بيجو ، ماجستير ، MFT
هل تم إقصاؤك بسبب مضاعفات غير متوقعة؟ هل أنت متحمس للوفاء بالمواعيد النهائية أو الأهداف؟ هل أنت…

الأكثر قراءة

كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
by جاكي كاسيل ، أستاذ وبائيات الرعاية الأولية ، استشاري فخري في الصحة العامة ، كلية الطب في برايتون وساسكس
تدهورت الاقتصادات المحفوفة بالمخاطر للعديد من المدن الساحلية التقليدية أكثر منذ ...
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
by باربارا بيرجر
أحد أكبر الأشياء التي اكتشفتها في العمل مع العملاء كل يوم هو مدى صعوبة ...
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
by سونيا جريس
عندما تختبر كونك ملاكًا أرضيًا ، ستكتشف أن مسار الخدمة مليء ...
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
by سوزان كامبل، دكتوراه
وفقًا لمعظم العزاب الذين قابلتهم في رحلاتي ، فإن وضع المواعدة النموذجي محفوف بالمخاطر ...
ما أدوار الرجال في سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، يمكن أن تعلمنا الحملات المناهضة للتمييز الجنسي عن الموافقة
ما أدوار الرجال في سبعينيات القرن الماضي ، يمكن أن تعلمنا الحملات المناهضة للتمييز الجنسي عن الموافقة
by لوسي ديلاب ، جامعة كامبريدج
كان لحركة الرجال المناهضة للتحيز الجنسي في السبعينيات بنية تحتية من المجلات والمؤتمرات ومراكز الرجال ...
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
by غلين بارك
مشاهدة رقص الفلامنكو متعة. راقص الفلامنكو الجيد ينضح بثقة كبيرة بالنفس ...
اتخاذ خطوة نحو السلام من خلال تغيير علاقتنا مع الفكر
يخطو نحو السلام بتغيير علاقتنا بالفكر
by جون بتاتشك
نقضي حياتنا منغمسين في فيض من الأفكار ، غير مدركين أن هناك بُعدًا آخر للوعي ...
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده.
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده
by ايمي السمك
تحتاج إلى الشجاعة لتعيش الحياة. يتضمن ذلك تعلم السؤال عما تحتاجه أو ...

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

If We Protect Our Ocean, It Can Protect Us

If We Protect Our Ocean, It Can Protect Us

Chair Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) along with 25 original cosponsors has reintroduced the Ocean-Based Climate Solutions Act on World Oceans Day, June 8th,2021. This is the type of visionary bill we need for this moment, recognizing that the ocean is a powerful source of solutions to the climate crisis. The bill encompasses so many important ocean issues, from tackling offshore drilling to prioritizing voices and resources for Tribal, Indigenous, and other communities to addressing ocean health issues and restoring U.S. leadership in international ocean governance.

 

This year has been monumental in action on climate and the ocean. The Biden Administration has paused leasing for offshore drilling, taken steps to scale up offshore wind-energy production, set a goal to cut shipping and port emissions, and launched efforts to protect ocean habitats and coastal communities. The Biden Administration declared June "National Ocean Month,” saying that,

“It is imperative that we take proper action now to ensure that the ocean continues to thrive.  During National Ocean Month, we recognize the central role of a healthy ocean in sustaining all of our lives, and pledge to find innovative ways to conserve, protect, and restore our ocean.”

When this bill was introduced last year, it was the most ambitious ocean climate legislation to date. It will help communities most at risk from the impacts of climate change and is forward looking in efforts to restore and protect important ecosystems, encourage responsible offshore wind development, and prepare our fishery management tools to be more responsive to climate change. Many pieces of this bill have bipartisan support – which speaks to national importance of coastal resiliency and ocean health.

Here are some new additions to the bill:

Tax on Virgin Plastic

Plastic is everywhere, that includes the ocean. The bill places a 5-cent excise tax on virgin plastic that is used in manufactured single-use products. The funds raised from the excise tax will go into a new fund that will help fund other ocean climate legislation.

Innovative Programs for Marine Mammals

This legislation contains smart and proven solutions to make our seas safer for whales and builds off provisions from the first version of the bill. It maximizes opportunities for ships and whales to co-exist by protecting whales from ship strikes. It also focuses investment in new programs to reduce underwater noise from vessels and seeks to reduce the carbon pollution that is radically altering the climate and the ocean.

Better integration of Tribal & Indigenous Knowledge

The bill makes improvements to various sections to ensure Tribal consultation and participation takes place in a meaningful way. The bill also establishes a new grant program in the National Marine Sanctuary System to support climate research and resilience with Indigenous and local knowledge of marine and natural areas.

Important studies

Science is the foundation of ocean-climate solutions, and this bill authorizes additional studies looking into public access to the nation’s coasts and Great Lakes with a focus on opportunities and barriers for low-income communities, communities of color, and Tribal and Indigenous communities, and rural communities. It also authorizes a new study on black carbon and its impact in the Arctic.

Here are some provisions we’re seeing again that are just as important:

Stopping Offshore Drilling in New Areas

In order to meet climate goals and reduce our carbon emissions, we must put a halt to new offshore drilling. Beyond exacerbating the impacts of climate change, expanding offshore drilling in U.S. waters would threaten countless marine species and harm tens of millions of people. This bill helps towards this goal by putting an end to offshore oil and gas leasing and to seismic exploration for mineral resources in all areas of the outer continental shelf except the central and Western Gulf of Mexico planning area, which is currently where the vast majority of offshore drilling occurs.

Helping Protect Ocean Habitats 

Healthy ocean ecosystems and wildlife populations are better able to withstand and adapt to the effects of climate change. Marine protected areas protect biodiversity and contribute to ocean resilience in the face of climate change. Scientists have said that protecting lands and waters is critical in our defense against climate change and to save the diversity and abundance of life on earth. This bill will support the Biden Administration’s goal to protect 30% of our oceans by 2030 to safeguard our future.

Expanding Renewable Energy

Offshore wind has incredible potential as an ocean-based climate solution.  This bill sets a national goal of producing 30 gigawatts by 2030 for offshore wind energy and calls for the development of best practices and increased funding to ensure that offshore wind development expands without harming marine life. To reduce greenhouse gas emissions, the bill requires shipping vessels to report their CO2 emissions every year and creates incentives for fuel efficient fishing vessels.

Supporting Climate-Ready Fisheries

Climate change is already disrupting our fisheries. Fish stocks are emerging in new geographic areas as conditions change and face increased threats from extreme events like heat waves and algal blooms that can devastate fish populations. To transition to climate ready fisheries, we must be more adaptive and flexible as changes continue to occur. This bill supports the development of innovative tools and approaches to increase the capacity of fisheries management to adapt to climate change.

Improving Ocean Water Quality

Ocean health impacts both the environment and those who live near it. Harmful algal blooms and ocean acidification have detrimental effects on our seafood, tourism, recreation, and communities. This bill looks at how to improve our understanding of ocean acidification by incentivizing development of management or adaptation options, creating a coastal community vulnerability assessment to identify those most dependent on coastal and ocean resources, and requires the ocean acidification strategic plan to consider socio-economic impacts, among other things. The bill also makes areas hit by harmful algal blooms eligible for disaster relief and emergency assistance. 

Increasing Blue Carbon & Coastal Resiliency

“Blue carbon,” which is the carbon stored in the ocean by seagrasses, salt marshes, and mangroves, is a key part of an ocean climate solution. These same ecosystems that store up to four times the amount of carbon in a forest also protect coastal communities by limiting impacts from erosion, storms, and flooding. This bill initiates new efforts, as well as supports existing activities, to understand, map, protect, and restore blue carbon ecosystems. The bill specifically authorizes $10 billion to support coastal restoration projects with a priority given to projects that will benefit low-income and communities of color. These projects help the environment, communities, and the economy. 

Reengaging in International & Tribal Ocean Governance

To fully address the ocean’s role in tackling climate change, we need a coordinated international effort. The bill restores and strengthens United States leadership in the international ocean space by honoring the U.S. commitment to the Arctic Council to cut black carbon emissions. Further, the bill creates a Tribal Resilience Program to support Native American leaders and provide grants for climate resilience activities. The bill also recommends that the United States ratify the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea to improve our ability to engage in international ocean management. 

This bill highlights the ways the ocean is part of the climate solution and comes at the right time. As Chair Grijalva shared today, 

“Federal policy has neglected our oceans for far too long, especially with whole ecosystems already disappearing to climate change. Ocean health is human health, which is why this bill is based on real public input rather than polluter demands or special interest favors. Every day we wait to update our ocean laws for the modern world is a day we’ll look back on with regret.”

As this exciting bill advances through Congress, we’ll continue to fight for our vulnerable coastal communities, marine wildlife, and ocean climate action. 

About The Author

 Valerie Cleland advocates for policies that protect and restore our oceans. Prior to joining NRDC, Cleland was a NOAA Sea Grant Knauss Marine Policy Fellow in the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation where she worked to develop, analyze, and guide oceans legislation through the committee process. She originally hails from the Pacific Northwest where she worked as an environmental scientist on marine and aquatic projects for a small environmental firm and taught sea kayaking. Cleland attended Tufts University and received a master's of marine affairs from the University of Washington. She is based in NRDC's Washington, D.C. office.  

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

This article originally appeared on On Earth

 


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

illustration of a film strip with various scenic pictures on each frame
Designing a New Future for Yourself
by Carl Greer PhD, PsyD
In the physical world, things have a past and a future, a beginning, and an end. For example, I’m…
teacher standing in front of students in an open classroom
Becoming Passionate About Public Education Again
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We are almost all lucky to have someone in our lives to encourage and motivate us and try to show…
Aurora photo by Valerie Pond, October 10, 2021, Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Horoscope Current Week: October 11 - 17, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Flower growing through a chain-link fence
So Many Questions... So Many Answers?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
We go through life with so many questions. Some are simple. What day is it? What will I have for…
rainbow over a field
Give Yourself Time, Be Kind, and Heal in Your Own Way
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Unfortunately many of us have become victims of instant gratification. We want to succeed and we…
woman's head with a crack and with tree growing from the back of her head
Opening to a Whole New Way of Being
by Rabbi Wayne Dosick
Sometimes a pandemic—no matter how devastating—is just a pandemic. But sometimes— most times—it is…
Image of an open book floating in the sky with a tree growing out of the open book
Do You Believe in Miracles?
by Barry Vissell
Albert Einstein famously said, "There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing…
a rainbow in the palm of an open hand
Finding Silver Linings and Rainbows
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Be open to discovering the gifts life is offering you -- expect silver linings and rainbows, be on…
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
by Ervin Laszlo
Talk of fundamental change in the world around us is often met with skepticism. Change in society,…
The Un-united States Of America Part 2: The Storm Before The Storm
The Un-united States Of America Part 2: The Storm Before The Storm
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
I was recently sent a slick piece of fossil-fuel-propaganda that was mostly full of half-truths to…
The Old Story Is Breaking Down As Our Dormant Humanity Awakens
The Old Story Is Breaking Down and Our Dormant Humanity Is Awakening
by Charles Eisenstein
Do you look toward the future with a mixture of dread, yes, but also a kind of positive…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
If you're waiting for a change and frustrated it's not happening, maybe it would be beneficial to…
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
by Tracy Marks
Astrology is a powerful art, capable of enhancing our lives by enabling us to understand our own…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.