لماذا قلق المزارعين بشكل متزايد بشأن المناخ

قلق المزارعون بشأن المناخ 3 12

يعني تغير المناخ أن الظواهر المتطرفة مثل الفيضانات وحرائق الغابات والجفاف ستصبح أكثر تواتراً وشدة. ستؤدي هذه الأحداث إلى تعطيل سلاسل الإمدادات الغذائية ، كما شهد الناس على طول الساحل الشرقي الموحش لأستراليا مرة أخرى في الأسابيع الأخيرة.

من المؤكد أن أستراليا ليست معرضة لخطر نفاد الطعام. ينتج غذاء أكثر بكثير مما يستهلك ، مع ما حوله 70% من إنتاج المزارع المصدرة.

ما هو معرض للخطر هو قدرة أستراليا على توزيعها.

تم تكليفي للتحضير تقرير جديد على تأثير تغير المناخ على الإمدادات الغذائية ، من أجل المزارعون من أجل العمل المناخي هيئة مكونة من الاتحاد الوطني للمزارعين تضم حوالي 7,000 عضو.

المزارعون من أجل العمل المناخي ليسوا متحالفين سياسيًا بخلاف ذلك.

تضمنت منهجيتي مراجعة الأبحاث في هذا المجال ، ومقابلات مع أكثر من عشرة مزارعين ، وهيئات تمثيلية للمزارعين ، ومشاركين آخرين في سلسلة التوريد الغذائي ، ومسحًا للتقارير الإعلامية عن حالات نقص الغذاء الأخيرة.

ومن بين القضايا التي تم تحديدها تأثير الجفاف والأمراض والإجهاد على الثروة الحيوانية وفقدان الغذاء بسبب الطقس الحار وقصر مدة الصلاحية.

كان الاكتشاف غير المتوقع هو درجة تأثر جميع المشاركين في سلسلة التوريد بعدم اليقين الناجم عن تغير المناخ. إنه يجعل الطقس في المستقبل غير قابل للتنبؤ بدرجة كبيرة ، مما يجعل التخطيط أكثر صعوبة لكل من المزارع وشبكات النقل.

عدم القدرة على التنبؤ يجعل ضمان الإمدادات أمرًا صعبًا

هناك تأثير آخر على الإقراض والتأمين ، حيث يعني عدم القدرة على التنبؤ تكاليف أعلى للمنتجات المالية - إذا كان من الممكن الحصول عليها على الإطلاق. أفاد بعض المزارعين أنهم غير قادرين على التأمين بسبب مخاطر المناخ. يتم تحميل كل هذه التكاليف على المستهلكين في شكل ارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية.

هناك أيضًا فرص.

قد تصبح سلاسل التوريد أقصر لتعزيز المرونة وتقديم منتجات أحدث للمستهلكين. تنتقل الشركات الزراعية ومعالجات الأغذية بالفعل إلى الكهرباء لإدارة مخاطر الاعتماد على الوقود الأحفوري وتقليل انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ، مما يوفر المال في هذه العملية.

بالنسبة للشركات التي تزود أسواق التصدير بالطعام ، ستكون سلسلة التوريد منخفضة الكربون ميزة تنافسية. في بعض الحالات ، سيكون الإنتاج والنقل الصديقان للكربون ثمنًا للدخول ، وبدونه لن تكون الأسواق متاحة على الإطلاق.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

يحدد التقرير أربعة استجابات لتغير المناخ: إدارة المخاطر ، والمرونة ، والتكيف ، والتخفيف (الحد من تأثير تغير المناخ). كل ما هو مطلوب. حتى إذا حققت أستراليا أهدافها في باريس بشأن تغير المناخ ، فستكون هناك تأثيرات ستحتاج سلسلة الإمداد الغذائي إلى التكيف معها.

حتى الإدارة الجيدة للمخاطر قد لا تكون كافية

معظم المزارعين والشركات في سلسلة التوريد هم مديرو مخاطر جيدون. لكن الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة تزيد من المستوى الأساسي للمخاطر التي يتعين عليهم التعامل معها. كلما زادت المخاطر ، زادت احتمالية أن تكون خطط إدارة المخاطر غارقة. إذا استمر تغير المناخ بلا هوادة ، فسيصبح هذا مؤكدًا.

تلعب الحكومات دورًا في تعزيز أو بناء بدائل لخطوط التوريد الرئيسية والمساعدة في سد الفجوات في السوق حيث يكون الاستثمار الخاص غير كافٍ بسبب عدم اليقين.

تلعب الحكومات أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في إدارة المخاطر في المساعدة على معالجة الفجوات في البيانات والمعلومات المتعلقة بتأثيرات المناخ ، للسماح للشركات بالتخطيط بشكل أكثر فعالية. حرص العديد من الهيئات الصناعية التي تم التشاور معها على رؤية المزيد من الأبحاث حول تأثيرات المستويات المختلفة المتوقعة للاحترار.

ما يريده المزارعون هو المعلومات والقيادة

لكن المحصلة النهائية هي أنه إذا استمر تغير المناخ ، تكيف لن تكون كافية ، وهي نقطة أوضحها نواب الرؤساء الثلاثة في الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ عند إطلاق أحدث تقرير لها. إن نافذة اتخاذ إجراءات فعالة بشأن تغير المناخ تضيق بسرعة.

يتخذ المزارعون والمعالجون خطوات إيجابية لأنفسهم. على سبيل المثال ، تهدف صناعة اللحوم الحمراء الأسترالية إلى أن تصبح متعادلة الكربون 2030، متقدمًا على هدف الحكومة بـ 2050.

وبصورة ساحقة ، أراد المزارعون والمزارعون الذين تمت استشارتهم من أجل التقرير أن تأخذ الحكومة الأسترالية زمام المبادرة ، وتقدم إرشادات وتوجيهات واضحة بشأن الإجراءات المناخية العاجلة.

استجاب المزارعون من أجل العمل المناخي بالدعوة إلى إجراء تخفيضات كبيرة في الانبعاثات هذا العقد ، للمساعدة في تجنب أسوأ آثار تغير المناخ.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيفن بارتوس، زميل زائر، كلية كراوفورد للسياسة العامة ، الجامعة الوطنية الأسترالية

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

 

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

هل هو مرض كوفيد أم براز التبن 8 7
إليك كيفية معرفة ما إذا كان فيروس كوفيد أم حمى القش
by صموئيل ج. وايت ، وفيليب ب. ويلسون
مع الطقس الدافئ في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، سيعاني الكثير من الناس من حساسية حبوب اللقاح ...
تغيير عقول الناس 8 3
لماذا يصعب تحدي المعتقدات الكاذبة لشخص ما
by لارا ميلمان
يعتقد معظم الناس أنهم يكتسبون معتقداتهم باستخدام مستوى عالٍ من الموضوعية. لكن في الآونة الأخيرة ...
عصي اللطخة المريمية والريش وصائد الأحلام
التطهير والتأريض والحماية: عمليتان أساسيتان
by ماري آن دي ماركو
لدى العديد من الثقافات ممارسة تطهير طقسية ، غالبًا ما يتم ذلك بالدخان أو الماء ، للمساعدة في إزالة ...
التغلب على الوحدة 8 4
4 طرق للتعافي من الشعور بالوحدة
by ميشيل اتش ليم
الوحدة ليست أمرًا غير معتاد نظرًا لأنها عاطفة إنسانية طبيعية. ولكن عند التجاهل أو عدم الفعالية ...
تغيير الموقف من المناخ 8
لماذا يؤثر المناخ والحرارة الشديدة على موقفنا
by كيففر جورج كارد
أثر ارتفاع وتيرة موجات الحر وشدتها على الصحة العقلية للناس من خلال ...
كيفية التخلص من العادات السيئة 8
كيفية كسر العادات غير الصحية من خلال عدم الاستحواذ على قوة الإرادة
by عساف مزار وويندي وود
سؤال واحد شرعنا في الإجابة عليه في بحثنا الأخير. الجواب له آثار بعيدة المدى ...
امرأة شابة تجلس مع ظهرها ضد شجرة تعمل على جهاز الكمبيوتر المحمول الخاص بها
توازن الحياة مع العمل؟ من الموازنة إلى التكامل
by كريس ديسانتيس
لقد تحول مفهوم التوازن بين العمل والحياة وتطور على مدار الأربعين عامًا تقريبًا ...
تجنب الذهن المنغلق 8
لماذا الحقائق في كثير من الأحيان لا تغير العقول
by كيث إم بيليزي ،
"الحقائق أولاً" هو شعار حملة العلامة التجارية لشبكة CNN والتي تؤكد أنه "بمجرد أن تكون الحقائق ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Why Farmers Are Increasingly Worried About Climate

farmers worrid about climate 3 12

Climate change means extreme events such as floods, bushfires and droughts will become more frequent and severe. Those events will disrupt food supply chains, as people along Australia’s sodden east coast have seen again in recent weeks.

Australia certainly isn’t at risk of running out of food. It produces far more food than it consumes, with around 70% of farm production exported.

What is at risk is Australia’s ability to distribute it.

I was commissioned to prepare a new report on the impact of climate change on food supply, for for Farmers for Climate Action a constituent body of the National Farmers Federation with about 7,000 members.

Farmers for Climate Action is not otherwise politically aligned.

My methodology included a review of research in this area, interviews with more than a dozen farmers, farmer representative bodies, and other participants in the food supply chain, and a survey of media reporting of recent instances of food shortages.

Among the issues identified were the impact of drought, diseases and stress on livestock, the loss of food due to hotter weather, and shorter shelf lives.

An unexpected finding was the degree to which everyone involved in the supply chain is affected by uncertainty caused by climate change. It is making future weather highly unpredictable, making planning harder for both farms and in transport networks.

Unpredictability makes ensuring supplies hard

A further impact is on lending and insurance, where unpredictability means higher costs for financial products – if they can be obtained at all. Some farmers reported that they were unable to insure due to climate risks. All these costs are passed on to consumers in the form of higher food prices.

There are also opportunities.

Supply chains might become shorter to strengthen resilience and deliver fresher produce to consumers. Farm businesses and food processors are already moving to electrification to manage the risks of relying on fossil fuels and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, saving money in the process.

For businesses supplying food to export markets, a low-carbon supply chain will be a competitive advantage. In some cases, carbon-friendly production and transport will be a price of entry, without which markets won’t be available at all.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The report identifies four responses to climate change: risk management, resilience, adaptation, and mitigation (reducing the impact of climate change). All are needed. Even if Australia meets its Paris targets for climate change, there will be impacts to which the food supply chain will need to adapt.

Even good risk management might not be enough

Most farmers and businesses in the supply chain are good risk managers. But extreme weather events are increasing the base level of risk they have to deal with. The greater the risk, the more likely it is that risk management plans will be overwhelmed. If climate change continues unabated, this will become a certainty.

Governments have a role in strengthening or building alternatives to key supply lines and helping fill gaps in the market where private investment is insufficient due to uncertainty.

Governments also have an important risk management role in helping address gaps in data and information on climate impacts, to allow businesses to plan more effectively. Many industry bodies consulted were keen to see more research on the impacts of different projected levels of warming.

What farmers want is information and leadership

But the bottom line is that if climate change continues, adaptation will not be enough, a point clearly made by the three vice chairs of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change when launching its latest report. The window for taking effective action on climate change is rapidly narrowing.

Farmers and processors are taking positive steps for themselves. For example, the Australian red meat industry has a target of becoming carbon neutral by 2030, well ahead of the government’s target of 2050.

Overwhelmingly, the farmers and farmer bodies consulted for the report wanted the Australian government to take the lead, providing clear guidance and direction on urgent climate action.

Farmers for Climate Action has responded by calling for deep emissions cuts this decade, to help avoid the worst impacts of climate change.The Conversation

About The Author

Stephen Bartos, Visiting Fellow, Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

mindfulness and dance mental health 4 27
How Mindfulness And Dance Can Improve Mental Health
by Adrianna Mendrek, Bishop's University
For decades, the somatosensory cortex was considered to only be responsible for processing sensory…
charger incapability 9 19
New USB-C Charger Rule Shows How EU Regulators Make Decisions For The World
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
Have you ever borrowed a friend’s charger only to find it is not compatible with your phone? Or…
social stress and aging 6 17
How Social Stress Can Speed Up Immune System Aging
by Eric Klopack, University of Southern California
As people age, their immune systems naturally begin to decline. This aging of the immune system,…
foods healthier when cooked 6 19
9 Vegetables That Are Healthier When Cooked
by Laura Brown, Teesside University
Not all food is more nutritious when eaten raw. Indeed, some vegetables are actually more…
intermetten fasting 6 17
Is Intermittent Fasting Actually Good For Weight Loss?
by David Clayton, Nottingham Trent University
If you’re someone who’s thought about losing weight or has wanted to get healthier in the past few…
man. woman and child at the beach
Is This The Day? Father's Day Turnaround
by Will Wilkinson
It's Father's Day. What's the symbolic meaning? Could something life-changing happen today in your…
trouble pauying bills and mental health 6 19
Trouble Paying Bills Can Take A Heavy Toll On Fathers’ Mental Health
by Joyce Y. Lee, The Ohio State University
Prior poverty research has been primarily conducted with mothers, with a predominant focus on low…
helath effects of bpa 6 19
What Decades Of Research Document The Health Effects Of BPA
by Tracey Woodruff, University of California, San Francisco
Whether or not you’ve heard of the chemical bisphenol A, better known as BPA, studies show that…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.