كيف يمكن للتخلص التدريجي من الزيت أن يوفر حياة أفضل للكثيرين

فوائد التخلص من الزيت 4 7
 هل يمكن الاستغناء عن زيت أقل تشجيعًا على البدائل الخضراء؟ مجموعة Everett / Shutterstock

قد يحظر الاتحاد الأوروبي واردات النفط الخام من روسيا في غضون ستة أشهر إذا تمت الموافقة على جولة جديدة من العقوبات. باستثناء عدد قليل من البلدان ، يمكن أن تتوقف المنتجات النفطية الروسية المكررة مثل البنزين والديزل عن التدفق إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي بحلول نهاية عام 2022.

يعتمد الاتحاد الأوروبي حاليًا على روسيا في 25٪ من وارداته من النفط ، لذا فإن الحظر يهدف إلى الإضرار بمنتجي النفط الروس وإضعاف نظام فلاديمير بوتين اقتصاديًا. إذا تم استبدال بعض أنواع الوقود الأحفوري والآلات التي تشغلها ببدائل خضراء ، فإن إلغاء إمدادات النفط يمكن أن يفيد المناخ أيضًا. وهناك الكثير لنتطلع إليه في عالم تقل فيه كمية النفط المتدفقة.

"روسيا تنتج ما يقرب من 11 مليون برميل تقول إيمي مايرز جاف ، أستاذة الأبحاث في كلية فليتشر للقانون والدبلوماسية بجامعة تافتس في الولايات المتحدة ، "يوميًا من النفط الخام". "إنها تستخدم ما يقرب من نصف هذا الإنتاج لتلبية احتياجاتها الداخلية ، والتي من المفترض أنها زادت بسبب زيادة متطلبات الوقود العسكري ، وتصدر خمسة ملايين إلى ستة ملايين برميل يوميًا."

يتم تكرير الكثير من هذا الزيت وضخه في خزانات سيارات محركات الاحتراق ، والشاحنات ، والسفن وغيرها من المركبات التي تعمل بالوقود الأحفوري. نظام النقل العالمي - للركاب والشحن - هو تقريبا تعتمد بشكل كامل (95٪) على النفط.

يقول توم ستايسي ، المحاضر الأول في إدارة العمليات وسلسلة التوريد في أنجليا ، إنه إذا تم القضاء على كل الطلب على النفط ، وإما أصبحت السيارات كهربائية أو أصبحت قديمة من خلال مبادرات المشي وركوب الدراجات ، فمن المحتمل أن يتمتع سائقي السيارات الخاصة بأسعار أقل بكثير في كل مرة يزودون فيها الوقود بالوقود. جامعة روسكين:

"قيادة السيارة الكهربائية لمسافة 100 ميل ستكلف ، في المتوسط ​​، حوالي 4 جنيهات إسترلينية إلى 6 جنيهات إسترلينية (5.50 دولارات أمريكية إلى 8.00 دولارات أمريكية) ، مقارنة بـ 13 جنيهاً إسترلينياً إلى 16 جنيهاً إسترلينياً في سيارة تعمل بالبنزين أو الديزل."

ارتفعت فواتير الكهرباء إلى جانب أسعار الوقود الأحفوري في العام الماضي ، مما قلل من ميزة التكلفة لامتلاك سيارة كهربائية. في خريف عام 2021 ، عندما كان متوسط ​​سعر الكيلوواط / ساعة من الكهرباء 0.24 جنيه إسترليني (إنه الآن من المتوقع أن يكون 0.28 جنيه إسترليني) ، حسب ستايسي أن ملء بطارية EV في المملكة المتحدة سيكلف نصف ما تكلفه لتزويد سيارة تعمل بالبنزين أو الديزل بالوقود.

تختلف معدلات الشحن العامة ، ومع ذلك ، يمكن لبعض نقاط إعادة الشحن السريع التي تجدها في محطات الوقود شحن ما يصل إلى 34.50 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا لبطارية كاملة. "الفوائد المالية من التحول إلى EV لا تبدو قوية جدًا عندما تكون تكاليف الكهرباء مرتفعة ، "يقول ستايسي.

ولكن في حين أن سيارات محركات الاحتراق يصعب إرضاءها بشأن وقودها - غالبًا ما تعتمد على البنزين والديزل المكرر من الزيت الخام - فإن بطاريات EV متوافقة مع الكهرباء المولدة من أي مصدر ، بما في ذلك الألواح الشمسية المثبتة على سطح منزلك.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

"ستكلفك هذه الألواح أموالًا لتركيبها (على الرغم من انخفاض الأسعار كل عام) ، ولكن بمجرد تثبيتها وشرق الشمس ، يمكنك شحن سيارتك أثناء جلوسها على قيادتك. يقول ستايسي: "عندما تفكر في أن السيارة العادية لا تستخدم 95٪ من الوقت ، فإنها تمنحك الكثير من الوقت للشحن من الشمس مجانًا".

التخطيط لمستقبل بدون نفط

لا يكفي الألم في مضخة البنزين لخفض الطلب على النفط و تحفيز شراء السيارة الكهربائية بشكل جماعي رغم ذلك. هذا وفقًا لبحث أجراه روبرت هاملين ، محاضر أول في التسويق بجامعة أوتاجو في نيوزيلندا.

درس هاملين أزمة النفط عام 1973 ، عندما نفذت الدول المنتجة حظراً أدى إلى مضاعفة أسعار النفط أربع مرات ، لفهم كيفية استجابة سلوك المستهلك لصدمات أسعار الوقود - وما إذا كان من الممكن أن يفيد التحول إلى المركبات الكهربائية.

"ماذا يفعل سائقو السيارات عندما يواجهون زيادة هائلة ومستمرة في أسعار البنزين؟ وكما رأينا خلال أزمة عام 1973 وما بعدها ، فإن الإجابة المتسقة على هذا السؤال "ليست كثيرة" ، كما يقول.

ويشير هاملين إلى تزايد ملكية السيارات ذات محرك الاحتراق في نيوزيلندا في العقود التي تلت الأزمة كدليل على أن سائقي السيارات من غير المرجح أن يتجنبوا النفط ويتحولوا إلى الكهرباء. ويقول: "بدلاً من ذلك ، ستتم إعادة توجيه الموارد المنزلية بعيدًا عن ... تكاليف مثل الطعام ، لدفع تكلفة الوقود المتزايدة".

قد يشير هذا إلى أن إشارات الأسعار وخيارات المستهلك ليست كافية في حد ذاتها للحد من تغير المناخ ، أو ضمان تمتع الجميع بفوائد المركبات الكهربائية. بدلاً من ذلك ، من المرجح أن يكون التخطيط والسياسة من قبل الحكومات فعالين.

وإحدى السياسات التي من شأنها خفض كمية النفط التي نحرقها هي تقصير اسبوع العمل. استمتعت المملكة المتحدة للتو بعطلة نهاية الأسبوع في أوائل شهر مايو ، حيث ظلت العديد من أماكن العمل مغلقة يوم الاثنين. يحسب Dénes Csala ، المحاضر في ديناميكيات أنظمة تخزين الطاقة في جامعة لانكستر ، أن كل عطلة بنكية توفر أكثر من 100,000 طن من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون.

وذلك لأن أيام العمل الأقل تعني عددًا أقل من رحلات السيارات ، وتدفئة وتكييف هواء أقل في المكاتب ، وطلب أقل على الطاقة بشكل عام. إذا أصبحت عطلات نهاية الأسبوع الطويلة عنصرًا ثابتًا ، وتحولت بريطانيا إلى نظام العمل لمدة أربعة أيام في الأسبوع ، فقد تكون وفورات الكربون هائلة ، وفقًا لسالا.

"القاعدة العامة هنا هي أنه في المستويات الإجمالية الأعلى للطلب على الكهرباء ، سيتم توليد المزيد من تلك الكهرباء من الوقود الأحفوري ،" كما يقول. وذلك لأن مولدات الوقود الأحفوري يتم تشغيلها بسرعة لتغطية النقص المفاجئ. يُطلق على كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي يتم إنتاجها لتوليد وحدة من الكهرباء في وقت معين كثافة الانبعاثات.

"الاستبدال الفعال ليوم عمل بيوم عطلة نهاية أسبوع إضافي ... من المحتمل أن يقلل من استهلاك الطاقة لذلك اليوم بنسبة 10٪ وكثافة الانبعاثات بنسبة 17.5٪. يتضافر هذان التأثيران: يتحد الاستهلاك المنخفض للكهرباء في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع مع كثافة الكربون المنخفضة ، حيث تقل الحاجة إلى تشغيل محطات الفحم أو الغاز الملوثة ، وبالتالي من المحتمل خفض الانبعاثات في أي يوم بنسبة 22٪ في مايو أو 25٪ في يناير "، يقول Csala.

قد يؤدي توسيع عطلة نهاية الأسبوع ليوم واحد إلى خفض الانبعاثات من شبكة الكهرباء في المملكة المتحدة بما يعادل إزالة 1.2 مليون سيارة من الطريق. وهو يقول: "إنها لا تحسب حتى وفورات الكربون الناتجة عن تقليل الاختناقات المرورية".المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جاك مارلي، البيئة + محرر الطاقة ، المحادثة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا المضخات الحرارية 6 12
لماذا المضخات الحرارية والألواح الشمسية ضرورية للدفاع الوطني
by دانيال كوهان ، جامعة رايس
تعتبر الألواح الشمسية والمضخات الحرارية والهيدروجين بمثابة اللبنات الأساسية لاقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة. ولكن ل…
الإجهاد الاجتماعي والشيخوخة 6
كيف يمكن للضغوط الاجتماعية تسريع شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي
by إريك كلوباك ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا
مع تقدم الناس في السن ، تبدأ أجهزتهم المناعية بشكل طبيعي في التدهور. شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي ، ...
الأطعمة الصحية عند طهيها 6
9 خضروات صحية عند طهيها
by لورا براون ، جامعة تيسايد
ليست كل الأطعمة مغذية أكثر عند تناولها نيئة. في الواقع ، بعض الخضروات أكثر ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
التواصل مع الحيوانات 6
كيف تتواصل مع الحيوانات
by مارتا وليامز
تحاول الحيوانات دائمًا الوصول إلينا. إنهم يرسلون إلينا باستمرار رسائل بديهية ...
الصوم المتقطع 6 17
هل الصيام المتقطع مفيد فعلاً لخسارة الوزن؟
by ديفيد كلايتون ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترنت
إذا كنت ممن فكرت في فقدان الوزن أو أرادت أن تصبح أكثر صحة في الماضي ...
ترقية شخصيتك 6 12
هل شخصيتك بحاجة إلى ترقية؟
by اريك مايزيل
إذا كنت شجاعًا بما يكفي لتقييم شخصيتك والتوصل إلى بعض الاستنتاجات حول ما ...
فقدان ذاكرة الرضع 6 9
لماذا لا يمكنك تذكر ولادتك أو تعلم المشي أو قول كلماتك الأولى
by فانيسا لوبو ، جامعة روتجرز
على الرغم من حقيقة أن الناس لا يستطيعون التذكر كثيرًا قبل سن الثانية أو الثالثة ، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

How Phasing Out Oil Can Offer A Better Life For Many

benefits of eliminating oil 4 7
 Could making do with less oil encourage green alternatives? Everett Collection/Shutterstock

The EU could ban crude oil imports from Russia within six months if a new round of sanctions is approved. Excluding a handful of countries, refined Russian oil products like petrol and diesel could cease to flow into the EU by the end of 2022.

The EU currently relies on Russia for 25% of the oil it imports, so the ban is intended to hurt Russian oil producers and weaken Vladimir Putin’s regime economically. If some of those fossil fuels and the machinery they power were replaced by green alternatives, scrapping oil supplies could benefit the climate too. And there’s a lot more to look forward to in a world with less oil sloshing around.

“Russia produces close to 11 million barrels per day of crude oil,” says Amy Myers Jaffe, a research professor at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy of Tufts University in the US. “It uses roughly half of this output for its own internal demand, which presumably has increased due to higher military fuel requirements, and it exports five million to six million barrels per day.”

Much of that oil is refined and pumped into the tanks of combustion engine-cars, lorries, ships and other fossil fuel-burning vehicles. The global transport system – both passenger and freight – is almost entirely dependent (95%) on oil.

If all demand for oil were eliminated and vehicles either electrified or rendered obsolete by walking and cycling initiatives, private car motorists could potentially enjoy much lower prices each time they fuel up, says Tom Stacey, a senior lecturer in operations and supply chain management at Anglia Ruskin University:

“Driving an EV (electric vehicle) 100 miles will, on average, cost around £4 to £6 (US$5.50 to US$8.00), compared with £13 to £16 in a petrol or diesel car.”

Electricity bills have soared alongside fossil fuel prices in the last year though, blunting the cost advantage of owning an EV. In autumn 2021, when the average price per kilowatt-hour of electricity was £0.24 (it’s now expected to be £0.28), Stacey calculated that filling up an EV battery in the UK would cost half of what it does to fuel a petrol or diesel car.

Public charging rates vary, however, and some of the rapid recharging points you find at petrol stations can charge up to £34.50 for a full battery. “The financial benefits of switching to an EV don’t look so strong when electric costs are high,” Stacey says.

But while combustion engine-vehicles are picky about their fuel – often reliant on petrol and diesel refined from crude oil – EV batteries are compatible with electricity generated from any source, including solar panels fitted to your roof.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

“These panels will cost money to be installed (although prices are falling every year), but once they are installed and the sun is shining, you can charge your car while it sits on your drive. When you consider that the average car isn’t used 95% of the time, it gives plenty of time to charge up from the sun for free,” Stacey says.

Planning for a future without oil

Pain at the petrol pump is not enough on its own to depress oil demand and spur electric vehicle purchasing en masse though. That’s according to research by Robert Hamlin, a senior lecturer in marketing at the University of Otago in New Zealand.

Hamlin studied the 1973 oil crisis, when producer countries implemented an embargo which quadrupled oil prices, to understand how consumer behaviour responds to fuel price shocks – and whether it might benefit the transition to EVs.

“What do motorists do when they are confronted with a massive and sustained increase in petrol prices? As seen during the 1973 crisis and beyond, the consistent answer to this question is ‘not much’,” he says.

Hamlin points to rising combustion engine-car ownership in New Zealand in the decades after the crisis as evidence that motorists are unlikely to shun oil and go electric. “Instead,” he says, “household resources will be redirected away from … costs such as food, to pay for the increased cost of fuel.”

This would suggest that price signals and consumer choices are not enough on their own to limit climate change, or ensure everyone can enjoy the benefits of EVs. Instead, planning and policy by governments are likely to be instrumental.

And one policy which would slash how much oil we burn is shortening the work week. The UK just enjoyed the early May bank holiday weekend, in which many workplaces remained closed on Monday. Dénes Csala, a lecturer in energy storage systems dynamics at Lancaster University, calculates that every bank holiday saves more than 100,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions.

That’s because fewer work days mean fewer car journeys, less heating and air conditioning in offices, and less energy demand in general. If long weekends became a permanent fixture, and Britain switched to a four-day week, the carbon savings could be enormous, according to Csala.

“The rule of thumb here is that at higher overall levels of electricity demand, more of that electricity will be generated from fossil fuels,” he says. This is because fossil fuel generators are fired up quickly to cover sudden shortfalls. How much CO₂ is produced to generate a unit of electricity at a particular time is called emissions intensity.

“Effectively replacing a work day with an extra weekend day … would potentially reduce energy consumption for that day by 10% and emissions intensity by 17.5%. These two effects add up: the lower electricity consumption of the weekend combines with lower carbon intensity, as there is less need to switch on polluting coal or gas plants, therefore potentially lowering emissions on any given day by 22% in May or 25% in January”, Csala says.

Expanding the weekend by a day could cut emissions from the UK’s electricity network equivalent to removing 1.2 million cars from the road. “It does not even count the carbon savings from the reduced traffic jams,” he says.The Conversation

About The Author

Jack Marley, Environment + Energy Editor, The Conversation

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

Lunar eclipse, May 12, 2022
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 23 - 29, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 21 rewilding the imagination in dangerous times 5362430 1920
Rewilding the Imagination in Dangerous Times
by Natureza Gabriel Kram
In a world that often seems intent on destroying itself, I find myself curating beauty -- the kind…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
elephant walking in front of a setting sun
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 16 - 22, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of Leo Buscaglia from cover of his book: Living, Loving and Learning
How to Change Someone's Life in a Few Seconds
by Joyce Vissell
My life was changed dramatically when someone took that second to point out my beauty.
a composite photograph of a total lunar eclipse
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 9 - 15, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 08 developing compassionate thinking 2593344 completed
Developing Compassionate Thinking Towards Self and Others
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
When people speak of compassion, they mostly are referring to having compassion for others... for…
a man writing a letter
Writing the Truth and Allowing the Emotions to Flow
by Barbara Berger
Writing things down is a good way to practice truth telling.
Where Are We Now? Quick Tools to Regain Inner Peace
Where Are We Now? Quick Tools to Regain Inner Peace
by Constance Kellough
The journey to higher and higher consciousness is endless. However, it bears asking ourselves,…
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
Repair Cafés: A World­wide Movement of Passionate Volunteers
by Martine Postma
Apparently people worldwide are ready for change, ready to say goodbye to our throwaway society and…
The Many Opportunities to Trust
The Many Opportunities to Trust
by Joyce Vissell
Imagine if we could completely trust that we are guided, protected and completely loved by an…

MOST READ

finding what you are looking for 5 25
Use Horary Astrology to Find What You Lost
by Alphee Lavoie
There has always been a lot of controversy among astrologers as to what time (and even location) to…
rebuilding environment 4 14
How Native Birds Are Returning To New Zealand’s Restored Urban Forests
by Elizabeth Elliot Noe, Lincoln University et al
Urbanisation, and the destruction of habitat it entails, is a major threat to native bird…
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
by Gretchen E. Ely, University of Tennessee
If the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade, the 1973 decision that legalized abortion in the…
how much sleep you need 4 7
How Much Sleep You Really Need
by Barbara Jacquelyn Sahakian, University of Cambridge, et al
Most of us struggle to think well after a poor night’s sleep – feeling foggy and failing to perform…
benefits of lemmon water 4 14
Will Lemon Water Detox Or Energize You?
by Evangeline Mantzioris, University of South Australia
If you believe anecdotes online, drinking lukewarm water with a splash of lemon juice is…
trusting societies are happy 4 14
Why Trusting Societies Are Overall Happier
by enjamin Radcliff, University of Notre Dame
Human beings are social animals. This means, almost as a matter of logical necessity, that humans’…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
economy 4 14
5 Things That Economists Know, But Sound Wrong To Most Other People
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
A curious thing about our profession is that when we academic economists largely agree with each…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.