La fête pourrait-elle être terminée pour Boris Johnson ?

fête pour johnson1

Le Premier ministre travailliste Harold Wilson a inventé l'expression "une semaine, c'est long en politique", ce qui a certainement été confirmé par les événements récents. Jusqu'à très récemment, il semblait que Boris Johnson était peu de chances d'être évincé du numéro 10 de sitôt, en grande partie parce que les conservateurs n'étaient pas si loin derrière dans les sondages. Mais le problème de leadership au sein du Parti conservateur s'est maintenant transformé en quelque chose de beaucoup plus sérieux. C'est devenu une crise constitutionnelle ainsi qu'une crise politique pour le Premier ministre.

Johnson a été contraint de s'excuser auprès du Parlement le 12 janvier alors qu'il ne pouvait plus nier les preuves évidentes que son personnel s'était réuni en grand groupe dans le jardin du 10 Downing Street alors que le Royaume-Uni était strictement bloqué.

Il y a deux aspects à la crise constitutionnelle. Le premier est la question du mensonge au parlement. Le Premier ministre affirme que le rassemblement de mai était un «événement de travail» et pourrait donc être considéré comme «techniquement conforme aux directives» de l'époque. Beaucoup auront accueilli cette affirmation avec beaucoup de scepticisme - en particulier quiconque a fait face à des accusations criminelles pour avoir rencontré d'autres personnes à l'extérieur pendant la période en question. À l'époque, les gens n'étaient autorisés à se mêler qu'à une seule autre personne en dehors de leur foyer lorsqu'ils se rencontraient à l'extérieur. Les réunions de travail en personne n'étaient autorisées que lorsque "absolument nécessaire ».

Si Johnson a menti au Parlement en affirmant que les règles ont été suivies alors qu'elles ne l'ont pas été, c'est une violation de la Code ministériel. Dans le passé, cette infraction n'a pas seulement entraîné le limogeage de ministres de la banquette avant, mais même l'expulsion totale de députés du parlement.

Les Affaire Profumo en 1963 en est une illustration éclatante. Lorsque John Profumo, le secrétaire d'État à la guerre, a menti au Parlement au sujet de sa liaison extraconjugale avec Christine Keeler, il a fini par devoir quitter le Parlement. Le scandale a finalement fait tomber le gouvernement.

La deuxième question constitutionnelle concerne l'enquête policière sur le parti à Downing Street pendant le verrouillage de mai 2020. Johnson a admis avoir assisté à cet événement lors des questions du Premier ministre le 12 janvier. Le rassemblement a eu lieu alors que le reste du pays était étroitement enfermé. Il a affirmé que la fête était un «événement de travail», mais si l'enquête policière révèle qu'elle a enfreint les règles, cela signifierait que Johnson et les autres participants commettaient une infraction pénale. Mentir au Parlement ou enfreindre les règles de verrouillage sont tous deux des délits de démission.

Cela dit, les retombées politiques de la crise risquent d'être les plus importantes. La réaction du public est évidente dans un récent sondage publié dans l'Independent qui a montré que les deux tiers des électeurs pensent Johnson devrait démissionner. Les députés conservateurs d'arrière-ban savent maintenant que Johnson n'est plus un vainqueur des élections et craindront probablement pour la sécurité de leurs sièges. Si le parti veut se rétablir, il devra composer avec ce fait.

Comment d'autres PM ont perdu leur emploi

Il est intéressant de replacer la crise de Johnson dans son contexte en examinant les raisons pour lesquelles les premiers ministres ont démissionné dans le passé. Depuis la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale, le Royaume-Uni a eu 15 premiers ministres. La raison la plus courante pour eux de démissionner était de perdre une élection. C'est arrivé à Winston Churchill en 1945, Clement Attlee en 1951, Alec Douglas-Home en 1963, Edward Heath en 1974, Jim Callaghan en 1979, John Major en 1997 et Gordon Brown en 2010 - qui ont tous perdu les élections générales. On peut ajouter David Cameron à la liste depuis qu'il a perdu le référendum sur l'UE en 2016, et aussi Theresa May parce qu'elle s'est retirée après avoir perdu les élections au Parlement européen en 2019.

La deuxième raison la plus courante de démission était la mauvaise santé. Cela explique pourquoi Churchill a démissionné de son second mandat en avril 1955. Cela explique également pourquoi son successeur Anthony Eden a démissionné en janvier 1957. Il a fait une dépression nerveuse suite à la Crise de Suez de 1956 lorsque la Grande-Bretagne, la France et Israël ont envahi l'Égypte après que son président, Gamel Abdel Nasser, a nationalisé le canal de Suez.

Un autre cas fut Harold Wilson, qui surprit la plupart des observateurs en démissionnant en mars 1976 à un moment où aucune crise particulière ne se préparait. Il s'est avéré plus tard qu'il était préoccupé par sa perte de mémoire et sa démence imminente, qui l'ont finalement rattrapé. Ainsi, il compte comme un premier ministre qui a démissionné en raison de mauvaise santé.


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Les deux cas restants qui ne rentrent pas dans ces catégories sont Margaret Thatcher et Tony Blair. La première a été limogée par son propre parti en 1990 lorsque le soutien électoral des conservateurs s'est effondré après l'introduction de la taxe de vote mal avisée. Blair a démissionné après une pression constante de la part de son successeur, Brown, mais son départ est intervenu au milieu de son impopularité croissante après la guerre en Irak. On peut se demander s'il aurait transmis le manteau s'il n'avait pas fait face à une telle réaction publique.

Approbation du dossier du Premier ministre au cours du mois de sa démission (% de répondants à l'enquête)

fête pour johnson

Thatcher et Johnson : valeurs aberrantes malchanceuses. P Whiteley, Auteur fourni

Une question intéressante est le rôle de l'opinion publique dans toutes ces démissions. Le tableau ci-dessus examine les taux d'approbation des six premiers ministres qui n'ont pas démissionné immédiatement après une défaite électorale. Cela n'inclut pas ceux qui ont perdu une élection puisque c'est un signal clair que l'électorat a rejeté un chef.

Le graphique montre les taux d'approbation de ces six premiers ministres au cours du mois de leur démission, ainsi que le taux d'approbation actuel de Johnson. De toute évidence, Churchill était très populaire lorsqu'il a démissionné en avril 1955, il s'agissait donc d'un véritable cas de maladie entraînant la retraite. Eden, Macmillan et Wilson avaient tous des notes respectables et Blair était moins populaire – bien qu'il ait tout de même obtenu un taux d'approbation de 35 %.

Les grands noms sont Thatcher et Johnson. Cependant, il existe une différence importante entre eux. Thatcher et le parti conservateur étaient tous deux très impopulaires au moment de sa démission, le parti sondant bien derrière les travaillistes dans les intentions de vote. Actuellement, les notes de Johnson sont bien pires que celles de son parti. Selon un Sondage YouGov publié juste avant Noël, les conservateurs n'avaient que 6 points de pourcentage de retard sur les travaillistes dans les intentions de vote.

Cela est susceptible de changer dans un proche avenir, car les problèmes politiques du Premier ministre entraînent son parti dans les sondages. Cela signifie qu'il existe une voie claire pour sortir du problème pour les députés conservateurs – à savoir destituer Johnson et espérer une reprise dans les sondages en élisant un nouveau chef. Le parti l'a fait avec succès en 1990 lorsqu'il a limogé Thatcher, tant de gens penseront qu'il y a de bonnes chances de répéter l'exercice cette fois.La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

Paul Whiteley, professeur, Département du gouvernement, Université d'Essex

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

 

Plus d'articles de cet auteur

Vous aimeriez aussi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

LES PLUS LUS

pourquoi pompes à chaleur 6 12
Pourquoi les pompes à chaleur et les panneaux solaires sont essentiels à la Défense nationale
by Daniel Cohan, Université Rice
Les panneaux solaires, les pompes à chaleur et l'hydrogène sont tous des éléments constitutifs d'une économie d'énergie propre. Mais sont…
stress social et vieillissement 6 17
Comment le stress social peut accélérer le vieillissement du système immunitaire
by Eric Klopack, Université de Californie du Sud
À mesure que les gens vieillissent, leur système immunitaire commence naturellement à décliner. Ce vieillissement du système immunitaire,…
incapacité du chargeur 9 19
La nouvelle règle du chargeur USB-C montre comment les régulateurs de l'UE prennent des décisions pour le monde
by Renaud Foucart, Université de Lancaster
Avez-vous déjà emprunté le chargeur d'un ami pour découvrir qu'il n'est pas compatible avec votre téléphone ? Ou…
aliments plus sains une fois cuits 6 19
9 légumes qui sont plus sains une fois cuits
by Laura Brown, Université de Teesside
Tous les aliments ne sont pas plus nutritifs lorsqu'ils sont consommés crus. En effet, certains légumes sont en réalité plus…
communiquer avec les animaux 6 12
Comment communiquer avec les animaux
by Marta Williams
Les animaux essaient toujours de nous atteindre. Ils nous envoient constamment des messages intuitifs…
jeûne intermittent 6 17
Le jeûne intermittent est-il vraiment bon pour perdre du poids ?
by David Clayton, Université de Nottingham Trent
Si vous êtes quelqu'un qui a pensé à perdre du poids ou qui a voulu être en meilleure santé ces dernières…
améliorer votre personnalité 6 12
Votre personnalité a-t-elle besoin d'être mise à jour ?
by Eric Maisel
Si vous êtes assez courageux pour évaluer votre personnalité et arriver à des conclusions sur ce que…
amnésie infantile 6 9
Pourquoi vous ne vous souvenez pas d'être né, d'avoir appris à marcher ou d'avoir dit vos premiers mots
by Vanessa LoBue, Université Rutgers
Malgré le fait que les gens ne se souviennent pas de grand-chose avant l'âge de 2 ou 3 ans, les recherches suggèrent que…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Could The Party Be Over For Boris Johnson?

party over for johnson1

The Labour prime minister Harold Wilson coined the phrase “a week is a long time in politics”, something that has certainly been confirmed by recent events. Up until very recently, it looked like Boris Johnson was unlikely to be ousted from Number 10 any time soon, largely because the Conservatives were not that far behind in the polls. But the leadership problem in the Conservative party has now morphed into something much more serious. It has become a constitutional crisis as well as a political crisis for the prime minister.

Johnson was forced to apologise to parliament on January 12 when he could no longer deny the clear evidence that his staff had gathered in a large group in the garden of 10 Downing Street while the UK was in strict lockdown.

There are two aspects to the constitutional crisis. The first is the matter of lying in parliament. The prime minister claims that the May gathering was a “work event” and therefore could be said to “technically fall within the guidance” of the time. Many will have greeted this assertion with significant scepticism – particularly anyone who faced criminal charges for meeting others outside during the period in question. Back then, people were only allowed to mix with one other person outside their household when meeting outdoors. In-person work meetings were only allowed when “absolutely necessary”.

If Johnson has been lying to parliament by claiming rules were followed when they were not, it is a breach of the Ministerial Code. In the past, this offence has not just resulted in ministers being sacked from the front bench but even in MPs being expelled from parliament altogether.

The Profumo affair in 1963 is a vivid illustration of this. When John Profumo, the secretary of state for war, lied to parliament about his extramarital affair with Christine Keeler, he ended up having to leave parliament. The scandal eventually brought down the government.

The second constitutional issue relates to the police investigation of the party in Downing Street during the May 2020 lockdown. Johnson admitted that he attended this event during Prime Minister’s Questions on January 12. The gathering took place when the rest of the country was tightly locked down. He has claimed the party was a “work event” but if the police investigation finds it did break the rules, it would mean that Johnson and the other participants were committing a criminal offence. Lying to parliament or breaking the lockdown rules are both resigning offences.

That said, the political fallout from the crisis is likely to loom largest. The public backlash is apparent in a recent poll published in the Independent which showed that two-thirds of voters think Johnson should resign. Conservative backbench MPs now know Johnson is no longer an election winner and are likely to be fearing for the security of their seats. If the party is to recover, it will have to deal with this fact.

How other PMs lost their jobs

It is interesting to put Johnson’s crisis in context by looking at the reasons why prime ministers have resigned in the past. Since the end of the second world war the UK has had 15 prime ministers. The most common reason for them to step down was losing an election. This happened to Winston Churchill in 1945, Clement Attlee in 1951, Alec Douglas-Home in 1963, Edward Heath in 1974, Jim Callaghan in 1979, John Major in 1997 and Gordon Brown in 2010 – all of whom lost general elections. We can add David Cameron to the list since he lost the EU referendum in 2016, and also Theresa May because she stood down after losing the European Parliament elections in 2019.

The second most common reason for resigning was ill health. This explains why Churchill stepped down from his second term in April 1955. It also explains why his successor Anthony Eden resigned in January 1957. He had a nervous breakdown following the Suez crisis of 1956 when Britain, France and Israel invaded Egypt after its president, Gamel Abdel Nasser, nationalised the Suez Canal.

Another case was Harold Wilson, who surprised most observers by resigning in March 1976 at a time when there was no particular crisis afoot. It turned out later that he was concerned about his loss of memory and impending dementia, which eventually caught up with him. Thus he counts as a premier who resigned due to ill health.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The two remaining cases who do not fit into these categories are Margaret Thatcher and Tony Blair. The former was sacked by her own party in 1990 when Conservative polling support collapsed after the introduction of the ill-advised poll tax. Blair resigned after constant pressure to do so from his successor, Brown, but his departure came amid his growing unpopularity following the Iraq war. It’s debatable whether he would have passed on the mantle had he not faced such a public backlash.

Approval of prime minister’s record in month they stepped down (% survey respondents)

party over for johnson

Thatcher and Johnson: unlucky outliers. P Whiteley, Author provided

An interesting question is the role of public opinion in all of these resignations. The above chart looks at approval ratings for the six prime ministers who did not resign immediately after an election loss. It doesn’t include those who lost an election since that’s a clear signal that the electorate has rejected a leader.

The chart shows approval ratings for these six prime ministers in the month they resigned plus the current approval rating for Johnson. Clearly, Churchill was very popular when he stepped down in April 1955 so his was a genuine case of illness bringing on retirement. Eden, Macmillan and Wilson all had respectable ratings and Blair was less popular – although he still achieved an approval rating of 35%.

The big standouts are Thatcher and Johnson. However, there is an important difference between them. Both Thatcher and the Conservative party were very unpopular at the time she resigned, with the party polling well behind Labour in voting intentions. Currently, Johnson’s ratings are much worse than his party’s. According to a YouGov poll published just before Christmas, the Conservatives were only 6 percentage points behind Labour in voting intentions.

This is likely to change in the near future as the prime minister’s political problems drag down his party in the polls. That means there is a clear route out of the problem for Conservative MPs – namely to remove Johnson and hope for a recovery in the polls by electing a new leader. The party did this successfully in 1990 when they sacked Thatcher, so many will think that there is a good chance of repeating the exercise this time.The Conversation

About The Author

Paul Whiteley, Professor, Department of Government, University of Essex

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

Lunar eclipse, May 12, 2022
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 23 - 29, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 21 rewilding the imagination in dangerous times 5362430 1920
Rewilding the Imagination in Dangerous Times
by Natureza Gabriel Kram
In a world that often seems intent on destroying itself, I find myself curating beauty -- the kind…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
elephant walking in front of a setting sun
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 16 - 22, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of Leo Buscaglia from cover of his book: Living, Loving and Learning
How to Change Someone's Life in a Few Seconds
by Joyce Vissell
My life was changed dramatically when someone took that second to point out my beauty.
a composite photograph of a total lunar eclipse
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 9 - 15, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 08 developing compassionate thinking 2593344 completed
Developing Compassionate Thinking Towards Self and Others
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
When people speak of compassion, they mostly are referring to having compassion for others... for…
a young couple, wearing protective masks, standing on a bridge
A Bridge for Healing: Dear Corona Virus...
by Laura Aversano
The Coronavirus pandemic represented a current in our psychic and physical spheres of reality that…
The Role of Animals in Our Lives
The Role of Animals in Our Lives
by Diane Budd
Domestication, for an animal, means not being completely free to roam or to even eat as they…
One Mighty Misperception Challenged by the Light of this Virgo Moon
One Mighty Misperception Challenged by the Light of this Virgo Moon
by Sarah Varcas
Life, in all its often hectic confusion, can sometimes feel like a million individual plates we…
An Incredible Story Of Never Giving Up
An Incredibly Inspiring Story Of Never Giving Up
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
A testament to never giving up. An incredible story of a kid who left school at 14, dogged by the…

MOST READ

finding what you are looking for 5 25
Use Horary Astrology to Find What You Lost
by Alphee Lavoie
There has always been a lot of controversy among astrologers as to what time (and even location) to…
rebuilding environment 4 14
How Native Birds Are Returning To New Zealand’s Restored Urban Forests
by Elizabeth Elliot Noe, Lincoln University et al
Urbanisation, and the destruction of habitat it entails, is a major threat to native bird…
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
by Gretchen E. Ely, University of Tennessee
If the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade, the 1973 decision that legalized abortion in the…
benefits of lemmon water 4 14
Will Lemon Water Detox Or Energize You?
by Evangeline Mantzioris, University of South Australia
If you believe anecdotes online, drinking lukewarm water with a splash of lemon juice is…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
counterfit drugs 4 25
Dangerous Counterfeit Drugs Are Putting Millions Of Us Consumers At Risk
by C. Michael White, University of Connecticut
Many counterfeit pharmaceutical drugs are sold online, and the bulk of them are being obtained…
believing makes it happen 4 11
New Study Finds Simply Believing You Can Do Something Is Linked With Higher Wellbeing
by Ziggi Ivan Santini, University of Southern Denmark et al
Interestingly however, we found that – whether or not our respondents had actually taken action to…
about rapid covid tests 5 16
Just How Accurate Are Rapid Antigen Tests?
by Nathaniel Hafer and Apurv Soni, UMass Chan Medical School
These studies are beginning to provide researchers like us with evidence about how these tests…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.