هل يمكن أن تنتهي الحفلة بالنسبة لبوريس جونسون؟

انتهت الحفلة لـ johnson1

صاغ رئيس الوزراء من حزب العمال هارولد ويلسون عبارة "أسبوع هو وقت طويل في السياسة" ، وهو أمر أكدته بالتأكيد الأحداث الأخيرة. حتى وقت قريب جدًا ، بدا الأمر كما لو كان بوريس جونسون من غير المحتمل أن يكون تمت الإطاحة به من المرتبة العاشرة في أي وقت قريب ، ويرجع ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى أن المحافظين لم يكونوا متأخرين كثيرًا في استطلاعات الرأي. لكن مشكلة القيادة في حزب المحافظين تحولت الآن إلى شيء أكثر خطورة. لقد أصبحت أزمة دستورية وكذلك أزمة سياسية لرئيس الوزراء.

أُجبر جونسون على الاعتذار للبرلمان في 12 يناير عندما لم يعد بإمكانه إنكار الدليل الواضح على أن موظفيه قد تجمعوا في مجموعة كبيرة في حديقة 10 داونينج ستريت بينما كانت المملكة المتحدة في حالة إغلاق صارم.

هناك جانبان للأزمة الدستورية. الأول هو موضوع الكذب في البرلمان. يدعي رئيس الوزراء أن اجتماع مايو كان "حدث عمل" وبالتالي يمكن القول أنه "من الناحية الفنية يقع ضمن توجيهات" ذلك الوقت. كان الكثيرون قد استقبلوا هذا التأكيد بتشكك كبير - لا سيما أي شخص واجه تهماً جنائية لمقابلة آخرين في الخارج خلال الفترة المعنية. في ذلك الوقت ، كان يُسمح للناس فقط بالاختلاط مع شخص آخر خارج منزلهم عندما يجتمعون في الهواء الطلق. لم يُسمح باجتماعات العمل الشخصية إلا في حالة "الضرورة القصوى".

إذا كان جونسون يكذب على البرلمان من خلال الادعاء بأن القواعد تم اتباعها عندما لم تكن كذلك ، فهذا يعد انتهاكًا لـ القانون الوزاري. في الماضي ، لم تؤد هذه الجريمة إلى إقالة الوزراء من مقاعد البدلاء الأمامية فحسب ، بل أدت أيضًا إلى طرد النواب من البرلمان تمامًا.

يوفر قضية بروفومو في عام 1963 مثال حي على ذلك. عندما كذب جون بروفومو ، وزير الدولة لشؤون الحرب ، على البرلمان بشأن علاقته خارج نطاق الزواج مع كريستين كيلر ، انتهى به الأمر إلى مغادرة البرلمان. أدت الفضيحة في النهاية إلى إسقاط الحكومة.

تتعلق القضية الدستورية الثانية بتحقيق الشرطة مع الحزب في داونينج ستريت خلال إغلاق مايو 2020. اعترف جونسون بأنه حضر هذا الحدث خلال أسئلة رئيس الوزراء في 12 يناير. تم التجمع عندما تم إغلاق بقية البلاد بإحكام. وقد زعم أن الحفلة كانت "حدث عمل" ولكن إذا وجد تحقيق الشرطة أنها انتهكت القواعد ، فهذا يعني أن جونسون والمشاركين الآخرين كانوا يرتكبون جريمة جنائية. الكذب على البرلمان أو خرق قواعد الإغلاق كلاهما جريمة الاستقالة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن التداعيات السياسية للأزمة من المرجح أن تلوح في الأفق بشكل أكبر. ظهر رد الفعل الشعبي العنيف في استطلاع حديث نُشر في صحيفة "إندبندنت" أظهر أن ثلثي الناخبين يعتقدون ذلك يجب على جونسون الاستقالة. يعرف نواب مجلس النواب المحافظين الآن أن جونسون لم يعد فائزًا في الانتخابات ومن المرجح أن يخشى على أمن مقاعدهم. إذا كان على الحزب أن يتعافى ، فسيتعين عليه التعامل مع هذه الحقيقة.

كيف فقد رؤساء الوزراء الآخرين وظائفهم

من المثير للاهتمام وضع أزمة جونسون في سياقها من خلال النظر في أسباب استقالة رؤساء الوزراء في الماضي. منذ نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية ، كان للمملكة المتحدة 15 رئيسًا للوزراء. كان السبب الأكثر شيوعًا لتنحيهم هو خسارة الانتخابات. حدث هذا مع ونستون تشرشل في عام 1945 ، وكليمنت أتلي في عام 1951 ، وأليك دوجلاس هوم في عام 1963 ، وإدوارد هيث في عام 1974 ، وجيم كالاهان في عام 1979 ، وجون ميجور في عام 1997 ، وجوردون براون في عام 2010 - وجميعهم خسروا الانتخابات العامة. يمكننا إضافة ديفيد كاميرون إلى القائمة منذ خسارته في استفتاء الاتحاد الأوروبي في عام 2016 ، وكذلك تيريزا ماي لأنها استقالت بعد خسارتها انتخابات البرلمان الأوروبي في عام 2019.

السبب الثاني الأكثر شيوعًا للاستقالة كان اعتلال الصحة. وهذا يفسر سبب تنحي تشرشل عن ولايته الثانية في أبريل 1955. كما يفسر سبب استقالة خليفته أنتوني إيدن في يناير 1957. أزمة السويس عام 1956 عندما غزت بريطانيا وفرنسا وإسرائيل مصر بعد أن قام رئيسها جمال عبد الناصر بتأميم قناة السويس.

حالة أخرى كانت هارولد ويلسون ، الذي فاجأ معظم المراقبين باستقالته في مارس 1976 في وقت لم تكن هناك أزمة معينة على قدم وساق. اتضح لاحقًا أنه كان قلقًا بشأن فقده للذاكرة والخرف الوشيك ، والذي أصابه في النهاية. وهكذا يعتبر رئيس الوزراء الذي استقال بسبب اعتلال الصحة.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

الحالتان المتبقيتان اللتان لا تندرجان في هذه الفئات هما مارجريت تاتشر وتوني بلير. وأقال حزبها حزبها في عام 1990 عندما انهار دعم المحافظين لاستطلاعات الرأي بعد إدخال ضريبة الاقتراع غير الحكيمة. استقال بلير بعد ضغوط متواصلة من خليفته براون للقيام بذلك ، لكن رحيله جاء وسط تزايد شعبيته في أعقاب حرب العراق. من المثير للجدل ما إذا كان سيتخلى عن الوشاح لو لم يواجه مثل هذا رد الفعل العام.

المصادقة على سجل رئيس الوزراء في الشهر بالتنحي (٪ من المشاركين في الاستطلاع)

انتهت الحفلة من أجل جونسون

تاتشر وجونسون: القيم المتطرفة غير المحظوظة. بي وايتلي, مؤلف المنصوص

السؤال المثير للاهتمام هو دور الرأي العام في كل هذه الاستقالات. يبحث الرسم البياني أعلاه في معدلات التأييد لرؤساء الوزراء الستة الذين لم يستقيلوا فور خسارة الانتخابات. ولا يشمل أولئك الذين خسروا الانتخابات لأن هذه إشارة واضحة على أن الناخبين رفضوا زعيمًا.

يُظهر الرسم البياني معدلات الموافقة على رؤساء الوزراء الستة في الشهر الذي استقالوا فيه بالإضافة إلى تصنيف الموافقة الحالي لجونسون. من الواضح أن تشرشل كان يحظى بشعبية كبيرة عندما تنحى في أبريل 1955 ، لذا كانت حالة مرضية حقيقية أدت إلى التقاعد. كان كل من إيدن وماكميلان وويلسون يتمتعون بتصنيفات محترمة وكان بلير أقل شعبية - على الرغم من أنه لا يزال يحقق نسبة موافقة تبلغ 35٪.

أبرز الشخصيات هي تاتشر وجونسون. ومع ذلك ، هناك فرق مهم بينهما. كان كل من تاتشر وحزب المحافظين غير محبوبين للغاية في الوقت الذي استقلت فيه ، حيث كان الحزب يتخلف كثيرًا عن حزب العمال في نوايا التصويت. حاليًا ، تصنيفات جونسون أسوأ بكثير من تصنيفات حزبه. وفقا ل استطلاع يوجوف تم نشره قبل عيد الميلاد بقليل ، كان المحافظون يتخلفون 6 نقاط مئوية فقط عن حزب العمال في نوايا التصويت.

ومن المرجح أن يتغير هذا في المستقبل القريب حيث تتسبب المشاكل السياسية لرئيس الوزراء في جر حزبه في صناديق الاقتراع. وهذا يعني أن هناك طريقًا واضحًا للخروج من المشكلة بالنسبة للنواب المحافظين - وهو إزاحة جونسون والأمل في التعافي في استطلاعات الرأي من خلال انتخاب زعيم جديد. لقد فعل الحزب ذلك بنجاح في عام 1990 عندما أقال تاتشر ، وسيعتقد الكثيرون أن هناك فرصة جيدة لإعادة التمرين هذه المرة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

بول ويتلي ، أستاذ بقسم الحكومة ، جامعة إسكس

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

 

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا المضخات الحرارية 6 12
لماذا المضخات الحرارية والألواح الشمسية ضرورية للدفاع الوطني
by دانيال كوهان ، جامعة رايس
تعتبر الألواح الشمسية والمضخات الحرارية والهيدروجين بمثابة اللبنات الأساسية لاقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة. ولكن ل…
التأثير على الأحلام 6
كيف يؤثر عرقك وطبقتك وجنسك على أحلامك في المستقبل
by كارين أ. سيرولو ، جامعة روتجرز وجانيت روان ، جامعة ولاية مونتكلير
في فيلم "Pinocchio" من إنتاج ديزني ، غنى Jiminy Cricket الشهير ، "عندما تتمنى نجمة ، لا تقدم ...
الأطعمة الصحية عند طهيها 6
9 خضروات صحية عند طهيها
by لورا براون ، جامعة تيسايد
ليست كل الأطعمة مغذية أكثر عند تناولها نيئة. في الواقع ، بعض الخضروات أكثر ...
التواصل مع الحيوانات 6
كيف تتواصل مع الحيوانات
by مارتا وليامز
تحاول الحيوانات دائمًا الوصول إلينا. إنهم يرسلون إلينا باستمرار رسائل بديهية ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
الصوم المتقطع 6 17
هل الصيام المتقطع مفيد فعلاً لخسارة الوزن؟
by ديفيد كلايتون ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترنت
إذا كنت ممن فكرت في فقدان الوزن أو أرادت أن تصبح أكثر صحة في الماضي ...
ترقية شخصيتك 6 12
هل شخصيتك بحاجة إلى ترقية؟
by اريك مايزيل
إذا كنت شجاعًا بما يكفي لتقييم شخصيتك والتوصل إلى بعض الاستنتاجات حول ما ...
الإجهاد الاجتماعي والشيخوخة 6
كيف يمكن للضغوط الاجتماعية تسريع شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي
by إريك كلوباك ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا
مع تقدم الناس في السن ، تبدأ أجهزتهم المناعية بشكل طبيعي في التدهور. شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي ، ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Could The Party Be Over For Boris Johnson?

party over for johnson1

The Labour prime minister Harold Wilson coined the phrase “a week is a long time in politics”, something that has certainly been confirmed by recent events. Up until very recently, it looked like Boris Johnson was unlikely to be ousted from Number 10 any time soon, largely because the Conservatives were not that far behind in the polls. But the leadership problem in the Conservative party has now morphed into something much more serious. It has become a constitutional crisis as well as a political crisis for the prime minister.

Johnson was forced to apologise to parliament on January 12 when he could no longer deny the clear evidence that his staff had gathered in a large group in the garden of 10 Downing Street while the UK was in strict lockdown.

There are two aspects to the constitutional crisis. The first is the matter of lying in parliament. The prime minister claims that the May gathering was a “work event” and therefore could be said to “technically fall within the guidance” of the time. Many will have greeted this assertion with significant scepticism – particularly anyone who faced criminal charges for meeting others outside during the period in question. Back then, people were only allowed to mix with one other person outside their household when meeting outdoors. In-person work meetings were only allowed when “absolutely necessary”.

If Johnson has been lying to parliament by claiming rules were followed when they were not, it is a breach of the Ministerial Code. In the past, this offence has not just resulted in ministers being sacked from the front bench but even in MPs being expelled from parliament altogether.

The Profumo affair in 1963 is a vivid illustration of this. When John Profumo, the secretary of state for war, lied to parliament about his extramarital affair with Christine Keeler, he ended up having to leave parliament. The scandal eventually brought down the government.

The second constitutional issue relates to the police investigation of the party in Downing Street during the May 2020 lockdown. Johnson admitted that he attended this event during Prime Minister’s Questions on January 12. The gathering took place when the rest of the country was tightly locked down. He has claimed the party was a “work event” but if the police investigation finds it did break the rules, it would mean that Johnson and the other participants were committing a criminal offence. Lying to parliament or breaking the lockdown rules are both resigning offences.

That said, the political fallout from the crisis is likely to loom largest. The public backlash is apparent in a recent poll published in the Independent which showed that two-thirds of voters think Johnson should resign. Conservative backbench MPs now know Johnson is no longer an election winner and are likely to be fearing for the security of their seats. If the party is to recover, it will have to deal with this fact.

How other PMs lost their jobs

It is interesting to put Johnson’s crisis in context by looking at the reasons why prime ministers have resigned in the past. Since the end of the second world war the UK has had 15 prime ministers. The most common reason for them to step down was losing an election. This happened to Winston Churchill in 1945, Clement Attlee in 1951, Alec Douglas-Home in 1963, Edward Heath in 1974, Jim Callaghan in 1979, John Major in 1997 and Gordon Brown in 2010 – all of whom lost general elections. We can add David Cameron to the list since he lost the EU referendum in 2016, and also Theresa May because she stood down after losing the European Parliament elections in 2019.

The second most common reason for resigning was ill health. This explains why Churchill stepped down from his second term in April 1955. It also explains why his successor Anthony Eden resigned in January 1957. He had a nervous breakdown following the Suez crisis of 1956 when Britain, France and Israel invaded Egypt after its president, Gamel Abdel Nasser, nationalised the Suez Canal.

Another case was Harold Wilson, who surprised most observers by resigning in March 1976 at a time when there was no particular crisis afoot. It turned out later that he was concerned about his loss of memory and impending dementia, which eventually caught up with him. Thus he counts as a premier who resigned due to ill health.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The two remaining cases who do not fit into these categories are Margaret Thatcher and Tony Blair. The former was sacked by her own party in 1990 when Conservative polling support collapsed after the introduction of the ill-advised poll tax. Blair resigned after constant pressure to do so from his successor, Brown, but his departure came amid his growing unpopularity following the Iraq war. It’s debatable whether he would have passed on the mantle had he not faced such a public backlash.

Approval of prime minister’s record in month they stepped down (% survey respondents)

party over for johnson

Thatcher and Johnson: unlucky outliers. P Whiteley, Author provided

An interesting question is the role of public opinion in all of these resignations. The above chart looks at approval ratings for the six prime ministers who did not resign immediately after an election loss. It doesn’t include those who lost an election since that’s a clear signal that the electorate has rejected a leader.

The chart shows approval ratings for these six prime ministers in the month they resigned plus the current approval rating for Johnson. Clearly, Churchill was very popular when he stepped down in April 1955 so his was a genuine case of illness bringing on retirement. Eden, Macmillan and Wilson all had respectable ratings and Blair was less popular – although he still achieved an approval rating of 35%.

The big standouts are Thatcher and Johnson. However, there is an important difference between them. Both Thatcher and the Conservative party were very unpopular at the time she resigned, with the party polling well behind Labour in voting intentions. Currently, Johnson’s ratings are much worse than his party’s. According to a YouGov poll published just before Christmas, the Conservatives were only 6 percentage points behind Labour in voting intentions.

This is likely to change in the near future as the prime minister’s political problems drag down his party in the polls. That means there is a clear route out of the problem for Conservative MPs – namely to remove Johnson and hope for a recovery in the polls by electing a new leader. The party did this successfully in 1990 when they sacked Thatcher, so many will think that there is a good chance of repeating the exercise this time.The Conversation

About The Author

Paul Whiteley, Professor, Department of Government, University of Essex

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

Lunar eclipse, May 12, 2022
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 23 - 29, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 21 rewilding the imagination in dangerous times 5362430 1920
Rewilding the Imagination in Dangerous Times
by Natureza Gabriel Kram
In a world that often seems intent on destroying itself, I find myself curating beauty -- the kind…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
elephant walking in front of a setting sun
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 16 - 22, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of Leo Buscaglia from cover of his book: Living, Loving and Learning
How to Change Someone's Life in a Few Seconds
by Joyce Vissell
My life was changed dramatically when someone took that second to point out my beauty.
a composite photograph of a total lunar eclipse
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 9 - 15, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 08 developing compassionate thinking 2593344 completed
Developing Compassionate Thinking Towards Self and Others
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
When people speak of compassion, they mostly are referring to having compassion for others... for…
a young couple, wearing protective masks, standing on a bridge
A Bridge for Healing: Dear Corona Virus...
by Laura Aversano
The Coronavirus pandemic represented a current in our psychic and physical spheres of reality that…
The Role of Animals in Our Lives
The Role of Animals in Our Lives
by Diane Budd
Domestication, for an animal, means not being completely free to roam or to even eat as they…
One Mighty Misperception Challenged by the Light of this Virgo Moon
One Mighty Misperception Challenged by the Light of this Virgo Moon
by Sarah Varcas
Life, in all its often hectic confusion, can sometimes feel like a million individual plates we…
An Incredible Story Of Never Giving Up
An Incredibly Inspiring Story Of Never Giving Up
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
A testament to never giving up. An incredible story of a kid who left school at 14, dogged by the…

MOST READ

finding what you are looking for 5 25
Use Horary Astrology to Find What You Lost
by Alphee Lavoie
There has always been a lot of controversy among astrologers as to what time (and even location) to…
rebuilding environment 4 14
How Native Birds Are Returning To New Zealand’s Restored Urban Forests
by Elizabeth Elliot Noe, Lincoln University et al
Urbanisation, and the destruction of habitat it entails, is a major threat to native bird…
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
by Gretchen E. Ely, University of Tennessee
If the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade, the 1973 decision that legalized abortion in the…
benefits of lemmon water 4 14
Will Lemon Water Detox Or Energize You?
by Evangeline Mantzioris, University of South Australia
If you believe anecdotes online, drinking lukewarm water with a splash of lemon juice is…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
counterfit drugs 4 25
Dangerous Counterfeit Drugs Are Putting Millions Of Us Consumers At Risk
by C. Michael White, University of Connecticut
Many counterfeit pharmaceutical drugs are sold online, and the bulk of them are being obtained…
believing makes it happen 4 11
New Study Finds Simply Believing You Can Do Something Is Linked With Higher Wellbeing
by Ziggi Ivan Santini, University of Southern Denmark et al
Interestingly however, we found that – whether or not our respondents had actually taken action to…
about rapid covid tests 5 16
Just How Accurate Are Rapid Antigen Tests?
by Nathaniel Hafer and Apurv Soni, UMass Chan Medical School
These studies are beginning to provide researchers like us with evidence about how these tests…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.