لقد مرت سنوات عديدة على نشوء أزمة تكلفة المعيشة

 جذور تكلفة المعيشة 9 4

وصلت المخاوف بشأن تكلفة المعيشة إلى مستويات عالية جديدة في المملكة المتحدة بعد منظم الطاقة أكد Ofgem أن سقف أسعار الطاقة سيتضاعف تقريبًا اعتبارًا من أكتوبر لتكلف الأسرة المتوسطة 3,549 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا في السنة. كان هناك الكثير من النقاش حول ما يتعين على الحكومة القيام به لمساعدة الأفراد والشركات هذا الشتاء ، لكن الأزمة لا تزال تُعرض على أنها مشكلة قصيرة الأجل ستخف في الوقت المناسب.

هذا خطأ في التشخيص. نحن نعيش بالفعل في أزمة بطيئة الحركة استمرت عقودًا من الزمن ومن المقرر أن تستمر. إن فهم ما يحدث حقًا هو خطوة أولى حيوية لإيجاد مخرج.

نحن نميل إلى إلقاء اللوم على الفوضى الاقتصادية الحالية على عوامل قصيرة المدى مثل التقشف ، وخروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي ، وفيروس كورونا ، والحرب في أوكرانيا. في الواقع ، كانت الرياح المعاكسة للاقتصاد العالمي تستجمع قوتها منذ سنوات: بالنسبة الى ذكرت دراسة نشرت في مجلة نيو ساينتست قبل بضع سنوات ، أن عام 1978 كان أفضل عام شهده الاقتصاد العالمي على الإطلاق.

جادلت تلك الدراسة بأن تزايد عدم المساواة والتدهور البيئي قد أدى إلى عكس التقدم ، ولكن يمكنك أيضًا رؤية التراجع باستخدام التدابير الاقتصادية التقليدية. النمو العالمي في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد الواحد و إنتاجية كانت تضعف بشكل مطرد. في المملكة المتحدة ، بمجرد مراعاة التضخم ، نمو نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي قد انخفض منذ 1970s و متوسط ​​الأجر يختلف قليلاً عما كان عليه في عام 2008. في الولايات المتحدة ، متوسط ​​الأجور المعدلة حسب التضخم بلغ ذروته في 1970s.

نصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي العالمي الحقيقي ومعدل النمو 1960-2021جذور تكلفة المعيشة 2 9 4
RGDPpc = الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الحقيقي للفرد. محسوب باستخدام بيانات التضخم الأمريكية. مؤلف المنصوص

يجادل البعض بأن السبب الأساسي لهذه المشكلة العالمية هو أ ضعف طويل الأمد في ال الاقتصاد الأمريكي. وفقًا يعتبر المكتب الوطني للبحوث الاقتصادية (NBER) ، وهو مركز أبحاث أمريكي مؤثر ، أن الكثير مما مر للنمو كان ببساطة إعادة تخصيص الموارد من العمال إلى المساهمين.

ليس هذا فقط ، فقد تم تحقيقه بواسطة تراكم الديون. الديون المالية أكثر من الضعف كنسبة مئوية من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي منذ أوائل السبعينيات ، بينما كان هناك أيضًا تراكم الديون البيئية عن طريق الإفراط في استخدام الموارد الطبيعية.

العديد من الخبراء البارزين في هذا ما يسمى "الركود العلماني"أعتقد أنه قد يكون هنا لتبقى. من المحتمل أيضًا أن يكون الشعور به أقوى في أوروبا، التي لديها ديموغرافيات أقل ملاءمة من الولايات المتحدة وموارد طبيعية أقل. في عام 2023 ، على سبيل المثال ، تم إصدار منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية تتوقع نمو صفري في المملكة المتحدة ، على الرغم من احتمال حدوث ركود (ربعان من النمو السلبي) على الأرجح.

المملكة المتحدة ليست على ما يرام

أحد الأسباب التي تجعل أزمة تكلفة المعيشة في المملكة المتحدة مدمرة للغاية هو أن العديد من الأشخاص ، إن لم يكن معظمهم ، قد رأوا بالفعل مستوى المعيشة قبل حرب أوكرانيا و COVID. بالعودة إلى أيام تيريزا ماي (هل تتذكر الأيام الخوالي؟) ، كان هناك الكثير من الحديث عن "مجرد إدارة" الأسر أو JAMs ، يعرف بأنه الأسر العاملة مع دخل أقل من المتوسط.

وقد عكس ذلك حقيقة أنه قبل عام 2020 بفترة طويلة ، كان العديد من ضروريات الحياة بعيدًا عن متناول الأسرة العادية. ومن المفارقات أن الغاز والطعام هما الضروريتان الوحيدتان اللتان ارتفعت أسعارهما بأقل من متوسط ​​الأجور من عام 2009 إلى عام 2019. وكان مقدار المال الذي كان يتعين على الأسرة العادية إنفاقه على البنود التقديرية يتراجع طوال العقد بعد تعديل التضخم.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

ارتفاع تكلفة الضروريات في 2010
جذور تكلفة المعيشة 3 9 4 
حسابات ONS والمؤلف

من المؤكد أن هذا التراجع البطيء في ازدهار الأسر في المملكة المتحدة قد تسارع بشكل حاد بسبب أوكرانيا ، لكن إنهاء الحرب لن ينهي الأزمة. على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ، كان منتجو الطاقة يستثمرون أقل في إنتاج الوقود الأحفوري لأنهم لم يكونوا واثقين من معدل عائدهم في مواجهة الاندفاع العالمي نحو صافي انبعاثات الكربون.

نظرًا لأن هذا التخفيض قد يكون دائمًا ، فإن العديد من الخبراء نعتقد أن ارتفاع أسعار النفط والغاز وجدت لتبقى. نظرًا لأن الطاقة عنصر حيوي للإنتاج الاقتصادي ، فإن هذا سيزيد من سعر كل شيء تقريبًا.

إلى جانب أزمة الطاقة هذه ، ستؤدي مستويات الديون المرتفعة إلى تثبيط الاستثمار ، مما يعني أن المعروض من السلع والخدمات المتاحة سينخفض. هذه الندرة هي سبب آخر لاستمرار الضغط التصاعدي على الأسعار على المدى الطويل. البنوك المركزية يمكن أن تفعل القليل حول هذا الموضوع لأن رفع أسعار الفائدة لمعالجة التضخم لا ينجح إلا عندما يكون الاقتصاد محمومًا ، وليس عندما تنشأ المشكلة من جانب العرض.

ما الذي يمكن عمله

بصرف النظر عن الذعر الحالي بشأن سقف أسعار الطاقة ، لا يوجد سياسي بارز يتحدث بجدية عن عكس انخفاض القدرة على تحمل تكاليف أساسيات الحياة. ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من الاقتصاديين ، بما في ذلك أنفسنا، تم توقع هذا الوضع لفترة طويلة. كما جادل كيفن في The Conversation عام 2021 ، لم تفعل حكومة المملكة المتحدة ما يكفي للاستعداد لـ "عقد من الاضطراب".

حتى إذا عادت المملكة المتحدة إلى ما يسمى بـ "النمو" ، فإنها ستعود ببساطة إلى الأزمة المتصاعدة الأبطأ التي سبقت COVID. لا جدوى من اتباع سياسات السوق الحرة المعولمة التي فشلت في منع الركود العلماني في المقام الأول. الخطوة الأولى الحاسمة هو بالأحرى الخروج من عقليتنا التي تركز على النمو وتشخيص المشكلات التي نواجهها بدقة.

من الواضح أننا يجب أن نتخذ إجراءات سريعة لذلك تقليل الهشاشة الاقتصادية, تحسين الضمان الاجتماعي وتحفيز المزيد الاستخدام الفعال للطاقة. على سبيل المثال ، سيكون تقليل الطلب على الوقود الأحفوري أمرًا حاسمًا من خلال برنامج رئيسي للاستثمار في التقنيات الخضراء ، فضلاً عن قروض بدون فوائد للمنازل العازلة والسياسات الجديدة التي لا تشجع على الإسراف في استخدام الموارد. باختصار ، هناك الكثير للقيام به - وسيتطلب الأمر مقالة أخرى لفحص هذا الأمر بشكل صحيح.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

كيفن ألبرتسونأستاذ الاقتصاد جامعة مانشستر متروبوليتان و ستيفينا دي سايلمدرس بقسم الدراسات الاجتماعية جامعة شيفيلد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

السحر وأمريكا 11 15
ما تخبرنا الأسطورة اليونانية عن السحر الحديث
by جويل كريستنسن
العيش على الشاطئ الشمالي في بوسطن في الخريف يجلب معه التقلبات الرائعة للأوراق و ...
جعل الشركات مسؤولة 11
كيف يمكن للشركات السير في الحديث عن التحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية
by سيمون بيك وسيباستيان مينا
تواجه الشركات ضغوطًا متزايدة لمواجهة التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية مثل ...
امرأة شابة أو فتاة تقف مقابل جدار الكتابة على الجدران
الصدفة تمرين للعقل
by برنارد بيتمان ، دكتوراه في الطب
الاهتمام الشديد بالصدفة يمارس العقل. التمرين يفيد العقل تمامًا كما هو ...
متلازمة موت الرضع المفاجئ 11 17
كيف تحمي طفلك من متلازمة موت الرضيع المفاجئ
by راشيل مون
في كل عام ، يموت حوالي 3,400 طفل أمريكي بشكل مفاجئ وغير متوقع أثناء النوم ، وفقًا لـ ...
امرأة تمسك رأسها وفمها مفتوح خوفًا
الخوف من النتائج: الأخطاء والفشل والنجاح والسخرية والمزيد
by إيفلين سي ريسك
نادراً ما يكون لدى الأشخاص الذين يتبعون هيكل ما تم القيام به من قبل أفكار جديدة ، كما فعلوا ...
عقرب على وجه امرأة وعيناها مغمضتان
التعلم من حيوان الظل الخاص بك
by دون بومان برانك
لم تلمسني القطة أبدًا ، لكن انطباعًا لا يمحى عن بقاياها. إنها ذاكرتي الأولى عن ...
كيفية تجاوز الخوف
كيفية تجاوز الخوف
by ستيفن واشنطن
بدون شك ، يتطلب الأمر شجاعة لمواجهة مخاوفنا ، والاستعداد للنظر تحت السطح و ...
العودة إلى الوطن لا تفشل 11
لماذا لا تعني العودة إلى المنزل أنك فشلت
by روزي الكسندر
فكرة أن مستقبل الشباب يخدم على أفضل وجه بالابتعاد عن المدن الصغيرة والريف ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

The Cost of Living Crisis Has Been Many Years In The Making

 roots of cost of living 9 4

Fears over the cost of living have reached new highs in the UK after power regulator Ofgem confirmed that the energy price cap will nearly double from October to cost the average household £3,549 a year. There has been much discussion about what the government needs to do to help people and businesses this winter, but the crisis is still being presented as a short-term problem that will ease in due course.

This is a misdiagnosis. We are actually living through a slow-motion crisis which has been decades in the making and is set to continue. Understanding what is really happening is a vital first step to finding a way out.

We are prone to blame today’s economic mess on short-term factors such as austerity, Brexit, COVID and the war in Ukraine. In fact, global economic headwinds have been gathering strength for years: according to a study reported in the New Scientist a few years ago, 1978 was the best year the world economy ever saw.

That study argued that growing inequality and environmental degradation have sent progress into reverse, but you can also see decline using traditional economic measures. Global growth in GDP per capita and productivity have been steadily weakening. In the UK, once you take inflation into account, GDP per capita growth has been declining since the 1970s and the average wage is little different than in 2008. In the US, inflation-adjusted median wages peaked in the 1970s.

Real global GDP per capita and growth rate 1960-2021roots of cost of living2 9 4
RGDPpc = real GDP per capita. Calculated using US inflation data. Author provided

Some argue that the underlying cause of this global problem is a long-term weakness in the US economy. According to influential US think tank the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), much of what has passed for growth has simply been a reallocation of resources from workers to shareholders.

Not only that, it has been achieved by accumulating debt. Financial debt has more than doubled as a percentage of GDP since the early 1970s, while there has also been a build-up of ecological debts by overusing natural resources.

Many leading experts on this so-called “secular stagnation” think it may be here to stay. It is also likely to be more keenly felt in Europe, which has less favourable demographics than the US and fewer natural resources. In 2023, for instance, the OECD is forecasting zero growth in the UK, although a recession (two quarters of negative growth) is probably more likely.

UK not OK

One reason why the UK cost-of-living crisis is so devastating is that many, if not most, people had already seen their standard of living decline before the Ukraine war and COVID. Back in the days of Theresa May (remember the good old days?), there was much talk of “just about managing” households or JAMs, defined as working households with below-average income.

This reflected the fact that well before 2020, many of life’s necessities were increasingly beyond the reach of the average household. Ironically, gas and food were the only necessities whose prices increased by less than median wages from 2009 to 2019. The amount of money that the average household had to spend on discretionary items was falling throughout the decade after adjusting for inflation.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The rising cost of necessities in the 2010s
roots of cost of living3 9 4 
ONS and author's calculations

This slow decline in UK households’ prosperity certainly accelerated sharply because of Ukraine, but ending the war will not end the crisis. For the last few years, energy producers have been investing less in fossil fuel production because they have not been confident about their rate of return in the face of the global push towards net zero carbon emissions.

Since this reduction may be permanent, many experts believe that high oil and gas prices are here to stay. With energy a vital ingredient of economic production, this will further increase the price of almost everything.

Alongside this energy crunch, high debt levels will discourage investment, meaning that the supply of available goods and services will fall. This scarcity is another reason why the upward pressure on prices will continue in the long term. Central banks can do little about it because raising interest rates to tackle inflation only works when an economy is overheating, not when the problem arises from the supply side.

What can be done

Aside from the current panic over the energy price cap, no leading politician is talking seriously about reversing the declining affordability of the essentials of life. Yet, many economists, including ourselves, have been predicting this situation for a long time. As Kevin argued in The Conversation in 2021, the UK government has not done enough to prepare for a “decade of disruption”.

Even if the UK returns to so-called “growth”, it will merely be reverting to the slower, mounting crisis that predated COVID. There is no point in pursuing the globalised free-market policies which failed to prevent secular stagnation in the first place. The crucial first step is rather to get out of our growth-fixated mindset and accurately diagnose the problems we face.

It is clear we must take rapid action to reduce economic precarity, improve social security and incentivise the more efficient use of energy. For example, reducing demand for fossil fuels will be crucial through a major programme of investing in green technologies, as well as interest-free loans for insulating houses and new policies discouraging the wasteful use of resources. In short, there is much to do – and it would take another article really to examine this properly.The Conversation

About The Authors

Kevin Albertson, Professor of Economics, Manchester Metropolitan University and Stevienna de Saille, Lecturer, Department of Sociological Studies, University of Sheffield

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

young woman with her face turned up towards the sun
The Importance of Being Outside
by Joyce Vissell
Our connection with nature, with the out of doors, is absolutely important to our physical and…
children and meditation 9 9
Meditation Has Potential To Treat Children Suffering From Traumas, Difficult Diagnoses Or Stress
by Hilary A. Marusak
Children actively meditating experience lower activity in parts of the brain involved in…
silhouette Of A Woman Standing In Front Of A Window
If Not Closure for People Who Are Grieving, Then What Else?
by Nancy Berns
From the breakup of a relationship to losing a loved one, people are often told to find “closure”…
Spontaneity and Gratitude as Creative Playgrounds
Spontaneity and Gratitude as Creative Playgrounds
by Evelyn C. Rysdyk
Great ideas can strike when you are fully involved in another task. When an idea strikes, stop what…
cat being petted
4 Ways To Tell If Your Cat Loves You
by Emily Blackwell
Even the most devoted cat owners wonder at some point whether their cat really loves them.
why you should speak up 9
Why You Should Speak Up In Conversations With Strangers
by Quinn Hirschi
In conversations with strangers, people tend to think they should speak less than half the time to…
baby smiling
Renaming and Reclaiming the Sacred
by Phyllida Anam-Áire
Walking in nature, eating delicious food, poetry, playing with our children, dancing and singing,…
a grandmother helps her grandchild light candles in a church in Lviv
Why News Consumers Experience Crisis Fatigue
by Rebecca Rozelle-Stone
Being attentive to realities like war is often painful, and people are not well-equipped to keep a…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.