كيف يؤثر سلوك بوريس جونسون السيئ على الثقة في الديمقراطية البريطانية

خطر بوريس جونسون على الديمقراطية 4 20

ظهرت دائرة فضائح لا نهاية لها على ما يبدو لتحديد فترة بوريس جونسون كرئيس للوزراء. بلغ هذا ذروته في الأشهر الأخيرة مع الكشف عن حفلات الإغلاق في داونينج ستريت وجونسون بغرامة من قبل الشرطة لحضوره.

أبعد من تشويه إرث جونسون الشخصي - أ استطلاع حديث للرأي وجد 54 ٪ من البريطانيين أنه يجب أن يستقيل بعد تغريمه - للفضائح عواقب على آفاق حزب المحافظين في انتخابات الحكومة المحلية المقبلة في مايو وانتخاب ويكفيلد. ومن الممكن أيضًا أن تستمر الآثار حتى الانتخابات العامة القادمة.

يُظهر بحثنا المستمر أنه عند سقوط الثقة برئيس الوزراء ، يؤدي ذلك إلى تراجع الثقة في المؤسسات السياسية الأخرى. بعبارة أخرى ، تتعفن السمكة من الرأس - السلوك السيئ من قبل الحكومة يقوض إيماننا بالديمقراطية بشكل عام.

في أوائل عام 2021 ، أجرينا دراسة استقصائية وطنية شملت 3,000 فرد في بريطانيا العظمى ، مع التركيز بشكل أساسي على ردود الفعل العامة على الوباء. وتضمنت أسئلة حول ثقة الجمهور في الحكومة والبرلمان والأحزاب السياسية. تم جمع البيانات قبل فترة طويلة من فضيحة Partygate ، لذا لا تتأثر الردود بصور مؤقتة في الرأي العام بسبب هذه الانكشافات.

تعطينا الردود نظرة ثاقبة للعلاقة بين الثقة في الحكومة وسلوك القادة السياسيين في وقت كان فيه المحافظون يتمتعون بشعبية كبيرة ومتقدمين على حزب العمال في نوايا التصويت بنسبة 7٪.

لقد طلبنا من المستجيبين الإشارة إلى مدى ثقتهم بالمؤسسات باستخدام مقياس من صفر إلى عشرة ، حيث يعني الصفر أنهم ليس لديهم ثقة على الإطلاق ، ويعني عشرة أنهم يثقون بها تمامًا. كان متوسط ​​درجة الثقة على هذا المقياس لحكومة المملكة المتحدة 4.8 ، حيث سجل حوالي 56٪ من المستطلعين ما بين صفر وخمسة ، وذكر ما يقرب من 13٪ أنهم لا يثقون بالحكومة على الإطلاق. على الجانب الآخر من المقياس ، قال ما يزيد قليلاً عن 3٪ إنهم يثقون به تمامًا بنتيجة عشرة. كان الاختيار الأكثر شيوعًا هو الحصول على درجة ثقة من خمسة.

خطر بوريس جونسون على الديمقراطية 2 4 20
كيف صنف المشاركون في الاستطلاع مستوى ثقتهم في الحكومة ، على مقياس من صفر (لا ثقة على الإطلاق) إلى عشرة (ثق بها تمامًا). مؤلف المنصوص, مؤلف المنصوص

هل جونسون قابل للتصديق؟

طرح سؤال منفصل في الاستطلاع على وجه التحديد حول مصداقية رئيس الوزراء: "ما مدى انطباق كلمة" جدير بالثقة "على بوريس جونسون؟" تفاوتت الإجابات من "غير جدير بالثقة على الإطلاق" إلى "جدير بالثقة للغاية" ، مما يجعل من الممكن مقارنة الإجابات على درجات الثقة المؤسسية مع المواقف تجاه مصداقية رئيس الوزراء.

يوضح الرسم البياني أدناه أن هناك ارتباطًا قويًا بين الثقة برئيس الوزراء والثقة في الحكومة والبرلمان والأحزاب السياسية. إنه يظهر أنه إذا اعتقد المستجيبون أن رئيس الوزراء ليس جديرًا بالثقة على الإطلاق ، فإنهم أعطوا درجات ثقة منخفضة جدًا للمؤسسات الثلاث أيضًا. في الطرف الآخر من المقياس ، إذا كانوا يعتقدون أن رئيس الوزراء جدير بالثقة للغاية ، فقد فكروا أيضًا في المؤسسات الثلاث.

خطر بوريس جونسون على الديمقراطية 3 4 20
 الأشخاص الذين قالوا إنهم وجدوا رئيس الوزراء بوريس جونسون غير جدير بالثقة على الإطلاق لديهم مستويات منخفضة من الثقة في الحكومة والبرلمان والأحزاب السياسية. مؤلف المنصوص, مؤلف المنصوص


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

يشير الاستطلاع إلى أن السلوك السيئ لرئيس وزرائنا يعمل على تقويض الثقة في المؤسسات الرئيسية التي تقوم عليها الديمقراطية. نظرًا لأن 27٪ من المستطلعين قالوا إن رئيس الوزراء "ليس جديرًا بالثقة على الإطلاق" و 11٪ فقط يعتقدون أنه "جدير بالثقة للغاية" ، يبدو أن التأثير العام يضعف إيمان الجمهور بالديمقراطية البريطانية. إذا كانت هذه هي الحالة ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون لها تأثير غير مباشر بواسطة ردع المشاركة في الأنشطة السياسية مثل التصويت في الانتخابات.

كررنا التمرين لزعيم حزب العمال كير ستارمر لنرى ما هي آثار زعيم تصنيفات المعارضة على الثقة في المؤسسات. في حالته ، اعتقد حوالي 15٪ أنه "غير جدير بالثقة على الإطلاق" ، بينما اعتقد 13٪ أنه "جدير بالثقة للغاية".

ومع ذلك ، على عكس رئيس الوزراء ، كانت تصنيفات ستارمر مرتبطة بشكل ضعيف جدًا بالثقة في المؤسسات. يشير هذا إلى أن رئيس الوزراء مهم بشكل خاص عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتأثير على ما يعتقده الناس في مؤسساتنا الديمقراطية.

هذه الآثار المترتبة على هذا سوف تتطلب دراسة استقصائية أخرى لاستكشافها. إذا استمر رئيس الوزراء في تحدي الرأي العام بالبقاء في منصبه بعد أن أصبح أول رئيس وزراء في التاريخ البريطاني يُدان بارتكاب جريمة ، فقد تستمر أسس الديمقراطية في بريطانيا في التآكل.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

بول وايتلي، أستاذ ، قسم الحكومة ، جامعة إسكس

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

شاب يتأمل خارج
كيف تتأمل ولماذا
by جوزيف سيلبي
يمنحنا التأمل وصولاً أكبر إلى الحقائق غير المحلية: رفع المشاعر وتنسيقها ، ...
أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية المنزلية 9 30
عندما تنطفئ شبكة الطاقة ، هل يمكن أن توفر الطاقة الشمسية لمنزلك؟
by ويل جورمان وآخرون
في العديد من المناطق المعرضة للكوارث وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي ، بدأ الناس في التساؤل عما إذا كان الاستثمار في الأسطح ...
أمراض المناطق المدارية 9
لماذا قد لا تكون أمراض المناطق المدارية في أوروبا نادرة لفترة أطول بكثير
by مايكل هيد
حمى الضنك ، عدوى فيروسية تنتشر عن طريق البعوض ، مرض شائع في أجزاء من آسيا واللاتين ...
جدة تقرأ لحفيديها
حكاية جدة الاسكتلندية عن الاعتدال الخريفي
by إلين إيفرت هوبمان
تحتوي هذه القصة على القليل من أمريكا فيها وقليلًا من أوركني فيها. أوركني في…
تغيرت شخصيات كوفيد 9
كيف غيّر الوباء شخصياتنا
by جولانتا بيرك
تشير الأدلة إلى أن الأحداث المهمة في حياتنا الشخصية والتي تسبب ضغوطًا شديدة أو صدمة ...
وضعية النوم الصحيحة 9
إليك الطرق الصحيحة للنوم
by كريستيان مورو وشارلوت فيلبس
على الرغم من أن النوم قد يكون ، كما قال أحد الباحثين ، "السلوك الرئيسي الوحيد في البحث عن ...
سلم يصل الى القمر
اكتشف مقاومتك لفرص الحياة
by بيث بيل
لم أفهم حقًا عبارة "لا تقل أبدًا" حتى بدأت أدرك أنني ...
لماذا تمارين ستينجث 9 30
لماذا يجب أن تكون تمارين القوة وكيفية القيام بذلك
by جاك مكنمارا
تتمثل إحدى ميزات تمارين القوة على تمارين الكارديو في أنها لا تتطلب نفس المستوى من الأكسجين ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

How Boris Johnson’s Bad Behaviour Affects Trust In British Democracy

boris johnson risk to democracy 4 20

A seemingly endless cycle of scandals has come to define Boris Johnson’s time as prime minister. This has peaked in recent months with the revelations about lockdown parties in Downing Street and Johnson being fined by police for his attendance.

Beyond tainting Johnson’s personal legacy – a recent poll found 54% of Britons thought he should resign after being fined – the scandals have consequences for Conservative party prospects in the upcoming local government elections in May and the Wakefield byelection. It is also possible that the effects will endure until the next general election.

Our ongoing research shows that when trust in the prime minister falls, it leads to declining trust in other political institutions. In other words, the fish rots from the head – bad behaviour by the government erodes our faith in democracy overall.

In early 2021, we conducted a nationwide survey of 3,000 individuals in Great Britain, focusing primarily on public reactions to the pandemic. It included questions about public trust in government, Parliament and political parties. The data was collected well before the partygate scandal, so the responses are not affected by temporary blips in public opinion caused by these revelations.

The responses give us insight into the relationship between trust in government and the behaviour of political leaders at a time when the Conservatives were relatively popular and ahead of Labour in voting intentions by 7%.

We asked respondents to indicate the extent to which they trust institutions using a scale of zero to ten, where zero meant that they had no trust at all, and ten meant that they trusted it completely. The average trust score on this scale for the UK government was 4.8, with some 56% of respondents scoring between zero and five, and nearly 13% stating that they did not trust the government at all. On the other side of the scale, just over 3% said that that they trusted it completely with a score of ten. The most common choice was a trust score of five.

boris johnson risk to democracy2 4 20
How survey participants rated their level of trust in the government, on a scale from zero (no trust at all) to ten (trust it completely). Author provided, Author provided

Is Johnson believable?

A separate question in the survey asked specifically about the trustworthiness of the prime minister: “How well does the word ‘trustworthy’ apply to Boris Johnson?” The responses varied from “not at all trustworthy” to “very trustworthy”, making it possible to compare answers to the institutional trust scores with attitudes to the trustworthiness of the prime minister.

The chart below shows that there is a strong association between trusting the prime minister and trusting the government, Parliament and political parties. It shows that if respondents thought that the prime minister is not at all trustworthy, they gave very low trust scores to the three institutions as well. At the other end of the scale, if they believed the prime minister to be very trustworthy, they also thought that about the three institutions.

boris johnson risk to democracy3 4 20
 People who said they found Prime Minister Boris Johnson to be not at all trustworthy also had low levels of trust in the government, Parliament and political parties. Author provided, Author provided


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The survey suggests that bad behaviour by our prime minister serves to undermine trust in the key institutions underpinning democracy. Since 27% of respondents said that the prime minister was “not at all trustworthy” and only 11% thought he was “very trustworthy”, the overall effect appears to be a weakening in the public’s faith in British democracy. If this is the case, it is likely to have a knock-on effect by deterring participation in political activities such as voting in elections.

We repeated the exercise for Labour leader Keir Starmer to see what effects the leader of the opposition’s ratings had on trust in institutions. In his case, some 15% thought that he was “not at all trustworthy”, while 13% thought he was “very trustworthy”.

However, unlike the prime minister, Starmer’s ratings were only very weakly related to trust in the institutions. This suggests that the prime minister is particularly important when it comes to influencing what people think of our democratic institutions.

This implications of this will require another survey to explore. If the prime minister keeps on defying public opinion by staying in office after becoming the first premier in British history to be found guilty of an offence, the foundations of democracy in Britain could continue to erode.The Conversation

About The Author

Paul Whiteley, Professor, Department of Government, University of Essex

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

digital money 9 15
How Digital Money Has Changed How We Live
by Daromir Rudnyckyj
In simple terms, digital money can be defined as a form of currency that uses computer networks to…
An Equinox Altar
Making An Equinox Altar and Other Fall Equinox Projects
by Ellen Evert Hopman
Fall Equinox is the time when the seas become rough as the winter gales set in. It is also the…
curous kids 9 17
5 Ways To Keep Kids Curious
by Perry Zurn
Kids are naturally curious. But various forces in the environment can dampen their curiosity over…
koala bear "stuck" in a tree
When It’s Smart To Be Slow: Lessons from a Koala Bear
by Danielle Clode
The koala was clinging to an old tree stag while stranded in the Murray River, on the border…
quiet quitting 9 16
Why You Should Talk To Your Boss Before 'Quiet Quitting'
by Cary Cooper
Quiet quitting is a catchy name, popularised on social media, for something we’ve all probably…
Like Genes, Your Gut Microbes Pass From One Generation To The Next
Like Genes, Your Gut Microbes Pass from One Generation to the Next
by Taichi A. Suzuki and Ruth Ley
When the first humans moved out of Africa, they carried their gut microbes with them. Turns out,…
Sedna and Our Emerging World
Sedna and Our Emerging World
by Sarah Varcas
Sedna is the Inuit sea goddess, also known as mother or mistress of the sea and goddess of the…
ocean forests 9 18
Ocean Forests Are Larger Than The Amazon and More Productive Than We Thought
by Albert Pessarrodona Silvestre, et al
Off the coastline of southern Africa lies the Great African Seaforest, and Australia boasts the…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.