ما هي النيوليبرالية؟

يروج ريغان للنيوليبرالية 8 7
 كان الرئيس رونالد ريغان ، الذي يظهر هنا وهو يتحدث في موسكو عام 1980 ، من أوائل من يتبنى النيوليبرالية في الولايات المتحدة ديرك هالستيد / الاتصال

النيوليبرالية مفهوم معقد يستخدمه كثير من الناس - ويفرطون في استخدامه - بطرق مختلفة ومتضاربة في كثير من الأحيان.

لذلك ما هو عليه حقا؟

عند مناقشة الليبرالية الجديدة مع طلابي في جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا ، أشرح أصول هذه الظاهرة في الفكر السياسي ، وادعاءاتها الطموحة بتعزيز الحرية وسجلها العالمي المليء بالمشاكل.

الأسواق تعمل ؛ الحكومات لا

تؤكد النيوليبرالية أن الأسواق تخصص الموارد النادرة ، وتعزز النمو الفعال وتأمين الحرية الفردية بشكل أفضل من الحكومات.

بحسب الصحفي التقدمي روبرت كوتنر، "الحجة الأساسية للنيوليبرالية يمكن وضعها على ملصق ممتص الصدمات. الأسواق تعمل الحكومات لا تفعل ذلك. "

من هذا المنظور ، تمثل الحكومة سخامًا بيروقراطيًا وفرضًا سياسيًا. الحكومة تبذير. إن حيوية الرأسمالية ، إلى جانب سياسات ديمقراطية محدودة ، هي مرهم الليبرالية الجديدة لكل ما يعانيه الجنس البشري.

يكمل كوتنر شعاره الملصق ، "هناك نتيجتان طبيعيتان: الأسواق تجسد حرية الإنسان. ومع الأسواق ، يحصل الناس أساسًا على ما يستحقونه ؛ لتغيير نتائج السوق هو إفساد الفقراء ومعاقبة المنتجين ".

تطور النيوليبرالية

صاغ الاقتصاديان النمساويان فريدريك فون هايك ولودفيج فون ميزس لقب "الليبرالية الجديدة" في عام 1938. وقد وضع كل منهما نسخته الخاصة من الفكرة في كتب عام 1944: "الطريق إلى العبودية"و"بيروقراطية، "على التوالي.

كانت النيوليبرالية تتعارض مع الاستراتيجيات الاقتصادية السائدة التي روجت لها جون ماينارد كينز, التي تشجع الحكومات على تحفيز الطلب الاقتصادي. كان عكس اشتراكية الحكومة الكبيرة ، سواء في مظهره السوفياتي أو نسخته الديمقراطية الاشتراكية الأوروبية. اعتنق أنصار النيوليبرالية المبادئ الليبرالية الكلاسيكية مثل دعه يعمل - سياسة عدم التدخل في الاسواق.

بحلول السبعينيات ، كانت السياسات الكينزية تتعثر. منظمة Hayek ، و جمعية مونت بيليرين، استقطبت الأثرياء الأوروبيين والأمريكيين المحسنين إلى صفوفها وتمويلها مؤسسات فكرية قوية مثل معهد أمريكان إنتربرايز ومعهد كاتو. صقلت هذه المجموعات رسالة الليبرالية الجديدة ، مما جعلها أيديولوجية قابلة للحياة وجذابة.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

بحلول الثمانينيات ، كانت الليبرالية الجديدة قد اكتسبت الصدارة مع الجمهوريون مثل الرئيس رونالد ريغان. كبار المسؤولين في الإدارات الرئاسية الديمقراطية جيمي كارتر و لاحقا، بيل كلينتون كما اعتنق النيوليبرالية.

كما دافع المحافظون عن الليبرالية الجديدة مثل رئيسة الوزراء البريطانية مارغريت تاتشر المؤسسات الدولية مثل البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي.

لكن تحرير الأسواق الحرة كان له بعض النتائج السياسية المؤسفة. روجت الأزمات المالية والعمالية في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وتفاقمت الفقر وعدم الاستقرار السياسي. تم الشعور بالأزمة من الجنوب العالمي إلى الشمال الغربي للولايات المتحدة ، وظهرت في الاحتجاجات المناهضة لمنظمة التجارة العالمية التي يشار إليها غالبًا باسم "معركة سياتل." للنقاد مثل فرانتز فانون و ديفيد هارفي، الليبرالية الجديدة أقرب إلى الإمبريالية الجديدة أو الاستعمار الجديد. وهم يؤكدون أن ذلك يحقق غايات قديمة - استغلال الطبقة العاملة العالمية - من خلال وسائل جديدة.

هذا النقد يغذي حجة أخرى: التي تأويها النيوليبرالية المشاعر المعادية للديمقراطية. ماذا لو فضل المواطنون التنظيم والرقابة الحكومية؟ يوضح التاريخ أن أنصار الليبرالية الجديدة سوف يظلون كذلك دفع ارثوذكسية السوق على الرأي العام.

من الأمثلة المتطرفة على ذلك دعم هايك لنظام بينوشيه القمعي في تشيلي. أطاح أوغستو بينوشيه بالحكومة الاشتراكية الشعبية لسلفادور أليندي عام 1973. وكان بينوشيه رحبت بها إدارة نيكسون بحذر ونظر إليها بشكل إيجابي من قبل كل من ريغان و تاتشر. من وجهة نظرهم ، فإن التزام بينوشيه بالنيوليبرالية تفوق على شخصيته المناهضة للديمقراطية.

يساعد هذا التاريخ في تفسير انتخاب غابرييل بوريك ، رئيس تشيلي البالغ من العمر 36 عامًا ، العام الماضي. بوريك ركضت على أجندة من أجل تغيير عميق بعد فترة من الاضطرابات حول سياسات عهد بينوشيه. كان شعار حملته هو "إذا كانت تشيلي مهد النيوليبرالية ، فستكون أيضًا قبرها".

أيديولوجية معيبة ومتناقضة

ابتداءً من الثمانينيات ولفترة طويلة بعد ذلك ، استحضرت النيوليبرالية للعديد من الأمريكيين الحرية الفردية وسيادة المستهلك وكفاءة الشركات. لقد دافع عنها العديد من الديمقراطيين والجمهوريين على حد سواء لتبرير سياساتهم وجذب الناخبين.

لكن ، في رأيي ، لم يكن ذلك سوى الواجهة الشعبية لأيديولوجية معيبة للغاية.

يحتاج المرء فقط إلى النظر في عواقب تحرير البنوك الأمريكية بعد ذلك الأزمة المالية العالمية لعام 2008 لنرى ماذا سيحدث عندما تسمح الحكومة للأسواق بإدارة نفسها. مفتاح أمريكي المؤشرات الاقتصادية مثل عدم المساواة الطبقية تحكي أيضًا القصة المروعة للأسواق غير الخاضعة للرقابة.

بالنسبة للعديد من الأمريكيين ، ومع ذلك ، فإن علم الأساطير of الحرية الفردية لا يزال قويا. غالبًا ما يتم وصف السياسيين الأمريكيين الذين يلمحون إلى تقليصه - عن طريق اقتراح المزيد من اللوائح أو زيادة النفقات الاجتماعية ، على سبيل المثال ، "الاشتراكي".

في النهاية ، كانت النيوليبرالية طفلة عصرها. إنها قصة كبيرة ولدت في حقبة الحرب الباردة ، تدعي أن لديها حلًا لأمراض المجتمع من خلال قوة الأسواق الرأسمالية وإلغاء القيود الحكومية.

لا يوجد نقص في المقالات التي توضح أنها لم تف بوعدها. يمكن القول ، لديها جعل الأمور أسوأ.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أنتوني كماسأستاذ مشارك في العلوم السياسية ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

اضغط هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

اضغط هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

اضغط هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

اضغط هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

انتشار المرض في المنزل 11
لماذا أصبحت منازلنا نقاط ساخنة لفيروس كورونا
by بيكي تانستول
أثناء المكوث في المنزل ، حمى الكثير منا من الإصابة بـ COVID في العمل أو في المدرسة أو في المتاجر أو ...
شرح تقاليد عيد الميلاد 11 30
كيف أصبح عيد الميلاد تقليدًا أمريكيًا للعطلات
by توماس آدم
في كل موسم ، يحتفل الزعماء الدينيون والمحافظون علنًا بعيد الميلاد ...
الحزن على الحيوانات الأليفة 11
كيفية المساعدة في الحزن على فقدان حيوان أليف محبوب
by ميليسا ستارلينج
لقد مرت ثلاثة أسابيع منذ أن فقدت أنا وشريكي كلبنا المحبوب كيفي تارو البالغ من العمر 14.5 عامًا. انها…
رجل وامرأة في قوارب الكاياك
أن تكون في تدفق مهمتك الروحية وهدف حياتك
by كاثرين هدسون
عندما تبعدنا خياراتنا عن إرساليتنا الروحية ، يعاني شيء ما بداخلنا. لا يوجد منطق ...
الزيت العطري والزهور
استخدام الزيوت الأساسية وتحسين روح الجسد والعقل
by هيذر دون غودفري ، PGCE ، البكالوريوس
للزيوت الأساسية العديد من الاستخدامات ، من الأثير ومستحضرات التجميل إلى النفسية والعاطفية و ...
كيفية التمويه إذا كان هناك شيء صحيح 11 30
3 أسئلة يجب طرحها على صحة شيء ما
by بوب بريتن
يمكن أن يكون تحديد الحقيقة خادعًا. كل رسالة تقرأها أو تراها أو تسمعها تأتي من مكان ما وكانت ...
امرأة ذات شعر رمادي ترتدي نظارة شمسية وردية غير تقليدية وتغني وهي تحمل ميكروفونًا
ارتداء فندق الريتز وتحسين الرفاهية
by جوليا بروك وكولين رينيهان
البرمجة الرقمية والتفاعلات الافتراضية ، التي تعتبر في البداية بمثابة تدابير مؤقتة خلال ...
كيف تُعلم الثقافة المشاعر التي تشعر بها تجاه الموسيقى
كيف تُعلم الثقافة المشاعر التي تشعر بها تجاه الموسيقى
by جورج أثاناسوبولوس وإيمري لادنما
لقد أجريت بحثًا في مواقع مثل بابوا غينيا الجديدة واليابان واليونان. الحقيقة هي…

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

What Is Neoliberalism?

reagan promotes neoliberalism 8 7
 President Ronald Reagan, shown here speaking in Moscow in 1980, was an early adopter of neoliberalism in the U.S. Dirck Halstead/Liaison

Neoliberalism is a complex concept that many people use – and overuse – in different and often conflicting ways.

So, what is it, really?

When discussing neoliberalism with my students at the University of Southern California, I explain the phenomenon’s origins in political thought, its ambitious claims of promoting liberty and its problematic global track record.

‘Markets work; governments don’t’

Neoliberalism contends that markets allocate scarce resources, promote efficient growth and secure individual liberty better than governments.

According to the progressive journalist Robert Kuttner, the “basic argument of neoliberalism can fit on a bumper sticker. Markets work; governments don’t.”

From such a perspective, government represents bureaucratic bloat and political imposition. Government is wasteful. The verve of capitalism, along with a limited democratic politics, is neoliberalism’s balm for all that ails humankind.

Completing his bumper-sticker mantra, Kuttner continues, “there are two corollaries: Markets embody human freedom. And with markets, people basically get what they deserve; to alter market outcomes is to spoil the poor and punish the productive.”

Evolution of neoliberalism

The moniker “neoliberalism” was coined by Austrian economists Friedrich von Hayek and Ludwig Von Mises in 1938. Each elaborated his own version of the notion in 1944 books: “The Road to Serfdom” and “Bureaucracy,” respectively.

Neoliberalism ran contrary to the prevailing economic strategies promoted by John Maynard Keynes, which encourage governments to stimulate economic demand. It was the opposite of big-government socialism, whether in its Soviet manifestation or its European Social Democratic version. Neoliberalism’s proponents embraced classical liberal principles such as laissez-faire – the policy of not intervening in markets.

By the 1970s, Keynesian policies were faltering. Hayek’s organization, the Mont Pelerin Society, had drawn wealthy European and American benefactors to its ranks and funded powerful think tanks such as the American Enterprise Institute and the Cato Institute. These groups refined neoliberalism’s message, making it a viable and attractive ideology.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

By the 1980s, neoliberalism had gained ascendancy with Republicans such as president Ronald Reagan. High-ranking officials in the Democratic presidential administrations of Jimmy Carter and, later, Bill Clinton also embraced neoliberalism.

Neoliberalism was also championed by conservatives like British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher and by international institutions such as the World Bank and International Monetary Fund.

But deregulating free markets had some unfortunate political consequences. It promoted financial and labor crises in the U.S. and U.K. and exacerbated poverty and political instability. The crisis was felt from the Global South to the U.S. Northwest, manifesting in the anti-World Trade Organization protests often referred to as the “The Battle of Seattle.” To critics like Frantz Fanon and David Harvey, neoliberalism is more akin to neoimperialism or neocolonialism. Basically, they contend, it achieves old ends – exploiting the global working class – through new means.

This critique fuels another argument: that neoliberalism harbors anti-democratic sentiments. What if citizens prefer government regulation and oversight? History demonstrates that neoliberal stalwarts would still push market orthodoxy over popular opinion.

An extreme example of this was Hayek’s support of the repressive Pinochet regime in Chile. Augusto Pinochet toppled the popular socialist government of Salvador Allende in 1973. Pinochet was cautiously welcomed by the Nixon administration and looked upon favorably by both Reagan and Thatcher. In their view, Pinochet’s commitment to neoliberalism trumped his anti-democratic character.

This history helps explain the election last year of Gabriel Boric, Chile’s 36-year-old president. Boric ran on an agenda for profound change following a period of turmoil over Pinochet-era policies. His campaign slogan was “If Chile was the cradle of neoliberalism, it will also be its grave.”

A flawed, contradictory ideology

Beginning in the 1980s and for a long time after, neoliberalism for many Americans conjured individual liberty, consumer sovereignty and corporate efficiency. Many Democrats and Republicans alike championed it to justify their policies and attract voters.

But, in my opinion, that was only the popular façade of a deeply flawed ideology.

One need only consider the consequences of U.S. bank deregulation after the global financial crisis of 2008 to see what happens when government allows markets to run themselves. Key American economic indicators like class inequality also tell the grim story of unchecked markets.

For many Americans, however, the mythology of individual liberty remains strong. U.S. politicians who hint of curtailing it – by, say, proposing more regulations or increased social expenditures – are often branded “socialist.”

Ultimately, neoliberalism was a child of its time. It’s a grand narrative born of the Cold War era, claiming to have the solution to society’s ills through the power of capitalist markets and government deregulation.

There is no shortage of articles showing that it has not delivered on its promise. Arguably, it has made matters worse.The Conversation

About The Author

Anthony Kammas, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Southern California

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

a young man meditation outside
How to Meditate and Why
by Joseph Selbie
Meditation gives us greater access to nonlocal realities: uplifting and harmonizing emotions,…
home solar systems 9 30
When The Power Grid Goes Out, Can Solar Power Your Home?
by Will Gorman et al
In many disaster- and outage-prone areas, people are starting to ask whether investing in rooftop…
tropical diseases 9 24
Why Tropical Diseases In Europe May Not Be Rare For Much Longer
by Michael Head
Dengue, a viral infection spread by mosquitoes, is a common disease in parts of Asia and Latin…
a grandmother reading to her two grandchildren
A Grandmother's Scottish Tale for the Fall Equinox
by Ellen Evert Hopman
This story has a little bit of America in it and a little bit of Orkney in it. Orkney is at the…
covid changed personalities 9 28
How The Pandemic Has Changed Our Personalities
by Jolanta Burke
Evidence shows that significant events in our personal lives which induce severe stress or trauma…
right sleep position 9 28
Here Are The Right Ways To Sleep
by Christian Moro and Charlotte Phelps
Even though sleep may be, as one researcher put it, “the only major behaviour in search of a…
ladder reaching up to the moon
Explore Your Resistance to Life’s Opportunities
by Beth Bell
I didn’t truly understand the phrase “never say never” until I started recognizing I was…
why stength training 9 30
Why You Should Be Strength Training and How To Do It
by Jack McNamara
One advantage of strength training over cardio is that it doesn’t require the same level of oxygen…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.