نفسك

لماذا قد تشعر "بلاه" بعد عيد الميلاد

بعد بلاه عيد الميلاد
ماريا كورنيفا / شاترستوك

عادة ما يكون موسم الأعياد مناسبة سعيدة ، لكن الكثير من الناس يشعرون "بالكآبة" بعد فترة وجيزة من الاحتفالات. ما الذي يجعل الناس يشعرون بهذه الطريقة في الكريسماس؟

يصف علماء النفس هذا الشعور بأنه "مزاج متدني" أو "ضعيف". الحالة المزاجية المنخفضة غالبًا ما تكون مؤقتة و لا يمكن أن يعزى لأي سبب محدد. ضعف هو حالة مزاجية متدنية تدوم طويلاً ، وفراغ وانعدام هدف يمكن أن تبقى مع الناس لأسابيع أو شهور. إذا لم تتم معالجته ، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى الاكتئاب.

أحد الأسباب التي تجعل الناس يشعرون بهذه الطريقة يتعلق بالأهداف. تحديد الأهداف والسعي لتحقيقها حاجة إنسانية أساسية. السعي للوصول إلى الهدف يبقي الناس متحمس ومتحمس وسعيد. أكثر أهمية، وجود أهداف ورؤية التقدم نحوها يمكن أن يعزز المشاعر الايجابية، كالإثارة أو الحماس أو الفخر ، وهذا هو السبب في أن التحضير لعيد الميلاد يمكن أن يكون مبهجًا للغاية.

تنظيم التجمعات ، تزيين منزلك ، التخطيط للعشاء - كل هذه الأنشطة تهدف إلى تحقيق الهدف المتمثل في الحصول على عيد ميلاد سعيد. مشكلة الأهداف هي أنها عندما تتحقق ، تترك الناس شعور مسطح.

أفضل طريقة لإصلاح ذلك هي من خلال إنشاء هدف آخر. قد يصبح الوصول إلى هدف مثير لشهر يناير أو العام الجديد قوة دافعة لتعزيز صحتك. لكن تحديد الأهداف لا يكفي للتخلص من الشعور السلبي. أنت بحاجة إلى الاعتناء بجسمك أيضًا.

جسم سليم ...

تأثير الجسد على العقل يمكن أن يتركك أيضًا تشعر بالذهول بعد عيد الميلاد. في المتوسط ​​، يكسب الناس رطل واحد (0.45 كجم) من الوزن خلال موسم الأعياد. لسوء الحظ ، يمكن أن يكون من الصعب أن تخسر هذا الوزن المكتسب حديثًا.

في الوقت نفسه ، يرتبط الإفراط في تناول الطعام بانخفاض الحالة المزاجية. لمساعدتك على التحكم في وزنك ومنع تراكم أرطال الوزن غير الضرورية ، تظهر الأبحاث ذلك تزن نفسك بانتظام or صيام متقطع يمكن أن تساعدك على تناول كميات أقل والحفاظ على وزنك خلال فترة الأعياد.

زيادة الوزن ليست المشكلة الوحيدة التي يواجهها الناس بعد عيد الميلاد. يغير الناس روتينهم بشكل كبير: يأكلون أكثر ، قم بشرب المزيد و ينام أكثر. يشربون في المتوسط ​​ضعف كمية الكحول يشربون عادة. تميل أنماط النوم أيضًا إلى التغيير ، حيث ينام الناس في المتوسط 5٪ أطول من المعتاد. كل هذه التغييرات يمكن أن تؤثر على مزاجك.

لتقليل الشعور بالذنب بعد عيد الميلاد ، من الضروري إنشاء روتين جديد أكثر صحة. على سبيل المثال ، تبين أن التحول إلى نظام غذائي نباتي يحسن مستويات الطاقة والقدرة على التفكير والعقل (الوظيفة الإدراكية). كما أنه يقلل من الالتهاب ويكون التأثير أكثر وضوحًا ودائمًا من حدوثه نظام غذائي تقليدي، مثل نظام غذائي منخفض السعرات الحرارية أو نظام غذائي بكميات أقل. من الممكن ايضا ويحسن المزاج، الأمر الذي سيقضي على الشعور بالكآبة.

تأثير عطلة نهاية الأسبوع

الشعور بالإحباط يمكن أن يكون كذلك المتصلة "تأثير عطلة نهاية الأسبوع" و "ظاهرة الاثنين الأزرق". يزداد مزاج الناس خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع بسبب زيادة الاستقلالية (التحكم في أنشطة الفرد) والتواصل مع الآخرين. لكن الحالة المزاجية تسوء بشكل ملحوظ بمجرد انتهاء عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. يحدث تأثير مماثل للبعض في نهاية عيد الميلاد ، خاصة أولئك الذين يحتاجون إلى العودة إلى العمل بعد فترة وجيزة. قد تؤدي أفكار انتهاء عيد الميلاد والعودة إلى الروتين القديم إلى إثارة الشعور بالسذاجة.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

يمكن أن تساعدك العديد من الأنشطة على التفكير في المستقبل بمزيد من التفاؤل والأمل ، بدلاً من الخوف أو القلق. أحد هذه الأنشطة هو "أفضل نفس ممكن"، حيث تتخيل نفسك في مستقبل يتحول فيه كل شيء كما تريده. ينتج عن هذا زيادة فورية في المشاعر الايجابية. أظهرت الدراسات أن الأشخاص الذين يفعلون ذلك لديهم زيارات أقل تواترا لطبيبهم بعد خمسة أشهر.

هنا تكييف "أفضل تمرين ذاتي ممكن" يمكنك المحاولة بعد عيد الميلاد. خذ قطعة من الورق واكتب كل شيء عن أفضل ما لديك لمدة عشر دقائق. تخيل أنك بصحة ممتازة. لقد كنت تعتني بجسمك وعقلك بشكل ممتاز. لقد عملت بجد لتحقيق جميع أهدافك المتعلقة بالصحة. اكتب الآن ما قمت به ، والعقبات التي تغلبت عليها ، وكيف فعلت ذلك ، والنتيجة.

بغض النظر عن أسباب الشعور بالكآبة ، ما يهم هو أن تعترف بالشعور باللامبالاة والمزاج السيء. عندها فقط يمكنك اختيار القيام بشيء حيال ذلك. قد يشمل ذلك زيادة النشاط البدني ، وممارسة الرياضة ، وتناول الأطعمة المغذية ، والتخطيط ، أو مجرد الجلوس معها ، مدركًا تمامًا أن هذا هو ما تشعر به ، ومن الجيد أن تشعر بهذه الطريقة - العديد من الآخرين أشعر بنفس الطريقة. بعد كل شيء ، الرفاهية هي رحلة وليست وجهة. غدا يوم آخر.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جولانتا بيرك ، محاضر أول ، RCSI جامعة الطب والعلوم الصحية

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


  

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا المضخات الحرارية 6 12
لماذا المضخات الحرارية والألواح الشمسية ضرورية للدفاع الوطني
by دانيال كوهان ، جامعة رايس
تعتبر الألواح الشمسية والمضخات الحرارية والهيدروجين بمثابة اللبنات الأساسية لاقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة. ولكن ل…
الإجهاد الاجتماعي والشيخوخة 6
كيف يمكن للضغوط الاجتماعية تسريع شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي
by إريك كلوباك ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا
مع تقدم الناس في السن ، تبدأ أجهزتهم المناعية بشكل طبيعي في التدهور. شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي ، ...
الأطعمة الصحية عند طهيها 6
9 خضروات صحية عند طهيها
by لورا براون ، جامعة تيسايد
ليست كل الأطعمة مغذية أكثر عند تناولها نيئة. في الواقع ، بعض الخضروات أكثر ...
الصوم المتقطع 6 17
هل الصيام المتقطع مفيد فعلاً لخسارة الوزن؟
by ديفيد كلايتون ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترنت
إذا كنت ممن فكرت في فقدان الوزن أو أرادت أن تصبح أكثر صحة في الماضي ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
التأثير على الأحلام 6
كيف يؤثر عرقك وطبقتك وجنسك على أحلامك في المستقبل
by كارين أ. سيرولو ، جامعة روتجرز وجانيت روان ، جامعة ولاية مونتكلير
في فيلم "Pinocchio" من إنتاج ديزني ، غنى Jiminy Cricket الشهير ، "عندما تتمنى نجمة ، لا تقدم ...
فقدان ذاكرة الرضع 6 9
لماذا لا يمكنك تذكر ولادتك أو تعلم المشي أو قول كلماتك الأولى
by فانيسا لوبو ، جامعة روتجرز
على الرغم من حقيقة أن الناس لا يستطيعون التذكر كثيرًا قبل سن الثانية أو الثالثة ، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن ...
التواصل مع الحيوانات 6
كيف تتواصل مع الحيوانات
by مارتا وليامز
تحاول الحيوانات دائمًا الوصول إلينا. إنهم يرسلون إلينا باستمرار رسائل بديهية ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Yourself

Why You Might Feel "Blah" After Christmas

after christmas blahs
Mariia Korneeva/Shutterstock

The holiday season is usually a joyous occasion, but many people feel “blah” soon after the celebrations. What is it about Christmas that makes people feel this way?

Psychologists describe the blah feeling as “low mood” or “languishing”. Low mood is often temporary and can’t be attributed to any specific cause. Languishing is a longer-lasting state of low mood, emptiness and aimlessness that can stay with people for weeks or months. If not addressed, it can lead to depression.

One reason people feel this way relates to goals. Setting goals and striving towards them is a basic human need. Aiming to reach a goal keeps people motivated, excited and happy. More importantly, having goals and seeing progress towards them can enhance positive emotions, such as excitement, enthusiasm or pride, which is why preparing for Christmas can be so exhilarating.

Organising gatherings, decorating your home, planning dinner – all these activities aim towards fulfilling the goal of having a good Christmas. The problem with goals is that when they are achieved, they leave people feeling flat.

The best way to fix this is by creating another goal. Coming up with an exciting goal for January or the new year may become a motivating force to boost your wellbeing. But setting goals is not enough to shake off the negative feeling. You need to look after your body too.

A healthy body …

The effect the body has on the mind can also leave you feeling blah after Christmas. On average, people gain one pound (0.45kg) of weight over the festive season. Unfortunately, it can be difficult to lose this newly gained weight.

At the same time, overeating is associated with a lower mood. To help you take control of your weight and prevent unnecessary pounds piling on, research shows that weighing yourself regularly or fasting intermittently can help you eat less and maintain your weight over the festive period.

Weight gain is not the only issue people experience after Christmas. People change their routines significantly: they eat more, drink more and sleep more. They drink on average double the amount of alcohol they usually drink. Also, sleeping patterns tend to change, with people sleeping on average 5% longer than usual. All of these changes can affect your mood.

To feel less blah after Christmas, it is essential to establish a new, healthier routine. For example, switching to a plant-based diet has been shown to improve energy levels and the ability to think and reason (cognitive function). It also reduces inflammation and the effect is more prominent and lasting than going on a conventional diet, such as a low-calorie or smaller-portion diet. It can also improve mood, which will banish the blah feeling.

Weekend effect

Feeling down can also be related to the “weekend effect” and the “blue Monday phenomenon”. People’s mood increases during the weekend due to greater autonomy (controlling one’s activities) and connecting with others. But mood significantly worsens as soon as the weekend is over. A similar effect occurs for some at the end of Christmas, especially those who need to be back at work shortly after. The thoughts of Christmas being over and getting back to the old routine may instigate the feeling of blah.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Many activities can help you think about the future with more optimism and hopefulness, instead of dread or worry. One such activity is the “best possible self” exercise, where you imagine yourself in a future in which everything has turned out as you wanted it. This results in an immediate increase of positive emotions. Studies have shown that people who do this have less-frequent visits to their doctor five months later.

Here is an adapted “best possible self” exercise you can try after Christmas. Take a piece of paper and for ten minutes write down everything about your best possible self. Imagine that you are in excellent health. You have been taking excellent care of your body and mind. You have worked hard to accomplish all your health-related goals. Now write what you have done, what obstacles you have overcome, how you did it, and your result.

Regardless of the reasons for feeling blah, what matters is you acknowledge the feeling of aimlessness and low mood. Only then can you choose to do something about it. This may include increasing physical activity, exercising, eating nutritious food, planning, or simply sitting with it, fully aware that it is what you feel, and it is OK to feel this way – many others feel the same way. After all, wellbeing is a journey, not a destination. Tomorrow is another day.The Conversation

About The Author

Jolanta Burke, Senior Lecturer, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


  

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
coffee good or bad 7 31
Mixed Messages: Is Coffee Good Or Bad For Us?
by Thomas Merritt
Coffee is good for you. Or it’s not. Maybe it is, then it isn’t, then it is again. If you drink…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.