الاتصالات

أنت لا تحتاج للدفاع عن مشاعرك أو تبريرها

أنت لا تحتاج للدفاع عن مشاعرك أو تبريرها

أعطى أحدهم ذات مرة باري وأنا على زر أصفر صغير لارتداء تقول، "أنت لا تحتاج للدفاع أو تبرير مشاعرك." أنا أحب الرسالة على هذا الزر، وعلى الرغم من أنني لا لبس فيه، وأظل في مكتبي لذلك فإن أول شيء أراه عندما أفتح الدرج. وقد ساعدت هذه الرسالة قليلا لي مرارا وتكرارا، وأود أن أضيف إلى الرسالة التي أيضا أبدا أن تخجل من مشاعرك.

أشعر حقا مشاعري. في بعض الأحيان يجب أن أعترف أنني أتمنى أن أتمكن من إيقافها ، لكنني لا أستطيع ذلك. يخبرني باري بأنني مباركة جدا لأشعر بعمق وأتمنى أن يشعر بمشاعره أكثر. في بعض الأحيان ، يتصرف كل شخص في غرفة كما لو كان كل شيء مثاليًا ، ومع ذلك يمكنني أن أشعر أن شيئًا ما قد تم إيقافه أو عدم تناغمه. عندما أقول هذه المشاعر غير الشعبية ، يمكن أن أتعرض للنقد. لكن أن تظل صامتًا مؤلمًا. وعندما أحاول الدفاع عن مشاعري أو تبريرها ، فإنها تزيد الأمور سوءًا ، وأشعر بالأسى.

يقف من أجل مشاعرك

على مر السنين تعلمت أنه من الأفضل التحدث عن مشاعري وفي بعض الحالات الوقوف من أجلهم. لديّ صديق اعتاد أن يؤذيني بشدة بالأشياء التي كانت ستقولها. بدلاً من الوقوف على مشاعري ، سأكون مستسلماً وأحاول التظاهر بأنني لم أتأذى حقًا. هذا بالطبع جعل كل شيء أسوأ.

وذات يوم قالت شيئًا مؤلمًا جدًا لي وقلت لها إنني أحتاج إلى أن أكون بمفردي. كنت أدرك في وقتي فقط أنني احتجت إلى الاعتذار لها ، ومع ذلك ظللت أفكر في نفسي بأنها هي التي قالت مثل هذه الكلمات المؤذية. أخيرا أدركت أنني بحاجة إلى الاعتذار لها لعدم الوقوف من أجل مشاعري. مشاعري مهمة وتجاهلها هو أن أتخلى عن نفسي ، وهذا لا يساعد في أي من علاقاتي.

كما أنني أعطيت صديقي التزامي بالوقوف من أجل مشاعري. وأعربت عن تقديرها لهذا الالتزام لأنها لم تكن تنوي أن تؤذيني. لقد كان لدينا علاقة كبيرة جدا منذ ذلك الحين.

تكريم مشاعرك ومشاعر شريكك

نادرًا جدًا في عملنا ، سيوقع شخص ما على ورشة عمل ، ولن يشعر أنه صواب لباري أو أنا. ذات مرة كان باري يشعر أن امرأة معينة لن تكون مناسبة لورشة عمل كنا نقوم بها في منزلنا. كان حضورنا منخفضًا للغاية وتجاهلت اعتراضات باري وأصرت على انضمامها وشريكها إلى ورشة العمل. لم يقف باري من أجل مشاعره.

لقد كان كابوسًا كان لها في ورشة العمل ، وفي النهاية كان علينا أن نطلب منها المغادرة ، ولكن ليس حتى كانت تغضب كل شخص في الغرفة بما في ذلك شريكها. حتى أنها أزعجت أطفالنا الذين كانوا بالكاد حولهم.

تحدثنا لفترة طويلة بعد تلك التجربة وأدركنا أننا بحاجة إلى تكريم إذا شعر أحدنا أن شخصا ما غير مناسب لحلقة عمل. حسناً ، لقد استمر ذلك لمدة عشر سنوات ، ومؤخرا حدث ذلك مرة أخرى. هذه المرة كان لي أن شعر بعض الزوجين لم يكن صحيحا لتراجع زوجنا. أكد لي باري أنه تحدث إلى كل منهما وشعر أنه سيكون على ما يرام. ما زلت لا أشعر بالرضا حيال ذلك.

أنا لم ندافع عن مشاعري وكان وجودهم في ورشة العمل كارثة. مرة أخرى تحدثنا وعاد لدينا اتفاق الأصلي تكريم مشاعر الطرف الآخر حتى لو اختلفنا.

الشيء الرائع في تكريم مشاعرك هو أن قدرتك على الشعور بالحب والفرح تعمقت أيضاً. يتم بذل الأوقات الجيدة على نحو أفضل من خلال تكريم كل مشاعرك.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

أحبين نفسك حتى عندما يفشل كل شيء آخر

لكن ماذا تفعل بالمشاعر الحزينة وغير الآمنة والمرهقة والمؤلمة؟ أجد أنه إذا طلبت من شخص ما أن يحملني ، يمكن أن يحدث فرق كبير في معرفة أنني محبوب من قبل هذا الشخص. عندما لا يوجد أحد يحيط بي ، سوف ألقي بذراعي حول أحد المستردون الذهبيون وأتحدث معهم. ينظرون إلي بعيون جميلة من الرحمة ويبدو أنهم يشاركونني التجربة التي تساعدني كثيراً. لكن في بعض الأحيان أنا وحيد دون حتى كلب حولها. ماذا تفعل بعد ذلك؟ خلال هذه الأوقات ، أقوم بممارسة خاصة أود مشاركتها.

لقد تعلمت أنني يمكن أن أكون أمًا لنفسي. خلال أوقات الحزن المؤلم ، أستطيع أن أدعو هذه الأم المحبة في داخلي أن آتي وأرتاح لنفسي. أضع ذراعي حول نفسي والأم في "محادثات" مع المشاعر المؤلمة. أقول كلمات مطمئنة وأذكر نفسي أن مشاعري هي هدية ليس فقط لنفسي بل للآخرين أيضًا.

مرة كنت في العمل الساحل الشرقي عندما كان أولادي الصغار جدا في المنزل مع باري على الساحل الغربي. ليلة واحدة كما كنت ذاهبا إلى النوم شعرت التغلب على الحنين إلى الوطن ويتوق من كل قلبي في العودة إلى ديارهم. كنت وحدي تماما. أضع يدي على قلبي وبدأ يقول كلمات من الراحة والحب لنفسي. في الوقت شعرت بتحسن وسقطت في النوم السلمية جدا، الاستيقاظ إلى شعور الفرح.

وقد قال لي الرجال فإنه من المفيد أن ندعو الأب داخلها، سواء كان لديهم أطفال أو لا. علينا جميعا أن أبا محبا أو الأم في داخلنا. بعض الناس لديهم الكثير من الذكريات المؤلمة والديهم بأنهم لا يمكن أن صورة الأب المحب أو الأم تهدئتهم. لهؤلاء الناس أنه من الأفضل أن ندعو المعلم المحب أو صديق أو ربما ملاكا. مهما كانت الصورة التي ندعو، تذكر أنك يطلب من الطاقة أعلى ليأتي وراحة لك.

"أنت لا تحتاج أبداً للدفاع عن مشاعرك أو تبريرها." مشاعرنا هي هدية لنا لمساعدتنا على فهم أنفسنا والعالم من حولنا. يمكن أن تكون مشاعرنا معلمة عظيمة تؤدي بشكل كامل إلى قلب الحب.

* ترجمات من InnerSelf

كتاب جويس وباري فيسيل:

كتاب من تأليف الكتاب جويس وباري Vissell: الحكمة القلبالقلب الحكمة: دليل عملي للزراعة من خلال الحب
جويس Vissell وVissell باري.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هؤلاء المؤلفين

عن المؤلفين)

صورة: جويس وباري فيسيلجويس وباري فيسيل، زوجان ممرضان / معالجان وطبيبان نفسيان منذ عام 1964 ، وهما مستشاران ، بالقرب من سانتا كروز كاليفورنيا ، شغوفين بالعلاقة الواعية والنمو الروحي الشخصي. هم مؤلفو 9 كتب وألبوم صوتي مجاني جديد من الأغاني والأناشيد المقدسة. اتصل بالرقم 831-684-2130 للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات حول جلسات الاستشارة عبر الهاتف أو عبر الإنترنت أو شخصيًا ، أو كتبهم أو تسجيلاتهم أو جدولهم للمحادثات وورش العمل.

زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في SharedHeart.org لفراغهم شهريا heartletter الإلكترونية، والجدول الزمني لها المحدثة، والمقالات الماضي ملهمة حول العديد من المواضيع حول علاقة والمعيشية من القلب.

الاستماع إلى حديث اذاعي مع جويس وباري Vissell على "العلاقة كما مسار اليقظة".
 

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

الذهن والرقص الصحة العقلية 4
كيف يمكن لليقظ والرقص تحسين الصحة العقلية
by أدريانا مندريك ، جامعة الأسقف
لعقود من الزمان ، كانت القشرة الحسية الجسدية تعتبر مسؤولة فقط عن معالجة الحواس ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
رجل. المرأة والطفل على الشاطئ
هل هذا هو اليوم؟ تحول يوم الأب
by ويلكنسون
إنه عيد الأب. ما المعنى الرمزي؟ هل يمكن أن يحدث شيء يغير حياتك اليوم في ...
كيف تعمل المسكنات 4
كيف تقتل مسكنات الألم الألم؟
by ريبيكا سيل وبنديكت ألتر ، جامعة بيتسبرغ
بدون القدرة على الشعور بالألم ، تكون الحياة أكثر خطورة. لتجنب الإصابة ، يخبرنا الألم باستخدام ...
ماذا عن الجبن النباتي 4 27
ما يجب أن تعرفه عن الجبن النباتي
by ريتشارد هوفمان ، جامعة هيرتفوردشاير
لحسن الحظ ، بفضل الشعبية المتزايدة للنباتيين ، بدأ مصنعو المواد الغذائية ...
تأثيرات هيلاث لـ bpa 6
ما هي عقود البحث التي توثق الآثار الصحية لـ BPA
by تريسي وودروف ، جامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان فرانسيسكو
سواء سمعت عن مادة بيسفينول أ الكيميائية ، والمعروفة باسم BPA أم لا ، فإن الدراسات تظهر أن ...
كيف تحفظ m0ney على الطعام 6 29
كيفية التوفير في فاتورة طعامك والاستمرار في تناول وجبات لذيذة ومغذية
by كلير كولينز وميجان واتنال ، جامعة نيوكاسل
ارتفعت أسعار البقالة إلى الأعلى لعدة أسباب ، بما في ذلك ارتفاع تكاليف ...
استدامة المحيط 4
تتوقف صحة المحيط على الاقتصاد وفكرة الأسماك اللامتناهية
by رشيد سميلة ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية
شارك حكماء السكان الأصليين مؤخرًا استياءهم من الانخفاض غير المسبوق في سمك السلمون ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Communication

You Never Need to Defend or Justify Your Feelings

You Never Need to Defend or Justify Your Feelings

Someone once gave Barry and I a small yellow button to wear that says, “You never need to defend or justify your feelings.” I love the message on this button and, though I don’t wear it, I keep it in my desk so it is the first thing I see when I open the drawer. This little message has helped me over and over again, and I would add to the message that you also never have to be ashamed of your feelings.

I really feel my feelings. Sometimes I have to admit that I wish I could turn them off, but I can’t. Barry tells me I am very blessed to feel so deeply and he wishes he could feel his feelings more often. Sometimes everyone in a room will be acting as if everything is just perfect, and yet I can feel that something is off or inharmonious. When I state these unpopular feelings, I can be met with criticism. But to remain silent is painful. And when I try to defend or justify my feelings, it just makes things worse, and I feel worse.

Standing Up For Your Feelings

Over the years I have learned it is better to speak my feelings and in some cases stand up for them. I have a friend who used to hurt me very deeply by the things she would say. Rather than stand up for my feelings, I would be submissive and try to pretend I was not really hurt. This of course made it all the worse.

One day she said something very hurtful to me and I told her I needed to be alone. In my time alone I knew that I needed to apologize to her and yet I kept thinking to myself that she was the one who had said such hurtful words. Finally I realized that I needed to apologize to her for not standing up for my feelings. My feelings are important and to ignore them is to abandon myself, which doesn’t help any of my relationships.

I further gave my friend my commitment to stand up for my feelings. She appreciated this commitment since she had never intended to hurt me. We have had a very great relationship since then.

Honoring Your Feelings and Your Partner's Feelings

Very rarely in our work, a person will sign up for a workshop and it will not feel right for Barry or me. One time it was Barry that felt a certain woman would not be appropriate for a workshop we were doing in our home. Our attendance was very low and I overlooked Barry’s objections and insisted that she and her partner join the workshop. Barry did not stand up for his feelings.

It was a nightmare having her in the workshop and eventually we had to ask her to leave, but not until she had upset every single person in the room including her partner. She even upset our children who were hardly even around.

We talked for a long while after that experience and realized we needed to honor if one of us felt someone wasn’t appropriate for a workshop. Well that lasted for ten years and just recently it happened again. This time it was me that felt a certain couple was not right for our couple’s retreat. Barry assured me that he had talked to both of them and felt they would be fine. I still did not feel good about it.

I did not stand up for my feelings and their presence in the workshop was a disaster. Again we talked and came back to our original agreement of honoring the other’s feelings even if we disagreed.

The wonderful thing about honoring your feelings is that your capacity to feel love and joy are also deepened. The good times are made all the better by honoring all your feelings.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Loving Yourself Even When All Else Fails

But what do you do with the sad, insecure, confused and painful feelings? I find that if I ask someone to hold me, it can make a big difference in knowing that I am loved by this person. When no one is around to hold me, I will throw my arms around one of our golden retrievers and talk to them. They look at me with beautiful eyes of compassion and seem to share the experience with me, which helps a lot. But sometimes I am all alone without even a dog around. What to do then? During these times I do a special practice that I would like to share.

I have learned that I can be a mother to myself. During times of painful sadness, I can call upon this loving mother within me to come and comfort myself. I put my arms around myself and the mother in me “talks” to the painful feelings. I say comforting words and remind myself that my feelings are a gift not just to myself but to others as well.

Once I was on the east coast working while my very young children were home with Barry on the west coast. One night as I was going to sleep I felt overcome with homesickness and yearned with all my heart to go home. I was completely alone. I put my hands on my heart and began saying words of comfort and love to myself. In time I felt better and fell into a very peaceful sleep, awaking to a feeling of joy.

Men have told me it is helpful to call upon the father within them, whether they have had children or not. We all have a loving father or mother within us. Some people have so many painful memories of their parents that they cannot picture a loving father or mother comforting them. For these people it is better to call upon a loving teacher or friend or perhaps an angel. Whatever image you call upon, remember that you are calling upon a higher energy to come and comfort you.

“You never need to defend or justify your feelings.” Our feelings are a gift to us to help us more understand ourselves and the world around us. Our feelings can be a great teacher leading ever more fully into our heart of love.

* Subtitles by InnerSelf

Book by Joyce & Barry Vissell:

Book written by the authors Joyce and Barry Vissell: The Heart's WisdomThe Heart's Wisdom: A Practical Guide to Growing Through Love
by Joyce Vissell and Barry Vissell.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

More books by these authors

About the Author(s)

photo of: Joyce & Barry VissellJoyce & Barry Vissell, a nurse/therapist and psychiatrist couple since 1964, are counselors, near Santa Cruz CA, who are passionate about conscious relationship and personal-spiritual growth. They are the authors of 9 books and a new free audio album of sacred songs and chants. Call 831-684-2130 for further information on counseling sessions by phone, on-line, or in person, their books, recordings or their schedule of talks and workshops.

Visit their website at SharedHeart.org for their free monthly e-heartletter, their updated schedule, and inspiring past articles on many topics about relationship and living from the heart.

Listen to a radio interview with Joyce and Barry Vissell on "Relationship as Conscious Path".
 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

a young man meditation outside
How to Meditate and Why
by Joseph Selbie
Meditation gives us greater access to nonlocal realities: uplifting and harmonizing emotions,…
home solar systems 9 30
When The Power Grid Goes Out, Can Solar Power Your Home?
by Will Gorman et al
In many disaster- and outage-prone areas, people are starting to ask whether investing in rooftop…
tropical diseases 9 24
Why Tropical Diseases In Europe May Not Be Rare For Much Longer
by Michael Head
Dengue, a viral infection spread by mosquitoes, is a common disease in parts of Asia and Latin…
a grandmother reading to her two grandchildren
A Grandmother's Scottish Tale for the Fall Equinox
by Ellen Evert Hopman
This story has a little bit of America in it and a little bit of Orkney in it. Orkney is at the…
covid changed personalities 9 28
How The Pandemic Has Changed Our Personalities
by Jolanta Burke
Evidence shows that significant events in our personal lives which induce severe stress or trauma…
right sleep position 9 28
Here Are The Right Ways To Sleep
by Christian Moro and Charlotte Phelps
Even though sleep may be, as one researcher put it, “the only major behaviour in search of a…
my body my choice 9 20
How Did The Patriarchy Start and Will Evolution Get Rid Of It?
by Ruth Mace
The patriarchy, having been somewhat in retreat in parts of the world, is back in our faces. In…
ladder reaching up to the moon
Explore Your Resistance to Life’s Opportunities
by Beth Bell
I didn’t truly understand the phrase “never say never” until I started recognizing I was…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.