Gagnez la bataille dans votre tête: la perspective compte

Gagnez la bataille dans votre tête: la perspective compte
Image battre bachmann 


Rapporté par l'auteur.

Version vidéo

Au début de ma huitième année, mon père m'a suggéré d'aller dans un grand lycée réservé aux garçons de l'autre côté de la ville d'où nous vivions. Même si je n'étais définitivement pas excité au début - surtout à l'idée de quitter mes amis et de ne pas avoir de filles dans mon école - il m'a laissé le choix final. En fin de compte, j'ai décidé d'y aller, en grande partie parce que l'école réservée aux garçons avait un programme de basket-ball très réussi et que le basket-ball était mon sport préféré.

Dans une tournure ironique, j'ai été exclu de l'équipe de basket-ball cette première année. J'ai été extrêmement déçu et perdu. J'ai sérieusement envisagé de retourner dans mon ancienne école où je savais déjà que je m'intégrais et que je pourrais facilement faire partie de l'équipe. Cela aurait été la voie simple et facile. Mais je me suis aussi demandé si je pouvais creuser profondément et surmonter cet obstacle.

Allais-je croire que je n'étais pas assez bon pour concourir dans ma nouvelle école? Ou pourrais-je trouver un moyen de creuser plus profondément, de travailler dur et de faire partie de l'équipe la saison prochaine?

Auto-discours positif et négatif

Nous éprouvons tous régulièrement un discours intérieur positif et négatif comme celui-ci. Que vous le réalisiez ou non, vous avez probablement les mêmes conversations internes chaque jour. Ces deux voix opposées se disputent notre état d'esprit chaque jour et chaque minute.

Par exemple, lorsque quelque chose de mauvais ou de décevant se produit, nous pouvons facilement être influencés par notre discours intérieur négatif. Nous connaissons tous bien cette voix. C'est celui qui m'a dit que je n'étais pas assez bon pour faire de l'équipe de basket-ball ma première année. Cette voix négative m'a dit des choses comme: Vous êtes un échec. La vie n'est pas juste. S'étirer est trop risqué.


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

D'un autre côté, il y a une voix positive qui peut rejoindre notre dialogue interne. Cela nous encourage à nous concentrer sur les bons aspects de chaque situation, en attribuant les aspects négatifs aux opportunités d'apprentissage. Lorsque nous décidons d'écouter cette voix, nous refusons de laisser nos mauvaises expériences nous définir et nous abattre, et nous sommes encouragés à nous demander ce que nous pouvons apprendre de la situation. Se concentrer sur le positif peut nous aider à grandir pour devenir encore meilleurs malgré nos défis.

Quand j'ai écouté cette voix positive pendant ma première année de lycée, j'ai imaginé ne pas abandonner, travailler dur tout l'été pour améliorer mon jeu de basket et finalement faire de l'équipe ma deuxième année.

Les conversations internes sont essentielles au succès ou à l'échec

J'ai appris que ces conversations internes sont essentielles au succès ou à l'échec de tout ce que je fais, grand et petit, de mes entreprises commerciales à mes activités quotidiennes. Le dialogue interne que j'ai avec moi-même - et qu'il soit largement positif ou négatif - a joué un rôle central dans ma capacité (ou mon incapacité) à surmonter les difficultés et à réussir dans la vie et le travail.

La raison est simple: quand je laisse le discours intérieur négatif gagner plus souvent que le discours intérieur positif, je commence à laisser mes mauvaises expériences définir mon avenir. Je peux développer une tendance à avoir peur de prendre des risques dans les grandes et les petites décisions, si je ne fais pas attention. Quand je laisse les expériences négatives que j'ai eues me définir et me motiver, je perds confiance en moi et, plus important encore, je perds espoir.

D'un autre côté, le monde regorge d'exemples d'autres personnes qui ont traversé d'énormes épreuves et ont en quelque sorte maintenu suffisamment de confiance en elles-mêmes pour finalement connaître un succès incroyable.

Pourquoi certaines personnes rebondissent-elles et réussissent-elles tandis que d'autres hésitent à travailler dur pour réaliser leurs rêves et leurs objectifs? La différence est la suivante: ceux qui réussissent ont travaillé pour permettre au discours intérieur positif de triompher du négatif.

Ils ont gagné la «bataille dans leur tête» en ne permettant pas à leurs pensées négatives (qui sont toujours présentes) de noyer le positif. Ils ont refusé de laisser les mauvaises expériences les définir ou les conduire. Au lieu de cela, ils ont transformé ces expériences en opportunités d'apprentissage.

C'est exactement ce que j'ai finalement choisi de faire quand il s'agissait de jouer au basket pendant ma deuxième année. J'ai décidé de croire que tout était possible, puis j'ai mis de longues heures tout l'été pour devenir un meilleur joueur. Je savais certainement qu'il y avait une chance que j'échoue à nouveau, mais j'ai quand même décidé d'essayer. J'ai décidé de croire que je pouvais devenir assez bon.

Et bien sûr, ma deuxième année est arrivée, et la confiance en moi et le dévouement supplémentaire ont payé et j'ai fait l'équipe. Je n'ai pas beaucoup joué, mais j'ai continué à travailler dur et, en tant que junior, j'ai fait partie de l'équipe universitaire. Ensuite, dans ma dernière année, j'ai été élu capitaine par mes coéquipiers.

Ce fut l'une de mes premières expériences où j'ai appris l'importance vitale de gagner la bataille dans ma tête. Ce fut un moment d'apprentissage crucial pour moi et une expérience fondamentale sur laquelle j'ai pu m'appuyer plus tard, maintes et maintes fois, face à des défis encore plus difficiles.

Écoutez-vous plus souvent des pensées positives ou négatives? 

Comment votre avenir pourrait-il être différent
si vous recherchez activement des perspectives positives
sur votre situation et recadrez le
pensées négatives pour devenir plus positives?

Quel objectif utilisez-vous?

L'une des leçons les plus importantes que nous pouvons apprendre dans la vie est que nous avons toujours la possibilité de choisir la voix que nous écoutons. Chacun de nous peut choisir si nous voulons avoir une vision positive ou négative de nous-mêmes et de notre avenir. Personne d'autre ne peut décider de cela à notre place. Nous faisons finalement ce choix. Il est à nous.

Carol Dweck, auteur de État d'esprit: la nouvelle psychologie du succèss, dit que nous traversons tous la vie avec l'un des deux états d'esprit dominants: un état d'esprit de croissance ou un état d'esprit fixe.

Les gens avec un état d'esprit fixe croient que leurs talents et leurs compétences sont fixes et ne changent pas vraiment avec le temps. Ceux qui ont cet état d'esprit se concentrent sur ne faire que ce qu'ils croient pouvoir bien faire et accomplir avec succès. Ils pensent généralement que leur valeur réside dans leurs succès, ils ont donc tendance à jouer la sécurité, plutôt que de se remettre en question, de prendre des risques et potentiellement de risquer l'échec. Ils sont souvent paralysés lorsqu'il s'agit d'agir, surtout si l'action ou l'activité semble risquée. Pour cette raison, ils choisissent généralement des opportunités qui semblent «faisables» plutôt que celles qui les étirent et les aident à grandir. Ils craignent également d'être jugés et voient facilement l'échec comme un échec plutôt que comme une opportunité d'apprentissage ou de croissance.

Ceux qui ont un état d'esprit fixe choisissent de laisser leurs voix négatives dominer leurs pensées. Ils ont tendance à rester dans une «zone de sécurité».

Ceux avec un mentalité de croissance croyez le contraire. Ils savent qu'avec de la concentration et des efforts, ils peuvent améliorer leur intelligence, leurs compétences et leurs talents. Le succès de ceux qui ont un état d'esprit de croissance se produit lorsqu'ils se concentrent sur l'étirement et le développement d'eux-mêmes. Leur passion de s'étirer, même lorsque les choses ne vont pas bien, est une caractéristique de cet état d'esprit et leur permet de s'épanouir même dans les moments les plus difficiles de leur vie. C'est parce que ceux qui ont une mentalité de croissance voient chaque échec comme une opportunité d'apprentissage potentielle, plutôt qu'un revers dévastateur et permanent. Pour cette raison, ils accordent la priorité aux opportunités d'apprentissage et de croissance. Ils saisissent les opportunités pour devenir meilleurs et plus intelligents.

Ceux qui favorisent constamment un état d'esprit de croissance embrassent leurs voix positives, même dans les moments difficiles.

Gagnez-vous la bataille dans votre tête?

Quelles mesures pouvez-vous prendre pour vous assurer que
les inclinations positives l'emportent
plus que les négatifs?

C'est ton choix

Que votre état d'esprit actuel soit plus fixe ou tienne davantage à la croissance, cela n'a pas d'importance. La chose importante que chacun de nous doit réaliser est que nous avons des options, et nous peut changer notre état d'esprit. Nous avons la capacité de nous donner le ton et de décider si les conversations positives dans notre tête parlent plus fort que les négatives.

Commencer notre carrière et notre vie avec un état d'esprit positif peut changer la donne. Selon Carol Dweck, le point de vue que nous adoptons pour nous-mêmes affecte profondément la façon dont nous menons notre vie. «Il peut déterminer si vous devenez la personne que vous voulez être et si vous accomplissez les choses que vous appréciez.»

Il est difficile de gagner dans la vie jusqu'à ce que vous gagniez la bataille contre vous-même. Et la première étape commence par la réalisation que vous avez le choix. Vous pouvez réellement choisir de gagner la bataille dans votre tête. S'entraîner à le faire commence par chaque décision que vous prenez au cours d'une journée, de la plus petite à la plus grande.

Étapes pratiques vers un état d'esprit positif

1. Choisissez la positivité

Réalisez que la prise de conscience et le choix de pratiquer un état d'esprit positif est la première et la plus importante étape vers le succès futur. Nous devons comprendre et intérioriser profondément que gagner la bataille dans notre tête est la chose la plus importante que nous puissions faire. Gagner ici, c'est là que tout commence. Vous devez d'abord croire en vous.

2. Énumérez les pensées positives

Commencez à dresser une liste de vos réalisations personnelles et de vos traits positifs. Peu importe à quel point nous luttons ou à quelle fréquence nous laissons parler trop fort les pensées négatives, il est important de se souvenir également des réalisations qui nous ont rendus fiers et des caractéristiques personnelles qui nous ont aidés tout au long de notre voyage. Il sera utile de vous en souvenir en écrivant tout cela et en revisitant régulièrement vos notes.

3. Apprenez l'art du recadrage

Chaque fois que vous commencez à avoir des pensées négatives ou inutiles, rattrapez-vous. Prenez conscience de la pensée et introduisez un contre-argument qui peut la recadrer en quelque chose de plus positif. Par exemple, reformulez la pensée «Je suis un orateur public terrible» en «Avec un peu de pratique, je parie que je peux devenir un meilleur orateur public.» Une fois que vous serez plus conscient de ces modèles et que vous les aborderez de manière proactive sur le moment, vous commencerez lentement à changer.

4. Réalisez que vous n'êtes pas seul

Acceptez le fait que TOUT LE MONDE a eu ses propres doutes et que tout le monde a échoué. . . beaucoup! Ne laissez pas l'échec vous définir. Trop souvent, nous pensons que nous sommes les seuls à connaître des échecs ou des faiblesses. Mais tout le monde a échoué. La clé est de savoir comment nous réagissons à ces échecs.

5. Ne laissez pas le passé vous définir

C'est un choix que tout le monde peut faire. Vous seul pouvez permettre à la négativité de vos expériences passées, de vos relations et de votre traitement par les autres de définir votre avenir. Votre avenir meilleur commence maintenant si vous choisissez de recadrer. En choisissant de ne pas laisser votre passé assombrir votre avenir, vous pouvez commencer à voir et à créer la vie dont vous rêvez. Que ce soit l'état d'esprit qui vous pousse vers l'avenir.

6. Attardez-vous sur vos victoires quotidiennes

À la fin de chaque journée, notez trois choses qui se sont bien déroulées (vos «victoires»). Tenez un journal. Remplissez votre esprit de ces pensées et croyances positives. Plus vous faites cela, plus vous verrez le changement.

En fin de compte, gagner la bataille dans votre tête se traduit par une confiance en soi. Si vous le permettez, cette confiance en soi se construit sur elle-même et vous transportera à pas de géant dans le futur.

Mesures à prendre

* Énumérez quelques-uns des discours négatifs que vous avez vécus (état d'esprit fixe). Ça dit quoi? Quand est-ce le plus bruyant?

* Énumérez maintenant quelques-uns des discours personnels positifs (état d'esprit de croissance) que vous avez utilisés. Comment réagissez-vous lorsque vous décidez d'affronter votre journée avec un point de vue positif plutôt que négatif?

* Que se passe-t-il lorsque votre voix négative l'emporte?

* Que se passe-t-il lorsque votre voix positive l'emporte?

* Quelle voix l'emporte le plus souvent?

* Quelles sont trois ou quatre étapes spécifiques que vous pouvez prendre pour augmenter votre acceptation de vos inclinations et attitudes les plus positives?

* Quels rappels internes pouvez-vous utiliser pour remarquer la voix négative, puis «recadrer» vos pensées lorsque les choses ne vont pas bien?

L'arme la plus puissante du monde
est l'âme humaine en feu.
- Le maréchal français de la Première Guerre mondiale, Ferdinand Foch

© 2020 par Peter Ruppert. Tous les droits sont réservés.
Reproduit avec la permission de l'auteur.
Éditeur: Credo House Publishers

Source de l'article

Limitless: neuf étapes pour lancer votre vie unique
par Peter G. Ruppert

couverture du livre: Limitless: Nine Steps to Launch Your One Extraordinary Life par Peter G. RuppertCe livre a été écrit pour ceux, jeunes et vieux, qui ne veulent tout simplement pas se contenter du statu quo ou «assez bien» et qui ont des rêves qu'ils veulent poursuivre, pas abandonner. Basé sur la recherche de personnes accomplies et ses propres expériences personnelles de succès et d'échecs, Peter G. Ruppert fournit un guide étape par étape pour aider les lecteurs à avoir un impact positif sur la trajectoire de leur propre avenir. Rempli d'exemples réels pour chaque étape, de ressources d'apprentissage supplémentaires pour approfondir et d'un récapitulatif de style de classeur après chaque chapitre, Peter Ruppert fournit un programme simple mais puissant pour que les lecteurs puissent lancer le leur illimité la vie.

 Pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre, Cliquer ici. Également disponible en livre audio et en édition Kindle.

A propos de l'auteur

photo de Peter RuppertPierre Ruppert est le fondateur et PDG d'i-Education Group, qui gère plus de 75 académies Fusion and Futures pour les élèves de la 6e à la 12e année dans des environnements de classe à un étudiant et à un enseignant. Vétéran de l'industrie de l'éducation depuis 20 ans, il a ouvert plus de 100 écoles et en a acquis plus de 25 autres. Il a été président et chef de la direction d'organisations dans les secteurs des écoles privées, des écoles à charte et de l'éducation préscolaire, et a siégé au conseil scolaire de son école publique locale pendant 5 ans. Il vit avec sa famille à Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

En savoir plus sur https://peteruppert.com/ 
 


Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Plus d'articles de cet auteur

Vous Aimeriez Aussi

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

L'inspiration quotidienne de Marie T.Russell
 

VOIX INNERSELF

vue transparente du haut du corps avec des rayons de lumière
Miracles et rémissions en utilisant l'harmonisation avec le corps
by Ewald Kliegel
Notre corps est comme un orchestre dans lequel les orgues jouent la symphonie de la vie avec les plus grands…
visage de lion regardant les étoiles
Horoscope de la semaine actuelle: du 2 au 8 août 2021
by Pam Younghans
Ce journal astrologique hebdomadaire est basé sur les influences planétaires, et offre des perspectives et…
silhouette d'une fille haute sur une balançoire au crépuscule surplombant un lac brumeux
Faire l'expérience des êtres élémentaires : vérité ou fantasme ?
by Thomas Mayer
Comment vivez-vous les êtres élémentaires ? Pouvez-vous consciemment y arriver? Et comment tu…
groupe de personnes chevauchant les rapides dans un radeau
Le pouvoir de l'impuissance : chevaucher les rapides de la vie
by Barry Vissell
Ce qui marche vraiment, c'est pour moi d'accepter mon impuissance, mon impuissance, que j'ai vraiment très…
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
La Nouvelle-Écosse est une province canadienne d'environ 1,000,000 XNUMX XNUMX d'habitants et notre comté d'origine en Floride compte…
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
by Marie T. Russell
« Il a tellement de chance ! Elle gagne toujours ! Je n'ai tout simplement pas de chance ! Ces déclarations vous semblent familières ? Ont-ils…
visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort
by Pierre Ruppert
Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté de bouger...
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez.
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez
by Amy Fish
Il faut avoir le courage de vivre. Cela comprend apprendre à demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters

Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Image by beate bachmann 


Narrated by the author.

Video version

Early in my eighth-grade year, my dad suggested that I attend a large, all-boys high school across town from where we lived. Although I definitely wasn’t excited at first—especially at the prospect of leaving my friends and not having girls in my school—he left the final choice up to me. Ultimately, I decided to go, largely because the all-boys school had a highly successful basketball program and basketball was my favorite sport.

In an ironic twist, I got cut from the basketball team that first year. I was extremely disappointed and lost. I seriously considered going back to my previous school where I knew I already fit in and could easily make the team. That would have been the simple and easy route. But I also wondered if I could dig deep and overcome this obstacle.

Was I going to believe that I wasn’t good enough to compete at my new school? Or, could I find a way to dig deeper, work hard and make the team next season?

Positive and Negative Self-Talk

We all experience positive and negative self-talk like this on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or not, you’re probably having the same internal conversations over and over every day. These two opposing voices compete for our mindset every day and every minute.

For example, when something bad or disappointing happens, we can easily be swayed by our negative self-talk. We all know this voice well. It’s the one that told me I wasn’t good enough to make the basketball team my freshman year. That negative voice told me things like: You’re a failure. Life isn’t fair. Stretching yourself is too risky.

On the other hand, there’s a positive voice that can join our internal dialog. It encourages us to focus on the good aspects of every situation, chalking up the negative ones to learning opportunities. When we decide to listen to this voice, we refuse to let our bad experiences define us and bring us down, and we’re encouraged to wonder what we can learn from the situation. Focusing on the positive can help us grow to become even better despite our challenges.

When I listened to this positive voice during my freshman year of high school, I imagined not giving up, working hard all summer to improve my basketball game and eventually making the team my sophomore year.

Internal Conversations Are Crucial to Success or Failure

I’ve learned that these internal conversations are crucial to the success or failure of everything I do, large and small, from my business ventures to my daily activities. The internal dialogue I have with myself—and whether it’s largely positive or negative—has played a pivotal role in my ability (or inability) to overcome difficulties and achieve success in life and work.

The reason is simple: when I let the negative self-talk win more often than the positive self-talk, I begin to allow my bad experiences to define my future. I can develop a pattern of being afraid to take risks in both big and small decisions, if I’m not careful. When I let the negative experiences I’ve had define and drive me, I lose confidence—and more importantly, I lose hope.

On the flipside, the world is full of examples of others who have gone through enormous trials and somehow maintained enough faith in themselves to eventually experience incredible success.

Why do some people rebound and find success while others shrink away from working hard to achieve their dreams and goals? The difference is this: those who succeed have worked to allow positive self-talk to triumph over negative.

They have won the “battle in their head” by not allowing their negative thoughts (which are always present) to drown out the positive. They have refused to let bad experiences define or drive them. Instead, they have turned those experiences into learning opportunities.

This is exactly what I finally chose to do when it came to playing basketball during my sophomore year. I decided to believe anything was possible, and then I put in the long hours that entire summer to become a better player. I certainly knew there was a chance I would fail again, but I decided to try anyway. I decided to believe I could become good enough.

And sure enough, my sophomore year came, and the belief in myself and the extra dedication paid off and I made the team. I didn’t play much, but I kept working hard, and as a junior I made the varsity team. Then, in my senior year I was elected captain by my teammates.

This was one of my first experiences where I learned the vital importance of winning the battle in my head. It was a crucial learning moment for me and a foundational experience that I later was able to draw upon, time and time again, when facing even more difficult challenges.

Do you listen more often to positive or negative thoughts? 

How might your future look different
if you actively seek out positive perspectives
on your situation and reframe the
negative thoughts to become more positive?

Which Lens Do You Use?

One of the most important lessons we can learn in life is that we always have the ability to choose which voice we listen to. Each one of us gets to choose whether we want to have a positive or a negative outlook on ourselves and our future. No one else gets to decide this for us. We ultimately make this choice. It is up to us.

Carol Dweck, author of Mindset: The New Psychology of Success, says we all go through life with one of two dominant mindsets: a growth mindset or a fixed mindset.

People with a fixed mindset believe that their talents and skills are fixed and don’t really change over time. Those with this mindset focus on doing only what they believe they can do well and accomplish successfully. They usually think their worth resides in their successes, so they tend to play it safe, rather than challenging themselves, taking risks and potentially risking failure. They are often paralyzed when it comes to taking action, especially if the action or activity seems risky. Because of this, they usually choose opportunities that seem “doable” over those that stretch them and help them grow. They also worry about being judged, and they easily see failure as a setback, rather than a learning or growth opportunity.

Those with a fixed mindset choose to let their negative voices dominate their thoughts. They tend to stay in a “safe zone.”

Those with a growth mindset believe the opposite. They know that with focus and effort, they can improve their intelligence, skills and talents. Success for those with a growth mindset comes about as they focus on stretching and developing themselves. Their passion for stretching themselves, even when things are not going well, is a hallmark of this mindset and allows them to thrive even in the most challenging times of their life. This is because those with a growth mindset see every failure as a potential learning opportunity, rather than a devastating and permanent setback. Because of this, they prioritize learning and growth opportunities. They embrace opportunities to get better and smarter.

Those who consistently foster a growth mindset embrace their positive voices, even in tough times.

Are you winning the battle in your head?

What steps can you take to ensure that
the positive inclinations win out
more than the negative ones?

It’s Your Choice

Whether your current mindset is more fixed or tends more toward growth, it doesn’t matter. The important thing for each of us to realize is that we have options, and we can change our mindset. We have the ability to set the tone for ourselves and get to decide whether the positive conversations in our head get to speak louder than the negative ones.

Starting our career and life with a positive mindset can be a game changer. According to Carol Dweck, the view we adopt for ourselves profoundly affects the way we lead our life. “It can determine whether you become the person you want to be and whether you accomplish the things you value.”

It’s tough to win in life until you win the battle with yourself. And the first step begins with realizing you have a choice. You can actually choose to win the battle in your head. Training yourself to do so starts with each decision you make during the course of a day—from the smallest to the largest ones.

Practical Steps Toward A Positive Mindset

1. Choose positivity

Realize that awareness and choosing to practice a positive mindset is the first and most important step to future success. We have to understand and deeply internalize that winning the battle in our head is the most important thing we can do. Winning here is where it all starts. You have to believe in yourself first.

2. List positive thoughts

Begin to build a list of your personal accomplishments and positive traits. No matter how much we struggle or how often we let negative thoughts speak too loudly, it’s important to also remember the accomplishments that have made us proud and the personal characteristics that have helped us along our journey. It will be helpful to remind yourself of this by writing it all down and revisiting your notes regularly.

3. Learn the art of reframing

Every time you start thinking negative or unhelpful thoughts, catch yourself. Become aware of the thought and introduce a counter argument that can reframe it into something more positive. For example, reframe the thought, “I’m a terrible public speaker,” into, “With a bit of practice, I bet I can grow into a better public speaker.” Once you become more aware of these patterns and proactively address them in the moment, you will slowly start to change.

4. Realize you’re not alone

Accept that EVERYONE has had their own self-doubts and everyone has failed . . . a lot! Don’t let failure define you. Too often, we think only we experience failure or have weaknesses. But everyone has failed. The key is how we respond to these failures.

5. Don’t let the past define you

This is a choice everyone can make. Only you can allow the negativity of your past experiences, relationships and treatment by others to define your future. Your brighter future starts right now if you choose to reframe. By choosing not to allow your past to darken your future, you can begin to see and create the life you dream about. Let this be the mindset that drives you forward into the future.

6. Dwell on your daily victories

At the end of every day, write down three things that went well (your “victories”). Keep a log. Fill your mind with those positive thoughts and beliefs. The more you do this, the more you’ll see change.

Ultimately, winning the battle in your head results in self-confidence. If you allow it, this self-confidence builds on itself and will carry you leaps and bounds into the future.

ACTION STEPS

* List some of the negative self-talk that you’ve experienced (fixed mindset). What does it say? When is it the loudest?

* Now list some of the positive self-talk (growth mindset) that you have used. How do you react when you decide to face your day with a positive rather than a negative viewpoint?

* What happens when your negative voice wins?

* What happens when your positive voice wins?

* Which voice wins most often?

* What are three or four specific steps you can take to increase your acceptance of your most positive inclinations and attitudes?

* What internal reminders can you use to notice the negative voice and then “reframe” your thoughts when things aren’t going well?

The most powerful weapon on earth
is the human soul on fire.
—French WWI Field Marshall Ferdinand Foch

©2020 by Peter Ruppert. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the author.
Publisher : Credo House Publishers

Article Source

Limitless: Nine Steps to Launch Your One Extraordinary Life
by Peter G. Ruppert

book cover: Limitless: Nine Steps to Launch Your One Extraordinary Life by Peter G. RuppertThis book was written for those, young and old, who simply don’t want to settle for the status quo or for “good enough” and have dreams they want to chase, not give up on. Based on research of accomplished people and his own personal experiences of successes and failures, Peter G. Ruppert provides a step-by-step guide to help readers positively impact the trajectory of their own future. Filled with real life examples for each step, extra learning resources to dig deeper, and a workbook style recap after each chapter, Peter Ruppert provides a simple yet powerful program so readers can launch their own limitless life.

 For more info and/or to order this book, click here. Also available as an Audiobook and a Kindle edition.

About The Author

photo of Peter RuppertPeter Ruppert is founder and CEO of i-Education Group, which operates over 75 Fusion and Futures Academies for grades 6-12 in one student, one teacher classroom environments. A 20-year veteran of the education industry, he’s opened over 100 schools and acquired more than 25 others. He’s been president and CEO of organizations in the private school, charter school, and early education industries, and sat on his local public school board for 5 years. He lives with his family in Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

Learn more at https://peteruppert.com/ 
 


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
Allow The Fear, Transform It, Move Through It, and Understand It
by Lawrence Doochin
Fear feels crappy. There is no way around that. But most of us don't respond to our fear in a…
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
My Prescription for Anxiety and Worry
by Jude Bijou
We’re a society that likes to worry. Worrying is so prevalent, it almost feels socially acceptable.…
curving road in New Zealand
Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Life consists of choices... some are "good" choices, and others not so good. However every choice…
Photo of Messier M27 nebula
Horoscope Current Week: September 13 - 19, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
Blessing for Spiritual Seekers and for People Suffering from Depression
by Pierre Pradervand
There is such a need in the world today of the most tender and immense compassion and deeper, more…
Punishment or Divine Gift?
Is It Punishment or Divine Gift?
by Joyce Vissell
When tragedy, death of a loved one, or extreme disappointment strikes, do you ever wonder if our…
clear bottles of colored water
Welcome to The Love Solution
by Will Wilkinson
Picture a glass of clear water. You are holding a dropper of ink over it and you release a single…
Quick Vibe Fixes You Can Do At Home or Elsewhere
Quick Vibe Fixes You Can Do At Home or Elsewhere
by Athena Bahri
You are a remarkable being of energy, individual and unique in your own right. You have both the…
Finding Hope In The Darkness
Finding Hope In The Darkness: Coping Strategies for Depression
by Kristi Hugstad
Hope is an optimistic attitude based on expectations of positive outcomes in one’s life or the…
I'm Grateful... But...
I'm Grateful... But...
by Marie T. Russell
As I reflect on the tradition of Thanksgiving, I am reminded that Thanksgiving needs to take place…
No More Saviours: Reclaiming Our Mind from The Tyranny of Fear
No More Saviours: Reclaiming Our Mind from The Tyranny of Fear
by Sarah Varcas
A lunar eclipse in Sagittarius on 26th May begins a sequence of key astrological events, making…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want.
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want
by Amy Fish
You need to have the courage to live life. This includes learn­ing to ask for what you need or…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.