الكمالية

السعي لتصبح "كافيًا" على عجلة الهامستر المحمومة

السعي لتصبح "كافيًا" على عجلة الهامستر المحمومة
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان

إذا نظرت إلى حياتي من الخارج ، فقد تتفاجأ عندما علمت أنني قضيت معظم سنوات حياتي في طريقتي الخاصة. على الرغم من تحقيق العديد من الأهداف وبناء مسيرة مهنية ناجحة ، كنت في كثير من الأحيان في حالة اضطراب ومليء بالقلق وانعدام الأمن.

كانت حياتي تدور حول إثارة إعجاب الآخرين أو تحقيق بعض صورة النجاح التي استعرتها من المجتمع. لكن من كنت في الداخل؟ من كان ال واقعي انا؟ وماذا فعل ذلك حقيقيا لي اريد حقا؟ لفترة طويلة ، لم يكن لدي أي فكرة.

المقارنة والمنافسة والنقص

إذا كنت من أي شيء مثلي ، فقد سئمت من عيش حياة قائمة على المقارنة والمنافسة والخوف والافتقار. أنت تبحث عن نظام يساعدك على عيش حياتك على أساس الحب والدعم والإيمان والوفرة والأصالة. ربما تقوم بكل ما يسمى بالأشياء الصحيحة لتكون سعيدًا وناجحًا ، لكن شيئًا ما لا يزال مفقودًا. ربما تخشى أنك لست جيدًا بما يكفي. (انضم إلى النادي!) ربما تشعر وكأنك تسير بلا توقف ... ولكن لأي غرض؟ ربما تسأل نفسك ، هل هذا جيد كما يحصل؟

ربما تسأل نفسك ، أليست هناك طريقة للتخلص من فائضتي عاطفي جنيه أو رطل للوزن؟ ألا توجد طريقة للحصول على لياقة روحية حتى أشعر أخيرًا بالثقة ، والرضا ، والسلام ، والوفرة ، والمحبة ، والبهجة؟

اليوم ، حياتي بعيدة كل البعد عن ما كانت عليه عندما كنت مليئة بالقلق والشك بالنفس. الآن ، أنا أملك عظمتي. أنا أعيش حياة مُرضية وسعيدة ، وقد ساعدت كثيرين آخرين على فعل الشيء نفسه. لا يزال يتعين علي العمل فيه ، لكن العمل الذي قمت به على روحي قد ترجم إلى المزيد من النعم في الخارج. كل يوم ، أشعر بمثل هذا الامتنان.

مكالمة إيقاظي

لقد تطلب الأمر دعوة إيقاظ كبيرة بالنسبة لي لتغيير الطريقة التي نظرت بها إلى نفسي وحياتي. حدث ذلك في منتصف يوم من أيام ديسمبر عندما كنت أسير بسرعة في وسط مانهاتن بالقرب من تايمز سكوير. (المشي السريع هو وتيرتي المعتادة.) كنت محاطًا بصفارات الإنذار الصاخبة ، وحشود ساعة الذروة ، والفوضى ، لكن الفوضى والاضطراب بداخلي كانا أكثر صعوبة.

مع توتر سكان نيويورك في الماضي في جميع الاتجاهات ، بدأت أشعر وكأنني خارج جسدي. . . وخرجت من عقلي. تسارعت أنفاسي ، وبدأت أفرط في التنفس. لم أستطع التنفس. بدأت أشعر بالذعر.

لقد مرت ستة أسابيع فقط منذ أن قفز رجل كنت أعتبره أحد أعظم محبتي في حياتي حتى وفاته ، بعد ما يقرب من عام من اليوم الذي انتحر فيه صديق عزيز آخر. مثل العديد من حالات الانتحار ، كانت بمثابة صدمة كاملة لنا جميعًا الذين أحبوها. لم تكن هناك علامات تحذيرية ، ولا عقاقير ، ولا مؤشرات على مرض عقلي أو حتى تعاسة ، ناهيك عن الاكتئاب.

خائفة وقلقة ، أمسكت هاتفي واتصلت بأخي الطبيب جون. لم يكن أقل من المعجزة التي التقطها. نادرًا ما يرد أخي على هاتفه ، خاصة خلال ساعات العمل.

"بيب [كما أسميه] ، أشعر بالذعر. لا استطيع. . . نفس. أظن.. . انا امتلك ال.. . نوبة هلع أو شيء من هذا القبيل. هل يمكنك ... يرجى الاتصال بوصفة طبية ... ل يكسابرو؟ لقد تعاملت مع القلق من قبل. أنا فقط ... بضع بنايات ... من صيدلية. "

تمكنت من جر نفسي عبر الجماهير في شارع سيفينث أفينيو إلى الصيدلية ، وأتنفس بسرعة وأبكي طوال الطريق. الشيء الجيد في مدينة نيويورك هو أن الناس يتركونك بمفردك عندما تمشي في الشارع منتحبين. هذا أيضًا هو الشيء المحزن في مدينة نيويورك - يتركك الناس بمفردك عندما تمشي في الشارع منتحبين.

عندما اقتربت من العداد ، استقبلني الصيدلي بلطف لدرجة أنني انفجرت في بكاء أثقل. قمت بإرسال رسالة نصية إلى صديقي ليلي أثناء ملء الوصفة الطبية: "أنا أبكي في الصيدلية بينما أنتظر دواء مضاد للقلق. نعم ، لقد أصبحت أن فتاة."

"ماذا او ما؟ هل أنت جاد؟ انت بخير؟ كيت ، هذا ليس أنت! أجابت "أنت من أسعد الناس الذين أعرفهم".

لم أكن قد رأيت نفسي أبدًا كـ "تلك الفتاة" ، لكن في تلك اللحظة ، لم يكن هناك من ينكر أن هذا هو ما أصبحت عليه.

بعد أن أخذت الجرعة الأولى من ليكسابرو ، قمت بإرسال رسالة نصية إلى أخي: "أريد فقط أن آخذ الزجاجة بالكامل وأذهب للنوم."

رد في رسالة نصية: "أنا اتصل بالشرطة."

"لا! أنا أمزح."

"أنت لا تمزح بشأن أشياء من هذا القبيل ، كيت!"

تخلص من الألم!

الحقيقة أنني لم أكن أمزح حقًا. شعرت أن الألم الذي كنت أعانيه أكبر من أن أتحمله ، وأردت بشدة أن يختفي ، مهما تطلب الأمر. لم أكن أفكر في الانتحار مطلقًا ، ولكن فجأة ، غلبت النوم على حقيقة هويتي وألقيت نظرة على ما كان يشعر به أصدقائي سام وراف عندما قرروا الانتحار.

وبقدر ما كنت قريبًا من كليهما ، لم يأخذني أحد أو أي شخص آخر في ثقته بشأن أحلك مشاعره. كانت نعمة الإنقاذ الخاصة بي هي أنني كنت على استعداد للبكاء أمام الصيدلي ، وكنت على استعداد للتواصل مع أخي للحصول على المساعدة. ظهر ملائكة آخرون في ذلك اليوم وبعده - أناس أحب أن أدعوهم "الله في حالة جر" (أي ، الله في صورة بشرية). عندما كشفت عن ألمي لكل منهم ، بدءًا من أخي ، فقد ساعدوني في مقاومة الرغبة في إفراغ تلك الزجاجة في حلقي.

إذا كنت مثل سام أو راف ، الذين تعلموا إخفاء آلامهم ودفنها ، فأنا لا أعرف ما الذي كان سيحدث لي في ذلك اليوم.

عجلة الهامستر المحمومة

خلال الأسابيع الستة بين وفاة سام وفي ذلك الصباح عندما كنت أفكر في ابتلاع الحبوب ، كنت أذهب وأمضي في نفس عجلة الهامستر المزعجة التي كان سام يسافر فيها دائمًا. لقد حجزت جدولي ثابتًا دون أن أعطي نفسي الرعاية الذاتية المناسبة أو المساحة التي أحتاجها للتخلص من عمق الألم.

أدركت أنني لا أستطيع الركض على تلك العجلة بعد الآن. كنت مرهقا. لم يكن مجرد ألم فقدان صديقين للانتحار ؛ لقد كان صخبًا مستمرًا لمحاولة إثبات جداري لنفسي وللعالم من خلال قائمة لا حصر لها من الإنجازات والإنجازات والأوسمة والجوائز (ما أسميه "الأربعة أس").

كان علي أن أواجه ليس فقط فقدان أصدقائي الأعزاء ولكن أيضًا المخاوف من موتهم. سام ، على وجه الخصوص ، كان مثل نظيري الذكر - مثل صورة طبق الأصل لي. لقد اشتهر كلانا بكوننا حياة كل طرف وأفضل صديق للجميع. لكن مثل الكثيرين ، وضعنا قيمتنا في العالم المادي. اعتقدنا أن النجاح يقاس بالشكل الذي نبدو عليه ، وعدد الوظائف التي حجزناها ، ومقدار الأموال التي لدينا في البنك ، وما إلى ذلك.

بدا كل من سام وراف مثلي للعالم الخارجي كما لو كان لديهم كل هذه الأشياء وأكثر. في أذهان معظم الأشخاص الذين التقوا بهم ، كانوا بمثابة كريم المحصول - ناجحون وحسن المظهر مع حياة تحسد عليها. منذ وفاة راف ، علمت أنه يخفي سرًا عميقًا وكان قلقًا من أن أسرته وأصدقائه لن يقبلوه إذا علموا. بعبارة أخرى ، كان خائفاً ويخجل أن يعيش حقيقته. كان سام يعيش على ترنح. كان رفض وكيل الصب واحدًا كافيًا لإرساله إلى الأسفل.

أجبرتني وفاتهم على مواجهة حقيقة صعبة: عندما نسمح بتحديد تقديرنا لذاتنا من قبل أشخاص ومصادر خارج أنفسنا ، لا يمكننا أبدًا أن نحصل على ما يكفي أو نكون كافيين. عندما نعتمد على موافقة الآخرين ، نقف على حافة الهاوية ، وعلى استعداد للتعثر حتى من أصغر نكسة.

هل كنت على نفس الطريق؟ كان جزء مني خائفًا من أن ينتهي بي المطاف مثلهم. بعد كل شيء ، كنت أرضع زجاجة حبوب كأنها قد تكون منقذي. من أصبحت؟

السعي لنصبح "كافيًا"

مهدت طفولتي الطريق لتلك المرأة التي أصبحت عليها ، والتي وضعت الكثير مما يعتقده الآخرون. مثل معظمنا ، نشأت على اعتقاد بأن آراء الآخرين عني كانت ذات أهمية قصوى. عندما نعتقد أننا لسنا كافيين ، فإننا لا نشعر بالأمان والأمان في استمرارية مشاعر أحبائنا بالنسبة لنا.

إذا كان بإمكاني أن أكون كافيًا (جميلًا ، ذكيًا ، متعلمًا) ، أفعل ما يكفي (أنجز ، أنجز ، أؤدي) ، ولدي ما يكفي (المال ، الشهرة ، "النجاح") ، ستكون حياتي "مثالية" وكاملة. سأفوز بالحب الأبدي لوالدي وكل من حولي. سأكون بأمان لأنني لن أكون وحدي.

شعرت بأمان أكثر عندما حصلت على درجات جيدة ، على سبيل المثال ، وعكس الناس لي أنني كنت فتاة جيدة. شعرت بأمان أكبر عندما كان بإمكاني أن أجعل نفسي جميلة بما يكفي لجذب انتباه الأولاد وعندما أكون مضحكة بما يكفي لأكتسب شعبية مع الفتيات شعرت بأمان أكبر عندما أصبحت رياضيًا نجمًا ، مما جعل والديّ فخورين لأنني حطمت الأرقام القياسية كسباح منافس وحصلت على منحة دراسية رياضية في ولاية بنسلفانيا. وعندما التحقت بأفضل مدرسة صحافة وأصبحت كاتبة ومقدمة برامج تلفزيونية.

بعد ذلك ، عندما انتقلت إلى نيويورك للحصول على فرصة عمل تراجعت ، اكتشفت أن لدي القوة البدنية المناسبة لأصبح نموذجًا "زائد الحجم" (وفقًا لصناعة النمذجة ، الحجم 6 وما فوق). لذلك أعدت ابتكار نفسي ، ووقعت مع واحدة من أكبر وكالات عرض الأزياء في العالم ، وسرعان ما أصبحت شخصية تلفزيونية دولية أيضًا.

من المثير للاهتمام أنني اخترت مهنة تدور حول المظاهر الخارجية - مجال يفترض أنه التأكيد النهائي على أنك جميلة. على الأقل هذا ما تتخيله معظم النساء. إذا أصبحت عارضة أزياء ، فهذا يعني أنك جميلة كاف، حق؟

عرضت النمذجة كل حالة من عدم الأمان كنت أشعر بها تجاه نفسي وبعضها لم أكن أعرف حتى أنني أعاني من ذلك. ونتيجة لذلك ، بدأت أعمل بجدية أكبر لمحاولة أن أكون أفضل وأكثر "مثاليًا" حتى لا أضطر إلى مواجهة الرفض المستمر الذي جلبته مهنتي. لكن الأمر ليس كما لو كان هناك البعض برنامج مثالي الوجهة التي ستوقف رفض الإرسال أو التعليقات السلبية عبر الإنترنت. ببساطة لا يوجد شيء من هذا القبيل.

إذا لم أرغب في أن ينتهي بي الأمر في الانغماس في ما يعتقده الآخرون عني لدرجة أنني لا أستطيع الاستمرار في العيش ، كان علي أن أتوقف عن البحث عن قيمتي في الخارج. كان علي أن أتوقف عن المحاولة بشدة يحقق و إنجاز لأظهر للعالم أنني أستحق المعرفة والحب. كان علي أن أتوقف عن السعي للحصول على صورة مثالية بعيدة المنال ومنح نفسي الإذن بأن أكون أصليًا وغير كامل.

أناكتشفت أن الكمال حقيقي. لذلك بدأت سعيي لقبول كل ما أنا عليه - واثقة ، ضعيفة ، ذكية ، معيبة ، وقحة ، سخيفة. بدأت في السعي للتواصل مع روحي وأصبح لائق روحيا.

الرد على مكالمة الإيقاظ

هزتني عمليات الانتحار التي تعرض لها حبيبتي راف وسام ، إلى جانب ذلك اليوم في الصيدلية. إن تسمية هذه الأحداث مكالمة إيقاظ هو بخس ، وكنت أعرف أن حياتي تعتمد على الرد عليها. لذلك كنت أتطلع إلى الدراسة والتأمل والكتابة والصلاة والعمل الجاد للعثور على مفاتيح لأسلوب حياة أفضل من شأنه أن يسمح لي بتوليد الثقة بالنفس والرضا من الداخل.

كطالب ورع دورة في المعجزات، وهو كتاب ومنهج ميتافيزيقي للدراسة الذاتية ، تعلمت كيفية إعادة تدريب ذهني على التفكير بشكل مختلف. لقد ألغيت اشتراكي في نظام التفكير في العالم الذي يعتمد على الخوف وبدلاً من ذلك قمت بتوصيله بالمعتقدات الأساسية القائمة على الحب. تعلمت كيف أتخلى عن غرورتي. وتعلمت كيف أتخلص من الجرح العاطفي والتواصل مع روحي في داخلي ببطء ، بدأت في تطوير عملية شعرت أنها تشبه إلى حد كبير تمرينًا بدنيًا ، فقط من أجل داخلي! وبمرور الوقت ، نجحت.

أنا الآن قادر على العيش في الإيمان بدلاً من الخوف. ولم أعد أشعر بالحاجة إلى تناول ليكسابرو أو أدوية أخرى. بينما أدافع عن أي شخص يعاني من مرض عقلي خطير ويحتاج إلى هذه الأدوية ، أعتقد أن معظمنا قادر على النزول من عجلة الهامستر أيضًا.

أنا الآن أعمل من هذا الاعتقاد الأساسي: أنا كاملة. ما زلت في طور التقدم بالطبع ، لكن حياتي لم تعد تدور حول ما أفعله أو السعي لإثبات قيمتي. بدلاً من ذلك ، يتعلق الأمر بمن أنا. وأنا مدين بكل ذلك للعمل على اللياقة الروحية.

تخيل حياة لا تتعلق بكيفية "الحصول على هذا" أو "القيام بذلك" ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك يجري الشخص الذي يجذب بشكل طبيعي كل ما تشتهيه قلبك. عليك فقط أن تؤمن بمدى قوتك! زيادة الأداء والمرونة ، والعلاقات الأكثر جدوى ، والثقة والرفاهية المكتشفة حديثًا ، والوفاء الحقيقي ، والمتعة متاحة لك عندما تحصل على روحك في الشكل.

حقوق التأليف والنشر 2021. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
جديد المكتبة العالمية. www.newworldlibrary.com.

المادة المصدر

تمرين الروح الكامل: نظام من عشر خطوات للتخلص من شكك الذاتي ، وتقوية جوهرك الروحي ، وخلق حياة ممتعة ومرضية
بواسطة كيت إكمان

غلاف الكتاب: تمرين الروح الكاملة: نظام من عشر خطوات للتخلص من شكك الذاتي ، وتقوية جوهرك الروحي ، وخلق حياة ممتعة ومرضية من قبل كيت إكماننتفهم جميعًا أساسيات اللياقة البدنية ، والعديد من الموارد تعلم اليقظة الذهنية ، ومهارات العمل ، وقوة ريادة الأعمال. لكن غالبًا ما يكون تقويض هذه الأهداف بمثابة حواجز غير ملموسة على الطريق - أعباء عقلية وعاطفية ، وانعدام أمان عميق الجذور ، وحكم على الذات ، وتوتر وقلق طاغيان. في تمرين الروح الكاملة، تستمد كيت إكمان من تدريبها متعدد الأوجه (كرياضي ومدرب القيادة التنفيذية ومعلم التأمل) لتقديم برنامج سيمكنك من اختراق هذه الكتل وتحقيق أهدافك. إنه تمرين مجزٍ يتكون من تمارين يومية للعقل والجسم والروح والممارسات القائمة على علم الأعصاب التي تعزز المرونة والقوة الداخلية. 

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا

عن المؤلف

صورة كيت إكمان

حصلت كيت إكمان على درجة البكالوريوس في الاتصالات من جامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا ، حيث كانت سباحًا أكاديميًا من جميع الأمريكيين. حصلت على درجة الماجستير في الصحافة الإذاعية من كلية ميديل للصحافة بجامعة نورث وسترن. تخرجت على أعلى مستوى من برنامج التدريب التنفيذي والتنظيمي بجامعة كولومبيا. كيت هي أيضًا مدربة معتمدة من ICF (ACC) ومستشارة NBI مرخصة.


قم بزيارتنا TheFullSpiritWorkout.com و KateEckman.tv 
  

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

أصوات INNERSELF

وجه امرأة سعيدة
كيف تواجه حالة باطنية من الوعي
by أورا نادريتش
أيا كان ما نسعى للاستمتاع به ، والاعتماد على الأشياء الخارجية لمنحنا النشوة أو الشعور ...
ساعة غير واضحة تتوسع فوق خلفية مليئة بالنجوم
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: 6-12 ديسمبر 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
12 05 من الصلابة للتغيير 647528 كاملة
من الجمود إلى التغيير
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
لكي تتغير الأشياء ، أو الأشخاص ، يجب أن يكونوا مرنين. شجرة صفصاف تنحني في مهب الريح ...
رجل وكلب أمام أشجار السيكويا العملاقة في كاليفورنيا
فن العجب المستمر: شكراً لك يا حياة على هذا اليوم
by بيير Pradervand
من أعظم أسرار الحياة أن تعرف كيف تتعجب باستمرار من الوجود ومن ...
الصورة: الكسوف الكلي للشمس في 21 أغسطس 2017.
الأبراج: أسبوع 29 نوفمبر - 5 ديسمبر 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
فتى صغير يبحث من خلال منظار
قوة الخمسة: خمسة أسابيع ، خمسة أشهر ، خمس سنوات
by شيلي تيجيلسكي
في بعض الأحيان ، يتعين علينا التخلي عما هو إفساح المجال لما سيكون. بالطبع ، فكرة ...
رجل يأكل الوجبات السريعة
لا يتعلق الأمر بالطعام: الإفراط في تناول الطعام والإدمان والعواطف
by جود بيجو
ماذا لو أخبرتك أن نظامًا غذائيًا جديدًا يسمى "لا يتعلق الأمر بالطعام" يكتسب شعبية و ...
رقص المرأة في منتصف طريق سريع فارغ مع أفق المدينة في الخلفية
التحلي بالشجاعة لنكون صادقين مع أنفسنا
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
كل واحد منا هو فرد فريد ، وبالتالي يبدو أن كل واحد منا لديه ...
دع نهر خيالك يتدفق: اللعب من أجل الإبداع
دع نهر تدفق خيالك: اللعب من أجل الإبداع
by فابيانا فونديفيلا
كثير من الناس ينظرون إلى الخيال بريبة ، على أنه شيء لا مكان له في حياة البالغين. في…
فتاة صغيرة على أرجوحة تبحث في وحيد القرن
أعد إيقاظ إمكاناتك وشارك في ولادة الكواكب
by نيكوليا كريستي
هل سنختبر حقبة جديدة من السلام والوئام أم نستمر في الانهيار والتدمير؟ على حد سواء…
ما الذي يجعلك بالغ ناضجة؟
ما الذي يجعلك بالغ ناضجة؟
by يزيت شويتميكر
مع القرارات التي تتخذ كل يوم ، صغيرًا وكبيرًا ، ولحظية وبعيدة المدى ، الناس ...

تم اختياره لمجلة InnerSelf

الأكثر قراءة

كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
by جاكي كاسيل ، أستاذ وبائيات الرعاية الأولية ، استشاري فخري في الصحة العامة ، كلية الطب في برايتون وساسكس
تدهورت الاقتصادات المحفوفة بالمخاطر للعديد من المدن الساحلية التقليدية أكثر منذ ...
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
القضايا الأكثر شيوعا لملائكة الأرض: الحب والخوف والثقة
by سونيا جريس
عندما تختبر كونك ملاكًا أرضيًا ، ستكتشف أن مسار الخدمة مليء ...
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
كيف يمكنني أن أعرف ما هو أفضل بالنسبة لي؟
by باربارا بيرجر
أحد أكبر الأشياء التي اكتشفتها في العمل مع العملاء كل يوم هو مدى صعوبة ...
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
الصدق: الأمل الوحيد لعلاقات جديدة
by سوزان كامبل، دكتوراه
وفقًا لمعظم العزاب الذين قابلتهم في رحلاتي ، فإن وضع المواعدة النموذجي محفوف بالمخاطر ...
يقدم المنجم تسعة أخطار من علم التنجيم
يقدم المنجم تسعة أخطار من علم التنجيم
by تريسي ماركس
علم التنجيم فن قوي قادر على تحسين حياتنا من خلال تمكيننا من فهم حياتنا ...
التخلي عن الأمل يمكن أن يكون مفيدا لك
التخلي عن الأمل يمكن أن يكون مفيدا لك
by جود بيجو ، ماجستير ، MFT
إذا كنت تنتظر التغيير وكنت محبطًا من عدم حدوثه ، فربما يكون من المفيد ...
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
by غلين بارك
مشاهدة رقص الفلامنكو متعة. راقص الفلامنكو الجيد ينضح بثقة كبيرة بالنفس ...
اتخاذ خطوة نحو السلام من خلال تغيير علاقتنا مع الفكر
يخطو نحو السلام بتغيير علاقتنا بالفكر
by جون بتاتشك
نقضي حياتنا منغمسين في فيض من الأفكار ، غير مدركين أن هناك بُعدًا آخر للوعي ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Striving to Become “Enough” On The Frantic Hamster Wheel

Striving to Become “Enough” On The Frantic Hamster Wheel
Image by Gerd Altmann

If you looked at my life from the outside, you might be surprised to learn that I spent most of my years getting in my own way. Despite achieving many goals and building a successful career, I was often in turmoil, filled with anxiety and insecurity.

My life was all about impressing other people or attaining some image of success that I’d borrowed from society. But who was I on the inside? Who was the real me? And what did that real me really want? For a long time, I had no idea.

Comparison, Competition, and Lack

If you’re anything like I was, you’re tired of living a life based on comparison, competition, fear, and lack. You’re looking for a system that helps you live your life based on love, support, faith, abundance, and authenticity. Maybe you’re doing all the so-called right things to be happy and successful, but something’s still missing. Maybe you’re afraid you aren’t good enough. ( Join the club!) Maybe you feel like you’re going nonstop... but for what purpose? Maybe you’re asking yourself, Is this as good as it gets?

You might even have asked yourself, Isn’t there a way to shed my excess emotional pounds? Isn’t there a way to get spiritually fit so that I finally feel confident, fulfilled, peaceful, abundant, loving, and joyful?

Today, my life is eons away from where it was when I was filled with anxiety and self-doubt. Now, I own my greatness. I live a fulfilling, joyous life, and I’ve helped many others do the same. I still have to work at it, but the work I’ve done on my spirit has translated into more blessings on the outside. Every day, I’m filled with such gratitude.

My Wake-Up Call

It took a hefty wake-up call for me to change the way I looked at myself and my life. It happened on a mid-December day as I was speed-walking through Midtown Manhattan near Times Square. (Speed-walking is my usual pace.) I was surrounded by noisy sirens, rush-hour crowds, and chaos, but the mayhem and turmoil inside me were even more overwhelming.

As stressed New Yorkers hustled past in all directions, I began to feel like I was out of my body. . . and out of my mind. My breath quickened, and I started to hyperventilate. I couldn’t breathe. I began to panic.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

It had been just six weeks since a man I considered to be one of the great loves of my life jumped to his death, nearly a year to the day after another dear friend also took his life. Like many suicides, they came as a complete shock to all of us who loved them. There were no warning signs, no drugs, no indications of mental illness or even unhappiness, let alone depression.

Frightened and anxious, I grabbed my phone and called my brother, John, a physician. It was nothing short of a miracle that he picked up. My brother rarely answers his phone, especially during business hours.

“Babe [as I call him], I’m freaking out. I can’t. . . breathe. I think.. . I’m having a.. . panic attack or something. Can you... please call in a prescription.. . for Lexapro? I’ve taken it for anxiety before. I’m just.. .a few blocks.. .from a pharmacy.”

I managed to drag myself through the masses down Seventh Avenue to the pharmacy, breathing fast and sobbing the whole way. The good thing about New York City is that people leave you alone when you walk down the street sobbing. That’s also the sad thing about New York City — people leave you alone when you walk down the street sobbing.

When I approached the counter, the pharmacist greeted me with such friendliness that I burst into even heavier sobs. I texted my friend Lily while my prescription was being filled: “I’m crying my eyes out at a pharmacy while I wait for antianxiety medication. Yes, I’ve become that girl.”

“What? Are you serious? Are you okay? Kate, that’s not you! You’re one of the happiest people I know,” she responded.

I had never seen myself as “that girl” either, but in that moment, there was no denying that’s who I had become.

After I took the first dose of Lexapro, I texted my brother: “I just want to take the whole bottle and go to sleep.”

He texted back: “I’m calling the cops.”

No! I’m kidding.”

“You don’t joke about things like that, Kate!”

Make The Pain Go Away!

The truth is that I wasn’t really kidding. The pain I was experiencing felt like too much to bear, and I desperately wanted it to go away, whatever that took. I had never been suicidal, but suddenly, I had fallen asleep to the truth of who I was and caught a glimpse of what my friends Sam and Raf must have been feeling when they decided to take their own lives.

As close as I was to both of them, neither one took me or anyone else into his confidence about his darkest feelings. My own saving grace was that I was willing to sob in front of that pharmacist, and I was willing to reach out to my brother for help. Other angels showed up that day and after — people I like to call “God in drag” (i.e., God in human form). As I disclosed my pain to each of them, starting with my brother, they helped me resist the urge to empty that bottle down my throat.

If I’d been like Sam or Raf, though, who were taught to keep their pain hidden and buried, I don’t know what would have happened to me that day.

The Frantic Hamster Wheel

During the six weeks between Sam’s death and that morning when I contemplated swallowing the pills, I had been going, going, going on the same frantic hamster wheel that Sam had always traveled on. I booked my schedule solid without giving myself the proper self-care or space I needed to let the depth of my pain out.

I realized I couldn’t run on that wheel any longer. I was exhausted. It wasn’t just the pain of losing two friends to suicide; it was the constant hustle of trying to prove my worth to myself and the world through an endless list of accomplishments, achievements, accolades, and awards (what I call the “four As”).

I had to face not only the loss of my dear friends but also the fears that their deaths were bringing up in me. Sam, in particular, had been like my male counterpart — like a mirror image of me. We were both known for being the life of every party and everyone’s best friend. But like so many, we placed our worth in the material world. We thought success was measured by what we looked like, how many jobs we booked, how much money we had in the bank, and so on.

Like me, both Sam and Raf appeared to the outside world as though they had all those things and more. In the minds of most people who met them, they were the cream of the crop — successful and good-looking with enviable lives. Since Raf’s death, I’ve learned that he was harboring a deep secret and was worried his family and friends wouldn’t accept him if they knew. In other words, he was scared and ashamed to live his truth. Sam was living on a teeter-totter. A single rejection from a casting agent was enough to send him plummeting down.

Their deaths forced me to face a difficult truth: when we allow our self-worth to be defined by people and sources outside ourselves, we can never have enough or be enough. When we depend on the approval of others, we stand on the edge of a cliff, ready to tumble from even the smallest setback.

Was I on a similar path? A part of me was scared I was going to end up like them. After all, there I was nursing a bottle of pills as though it could be my savior. Who had I become?

Striving to Become “Enough”

My childhood set the stage for that woman I became, who put so much stock in what others thought. Like most of us, I grew up with the belief that other people’s opinions about me were paramount. When we think that we aren’t enough, we don’t feel safe and secure in the permanence of our loved ones’ feelings for us.

If I could just be enough (beautiful, smart, educated), do enough (achieve, accomplish, perform), and have enough (money, notoriety, “success”), my life would be “perfect” and complete. I would win the eternal love of my parents and everyone around me. I would be safe because I wouldn’t be alone.

I felt safer when I got good grades, for example, and people reflected back to me that I was a good girl. I felt safer when I could make myself pretty enough to get attention from boys and when I could be funny enough to gain popularity with girls. I felt safer when I became a star athlete, making my parents proud as I broke records as a competitive swimmer and earned an athletic scholarship to Penn State. And when I got into the best journalism school and became a writer and television anchor.

Then, when I moved to New York for a job opportunity that fell through, I discovered that I had the right physicality to become a “plus-size” model (which, according to the modeling industry, is size 6 and up). So I reinvented myself, signing with one of the biggest modeling agencies in the world, and soon became an international TV personality as well.

It’s interesting that I chose a career that’s all about outward appearances — a field that’s supposedly the final confirmation that you’re beautiful. At least that’s what most women imagine. If you become a model, it means you’re pretty enough, right?

Modeling brought out every insecurity I’d ever harbored about myself and some I didn’t even know I had. As a result, I started working even harder to try to be better, more, “perfect,” so that I wouldn’t have to face the constant rejections that my profession brought with it. But it isn’t like there’s some perfect destination that will stop the casting rejections or the negative online comments. There’s simply no such thing.

If I didn’t want to end up so caught up in what others thought of me that I couldn’t go on living, I had to stop looking outside myself for my value. I had to stop trying so desperately to achieve and accomplish in order to show the world that I was worth knowing and loving. I had to stop striving for some elusive image of perfection and give myself permission to be imperfect, authentic me.

That, I discovered, is true perfection. So I started my quest to accept all that I am — confident, vulnerable, intelligent, flawed, sassy, silly Kate. I started on a quest to connect with my spirit and become spiritually fit.

Answering the Wake-Up Call

The suicides of my beloved Raf and Sam, coupled with that day in the pharmacy, shook me to my core. To call these events a wake-up call is an understatement, and I knew my life depended on answering it. So I dove headfirst into studying, meditating, writing, praying, and working hard to find the keys to a better way of life that would allow me to generate self-esteem and contentment from within.

As a devout student of A Course in Miracles, a metaphysical self-study book and curriculum, I learned how to retrain my mind to think differently. I unsubscribed from the thought system of the world that’s based on fear and instead plugged into core beliefs based on love. I learned how to surrender my ego. And I learned how to shed emotional flab and connect with my spirit within. Slowly, I began to develop a process that felt very much like a physical workout, only for my inside! And over time, it worked.

I’m now able to live in faith rather than fear. And I no longer feel the need to take Lexapro or other pharmaceuticals. While I advocate for anyone with a serious mental illness who needs these medications, I believe that most of us are capable of getting off that hamster wheel, too.

I now operate from this core belief: I am complete. I’m still a work in progress, of course, but my life is no longer about what I do or about striving to prove my worth. Instead, it’s about who I am. And I owe all of that to working on my spiritual fitness.

Imagine a life that isn’t about how to “get this” or “do that,” but instead about being the person who naturally attracts all that your heart desires. You just have to believe how powerful you are! Increased performance and resilience, more meaningful relationships, newfound confidence and well-being, true fulfillment, and fun are available to you when you get your spirit in shape.

Copyright 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New World Library. www.newworldlibrary.com.

Article Source

The Full Spirit Workout: A Ten-Step System to Shed Your Self-Doubt, Strengthen Your Spiritual Core, and Create a Fun and Fulfilling Life
by Kate Eckman

book cover: The Full Spirit Workout: A Ten-Step System to Shed Your Self-Doubt, Strengthen Your Spiritual Core, and Create a Fun and Fulfilling Life by Kate EckmanWe all understand the basics of physical fitness, and many resources teach mindfulness, business skills, and entrepreneurial chutzpah. But often undermining these goals are less-tangible roadblocks — mental and emotional baggage, deep-seated insecurity, self-judgment, and overwhelming stress and anxiety. In The Full Spirit Workout, Kate Eckman draws from her multifaceted training (as an athlete, executive leadership coach, and meditation teacher) to present a program that will empower you to break through these blocks and accomplish your goals. It’s a rewarding workout made up of daily mind-body-spirit exercises and neuroscience-based practices that bolster resilience and inner strength. 

For more info and/or to order this book, click here

About the Author

photo of Kate Eckman

Kate Eckman earned her B.A. in communications from Penn State University, where she was an Academic All-American swimmer. She received her master's degree in broadcast journalism from Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. She graduated at the highest level from Columbia University's executive and organizational coaching program. Kate is also a certified ICF coach (ACC) and a licensed NBI consultant.


Visit TheFullSpiritWorkout.com and KateEckman.tv 
  

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Horoscope Week: July 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: July 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of stinging nettle flowers
Have You Talked to the Weeds in Your Garden Lately?
by Fay Johnstone
As an herbalist I have a very different view of weeds than the average gardener who can’t abide…
The Four Communication Rules and Violations, with an Emphasis on Listening
The Four Communication Rules and Violations, with an Emphasis on Listening
by Jude Bijou
I've found all good communication boils down to just four simple rules. Whether it's with our…
picture of a man writing on sheets of paper
Channeling As A Healing Tool and Its Impact On Grief
by Matthew McKay, PhD.
When my boy died, I had no belief that the dead could talk to us. At best, they seemed gone in…
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
by Amit Goswami, Ph.D.
We now have ever-expanding ways to distract and consume attention through the new digital opiate of…
holding up a mask of a man's face
Is There a Right Way of Interpreting Dreams?
by Serge Kahili King
When you give others the authority to interpret your dreams, you are buying in to their beliefs,…
Is the Emotion of Fear Strongly Related to Cancer?
Are Fear and Cancer Strongly Related?
by Tjitze de Jong
The emotional charge of fear is a huge one. It is the emotion I come across more than any other in…
Energetics and Unity: There Is Nothing Separate, Regardless of Appearances
Energetics and Unity: There Is Nothing Separate, Regardless of Appearances
by Lawrence Doochin
Energetics are foundational to the manifest world we see, and only one unified field of energy…

MOST READ

Writing letters by hand is the best way to learn to read
Writing letters by hand is the best way to learn to read
by Jill Rosen, Johns Hopkins University
Handwriting helps people learn reading skills surprisingly faster and significantly better than…
Wildflower Apothecary: Summer
Wildflower Apothecary: Summer Medicine
by Valerie Segrest (Muckleshoot)
An enchanting blanket of wildflower medicine adorns the continent. Carefully cultivated by…
How Cinderella lost its original feminist edge in the hands of men
How Cinderella lost its original feminist edge in the hands of men
by Alexander Sergeant, Lecturer in Film & Media Studies
In the words of its publicity department, Andrew Lloyd Webber’s new production of Cinderella offers…
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
Digital Distraction and Depression: The 21st Century Scourges
by Amit Goswami, Ph.D.
We now have ever-expanding ways to distract and consume attention through the new digital opiate of…
image
Far more adults don't want children than previously thought
by Jennifer Watling Neal, Associate Professor of Psychology
Fertility rates in the United States have plunged to record lows, and this could be related to the…
Not Just Ordinary Help: Another Miracle on the Road
Not Just Ordinary Help: Another Miracle on the Road
by Joyce Vissell
Have you ever really needed help and it seemed like no one cared? Well, we just had that experience…
A surprised cookie with eyes and a mouth has one bite taken out it
When you choose a snack, taste beats health
by Alison Jones-Duke
When it comes to picking a snack, taste has a hidden advantage over healthfulness in the brain’s…
Postal banking could provide free accounts to 21 million Americans who don’t have access to a credit union or community bank
by Terri Friedline, University of Michigan and Ameya Pawar, University of Chicago
About a quarter of census tracts with a post office don’t have a community bank or credit union…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.