كيف يمكن أن يساعدنا التفكير في المعلومات مثل الحديقة في معالجة المعلومات الخاطئة

امرأة تجلس ويدها فوق أذنيها مثل مكبر الصوت والهاتف الخلوي وجهازي كمبيوتر محمول وجهازي iPad في وجهها
تميل معظم التدخلات التي تركز على المعلومات الخاطئة إلى استهداف مستهلكي المعلومات الفردية أو منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بشكل أساسي. (صراع الأسهم)

الآن انتهى تلقى 61 في المائة من الكنديين جرعتهم الأولى من لقاح COVID-19، نحن في طريقنا إلى مناعة القطيع. ومع ذلك ، لسوء الحظ ، قد يكون هذا الاتجاه في خطر نتيجة لقاح المعلومات الخاطئة ، والتي جعل بعض الناس يترددون في الحصول على لقاح.

عندما يحاول الناس معالجة المعلومات المضللة عن اللقاح ، غالبًا ما يتم تجاهل جهود المعلومات المضللة. هذا لأن تردد اللقاح ، مثل كل المعلومات الخاطئة ، يمثل مشكلة معقدة. لمواجهتها ، نحتاج إلى التفكير في مجموعة متنوعة من العوامل المساهمة المختلفة ذات الطبيعة النظامية والتي تتفاعل مع بعضها البعض. يمكننا القول أن هذه المشكلة هي بيئية في الطبيعة.

نحن نعيش في بيئة معلومات تزداد تعقيدًا وتخضع لأنظمة وعمليات متداخلة ديناميكية. توفر البستنة استعارة مفيدة تساعدنا على فهم كيف يمكن رؤية المعلومات الخاطئة كجزء من هذا علم البيئة المعلومات.

بذر بذور علم اللقاح

باستخدام استعارة البستنة ، فإن بذرة المعرفة هي علم اللقاحات. ويمكن أن تتأثر هذه البذرة بالعديد من العوامل المختلفة.

المعتقدات والمعرفة الفردية هي التربة الموجودة في الحديقة ، والتي يجب أن تكون خصبة حتى تتجذر البذور. في بيئة المعلومات ، ستعتمد على مدى خصوبة التربة للأفكار المتنامية حول سلامة اللقاح وفعاليته التاريخ والخبرات الفردية, التعليم, القيم و النظرة.

المجتمعات والعلاقات هي الزائرين المفيدين أو الضارين (مثل الملقحات أو الآفات). إنهم يحددون مقدار نمو النبات وازدهاره. يمكن أن يكون المؤثرون ملقحات أو آفات يمكن أن تساعد أو تعيق معلومات اللقاح. وكذلك يمكن لأفراد المجتمع والزملاء والأشخاص الذين نتعرض لهم عبر خوارزميات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

اللوائح والسياسات الحكومية هم البستانيون الذين يساعدون في التخلص من الأفكار السيئة قبل أن تترسخ. السياسات التي توجيه كيفية استجابة منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للمعلومات المضللة، أو السياسات التي تؤثر على توحيد وسائل الإعلام، على سبيل المثال ، لوائح مكافحة الاحتكار ، مهمة فيما يتعلق بالتخلص من المعلومات الخاطئة من بيئة المعلومات.

السياسات التي تقوي أو تضعف التعليم العام أيضا دور تلعبه. يحتاج المواطنون إلى فهم جيد للعلم ، والوصول إلى وسائل الإعلام التي يمكن أن توفر أفضل المعلومات المتعلقة باللقاحات.

أخيرًا ، الثقافة هي الشمس والمطر: إنها تحيط بنا جميعًا ويمكن أن تساعد في ازدهار المعلومات ، أو تركها تذبل وعرضة لنمو المعلومات المضللة. الاستعارات الثقافية مثل سوق الأفكار - الافتراض بأن المنافسة المعلوماتية تؤدي دائمًا إلى ازدهار أفضل الأفكار - يمكن أن تخلق عن غير قصد أرضية خصبة لتزايد المعلومات المضللة.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

المعلومات الخاطئة في هذه الاستعارة هي من الأنواع الغازية. تتجذر عندما تكون الظروف مواتية ، وبمجرد إنشائها يمكن أن يكون من الصعب للغاية التخلص منها.

النظر في بيئة المعلومات برمتها

تميل معظم التدخلات التي تركز على المعلومات الخاطئة إلى استهداف الأفراد بشكل أساسي مستهلكي المعلومات أو منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. أي أنهم يعتمدون على الناس لفضح المعلومات عندما يرونها ، ويؤكدون على المعلومات ومحو الأمية الرقمية للفرد ويركزون على الحلول التقنية التي يمكن أن تقدمها المنصات لخوارزمياتهم لوقف انتشار المعلومات المضللة.

هذه التدخلات مهمة بلا شك ، ولكن بدون تدخلات حكومية وثقافية ، تصبح الحلول الفردية والمنصة أقل فعالية - نحتاج إلى أن تتحد جميع أجزاء بيئة المعلومات معًا. بالعودة إلى الحديقة كاستعارة ، إذا كانت لدينا تربة جيدة ، وملقحات مفيدة ، ولكن لا يوجد بستاني لسحب الأعشاب ، ولا ضوء أو ماء ، فلن تنمو بذرتنا.

زراعة البذور

ماذا يعني هذا بالنسبة لأولئك منا الذين يدرسون المعلومات المضللة؟ وهذا يعني أن الأبحاث والمبادرات التي تتناول علم النفس الفردي والمعتقدات التي تقود المعلومات يجب أن تستمر ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع النهج القائمة على المنصة التكنولوجية ، والمبادرات المجتمعية - مثل #ScienceUpFirst، وهي مبادرة تشجع العلماء على المشاركة في التواصل العام حول عملهم.

ولكن بالإضافة إلى هذه التكتيكات ، يحتاج العلماء ومسؤولو الاتصالات العلمية الذين يرغبون في معالجة المعلومات الخاطئة عن اللقاح إلى التأكد من أنهم يبحثون أيضًا في السياسات والتدخلات الثقافية.

كيف يمكن أن يبدو هذا؟ على الجانب السياسي ، عالمة الاجتماع جوان دونوفان نهج المجتمع كله يوضح الطرق التي يمكن لمنظمات المجتمع المدني من خلالها مكافحة التضليل من خلال العمل مع المواطنين ومقدمي خدمات الصحة العامة ومنصات التكنولوجيا.

وبالمثل ، فقد حان الوقت للعلماء للقيام بالمزيد من العمل لفهم الروابط بين ، على سبيل المثال ، تمويل المدارس العامة والمعلومات المضللة على نطاق واسع ، أو تحرير وسائل الإعلام والمعلومات المضللة. بينما يخبرنا الصحفيون أنهم يرون صلة ، فإن إيجاد طرق لدراسة هذه القضايا له أهمية قصوى.

على الجانب الثقافي ، نحتاج إلى التفكير في كيفية تعاملنا مع الأطر الثقافية مثل سوق الأفكار. يجب على العلماء أن يسلطوا الضوء على الدور الذي يلعبونه في توفير غطاء للمعلومات الخبيثة الخبيثة. يحتاج صانعو السياسات والصحفيون إلى مناقشة حرية التعبير بطرق تسمح لنا أيضًا بمعالجة أضرار الكلام مثل المعلومات المضللة والمضايقات. يتطلب هذا فهمًا وإيجاد طرق أفضل لتوصيل الطرق المعقدة التي تتقاطع بها الأفكار مع القوة والمال - وهو ما يتجاوز الانقسام بين المزيد من الكلام الجيد وأقل الكلام السيئ.

عندما يتم إيلاء الكثير من الاهتمام للسياسة والعناصر الثقافية لنظام المعلومات المضللة كما يتم دفعه الآن إلى العناصر الفردية والمنصة ، فإننا سنضمن حصول بذور الاتصال العلمي لدينا على الضوء والماء والعناية التي يحتاجونها للنمو ، وتلك المعلومات المضللة يتم تقليصها قبل أن تتاح لها فرصة لترسيخ جذورها.

نبذة عن الكاتب

جايجريس هودسون ، أستاذ مشارك في الدراسات متعددة التخصصات ، جامعة رويال رودز

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على المحادثة

 

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

شاب يتأمل خارج
كيف تتأمل ولماذا
by جوزيف سيلبي
يمنحنا التأمل وصولاً أكبر إلى الحقائق غير المحلية: رفع المشاعر وتنسيقها ، ...
أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية المنزلية 9 30
عندما تنطفئ شبكة الطاقة ، هل يمكن أن توفر الطاقة الشمسية لمنزلك؟
by ويل جورمان وآخرون
في العديد من المناطق المعرضة للكوارث وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي ، بدأ الناس في التساؤل عما إذا كان الاستثمار في الأسطح ...
أمراض المناطق المدارية 9
لماذا قد لا تكون أمراض المناطق المدارية في أوروبا نادرة لفترة أطول بكثير
by مايكل هيد
حمى الضنك ، عدوى فيروسية تنتشر عن طريق البعوض ، مرض شائع في أجزاء من آسيا واللاتين ...
جدة تقرأ لحفيديها
حكاية جدة الاسكتلندية عن الاعتدال الخريفي
by إلين إيفرت هوبمان
تحتوي هذه القصة على القليل من أمريكا فيها وقليلًا من أوركني فيها. أوركني في…
تغيرت شخصيات كوفيد 9
كيف غيّر الوباء شخصياتنا
by جولانتا بيرك
تشير الأدلة إلى أن الأحداث المهمة في حياتنا الشخصية والتي تسبب ضغوطًا شديدة أو صدمة ...
وضعية النوم الصحيحة 9
إليك الطرق الصحيحة للنوم
by كريستيان مورو وشارلوت فيلبس
على الرغم من أن النوم قد يكون ، كما قال أحد الباحثين ، "السلوك الرئيسي الوحيد في البحث عن ...
سلم يصل الى القمر
اكتشف مقاومتك لفرص الحياة
by بيث بيل
لم أفهم حقًا عبارة "لا تقل أبدًا" حتى بدأت أدرك أنني ...
لماذا تمارين ستينجث 9 30
لماذا يجب أن تكون تمارين القوة وكيفية القيام بذلك
by جاك مكنمارا
تتمثل إحدى ميزات تمارين القوة على تمارين الكارديو في أنها لا تتطلب نفس المستوى من الأكسجين ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

How thinking of information like a garden can help us address misinformation

Woman sits with hands over her ears as megaphone, cell phone, 2 laptops, 2 iPads are thrust in her face
Most interventions that focus on misinformation tend to mainly target individual information consumers or social media platforms. (Shutterstock)

Now that over 61 per cent of Canadians have received their first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine, we’re on our way to herd immunity. Unfortunately however, this trend could be at risk as a result of vaccine misinformation, which has made some people hesitant to get a vaccine.

When people try to address vaccine misinformation efforts are often ignored. This is because vaccine hesitancy, like all misinformation, is a complex problem. To address it, we need to think about a wide variety of different contributing factors that are systemic in nature and interact with one another. We can say that this problem is ecological in nature.

We live in an information environment which is increasingly complex and subject to dynamic intersecting systems and processes. Gardening provides a helpful metaphor to help us understand how misinformation can be seen as part of this information ecology.

Sowing the seeds of vaccine science

Using a gardening metaphor, the seed of knowledge is vaccine science. And this seed can be impacted by many different factors.

Individual beliefs and knowledge are the soil in the garden, which needs to be fertile for the seed to take root. In an information ecology, how fertile the soil is for growing ideas about vaccine safety and efficacy will depend on individual history and experiences, education, values and worldview.

Communities and relationships are the helpful or harmful garden visitors (such as pollinators or pests). They determine how much a plant can grow and thrive. Influencers can be pollinators or pests that can help or hinder vaccine information. So can community members, colleagues and people we are exposed to via social media algorithms.

Government regulations and policies are the gardeners who help to weed out bad ideas before they take root. Policies that guide how social media platforms should respond to misinformation, or policies that influence media consolidation, for example, antitrust regulations, are important with respect to weeding misinformation out of the information ecology.

Policies that either strengthen or weaken public education also have a role to play. Citizens need to have a good understanding of science, and access to media outlets that can provide the best information related to vaccines.

Finally, culture is the sun and rain: it surrounds all of us and can help information thrive, or leave it withering and susceptible to misinformation growth. Cultural metaphors like the marketplace of ideas — the assumption that information competition always leads to the best ideas flourishing — can inadvertently create a fertile ground for misinformation to grow.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Misinformation in this metaphor is an invasive species. It takes root when the conditions are favourable, and once established can be very hard to get rid of.

Considering the whole information environment

Most interventions that focus on misinformation tend to mainly target individual information consumers or social media platforms. That is, they rely on people to debunk information when they see it, they stress information and digital literacy for the individual and they focus on technical fixes that platforms can make to their algorithms to stop the spread of misinformation.

These interventions are undoubtedly important, however without government and culture based interventions then individual and platform solutions are less effective - we need all parts of the information ecology to come together. Returning to the garden as a metaphor, if we have good soil, and helpful pollinators, but no gardener to pull weeds, and no light or water, our seed will not grow.

Growing Seeds

What does this mean for those of us who study misinformation? It means that research and initiatives that address individual psychology and beliefs that drive information should continue, along with technological platform based approaches, and community initiatives - like #ScienceUpFirst, an initiative that encourages scientists to participate in public communication about their work.

But in addition to these tactics, scholars and science communicators who want to address vaccine misinformation need to make sure they’re also looking at policy and cultural interventions.

What can this look like? On the policy side, social scientist Joan Donovan’s whole of society approach shows the ways civil society organizations can combat misinformation by working with citizens, public health providers and technology platforms.

Similarly, it’s time for scholars to do more work to understand the connections between, for example, public school funding and misinformation at scale, or media deregulation and misinformation. While journalists tell us they see a connection, finding ways to study these issues is of utmost importance.

On the culture side, we need to think about how we approach cultural frames like the marketplace of ideas. Scholars should illuminate the role these play in giving cover for malicious misinformation. Policy makers and journalists need to discuss freedom of speech in ways that also allow us to address speech harms like misinformation and harassment. This requires understanding and finding better ways to communicate the complex ways that ideas intersect with power and money - which goes beyond a dichotomy of more speech good, less speech bad.

When as much attention is paid to the policy and cultural elements of the misinformation ecosystem as is now paid to the individual and platform elements, we will ensure our seeds of scientific communication get the light, water and tending they need to thrive, and that misinformation is cut back before it has the chance to take root.

About The Author

Jaigris Hodson, Associate Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies, Royal Roads University

This article originally appeared on The Conversation

 

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

foods healthier when cooked 6 19
9 Vegetables That Are Healthier When Cooked
by Laura Brown, Teesside University
Not all food is more nutritious when eaten raw. Indeed, some vegetables are actually more…
charger incapability 9 19
New USB-C Charger Rule Shows How EU Regulators Make Decisions For The World
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
Have you ever borrowed a friend’s charger only to find it is not compatible with your phone? Or…
social stress and aging 6 17
How Social Stress Can Speed Up Immune System Aging
by Eric Klopack, University of Southern California
As people age, their immune systems naturally begin to decline. This aging of the immune system,…
intermetten fasting 6 17
Is Intermittent Fasting Actually Good For Weight Loss?
by David Clayton, Nottingham Trent University
If you’re someone who’s thought about losing weight or has wanted to get healthier in the past few…
man. woman and child at the beach
Is This The Day? Father's Day Turnaround
by Will Wilkinson
It's Father's Day. What's the symbolic meaning? Could something life-changing happen today in your…
helath effects of bpa 6 19
What Decades Of Research Document The Health Effects Of BPA
by Tracey Woodruff, University of California, San Francisco
Whether or not you’ve heard of the chemical bisphenol A, better known as BPA, studies show that…
ocean sustainability 4 27
The Health Of The Ocean Hinges On Economics And The Idea Of Infinity Fish
by Rashid Sumaila, University of British Columbia
Indigenous Elders recently shared their dismay about the unprecedented decline in salmon…
how pain killers work 4 27
How Do Painkillers Actually Kill Pain?
by Rebecca Seal and Benedict Alter, University of Pittsburgh
Without the ability to feel pain, life is more dangerous. To avoid injury, pain tells us to use a…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.