هي الأخطاء الطبية القاتلة كما شائع مثل العناوين تشير؟

أخطاء طبية

تقرير نشر في مايو 2016 من الباحثين في جونز هوبكنز يدعي أن الأخطاء الطبية هي السبب الرئيسي الثالث للوفاة في الولايات المتحدةوراء أمراض القلب والسرطان فقط.

وفقا للباحثين ، فإن الأخطاء الطبية تمثل وفاة كل من 251,454 في الولايات المتحدة كل عام - ويعتبرون هذا الرقم أقل من الواقع.

هذا هو نوع الاكتشاف الذي يجعل العناوين الرئيسية. في الواقع ، قد تكون قرأت عن هذا التقرير في صحيفة أو حتى رأينا أنها ذكرت على أخبار المساء.

ولكن كما سنجادل ، فإن الأساليب التي استخدمها الباحثون في استخلاص هذا الاستنتاج معيبة ، وهذا يعني أن الاستنتاج بأن الخطأ الطبي هو السبب الرئيسي الثالث للوفاة هو موضع شك كبير.

عندما يحصل مثل هذا التقرير على تغطية إعلامية واسعة ، فإنه يمكن أن يعزز عدم الثقة في الطب ، والذي قد يمنع الناس من الحصول على الرعاية اللازمة - وهو مصدر قلق لكل من يهتم بالمرضى.

ما هو الخطأ في المنهجية؟

يمكن تعريف الخطأ الطبي على أنه قرار أو إجراء ينتج عنه ضرر من جانب المريض ويتفق الخبراء على أنه قد تم إجراؤه بطريقة مختلفة ، وذلك بالنظر إلى المعلومات المتوفرة في ذلك الوقت. لكن تطبيق مثل هذا التعريف في مراجعة سجلات المرضى محفوف بصعوبة.

يجادل مؤلفو الدراسة بأنه يجب إعادة تصميم شهادات الوفاة لإدراك أن المزيد من الوفيات تعزى إلى الخطأ الطبي. هذا اقتراح معقول. لكن الآثار المترتبة على العديد من التقارير الإعلامية أن هذه النتائج تثبت أن مئات الآلاف من الناس يموتون كل عام بسبب الأخطاء الطبية هي مشكلة كبيرة.

أولاً ، لم يجمع مؤلفو تقرير جونز هوبكنز أي بيانات جديدة. وبدلاً من ذلك ، استندوا إلى استنتاجاتهم في الدراسات التي أجراها مؤلفون آخرون. لا يوجد شيء خطأ في ذلك من حيث المبدأ.

ولكن في هذه الحالة ، تكون النتائج مضللة للغاية لأنها تستند إلى استقراءات كبيرة من مجموعات بيانات صغيرة جدًا. استند المؤلفون إلى استنتاجاتهم على أربع دراسات شملت إجمالي عدد حالات وفاة 35 فقط التي تعزى إلى خطأ طبي من حالات دخول مستشفى 4,000 تقريبًا. الاستقراء من وفاة 35 إلى عدد سكان 320 هو قفزة كبيرة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، غالباً ما تقوم هذه الدراسات بعمل ضعيف في التمييز بين الأحداث الضارة والأخطاء. انهم ليسوا نفس الشيء.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

An حدث سلبي يتم تعريف أي نتيجة غير مرغوب فيها بعد إعطاء الدواء أو العلاج للمريض. يرتبط كل اختبار طبي وعلاج - من المضادات الحيوية إلى الجراحة - ببعض مخاطر حدوث نتائج سلبية. يمكن أن تشمل الأحداث الضائرة الموت ، على الرغم من أن هذا أمر نادر الحدوث. في حين أن كل نتيجة عكسية مؤسفة ، إلا أنها لا تثبت أن خطأ ما قد ارتكب - أي أنه بناء على ما كان معروفًا في ذلك الوقت ، كان يجب على الطبيب المعالج اتخاذ قرار مختلف أو التصرف بطريقة مختلفة.

لا يمكن للأطباء أن يعرفوا مسبقاً أي المرضى سيعانون من ردود الفعل هذه ، لذا فإن نسب مثل هذه الوفيات إلى الخطأ أمر مضلل.

هناك مشكلة أخرى في تقرير هوبكنز: اثنتان من الدراسات الأربعة التي تعتمد على استخدام بيانات Medicare ، والتي تشمل بشكل عام المرضى المتقدمين منذ سنوات ، في حالة صحية سيئة نسبياً ويتم علاجهم في المستشفى. من المحزن أن نقول ، العديد من هؤلاء المرضى معرضون بشكل كبير لخطر الموت بداية. سيموت العديد منهم أثناء دخولهم المستشفى ، بغض النظر عن مدى رعايتهم. لإسناد مثل هذه الوفيات إلى الخطأ هو الفشل في حساب حتمية الموت.

في الواقع ، واحدة من دراسات التي يستند إليها تقرير هوبكنز حتى يتضمن عامل تصحيح بارز. يقدر المؤلف عدد الوفيات بسبب خطأ طبي في 210,000. بعد ذلك ، وبناءً على حقيقة أن الأدوات المستخدمة لتحديد الأخطاء غير كاملة ، اختار المؤلف مضاعفة تقديره لعدد الوفيات بسبب خطأ لـ 420,000.

يختلف نوع المخطط البياني الطبي المستخدم في هذه الدراسات بشكل جذري عن رعاية المرضى. غالبًا ما يكون عدم اليقين والإجهاد المرتبطين برعاية المرضى الأكثر إصابة بالغيب غير مرئيين. ترتبط نتائج المريض الضائرة على نحو خطير بميل أكبر لإلقاء اللوم على شخص ما. عندما يموت مريض ، نريد أن يكون شخص ما مسؤولا ، حتى لو كان كل إجراء يتخذ له ما يبرره في ذلك الوقت.

يقترح بحث آخر عدد أقل من الوفيات بسبب خطأ طبي

هذه ليست الدراسة الأولى التي تحاول تقييم مدى تكرار الأخطاء الطبية التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى الموت. دراسات أخرى ترسم صورة مختلفة جدا لعدد الوفيات التي تعزى إلى الخطأ.

In صورة واحدة؟ رداً على الادعاءات المتعلقة بارتفاع معدلات الوفيات بسبب الأخطاء الطبية ، راجع الأطباء حالات وفاة 111 في مستشفيات شؤون المحاربين القدامى ، محاولين تحديد ما إذا كانت هذه الوفيات يمكن الوقاية منها من خلال "الرعاية المثلى". مرضى الـ VA أكبر سناً ومرضى عموماً من سكان الولايات المتحدة ، وبالتالي مقارنة إلى حد ما بالدراسات القائمة على بيانات Medicare. أيضا ، عن طريق استخدام "الرعاية المثلى" ، قد تجذب الدراسة المزيد من الوفيات أكثر من معايير "الخطأ الطبي" ، مما يؤدي إلى ميل إلى المبالغة في تقدير عدد الوفيات الناجمة عن الخطأ.

في البداية ، قدر الباحثون أنه كان بالإمكان منع نسبة 23 من الوفيات. ولكن عندما سئلوا ما إذا كان المرضى قد غادروا المستشفى على قيد الحياة ، انخفض هذا العدد إلى 6 في المئة. وأخيرًا ، عند إضافة المعيار الإضافي "أشهر 3 للصحة المعرفية الجيدة بعد التفريغ" ، انخفض العدد إلى 0.5 في المائة. يجب النظر إلى الوفيات التي يمكن الوقاية منها في السياق ، وهناك فرق كبير بين منع الموت واستعادة الصحة الجيدة.

وبتطبيق المعدلات من دراسة VA إلى بيانات الدخول إلى المستشفيات في الولايات المتحدة ، سينخفض ​​الخطأ الطبي إلى الرقم 7 لأهم أسباب وفاة 10 في الولايات المتحدة. وبتطبيق المعيار الإضافي لثلاثة أشهر من الصحة الإدراكية الجيدة ، فإن الخطأ الطبي لن يتساوى حتى في أعلى 20. وبالطبع ، فإن القيام بذلك يدير نفس المخاطر مثل دراسة جونز هوبكنز. أي ، استقراء من دراسة صغيرة لجميع سكان الولايات المتحدة.

لإنتاج تقرير متوازن حقًا لدور الطب في التسبب في الموت ، سيكون من الضروري أن نأخذ بعين الاعتبار المخاطر وليس فقط فوائد الرعاية الطبية. العديد من المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض القلب والسرطان ومرض السكري الذين ينسبون إلى مثل هذه الدراسات إلى أخطاء طبية لن يكونوا أحياء في المقام الأول بدون علاج طبي ، والتي تفوق فوائدها إلى حد كبير مخاطرها.

بالنظر إلى الطب من وجهة النظر هذه ، فنحن محظوظون لأننا نعيش في عصر يتمتع بقدرات طبية غير مسبوقة ، عندما تقوم المهنة بعمل المزيد لتعزيز الصحة وإطالة العمر أكثر من أي وقت مضى.

ولعل أقوى دليل على أن مثل هذه الدراسات المبالغة في تقدير دور الخطأ الطبي هو أنه عندما يتم تصنيف أسباب الوفاة من قبل منظمات موثوقة مثل المراكز الامريكية لمكافحة الامراض والوقاية منها، لا يتم تضمين حتى الخطأ الطبي في العشرة الأوائل. هل ستؤدي إضافة خطأ طبي إلى شهادات الوفاة إلى تغيير هذا؟ نحن نشك في ذلك.

ليس هناك شك في أن الأخطاء تحدث في الطب كل يوم ، وإذا اتخذنا الخطوات المناسبة ، يمكن تقليل معدلات الخطأ.

لكن التقديرات المتضخمة لعدد الوفيات المرتبطة بالخطأ لا تفيد في تعزيز الفهم وربما تجعل الكثير من المرضى أكثر ترددًا في طلب الرعاية عندما يحتاجون إليها. إن التركيز الضعيف على الخطأ ، دون حسابات مقابلة للفوائد الطبية ، يساهم في فهم مشوه لدور الطب في الصحة والمرض.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريتشارد غونديرمان ، أستاذ الطب في الجامعة ، والفنون الليبرالية ، والعمل الخيري ، جامعة إنديانا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


كتب ذات صلة

at سوق InnerSelf و Amazon

 

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

الذهن والرقص الصحة العقلية 4
كيف يمكن لليقظ والرقص تحسين الصحة العقلية
by أدريانا مندريك ، جامعة الأسقف
لعقود من الزمان ، كانت القشرة الحسية الجسدية تعتبر مسؤولة فقط عن معالجة الحواس ...
الغرب الذي لم يكن موجودا 4
تبدأ المحكمة العليا في الغرب المتوحش الذي لم يكن موجودًا في الواقع
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لقد عمدت المحكمة العليا ، بكل ما يبدو ، إلى تحويل أمريكا عمدًا إلى معسكر مسلح.
كيف تعمل المسكنات 4
كيف تقتل مسكنات الألم الألم؟
by ريبيكا سيل وبنديكت ألتر ، جامعة بيتسبرغ
بدون القدرة على الشعور بالألم ، تكون الحياة أكثر خطورة. لتجنب الإصابة ، يخبرنا الألم باستخدام ...
كيف تحفظ m0ney على الطعام 6 29
كيفية التوفير في فاتورة طعامك والاستمرار في تناول وجبات لذيذة ومغذية
by كلير كولينز وميجان واتنال ، جامعة نيوكاسل
ارتفعت أسعار البقالة إلى الأعلى لعدة أسباب ، بما في ذلك ارتفاع تكاليف ...
ماذا عن الجبن النباتي 4 27
ما يجب أن تعرفه عن الجبن النباتي
by ريتشارد هوفمان ، جامعة هيرتفوردشاير
لحسن الحظ ، بفضل الشعبية المتزايدة للنباتيين ، بدأ مصنعو المواد الغذائية ...
استدامة المحيط 4
تتوقف صحة المحيط على الاقتصاد وفكرة الأسماك اللامتناهية
by رشيد سميلة ، جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية
شارك حكماء السكان الأصليين مؤخرًا استياءهم من الانخفاض غير المسبوق في سمك السلمون ...
الحصول على اللقاح المعزز 4 28
هل يجب أن تحصل على جرعة معززة لـ Covid-19 الآن أم تنتظر حتى السقوط؟
by Prakash Nagarkatti و Mitzi Nagarkatti ، جامعة ساوث كارولينا
بينما تستمر لقاحات COVID-19 في كونها فعالة للغاية في منع الاستشفاء والوفاة ، فإنها ...
الذي كان الفيس بريسلي 4 27
من كان ريال إلفيس بريسلي؟
by مايكل تي بيرتراند ، جامعة ولاية تينيسي
لم يكتب بريسلي مذكرات قط. كما أنه لم يحتفظ بمذكرات. مرة واحدة ، عند إبلاغك بسيرة ذاتية محتملة ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Are Deadly Medical Errors As Common As Headlines Suggest?

medical errors

A report published in May 2016 from researchers at Johns Hopkins claims that medical errors are the third leading cause of death in the U.S., behind only heart disease and cancer.

According to the researchers, medical errors account for 251,454 U.S. deaths each year – and they regard this figure as an underestimate.

That’s the sort of finding that makes headlines. Indeed, you might have read about this report in the newspaper or even seen it reported on the evening news.

But as we’ll argue, the methods the researchers used to draw this conclusion are flawed, and that means that the conclusion that medical error is the third leading cause of death is highly questionable.

When a report like this gets broad media coverage, it can foster unwarranted mistrust of medicine, which could prevent people from seeking needed care – a concern to everyone who takes care of patients.

What’s wrong with the methodology?

A medical error can be defined as a decision or action that results in patient harm and that experts agree should have been made differently, given the information available at the time. But applying such a definition in reviewing patient records is fraught with difficulty.

The study’s authors argue that death certificates should be redesigned to recognize that more deaths are attributable to medical error. That’s a reasonable suggestion. But the implication of many media reports that these findings prove hundreds of thousands of people are dying each year due to medical errors is highly problematic.

First, the authors of the Johns Hopkins report did not collect any new data. Instead, they based their conclusions on studies performed by other authors. There is nothing wrong with that in principle.

But in this case, the results are highly misleading because they are based on large extrapolations from very small data sets. The authors based their conclusions on four studies that included a total of only 35 deaths attributable to medical error out of nearly 4,000 hospital admissions. Extrapolating from 35 deaths to a population of 320 million is quite a leap.

In addition, these studies frequently do a poor job of distinguishing between adverse events and errors. They are not the same thing.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

An adverse event is defined as any undesirable outcome after a drug or treatment is administered to a patient. Every medical test and therapy – from antibiotics to surgery – is associated with some risk of an adverse outcome. Adverse events can include death, although that is rare. While every adverse outcome is regrettable, it does not prove that an error was made – that based on what was known at the time, a medical professional should have made a different decision or acted in a different way.

Physicians typically cannot know in advance which patients will experience such reactions, so attributing such deaths to error is misleading.

There is another problem with the Hopkins report: two of the four studies it draws on use Medicare data, which generally include patients advanced in years, in relatively poor health and being treated in the hospital. Sad to say, many such patients are at substantially increased risk of death to begin with. Many will die during their hospitalization, no matter how well they are cared for. To attribute such deaths to error is to fail to account for the inevitability of death.

In fact, one of the studies on which the Hopkins report is based even includes a prominent correction factor. The author estimates the number of deaths due to medical error at 210,000. Then, based on the fact that the tools used to identify errors are imperfect, the author chooses to double his estimate of the number of deaths due to error to 420,000.

The sort of medical chart review used in these studies is radically different from caring for patients. The uncertainty and stress associated with caring for the very sickest patients are often invisible to hindsight. Seriously adverse patient outcomes are associated with a greater tendency to blame someone. When a patient has died, we want someone to be responsible, even if every action taken appeared justifiable at the time.

Other research suggests many fewer deaths from medical error

This isn’t the first study to try to assess how often medical errors can lead to death. Other studies paint a very different picture of the number of deaths attributable to error.

In one responding to claims of very high death rates due to medical error, physicians reviewed 111 deaths in Veteran’s Affairs hospitals, attempting to determine whether such deaths were preventable with “optimal care.” VA patients are generally older and sicker than the U.S. population, and thus somewhat comparable to studies based on Medicare data. Also, by using “optimal care,” the study may catch even more deaths than the “medical error” standards, resulting in a tendency to overestimate the number of deaths due to error.

At first, the researchers estimated that 23 percent of deaths could have been prevented. But when they were asked whether patients could have left the hospital alive, this number dropped to 6 percent. Finally, when the additional criterion of “3 months of good cognitive health after discharge” was added, the number dropped to 0.5 percent. Preventable deaths should be viewed in context, and there is a big difference between preventing death and restoring good health.

Applying the rates from the VA study to U.S. hospital admission data, medical error would drop down to number 7 of the top 10 causes of death in the U.S. Applying the additional criterion of three months of good cognitive health, medical error would not even rank in the top 20. Of course, doing so runs the same risks as the Johns Hopkins study; namely, extrapolating from a small study to the entire U.S. population.

To produce a truly balanced account of medicine’s role in causing death, it would be necessary to account not only for the risks but also the benefits of medical care. Many patients with heart disease, cancer and diabetes whose deaths such studies attribute to medical error would not even be alive in the first place without medical treatment, whose benefits vastly outweigh its risks.

Looking at medicine from this point of view, we are fortunate to be living in an era of unsurpassed medical capabilities, when the profession is doing more to promote health and prolong life than at any time in the past.

Perhaps the strongest evidence that such studies overestimate the role of medical error is that the fact that, when causes of death are ranked by authoritative organizations such as the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, medical error is not even included in the top ten. Would adding medical error to death certificates change this? We doubt it.

There is no doubt that mistakes occur in medicine every day, and if we take appropriate steps, error rates can be reduced.

But inflated estimates of the number of deaths associated with error do nothing to advance understanding and may in fact make many patients more reluctant to seek care when they need it. A blinkered focus on error, without corresponding accounts of medicine’s benefits, contributes to a distorted understanding of medicine’s role in health and disease.

About The Author

Richard Gunderman, Chancellor's Professor of Medicine, Liberal Arts, and Philanthropy, Indiana University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.


Related Books

at InnerSelf Market and Amazon

 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
changing peoples minds 8 3
Why It’s Hard To Challenge Someone’s False Beliefs
by Lara Millman
Most people think they acquire their beliefs using a high standard of objectivity. But recent…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.