Retourner au gymnase: comment éviter les blessures

Retourner au gymnase: comment éviter les blessures après le verrouillage
Les blessures aux tendons et aux muscles sont les plus courantes.
DuxX / Shutterstock

Après des mois en lock-out, les gymnases en Angleterre ont rouvert le 12 avril 2021. Beaucoup sont déjà revenus avec impatience avec des plans pour revenir à leurs anciennes routines de fitness. Mais s'il peut être tentant de revenir directement à ce que vous faisiez auparavant, cela peut entraîner une blessure - c'est pourquoi il est préférable de se détendre après des mois de congé.

Les blessures surviennent lors de la charge d'entraînement dépasse la tolérance tissulaire - si fondamentalement, quand vous faites plus que votre corps n'est capable de le faire. La fatigue, la force musculo-tendineuse, l'amplitude des mouvements articulaires et les blessures antérieures au tissu peuvent tous augmenter la probabilité de subir une blessure.

Les blessures les plus courantes associées à des charges d'entraînement excessives sont les tendinopathies et les foulures. La tendinopathie décrit le moment où les tendons - le tissu reliant vos muscles à vos os - n'ont pas réussi à se réparer correctement des dommages antérieurs. Les tendinopathies courantes surviennent dans le fesse, ischio-jambiers proximal (cuisse) et Achille, alors que les tensions musculaires les plus courantes se produisent dans le épaule et notre genou. Mais comprendre comment notre corps change en réponse à l'entraînement peut nous aider à réduire le risque de blessure lorsque nous retournons au gymnase.

L'exercice est stressant pour notre corps. A ce titre, une session de formation "alarmes»Divers systèmes corporels (y compris les systèmes musculo-squelettique et cardio-respiratoire), perturbant l'état normal du corps. Ces systèmes répondent par la suite au stress en développant une résistance et en s'adaptant au-delà de leur capacité actuelle - souvent appelée surcompensation. Essentiellement, ce processus nous conduit à devenir plus forts ou plus en forme.

Surtout, l'adaptation se produit après l'entraînement et prend du temps. Si le corps n'est pas habitué au type d'entraînement ou ne s'est pas suffisamment remis d'une séance d'entraînement précédente, cela peut entraîner des blessures ou des maladies. C'est pourquoi il est essentiel d'augmenter progressivement le stress à l'entraînement au fil du temps et de vous assurer que vous êtes bien récupéré entre les séances d'entraînement.

Il est également important de se rappeler qu'après une longue pause, même si vous pouvez toujours faire la même quantité d'entraînement qu'avant, le stress sur votre corps pourrait être beaucoup plus important. Par exemple, disons que vous avez pu effectuer une course de 20 minutes sur le tapis roulant à 10 km / heure avant le verrouillage avec une fréquence cardiaque moyenne de 125 battements par minute. Avec enthousiasme, vous effectuez la même course après le verrouillage - mais votre fréquence cardiaque actuelle bat maintenant en moyenne 160 battements par minute.

Cela nous montre que si le charge d'entraînement externe (l'exercice, tel que décrit dans votre plan d'entraînement) est le même qu'il était avant le verrouillage de la réponse du corps à l'entraînement, le charge d'entraînement interne est beaucoup plus grand. Dans ce cas, une fréquence cardiaque plus élevée indique un stress plus important sur votre système cardio-respiratoire. Donc, la même séance est devenue plus fatigante.

Et si vous avez moins bougé pendant le verrouillage, il est possible que la force et la coordination des membres inférieurs aient souffert. Cela signifie que vous serez moins en mesure de faire face à l'impact de la course à pied, en mettant davantage de pression sur vos articulations, vos muscles et vos os. Sans récupération meilleure ou plus longue, cette accumulation de stress pourrait entraîner des blessures dans les quelques semaines suivant l'entraînement.

Réduire les risques

Pour éviter les blessures courantes, une approche prudente des activités à fort impact telles que le saut peut être bénéfique, ainsi que celles qui nécessitent un allongement musculaire, comme l'abaissement d'un poids. Bien que ces activités soient bénéfiques pour la santé musculaire et squelettique et devraient être encouragées pour la plupart des gens, elles sont toujours difficiles à réaliser et vous devriez passer du temps à développer une technique appropriée avant de soulever des poids plus lourds ou de faire des exercices plus vigoureux.


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Voici quelques autres choses que vous pouvez faire pour éviter les blessures lorsque vous retournez à la salle de sport:

  • Réchauffer Il a été démontré que l'échauffement améliorer les performances et notre réduire les blessures. Un bon échauffement devrait augmenter régulièrement votre rythme cardiaque et préparer votre corps à l'exercice que vous vous apprêtez à effectuer. Envisagez d'inclure des exercices qui mobilisent les articulations clés et qui engagent vos principaux groupes musculaires, tels que les squats et les fentes de poids corporel.

  • Surveillez la sensation de votre entraînement Surveiller votre charge interne - la réponse de votre corps à une séance d'entraînement - est un excellent moyen de vous éviter d'en faire trop. Vous pouvez utiliser les évaluations des échelles d'effort perçu (EPR), telles que Borg's Échelle CR-10, qui mesure l'effort sur une échelle de un à dix. De cette façon, vous pouvez évaluer votre effort global pour différentes activités d'entraînement pour vous aider à déterminer à quel point vous vous êtes entraîné.

  • Faites un entraînement par intervalles à haute intensité (HIIT) Les entraînements courts et intenses sont populaires et peuvent être un moyen sûr et efficace d'améliorer la santé et la forme physique. Tant qu'ils sont haute intensité, ils sont également de faible durée, de sorte que la charge d'entraînement globale est généralement facilement gérée. Cependant, envisagez de choisir une option à faible impact au départ (comme le vélo), car les exercices de haute intensité - et à fort impact - pourraient augmenter le risque de blessure après un certain temps.

  • Faire de la musculation Faire de la musculation, comme soulever des poids, deux à trois fois chaque semaine peut préparer nos tissus pour des activités plus complexes, ainsi que d'avoir un large éventail d'avantages pour la santé tels que l'amélioration de la santé mentale, la prévention des chutes et réduire la mortalité.

D'autres conseils sont de rester hydraté, de porter des vêtements et des chaussures appropriés et de prendre suffisamment de temps pour récupérer - en mettant l'accent sur le sommeil et une bonne nutrition. Les stratégies de récupération comme le roulement en mousse, les vêtements de compression et même la thérapie à l'eau froide peuvent aider certaines personnes, mais la meilleure façon de récupérer est de se concentrer sur le sommeil et l'alimentation.

Bien sûr, vous ne devriez pas laisser le risque de blessure vous décourager de faire de l'exercice. En prenant les choses lentement au début, vous serez moins susceptible de développer une blessure. Surtout, faites de l'exercice et développez une routine qui vous convient.

À propos des auteursLa Conversation

Matthew Wright, Maître de conférences en biomécanique et force et conditionnement, Université de Teesside; Mark Richardson, Maître de conférences en rééducation sportive, Université de Teesside et Paul Chesterton, Professeur agrégé, thérapie sportive et réadaptation, Université de Teesside

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.
 

Vous aimeriez aussi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

LES PLUS LUS

argent numérique 9 15
Comment l'argent numérique a changé notre façon de vivre
by Daromir Rudnyckyj
En termes simples, la monnaie numérique peut être définie comme une forme de monnaie qui utilise des réseaux informatiques pour…
Un autel d'équinoxe
Faire un autel d'équinoxe et d'autres projets d'équinoxe d'automne
by Ellen Evert Hopman
L'équinoxe d'automne est le moment où la mer devient agitée lorsque les coups de vent hivernaux s'installent. C'est aussi le…
Sedna et notre monde émergent
Sedna et notre monde émergent
by Sarah Varcas
Sedna est la déesse de la mer inuite, également connue sous le nom de mère ou maîtresse de la mer et déesse du…
forêts océaniques 9 18
Les forêts océaniques sont plus grandes que l'Amazonie et plus productives que nous ne le pensions
by Albert Pessarrodona Silvestre, et al
Au large des côtes de l'Afrique australe se trouve la grande forêt marine africaine, et l'Australie possède…
signes d'inégalité 9 17
Les États-Unis ont considérablement chuté dans les classements mondiaux qui mesurent la démocratie et les inégalités
by Kathleen Fridl
Les États-Unis peuvent se considérer comme un « leader du monde libre », mais un indice de développement…
maladies tropicales 9 24
Pourquoi les maladies tropicales en Europe pourraient ne pas être rares plus longtemps
by Michel Tête
La dengue, une infection virale transmise par les moustiques, est une maladie courante dans certaines régions d'Asie et d'Amérique latine…
a, jeune homme, méditation, dehors
Comment méditer et pourquoi
by Joseph Selbie
La méditation nous donne un meilleur accès aux réalités non locales : émotions édifiantes et harmonisantes,…
une grand-mère lisant à ses deux petits-enfants
Conte écossais d'une grand-mère pour l'équinoxe d'automne
by Ellen Evert Hopman
Cette histoire contient un peu d'Amérique et un peu d'Orkney. Les Orcades sont au…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Going Back To The Gym: How To Avoid Injuries

Going Back To The Gym: How To Avoid Injuries After Lockdown
Tendon and muscle injuries are the most common.
DuxX/ Shutterstock

After months in lockdown, gyms in England reopened on April 12, 2021. Many have already eagerly returned with plans to get back to their old fitness routines. But while it may be tempting to go straight back to what you used to do, this could result in an injury – which is why it’s better to ease into training after months off.

Injuries happen when training load exceeds tissue tolerance – so basically, when you do more than your body is capable of. Fatigue, muscle-tendon strength, joint range of motion, and previous injury to the tissue can all increase the likelihood of sustaining an injury.

The most common injuries associated with excessive training loads are tendinopathies and strains. Tendinopathy describes when tendons – the tissue connecting your muscles to your bones – have failed to repair properly from previous damage. Common tendinopathies occur in the buttock, proximal hamstring (thigh) and Achilles, while the most common muscle strains happen in the shoulder and knee. But understanding of how our body changes in response to training can help us reduce injury risk when we return to the gym.

Exercise is stressful to our body. As such, a training session “alarms” various body systems (including the muscular-skeletal and cardio-respiratory systems), disturbing the body’s normal state. These systems subsequently respond to the stress by developing resistance and adapting beyond their current capacity – often referred to as supercompensation. Essentially, this process leads to us becoming stronger or fitter.

Importantly, adaptation occurs after training and requires time. If the body is unaccustomed to the type of training or has not adequately recovered from a previous training session, then this can lead to injury or illness. This is why it’s key to increase training stress gradually over time and ensure you are well recovered between training sessions.

It’s also important to remember that after a long break, even if you can still do the same amount of training as before, the stress on your body could much greater. So for example, let’s say you were able to perform a 20-minute run of the treadmill at 10km/hour prior to lockdown with an average heart rate of 125 beats per minute. Enthusiastically, you complete the same run after lockdown – but your current heart rate now beats an average of 160 beats per minute.

This shows us that while the external training load (the exercise, as described in your training plan) is the same as it was pre-lockdown the body’s response to the training, the internal training load is much greater. In this case a higher heart rate indicates greater stress on your cardio-respiratory system. So, the same session has become more tiring.

And if you’ve moved less throughout lockdown, it’s possible your lower limb strength and coordination has suffered. This means you’ll be less able to cope with the impact of running, placing greater stress on your joints, muscles, and bones. Without better or longer recovery, this accumulation of stress could lead to injury within a few weeks of training.

Reducing risk

To help avoid common injuries a cautious approach to high-impact activities such as jumping may be beneficial, as well those that require muscle lengthening, such as lowering a weigh. While these activities benefit muscular and skeletal health and should be encouraged for most people, they are still challenging to perform and you should spend time developing proper technique before lifting heavier weights or doing more vigorous exercises.

Here are a few other things you can do to avoid injuries as you return to the gym:

  • Warm-up Warming up has been consistently shown to improve performance and reduce injury. A good warm-up should steadily raise your heart rate and prepare your body for the exercise you are about to perform. Consider including exercises that mobilise key joints and that engage your major muscle groups, such as body weight squats and lunges.

  • Monitor how your training feels Monitoring your internal load – your body’s response to a training session – is a great way to help you avoid doing too much. You can use ratings of perceived exertion (RPE) scales, such as Borg’s CR-10 scale, which measures exertion on a scale from one to ten. This way you can rate your overall exertion for different training activities to help you determine how hard your have trained.

  • Do high-intensity interval training (HIIT) Short, intense workouts are popular and can be a safe and effective way of improving health and fitness. While they are high intensity, they’re also low in duration, so the overall training load is usually easily managed. However, consider choosing a low-impact option initially (such as cycling), as high intensity – and high-impact – exercises could increase injury risk after some time off.

  • Do strength training Doing strength training, such as lifting weights, two to three times each week can prepare our tissues for more complex activities, as well as having a wide ranging health benefits such as improving mental health, preventing falls and reducing mortality.

Other tips include staying hydrated, wearing appropriate clothing and footwear, and taking enough time to recover – with a focus on sleep and good nutrition. Recovery strategies like foam rolling, compression garments and even cold water therapy might help for some people, but the best way to recover is to focus on sleeping and eating.

Of course, you shouldn’t let the risk of injury put you off exercising. Taking things slowly at first will ensure you’re less likely to develop an injury. Most importantly, enjoy exercise, and develop a routine which benefits your lifestyle.

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Matthew Wright, Lecturer in Biomechanics and Strength and Conditioning, Teesside University; Mark Richardson, Senior Lecturer in Sports Rehabilitation, Teesside University, and Paul Chesterton, Associate Professor, Sports Therapy and Rehabilitation, Teesside University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.
 


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
Allow The Fear, Transform It, Move Through It, and Understand It
by Lawrence Doochin
Fear feels crappy. There is no way around that. But most of us don't respond to our fear in a…
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
My Prescription for Anxiety and Worry
by Jude Bijou
We’re a society that likes to worry. Worrying is so prevalent, it almost feels socially acceptable.…
curving road in New Zealand
Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Life consists of choices... some are "good" choices, and others not so good. However every choice…
Photo of Messier M27 nebula
Horoscope Current Week: September 13 - 19, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
Blessing for Spiritual Seekers and for People Suffering from Depression
by Pierre Pradervand
There is such a need in the world today of the most tender and immense compassion and deeper, more…
Punishment or Divine Gift?
Is It Punishment or Divine Gift?
by Joyce Vissell
When tragedy, death of a loved one, or extreme disappointment strikes, do you ever wonder if our…
clear bottles of colored water
Welcome to The Love Solution
by Will Wilkinson
Picture a glass of clear water. You are holding a dropper of ink over it and you release a single…
Quick Vibe Fixes You Can Do At Home or Elsewhere
Quick Vibe Fixes You Can Do At Home or Elsewhere
by Athena Bahri
You are a remarkable being of energy, individual and unique in your own right. You have both the…
Reframing: Seeking Out New Ways Of Perceiving Reality
Reframing: Seeking Out New Ways Of Perceiving Reality
by James Creighton
We make meaning in the world around us by taking a limited number of external facts and…
Is It Time To Stop Minding Your Own Business?
Stop Minding Your Business... Because EVERYTHING Is Your Business!
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Through the years, I've read many articles (and books) that recommend minding your own business.…
Working Hard or Workaholism? Are You A Work Addict?
Working Hard or Workaholism? Are You A Work Addict?
by Barry Vissell
Before smartphones, tablets, and other portable devices, people used to work hard at their jobs,…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want.
Having The Courage To Live Life and Ask For What You Need Or Want
by Amy Fish
You need to have the courage to live life. This includes learn­ing to ask for what you need or…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.