أصل الكآبة - فقدان عظمة الحب

كأسين شمبانيا وبالونين ... احتفال
الصورة عن طريق ناقلات OpenClipart 

نرى أن الاكتئاب يرافقه صفات فرعية مختلفة مثل الغضب ، أو الأذى ، أو العجز ، أو الخوف ، أو الحزن ، أو الحزن ، لكن جذر الكآبة هو نفسه. ونحن نرى الصفات الثانوية الناشئة عن طريقتنا المتعلقة بالاكتئاب أو الموضوع الظاهر للاكتئاب.

يبدو أن الاكتئاب يحدث عندما ننتبه إلى خوفنا الأساسي من أننا لسنا قادرين على الحياة ومضاعفاتها. هذا ينبع من الشعور بأنه محدود الذهن. أظن أن كل الاكتئاب هو دالة على كيفية ارتباط هويتنا ، أو شعورنا بعقلية عاطفية منفصلة ، بالحياة عندما نشعر بالعجز للتأثير عليها كما نرغب ، مما يثير الإحساس بعدم القيمة.

أن تكون منفصلًا وحصريًا ولا يستحق

يبدو أن الاكتئاب لا ينبع إلا من الشعور بصفاتنا الداخلية الحصرية ، ذلك الشعور بأننا مطلعين على المعرفة الحصرية لأعمالنا الداخلية - التي هي لنا ، والتي لا نعرفها إلا من قبلنا فقط. الشعور بالوحدة والحصرية هو مصدر الاكتئاب. ينشأ ذلك كرد فعل لهويتنا عندما يشعر بأنه غير قوي في آثاره على العالم. وينظر إلى "العالم" على أنه أشياء أو أشياء أخرى ، أو مجموعة من المواقف والأحداث.

قد تشير بعض الشروط إلى أن هذا الذهن غير قادر ، غير قوي في علاقته بها ، ومع ذلك قد لا ينتج عنه الاكتئاب. إن ما يثير الاكتئاب هو تلك الأحداث التي نشعر فيها بعدم القدرة على تحمل بعض المعنى أو الأهمية بالنسبة لنا. إنهم "يميزوننا" على أنهم غير جديرين بالاهتمام. بالطبع هذا تفسير شخصي ، يحدده ما نعتقد أنه يجب علينا "أن نكون" جديرين به.

إن معنى الذهن الخالص يفسح المجال للتملأ بالافتراضات التي لا يتم تحديها إلى حد كبير بسبب الجودة المعزولة التي تنشأ عن طلب التفرد. افتراضنا الرئيسي هو أن افتراضاتنا (الأفكار والمشاعر حول كيف هي) صحيحة.

صرف انتباهك عن الكآبة

نرى أن الاكتئاب يرتفع عندما يتم تشتيت انتباهنا بما فيه الكفاية من افتراضات عقولنا ، أو موضوع الاكتئاب ، أو عندما يسمح لنا ، من خلال حالة الأشياء ، أن نشعر بالقوة. عدا هذا ننتظر حتى ننسى.

دعونا ننظر في تفسير محتمل لواحد من أشد مواضيع الاكتئاب والأكثر شيوعا ، وفقدان علاقة غرامية عاطفية. أولاً ، دعونا نفحص افتراضاتنا حول الحب العاطفي.

أود استخدام تشبيه قاسٍ لكن دقيق لعلاقتنا بالحب العاطفي. نعتقد أنه جيد ؛ ليس فقط جيدًا ، ولكنه واحد من أعظم الأشياء في العالم. أيضا ، نحن نفترض أن تحقيقه يتعلق بجسم معين ، بشري آخر. نحدد "صلاحه" كنتيجة لحقيقة أنه يجعلنا نشعر بالرضا. وتنتج أحاسيس ممتعة للغاية في جسمنا العقل. ثم مرة أخرى ، وكذلك يفعل الهيروين.

حب عاطفي وإصلاح الهيروين لديهم الكثير من القواسم المشتركة. إن ما يطلق عليه الملذات المرتبطة بتحقيقها هي نتيجة تحول في الأحاسيس التي تسمح للعقل الجسدي أن يشعر بخير نفسه عندما يتأثر بموضوع هذا الإصلاح.

ترتبط هذه الأحاسيس بأشكال مختلفة من المشاعر والتصورات. في علاقة الحب ، غالبًا ما ترتبط الأحاسيس الممتعة بأشياء مثل المنزل ، والأغنية ، واللمسة ، والعادة ، والشعور ، والصوت ، والتواصل المشترك ، ومفهوم كيف يكون العالم.

إن مفهوم "الواقع" الذي يحفزه أو يخلق رائحة الحب القوية هو مفهوم يُنظر إليه على أنك تستحق "الوجود" - فهو يحمل هدفًا لوجودك. بالطبع ، ما يتطلبه الشعور بالاستحقاق يمكن أن يكون معقدًا للغاية ومربكًا اعتمادًا على مختلف الأفكار و "المعاني" للأحداث والأشياء في علاقتك بك. بغض النظر عن كيفية وصولك إلى هناك ، فإن المحصلة النهائية هي أنك تحصل على هذه الأحاسيس الجيدة بمجرد أن تحصل على "ضربة" على هذا الشيء ، سواء كان شخصًا آخر أو هيروين.

عندما تصبح "السامية" محايدة

يُنظر إلى هذه الأحاسيس في النهاية على أنها مجرد "حالة محايدة" ويتم ملاحظتها بشكل أساسي عند فقدانها أو غيابها. إذن تصبح الحياة سلبية بهدف الحصول أو الحفاظ على الشيء الذي يخرجها من السلبية إلى مجرد محايد ، مع الانجذاب الإضافي المؤقت لاندفاع الإحساس الذي يصاحب الدخول إلى تلك الحالة.

صفة أخرى تنطبق على كليهما هي الشعور المتزايد بأن بقاء المرء أو سلامته مهددان بفقدانهما. هذا عامل تحفيزي قوي للغاية للحفاظ على العلاقة ، وتوليد السلبية والخوف كخلفية للعلاقة.

إذا فحصنا بصدق الرغبة في تجربة الحب العاطفي ، يجب أن نعترف بأن دافعه يقع بشكل كبير في الأحاسيس الجسدية التي نحصل عليها عندما يتعلق الأمر بموضوع شغفنا ومحبتنا. قد نقول بنبوات رائعة أن هذا هو "حب" هذا الشخص ، وهو بالطبع محرّم في افتراضنا وتدريبنا. نقول نحن على استعداد للموت أو القتل من أجل هذا "الحب" وهو جيد ، صحيح ، ونبيل. Horseshit. نحن على استعداد للموت من أجل إصلاح الهيروين وليست متحمسة لذلك!

البحث عن "سمو" الحب ... أو الهيروين

إذا كنا صادقين بلا رحمة ، فإننا نلاحظ أنه ليس حقا "الشخص" الذي نسعى إليه - هو الإحساس الذي يستثيره ذلك الشخص عندما نكون في شركتهم ، إما كوجود أو مفهوم ، ذاكرة. هذه التجربة هي ما نحن بعد. إذا تم إنشاؤه من قبل شخص آخر ، فإننا نتحول بسرعة إلى ذلك الآخر. لا يهم حقا من أو ما هو الكائن. يجب عليه ببساطة تلبية متطلبات تلك التجربة. لذلك نسمي هذا الحب العاطفي ونسميها جيدا.

إن ندرة تجربتنا للأشياء التي تنتج تلك الأحاسيس - أو التي نسمح لها بإنتاج تلك الأحاسيس ، أو استخدامها كعذر لإنتاجها - هي أكبر مؤيد للوهم بأنها تتعلق بالفعل بشخص تجربتنا.

تخيل لو أن كل شخص وكل شيء أنتج هذه الأحاسيس. ثم ستكون حالتنا الثابتة دائماً ، ولن نعرِّف حب شخص آخر على أنه السبب. طالما أننا لا نستطيع أن ننتج تلك التجربة في أنفسنا دون أن يظهر الكائن كسبب ، طالما أننا نشعر بالحاجة إلى الكائن لتحقيق هذه الأحاسيس العميقة ، فعندئذ لا يمكننا حقاً أن نحب "كائن" الكائن. يصبح كل "أحب الواحد" بالنسبة لنا "كيسًا من الهيروين" ، وستظل هذه الحاجة دائمًا سحابًا للتواصل العلني الحر بين الكائنات.

الحب ينشأ من "الوجود" - وليس من وجود

الحب ، الناشئ من "الوجود" ، لن يكون صحيحًا إلا عندما لا يكون هناك اندماج أو اندماج مع أي نوع من الحاجة أو التبعية على الإطلاق. لذلك هو مع العاطفة. يجب علينا ببساطة أن نلاحظ ما هي الأشياء.

يبدو أن الانخراط العاطفي مع كل أنواع الأشياء على مستوى الحماس ، والمحبة ، والشهوة ، والإثارة ، والامتلاء في التعبير والشعور ، هو جزء وظيفي للغاية من الحياة. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكننا أن ننصف هذا الشغف أو الحب إذا لم نفرق بين ما هو وماذا وضح الأمر.

إن السماح للأشياء بأن تكون مجرد أشياء ، دون ربط كل أنواع التعقيدات والمعاني المتعلقة بقدرتنا الشخصية أو قدرتنا الشخصية ، يجعلنا نخليها. نتجنب الاكتئاب لأن الأحاسيس التي تأتي وتذهب تعني القليل عن الكمال. لا يجب أن نكتسح بغياب (أو وجود) هذه الأحاسيس. وبما أن الأحاسيس تلاحظ على النقيض من غيابها ، يجب أن نفهمها ونسمح لها بأن تكون كذلك. في نفس اللحظة ، يكون هذا صحيحًا دائمًا ، سواء كان الشعور بحساسية نشأ أو لا ينشأ.

عندما يكون الحب صحيحًا ، فإن النموذج المتغير لن يغير هذا على الإطلاق. لا يشعر بها فقط أو بسبب وجود أو مظهر كائن يعبر عن وجود هذا الحب المحسوس. بما أن هذا الحب متجدد في التجربة ، بدلاً من أن ينتج في الواقع في الإدراك ، فإنه لا يأتي ولا يذهب بأي شكل من الأشكال.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
كتب شمال الأطلسي ، بيركلي ، كاليفورنيا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.
© 1991، 2018. http://northatlanticbooks.com.

المادة المصدر

تأملات الكينونة
بواسطة بيتر رالستون.

غلاف الكتاب: تأملات في الوجود بقلم بيتر رالستون.هذه المقالات المبكرة ، الشخصية ، والتأملية ، والاستقصائية برفق ، تتمتع بجودة خام وحديثة تسبق النظرية والممارسة الأكثر رسمية لكتاب بيتر رالستون الشائعين ، كتاب الجهل و السعي وراء الوعي. العديد من الأسئلة التي قد نكافح معها في الحياة - الهوية فيما يتعلق بالآخرين ، والأصالة في مواجهة أنظمة المعتقدات ، والجاذبية التي يجب أن نتبعها في السعي وراء دوافع غير فعالة لخدمة الذات ، وميلنا إلى تصور الأشياء بدلاً من تجربتها - موصوفة هنا بلغة محادثة بسيطة تقريبًا. في محاولة لفهم ماهية المعرفة الأصيلة ، أصبحت استفسارات رالستون بحثًا عن كيفية تطوير البشر لإحساس أعمق بأنفسهم كمشاركين في العالم.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب. متاح أيضًا ككتاب مسموع وكإصدار Kindle.


عنوان أحدث من هذا المؤلف: 

زن الجسم، ويجري: نهج مستنير في المهارة البدنية، غريس، والسلطة
من قبل بيتر ورالستون رالستون لورا

غيرها من الكتب عن هذا الكاتب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

صورة: بيتر رالستونيعمل بيتر رالستون مع الناس لتوسيع وتعميق "وعيهم" بشكل أصيل ، ولكي يصبحوا بشرًا أكثر واقعية وصدقًا وفعالية. إنه يسهل الناس في فهم ذواتهم وعقولهم ، وفي زيادة وعيهم بطبيعة الإدراك والخبرة والوجود وطبيعة "الوجود". كما أنه يفعل ذلك من خلال تعليم الناس عن أجسادهم وكيف يكونون أكثر فاعلية في استخدامها ، بالإضافة إلى تعليمهم فن القوة السهلة - وهو فن قتالي داخلي واسع النطاق يستخدم قوة سهلة "للعب" مع الآخرين ، والتعميق. فهم التفاعل الفعال باستخدام مبادئ مثل الانضمام والتكامل والقيادة وما إلى ذلك لإنشاء مهارات تفاعلية بارعة. http://www.PeterRalston.com. قم بزيارة موقعه على الإنترنت في www.chenghsin.com.
  

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

أصوات INNERSELF

امرأة تحت بدر كامل تحمل ساعة رملية كاملة
كيف تعيش في وئام تام
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
كلمة الانسجام لها معاني مختلفة. يتم استخدامه في الموسيقى ، في العلاقات ، في إشارة إلى ...
اكتمال القمر فوق الأشجار العارية
الأبراج: أسبوع 17 - 23 يناير 2022
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
01 15 يلقي بشكل طبيعي على الحضيض
إلقاء بشكل طبيعي على الحضيض: العقدة الشمالية في برج الثور
by سارة فاركاس
تؤكد عقدة الثور الشمالية أن الوقت قد حان لوضع الأسس المادية للعالم الجديد مثل ...
امرأة تنظر من الباب من خلال "ستارة" أو رقاقات ثلجية
الجميع يؤلم احيانا
by جويس Vissell
هل وجدت نفسك يومًا ما تنظر إلى أشخاص معينين وتفكر في نفسك ، "بالتأكيد هذا الشخص ...
الشفق المجنون بما في ذلك اللون الأحمر. التقطت بواسطة ريان الزين في ٨ يناير ٢٠٢٢ @ أوتسوكي ، لابلاند الفنلندية
الأبراج: أسبوع 10 - 16 يناير 2022
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
وجه رجل عجوز في صورة شخصية بوجه طفل ينظر إليه
دعوة للعمل! يجب أن نصنع الفارق
by بيير Pradervand
"النشاط الروحي هو ممارسة تجمع بين العمل الدنيوي والداخلي لـ ...
امرأة تقف فوق الهاوية
ضوء نداء من الهاوية
by لورا أفرسانو
صلاتي هي أن نخلق جميعًا مساحة للظلام يولد طريقة جديدة للرؤية والاستشعار ...
الهندباء في مرحلة البذور بألوان مختلفة
التجديد والتحول: هذا هو أنت!
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
نحن باستمرار في عملية تجديد أنفسنا والتحول. جسديا ، نحن ...
ممر آمن من خلال الوضع الحالي مع الجسور العاطفية الثلاثة
ممر آمن من خلال الوضع الحالي مع الجسور العاطفية الثلاثة
by جود بيجو
سأتحدث هذا الشهر عن الجسور العاطفية وما يمكننا القيام به لعبور ...
حتى واحد بما فيه الكفاية ... ماذا أحب أن أفعل؟
يكفي واحد: ماذا ستفعل الحب؟
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
نحن نعيش في عالم من التطرف. ثراء مدقع ، فقر مدقع. مذهب المتعة والفرح الشديد ، و ...
طريقتان قويتان لتحويل النقد الذاتي
طريقتان قويتان لتحويل النقد الذاتي
by جود بيجو ، ماجستير ، MFT
إن النقد الذاتي أمر منتشر في مجتمعنا. لقد تغلبنا على أنفسنا بالحقيقة والمتخيلة ...

تم اختياره لمجلة InnerSelf

الأكثر قراءة

وجه رجل عجوز في صورة شخصية بوجه طفل ينظر إليه
دعوة للعمل! يجب أن نصنع الفارق
by بيير Pradervand
"النشاط الروحي هو ممارسة تجمع بين العمل الدنيوي والداخلي لـ ...
امرأة تقف فوق الهاوية
ضوء نداء من الهاوية
by لورا أفرسانو
صلاتي هي أن نخلق جميعًا مساحة للظلام يولد طريقة جديدة للرؤية والاستشعار ...
الهندباء في مرحلة البذور بألوان مختلفة
التجديد والتحول: هذا هو أنت! (فيديو)
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
نحن باستمرار في عملية تجديد أنفسنا والتحول. جسديا ، نحن ...
امرأة تقف فوق الهاوية
ضوء نداء من الهاوية (فيديو)
by لورا أفرسانو
صلاتي هي أن نخلق جميعًا مساحة للظلام يولد طريقة جديدة للرؤية والاستشعار ...
وجه رجل عجوز في صورة شخصية بوجه طفل ينظر إليه
دعوة للعمل! يجب أن نصنع فرقًا (فيديو)
by بيير Pradervand
"النشاط الروحي هو ممارسة تجمع بين العمل الدنيوي والداخلي لـ ...
امرأة على الكمبيوتر وتغطي يديها وجهها
كيف تتغلب على الندم الذي يمكن أن يكون مستهلكًا بالكامل
by ج. كيم بينبرثي ، جامعة فيرجينيا
الندم هو رد فعل حقيقي لحدث مخيب للآمال في حياتك ، خيار قمت به لا يمكنه ...
الديك يرفرف بجناحيه و "يتبختر"
تفريغ صندوق الرجل: كيف تواجه "الأشياء" الخاصة بك
by راي أراتا
كل ما يتطلبه الأمر هو تشغيل الأخبار أو قراءة الجريدة أو التحدث إلى الناس هذه الأيام ليكونوا ...
امرأة تحت بدر كامل تحمل ساعة رملية كاملة
كيف تعيش في تناغم تام (فيديو)
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
كلمة الانسجام لها معاني مختلفة. يتم استخدامه في الموسيقى ، في العلاقات ، في إشارة إلى ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

The Root of Depression -- Losing the High of Love

two champagne glasses and balloons... a celebration
Image by OpenClipart-Vectors 

We see depression being accompanied by various sub-qualities such as anger, hurt, helplessness, fear, grief, or sadness, but the root of the depression is the same. We see sub-qualities arising as our way of relating to depression or the apparent subject of depression.

It appears that depression occurs when we are drawn to our core fear that we are not capable of life and its complications. This arises from the sense of being a limited mind-self. I suspect that all depression is a function of how our identity, or feeling of being a separate emotional-mind, relates to life when we feel powerless to affect it as we desire, thus evoking a sense of being worthless.

Being Separate, Exclusive, and Not Worthy

Depression appears to arise only out of the sense of our exclusive inner qualities, that sense that we are privy to exclusive knowledge of our internal workings -- which are us, and which are known only by us. The sense of being separate and exclusive is the source of the depression. It arises as the reaction our identity has when felt as not powerful in its effects on the world. The "world" is seen as others or things, or a combination of situations and events.

Some conditions may indicate that this mind-self is not capable, not powerful in relationship to them, yet still may not produce depression. What does elicit depression are those events in which we feel incapable that have some meaning or significance to us. They "identify" us as not worthwhile. Of course this is a subjective interpretation, determined by what we think we must "be" to be worthy.

The very sense of exclusive-mind lends itself to be filled with assumptions that go largely unchallenged because of the isolated quality that arises from the demand of exclusivity. Our main assumption is that our assumptions (thoughts and feelings about how it is) are correct.

Distracting Yourself Out Of Depression

We see that depression lifts when we are sufficiently distracted from our mind-form assumptions, or the subject of depression, or when we are allowed, through the condition of things, to feel powerful. Other than this we wait until we forget.

Let's look at a possible explanation for one of the fiercest and most common subjects of depression, the loss of a passionate love affair. First, let us examine our assumptions about passionate love.

I would like to use a harsh but rather accurate analogy of our relationship to passionate love. We think it is good; not only good, but one of the greatest things in the world. Also, we assume its fulfillment has to do with a particular object, another human. We determine its "goodness" as a result of the fact that it makes us feel good. It produces very pleasurable sensations in our body-mind. Then again, so does heroin.

Passionate love and a heroin fix have a lot in common. The so-called pleasures associated with their attainment are the result of a shift in sensations that allows the body-mind to feel okay with itself once being affected by the object of this fix.

These sensations are associated with various forms of feelings and perceptions. In the love affair, the pleasurable sensations often become associated with such things as a house, a song, a touch, a habit, a feeling, a sound, a shared communication, a concept of the way the world is.

The concept of "reality" that is stimulated by or creates the heady aroma of love is one in which you are seen as worthy of "being" -- it holds a purpose for your existence. Of course, what it takes for you to feel worthy of being can be very complex and abstruse depending on the various ideas and "meanings" events and things have in relationship to you. Regardless of how you get there, the bottom line is that you obtain these good sensations once you get your "hit" on this thing, be it another person or heroin.

When The "High" Becomes Neutral

These sensations are eventually viewed as simply the "neutral state" and are noticed primarily at their loss or absence. So then life becomes a negative with the goal of obtaining or maintaining the thing that brings it out of the negative to simply a neutral, with the temporary added attraction of a rush of sensation that accompanies entrance into that state.

Another quality that is true of both is a growing sense that one's survival or safety is threatened by their loss. This is an extremely strong motivating factor for the maintenance of the relationship, generating negativity and fear as a background to the relationship.

If we honestly examine the desire for the experience of passionate love, we must admit its motivation lies heavily in body-mind sensations that we obtain when in relation to the object of our passion and love. We might say with great airs that it is the "love" of that person, which is of course inviolate in our assumption and training. We say we are willing to die or kill for that "love" and it is good, right, and noble. Horseshit. We are willing to die for a heroin fix and are not so pretentious about it!

Seeking The "High" of Love... or Heroin

If we are ruthlessly honest, we notice that it is not really the "person" we seek -- it is the sensation that that person elicits when we are in their company, either as a presence, or a concept, a memory. This experience is what we are after. If it were generated by someone else, we would quickly shift to that other. It does not really matter who or what the object is. It must simply fulfill the requirement of that experience. So we call this passionate love and we call it good.

Rarity in our experience of objects that produce those sensations --  or that we allow to produce those sensations, or use as an excuse to produce them -- is the greatest supporter of the illusion that they actually pertain to the person of our experience.

Imagine if everyone and everything produced these sensations. Then our constant state would always be that, and we would not identify love of another as the cause. As long as we cannot produce that experience in ourselves without an object appearing as the cause, as long as we feel the need for the object to attain these deep sensations, then we cannot truly love the "being" of the object. Each "loved-one" becomes for us a "bag of heroin", and that need will always cloud the free relational communication between beings.

Love Arising from "Being" -- Not from Having

Love, arising from "being", will only be true when there is no con-fusion, or fusion with, any sort of need or dependency at all. So it is with passion. We must simply notice what things are.

Passionate involvement with all manner of things on the level of enthusiasm, lovingness, lustiness, excitement, fullness in expression and feeling, seems to be a very functional part of being alive. However, we cannot do justice to this passion or to love if we do not distinguish what is what -- and so clarify the matter.

Allowing things to simply be things, without attaching all sorts of complications and meanings to them about our personal worth or capability, renders us free of them. We avoid depression since the sensations that come and go mean little about our perfection. We need not be swept away by the absence (or presence) of these sensations. Since sensations are noticed in contrast to their absence, we must understand and allow for them to be and not be. In the same moment, this is always true, whether a sensation is felt as arising or not arising.

When love is true, then the form changing will not alter this at all. It is not felt only in connection with or as the presence or appearance of an object that manifests the being of such felt love. Since this love is crested in experience, rather than produced at effect in cognition, it neither comes nor goes with any form.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
North Atlantic Books, Berkeley, CA, USA.
©1991, 2018. http://northatlanticbooks.com.

Article Source

Reflections of Being
by Peter Ralston.

book cover: Reflections of Being  by Peter Ralston.Personal, reflective, and gently investigative, these early essays have a raw, fresh quality which predates the more formal theory and practice of Peter Ralston's two popular books, The Book of Not Knowing and Pursuing Consciousness. Many of the questions we might struggle with in life—identity in relation to others, authenticity in the face of belief systems, the draw we have to pursue ineffective self-serving urges, and our tendency to conceptualize rather than experience things—are described here in simple, almost conversational language. Attempting to grasp what authentic knowledge is, Ralston's queries become a quest for how humans can develop a deeper sense of themselves as participants in the world.

Info/Order this book. Also available as an Audiobook and as a Kindle edition.


A more recent title by this author: 

Zen Body-Being: An Enlightened Approach to Physical Skill, Grace, and Power
by Peter Ralston and Laura Ralston

Other books by this author.

About The Author

photo of: Peter Ralston Peter Ralston works with people to authentically expand and deepen their "consciousness," and to become more real, honest, and effective human beings. He facilitates people in understanding their own selves and minds, and in becoming increasingly conscious of the nature of perception, experience, and existence, and the nature of "being." He also does this through teaching people about their bodies and how to be most effective in its use, as well as teaching them the Art of Effortless Power -- a large scope internal martial art using an effortless power to "play" with others, deepening an understanding of effective interaction using such principles as joining, complementing, leading, and so forth to create masterful interactive skills. http://www.PeterRalston.com. Visit his website at www.chenghsin.com.
  

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

fourth july2
It Didn't Have To Be This Way
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
There have been some standout successes for some countries dealing with this Covid pandemic.
small yellow bird standing on a big bird feather
The Blessings of the Entire Nature Kingdom
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
We are so blessed to live on Planet Earth, yet we tend to take so much of what is here for granted.…
Photo: Sunset over Stonehenge on January 21, 2022, by Stonehenge Dronescapes
Horoscope: Week of January 24 - 30, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a pocket watch semi-buried in the sand
"I'll Do It Tomorrow" -- The Quicksand of Procrastination
by Jude Bijou
Almost everyone procrastinates. We usually do it to avoid a task that's unpleasant or daunting.…
a green frog sitting on a branch
Playing with Metaphors to Help You With Transformation
by Carl Greer PhD, PsyD
When your story isn’t working for you, when it seems to be influencing what you’re experiencing and…
a woman under a full moon holding a full hourglass
How To Live In Perfect Harmony
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
The word harmony has various meanings. It is used in music, in relationships, referring to inner…
full moon over bare trees
Horoscope: Week of January 17 - 23, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
01 15 cast normal to the gutter
Cast Normal to the Gutter: North Node in Taurus
by Sarah Varcas
The Taurus North Node affirms it is time to lay the physical foundations of the new world as the…
What Is The Main Thing Keeping People Divided and Stuck?
What Is The Main Thing Keeping People Divided and Stuck?
by Cate Montana
“The gods have used religion to their advantage, keeping you at each other’s throats for far too…
Horoscope Current Week: February 11 to 17, 2019
Horoscope Week: February 11 to 17, 2019
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
The Four Communication Rules and Violations, with an Emphasis on Listening
The Four Communication Rules and Violations, with an Emphasis on Listening
by Jude Bijou
I've found all good communication boils down to just four simple rules. Whether it's with our…

Selected for InnerSelf Magazine

MOST READ

rooster flapping his wings and "strutting his stuff"
Unpacking the Man Box: How to Face Your “Stuff”
by Ray Arata
All it takes is turning on the news, reading the newspaper, or talking to people these days to be…
critical care in america
American Healthcare vs The World
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
Millions of Americans have no health insurance and even if the do they live in fear that one…
small yellow bird standing on a big bird feather
The Blessings of the Entire Nature Kingdom
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
We are so blessed to live on Planet Earth, yet we tend to take so much of what is here for granted.…
woman looking out a door through a "curtain" or icicles
Everybody Hurts Sometimes (Video)
by Joyce Vissell
Do you ever find yourself looking at certain people and thinking to yourself, "Surely that person's…
rooster flapping his wings and "strutting his stuff"
Unpacking the Man Box: How to Face Your “Stuff” (Video)
by Ray Arata
All it takes is turning on the news, reading the newspaper, or talking to people these days to be…
a woman under a full moon holding a full hourglass
How To Live In Perfect Harmony (Video)
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
The word harmony has various meanings. It is used in music, in relationships, referring to inner…
dont look up2
‘Don’t Look Up’ Illustrates 5 Myths That Fuel Rejection of Science
by Gale Sinatra, University of Southern California and Barbara K. Hofer, Middlebury
Every disaster movie seems to open with a scientist being ignored. “Don’t Look Up” is no exception…
woman laying in a single bed with a full moon in the background
The Subconscious Mind Is Your Creative Co-Conspirator
by Evelyn C. Rysdyk
The subconscious can be creative when you are sleeping. You can program your subconscious before…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.